Submitted by Yardbroom
Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart, the leader of the DLP

I have never been “AFRAID” to put my neck on the line for a just cause and at this stage in my life, I do not intend to be afraid now.

There have been many Blogs in support of the BLP here BU (Barbados Underground) and in other places.  So I ask myself is there in the interest of balance, another view.  I am reminded of the little boy who attempts to run away from home because his mother has given his elder brother 3 turnovers – a Barbados coconut loaf – and given him only 2.  We must see things in proportion.

There is also a lot of talk about who should lead the DLP Party because he is more popular.  I would simply say.  The supposed most popular or even best batsman on a cricket team is not necessarily the best “team captain”.

In this hubble-bubble some insidiously manufactured, we inevitably must ask ourselves what amidst the mistakes made by the DLP Government – and they have been a few – is so bad that it makes the DLP worst than their predecessors.  A long list will be advanced by those supporters of the BLP and some others of independent views, but take a step back to 2008 and remind yourselves why you changed the Government then, because only by making a decision arrived at by logical deduction can you arrive at a sensible decision.

For those of flippant minds, do not wish for the devil when you are in sunshine, for when he appears in the dead of night, you might wish you had not.

To the talk of in-fighting in the DLP, loyalty to a Party does not depend on you being the leader, to demonstrate loyalty.  For genuine loyalty is demonstrating through actions that there are people and things greater than you are and foremost of them is dedication to the people to which you are privileged to lead and who have entrusted in you their hopes for the future.

I must therefore ask the DLP.  Are you men/women of honour? are you those who seek and believe in a better Barbados? do you believe that when you look your children in their eyes in all conscience you can say I did my best for you and Barbados?  Then if you cannot there is work to be done.

Grasp this opportunity, the game is not “completely” lost never mind the whispers, the only Poll that really matters is on Election Day.  You must show by speaking to the people your dedication to a cause, Awake! and think of what you can do for Barbados, for you might never pass this way again. . . . . there is much work to be done.

1. old onion bags Avatar

@ Yardie
    There is also a lot of talk about who should lead the DLP Party because he is more popular. I would simply say. The supposed most popular or even best batsman on a cricket team is not necessarily the best “team captain”.
    Do you honestly believe affa seeing the fiasco by the Eager 11..Stuart is capable of relinquishing power? My friend that would never happen…..
    further..may I ask…lead them where ? A captain leads…Define lead…was there leadership before?This one is fitting of the time (Olympia)….a volleyball cross court spike….most difficult to fathom.

2. old onion bags Avatar

@ Yardie
    You should have termed this “Clusters Last Stand”..for such is most befitting of your gallant call to arms…..of a defeated lot…..hiding behind the clock….and too shame to face elections. Seeking solace in awakening good MORALS…..that went thru the door long time ago with “the King of Ara.”and his closer than close friends with all their infamous exploits….Memories are not as short, as some may may think..There are 30,000 policyholders who would willingly attest to this.

3. @ onions

well if OSA can lead after decapitating mia and wasting the taxpayers money and telling lies like he not interested in no more politics and lying about CLICO and AX and Gems and harwood and all the dirty tricks and perceptions and wuh about the cheque still ain;t come clean on that people still guessing and wondering and endorsing a billion dollar budget with that kinda a resume any body can become leader of barbados cause OSA has singlehandely lowered the bar so low that anybody can jump over.

4. old onion bags Avatar

@ Ac
    Translate please….. You are too rambling…”.tricks, perception and deception and trickery”…..same ole same ole, your normal give from your books on Blameology……This thread is not about comparing and complaining…but a call to arms…..work with the gentleman please.

5. @onions OOPS! MY BAD! MY FAULT ! my apologise . AAH!

6. mash up and buy back Avatar
    mash up and buy back

It is my belief that except some major stumbling by the DLP, that party will once again assume office once election is called.

Despite the deperate pleadings and propoganda of the loyal BLP supporters on this blog,nothing that I am hearing so far among the ordinary people of this country,who are the majority voters, is suggesting a clamouring for the BLP nor a massive rejection of the Dems.

Barbadians will give the DLP another term,it is then up to that party not to squander that opportunity.

7. old onion bags Avatar

Mash Up
    If only it would work as per the epithet …..no mash up..try as you may…I know convincing oneself is crucial before doing so with others…..I would love to put your theory to the test….so would “the majority ” of others….
    What’s the delay ?

8. old onion bags Avatar

Mash
    It is my belief that except some major stumbling by the DLP,
    I had to return to have a laugh…..”some major”?….could you name anything that was done without fumble?Anything?

9. Serious though Onions (we all know that you need a change of government so that you can get back a paying job at the taxpayers expense), but you don’t think that Bajans fed up with BOTH sets of politicians by now?
    Why should they vote out this lot just to go back to the former set of jokers who gave us Greenland, Dodds, hardwood and numerous other well documented scams and rackets? …just because you break?

Perhaps it is best that the PM is slow to act…. Had OSA been similarly slow, he may not have rushed to waste so much of our money on CSME, imported so many foreigners, or wasted so much of our money on world cup….?

Bushie feels that Yardbroom may have a strong case…. Maybe we need FS as minister of finance – then we could save millions while the MOF mulls over which shirt to wear or who to meet with…

LOL- it may be decades before FS realize how much kickback politicians can extract from a BOLT project….. Whereas you onions and your friends like OSA already know all the tricks…

We want FS! We want FS! We want FS!!

10. Onions
    I know that you like talking and believe that if you say something regular enough it would happen.
    You and just asking say that it would be a wipe out 30-0
    You speak of this hard life Barbadians are experiencing especially the ones who go to the market on Saturdays to buy vegetables so I went there to see for myself.
    It is mostly middleclass people who go to the market on Saturdays and they have all reasons to complain because they have been living outside of their means for years. Buying Vitaras and Kias with no down payments and then the bullet payment at the end calls for refinancing they cannot respond because they are living outside of their means.
    The people who will vote for the DLP are the civil servants who did not get layoff and were not hard core bees.
    The poor people whose children do not have to pay bus fare
    The poor people whose children go to summer camp
    All the people who got houses at country road and the other sites that the BLP had in the land bank.
    All bajans who do not like dishonest people
    All women who understand that a woman cannot be a leader because of lifestyle but a man can be leader with a wife and outside women with children

11. @ Clone
    I shall be swift and simple…..if you all (Bushie ) are so sure of your selves..
    that the people want you all back ….HESITATE NO MORE….before Moody comes with his paint brush…the wise ass move would be TO CALL ELECTIONS….don’t you think?

12. “There have been many Blogs in support of the BLP here BU (Barbados Underground) and in other places”
    only in recent times since the present representatives through blunder after blunder has squandered the goodwill given to the popular DLP party by a compliant and supportive electorate; but generally the brasstacks callers and the blogs have for the most part supportive of and apologetic for the DLP in spite of their obvious incompetence. overall, i think the political tug-o-war is becoming a bit more even now.

13. Onions
    This evening, I washed my car and decided to go for cruise around St. George, Christ Church and St. Michael.
    I said to myself onions spend too much time on the computer because he can’t be seeing this. At every Cheffete, families with their children having ice cream and sitting around having fun No gloom faces with sufferation.
    Fore day morning thousands of young, middle and old age people pay good money to put on paint and mud for the jam onions. Where is the suffering?

14. “To the talk of in-fighting in the DLP, loyalty to a Party does not depend on you being the leader, to demonstrate loyalty”
    Exactly, that is why the de facto leader Mr Stuart should have had the decency to place his resignation at the disposal of the Governor General as soon as it became known to him that the majority of members of his cabinet were not happy with his leadership. The letter and the circumstances surrounding its leak and as a consequence not formally reaching Mr Stuart because of zealous reporting should not have been the operative factor in the fiasco. The operative factor from the issue was that there was obvious discontent within his cabinet with his leadership and his powerlessness to do anything about it because of his lameduck position in the overall scheme of things.The result of his inaction is a seemingly rudderless administration where every Minister can do as he pleases without sanction to the detriment of satisfactory and confident governance..

15. The Democratic labour party suffers from its poor use of public relations.Truth be told practitioners of the media are known to be unkind to those who are uncooperative,hence the stand taken with the Prime Minister.Notice the way that David Ellis chomps at the bit with his every chance (and they have been many)to call attention to our Silent Knight.Perhaps the man knows how his bread is buttered.Perhaps the last poll was indeed sponsored by the OCM.Perhaps they are about to give us that much needed second TV station.Who understands quid pro quo better than Owen Arthur?

16. “There have been many Blogs in support of the BLP here BU (Barbados Underground) and in other places”
    only in recent times since the present representatives through blunder after blunder has squandered the goodwill given to the popular DLP party by a compliant and supportive electorate; but generally the brasstacks callers and the blogs have for the most part supportive of and apologetic for the DLP in spite of their obvious incompetence. overall, i think the political tug-o-war is becoming a bit more even now.

do not see it posted

17. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Yardbroom

I honestly believe that most of the politicians presently in Government would be able to look their children in their faces and honestly say that they have done their best for them and Barbados. The only thing is that they don’t know what they are doing and their best is just not good enough. I believe that most of them have good intentions but as they say the road to hell is paved with good intentions.

Mind you, Bushie has a point; it is not just a simple matter of exchanging one set for the other and things would be okay. In her mad rush to secure candidates to support her in the event of a BLP victory, Mia Mottley surrounded herself with more than her fair share of duds. I don’t see a viable alternative government emerging from the political wannabes that constitute the BLP election slate of candidates. When Arthur took over the leadership, he should have deselected the whole bunch but he had to appear that he was not vindictive as if we don’t already know that he is. He therefore lost a golden opportunity to rid the BLP of a host of misfits.

Don’t get me wrong, I am not saying that the DLP shouldn’t be replaced because Lord knows that they are incompetent but the candidates on offer in the BLP do not appear to provide a viable alternative.

In our choice for a suitable government, Barbados is truly between a wolf and a cliff.

18. mash up and buy back Avatar
    mash up and buy back

Well said Hamilton Hill @10:27 p.m.

Never a truer word spoken,and those DLP politicians who read this blog should take heed of what you say.

I truly believe freundel stuart has the well being of this country at heart and stealing from the treasury while he enriches his family and friends is not on his radar screen.
    There is no collector – Nichols waiting in the shadows to collect the cuts from the deals with investors.

That counts for a lot in my books and I suspect in most voters books as well.

What surprises me is the depth of understanding and intensity of feeling against owen arthur by the average person for the corruption under his reign.

I really thought that most of the working class persons were just caught up with the struggle of daily living and were not aware or did not care about the depth of wickedness of the past BLP administration,but ordinary bajans can cite you a string of examples of stealing,wastage,spitefulness and just overall corruption that occured under owen and his team’s reign of terror across this land.

We must not take the people for granted,they are smarter than most politicians think!

19. i agree there was a lot of corruption under the BLP but the difference for me, there is a lot more corruption under the DLP now and persons in this country are hurting.

so, YES!, give me the corruptions from the past because those guys understood that for them to steal, the country have to be moving forward and making money. this group of crooks, just robbing the country blind and doing nothing to make things easier for persons in the country, apart from DLP card carrying members.

so make no mistake, whoever the BLP brings i will happily vote them and as i said before in the last election i was one of the many that was fooled by this group of misfits. not again for shite. you could bet on that.

20. @Yardie. Well said. Agree with every word. Let us remind ourselves why we voted DLP instead of BLP and ask ourselves which is better, and we know both devils now – a PM with integrity (FS) or a PM with an agenda of vengeance for having been ousted(O$A)?

@ac. So we agree again.

21. The issue in the mind of the electorate will be which party is perceived to be able to manage the economy in the prevailing climate.

22. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I beg to differ. The issue in the minds of the electorate would be which party can deliver up a minister of finance that would be able to manage the economy in the prevailing climate. If we are honest with ourselves, we would all admit that the current Minister of Finance is out to sea without oar, paddle or compass.

23. old onion bags Avatar

I would like to find NEW BARREL to place you concurring DLP crabbing neophytes in it, cause you all seem to be hallucinating. Sorry chums there is no way out..not under this administration. We would be ALL the better for it. What comparatively better unda what policies what? Anyone would think you all were not in power and that people don’t live everyday under you all’s sickening incompetence and shallow diatribe.
    If you Clone could find ONE honest man in the whole of Barbados, who can say..he was not smelling HELL, I would join and sing from your hymn sheet….but I know with surety YOU CAN”T. You all are but poor excuses for a political alternative….an unprecedented history of blunders….(the latest trading in Govt lands) one after the another…..walking with a millstone etched ” the infelicities of the Great n CLICO” which is sure to break the party’s neck…You all cannot even present a good argument for why the people should continue with you all ,other than….”why the odder people corrupt too”. Poor F#ckn excuse if there every was one.
    The BIG and standing difference(if there was to be a comparison) is, we have a record to show, the electorate can look back on 2000 – 2008 ( the glory days) and see what was …and what is…..Chalk and cheese, my wishful fellas .Yours has been but a momentous colossal of bleeps n blunders..intermingled with wastage of Millions and nothings to show.Why if in doubt…..put down on paper FOUR (yes four) Capital assets to show for your 4 12 yrs in office and a $5 Billion spend…..MADNESS ..sheer madness….How can you take this to an electorate? Tell me how can you ?
    People are looking for a WAY OUT….and to do that requires a visionary leader.Well we know only too well where you all stand on this one…Even the author YardBroom has his doubts ….yet sounds the clarion regardless.

Sorry gentlemen, you all’s destiny is clear and S&P (soon Moody) was there to certify and put credence to it….a FAILING GRADE internationally.
    People of Barbados are no fools and all the calling to arms and blaming on Global Economies and OSA won’t help.They want results, and sadly that was your biggest let down. Say no more horn blowers …let the people decide….CALL THE ELECTIONS and stop hiding behind time.

24. i wunda which market these BLP yardflows go to because when i go to market i see people busy buying nobody talking politics another one of them BOLD FACE PROPAGANDA LIES by the BLP yardflows in there desperate fight to WIN?wid all the time onions spend on the blog wuh market he talking about!

25. old onion bags Avatar

ac what market?.. ac who spoke of a market?… ac to early in the morning for stupidity… but coming from you ….pardon ac’s dementia

26. onion @ Ac ac what market?.. ac who spoke of a market?… ac to early in the morning for stupidity… but coming from you ….pardon ac’s dementia

Ac

onions maye be yuh de one wid dementia so where you be hearing dem stories?

27. old onion bags Avatar

I am now convinced….. tweet +^+^+tweet

28. @onions i am now convinced that everything political written by you is propaganda! not even you believe it then to deny it unbelievable, However the DLP will remember all the politricks that have been dished out and the lies said and repeated as truth from AX to Clico which under the BLP was left to fester and get out of control for fourteen years and it has only taken the DLP four years to rectify. What a waste of 14years adorned by LIES and PERCEPTIONS now highlighted by BLP yardflows who think the public should forget! AMAZING!

29. I truly believe freundel stuart has the well being of this country at heart and stealing from the treasury while he enriches his family and friends is not on his radar screen.”
    i truly understand the hurt, embarrassment and shame felt by LOYAL DLP PARTY supporters by the ‘ just do not know how to manage’ performance of the incompetents representing their beloved party in Parliament but you cannot continue to harp on the perceived past wrongdoings of the BLP. you made out a case and the electorate took your word in good faith ill-advisedly or not and removed the BLP and gave you the opportunity, The truth is you have not inspired confidence.Owen Arthur and his team did inspire confidence despite their alleged infelicities for which i am still waiting for you to hold them accountable even if only for HARDWOOD which garnered much public attention.

30. “i agree there was a lot of corruption under the BLP but the difference for me, there is a lot more corruption under the DLP now and persons in this country are hurting.”
    I do not think making these bland allegations is fair to both parties and the image of Barbados abroad as a country not tainted by country at the highest levels. Bring the evidence. Persons stealing from a Treasury always in overdraft should feel the full weight of the law.

31. old onion bags Avatar

I do not think making these bland allegations is fair to both parties and the image of Barbados abroad as a country not tainted by country at the highest levels. Bring the evidence. Persons stealing from a Treasury always in overdraft should feel the full weight of the law.
    Bland allegations eh….talk with Deloitte……ask FUNDY…why he could not find his glasses….oh balance….who do you really think you fooling…

What would have them do present pictures ?

32. old onion bags Avatar

Ma Children Ma Children………………Yes Ma Ma
    Where have you been…………………..Pun D blog Ma Ma
    What have you learned……………….There got 2 Babadoesss Ma Ma
    IS that all…………………………………No, Justice fa one ain’t justice fa all
    Orite den………………………………………….Lewe ga home.
    Learn dat and learn it well…………………….

33. No wonder the DLP had problems with building a new prison….lol

34. We find ourselves in a bad place when many seek to consider the political options available.

Many are not happy with the DLP as well as the BLP.

@Visionay

Relax!

35. To those who believe the DLP has the inside track in the upcoming election how do you explain the CADRES poll?

36. @balancethe truth is that holding and bringing the past govt to accountabilty for past wrong doings would have cost the countrymuch enmbarrasement worldwideand the country would be seen as a breedingh ground for political corruption whichin all possibilty would have deter outside investors does the BLP yardflows understan the legal and political damage that would have drown this country not to mention unstabilty not good as seen by govts worldwide you guys should thank your lucky Stars that FS is wise

37. @ac

Based on your last comment how do you explain the Prime Minister’s threat of the FBI Report?

38. old onion bags Avatar

Ma Children Ma Children……Yes Ma Ma
    Where Ya Been ?…….At Deloitte Ma Ma
    What she give Ya ?……A report Ma Ma
    Where Ya put it ?……Pun D Boss desk Ma Ma
    And wha happen wid It…….Nutting Ma Ma
    How comes ?………..Musse Got in nuff treachery Ma Ma
    Oh I see…..ortite den come and guh Home …..
    We gine have to X it out.

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | August 6, 2012 at 8:23 AM |
    “you guys should thank your lucky Stars that FS is wise..”

He should have saved the country the embarrassment and waste of scarce financial resources by dealing quietly and effectively with the AX situation. He should have used the Inspection Report to fire the principal or send on early retirement or suspension pending further long delayed and constant deferred investigations (they do it all the time in the Police Force and the Administrative Civil Service). The stubborn and anti-change clique of teachers should have been transferred and scattered among the secondary school system thereby saving the reputation of the Alexander School from being sullied in such an awful and unprofessional way.

40. The cadres poll shows a country speaking out both sides/of their mouth no clear cut results and is more focus on/ sebnding a message to the DLP that sincker is/the preffered choice as leaderwhile leaving with a real sense of contracdictory in the result without full conclusion and not self explanatory .

41. @ David
    What cadres poll what?!?
    You mean you can’t recognize foolishness?!?,

Governments are won when the majority of candidates from a particular party win their constituency.
    Those elected then choose a leader.

Only a retard like Wickhan would therefore extract from the fact that Stuart is unpopular- that his party will therefore lose the election. There are 29 other constituencies besides Stuart’s…. You think those voters will vote for some idiot just because he or she not in FS party…?

Normal rational people would be more concerned with the Poll respondents’ ratings of the CANDIDATES. …..and surely you recall that the results were that the DLP candidates were better….

The most that can be drawn from Stuart’s unpopularity is that his leadership in the future may not be guaranteed. Even charasmatic Obama is challenged by the difficult economic times…

Clearly we have a serious problem with leadership at ALL LEVELS. Trying to win an election by focusing on Stuart’s approach is a stupid tactic when we have 15 years experience of Owen’s mismanagement, the last 4 years of the BLP infighting and Mia’s connection to Four Seasons and her determination to allow Wickham to marry a man.

Even dead Thompson who had promised so much has been badly tainted by his CLICO connections.
    In the circumstances, it is arguable that Stuart may well be our best bet in that he actually does NOTHING…..which seems to be a better bet than idiots doing foolishness like Greenland and CSME in their ignorance.

42. old onion bags Avatar

Why Bushie don’t stop dreaming……you think you is Blake?
    FUNDY is so far down the food ladder that even Yardie..begging for he….. you all are real pathetic. Stuart little ain’t even wanted by he own team…and you beggin wha?….stupeesss….Like you get a lil promise that if Jazzy Jeff get a reprieve…. so ya gotta Bigup Stuart little…lol
    Bushie you mad?Man ya mekk Onions laugh….

43. Onions
    Why you don’t go and jump up nuh…?

44. mash up and buy back Avatar
    mash up and buy back

Mash Up agree with your last comment.

Wickham poll was a foregone conclusion even before he conducted the poll.A pollster can get any result you want if you slant your questions in a certain way to get your particular response and if you oversample a particular grouping.

There is no massive dislike of the DLP although there is no massive excitement either.

Generally voters seem to be saying the DLP has been dealt a bad hand so we will not penalise them for the maladministration of the BLP.

The BLP as is their style seems to believe that by saying the same propoganda over and over again,that is… the DLP weak and can’t run the country,Owen is a master Economist,Barbados was better under Owen….. and all that jobby …they feel repetiton somehow will result in success.

I will say to them ,please don’t take the voters for granted yuh hear!

45. old onion bags Avatar

Look waana….Onions ride come…I ent in nah band but I part of Johnny Walker party…..heading for somewhere..where there is plenty sweepths and ice….so I go hear waana later…..I hear SG factor in a band…that I waana see..whalosss !

46. mash up and buy back | August 5, 2012 at 8:02 PM | It is my belief that except some major stumbling by the DLP, that party will once again assume office once election is called.
    —————————————————————-ARE YOU AN ASS Mr/Ms. mash up and buy back ???

WHY dont you wake up ??

HAVEN’T you seen the results of the next election ??

BLP = 29 SEATS
    DLP = 0 SEATS
    IND = 1 SEAT

DIDN’T you see the results of the 1999 election ???
    BLP = 28 SEATS
    DLP = 2 SEATS
    IND = 0 SEATS
    LISTEN Mr/Ms mash up and buy back, dont test me, you cant handle me.
    DO you really frigging well think that somebody going to vote for Freundel Stuart and his shit –the DLP ??
    YOU aint see how our festival Crop Over that even that they F——– up ??

JUST ASKING !

47. @Yardbroom

There have been many Blogs in support of the BLP here

Not to put too fine a point to it but Freundel would probably say it has been a veritable “Echo chamber”. Freundel hasn’t given any credit (publicly) to his English teachers at Foundation (wonder how people like Blades & Lynch feel) as Puffy Reid gets the glory for the “Latin god”.

Greek was taught at Lodge once upon a time, has any one who was proficient in Greek been described as a “Greek god”?

“Latin gods” suffer from the same malady as Greek princes they all have Achilles heels.

Sorry for the digression, back to a slice of normality.

48. @Bush Tea

If you are as connected as you seem to suggest you must be aware when the “intelligentsia” is against you it becomes like swimming against a strong current, remember Erskine Sandiford at the time? BU agrees with you that Stuart has had to battle an agenda on both sides of the fence. His weaknes, he has not leveraged his oratorical skill.

49. “.who do you really think you fooling”
    i am not trying to fool anybody Onions and certainly not you as your creative commentary certainly does not suggest but how much longer can we afford to go on making sport at matters one wants to have treated as serious

50. ‘Based on your last comment how do you explain the Prime Minister’s threat of the FBI Report?” Thank you David but poor AC catching at straws so he/she looking for the slightest redherring to hold on to.

Leave a Reply to EnuffCancel reply