Submitted by BAFBFP
Central Bank of Barbados

It is with great sadness that I find myself obliged to expose this obnoxious fallacy, that there is such a thing as access to development funding in Barbados. You see years ago, even before the demise of the Barbados Development Bank, right minded agencies like the Central Bank of Barbados, the National Insurance Scheme and the Caribbean Development Bank, the founding fathers, provided seed capital for a number of funds in the country with the expressed expectation that these funds will be put to use in encouraging and developing productive type operations in Barbados; and for those who are a little slow off the mark, “products” refers to items that one can see, hear, touch, smell along with activity that can attract foreign exchange.

The funds brought into being agencies such as the Enterprise Growth Fund, Caribbean Financial Services Corporation, Fund Access and facilities that are retailed to the public through the friendly neighbourhood Commercial Banks. It must be stressed here that to the best of my knowledge, NO private sector entity in Barbados has ever invested in any of these enterprises.

Over the years as things have turned out, these new agencies have become self supporting and other than for occupying a seat or two on the various boards, the founding fathers have little say in determining the on the ground direction that their progenies take. The result of course is that the initial agenda as stated by the initial providers of the funds (like the Barbados Investment Fund (BIF), the Industrial Credit Fund etc.) has been lost on the bureaucrats who have been fortunate enough to be posted as watch dogs on the disbursements of the monies to a needy public.

Let’s take them one at a time.

The Caribbean Financial Services people who are to retail to the public the 65 million dollars that is the BIF will NOT entertain tourism related projects Full Stop. They just won’t. In fact if one requires an audience with the decision makers one will be made to pay two and a half percent of the value of the project non-refundable, to gain such a privilege..! Decisions in this case are made by a board. Again these funds were meant for programs that the normal commercial banks would consider risky, like tourism and manufacturing. They have made the decision now to do otherwise.

Let’s move on to the Enterprise Growth Fund people. Decisions here are made by a committee. These people are considered Venture Capitalists and in theory are concerned with staying for the medium term with an equity interest. None of the members of the committee of course have any monies invested in the fund so they themselves are NOT actually venture capitalists, so it is understandable perhaps why their decision making mirrors that of the standard commercial bank with regards to risk taking. They too are unlikely to entertain manufacturing and tourism type operations, though they will point to a couple of examples as a means of deflecting the reality of their historical approach to facilitating the intentions of the founding fathers.

And let’s take a look at the Fund Access people. This institution will hold fast to the notion that it will operate with the lending policy of a bank, low risk, but with the only difference of not requiring collateral as security from the borrower. It is in fact a business that exploits those who do not have collateral but will settle for small amounts (100,000 or less). Decisions here are entrusted to one man; one man! The board, of course there is a board, is hardly expected to interfere with the strategies of this single operative, even though from the outside one would believe that the board should have a say in a national agenda that is to be exercised by the institution. You see the board hardly meets anyway.

And finally there are the commercial banks who are to retail the Industrial Credit Facility where the bank is reimbursed up to 90% of the loan to the productive entity. These f#cks are prepared to lend alright, but between 11 and 14 % interest on projects for which the funds were made available in the first place. Their claim is that tourism is high risk (what does it matter that the Central Bank is reimbursing them) so the interest rates will be high. The problem here of course is that ALL of the institutions mentioned are success stories, and it is because they are successes that it will be very unlikely for any policy setting institution (read Party) or member of such (read Minister), to step in and try to redirect their activities. These institutions have succeeded on the traditional approach of low risk lending to well represented types of businesses. So phraseologies such as “entrepreneurial productive enterprises” will be lost on them.

Oh dear I have written too much already, but I must add this. The composition of the boards and committees of these institutions is primarily one of Lawyers, Accountants and Civil Servants, with the occasional business person stuck in for image purposes. This business person will be drawn from insurance and banking. These people are the most risk adverse campaigners in the history of mankind and it is at this level operation that the future of the productive plant that is Barbados, lies … My God!

72 responses to “The Arduous Task Of Accessing Funding For Development Purposes In Barbados”

1. What is it we want funding for but can’t get it? Is there a lending ‘niche’ for whatever it is. If not, what can we do to create one? If there is, why is the attempt being frustrated?

2. @Crusoe

Thanks for the promotion but I am almost tempted to say “If nominated I will not accept, if drafted I will not run, if elected I will not serve”.

But you looking for trouble with only one woman (AC in your cabinet) and having Amused and RR in the same cabinet is like mixing oil and water but I must commend you for leaving out Onions.

Anyway in keeping up with my new responsibilities I have brushed up my lexicon to include such phrases as “stoic indifference” (let the PM use phlegmatic serenity) to let the lesser mortals know that I will not be losing any sleep no matter what issues arise in my Ministry.

3. @ Sarjeant

I think the PM is aware of the problem. He’s trying to raise us up above ourselves. A press office photo will soon appear with Amused and RR holding hands as children under a huge image of the PM with outstretched arms. BAF can be seen in the corner laughing his head off.

4. Pacha

You’re going to hate me for saying the following, but I am sure it will not last.

Our Governments give away scholarships and exhibitions every year (normally paid for in US currency). Years ago at the start of the Scholarship campaign I am guessing that the reason was to have people appropriately educated in a way that would bring returns to the country …! Now the question is, how were those returns measured and is there not a need to change the measurement process as the national agenda modifies. Add to this the fact that along the way the idea of educating individuals so that they have the chance of “Doing Better For Themselves” has some how replaced the need educate people to “Contribute To The Country’s Development” (the two are mutually exclusive at the moment and have been for some time) and you will see the dilemma that haunts me.

The people with the types of skills that can contribute to the productive effort, the top end MIT graduates, the aquaculturists and so on for example would prefer to work for transnationals like Rolls Royce and various overseas agencies; many would like to return but are frustrated by the narrow mindedness of the senior bureaucrats.

In this present environment I see a scholarship as an investment with a risk factor of 100% … meaning that there is virtually NO chance of a return. So tell me, where in the middle of the scale should any of those available locals who have benefited this hundred percent risk money find as acceptable, an appropriate position for productive enterprises which at least have a chance, even the smallest, of a return on investment …?

5. old onion bags Avatar

@ Sarge
    and having Amused and RR in the same cabinet is like mixing oil and water but I must commend you for leaving out Onions.
    Eggs don’t go to big rock DLP dance….neva….blessings united.

6. @ BAFBAF
    Again, these views are not totally inconsistent with ours. Unlike you however, we feel that the Barbados ‘scholarship’ system merely serves to reinforce a class structure and does nothing for national development. Which ‘scholarship’ winner has used nanotechnology to make a measurable contribution to Barbados or the world? Which ‘scholarship’ winner has translated an invention into leading edge industry or commerce in Barbados or elsewhere? Where is Barbados located within the annals of the production of knowledge? How many patents are registered to our ‘best and brightest’?

The Barbadian education system itself is anachronistic at best and at worse mis-educates our people. We make another distinction between credentialism and education. Credentialism is happening at Cave Hill. But the collective wisdom of the people can be brought to bear on existential problems in ways that bypass both the mis-education and/or the credentialism systems.To various extents they are rooted in a commercialism that is anathema to nation building. A wise people would want correct information in order to chart a sustainable course. Not for elite but for the regular people who must be at its center.

You made reference to MIT and aquaculture and so on. We are not persuaded that what goes on at MIT is consistent to the needs of small island states. Aquaculture is again, in our view, anti developmental because it is largely based on GMO technologies that pollute the gene pool of Mother Earth. These quacks are putting human genes into fish so that in six months they are four time as large as a non-GMO (Genetically Modified Organism) fish that is two to three years old. When release into nature these transgenic organisms destroy or pollute existing stocks. Monsanto terminator technology is no better when applied to traditional agriculture.

They say great minds think alike. We don’t know about that, but at the time you were writing we making a similar comment on the blog about education and the unemployment crisis in the USA. In short, our central view is that knowledge should have the masses of people at the centre.

7. “The masses of the people” is something that I would have a natural desire to sympathize with but you see there is NO social engineering in this part of the world and the older I get the more I realize that it suits many many interests to have the really stupid among us procreating at the fastest rate. Consumers do need to be thinking people after all.

Aquaculture does not have to involve GMO anything as I am sure you know. We have an English guy now growing out cray fish in six months (still experimental) to service the local hotels. Could you imagine a nationwide campaign of small farmers raising salt and fresh water shell fish for export? And so on. The Ministry of Agriculture eight years ago had an exhibition of processed foods that they developed in their labs that were ready for commercialization. Nothing was taken up by the so called Capitalists after their exploitative expertise is in the retailing of brands. And so on.

http://www.solidworks.com/btd/innovations/humanoid-robotics.htm?scid=ext_pub_globalspec_techspecs_120_static_btd

This web-site shows an area of activity that requires world wide input, input that can be had from the smallest of nations as a result of the internet … and so on. This is one of many, and the young minds in Barbados (particularly the boys) could be easily attracted to ideas such as this. And so on

8. Consumers do NOT need to be thinking people after all.

9. @BAFBFP
    Why don’t you get your boys to let us shown them how to mobilize substantial capital to do the types of investments we are talking about? Investments that the country needs. At some point BAF, we need to stop talking and complaining and take some assertive actions. Why is it not possible, for example, for us as citizens, to develop a plan to retire the national debt of the country? Why is it not possible for us, as citizens, taking over the financial responsibility for the QEH, or the other burden on government the university? Why can’t we, as citizens, throw the IMF and the World Bank out of Barbados and declare their personnel as persona non grata? I have have some other ideas if another channel for discussion can be found and if you are serious.

10. @Pacha

Feel free to share because all and sundry may be interested to find out how John Citizen can usurp the role of government in our system of government.

11. Pacha

You might glean from all that I have written that I am actively involved with the campaign… frustrated as hell, but still very active. My battles are numerous, mostly against people WHO SHOULD KNOW BETTER … They after all, have taken it unto themselves to exploit the educational process to the fullest.

I do not see myself as particularly intelligent, but I have a very short fuse when I have to deal with people who flaunt the credentials and find it difficult to hang in a decent conversation about something that is important to me. I am sir involved in assertive action, have been for years, having worked in the Far East in industry, and am grateful for a forum like this that David has graciously provided, to vent and at least ease the pain by talking shite from time to time.

But yes, Pacha I do a hell of a lot more than talk, believe me, probably to my detriment … but wah!

12. @David
    No we don’t feel free to share. Usurpation has legal implications. And that was not our intent. We are talking about taking private and civic actions to revolutionize our country. We would like to insist that you physically withdraw that characterization and apologize. When other functions of government are privatized we have never heard this idiocy. When the US Federal Reserve has been a private institution for over 100 years, we have never heard a word about usurpation. This is exactly what is wrong with the Bajan mentality. We can only operate within the frame given to you. Anytime you are drawn outside that restrictive paradigm, we are lost. Lastly, we made a suggestion to BAFBFP.

13. @ BAF

For Jesus’ sake, give me the T shirt will you and stop messing about.

14. HA HA HA Ross, sit tight …!

15. This is a very relevant submission by BAFBFP the kind of issue the electorate should be concerned, the type of issue the SBA et al should be championing. Instead politics continues to dividus on the important issues.

16. David

You beginning to sound like a convert … !

17. @BAF

Believe it or not we are on the same battlefield.

18. “The Barbadian minister was responding to a presentation made by Ali Mansoor, financial secretary in the Ministry of Finance and Economic Development in Mauritius, in which he detailed the programme of reform that was being implemented by his government.”

Today’s Nationnews.com will focus on what Min Dennis Kelman says and not what the Min Fin and Econ Devel in a country that Barbados is competing against, pound for pound and is getting its ass kicked to the curb …! Christ, what the f#ck is wrong with these news people …? If a Minister farts it makes news, to the expense of everything else …!

19. http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/kellmans-way-harder-work/

This response from the Minister is completely, COMPLETELY misguided …! This by the way is a summit on “Innovation, competitiveness and entrepreneurship”

20. @ BAF

The report in the link hardly suggests the Minister is on top of his game……it suggests he is an ‘at all at all at all’ kinda fella. I wonder what the Mauritius reforms were all about.

21. Ross

And so do I. I writin’ another article man, on this topic in particular, because the Minister’s swipe at an approach is common to both Parties and the Nation CEO’s coverage of the event suggested that she had a rollicking time at the cocktails … Pays to be a CEO

22. All these schemes are possible Pachamama. That is exactly the role and purpose of Cooperatives.
    Furthermore, we in Barbados have been outstandingly successful in one type of cooperative over the pase three decades – credit unions.

The only reason that Bajans are reluctant to invest their savings in shares and investments is that any idiot can look and see that the people who control such investments right now are crooks and schemers.

A democratic and transparent coop would solve this problem quickly….especially with BU and Caswell looking on…