By way of update of this matter, BU understands from our usual reliable sources that the previous Audi was written off two months before it’s 5 year lease ended after being involved in a bad accident.

MQI provided this replacement at the same lease payment as the last vehicle and same 5 year term using duty free price. We have been assured the arrangement did not cause the government to expend more – Barbados Underground

Submitted by John Dillinger

Which Statutory Board is it?

Can someone please tell me, why in this day and age when we as Barbadians have been asked to bear a higher VAT since December 2010 and higher taxes on gasoline and diesel and the Government is preaching restraint in spending that I can see a brand new black Audi  jeep with the registration ML634?

Pray tell me, which statutory body justifies purchasing this vehicle for its operations? I would like to know who gave the authorisation for whichever statutory corporation to purchase this HIGH END vehicle? A couple years ago we had a similar situation where the Samuel Jackman Prescod Polytechnic had purchased a BMW X5 for use by the messenger…a vehicle that costs over $250,000. A directive was subsequently given that this vehicle be sold….

Then we have to listen to the Central Bank Governor and the Minister of Finance lecture and talk down to us about the extravagance of Barbadians and the need to protect out foreign exchange reserves

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Observing (and observing)

“It is this electoral arrogance that stifles the good will the DLP once had among the independent grouping”

What “independent grouping”?

This is a HIGHLY POLARIZED blog. Either you are for the Barbados Labour Party or against the Barbados Labour Party, on this blog.

There is no middle ground here.

i DONT KNOW WHEN YOU blp JOKERS WILL GIVE UP TRYING TO FOOL THE PUBLIC.

And I repeat that, if the driver Of ML634 was WHITE NO ONE ON THIS BLOG WOULD SAY ANYTHING ABOUT IT.
    But this is how Barbados Labour Party Black people operate, like crabs in a basket.

If the driver of ML634 was catching a ZR or riding Rudge that would be just fine.

You are all showing your Political slip.

2. @ac

Are you changing your original position that perception weighs heavily? If so how convenient.

3. old onion bags Avatar

Well Well…..8.36 AM..enters Balaam’s Beast……shoite continues….

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BREAKING NEWS!!!!!!

Black people are capable of driving more than twenty year old vehicles.

Ask Seethru.

Just remember that Adrian Loveridge and the other HONORARY WHITES on this thread!

BLACK PEOPLE CAN HAVE A LITTLE DIGNITY TOO.

5. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

No wonder the other races dont take Black people seriously.

They know that we hate to see other Black People getting through.

6. LOL
    The REAL scam with these ML vehicles is not even the scandalous waste of limited FOREX to buy expensive luxury vehicles to deliver bits of paper between government offices (when everyone else in the world uses networking, emails and faxes)
    …if you want some fun David, investigate what happens to the USED vehicles when they ‘decide’ that these vehicles need to be replaced.
    …who gets to acquire them, and at what price….
    …perhaps then you may be able to grasp why the ‘strange’ choices of vehicles are made in the first place….

Can’t even blame the politicians, cause ALL of them are caught up in it… It is really a well oiled Public Service Scam…
    No place like ’bout here….

7. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Adrian Loveridge

“could this vehicle have been procured through the new subsidiary NIS Leasing Limited?”

You of all people should be shame.

8. @Bush Tea

It is a scam in the private sector too just a little more transparent.

Just don’t understand why we have to be political on these kinds of issues when it exposes the things we have to change.

9. Are you changing your original position that perception weighs heavily? If so how convenient.
    @ David!

i use the term when it attributes to a possiblity that does not make it FACTas the BLP would want people to believe otherwise . notice my comments are based on “possibilities’ no way did i present them as fact as with the article which gave the “impression” and perception that the govt bought a vehicle just for the sole purposes of luxury as factual and no attempt on clarification as to intent and verifiable cost MISLEADING and Highly SPECULATIVE!

10. old onion bags Avatar

Cardboard
    Don’t be a Johnny …what has color to do with taking up $455,000 of the taxpayers money (forex) that your Dr. Alleyne (a black man or not) beg we the tax payers to HOLD STRAIN…..and RICE just so fire off that sum to Europe?You know how many people that could feed ? .. that is C.

Every day your level of intellect seems to be diminishing to new lows…man if David would allow me I would call you a…….wid no reservations.

11. @ac

You need to apply your best comprehension when reading the article. We are operating in harsh economic times which is a challenge to some of the best economies of the world. The author even if you question the motive of the article has a point. People doing business with Barbados know we are a 166sq mile country and therefore their expectations will be appropriately set.

12. Correction: The government would have purchased DUTY FREE therefore the price would be considerably less compared tor normal retail. To quote 455,000 is like the DLP people quoting 750,0000 and not 75,000.

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“taking up $455,000 of the taxpayers money”

If that money was spent on something for a WHITE BAJAN it would be no problem at all. Why is it a problem now?

You are simply making my point.

Remember, CRABS IN A BUCKET.

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“The government would have purchased DUTY FREE”

I was wondering when you were going to point that out to your clown friends.

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

Someone just sent you an email with the clarification!!!!

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

When is Seethru going to sell his AUDI SUV and donate the proceeds to the poor?

17. old onion bags Avatar

Fool….Was that bought wid tax payer’s money ?

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Dont you think that he should be leading by example, no matter where the money came from?

19. @ DAVID

i do understand the point of the poor asking to hold strain. but the point must also be made that the vehicle is not use for joy riding but for business purposes and as transportation for the dignitaries who would be conducting business on the tourism industry behalf which could lead to investment or jobs or even promoting the country one might see a car another might see business and the potential benefits it that can be derived which in turn can outweighed the cost and the repayment of the the car in many ways the role of job is to attract in ways to please those who might be potential investors First impressions always COUNTS

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

onions

I dont understand you.
    You made mock sport of the central Bank Governor for driving a suzuki car.
    With you it would seem like damn if you do and damn if you dont.

21. @ac

Here is a newsflash for you, the vehicles are used for joy riding but is probably considered a perk of the job. It would be interesting to know the gas policy at the BTA for company vehicles. Who pays for the gas for these gas guzzlers? Is there a cap or is it limitless?

22. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

onions

Or do you like criticizing for criticizing sake? then again you are a Barbados Labour Party member we cant expect anything different.

23. old onion bags Avatar

@ Cardboard
    Truly I apologize, but I’ve never played well with stupidity.

24. o.k. David
    FACT or PERCEPTION ! PRoof necessary! JOY RIDE almost punishable by laughter BTW i am speaking about the One vehicle highlighted in the article anyhow i see you have mentioned vehicles now are you saying that many such luxury vehicles are purchased by the govt for the use of BTA in joyriding and how many such luxury vehicles are they can you reveal!

25. Carson C. Cadogan | July 15, 2012 at 8:36 AM |

Observing (and observing)

“It is this electoral arrogance that stifles the good will the DLP once had among the independent grouping”

What “independent grouping”?

This is a HIGHLY POLARIZED blog. Either you are for the Barbados Labour Party or against the Barbados Labour Party, on this blog.

There is no middle ground here.
    ………………………………..

Speak for yourself. I and a few others will support or criticise whenever due, either ‘party’.

Do not lump everyone in the same basket.

26. @CCC,

Just as I am pissed off that the average John Citizen does not yet know or have access to the financial report for Kensington, is the same
    way I want a fully explained and accounted for approach to the acclaimed new hospital.

I dont care which administration is doing it.

27. Observing (and not driving an Audi) Avatar
    Observing (and not driving an Audi)

I hope you apply you desire for verifiable proof and facts to everything that you debate about. 😉 I’ll be observing.

@Carson
    you serve your purpose here well. No response necessary.

@DLP supporters
    people are watching and talking. A word to the wise.

28. @old Union Bags

That you are a “man of letters” is made obvious by the timbre of your submissions. That you are a man of some intellect and reasoning is further evidenced by the rationale of your responses. And that you are a man of couth is seen in the way you manage and reply to the vitriolic submissions that are leveled, not at your reasoning, but at your submissions.

“Cannon to the right of them, cannon to the left of them…” is a line from a poem that you assuredly know.

26 to 4.

That is not the number of cannons during that famed sortie, nor the current time, nor does it refer to the number of seats that the DLP will loose by – no that is 28 – 2) It refers learned gentleman to the number of of competent persons in the successive administrations that this country has been assaulted with for the last 25 years.

Whether it has been DLP or a BLP administration, four persons are challenged to run the ministries of Barbados, the entire economy, under constant fire from the various Permanent Secretaries with their own agendas (almost said allegiances) and the teeming mass of public servants (with its own ratios of those who are committed to building Barbados and those who are just along for the ride).

I respectfully submit, learned sir, that our woes have nothing to do with whether this is a DLP or BLP administration.

Across the great divide what we have been seeing and continue to see an incompetency and impunity has nothing to do with the color of your T-shirt around election time, but rather with this 26 to 4 syndrome.

We, the electorate, are brought 4 men/women of worth, and 26 others who, if you were to put their brains in a blackbird it would fly backwards. And they, after the general election wok up music is over, and we get to see the lovely ** that 6.30 brings, we cry foul when, as endemic within this 26-4 configuration, persons like this BTA employee, under cover of the laxness of Statutory Boards, can benefit from the infinite largest of government’s coffers.

But i put it to you sir that “the fault is not in our stars, but in ourselves..” for how can we expect anything else to obtain when every five years, after we the electorate run the gauntlet down Broad Street, catching royal hell to pay our bills, fired on by this “enemy of the people” in the lofty parliament Buildings, ably assisted by their friendly forces in the Treasury Building on the right, we the electorate, fodder of the nation (the newspaper one too) send another batch of these mercenaries back into the fray.

We like dumb sheep vote for the Ministers of Sidewalks, the SundayMorning Love crooners, Minister LeffmyWifeLeftmyDaughter and let us not forget MinisterLeffmySon and then stand up at Eagle Hall fish market, the monstrosity built under the BLP, where not a vendor can be found, crying “why we”

You send men into these parliamentary halls, some of whom vacillate across the floor and as long as they for their pension, they leave. “I en cay bout wunna, brek fun wunna self”

Rice’s actions are “rigor mortis” a stiffening and relaxation at the time of death of the BLP/DLP animal that plagues us for five years.

Both of them are guilty of it, being the animal you and I elect.

In leaving i will cite you this one luminary action in defense of Rice, one that will underscore what rigor mortis causes great to do and I will then ask you two questions.

It is purported that no less a person than *** turned up at the ** on the night of the general election and asked to enter their office. FBPF Officer *** denied that request on the orders of ***.

What job will RBPF Officer need to find during the next 15 years when ** will be in power?

Will *** who confirmed the do not permit to enter order have ease in securing their gratuity when it comes due?

29. old onion bags Avatar

Wait Rock
    Dat long tetchy monologue was for me ? Canons and thunder et al for a thimble minded to cognize…..Dis musse Dwayne Johnson from WWE looking to strip Onions of all grammatical dignity with this en-song souplex. But boss.. I ent lie, ya got me in thoughts…. Miller you could understand what this Rock fella trying on Onions ? Whooooo….I know Onions is a kinda nautical sickle…..but these is uncharted water….Could you be a prefigure of the prefix Geese…..he duz like to try these tings now n then?

30. old onion bags Avatar

Ya trickster….ya ole dawg! 24-6……nah boy more Jusk Asking OBE GC ..cuz each day more the ignorance shows.

31. The case of the BMW at Samuel Jackman, the Audi at the BTA and Arthur the common denominator is former DLP BLP politician Johny Tudor. It is no secret John is the Audi Sales Executive at MQI. With all this business MQI getting maybe the government should consider transferring to one of the dealerships not sending home people.

32. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

correction David. as far as i know, John WAS the dealer for Audi. MQI is the unofficial dealer in Barbados for Audi. i was informed mouths ago that they (MQI) are just waiting to “hand over the keys” to the new dealer whoever that is.

the big heads in T&T made the call to dump Audi and go with BMW, hence the showroom changes and no sign of Audi.

so as i understand it you could for the time being special order an Audi from MQI. if that is the case, it would make this story a little more interesting.

33. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

also i have come to notice that having ANY discussion with CCC, ac and ! is like trying to mop up the water in the sea. they don’t/can’t think for themselves beyond the DLP line.

just look at this discussion, they are calling for facts but they offer none and only try to pull down persons there hate with lies. i would suggest to other that they ignore them until they learn how to carry on a discussion.

i look forward to the cursing i will surely get. Thanks

34. @de rock ”26 others who, if you were to put their brains in a blackbird it would fly backwards”

Lol. That was ona dem that rises from off the pitch, just short of the bastman, a fired by Marshall or Walsh.

You Sir, are entertaining!

35. @David (not BU)

Thanks for the clarification. That would be Mckenzie?

36. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Crusoe | July 15, 2012 at 4:46 PM |
    “@de rock ”26 others who, if you were to put their brains in a blackbird it would fly backwards””

Love it ! Sweet fa days! Imagery par excellence!
    It’s like trying to spot from a mile off a P.I.G pig living under the wing of a flea called a nimble.

37. old onion bags Avatar

@ De Rock man
    Man if you is Bushie ..ya might as well take off the cloak and admit…..one talk about Blackbird wid 26 brains (maddy)….Boss you ent Chris right…cuz talk about Black bird soup is one of his specialties…..

38. old onion bags Avatar

MONDAY MORNING …..Bring and early RICEY…..D wrecka coming for that ride…..Orders from above…..so and get ya last drive QUICK !

39. After the next elections can we expect to see the BLP Ministers and heads of Statutory corporations driving Camrys and Accords?

40. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I have some work for you BLP jokers including the Blog owner.

In stead of wasting time taliking about who is the driving ML634, try finding out who is the silent partner in Jose y Jose, adventurer Land tours and the apartment complex at the bottom of Rendezvous Hill.

41. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Just remember that Jose y Jose got a lot of government contracts.

42. @CCC
    The apartment complex at the bottom of Rendezvous Hill is just ONE of those buildings. What about the others all over Rendezvous Gardens? 🙂

43. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

i tell you all talking to CCC is a waste of time and space. i hope and pray the DLP go in the next election with that mind set.

44. @ Hants

So what’s your point? I am still driving my 15 year old Suzuki Swift 998cc and still getting from point “a” to point “b” comfortably and safely all over this little piece of real estate called Bim! 🙂 And, furthermore, If I use $40 a week to do all my driving around that’s a lot!

45. @ de hood,

You are doing good for the environment and your wallet.

46. old onion bags Avatar

Look Doan mind Carson
    I hear he own two cows out on Murphy pasture……but the woman dat getting D milk ……don’t give he none…So Carson you ent the only body that own sometime and odder peoples duz milk…lol

47. CCC wrote “I have some work for you BLP jokers including the Blog owner”.

David you is a BLPjoker. fuh true?….fuh real?

48. And to think that this government took up our 43 MILLION DOLLARS of our NIS money to give to the BTA to run it because the government does not have money, and this is how the BTA has spent our NIS monies?? At a time when the BTA cannot pay its creditors……making Barbados’ face shame overseas, they cannot even afford to buy any promotion items but could buy an AUDI. This is ridiculous!

No one is saying that heads of statutory boards should not have a vehicle if it is their contract but my goodness, have a heart in these times, hold on to the vehicle for a while longer.

I see the DPP has a new Mercedes and there was nothing wrong with the BMW he was driving before. Waste there as well. I knew of a former DLP candidate who got a job when this government came in and he has a $110,000 truck as an office car, he said he always wanted a truck and could not afford one as he was scrunting and he demanded what he wanted when he got the job. You think these Dems sweet?

49. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

David (not BU)

Commentary: What went wrong? Buckle your seat belts Saint Lucia!

The current maneuvering indicates that Saint Lucia is heading to economic demise but no one seems to know how to tap on the breaks of this runaway train that places political expedience and outdated ideology over country.

The false expectation of prosperity from voodoo economics , instant gratification of $100 million in 100 days and theme of “Better Days” from a fancy “blueprint to growth” that is unrealistic, has once again found common play in Saint Lucian politics.

Systemically, Saint Lucia is about to be burden into the Stone Age, and the smoldering wreckage in the aftermath of Kenny’s grand experimentation and his version of “the great leap forward”, will be felt throughout Saint Lucia for generations to come.
    In light of present day reality, the following are obvious.

Already the awarding of generous tax exemptions; preferred awarding of contracts, extensive borrowing, laid-off workers, stalled projects, a dual system of justice, and an added burden on the public purse with the creation of new jobs for party hacks within the public service are all evident.

And as the saying goes, JOBS, JOBS, JOBS and more JOBS for the boys and girls in the inner circle of the SLP, which in essence is what “Better Days” are all about and was designed to accomplish.

http://www.caribbeannewsnow.com/topstory-Commentary%3A-What-went-wrong%3F-Buckle-your-seat-belts-Saint-Lucia%21-11773.html

This is what the BLP has in store for Barbados, but luckily they will be stop in their tracks by the Barbados electorate.

50. @ old onion bags | July 15, 2012 at 6:42 AM |

I ask again why would David Rice need to be in a $445,0000 vehicle in these hard times when The Hon Freundel Stuart is advocating wage restraints,no relief in the Budget for the poor,and no money for spurring the economy on ESPECIALLY at an election time. IT JUST DOES NOT MAKE SENSE…..
    Why tourism is not performing………………………..

onions,

Did you not hear that Mr Rice was to be cut just for the reason that tourism is not performing and it reason given was that he wanted to be with his wife and baby?
    The DLP hacks made a song and dance when Owen’s vehicle was posted on BU even though it is Owen’s money but they have all kinds of excuses for this blatant wast of our NIS funds.