A letter signed by Minister David Estwick which was sent to former Executive Chairman of the BWA Arni Walters

In an earlier blog reference was made to a government minister who instructed an employee not to attend meetings called by another minister. BU now post a letter which corroborates what the commenter posted.

As always BU is committed to reporting all sides of any issue. If there is a valid explanation to support the instruction given by Minister Estwick as conveyed in the letter,ย  BU is prepared to give equal prominence.

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ old onion bags | September 21, 2012 at 5:52 PM |

The way things are looking do you think it would be a good idea for the BLP to take back the government at this time?
    These jokers have really messed up big time and with their ineptitude have compounded the effects of the international recession.
    They should be made to take responsibility for the crap they have done to this country.
    But in the interest of national survival and the young people it’s better for the government to change.
    Now don’t let little Grenada set the example for us to follow. Freundel on his return from overseas need to call the elections and release the nation from this psychological stranglehold that is sapping the energy and goodwill out of the people.

2. @ Miller
    But in the interest of national survival and the young people itโ€™s better for the government to change.
    Seems like you have now drawn all the Wrath of Khan and onwards, from the likes of ccc ac clone ! Hill, and the dwellers of Toadstoolville with those words..Don’t you see how they have put me up nowadays as rotten and nasty and …..the best part is that Stuart is enjoying it all, knowing a big fat turkey is there for him at the end of the tunnel,… while watching some mice look for mountains to redeem their souls.
    In the interest of Barbados elections needs to be called….this game of rolling heads has gone too far…the more time that is wasted, the more difficult will be our recovery….I am sure many more in here concur…..what is the sense in this procrastination? Do we need to go the way of Grenada?…We once set the standards of protocol wid class….If the DLP wins so be it, but this prolong is most stupid and asinine….

3. @miller

Changing the government will only be a band aid. Successive governments have failed to address the systemic issues which are not exclusive to the structural problems of the the economy.

4. @ David
    Are you a tarot card reader?

5. What the f#ck is a tarot card reader?

6. @ millertheanunnaki “The way things are looking do you think it would be a good idea for the BLP to take back the government at this time?
    These jokers have really messed up big time and with their ineptitude have compounded the effects of the international recession”………………………………

I kinda agree but we have to change, we cannot go on with these “les incompetents”. They do not have a clue how to govern, they are out of ideas,(as if they ever had any), out of their depths and they are just drifting from one crisis to another.

All the BLP has to do is for the new PM and each minister to lay out to the public EXACTLY what they have found and what will have to be done to make things right. Remember how every other word out of Patrick Todd and Michael Lashley mouths were… we had to clean up the mess….

Be upfront with the public and let them know. People will understand that it will take time to turn things around but at least they would have the confidence of the people that they KNOW what they are doing and with confidence, investors will return and things will begin to turn around.

Was this visit to Canada by the PM planned? The staff there seemed surprised that he turned up!

7. Letter made public and suddenly Estwick gun matter rises eh eh……

8. @enuff

You need to tell Kaymar and Albert Brandford to cite sources. What they have done is unethical by any journalist of repute.

9. @ David

Don’t you find it slightly curious that since Dr. Estwick MP was given the opportunity to act as Prime Minister, the swords have come out in seach of his head?

Is become someone, probably wanna-be power brokers are concerned that if the DLP is relegated to the Opposition benches Dr. Estwick MP might pose a problem to those have public aspirations to be Prime Minister or the next best thing, Leader of the Opposition?

Why does Dr.Estwick MP concern people so much, Bee’s and Dee’s?

Is it because he is a man of principle as was shown when he asked the Prime Minister for permission to call in the Auditor General to the BWA to investigate a number of irregularities?

The AG like he missed an issue those, the two BWA vehicles sold and the money received by member sof management at the BWA. Dr. Estwick Mp knows who the vehicles were sold to, how much was the sale price and where the purchasers paid the money.

10. @Doctor Rock

Maybe so, BU has always had time for Estwick but he needs to put the gun incident behind him. Also he has to be sensitive that he needs to build a power base if he wants to make a serious contribution to public life. It is the way it is, networking on top of networking. Nobody is perfect and if Estwick sells himself as a man of principle it will win out eventually. Bajans are looking for a different kind of politician, not those whose strings are being yanked or represent old wine in new bottles..

11. The AG like he missed an issue those, the two BWA vehicles sold and the money received by member sof management at the BWA. Dr. Estwick Mp knows who the vehicles were sold to, how much was the sale price and where the purchasers paid the money.

Tell us more!

Perhaps the question can be posed this evening.

Dear Friends,

Come and join The St Philip South Branch of the DLP at their meeting at their Constituency Office, at Bel Air, St Philip on Sunday, Sept 23 rd at 4:30pm.

Come hear Adriel Brathwaite MP, AG with Guest Speaker Donville Inniss MP – Minister of Health.

Come on over and hear from Minister Donville Inniss and The Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite exactly why Wood, Arthur, Symmonds, Clarke, Payne, Marshall, Duguid, Forde, Toppin and Husbands et al all need to be relegated to the political dustbin.

Come and be part of this meeting as The DLP kick up a gear, at The St Philip South Branch of the DLP at their meeting at their Constituency Office, at Bel Air, St Philip on Sunday 23 rd September at 4.30 pm.

We must keep both this economy and this society together, Barbados is more than an economy it is a society.

12. So it seems like holding meetings in Constituency Office is the norm for these jokers nowadays….as Stuart has not given the Go Ahead to do otherwise….ALL YA FA REAL ?….So wait …DEM aint know those who once belonged on the BLP side ..if on the fence….and may be wanting to hear issues to help them decide on the switch…..WOULD NOT FEEL WELCOMED gine in there ! This is the reason for an open air meeting ..you turkeys…Which brains running these tings doa ? I hope Carson gine B there… cuz like they pulling a real heavy load…not wanting to offend.

13. WAIT I NOW GET IT……..POLITICS BY SEPARATION….certain DLP mp’s NOT WELCOMED !…..CUD IT REALLY HAVE FALLEN TO DAT ?..whaloss

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Doctor Rock | September 23, 2012 at 11:22 AM |
    โ€œIs it because he is a man of principle as was shown when he asked the Prime Minister for permission to call in the Auditor General to the BWA to investigate a number of irregularities?โ€

That is why Leroy Greenverbs and his cronies in the DLP like Chris, Physical Deficit and Darcy Boyce donโ€™t want to see him in any position where justice would prevail regarding the CLICO issue.
    Dr. Estwick would really like to see Leroy where he belongs but his friends in high places (including the legal top brass) would do their utmost not to see justice come into play where Leroy and CLICO are concerned.

15. @ miller

The greatest and most secure prison of all the world is IGNORANCE. Greenverbs has been prisoner for as long as I can remember but one wonders if he knows he’s an inmate. Its a terrible thing when you don’t even know. A mauler of the Queens english that Greenverbs is you know?

Dr. Estwick MP surely ain’t take any of that dirty ponzi money from Greenverbs nor no free big rides when them was giving away to the then members of the opposition.

Darcy and Sinckler suit one another, one is a pastor and the other is a sinner but the pastor commit more sins than the sinner. The sinner decide redemption takes too long and cost too much so he BREKKING FOR HESELF AND HIS VALISE.

16. Come hear Adriel Brathwaite MP, AG with Guest Speaker Donville Inniss MP โ€“ Minister of Health……………………………………….

Come and hear two of the plotters! Is another plot in the works before the PM gets back!

Barbados is more than an economy, it is a society. You all should be ashamed to keep saying this, having succeeding in destroying the economy, dont you see how the society is decaying!

17. Understand because of the weather this meeting like many across the country today is postponed.

18. queen of the pack Avatar

Hi David of BU,

You just missed it Owen Arthur fell down outside John Moore shop blind drunk.

Apparently he was there from morning drinking with other boozers.

Photos will follow shortly.

19. Queen

Where are the pics … You tekkin’ long. David will put them on facebook and the Nation will get them and credit facebook again …LOL

20. Look, Dr Estwick discovered that Sinkler was very instrumental in having the dying Thompson remove him as Min of Economic Affairs where he would have been a threat to Sinkler’s image. Estwick after finding out, he obviously had his suspicions, get vex and flex he muscles. Stuart, though having been selected by Thompson as successor was never a part of the Thompson Sinkler faction, in fact he was never a Thompson promoter, so Sinkler could not run to the current Prime Minister and make noise about the letter. Wunna don’ t’ink Eswick know wha’ he doing? What Stuart should have done, had he the balls, was to have Sinkler replaced, but Peter Wickham poll is all that there was to save Sinklers’ ass.!

I Lie …?

21. @BAFBFP

Was Estwick right or wrong to do what he did assuming your assessment of the situation is correct?

Also, what do you think of Estwick as a political figure and how does he compare to Sinckler?

22. Estwick is competent. I have personally witnessed senior public servants shudder in his presence. They know that Eswick is self employed, but Sinkler on the other hand will have to seek employment when it is all over for him. It is very likely that they laugh at him behind his back. Eswick may NOT be the sharpest tool in the shed, but he can get things moving. Agriculture as he has made clear in public seems never to attract the interest of the majority in Cabinet, and when that happens you are stuffed … unfortunately.

23. @ BAFBFP
    They know that Eswick is self employed, but Sinkler on the other hand will have to seek employment when it is all over for him.
    Like hell…. you think Chris only got 5c?…Think again….think again.

24. Onions

Where all this money come from …?

25. @BAFBFP
    “What Stuart should have done, had he the balls, was to have Sinkler replaced,”

ya nuh lie, ya true.

Estwick is de cat among d pigeons. That “x” factor that can’t be accounted for when plotting and scheming. Imagine this “leaked” letter and the resumption of the Committee of Privileges in the same week. Methinks the BLP should be more afraid of Estwick than any of the others… and one wonders why he is constantly and continually sidelined.

Just observing after a little break.

26. @BAFBFP
    Hint : an intended ship dockin area in a P-#UCKERY
    friends wid a Leopard……finish piss in the pot now baffy…play foolish

27. @ observing(..)
    Methinks the BLP should be more afraid of Estwick than any of the othersโ€ฆ
    Stupessss… Quoting Stuart “that deserves to be punished with laughter”…..D Lone Ranger? Gimme a break…

28. … A long journey deserving of a long rest. ….. angles, cutoff escape or attack routes, and punish the enemy support for camping the bush. ….. you could technically run around at incredible speed and spam laugh, if that’s your cup of tea.

Virgil – The Wandering Storyteller.

29. @ old onion bags

The BLP is making the classic mistake and it is aptly summed up in OSA’s high pitched constant rantings/screamings of “CALL THE DAMN ELECTIONS” The longer and more pronounced his contemptuous calls become the more the electorate will be turned-off. He is looking more and more like a rabid power hungry politician salivating at the prospect of get his hands on the seat of power in Bay Street and the keys to the Treasury in Bridgetown.

Someone somewhere on this blog previously blogged, and I agree, that this bunch of DLP fellows (with the help of Mia) will destroy not only the BLP in the coming elections but also the legacy of OSA’s when the DLP platform is launched and the facts revealed on the big screen, a la Haggatt Hall 2008.

Any horse in a one-horse race does always look good and look like a certain winner but this ain’t going to be a one-horse race.

The attacks on Dr. Estwick suggest that a bunch of people (both B’s and D’s) somewhere are afraid by his presence. Is it because they are reading the tea leaves and noticing that the stars are aligning for him?

Watch out, I predict a major announcement from FS just now. Will we see a Minister of Agriculture who is also the Deputy Prime Minister?

30. @onions
    underestimating is the surest sign of eventual casualty. Estwick is THE most consistent and clear performer AND speaker on the DLP side who speaks to DLP issues and philosophies. Yes he has cracks, shortcomings and most probably an ill advised temper, but his grasp of whatever he pronounces on at the moment in time has ye tot be called into question. Consider October 2007 to January 2008. The average person is still amazed that he hasn’t held the finance ministry, or the economic one for longer. Unfortunate for him but this is politics.

And btw, most independent persons would take him above at least 26 of any of the others on the BLP side any day.

Just observing

31. Observing

To add fuel to your fire, Estwick has made his seat safe. The DLP can only claim three of them. The three DO NOT include St Michael South or St Michael North West …!

32. @ BAFBFP

Sinckler and Inniss et al are worrying about positioning themselves for the post of Prime Minister without realising that they will have to be in it, to win it.

Should the swing be 6% against the DLP then both Sinckler and Inniss will not grace the steps of Parliament when that house sits after the next general elections.

The reality is that Dr. Estwick MP is the best hope for re-election for the DLP. They don’t have the charismatic style of David Thompson and while bajans appreciate Stuart’s deliberate and careful style they like powerful politicians hence the attraction to someone like Dr. Estwick MP.

Sinckler comes accross as a power hungry thug who would wrestle the position of Prime Minister away from Stuart once the opportunity presented itself or could be manufactured, even if a significant amount of blood from with the DLP has to be spilt.

Sinckler has been on the wrong side of issues on too many occassions for bajans to feel comfortable with him. Also bajan like self-made men not men who are fabricated in a dark room by those with financial agendas and who need to ‘land’ a Prime Minister in order to execute their plans.

33. @ Rocket
    The reality is that Dr. Estwick MP is the best hope for re-election for the DLP. They donโ€™t have the charismatic style of David Thompson and while bajans appreciate Stuartโ€™s deliberate and careful style they like powerful politicians hence the attraction to someone like Dr. Estwick MP.
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    Have you gone insanely man? …or could it be that you still love cowboys?
    Powerful enuff to tell off a diplomatic envoy and had to be demoted to agrarian scopes by your DT ? Have heard of doctor gone secretary…yes we had doctor gone farmer too. Estwick’s mouth is his nemesis.His strongest point forwardness is also blurred by his weakest knowing when. He also professess to have a quick draw….These once good traits of a Marshall Dillion don’t work well nowadays with the advent of diplomacy…..if he has good horse riding skills however,..maybe on Thursdays we can have a belleville rodeo giving Carson lil latitude to exhibit skills par excellence’ ….. Rock you shud know better than to waste these wild west skills… as productivity is hard to find with this admin nowadays….. Oh Ride em Silver !

34. “Estwickโ€™s mouth is his nemesis.His strongest point forwardness is also blurred by his weakest knowing when.”

Agreed

but do we need to get into the “weaknesses” of Arthur or Mottley, or Payne or Marshall or Glyne? Or the previous weaknesses of any other politician who eventually rose to the fore?

No one said Estwick was perfect. But, he’s been given a raw deal and little opportunity. Despite that is still possibly one of the DLP’s greatest political and analytical assets. That is non-debatable.

Just Observing.

35. OH…..I forgot to add Mr. Physical Deficit…also has a problem wid figures…his latest on TV speaking on the cost of production re : Sugar $ 41,000 per ton ??? Am Am……..Estwick needs culling… short of it..call a loose canon buccaneer a spade.

36. This song reminisces of the DLP rise to power…short lived…..”no smart men or magicians”….why they wanted to marry(win)?….I hope you can take it partner……LOL

37. bags o' old onions Avatar
    bags o’ old onions

@ old onions bags

If you wait you will soon see what David Estwick MP gine do with the little drunken runt from St. Peter. The platforms soon start so all you have to do is a wait a bit and be patient. Dale ‘rubber mouth’ Marshall ain’t really saying much, in fact alot of people claim he ain’t even a real or whole man. The pitbull give he one set of cursing and some bad looks and he run to Mia and between two of them,(combined a half of man and half of woman) run screaming little little girls on the playground.

Barbados & World in the middle of the worst recession and you talking about niceties and diplomacy, bajan ain’t want to hear that crap asshole, they want to see some action, want to see things getting done to help lift the burden from thier shoulders.

38. @ bag of Old Rubbish
    See wha I mean man you sound like poodle …fa real…ya mouth real dirty and you ruff ruff like cowboy Dan….ya like ya wanna thief my moniker too…on thing doa I cud draw faster than he….I isa fisherman…so cum fa ya turpit guts if ya on an poppin..I got a bill fish beak too..it name sig 229.

39. @Old Onion Bags

Relax!

40. Observing

I agree. Eswick can draw crowds. I am NOT sure else in the DLP can do the same. Dale Marshall and clan, arguably with the exclusion of Mottley will do well to fear this man’s “nemesis” … He reminds me of the Blackmans … Don and Harold … Too sweet man …!

41. I beg to differ! Why does a politician have to behave as unseemly as Dr Estwick does? I have no problem with a man being forceful when making a point but his behaviour is disgraceful.

I will never forget how nasty (that is the only word I can use to describe it) he got on during their first budget debate. He lambasted Dr Charles in the most vicious way, David Thompson sat in his chair seemingly not amused. A few weeks later, DT unceremoniously removed him as MoH when he was at a function pontificating.

Since then Dr Estwick seem to be permanently on the war path. I wonder how much his behaviour would be tolerated if he was a BEE!

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Seems as if we really have some real nincompoops a dime a dozen on both sides of the political divide.
    Here we have an idiot in the form of the representative for St. Michael North saying the BLP is not for casino gambling in Barbados! Is he speaking for the BLP or just really for his hypocritical self?
    Here is a man whose father was one of the first people to bring one-arm bandits into Barbados even when it was not legal to import or operate such gambling devices. It was the Tom Adams administration that allowed these machines to become legal bandits.
    Wouldn’t be surprised if he himself is not a licence holder to such an establishment. Hence his staunch stance to protect his interest.

Any one who opposes casino gambling is a big hypocrite. Barbados is now a gambling hell hole. The present tourism product minus a casino attraction is losing out big time from serious competition from other rival markets.
    Let the locals gamble in the casino with foreign money using foreign bank accounts. Then we will see the real local money launderers like โ€˜Lashesโ€™$70 million out of housing (from planting stone & wood) and Leroy Greenverbs millions in Miami.

43. @ miller

This St. Michael North man, one Ronald Toppin aint the same coward who refused to stand up and square off with Mia Mottley when she dragged his ass accross the hot coals in Cabinet one day? In stead of fighting, what he did was exactly what any yellow belly cowardice would do, run down stairs, get his his car, drive to his Ministry and then write a letter of resignation to Owen Arthur, the Prime Minister.

By the way, why should David Estwick MP allow a Minister (Chris Sinckler) no more senior than himself, dictate who from BWA should and should not attend meetings called by the Minister of Finance.

The Minister of Finance is no more senior that the Minister of Agriculture and proper protocol requires that if the Minister of the Ministry of Finance wishes to invite people from the BWA then he should first make that request through the Permement Secretary of the Ministry of Agriculture if not, then he should have called the Minister of Agriculture directly to discuss.

The simple truth is that David Estwick MP represents a threat to Sinckler et al aspirations to be Prime Minister so they have decide to undertake a co-ordinated attack on Estwick MP in hopes of forcing a irretrievable mistake from Estwick or better yet pushing him to cross the floor.

Sinckler should be busy patroling the borders of his constituency rather than worrying about Estwick, if he did, he would realise that Leron Gibbes is putting significant resounces behind gregory Nichols.

44. Gregory Nicholls …. OH GAD…! LARD COME FAH YAH WORL’ … COME NOW …!

45. Is this the same Nichols seen out and about wearing baggy pants and ear bobs?

46. HA HA HA … “De People Want wok, De People Want Wok …! Gregory Nichols, BCA Head, another George Payne stooge …. OH NO … COME FA YAH WORL’ NOW !!!

47. With of this going on, where is the PM?

48. @ Prodigal Son

All of what going on?

Bajans really like to occupy themselves with storms in teacups.

The wearing of baggy pants and ear bobs precludes someone from being elected? Alot of resources going and will continue to go into that constituency, it has a history of such.

49. @Eight Edition

No but baggy pants style is synonymous with a negative sub culture. A person aspiring to public life should think carefully on these things.

50. @ David

What exactly is a negative sub culture?

Maybe all men wearing suites are thieves, that possible.