Submitted by BAFBFP
Central Bank of Barbados

It is with great sadness that I find myself obliged to expose this obnoxious fallacy, that there is such a thing as access to development funding in Barbados. You see years ago, even before the demise of the Barbados Development Bank, right minded agencies like the Central Bank of Barbados, the National Insurance Scheme and the Caribbean Development Bank, the founding fathers, provided seed capital for a number of funds in the country with the expressed expectation that these funds will be put to use in encouraging and developing productive type operations in Barbados; and for those who are a little slow off the mark, “products” refers to items that one can see, hear, touch, smell along with activity that can attract foreign exchange.

The funds brought into being agencies such as the Enterprise Growth Fund, Caribbean Financial Services Corporation, Fund Access and facilities that are retailed to the public through the friendly neighbourhood Commercial Banks. It must be stressed here that to the best of my knowledge, NO private sector entity in Barbados has ever invested in any of these enterprises.

Over the years as things have turned out, these new agencies have become self supporting and other than for occupying a seat or two on the various boards, the founding fathers have little say in determining the on the ground direction that their progenies take. The result of course is that the initial agenda as stated by the initial providers of the funds (like the Barbados Investment Fund (BIF), the Industrial Credit Fund etc.) has been lost on the bureaucrats who have been fortunate enough to be posted as watch dogs on the disbursements of the monies to a needy public.

Let’s take them one at a time.

The Caribbean Financial Services people who are to retail to the public the 65 million dollars that is the BIF will NOT entertain tourism related projects Full Stop. They just won’t. In fact if one requires an audience with the decision makers one will be made to pay two and a half percent of the value of the project non-refundable, to gain such a privilege..! Decisions in this case are made by a board. Again these funds were meant for programs that the normal commercial banks would consider risky, like tourism and manufacturing. They have made the decision now to do otherwise.

Let’s move on to the Enterprise Growth Fund people. Decisions here are made by a committee. These people are considered Venture Capitalists and in theory are concerned with staying for the medium term with an equity interest. None of the members of the committee of course have any monies invested in the fund so they themselves are NOT actually venture capitalists, so it is understandable perhaps why their decision making mirrors that of the standard commercial bank with regards to risk taking. They too are unlikely to entertain manufacturing and tourism type operations, though they will point to a couple of examples as a means of deflecting the reality of their historical approach to facilitating the intentions of the founding fathers.

And let’s take a look at the Fund Access people. This institution will hold fast to the notion that it will operate with the lending policy of a bank, low risk, but with the only difference of not requiring collateral as security from the borrower. It is in fact a business that exploits those who do not have collateral but will settle for small amounts (100,000 or less). Decisions here are entrusted to one man; one man! The board, of course there is a board, is hardly expected to interfere with the strategies of this single operative, even though from the outside one would believe that the board should have a say in a national agenda that is to be exercised by the institution. You see the board hardly meets anyway.

And finally there are the commercial banks who are to retail the Industrial Credit Facility where the bank is reimbursed up to 90% of the loan to the productive entity. These f#cks are prepared to lend alright, but between 11 and 14 % interest on projects for which the funds were made available in the first place. Their claim is that tourism is high risk (what does it matter that the Central Bank is reimbursing them) so the interest rates will be high. The problem here of course is that ALL of the institutions mentioned are success stories, and it is because they are successes that it will be very unlikely for any policy setting institution (read Party) or member of such (read Minister), to step in and try to redirect their activities. These institutions have succeeded on the traditional approach of low risk lending to well represented types of businesses. So phraseologies such as “entrepreneurial productive enterprises” will be lost on them.

Oh dear I have written too much already, but I must add this. The composition of the boards and committees of these institutions is primarily one of Lawyers, Accountants and Civil Servants, with the occasional business person stuck in for image purposes. This business person will be drawn from insurance and banking. These people are the most risk adverse campaigners in the history of mankind and it is at this level operation that the future of the productive plant that is Barbados, lies … My God!

72 responses to “The Arduous Task Of Accessing Funding For Development Purposes In Barbados”

1. BAFBFP you write this fah true …? I like you bad bad …!

2. @BAFBFP

A provocative piece.

Many might agree that there is no will to enable, foster, facilitate a vibrant entrepreneur climate by throwing dollars at it.

What is the role of Lynette Holder et al as far as championing the cause?

On the other side of the equation: are our prospective entrepreneurs trying to trap funds using the correct approach?

3. Ha boy we got the discussion going.

Lynette Holder and her deputy are mouth pieces. They will admit this openly. But they are under the surface just a couple of very nice women after all, and the job at hand requires a type of gutsyness that I am afraid they may NOT be cut out to handle.

The first one of course in the composition of the various boards and committees and the second is the manner in which the decision making process is handled. These boards and committees are people who are invisible to the public. The members of board of the Central Bank are made available via their website but this is NOT so in the other cases. Again these agencies were initiated to exercise the policies of the Central Bank. It maybe that they are being protective of the decision makers, but in my humble opinion the way around this is to have the decision makers interact with the entrepreneurs themselves and thrash out the misunderstandings instead of making out like cowards behind closed doors and having the field agents take the brunt of the responses that are sure to come from the public. Seriously, judges stand up in Court and make unpopular decisions in full view of the public and these people are known to be the bravest among us.

The SBA and the president of the BMA, another very nice woman under the surface, cannot really be expected to take the fight to these institutions in the manner that it deserves … or can they …?

4. NOT known to be the bravest …

5. @BAFBFP

Let us see if Sandra Husbands jumps in the discussion, we know she monitors BU.

You are correct that we need to put a process in place which makes financing available to entrepreneurs with ABC support mechanisms. We can’t preach we want to fan the flame of entrepreneurism and have multiple agencies scattered about Barbados to finance the cause.

If we are serious we have to find a way to release seed capital, working capital, cash flow injection etc. However BU remains concern that the prevailing culture in the small business (entrepreneur) world is not fully cognisant of how to prudently manage financial resources.

Is the issue then only about financing BUT also financial/resource management?

6. Sandra looking fah votes David and this is silly season now so she would be the last person on the list of qualified people that I would like to hear from right now. In any event this was going on under her watch as well. John Watson ain’ lookin’ for votes no more so maybe he could jump in …!

7. John A Watson Avatar

I did not read all that went before , I fact I dont think I have to , the problems of S/business are the same now as 20 yrs ago.

I am also not sure where I was looking for Votes before .

8. old onion bags Avatar

BAFBFP
    Yo BAF..like your thread…din know you were a finance man….we learn something every day..This is my spin..the present admin.out there pushing entrepreneurship to YOUNG school leavers…but like John Watson…could attest is… BARE HORRORS…..horrors in getting finance..horrors in getting a over draft…horrors in finding a market..horrors …in after delivering your product getting paid….IF YOU DON”T HAVE A GOD FATHER….(for Carl reflection)..I think a first timer should never be exposed to that shit from so early….if in doubt check with small businessmen like John. My notion….try at own peril..and be warned…not for the timid !

9. Interesting article. Is one option to look directly to the stock market, aka IPO’s locally. Can the small business groups get together and bypass all of the ‘xrap’ and go direct to the public coffers via the stock market?

It will involve a serious approach in building a standard prospectus package such as projections, directroships with some merit, not just armchair fillers etc.

10. @Crusoe

The SBA or similar organisation would have to champion. Small businessmen/entrepreneurs don’t have the time, resources and even the appreciation for what an IPO can make possible. Even when cash is raised where is the reservoir of ideas, project to efficiently maximise the effort?

11. Literate, structured, balanced, humane, innovative…….only one ‘F’ there I think. That’s my knight, my hero…….proud of you ‘our kid’. Haven’t forgotten. The T shirts should sell well too.

12. @ Onions;
    Don’t let Amused know, he might decide that I no longer deserve my position as Class Clown … HA HA HA

@ John W
    Wait, you din’ runnin fah the PEP at one time …?

@ David and Crusoe
    Consider first that NOT ONE private sector institution saw the need to contribute money to any of the retailers of the funds , not one. Take it from there.

@ Ross
    Thanx … But you notice of the course BAFBFP’s displeasure in having lawyers sitting on the various boards (in some instances as Chair) and serving in capacities other than that of the Board Secretary …!
    You might be guilty of aiding an enemy … HA HA

13. old onion bags Avatar

BAF
    I always knew you had it in you…..the only one that I have never seen anything penned of worth from is ac…..she is of ranting worthiness only.
    Consumed with arcane thoughts of a DLP success….truly a mere phantasmagoria if ever there be one….

14. @ onions

the power is in the pen and i use my pen as i see fit! You might be NEXT!

15. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac
    Why you don’t let me enjoy post Father’s Day doa…i trouble you ? Tek care I take up D Voodo man offer ya…(mek all ya feathers drop off…lol)

16. onions

“the power is in the pen and i use my pen as i see fit! You might be NEXT!”

are you sure that you writ with a pen and not a sword?

17. @ BAF

Yes I did notice that….and smiled. Looks as if all my political ambitions are thwarted. Sob. BUT I have been grubbing for precedents on hanging corrupt judges.

18. @ onions don’t touch dem turtle eggs or else you might grow fangs . A la DRACULA!

19. but on BAF post . how can it be that a little island cannot fund there own and have a belief and trust in their own people in building industry .even a mutt would get better response to funding in barbados to start a business than the natives. which leaves one to question is this deliberate way of keeping the natives from owing a big share of the pie followed by a lot of stereotyping which only serves to depress progress. in the meanwhile i think that the movers and shakers of the financial and private sector are really afraid of the explosion and negative effect that black ownership might present to their business for them it would be problematic and the only way to stop it is by stereotyping the race in a negative way and guess what after a while that level of mistrust sets into the minds of people which we all buy into.while forgetting that those in charge has had many failures in business but are always giving another chance.

20. old onion bags Avatar

Wait Vodoo man comments gone ?….well well……LOL

21. Special Instructions Avatar
    Special Instructions

david

relaible sources confirm that a cabinet minister in the DLP administration is about to resign from cabinet and will run as an independent up in the east.

22. @special instructions

Tell us more? If true Estwick will lose.

23. old onion bags Avatar

D Pitt Bull Loose…and gine and BITE OFF Fundy foot…..whalossss..he too BRAWWWWWLLLING Doaaa

24. David;
    Why is it certain that he will lose?
    If people are disenchanted with both the DEMs and the BLP perhaps he might scrape a win on the votes of the disenchanted on both sides.
    With possibly 7 or more months to go, strange things can happen.
    I also heard some very serious rumours tonight about DI. I doubt they are true but one never knows.

25. What about DI? As probably the Cabinet Minister with the best grasp of his portfolio, if he resigns or crosses the floor, that would be a terrible blow to the DLP.

26. old onion bags Avatar

Wait…..that is true ?…whaaaaaaa Eager 11 mek it work dis time fellas better late than neva….

@ac Stop posting all these diversionary videos TONIGHT…..This is a dawn of a new rising…..ya ears too hard.. I told ya..D horse out D stable now..DEM could not take it nah more….

27. Proposed ‘Cabinet’:

Yardbroom – Prime Minister and Minister of Defence and Security
    David – Deputy (sorry, but I like how Yardie comes across as older and wise), you be the reliable one to whom he depends at crucial times), Minister of Home Affairs
    Robert Ross – AG
    Amused – Minister of Justice Administration
    BAFBFP – Minister of Commerce and Innovative Development
    Georgie Porgie – Minister of Health
    AC – Minister of Sport (she like nuff sports)
    Sargeant – Minister of Public Administration and Civil Works
    Moneybrain – Minister of Finance
    Check-it-out -Minister of Education
    Green Monkey – Minister for International Trade
    Crusoe – Minister of Foreign Affairs (jus warning, I gine do dixie at the UN speechifications)

See how easy an alternate Cabinet is?

Dun widdat!!

28. Wait, I gine an leff out Agriculture? Man, Hoad!

29. old onion bags Avatar

@ check -it
    With possibly 7 or more months to go, strange things can happen.
    Man when you going stop ?……you good for newbies….

30. wait onions de vidoes stepping on yuh corns stop begging! yuh sound DESPERATE. if yuh can stand de heat stay out de kitchen.

31. You leff out the Min of Tourism … Adrian Loveridge

Man look how wunna come ’bout hey and corrup’ my blog … I did trying to invite some serious people to come pun BU for the first time and thrash this thing out. Now wunna got me embarrass. Stupse, I even had a Minister line up …

AC look wuh you gone an’ do … 🙂

32. but BAF earlier in the post i try to explore the issue but the other bloggers got to talking about vodoo and green candles but if you want to pick up from my commentn earlier i would be pleased to her your opinion on what i said

33. To what extent is governments’ commitment to a service economy derailed a real commitment to facilitating relevant funding?

The lack of a strategic focus(strategy) affected the vested players.

34. In fact we have a similar out of alignment position if we look at how public resources are targeted at the education sector and the need for the cultural and creative industries to flourish. Totally at variance.

@checkit-out

Estwick by bucking the historical would usher in a new dispensation in politics in Barbados.

35. Hi AC June 18, 2012 @ 9:10PM
    The indomitable AC, tenacity personified.
    Informed and valuable contribution facilitated.
    – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –
    Hi Crusoe June 18, 2012 @ 9:28PM

What have you done? I will now be accused of beating my wife, tiefing the people’s money, corruption, frequenting Bush Hill late at night, giving my sister a little pick at Jenkins and she ca-way food, and to think he a bare-foot boy, who got his learning holding two skillets at de stand pipe.
    God have mercy!!!

36. relaible sources confirm that a cabinet minister in the DLP administration is about to resign from cabinet and will run as an independent up in the east.”
    he has been called all sorts of names but never a jackass. the DLP propaganda machine would eat him alive.

37. Wait, I gine an leff out Agriculture? Man, Hoad!

no crusoe, now bro caswell has enlightened me about the properties of goat milk and how he prefers goat milk to viagra you want to deny me the opportunity of obtaining cheap goat milk. no way, crusoe ole onions for agriculture. most of the onions on sale these days kind of soft anyhow.

38. ac

I luvs arguments that shore up the race divide that we have in Bim, but I have to admit that this campaign does not play a role here, in fact what is playing out is clear cut Black vs the rest in ensuring that certain “types” of operations remain on the drawing board. And really the fact that the individuals who are in a position to make a difference are Black is really just a matter of numerical demographic strength. Truth is Barbados could use an infusion of big country know how (board members from Malaysia, Singapore, Canada or Mauritius) some cultural medicine to correct what has become an incestuous collaboration of similarly trained operatives within these agencies.

39. I am so TIRED of individuals like the head of the Private Sector operation John Williams and others referring to Micro Business in the context of the development of Barbados (as per the recent meeting of the Chamber of Commerce launch of the Micro Finance Study yesterday).

This is what Micro Business, the types that Fund Access and others are very much in favour of, is :-
    Mobile Canteens, Coconut Vendors, Barbers, Hair Dressers and Spas. The Dentist and law people would easily be entertained by banks. ALL of this represents support activity and is NOT what I am referring to in the article.

Micro Business is NOT the same as Productive Enterprise and I wish that individuals who should know better would stop confusing the two …!

40. BAF not quite sure what you say about the race divide ,anyhow how is it possible for so many of us to get money to purchase homes and cars but almost impossible to get money to start a business

41. @Yardbroom, Sorry Sir, but one must lookj for the best and that’s all, no intent to put you in the hot seat other than furture success of our island.

@BAFBFP, Apologies, as per my initial comment, iI think that there is a way and I disagree that the SBA cannot do this. A standard IPO formulation is necessary to get the ball rolling.But it will require a careful formulation and focus heavily on assuring that the investors can gain trust that their monies are well invested.

That will circumvent the banks and the agencies that you speak of, leaving three stakeholders, i.e. the entrepreneur, the stock exhange and the investors..

42. David

The whole drive that is being displayed in favour of the so called “Cultural Industries” is just a ploy to keep civil servants and legal people busy in the medium term until something else arises like another location in Barbados that will need to be included as a World Heritage what ever the shite it is …

AgriCULTURE is a cultural industry too and one with a very very long history that has been allowed to remain unattended to the point where the Cabinet Minister may very well be making a very public statement by his actions.

43. Agreed, not to mention the horrendous food import bill that affects our balance of payments.

And some have the gall to claim that we cannot produce locally to ‘compete;.

No, better to send hundreds of millions to USA and UK annually, and import boxed shite.

44. Crusoe

I have to believe that you live over an’ away. But even so, surely you are aware of the very stagnant nature of the stock exchange in Barbados in the inability of the people operating within that environment to make things better. Here as with every where else in Barbados, there is the problem of highly certificated (I will NOT say qualified) but ineffective staffing. The Stock Exchange in which you have placed some trust is losing membership, big time. I like the IPO idea, it is part of an EU and British High Commission rear guard for helping prospectives in the region, but I believe that the exercise will be wasted on the big monnied locals. Believe me, the types of people that you are banking on do NOT exist ’bout here …!

45. ac

Go to Fund Access with a business plan that would support the interest of a big name retailer in Barbados (I cannot prove this … but wah) like you plan to buy a van or truck from a major retailer to set up a mobile canteen or a freighting business and you will get a good, a very good listen.

46. ac

You are right with the assessment.

47. The system is setup to give loans for cars, house etc because the lending institution is quite happy ‘holding’ the bill of sale or title etc.

In the case of lending for what BAFBFP has described a large element of risk is not ‘covered’ in the current lending model and this is why a different type of a lending model is required. A model which embraces a dose of ‘venture’ financing.

48. old onion bags Avatar

Hammie is a really nice guy at Fund Access..its not him….he receives orders from above…..That money is for certain peoples. Like the whole Caribbean Entrepreneur Trust to the World ….another of Govt shams. They tell you “Oh there is so much funds available”…Yes money is there ..but for certain few….BARE TALK..if you dont have a god fadda…you stuck….The worst are the banks like FCID and Scotie Royale etc…it seems like a entrepreneur is a marked man….overdraft ?….bare trouble…anything needed now…nxt year…yet you see these sign all over their banks . Come in and take of the 1,000,000 way we want to help ..just ask…
    BAF it is a REAL SAD STATE for those who so bold to attempt to employ themselves…and dont have their own money.as John said and has no change in 20 yrs….what I think most that STINKS is to entice youthful minds to head in that direction….TO FAIL.
    Look BIDC build a nice (appearance) building down Fontabelle for SBMen..walking in there sometime and see the computer area (public access) for small business people 10×10 to hold 5 walkins is a squeeze…observer the signage on the walls..”Telephone calls 5 mins “THERE IS ONE PHONE….and about 45 admin staff who do nothing upstairs, but draw a salary…miss and park in the wrong car spot….miss and ask a question…Is like what you come here for ?
    ARE THEY NOT AWARE THAT SMALL BUSINESSES IN CANADA makes for 70 % of that countries revenue….NOT BIG BUSINESS…cheez

49. @BAFBFP

Brother, we are paying close attention as you direct this discussion. It is a good thing you are not a financial expert because you putting some of said taking heads / prctitioners to shame. Gallop on!