Prime Minister Mia Mottley shows off a Kensington Oval ready for T20 World Cup
Submitted by Yardbroom
Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart, the leader of the DLP

I have never been “AFRAID” to put my neck on the line for a just cause and at this stage in my life, I do not intend to be afraid now.

There have been many Blogs in support of the BLP here BU (Barbados Underground) and in other places.  So I ask myself is there in the interest of balance, another view.  I am reminded of the little boy who attempts to run away from home because his mother has given his elder brother 3 turnovers – a Barbados coconut loaf – and given him only 2.  We must see things in proportion.

There is also a lot of talk about who should lead the DLP Party because he is more popular.  I would simply say.  The supposed most popular or even best batsman on a cricket team is not necessarily the best “team captain”.

In this hubble-bubble some insidiously manufactured, we inevitably must ask ourselves what amidst the mistakes made by the DLP Government – and they have been a few – is so bad that it makes the DLP worst than their predecessors.  A long list will be advanced by those supporters of the BLP and some others of independent views, but take a step back to 2008 and remind yourselves why you changed the Government then, because only by making a decision arrived at by logical deduction can you arrive at a sensible decision.

For those of flippant minds, do not wish for the devil when you are in sunshine, for when he appears in the dead of night, you might wish you had not.

To the talk of in-fighting in the DLP, loyalty to a Party does not depend on you being the leader, to demonstrate loyalty.  For genuine loyalty is demonstrating through actions that there are people and things greater than you are and foremost of them is dedication to the people to which you are privileged to lead and who have entrusted in you their hopes for the future.

I must therefore ask the DLP.  Are you men/women of honour? are you those who seek and believe in a better Barbados? do you believe that when you look your children in their eyes in all conscience you can say I did my best for you and Barbados?  Then if you cannot there is work to be done.

Grasp this opportunity, the game is not “completely” lost never mind the whispers, the only Poll that really matters is on Election Day.  You must show by speaking to the people your dedication to a cause, Awake! and think of what you can do for Barbados, for you might never pass this way again. . . . . there is much work to be done.

1. old onion bags Avatar

@ Clone [ 6.34 PM]
    I shall now precis paragraph by paragraph what you just wrote maybe ALL see what we mean……BLAMING BLAMING….

1.Miller you seems to be a hypocrite also.

2.You cannot put all the BLAME on us…..there was the worst economic global depression .

3.Why the BLP was corrupt TOO. They also had wastage.They should have spent more of that $2.8 billion on more solutions.

4. The BLAME must be shared evenly, why there was Greenland, Gems, the Highway, Prison and a failed Nigerian solar water heating project.

5.DLP will never devalue the dollar, you all can.
    @ Brief
    You know as I often tell ac….BLAMING BLAMING was not what the people had in mind when they gave you all the mandate to do the now empty promises (as per Blackette) in the DLP manifesto….but apart from that, man, at this 12th hour?Tell me do you all think the electorate gives a FART about a bullwinkle druple in 2008? Come on man .

2. @ Old Onions
    “YOU ALL CAME TO POWER TO IMPLEMENT?”
    Onions, you are what Bajans would call a ” gallows bait” and a mischief maker.
    What DLP came to what power to implement what?!?

The ONLY reason that the DLP came to power was because we were fed up and disgusted with the BLP.

If wunna want to return to power wunna will need to convince Bajans that it will be a NEW BLP in power. Putting CSME Arthur back in charge is NOT a step in the right direction…. He still using illegal carpenters??? Wunna got to get a new IMAGE!!!!

Why dont you go and run for the post of party leader? …you sound like a politician … Lotta talk and ain’t saying a thing,..

3. Clone

The Barbados dollar get devalue about eight per year for the past ten years whether or not you recognize this…

4. Where is the ghost of Guy Fawkes when you need him … Could give some potent advice …!

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Clone | August 8, 2012 at 6:34 PM |
    “You are putting all the blame on a four year old administration for our perilous economic position when they came into power with the world going into its worst economic slide since the great depression.”

You see why this administration is not trusted by local and international investors and their rating agency advisors and IMF? You see why the general electorate is confused and can’t rely on the DLP pronouncements on the state of the economy?

On the one hand the DLP and their apologists are saying everything is fine, no need to panic. Bajans are still enjoying a very high standard of living (even though earned mainly under the BLP 14 years of squandermania). The economy is stable with future growth expected and the Governor of the Central Bank and ministers of government denouncing the S&P assessment claiming that they on target with the medium term strategies to bring about economic recovery and growth.
    Now you Clone gone and say that we are in a ‘PERILOUS” economic position that we have never experienced since the 1930’s. One got the impression that it is the DLP that saved us since 2008 from total social and economic collapse brought about by the BLP administration characterized by mismanagement, wastage and corruption. Even the Pierhead marina thieving the BLP was responsible for as far as you and ac are concerned.

We are just keen to see what will be in any new DLP manifesto; if you got the guts to produce one. Hint: Just use back the 2008 book of lying promises since nothing has been achieved except the carving up of the fatted calf to the members of the constituency councils with free bus rides to the summer camps.

6. old onion bags Avatar

@ BUSHIE
    Gallas bait..LOL..Man I rather be such than associate wid the DLP or a fella like Broomes….Bushie if you had sense, you too would start cutting strings wid BOTH of them cuz THEY GOING DOWN….
    How the hell Stuart could expect to get anything from outta this ballroom fandango where even now lawyers for the D’d now breaking out laughing at their own witnesses?…You all watched TV? That yung boy Broomes did bare sport…cutting students’ hair and giving out exam results…BAG OF LAUGHS..just like the DLP…..you all could never be serious….STABLE?
    I SAY YES STABLE……but the horse done bolt and gone….STABLE is where you all will be, come elections…..holding bare manure..

7. old onion bags Avatar

MASCOL …..Ya got them in a CORNER….MIA..tekk OVA…..PATRICK GOT TO GO..GOT TO GO..lol….(chk D video)….anything sound similar?

8. Onions
    That teacher Mr Broomes the witness could qualify as the biggest clown in the teaching service.
    If he came to support Jeff Broomes, well he now undo the positive things the four young teachers said about Jeff.
    How can a man who was a police and an insurance salesman, now teacher bring a written statement with grammatical errors and read them out at the inquiry saying Mr. Broomes gave him a scissors and instructed him to cut the boy hair.

9. old onion bags Avatar

Man Clone
    He did sweet….He had McCarthy laughing….I think they should have called him sporty brooms….I saw Lett lookin on like a trance…That yung fella mekk the whole night for Barbados….I hope the Nation got it on video, so evabody can get lil piece..lol

10. I agree with Ronald Jones, too many fetes in small neighborhoods all hours of the night, its not only that old people and babies want to sleep, everyone needs to protect their ears from that pounding noise all night. If people want to have a fete in the neighborhood, they should have a permit, and the noise have to shut down a certain time, or go rent a space somewhere. The party people urinate on other people’s property all night long, drugs and other kinds of dysfunctional behavior also occurs. About low culture and high culture, I think its low function and high function, because when people want to party all night long, that don’t mean they should disturb others. I hope they bring up a law on these neighborhood parties. Someone in the ministry should institute a rule or law about this disturbance, if the ones who is in charge of the fete don’t abide by the law or rule, a big fine should be issued to them and their permit revoked.

11. @Clone
    I near dead with laughter when I read that part about cutting the boy’s hair.

12. @ Clone
    The Conservative government employed a similar approach to the Dems: INCREASED TAXATION!!

13. old onion bags Avatar

By now re : the hair cut…we should be all convinced about the arrogance of the man….(like Bushie in many respects)…

14. @Bushie

“Putting CSME Arthur back in charge is NOT a step in the right direction”

I believe CSME is the best way out for all the islands and economic restructuring should be done within the context of a single economy; but we only like to shout West Indian and Caribbean when it is the Olympics.

15. old onion bags Avatar

@ Enuff
    CSME is great when we all in but ..what we saw were people out to use Barbados for their betterment…We opened our doors and in came the USERS….I wish we could have a more controls to put an end to this …and there are many ….this lil country, because of kind hardheartedness was abused by those who came to plunder….

16. @ Old Onions
    That was because the ‘E’ was missing!! Think about it.

17. old onion bags Avatar

Man Enuff
    How we can have an economy and the leaders cannot even decide on a common currency.?…decide on CCJ.?..(note who is the biggest culprit)….This did going on now since Eric Williams and EWB..um ent change…too much petty-nationalism.Enuf how do you suggest it could work when affa we sell T&T nearly eva ting …and them can’t even repatriate wid 2 bony flying fish…dey aint even want we PHD, although the Co. belongs to them..Da is how deep um run..ONE SIDEDNESS and selfishness.

18. not to be out done OSA even hired a few of them illegally when the doors was flung open.HEE! HEE! HEE!

19. old onion bags Avatar

One des days..ac ..we all gine wake up and hear we all gots ta MOVE…lol

20. The Barbados dollar get devalue about eight per year for the past ten years whether or not you recognize this…

Never a truer statement has ever been made. The BDS dollar has been devalued indirectly a long time ago. Indeed it has been buying less and less.

21. but we only like to shout West Indian and Caribbean when it is the Olympics.

TRUE, TRUE, TRUE. I HAD A BIG LAUGH THE OTHER MORNING AT THE BEACH WHEN I HEAR A FELLOW WHO USED TO CUSS JAMAICANS BITTERLY WHEN THE SHANIQUE MYRIE AFFAIR WAS IN THE AIR OWEN ARTHUR ABOUT HIS ROLE IN CSME NOW SHOUTING CARIBBEAN, CARIBBEAN, BUNCH OF HYPOCRITES. I REMINDED HIM THAT ONE FROM TEN LEAVES NOUGHT.

Leave a Reply to EnuffCancel reply