By way of update of this matter, BU understands from our usual reliable sources that the previous Audi was written off two months before it’s 5 year lease ended after being involved in a bad accident.

MQI provided this replacement at the same lease payment as the last vehicle and same 5 year term using duty free price. We have been assured the arrangement did not cause the government to expend more – Barbados Underground

Submitted by John Dillinger

Which Statutory Board is it?

Can someone please tell me, why in this day and age when we as Barbadians have been asked to bear a higher VAT since December 2010 and higher taxes on gasoline and diesel and the Government is preaching restraint in spending that I can see a brand new black Audi  jeep with the registration ML634?

Pray tell me, which statutory body justifies purchasing this vehicle for its operations? I would like to know who gave the authorisation for whichever statutory corporation to purchase this HIGH END vehicle? A couple years ago we had a similar situation where the Samuel Jackman Prescod Polytechnic had purchased a BMW X5 for use by the messenger…a vehicle that costs over $250,000. A directive was subsequently given that this vehicle be sold….

Then we have to listen to the Central Bank Governor and the Minister of Finance lecture and talk down to us about the extravagance of Barbadians and the need to protect out foreign exchange reserves

1. @OOB
    Another downgrade?!! We DED fuh true now. Anarchy here we come just like Greece etc. Wuhloss! I did say do since Dec. 2007, that if de DEMS get de guvment agin DEM gine mash up de place dis time. DEM had nuff time to practice fuh de real ting!

2. The central bank govenor said Barbados should be upgraded now Standard & Poors has downgraded us. He should resign.
    The time is right for a no confidence motion in this government.

3. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

‘the budget constraints of the BTA will definately have an impact’
    President – BHTA – StarComNews 12.30pm 19th July 2012