The Authorโ€™s name withheld on request

Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler

How much longer can we continue this way Mr. Sinckler? Better believe we need to come up for air now. People all over Barbados want some reprieve. How much longer can they take these draconian measures and not fall through the social net? We need relief and we need it like yesterday.

What is the sense of being able to boast of cutting the deficit in half and the country’s people are suffering?

You are on video boasting in Parliament of the tough times our generation has been through and of how it makes for character. Yes sir Mr. Minister we agree, but are you not forgettingโ€ฆ back in those days you could beg for a breadfruit….a turnover was for 5c….you could eat and sleep at the neighbor and vice versa. Times have changed Mr.Minister … they have become harder. What could play in those days, won’t cut it today.

By taking so much money out of the economy in the forms of increased taxation and surcharge on fuel,ย ย  the money supply has decreased .ย  The money multiplier effect has thereby waned as a result, and there are less dollars to be circulated andย  personal savings are being withdrawn from the banks. For those so interested….. money creation is the process by which the money supply of a countryย  is changed. There are two principal stages of money creation. First, a central bank introduces new money into the economy termed expansionary monetary policy…. by purchasing financial assets or lending money to financial institutions. Secondly, the new money introduced by the central bank is multiplied by commercial banks through fractional reserve banking; this expands the amount of broad money (i.e. cash plus demand deposits) in the economy so that it is a multiple (known as the money multiplier) of the amount originally created by the central bank.

Mr.Sincklerย  by your government’s mid-term fiscal policies, you all have successfully choked up the country’s monetary plumbing real good. The system needs an enema, and real fast….to release some frustrations and anxieties the hard working and unemployed people are left to bear.

Come Budget Day, we need A GOOD RELEASE…”something proper”..for some of us are daily riding the “Brumswick Schooner”….and that is no lie.

1. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac
    What has popularity have to do with suffering ?You must realise by now all are aware of your modes operandi…don’t change hear….

2. ole onions if what you are saying about the people shouting why then would they be a swell of support for the man who the BLP says inflict the pain. by any sound reasoning he should have been driven off the face of the earth let alone be shown as being popular by any stretch of ones imagination. the fact is that you BLP fowls always trying to drive home your points through propaganda but when confronted on a level playimg field wunna run for cover here you come in wid that stupid response .

3. old onion bags Avatar

I ain’t go bother wid you dear…..I just going wait til elections and laugh at you…

4. A line of attack the Dems could use in next year’s campaign is Owen Arthur’s fear of Chris Sinckler.
    Arthur is twisting the truth when he keeps saying he did not plan to to become Opposition leader a second time.
    If David Thompson was alive Owen Arthur would have retired from politics at the end on this term.
    He returned and bushwhacked Mia because he felt he could topple Stuart.
    To topple Stuart though he must go thru Sinckler and here’s where it gets tricky because Sinckler far from fearing his reputation does wash him in verbal licks whenever he enters Parliament .
    The end result is that Owen plays truant and does not go to Parliament hence defrauding the taxpayers.
    He is a fibber and now proven to be a coward.
    He fears Sinckler and no mealy mouth contorted liguistics by onion his BLP running yard chickens can change that fact!

5. If Chris Sinkler indeed said that “hard times breed character”

1. How come he is so fat?

2. Has he not suffered hard times?

3. How is his character?

6. @Wikileaks 4 | June 16, 2012 at 7:33 PM |
    “To topple Stuart though he must go thru Sinckler and hereโ€™s where it gets tricky because Sinckler far from fearing his reputation does wash him in verbal licks whenever he enters Parliament”…………..

You all are real proud of this type of behaviour exhibited by Chris Sinckler every time he is in Parliament, eh?
    Is this the level to which our politics has sunk?
    Is washing someone in verbal licks according to you, acceptable conduct in our esteem House of Parliament?

He must keep it up. What you all dont know is that the only persons that agrees with this nasty behaviour is the DLP yardfowls. And you then would dare to criticise the youth on the block.

7. Cuh dear Prodigal the pot calling the kettle black. Are we discussing the Owen Arthur who paint Ali the Bajan-Indian reporter in cuss, he also massacrete Irene Sandiford Garner and more in Parliament. Cuh dear that worse than any block behaviour .

Word on the street is when Arthur got in he drinks he used to call his Ministers , journalists or anyone who piss he off, in the wee hours of the morning and blind them with bewse. You gwine deny the reprehensible behaviour from the man who want to to PM twice. He should not be PM again let him go up by the Whim or wherever he come from and hold some ESAF and some sleep.

8. You can ridicule Owen Arthur all you want. But what I can say is that he is yet alive, ESAF and all.

9. old onion bags Avatar

Wiklaek4
    Man what foolishness you come in hay to talk while I was in the Ivy.You too like you drinking foolish. DLP milk . Like you never hit a EASF white ever..unless you is Wickham.Yes OSA quick to buse but he is an effective LEADER….we all duz have our faults. I would rather a captain who could drive any day than a boy who like fishcakes and could only pull bout a nugget tin or a trash trolley (country toys).All good leaders tend to be that way or should I say gifted men….E=MC2….Einstein,Michael Manley,Ronald Reagan, Margaret Thatcher…to name a few were famous for some idiosyncrasy that we all love to hate . It seems to be a gift which came with these eccentric souls, so we must learn to live with them…and highlight their positives.I would rather be led by a lion any day that run with a sheep. Won’t you.???? Last night….everybody with the exception of Mia took a turn in Kenny Jack Benny …..the whip for laughs….A school teacher ask a pupil what would happen if you asked Kenny ..”A penny for your thoughts”…the pupil replies Jenny would take out his wallet and give you back a $5.” Onions not a joke master but some were good …on a more positive side ….Suckerooo…beware the engineer now build a swing bride the size of Chamberlin…and is all but ready to hoist you….OUT. The crowd 300 last night….was a somber tint ..as most people in the Ivy seems to prefer to listen from open doors n windows…Rudy Grant is proving a great MC….I saw about 15 candidates in support of comrade Trevor Prescod…who WILL win back this seat easily from the grammatical mistake.

10. old onion bags Avatar

@ Wikleaks
    By the way……yet another debating partner for Uncle Chris the gutter bird…here we go

11. HA! HA! Chris Sinckler Being compared to OSA not a comparison. wheras the integrity levels of OSA arethose of drunken sailor. Chris sinckler a “Cut above the rest” Chris has done the DLP proud and we the stalwarts would reward him for it.

12. old onion bags Avatar

Things around BIM are that bad ? Have they forgotten this is an ELECTION YEAR ac……Surely now every one can believe the DLP has really driven things in a sad corner.SO BAD..that they can’t EASE UP…why not a political party in the history of the Caribbean NEVER WERE UP ABLE TO FREE UP IN AN ELECTIONS YEAR…that bad ac ??? ……you are supposed to have licenses gone down…no tax on this …concessions on that….relief on dat….but you know what ac…FAMILY FIRST GOT ALL…and family get party and family flew to china and family get taxis and family get apartments and family get pensioners money and family get football tourm and family get constituency council largess WHILE WE THE PEOPLE GET SH#T…..then now we hearing…GIVE US ANOTHER TERM ..YA hearrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr……..
    NO BOSEY…….LIKE HELL !…WE DUN WID DEM.

13. Has chris done anything other than move some of government expense to be directly finance by nis? That is to so say he nothing but accounting madoff and standford would be proud of.

14. old onion bags Avatar

@ Chris
    Did I hear your opening remarks right ” When the guvverment of the DLP imploded”…? Boss it imploding AGAIN …this time hopefully for good.
    How the hell a man with a Bsc in Public Admin….could talk on econ matters …more …than a man wid Bsc, Msc. Economics on his way to PHD.???
    BUTT geese was always a shite talker of renown…..Erskin “Lump it ” Sandi..sidekick…what could you expect ?

15. @Onions

See bio below:

DeLisle Worrell, Governor Central Bank of Barbados
    Bio

Dr. DeLisle Worrell was appointed as Governor of the Central Bank of Barbados on November 1, 2009.

Dr. Worrell, an Economist, worked at the Bank previously between 1973 and 1998, serving as Manager of the Research Department, then Divisional Director of Research and Information, before assuming the post of Deputy Governor with responsibilities for research, management informations systems and banking supervision, from 1990.

Between 1998 and 2008 Dr. Worrell worked with the Monetary and Capital Markets Department of the International Monetary Fund and, more recently, he served as the Executive Director of the Caribbean Centre for Money and Finance (CCMF).

Dr. Worrell holds a Bachelor of Science Degree in Economics from U.W.I. and a Ph.D. in the same discipline from McGill University. He is Professor of Economics at the Sir Arthur Lewis Institute of Social and Economic Studies (SALISES).

Dr. Worrell is the author of the book Small Island Economies, and author or editor of several other books on Caribbean and South Pacific economies. He has also published articles on money, banking, exchange rates, and economic modelling and forecasting, in books and journals in the U.S., U.K., Mexico and the Caribbean.

Dr. Worrell has held research fellowships at the Smithsonian Institution, the Peterson Institute and the Federal Reserve Board in Washington, at Yale University, Princeton University and the University of the West Indies. He has been consultant to the Inter-American Development Bank, the Foundation for Development Cooperation in Brisbane, Australia, the U.S. Agency for International Development, the World Bank, the UN Economic and Social Council and the Caribbean Community Secretariat. He was general chairperson of the International Symposium on Forecasting 1997, and a member of the programme committee of the International Economic Association Moscow congress of 1992.

Dr. Worrell is married to Monica Drayton.
    Recent Publications and Presentations

View list as of January 2012

16. old onion bags Avatar

How apt of you to provide this Bio of Mr. Stable….at this time…”just remember lightning does not strike the same place twice”..(EconBdos)….lol

17. Here is another bio:

Biography – Senator The Hon. Darcy Boyce
    Senator The Hon. Darcy Boyce
    Minister in the Office of the Prime Minister

Senator The Honourable Darcy Boyce graduated in 1974 from the Mona Campus of the University of the West Indies with a first class honours degree in Economics. After gaining the degree of Master of Business Administration (MBA) in Finance from the University of Toronto in 1979, he qualified as a Certified Management Accountant (CMA) in 1984 and is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Barbados.

Mr. Boyce has worked as an Economist with the Caribbean Development Bank, as a Director of Coopers and Lybrand Associates, as the Executive Director of the Agricultural Venture Trust, as the Partner in charge of Management Consulting, KPMG, as Deputy Governor – Operations of the Central Bank of Barbados between 2000 and 2004, and as Chief Executive Officer of the Barbados Tourism Investment Inc. from 2004. He has also served on the Board of Directors of several private sector companies.

Between 1992 and 2000, Mr. Boyce also served as the Coordinator of the Barbados Private Sector Agency to provide business sector input into the tri-partite governance arrangements in the country.

18. guys all worked up this morning. look OSA tell the people of ST KITTS want to go to heaven you must first die. Yet he bought hear telling the people they could enjoy all the luxury of a first rate country without giving back any thing. OSA is a Hypocrite of voluminous proportion

19. old onion bags Avatar

Truth of the matter is Darcy is a brilliant ACCOUNTANT….his digress to economics was but a move to security in Govt…he may have excelled in econ..but his true liking is cost accounting…brilliant……Darcy is a prime example of the art involved in the science of economics….a well debated anomaly….Poor Darcy…but true.

20. @Onions

Where has Mascoll ever worked except the Central Bank of Barbados. Mascoll is a Central Banker!

21. old onion bags Avatar

That is why he knows Barbados’ position so well…..Mascoll is no fly by night…believe me…He is worth his salt..Do you remember when he , Robinson and Arthur (me too ) persistently warned this crop of DLP “economist” what would be the result of this 2% Vat increase ? Now look what we have..prediction to the bone…stagflation at its best….But Chris din want to hear we….Mr.Physical Deficit din want to hear we…Jasper din want to hear we, …in all fairness Dr Alleyne was silent…but there we had it …then we grind…..”an aeroplane that attempted to take off with 4 open parachutes.”Arthur…will not make airborne…..as Chris n perry gang believed….but what can we expect from a fellow who loves to talk and only make jokes at this colleagues expense in the peoples Parliament of the art of blackbird cuisine…..

22. @Onions

The point of posting the bios is to show that they all come from backgrounds linked to Central Bank, University and Accounting. They are all cut from the same cloth.

23. old onion bags Avatar

Shite talk ….David..the problem with economics unlike accounting…too many unknown variables. Econ..is a Social Science..hence like all sciences should be predictable…yet as we know three different economist given the SAME model can present in three different theoretically correct answers….Not so with accounting (Darcy)….only one answer can be correct…..hence this paradox….even more so with economics of today….very complicated…it’s not the economist but the unknowns , un presented variables that can pop up like an umpth!.

24. @Obions

You seem to have forgotten that Boyce has a first class honours degree in economics, Anyway part of the reason the world finds itself in the doodoo is because of well trained economists.

25. @Onions.

I disagree. Economics principles are clear and ‘can’ easily applied. The issue is that being a field that requires a specific understanding, it also allows invidiauls to obfuscate to their preference.

Also, as with all matters, subjective understanding and assessment is relevant and therefore impacts on judgement and opinion.

Even accounting has issues in relevance and interpretation, take for example ;off balance sheet’ issues such as those of AIB, which caused such problems for that entity.

Again, the issue is one of those ‘in control’ being willing to obfuscate to ‘their’ preference.

Ultimately, it comes back to the ability and knowledge …..and agendas, of those giving the assessment.

Dont blamce economcis, blame the interpretation.

Maybe I am being pedantic, but I do think that the distinction is an important one.

26. “Chris sinckler a โ€œCut above the restโ€ Chris has done the DLP proud and we the stalwarts would reward him for it.”
    to be honest, i do not know why i am engaging you but tell me one thing, not two, one policy that Mr Sinckler has proposed or enunciated which has moved the economy and country forward? except for a heavy dose in taxation.

27. @Onions

How can the principles of an inexact science ‘easily’ applied?

How can a discipline which has admitted that there has been a lack of understanding of behavioural economics escape culpability in the mess we find ourselves?

28. old onion bags Avatar

What Chris n Jasper were practicing was not Economic based but like the Artful Dodger…the science of trickery…..skimming off from the top-pery..BNOC…$100 Million from the coffers of unsuspecting motorist….while Jasper siphon off the NIS Funds as see fit unconditionally and accountable to none….some call it highway robbery. You don’t need no degree to do that hence….the beating of chest. The charade they hope to continue hopefully undiscovered by, like some (JM report)..but things don’t always go the way we want it ..as God is not sleeping.

29. old onion bags Avatar

@ Crusoe
    I disagree. Economics principles are clear and โ€˜canโ€™ easily applied. The issue is that being a field that requires a specific understanding,
    Principle may be clear n easily applied…..but it is the OUTCOME..that may be effected by a variable = (e.g)…intangible motivation factor of the country’s work force by not receiving a bonus of 7% instead of 4% in the previous year…..How do you account for such a factor ? Or rainfall unexpectedly sent up production in Cuba sugar cane output..while no rain here saw our down..These are the input variables to which I speak that effect the economist figs..that cannot be accurately ascertained…In accounting nowadays however…lets say we using integer progamming model..Objective function -To maximise no. of widget x in preference to widget y..Given constrains..(1) max no. y that can be sold is 3,400,000.(2) the amt of capital available to the company is $56 milllion (3).The number of down time days can only be 233….and so on….We can not place all this into a computer program and ONE ANSWER..the meets all these criteria..will be output….maximizing the company’s profits and pleasing shareholders.
    NOT SO WITH ECONOMICS……outside unknown variable always throw a spanner in the works…a unexpected labor strike last year….the price of fuel remained constant…where the economist was expecting an increase.

Hence the term science…facts (can be proved)…art ..a subjective discipline of one conceptualization..each has hisher own interpretation.

30. In the above thread the person wrote: “By taking so much money out of the economy in the forms of increased taxation and surcharge on fuel, the money supply has decreased . The money multiplier effect has thereby waned as a result, and there are less dollars to be circulated and personal savings are being withdrawn from the banks. For those so interestedโ€ฆ.. money creation is the process by which the money supply of a country is changed.”

Did the person really mean money supply, or money circulation, has decreased??

Some time ago the PDC usd to believe in that bogus thing called the money multiplier effect. But thank goodness we no longer believe in such. There is really no such thing as a money multiplier effect. For what is money really being multiplied by, we would love to ask the person who wrote the missive and prefers to hide?? Nothing really. So there is no resultant effect anywhere any time. Absolutely none!! Such is the bogusness and fictitiousness and falseness of this particular joke concept within this ramshackled economics discipline.

Economics HAS NEVER, IS NEVER and WILL NEVER be a science!!

But the person is right that less dollars are in circulation as a result of increased TAXATION and the so-called Excise TAX on fuel in Barbados ( there is one and only one form of TAXATION – Direct Income Taxation, okay)

And, it is enitrely scandalous, or comical, for any one to believe that money is created by any other means other than by its being shaped out of the relevant material, then digitizing it and so on, and it therefore being given by its makers the characteristics that all money ought have. What a dearth of philosophy that has been exhibited in the contribution.

So, the so-called money supply does NOT EVER change other than by it being actually changed physically in various ways.

31. old onion bags Avatar

@ PDC
    There is really no such thing as a money multiplier effect.
    Awrite Boss……I guess your Google button…not working….BU peoples ares!…..we will take note

32. old onion bags Avatar

Economics โ€“ Science or Art?
    By Tejvan Pettinger on September 11, 2009 in economics

Economics combines elements of both science and art.

Economists try to develop analytical mathematical models which seek to explain economic behaviour in a way that can be theoretically proved.

For example working out the elasticity of demand through using calculus.

In macro economic models there are many models which seek to explain macro variables such as inflation, growth and unemployment.

Yet, when applied to the real world these models have significant limitations which can make them of limited value.

For example, much of economic theory rests on an assumption of rational behaviour by consumers. Especially in classical economics, economic theory is derived from a belief that consumers and firms will rationally pursue utility maximising decisions. Yet, in practice human nature is much more complex. Behavioural economics tries to understand these human factors much more โ€“ but, this involves many normative / subjective opinions.

In the past few decades the efficient market hypothesis took the assumption, asset prices would be correctly priced โ€“ given available information.

Yet, recent events suggest these neat theories have severe limitations in the real world.

33. @Onions

Don’t lets start the argument, economics is not exact because it extrapolates based on forecast (historical trends) etc. We have had this debate on BU before.

34. old onion bags Avatar

Never said it was…..the article was to disprove PDC claim that economic could never be a science.Let me make my position clear as some seem to have mis read..”it is a hybrid of both.”

35. Onions did you see the part of the video when your genius said that you do not know exactly how much vat will bring in because you do not know the value of consumption. He said that the tax may bring in more revenue than was anticipated. So why was he saying that The Minister of Finance was raping by population by collecting so much revenue from vat?
    WATCHING THAT VIDEO TELLS ME THAT OWEN ARTHUR AND CLYDE MASCOLL ARE TWO BIG HYPOCRITES AND SHOULD NOT BE ALLOW IN THE MINISTRY OF FINANCE AGAIN.

Onions did you read your party newspaper today. St Lucian students are crying at Cave Hill because they cannot pay their tuition fees while the Barbados Government pays for their citizens.
    Now you see why you cannot compare the growth of the two economies IDIOT.

36. Economics cannot cannot be an exact sicience like natural science and there fore the out put can predicted with any accuracy like in the natural sicence.

37. old onion bags Avatar

@Clone
    Onions did you see the part of the video when your genius said that you do not know exactly how much vat will bring in because you do not know
    the value of consumption. He said that the tax may bring in more revenue than was anticipated. So why was he saying that The Minister of Finance was raping by population by collecting so much revenue from vat?
    Clone ..what is your point ? Either you want to show us that English language is rather not one of your stronger areas….or you really want us to believe that you are a clown….Owen said nothing is wrong wid LITTLE Vat….but when you increase it by 2% at a WRONG TIME…(recession)..it does not make for financial prudence.

If the MOF send up Vat to 35% tomorrow ,that make sense to you right ? PERCENTILE and TIMING is of essence.Hoping you see what is intended my buddy and BU friend.

38. Onions
    You cannot have it both ways.
    The vat was raised to 17.5%
    Why was it raised Mr. Onions?
    To keep doing what St Lucia cannot do onions.

Were there any other countries in the world which had to increase taxes to meet revenue targets or was IT ONLY THIS LITTLE NON RESOURCE utopia?
    What was the right time between 2004- 2007? But you genius leader never made a hard decision in his 14 years.

Remember Anthony Wood said the cabinet had agree to a rise in bus fares. The call program went ballistic on the government. Owen step in like a savior to the poor man and said no bus fares will go up under his leadership.

39. old onion bags Avatar

I had to jump back on this thread…cuz the rest to soft line for the politico HARDLINER……Don Vincent Onions…Who here to test..cuz Clone still sleeping ?……bring it on …

40. old onion bags Avatar

@ VIDEO…..”.WHO IS D CRIMINAL ” ??? Why Sin John church yard of course….Geese..ya want to know who is D Criminal ask Deloitte…..ask the man who loss he glasses…..WHALE.. we go play this video time n time again..”.HARDWOOD is chicken feed.”…..you so RIGHT ..CLICO…..OH CHRIS…your foot way down your mouth on dis one….WHO IS D BIG BIG CRIMINAL……elections it coming back to choke ya….lol…SOMEBODY…lockup the criminal….and throw way D key…fa good.

41. You can ran but you can’t hide NO MORE CORRUPTION!

42. old onion bags Avatar

I love when that old buffoon goes thru all the monkey antics and the gorillaphant gesticulations…..man I just love to see the commitment on GEESE face…..he love to fool the people of Black Rock..the wood dove soup souls….blackbirds no more go to the Mental state….Geese ah wonder what you go tell them when Nicholls plays this clip on the big screen…in the farm for the Bailey posse to see ?What ya go say ?…Who gine be the BIGGEST CRIMINAL..? How ya going explain the $5 Million that went to the marina but neva reach D engineer ?….Who gine b BIG CRIMINAL..? BIG…well you already dat….WHO IS D BIG CRIMINAL ?Ya better lose weight ….

43. old onion bags Avatar

VIDEO…..”forms a company and uses money ($5 million) for purposes other than intended.”..” the Magistrate Court “…”You talk about accountability “…” Let him deal wdi Dat “….” I gone “……all from GEESE mouth…ALL coming back like a boomerang come Elections Campaign 2012…GEESE….your words..now you will look most silly….lol OVERKILL at its best…

44. What any government needs to do, is go after those who owe them millions of dollars. Millions of dollars are owed to VAT, BWA, Property Tax Division, the NHC and some other depts. By raising taxes and not putting in place ways and means of getting these payments back, would just mean contined raising taxes until it goes through the roof.

45. I understand that there are numerous “big-shots” in this country who owe millions of dollars collectively, to the government for non-payment of water and property taxes, but supports one or the other party or both, therefore governments hands are tied, but the little man who only owe a small amount and genuingly cannot pay will have their water disconnected are their property sold, For government to make up the short fall, they then increase the taxes, the man that does not pay continues not to pay but the man who can hardly pay or pay at all will lose everything.

46. old onion bags Avatar

@ Scout
    You really believe FUNDY send a note to a long valued party and profession supporter ..who owed the Govt $4 mil in NIS, Vat and Corp. taxes and say payup or else ? You better believe those who owed those big monies …are acquaintances and “friends” ( e.g CLICO)..what’s left is the small fish to harass…..man Scoutie…”who d dog likes…. like you forget wha happen in the Rats .v Donville episode….quickest thing does be a telephone call….call off the dogs man !

47. old onion bags Avatar

What would be really interesting to know is how much of that $120 Million in bounced VAT cheques disclosed to the public in January 2012…were ACTUALLY COLLECTED…..This if I remember created a storm at that time with fingers pointing to recon- car dealers….and those that closed a company only to be permitted to form another under another name although owing Govt astronomical amount in Vat….Tell us Mr. MOF….what has become of there culprits ?Was anybody prosecuted …the newspapers never showed a fellow being hauled before the Magistrates ? Or were these BIG FISH, big enough to pelt off the net with a phone call ?