Submitted by Old Onion Bags
Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

“I am afraid we have awakened a sleeping giant” is a famous quote attributed to Japanese Admiral Isoroku Yamamoto, one of the most famous Japanese naval admirals, after the attack on Pearl Harbor. The quote was used in, and shortened for, the movie ” Pearl Harbor,” which depicted the attack through a personal storyline. The actual quote was said to be “I fear all we have done is to awaken a sleeping giant and fill him with a terrible resolve.”
“Mother of All Battles”-US Gulf War, “Mountains shall labor and give birth to a mouse“- Horace. Behold the Sleeping Giant Awakens…. from his weekend gad, an ensuing battle line. Prime Minister Stuart throws down the ’other’ gauntlet, informing the Opposition and the rest of Barbados, of his readiness to resume business and or obliterate with fury and furore.”

Wait a minute, tarry a while…having done some research, one should ponder this latest marauding. The actual quote was said to be : – “I fear all we have done is to awaken a sleeping giant and fill him with a terrible resolve.” Could this be what PM Stuart really meant? That the DLP is now about to further provoke the Opposition, (and any and all ) with this his latest military infusion. Here lies the problem, as all should be quick to admit. As with the teachers and principal of Alexandra School, it is most difficult to interpret the PM’s mauve epigrams. “I have gone passed that stage a long time ago…you all need to play catch up. Sounds familiar? Not the easiest to play catch up with.

“Awaken the Sleeping Giant“…hmm. Let’s not give up yet. As we make another fervor attempt to crack Stuart‘s wit. Giant – associated with tall. Sleeping – in a state of unconsciousness, temporally unaware of one’s surroundings. Awaken – rise to the occasion with a renew vigor and life. One regular patron to the call in program suggests, that Stuart has now finally awaken from a four year slumber on hearing the bugling election’s call. That would be too much to fathom. No amount of  fanfare or fandango could be that evasive.

Could Stuart be really ready now, to deal with matters in hand? Alexandra teachers in all earnest, CLICO pensioners that were promised, Barrack that begging, Integrity Legislation now flamming, Bagatelle Dump  gibberish, Deloitte Report vanish? Which ever way we choose to cut it, Stuart has signaled an intentional readiness….and this as all would attest, is looked forward to with  greatest earnest. Elections too of course….if to be included.

127 responses to “The Sleeping Giant Awakens”

1. The difficulty true, is of interpretation,and who is meant to be the sleeping Giant.Having resolved that, what will this giant do now awaken? If Stuart means he is the Sleeping Giant, and has now awaken,then does he mean he is ready to attend to the many matters left pending (Ax Barrak, Deloitte) or address ‘THE pressing matter’ at hand, call the elections? Definitely a paradoxical phrase,characteristic of Stuart

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

As I said the Government should not touch CLICO, with a ten foot pole, I would not give Barrack one red cent.

The Barbados Labour Party created these messes let them deal with them whenever they are reelected to power what ever century that is.

3. Carson C. Cadogan | October 16, 2012 at 7:18 AM |

As I said the Government should not touch CLICO, with a ten foot pole, I would not give Barrack one red cent.

Yes Barak is the political mess off the BLP… but the Court has ordered the GOB to pay him!!

Not to pay him is to court an order for contempt of its own court!!

Guess GOB is demonstrating how it feels about the judicial process it has set up to constitutionally guarantee citizens a fair and speedy trial.

CLICO is also a political mess, both parties are involved!!

Neither party is of any use and is just incurring debts on our behalf for which we are responsible.

Time to wake up.

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

It will be a Government of Barbados made up of corrupt Barbados Labour Party members.

Whichever century that is!

5. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

bagga onions said that he gone……..again.

But the powerful message from Queens Collage on Sunday night was a big kick in his posterior. So he is back.

You BLP members and supporters will be like yo yo until our Prime Minister announce HIS POLL.

WE CONTROLLING THE AGENDA AND YOU BLP HAVE TO PLAY ALONG.

6. rotting onion you like a drug addict the underground is your daily fix you not going nowhere beneath it all you really love Freundel. As they say the Blp and Owen you too onion are into ‘parro politics.’

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | October 16, 2012 at 7:18 AM |
    “As I said the Government should not touch CLICO, with a ten foot pole, I would not give Barrack one red cent.”

Are you CCC calling your Minister of Finance a LIAR? He is the one (Not You) making promises and commitments to Al Barrack, to the rating agencies and IMF although refusing to recognize the liability in the National Accounts. Or is this a clear case of creative accounting? Piss of with the accrual system to present a false picture when it suits the MoF political agenda to make himself look good.

BTW, CCC, the date of the elections has already been determined by outside forces and given to the PM to announce. You can be your soon to be received last Constituency Council red cent that the PM has little time left in this matter. He who pays the piper calls the $33 million tune!

8. Didn’t Peter Wickham, perhaps prematurely, announced on a Brasstacks program three weeks ago that a solution to Barrack was imminent? Then were heard Barrack’s lawyer, a Douglas Trotman, making some noises ‘not so fast everyone’?

9. @ Arson n Not Switching
    I am in serious strategic battle planning nowadays ……moving mines and petards ..to clean up this DLP mess…I am more an Observer not by my ordering…”Far from The Madden Crowd”..like Bushie….So what now if I submit a thread every now and then…to keep Aarson buzy..LOL
    Stuart has been FORCED to this position Aarson…what in control of things what…..if he had his way ..he would like to rule til eternity….but wanna to and being able to… is two different tings…..Elections day will be known by next month as predicted…cuz as stated..’the money run out ‘. Then all will have their meat to matters……See waana Giants.

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | October 16, 2012 at 8:33 AM |

PW would have relied on the private mouthings of Chris the Unclear.
    There is some attempt to either sell to a willing buyer or transfer to Barrack the controversial building in Warrens. A sale to a local investor might just be too difficult in these real estate difficult times given the geophysical integrity of the area where the building sits.

But to the chagrin of ac, Hants and Bushie a Trinidadian speculator with loads of excess cash might just make the right offer too sweet for the MoF to wrap national colours around.

PS: why has Barrack changed legal counsel at this late stage? There is something interestingly fishy here.

11. When I saw the bold headline on page 1 of the Sunday Sun, “AWAKE!” my first reaction was the Nation has gone too far. Then I read on and realised that they were referring to remarks made by the PM describing the DLP as a sleeping giant. My next reaction was my Freundel can’t be so politically naive. Is he saying that the DLP was asleep for four years and is only now awake. Based on what is going on in the country, that is a reasonable conclusion to draw.

12. @Caswell

We in the BU household interpreted PM Stuart’s giant cry as a signal to the BLP that its election campaign has started. Nothing at all to do with its day to day management .

13. @ David
    “WE”….are you sure? Given Stuart’s theatrics during ..Alexandras, Deloitte,etc…who can gauge Stuart’s intended meanings?….”We pass that stage long time..some need to play catch up ” Meat for matters….all is fair game….any ball can play with a Giant…..esp a classics one.

14. David your boy Caswell is a hum bug at best tell us more on the $500,000 the Blp giving the Trinidadian pr firm.
    Isnt that money they could feed the hordes of destitute the Blp tell us are out there.
    Mia we waiting to hear where the $500million for hotel refurbishment coming from.

15. Drink the Kool-Aid Avatar
    Drink the Kool-Aid

@ Percy Sledge

The $500K is or has been given to some advertising company Red in Barbados. It is a company run Jevan Jutigir, a Trinidadian.

Is his Immigation Papers in order in Barbados?

16. David

Your interpretation is valid also. That is why is wondered if the PM could be so naive. You must understand my perspective; I had been involved in politics for more than half my life, I have managed election campaigns. That is why I found the remark to be unwise in the present environment. That is an opening that any astute politician would jump on. The DEMS, with the exception of Sinckler, should not fear criticisms for the most part they are harsh but constructive.

17. Drink the Kool-Aid Avatar
    Drink the Kool-Aid

@ Caswell

To your mind, can the DLP with FS as PM pull off an election win?

18. Please note RED is a locally incorporated company and Jevan Jutigar has been stationed in Barbados for several years now.

19. Wickham is on VOB, let us hear his interpretation of this “Sleeping Giant”.

20. @Caswell

You are correct the language exposed Stuart to his political opponents.

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

bagga onions

You are going to get heartburn soon from now. See you cant even keep your word to yourself.

We are going to have you like a yo yo.

22. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

RED always does pr work for the Barbados Labour Party.

A lot of Bajan taxpayers money is in RED’s bank account.

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I say leave CLICO and Barrack just where they are.

Dont touch them.

These are babies of the Barbados Labour Party let them mind them.
    If the BLP were not so corrupt we would never have a CLICO mess or a Barrack mess. They were so busy stealing taxpayers money to put into their secret offshore bank accounts, that they had no time to do the jobs properly for which they were being handsomely paid. Hence CLICO and Barrack.

Lets leave CLICO and Barrack for the Barbados Labour Party.

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | October 16, 2012 at 11:04 AM |

Are you going t o leave the Lagan Marina design corruption and BWA fraud to the BLP too? How about the Four Seasons restart? Pickerings?

25. as i figured all talk and no action,

26. The Awaken Giant said at QC….he had wrestled with the Beast of Ephesus….
    1Corinthians 15 :32.

“If I fought wild beasts in Ephesus for merely human reasons, what have I gained? If the dead are not raised, “Let us eat and drink, for tomorrow we die.”

New Living Translation (©2007)
    And what value was there in fighting wild beasts–those people of Ephesus–if there will be no resurrection from the dead? And if there is no resurrection, “Let’s feast and drink, for tomorrow we die!”

……sounds like delirium…..from Beauty n the Beast

Belle: Who’s there? Who are you?
    Beast: The master of this castle.
    Belle: I’ve come for my father. Please, let him out! Can’t you see? He’s sick!
    Beast: [Yelling] Then he shouldn’t have trespassed here!
    Belle: But he could die! Please, I’ll do anything!
    Beast: There’s nothing you can do! He’s my prisoner.
    Belle: Oh there must be some way I can… wait! Take me instead.
    Beast: You! You would take his place?

27. @Carson C. Cadogan | October 16, 2012 at 7:18 AM |

As I said the Government should not touch CLICO, with a ten foot pole, I would not give Barrack one red cent………………………………….

The DLP is such a confused party!

David Thompson in his dying days when he reshuffled the cabinet said that they had come up with a resolution to the CLICO mess and that the new Minister of Finance, Chris Sinkliar (miller’s rename) would take it to cabinet for approval. That was late September/early October 2010. This speaks volumes of the DLP that a dying man still had so much power to control big able men and women from his dying bed!

So how the hell you can now come and say the DLP should not touch it! You are a damn hypocrite.

I feel the people’s pain though I can or would never understand how anyone could invest in any company headed by Leroy Parris, an intellectual idiot. Having said that, I would only agree with the BLP to help the people ONLY if every asset of Leroy Parris and David Thompson is seized and Leroy Parris is held accountable by the law courts.

It seems as if you arseon has the ears of the PM, no wonder we are in such a mess. Now we know why we are hearing nothing from the Judicial Managers, they were only appointed to patronise the policyholders.

Now we know that neither Freundel Stuart nor Chris Sinckliar had any intentions to ever deal with CLICO or Al Barrack, despite Sinckliar’s promises time and time again to pay him and to settle the CLICO mess!

28. Interesting to note Leroy Parris in the crowd at QC on the weekend.

29. Beware of the Beastly Monsters, Halloween is near.

30. @CCC
    If the BLP were not so corrupt we would never have a CLICO mess or a Barrack mess. …………….

When you and the dead king were all over Barbados spending CLICO’s policyholders’ monies, you did not know that the money should not have been spent so?????

Your corrupt party spent the policyholders monies to buy votes, especially in St Michael North, St Michael North West and St Michael South East. Bags of monies were handed out after people went in and voted and brought back the photo taken by a cell phone as proof. After the Dems won, the MP’s went to Miami to buy clothes to look good as Caswell always said, many of you all were unemployed before 2008. You all did wickedly in 2008!

And to think you want to call somebody corrupt! What do you do for the taxpayers monies at the Constituency Council……………only blog and sticking your head up Freundel’s ass??????????

31. Peter needs to be reasonable. The DLP has now kicked off their campaign compared to the BLP which has been at it for several months now. One must bring coherent arguments, let us be fair in the arguments Peter!

32. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

bagga onions

Writing again.

Now you see the powerful effect Prime Minister Freundel Stuart has on the phsyche of the Barbados Labour Party.

33. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Prodigal Son

You all created the mess, you all deal with it.

34. On a related note BU has been doing some research to ascertain if there is any country in the world where a pollster, a shaper of opinion, is also the host of a popular talk show. So far we have come up short. BU believes with all respect to Wickham that we have created a ‘monster’.

35. Drink the Kool-Aid Avatar
    Drink the Kool-Aid

Peter Wickham is no different than anyone else in Barbados, he is simply using his talent and expertise to his financial benefit.

With that said, it is however very important to recognise him for what he is, a person volunteerily in a conflicted position and seeking the highest paying bargain therefrom. Power in politics equals money, don’t you agree?

The wikileaks embassy cables have been damaging to Peter Wickham and his reputation as a professional person. The cables, if true, and we have NO reason to think they are anything but true, show that Peter Wickham was an informant to the Government of the United States of America.

If Peter Wickham was willing to provide information to a foreign government then what makes anything that he holds some professional or moral standards which preclude him from playing politics with his polls, his political consulting advice and his talk show moderating??????????

36. Drink the Kool-Aid Avatar
    Drink the Kool-Aid

After the wikileaks cables I personally have no time whatsoever for Peter Wickham not do I or would I trust anything in which he is involved. I am entitled think this way.

All of that is not to say that his recent polls won’t turn out to be accurate however I am more concerned about loyal sons and daughters of Barbados not someone who would we willing to give information to a foreign government.

People like Peter Wickham start from a very low moral bar, they have to to do what they do. Don’t you agree?

37. David
    I hope you also recognize that Peter Wickham views on the talk show always make headline news in the 12.30 news on VOB.

Now if he is saying that the DLP will be white wash the polls why is he so concern that the PM did not come to Sherbourne. In today’s first news item at 12.30 he had to make the point again that the DLP lost because of those independent voters who were there because he did not turn up. What is so important about that to become news?

His polls say a sweep and he is still complaining. The people do not need your advice Peter. Get a life.

38. @ CCC
    You all created the mess, you all deal with it……….

We will, right after the sleeping giant calls the election.

We will need to also question the JM’s to see if they were stalling under instructions from the sleeping giant as the policyholders cannot get any information. We will want all of what’s left of the THIRTY FOUR MILLION the dead king left in Families First account!

39. @Prodigal
    We will want all of what’s left of the THIRTY FOUR MILLION the dead king left in Families First account!
    The thread is name The Sleeping Giant Awakens, and not “BIG HOPES and NUFF DREAMING”.That $34 already moved, removed and maybe some even back here again. Antigua- St.Lucia -connections, did you not hear? Ask Carson if they gave him any.

40. @Drink the Kool-Aid | October 16, 2012 at 3:52 PM |
    The wikileaks embassy cables have been damaging to Peter Wickham and his reputation as a professional person. The cables, if true, and we have NO reason to think they are anything but true, show that Peter Wickham was an informant to the Government of the United States of America…………

@Drink the Kool-Aid……..
    I think you are being too hard on Peter. I do not really think that Peter was an informant. I am very familiar with the cocktail circuit where foreign officers interact with Barbadians and I can tell you that in a subtle way, they do engage you in conversation but you have to be on your guard as to what you say.

Be aware that government ministers are the prime sources for these people. I know for sure that they could not get anything out of OSA and they liked the change of government in 2008 and for sure Sinckliar, yes, they fancied him when he was Foreign Minister!

So be a little less harsh on Peter, these things may have been said innocently!

41. @ Clone
    Why you doan try and behave your wufless self doa?…..Wickham do unna something? For the last F-NG time…..Wickham tell waana the results of the poll …and just so cuz waana ass gine get cut…..wunna choose to look for a scape goat. Is all ya fault…..wunna to proud to try a turn around…..doa it mek no sense at this late stage….WANNA DOOMED…thru SLEEPING…..take that in all ya pipes and smoke it. TOO F_NG HARD EARS !

42. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Prodigal Son

If you say that Peter is not an informant, he just made conversation while having too many rum and cokes at functions, then that is even worse.

It clearly shows that he cant control his mouth, as the old Bajans say, “he mout like it tek epsom salts”, a very dangerous man indeed.

43. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

bagga onion

No one wants to hear you, and dont post anymore articles.
    Wasting people time with foolishness.

Tell DAVID frigg off again and disappear.

Nuisance.

44. @ Carson
    If you is man…..You tell e…..you manouquo……lol

45. The BLP and its followers have angered and awakened the Sleeping Giant, Freundel Stuart,so guys and gals beware.Notice how he is also giving Bajans the finger whenever he speaks.So does the member for Sen Lucy.Giving Bajans the left index finger all the time.Its very insulting and downright rude for Stuart and Kellman to be givin’ we de finga all de time mon!!

46. it is truly amazing to see how CCC think the gov’t should deal with Clico and Barrack.

what we are seeing play out is the Thompson DEMs. they curse everyone who don’t join them in they nastiness. just look and see. how they never view anything anyone say as objective criticism? NEVER! S&P, BLP, Peter Wickham, Nation Newspaper, the average person who is finding it hard to make ends meet. the reaction has been the same, curse them within an inch of their life. outside of party supporter, i wait to see how they will approach the voting public.

i was informed that not only was Parris at the meeting, he took up a seat which was held for him at the front. now does that not say a lot about what the DEMs will do?

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | October 16, 2012 at 5:08 PM |

But we all want to hear you tell us if Chris Unclear is a liar or not for promising to settle the Al Barrack and CLICO matters.
    What do you say man? Are you backing Chris or is he a liar?

Tell us why he is borrowing a measly US$ 33 million? Were we not told the medium term fiscal strategies were working and everything was stable and well managed?

What’s up now, old dog?
    Notice you are avoiding the miller’s questions as if he has dog flea spray in his hand!

48. The sleeping Giant ought to tell us about the IADB loan especially para 3.4 and 3.6(i):
    http://idbdocs.iadb.org/wsdocs/getdocument.aspx?docnum=36818134

There is this uncanny similarity between the 1991 and this election. We all know what happened after the DLP was re-elected.

49. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David (not BU) | October 16, 2012 at 6:07 PM
    “… i was informed that not only was Parris at the meeting, he took up a seat which was held for him at the front. now does that not say a lot about what the DEMs will do?”

Parris is a senior trusted advisor and paid consultant to this DLP administration.
    He is also a signatory on the Families First Account.

FS is known to tell people that the fall of CLICO is strictly because of the international recession and nothing to do with Parris’s ability to manage.
    Blame the recession he says and that is what he intends to tell intelligent Bajans if the question ever arises during the campaign.

According to him, the forensic report speaks to some minor weak internal controls, a few systemic adjustments needed to be made and a very challenging international economic environment that could have contributed to the CLICO problem thereby absolving Parris, Thompson, and the present PM of any wrong doing. If there is any regulatory failure it could have only occurred under the previous administration. Ask Kellman, Sinckliar or Physical Deficit if you doubt that.

You can’t have pins with Parris; no needle or pins with Parris the Voodoo prince of darkness.

50. caswellfranklyn Avatar

Reblogged this on Caswell Franklyn’s Weblog.