By way of update of this matter, BU understands from our usual reliable sources that the previous Audi was written off two months before it’s 5 year lease ended after being involved in a bad accident.

MQI provided this replacement at the same lease payment as the last vehicle and same 5 year term using duty free price. We have been assured the arrangement did not cause the government to expend more – Barbados Underground

Submitted by John Dillinger

Which Statutory Board is it?

Can someone please tell me, why in this day and age when we as Barbadians have been asked to bear a higher VAT since December 2010 and higher taxes on gasoline and diesel and the Government is preaching restraint in spending that I can see a brand new black Audi  jeep with the registration ML634?

Pray tell me, which statutory body justifies purchasing this vehicle for its operations? I would like to know who gave the authorisation for whichever statutory corporation to purchase this HIGH END vehicle? A couple years ago we had a similar situation where the Samuel Jackman Prescod Polytechnic had purchased a BMW X5 for use by the messenger…a vehicle that costs over $250,000. A directive was subsequently given that this vehicle be sold….

Then we have to listen to the Central Bank Governor and the Minister of Finance lecture and talk down to us about the extravagance of Barbadians and the need to protect out foreign exchange reserves

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Prodigal Son
    all kinds of excuses for this blatant wast of our NIS funds.

Where is the waste of NIS funds?

2. Do you not realise that no one takes you on? Keep on blabbling your filth as usual.

3. The Constituency Council of St. Michael Central comprises of the following persons:

Mr. Ryvan Humphrey (Chairman)
    Mr. Carson C. Cadogan (Deputy Chairman)
    Mr. Tyrone Trotman
    Ms. Felicia Went
    Ms. Paulette Drakes
    Mr. Cephus Sealey
    Mr. Sherwin Boyce
    Ms. Cynthia M. Saunders
    Mr. Timothy Small
    Ms. Esther N. Marshall
    Mr. Clyde H. Chase
    Ms. Sherphine Howell
    Mr. Wyatt A. Roach

4. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

“and an added burden on the public purse with the creation of new jobs for party hacks within the public service are all evident. ”

this stands out like a sore thumb. in these hard times, to use the DLP’s words, we have in Barbados the most members of cabinet and given what Enuff just post, do all of those persons on the Constituency Council work for free? YET!!! you Carson C. Cadogan have the balls to type “This is what the BLP has in store for Barbados,”

if the BLP had that in store for the country two things would happen you clown, 1) they would be carrying on from where this DLP gov’t left off and 2) they will be voted out, just like this DLP gov’t will be.

wake up you joker.

i heard on CBC today the clown name Rawle saying that persons in this country quietly going about their business looking forward to election and i had to laugh because I asked myself, as far back as i could remember when bajans were looking forward to an election. this joker, thinks this is really a good thing for his party.

and i say again, wake up you jokers.

5. David (not BU)
    The Dems are in denial and are desperate.

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

David (not BU)

You still have not said how NIS funds are being wasted?

7. Who has the Audi dealership in Barbados …?

Wrong again, try another … Nope … Give up?

Answer, nobody.

8. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Just to show what jokers you all are. When the NIS was set up by the Democratic Labour Party in 1967, as is the custom of the Barbados Labour Party no matter what decade they are in, it was bitterly opposed by you BLP clowns.

Lo and hehold you have now transformed yourselves in the self appointed custodians of the NIS.

This is the same fund if the Democratic Labour Party had been stupid enough to listen to you would never come into existence.

That is why I have said before that the Barbados Labour Party members and supporter seem to think in slow motion. It takes them donkeys years before they can see the wisdomo of the Democratic Labour Party’s policies.

One thing that I am absolutely sure of that in the next two or three decades the Barbados Labour Party will be praising the policies of the Democratic Labour Party of today.

That is as sure as the sun will rise in the morning!!!

The Barbados Labour Party, a pack of BUFFOONS.

9. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Carson

When the DLP took office in 1961, the Government had already started the process that eventually led to what is now National Insurance. I find it hard believe that the BLP opposed NIS.

10. By way of update of this matter BU understands from our usual reliable sources that the previous Audi was written off two months before it’s 5 year lease ended after being involved in bad accident.

MQI provided this replacement at the same lease payment as the last vehicle and same 5 year term using duty free price. We have been assured the arrangement did not cause the government to expend more.

11. I saw the Minister of Finance at a DLP meeting yesterday with a hand full of people boldfacedly telling lies on my TV tonight. He said that the BLP could have done more in the times of plenty and we would not be in the mess we are in today. LIAR.

Mr Sinckler, do you want me to tell you why we are in the mess we are in today….

1. You are one of the problems, you are a boy doing a man’s job, you are out of your depth, you do not know what you are doing.

2. The economy was left to paddle its own canoe from the time the DLP took over.

3. The dead king was said to be MOF but was the only CEO PM in the history of Barbados according to Peter Wickham. The dead king left the running of the MOF to Darcy Boyce, an accountant who did the first disastrous budget on his own and imposed $105 million in new taxes on the people of Barbados which strangled the economy.

4. All the while as the DLP was covering up the DT’s illness, no one seem to be in control of the economy, it was floundering with no one at the helm. In the end, under the public pressure, the pompous Darcy Boyce came forward and did a terrible press conference.

5. The dying PM said he had given the now PM all powers. Fumble declared that he was only keeping house and that he could not re-arrange the furniture and that he did not learn treachery at Foundation.

6. The heavy taxation in the following years, the increase in VAT and excise taxes, the high gas and diesel prices have strangled the economy.

Chris Sinckler, these are but some of the reasons why we are in the mess today, NOT because of the BLP. Get real!

12. Ha ha …David you bought that?

13. @islandgal

Have no reason to question our source.

14. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

Carson C. Cadogan | July 16, 2012 at 6:54 PM |

David (not BU)

You still have not said how NIS funds are being wasted?

asswipe, where did i say anything about NIS funds? i understand doa, your head is hot and spinning. Get a Carrier AC unit so you can cool down.

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

caswell

” I find it hard believe that the BLP opposed NIS.”

If you find it hard to believe then you dont really know the Barbados Labour Party.

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID:July 16, 2012 at 8:10 PM |
    “By way of update of this matter BU understands from our usual reliable sources that the previous Audi was written off two months before it’s 5 year lease ended after being involved in bad accident.

MQI provided this replacement at the same lease payment as the last vehicle and same 5 year term using duty free price. We have been assured the arrangement did not cause the government to expend more.”

Well, well, well.

Now you see why one has to be careful with what what is published on this blog.

In his haste to damage the driver of ML634 and to appease his Barbados Labour Party counterparts, the blog master quickly put up this thread without seeking to to find out the truth of this matter.

It boils down to the Barbados Labour Party always using a strategy of fear tactics and lies in its quest to regain office in this country. For me what is even more amazing is the fact that the blog master who in the early days was more inclined to follow a truthful line has now abandon such a path in favour of lies, innuendo.and character assassination of anyone who his BLP masters have in their cross hairs. Anyone who they believe stand in their way of them getting their grubby fingers back on the Treasury of Barbados.

DAVID, you owe the driver of ML634 a public apology!!!!!!!

17. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

You keep criticizing the Nation newspaper but you are no better than them now!

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

caswell

You were around long enough to know how the Barbados Labour Party of yesterday and today operates.

Oppose, oppose, oppose.

That is their stock-in-trade.

Then years later they come back and praise the very things they previously opposed. It will continue to happen because they are light years behind the Democratic Labour Party.

19. Aarson You are talking outta yuh pooch as usual go and tek some diastop!

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

islandgal246

I know that you BLP people are allergic to the truth.

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

islandgal246

islandgal246 | July 16, 2012 at 8:19 PM |
    Ha ha …David you bought that?

DAVID:July 16, 2012 at 8:20 PM |
    @islandgal

Have no reason to question our source.

Even when the truth is staring you in the face, you disbelieve it!!!!

22. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I hope from what has taken place here that the Blog owner realises finally that he is being used by the Barbados Labour Party operatives to be part of their campaign of lies and deception.

23. Aarson yuh like yuh eat someting dat was off and your backside running. You like yuh dint hav nuh s;leep at all an yuh get up real cruel dis mawning. I done tell yuh to tek some diastop! Eff dat doan wuk try a stick of dynomite to stop de shite yuh tawking!

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

islandgal246

Go back to your garden.

25. These bloggers who rush to condemn and cuss anyone who criticise anything done by their party are the reason that nothing will ever improve bout here.
    Even if, as David is now saying, this tourism man was driving bout a quarter million dollar car at no additional cost; and even if it was originally acquired by the BLP, anyone in their right mind would – at this time of austerity, when citizens are being asked to hold strain, SERIOUSLY consider changing to a more modest ride at the end of the lease or if the car was written off..

It is called being TACTFUL.

But since practically ALL of these lackies are in it ONLY for their own personal aggrandizement, they will defend their own personal wishes at all costs… before country OR party.

The REALLY AMAZING thing about it is that people like ac and Carson seem to think that they are doing the DLP a service….. Rotfl

LOL….. Bushie well remembers a similar position by some BLP bloggers before the last elections too….

Man this is psychology 101…..

26. David

Based on what you wrote (somewhat belatedly) the whole issue of the purchase of the Audi is predicated on a falsehood to spew vitriol on Rice. I don’t know the man from Adam but I think I read he was recruited from overseas to oversee a moribund Corporation. It is still early days in his tenure so I will give him the benefit of the doubt in his efforts to right that ship but my larger point is that if I was young and qualified to take on a position in the Public Service or any Crown Corporation in Barbados and I lived overseas I would not disturb the lives of my family to return to help my native land.

Young Bajans overseas beware, accepting a position in any public agency in Barbados means that you will be entering the snakepit that is Barbados politics.

27. Well David THIS source is telling you that MQI is NOT the dealership responsible for AUDI, they lost it a long time ago …

28. What is BTA’S achievement or success since Rice take up the big post,cause I can’t see it with the naked eye. Boy that is really a big one cause it seems he get performance related perk. I wondering if more big performance perks coming soon too. MY ! OH MY! Oh mypo cockie. Crazy and big hairy expectations.

29. “By way of update of this matter, BU understands from our usual reliable sources that the previous Audi was written off two months before it’s 5 year lease ended after being involved in a bad accident.
    MQI provided this replacement at the same lease payment as the last vehicle and same 5 year term using duty free price. We have been assured the arrangement did not cause the government to expend more.”
    All that statement means is that the vehicle was acquired two months earlier. Because if the lease had rallied to the end, the BTA would have done one of two things either purchase the old Audi from the lessor aka a balloon payment or negotiated a new lease for a new one (which in this case the write off cause it to occur two months earlier). So in essence the BTA president got a new car earlier than expected.

30. @bush tea who have i cuss the fact are that there are those who with out facts would implement a person in wrong doing as with the car which i reasonabbly suggested it could be business related now you come with you bush attack accusing me of cussing those whom i disagree maybe some of them derves it Because of they slick way of trying to accuse others of wrong doing whithout facts or proof i think yuh bush have become overgrown and blocking yiour visiontime you trim it.

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | July 17, 2012 at 7:14 AM |
    “MQI provided this replacement at the same lease payment as the last vehicle and same 5 year term using duty free price. We have been assured the arrangement did not cause the government to expend more.”

This tells a lot about how stupidly you and your hypocritical DLP administration really sees the people of Barbados.
    Here was a grand opportunity for the government to put into practice what it falsely preaches.
    We are being bombarded by this administration with talk about the greening of the economy, RE, moving away from fossil fuels, the dangers and risks associated with climate change, the need to live within our means, the absolute need to cut back wasteful expenditures in order to achieve fiscal propriety and to protect our fast disappearing foreign reserves.

Could the government not have opted for a different leasing arrangement that reflects its publicly stated policies? Why not go for a smaller engine-size and more cost effective vehicle that would be cheaper to finance and operate? Why not go for a vehicle that its upkeep would reflect the prevailing economic times and government’s insistence on austerity measures as a way to manage the country’s fiscal problems? Why not opt for a vehicle that is in resonant with the pygmy roads we have which are overburdened with traffic and not with the autobahns of the countries that make these high-powered vehicles?

The more things change the more they remain the same! Right, CCC? Keep fooling the people!

32. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“It is called being TACTFUL.”

How TACTFUL IS Seethru with his AUDI SUV?

33. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

millertheanunnaki(nietherBnorD)

Right on cue!!!!!

34. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

In the future I do hope that the DAVID is a little more careful in accepting as Gospel submissions from his BLP friends including from this one who led him down the garden path.

DAVID at your age dont let these jokers trick you.

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Carson C. Cadogan | July 17, 2012 at 10:00 AM |
    “millertheanunnaki(nietherBnorD)”

Now you see why you are often referred to as “stupid’?
    Yes I am “B”. “B” standing for Barbados.
    If we continue down this path we are heading for fiscal meltdown and would be facing an adjustment (some might say a correction) in our currency peg. The first adjustment would put our dollar on par with the East Caribbean dollar.
    You want me to predict a time frame? You can hold me to it but unfortunately it might not be on your party’s watch. If there is not rapid turn around in the forex fortunes the Barbados dollar would be adjusted before October 2013 to reflect the country’s failure to earn a living (forex) in the international economic arena.

36. @ CCC
    “How tactful is Seetrhu and his Audi….”
    So now now Seethru is your role model….?

…Is it then that what you want, is to have YOUR party ripping us off- rather than the other one…?
    ….and here Bushie was thinking all along that you wanted a BETTER deal for ordinary Bajans…. 🙂
    …you had the bushman there CCC.

37. When the last election was over, and the recession swiftly followed, there would have been a sigh of relief in the old administration that, in the end, it was good election to lose. No one in their wildest dreams ever thought that the recession would go on, and on, and on. The thinking would be, “Let the others take the crap economy, and we will ride in on the crest of a wave next election just when the world comes out of recession, and look good!” The problem is that there is no end in sight, if ever. Under those circumstances, any election would be a good one to lose, including the next one. The American don’t have the answers, the Europeans don’t have the answers, not even the Chinese have the answers, yet we have jackasses on both sides of the political spectrum in Barbados claiming that THEY have the answers. Steupse!

38. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“we are heading for fiscal meltdown and would be facing an adjustment (some might say a correction) in our currency peg”

Now you see what I am talking about.

The Barbados dollar was pegged to the US dollar by the Democratic Labour Party at its current rate. this was done around Independence, which was bitterly opposed by the Barbados Labour Party.

Years later now the Barbados Labour Party is now the custodian of the Barbados dollar.

We know the importance of maintaining parity better than you. we are responsible for it not the Barbados Labour Party. You all opposed it, remember?

39. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

bush tea

Everything cool.

40. @Carson C. Cadogan | July 17, 2012 at 10:33 AM |

Really! You do seem to have your facts all mixed up.

41. @ CCC
    I need some help in repairing this l’il board house here in St. George. Can you direct me to the correct person in the Constituency Council to whom I can appeal for said assistance. Most urgent, CCC.

42. old onion bags Avatar

Cardboard
    One thing about you Carson..you are tenacious to the end. Regardless of the lashes procured from the likes of the Miller et al…you shun them off like rain water on a duck , holding firm to your cause. But Aarson man you holding a cadaver…..all that’s left now is for the bell to ring signaling the last rites and an ending of an error(not era). Have you not noticed the wisdom of ac, as she casually and tactfully makes her exit, being less conspicuous, as she too realizes ..it was all for a losing cause.Cardboard do see sense in her wisdom, and the repetitive words on the streets, that it would be to our disadvantage to return this inept administration but for another term. Too many blunders Aarson,…. like the reason for this thread.Only jokers would look to put a chairman in a $455,000 ride while appealing to the public for restrain.We also know they sent you with the infantile talk of the black man, but you too know that is more nonsense. Similarly,the mute of a future hospital, engaging three days of discussion,by a Minister, in infuriating the public,when he has more current and pressing issues, like housing abandoned geriatrics and a malodorous garbage dump. Cardboard dun know Onions is your BU pen pal, as you are so quick to profess, and I take no pleasure in seeing you done in this way by some of the czars who find time to pay homage to our jaunt and drink of our blood.
    Make yourself more inconspicuous Carson,(my advise),as times are drawing nigh, for the changing of the guard….and chariot reigns once held “tether” willingly handed over, as we begin to see the insipid ” last sinew.”
    Ya hear me Carson.

43. Ole Onions tell me something…do you rate all your comments yourself?

44. old onion bags Avatar

“I long for the day when stupidity becomes a crime….”
    E.J. Judenblod

He is not the only one.

45. old onion bags Avatar

Re : S& P rating down grading…….so much for STABLE….
    Carson, your comment.

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ old onion bags | July 17, 2012 at 1:49 PM |
    what are you saying here, Onions? Has there been a S&P downgrade?
    Or just speculation?

47. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Human Developement Index

1994(underDLP)
    By 2006 (under BLP)

B’Dos World Rating
    1994(underDLP)
    By 2007(underBLP)

S&P Rating
    1994(underDLP)
    A-

By2006(underBLP)
    BBB+

48. @CCC
    Hey you DEMS are real helpful and accommodating! I asked you for your assistance since 11:04 AM this morning and it is now 2:15 PM and so far not a word from you. Real helpful indeed.
    We can’t wait to HOSE (not SWEEP) wunna DEMS out de house when de time comes! Dis 5 years tekking real long tuh pass doe, it feeling like 25years because we sufferin so even doe is only now 41/2.

49. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Human Developement Index

1994(underDLP)
    By 2006 (under BLP)

Correction.

50. old onion bags Avatar

@ Miller
    Yeah man…we get downgrade……News Conference at Central Bank at 4.00 PM…..