Submitted by Observing

You are suffering and you are indirectly suffering the independents that support you. We like you, really we do. We believe that you have the most integrity and desire to help all Barbadians and with time could do so. But you are doing an atrocious job of showing it, proving it, or at the very least talking about it properly.  Let me pause to offer a moment of sympathy for your departed leader, former PM David Thompson. He truly went too soon. He also left big boots to fill and an unfinished vision and mandate that desperately needed time and hard working, honest souls to bring it to fruition.  Fast forward two years and we must now ask. What have you done? How have you done it? How have you shared it?

I’ll declare my hand and admit that my philosophy, leaning and beliefs endear me to the DLP rather than the BLP. But, my objectivity will always question right from wrong, good from bad, sense from nonsense and efficiency from ineptitude.  In too many cases you have collectively chosen the latters. To make matters worse, it has been so blatant, so obvious, and in some cases so bumbling that it seems you are still now trying to “settle” into the role of government, four years after the fact.

While on that, let me turn to your chairman, the PM, the numero uno, Mr. Freundel Stuart.  A good man.  A liked man. A decent man. An intelligent man. But clearly a man with flaws in some of the critical areas of leadership, team building and emotional intelligence.  They say a leader gets the job done. Full stop.  But there are many tasks he/she must undertake and people he/she must work and talk with to get there.  The jury will decide on Stuart’s performance as PM and leader.   As for the team? Likeable fellows somewhat. But, complacent, sometimes arrogant and now conveniently blind to the very things that swept them into power, and are poised to sweep them out.  They should pray for light.

We admit. We do not like the BLP so much (Their numerous supporters love them however).  But, that is not good enough reason for us to come running to you when it feels like you have pushed us away, ignored us or both. We need to hear, to see and to feel that you are serious, sincere, genuine, thoughtful and selfless enough to work together for the betterment of this country.  Anything less will render you to political obscurity for a long time to come.

We want to hear from you.  Not via legislation or edited press releases. Not via grandiose verbosity and circumspect generalities. Not via international fireside chats that we happen to catch while on our sofas. No…from you…directly, bluntly and honesty.

Rest assured, many are watching. Many are thinking. Many are waiting and many are listening. Some like I are just observing.  You have good talking points, use them.  You have good ammunition, release it.  You still have some confidence among the electorate, maximize it.  What we are seeing now is far from stellar and definitely not enough to make me jump out of bed, pick up my “X” and award it to the generic candidate on your ticket. I’ll stay home first.  A word to the wise.  It’s not over yet, but you seem to be rushing it there.

I’ll provide one straightforward statistic that has nothing to do with the recent polls, and is but one of many laid strewn across my desk that convince me you have more than an uphill battle.

In 2008 you won by 8800 votes. Take out St. John and St. Lucy and that margin drops to 4,100 across 28 remaining constituencies.  The maths isn’t hard to follow. A 3% swing is an illusion.  A more accurate swing needed is in the region of 1.5% and even less in most places.  There’s more discouraging statistical news where this came from.
Enough said.

Wake up and at least put up a reasonable fight…together.

Just Observing.

1. @old onions

one of the things i was thought when i studies use of english is how to lie with statistics. Firstly let me say that those figures might be for 2o10 or earlier as the discalimer say accurate at January 2012.

By the way when measuring development, a number of factors must be considered. Why havnt u looked at the unemployment rate to see how it matched up against the economic gurus. The said coutires u compared barbados print the unemplyment rate here and other indices that would indicate the qualty of life etc..

2. old onion bags Avatar

Like I gone and interfered (BU)…. while being a moral fundamentalist….I have some aspiring hard working children. (one also an attorney overseas}… and won’t have like them to be so subjected as with that thread….do take it as such and not otherwise.

3. clone
    it is nice when you can feel this way about your party, however you must face reality and realise the dlp has made too many blunders, what has made matters worse is they used the blp mistakes to get the confidence of the people to win elections, therefore to come and make the same mistakes or worse, means the dlp is going to be marked harder than the blp. as i’ve said earlier, the dlp would have won the elections in 2008 anyhow, but the many promises sweetened the gullible electorates to vote heavily for the dlp. Remember what sweeten goat mout, does burn he in he bam-bam. the dlp is now feeling that burn, had the party not promise so much, they would not have been marked so hard.

4. old onion bags Avatar

Curacuo # 111….a lil tiny island main income earner… tourism……Virgin Island # 150…again main income TOURISM……. Mr. Clone hold that talk about no tourist coming for Mr .Arthur…PLEASE…..the true reasons…bad management and lethargy……
    Shall we move on to Bdos # 2 income earner… International Business to further substantiate our point ..as the two go hand in hand ? Exodus as well.

Barbados…..at the bottom #193…cheeszon !

5. Observing (and observing) Avatar
    Observing (and observing)

Now wake up so let me respond to all..

@Leonard
    The DLP are using CBC. They are not engagin at all. AS for filled to capacity, well, David (not BU) answered that

@Inkwell
    Yup…He is sharpening his humour 🙂

@Anon
    Freundel made the same statement, not only Donville (y).

I don’t think the DLP has done the best that can eb done. I think they’ve done the best that THEY can do all things considered.
    Not being able to communicate properly only complicates it.

@Blogger 2012
    The motivation indeed is not there. I agree

@YArdbroom
    The battlelines have been drawn. The least they can do now is fight and show they want another term for the right reasons . Whether they deserve it or not is another thing.

@onions
    Admittedly past performance is weak. But they’re still a new government. THe problem is the frequent missteps and mistakes with a misguided communication plan. Makes matters worse. The BLP made mistakes in their time to. But dusted off, came clean with it (or hid it even cleaner) and got back to work. These guys aren’t following the scrip needed to remain in government. Mind you, being in governmetn and being in power are two different things.

@Artaxerxes 7:35
    You hit the nail on the head

@Clone
    Do you think integrity will win the election? Serouisly?

@Just being objective
    I agree. But, evertyone and every voter is not objective or observant. Good qualities are memorable…electable is another matter.

@Cat piss and pepper
    Balance on a blog is good. lol.

Just observing

6. @re my 9.35 post the disclaimer said January 2011. Hence the latest the infromation coul be for is 2010. Onions u r back in time no wonder u used the word old.

7. @observing

BU’s comment is being misrepresented. The gist of the point is that the DLP has failed to deliver a coherent message which delivers that they have done the best that can be done.

8. old onion bags Avatar

@ Blogger 2012
    one of the things i was thought when i studies use of english is how to lie with statistics.
    Study carefully what are you saying ?…Look to the bottom of the graph..Effective Jan.2011…..whether 2010 or not…this admin came to being in 2008…..your point please ?

9. Observing (and observing) Avatar

noted David.

I wouldn’t want to mislead the House 🙂

“Everybody hates Chris” is on 100.7 as we speak 🙂

10. @observing

Chris is blazing 🙂

11. @David

how is he blazing as i told u i am away give me an insight on how he is blazing

12. @onion
    my point is that u have to understand that development is not only about gdp, but the unemployment rate among other things.. why havnt u memtioned about some of those advanced countries with so much industrail might and whose % of the population is below the poverty level far higher than Barbados, as well as the unemploymentrate.. Or r u not capable of looking sa all the indicators to do a proper analysis. U forget that a number of intl organizations said that barbados manageent of the economy was good in the circumstance.

13. @blogger

Go to cbc.bb select radio from the top menu and select 100.7.

He is viciously defending the government’s stewardship in a bad economic climate. He even pelt some lashes in the media He even mentioned the opposition who are peddling untruths and gloom on the blogs.

14. and is the PM due to leave the country anytime soon? i wonder if he will or he can?…………………..

He is to go to Canada, maybe to arrange to bring in their overseas members to come in to vote.

15. @Caswell

wait u got white family. dont cut down the branch, burn it and make sure only that aspect of the tree dies to prevent further branches on that side from growing.

16. It seems Pat Hoyos has gotten under the MoF’s skin.

17. old onion bags Avatar

@ Blogger 2012
    What does that have to do with……Effective date Jan. 2011….?
    Try moving the goal post as much as you like real GDP is the established yard stick for highlighting GROWTH…..(google it)..DLP apologist again…as you try to fool the public that they are not smelling Sh#t with this incompetent DLP Govt…..think they believe you ? call the elections den….you can be answered…ITS ALL OVA…

18. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

Cat piss and pepper | May 29, 2012 at 9:25 AM |

I noticed your silence on the matter of the recent poll that has Toppin behind Francis by 12.5 percentage points.

what poll are you talking about? you people really living in a bubble.

19. @John
    I am waiting on your response. By the way, my niece a beautiful black well qualified black is married to a white man, do u think i would be naive to use that example to say what whites are not racist slave societies were borned out of white supeiority by using their religion to detroy any vestige of black culture. Thats why i like the Iranians stand up to white supremacy.

20. @onions

u like a stick record from the time dt died u were saying call the elections. Elections will be called when the PM tell the gg to call them. U r so naive that u have not got a clue about analysing development,al issues. the only thing u and ur party can measure is$

21. @David

Thanks

22. old onion bags Avatar

@ blogger
    HA HA HA HA……the only stick record that I am hearing all the time everywhere is ONE TERM..and when the elections gine call…DEAL WID IT..people are just tired of a Govt in inertia…and a driver who can’t drive..

23. @onions

i still maintain that ur intelectual capcity is so limited that u can even give a spireted response to anything on this blog. Barbadians will decide whether they want a corkked government or one who is interested in the people and not just a few. U r waiting for hand outs u might get a heart attack.

As i have said before, if it is the will of the people they will chose what govt they want, but people like u cant decide when elections will be called. If B or D in power I dont look for hand outs. I can stand on my own two feet, so I can give jack his jacket when it is due, unlike u who believe that ur party must not be criticized for its many infelicites and corrupt and wasteful spending of our vat monies.
    I welcome a discourse, not assinine behavoiur. By the way if i make any typing or grammatical errors, i know better. Dont have to care about such when u r blogging anonymously.

Bring it on. I am waiting.

24. @onions

I gine shopping and i will take u on when i come back.

25. @David, ……………He is viciously defending the government’s stewardship in a bad economic climate. He even pelt some lashes in the media He even mentioned the opposition who are peddling untruths and gloom on the blogs…………………………….

I would say that Chris Sinckler is behaving like the person on this blog using the name cat piss and pepper. No wonder people are turned off of politics. He is behaving like a barn yard dog, when is he going to learn how to conduct himself while debating? The language and tone is really unbecoming for Parliament. But what do you expect from the wild boys?

On the other hand, listen to Mia. Despite her recent behaviour, I must say she debates with class, something the Dems can learn from.

Chris Sinckler sounds desperate, he is lashing out…hear him…”if yuh think that they were arrogant before, dey worse now since the poll, duh planning who gine get which ministry and who gine New York”. Desperation and frustration have set it! They frighten!

In 2008, if they had taken the advice from the BLP, having just been in government, they would not be in panic today but they were arrogant and pigheaded and they will pay!

26. It is Mia’s turn now.

The licks continue.

Who is correct about the NIS subsidising several government and quasi of 136 millions?

27. “THAT’S WHY I LIKE THE IRANIANS, STAND UP TO WHITE SUPREMACY”
    the Iranians are racists too.

28. old onion bags Avatar

Now to show just how shallow in vision these bountiful politician are….12.30 pm News VOB…headliner by Stetson Babb news manager….Govt promises “a Budget to look forward to “…..WISE UP PEOPLE…please tell me ..How many months now before elections ? 3,..6 max 9 months ?
    Horse and dangling carrot.scenario again…..Tell me do they think the electorate are so foolish ?Goodies for 6 months ..OH PLEASE !…..Is that the best they can do…

Mia: “YOU cannot tax your way back into Growth.”…..told ya eva sense…
    read ” Stop Blaming all on Global Economies….(insert link pls david)

29. Observing (and observing) Avatar

the blogs are being mentioned alot of late. lol. And yes, the Hoyos-Sinckler love fest seems rather personal now.

The DLP are still stuck in the “we had ta do this because of the BLP wastage” mode. That should have been dealt with in years one and two not on the “eve” of an election.

It’s pretty clear how the respective campaigns will be waged.

@cat piss
    St. Michael North that special? lordie. I would be impressed.

30. @ David @ 8.30
    David I’m not knocking Ms McKay, congrats to her and her staff. She’s a really hard worker. My point is that every year( or most years) she says the same thing and next year she’ll probably say that it has been the best BMEX in 16 years. That’s fine, they’re growing.
    My point was that Nathan @ 11.13 pm on 28th May made link between BMEX being successful and the DLP: “DLP has created the environment for the manufacturing sector to develop and export”. Now that link is more than a stretch, it’s not true.
    I fully support BAFBFP’s comments re. Enterprise Growth Fund and BIDC and Invest Barbados.

31. old onion bags Avatar

old onion bags | January 29, 2012 at 6:00 PM |
    Link : Stop Blaming All on Global Economies….2.5 % Vat taxation warning ..now materialized.

32. old onion bags Avatar

The taxation assault that was unleashed on Barbados, has brought about what is occasioned today ..a total slow down of the economy and negative or no growth pattern during the five year implemented.It was a mistake to increase VAT from 15% to 17.50% in order to bring additional revenue in a time of recession as was warned by Mascoll, Justin Robinson of UWI and Owen Arthur of the opposition.If I remember right, the analogy was to be liked “an air plane taking off with four open parachutes”..It was suggested that this would stifle any growth, the struggling economy was stimulating on its own at that time.
    Regardless of the warnings of these recognized economists, the tax increase was implemented with the predicted results…a barren economy..stagflation occasioned with increased inflation and a decline in”real” revenues.
    Has anybody even as much as flinch to remove or introduce any other corrective fiscal measures to rescue this economy from entering total morass.?.No.. to-date instead, we hear of more monies to be taken from our NIS fund.More money to fuel us down a Four Seasons path with no foreseeable end in sight. Furthermore, we now hear of the blame game, with finger pointing and no cohesion in the ranks…while the country continues its downward spiral path.
    “Look to the light at the end of the tunnel.”…What light..? For all we see is a Emera..and a ever increasing fuel adjustment clause, rubbing salt in our wounds adding further insult to injury, for yet another bad investment decision by this administration.. the selling of the BL&P shares.

33. @David
    What are the KPIs we need to measure to determine if manufacturing andagriculture sectors are going anywhere? How much we are exporting? Has employment risen in the sectors? What? Many are tired of the dry talk from politicians.
    In the last three years, the KPI (Key Performance Indicator) for manufacturing and agriculture has been the level of survival. In the manufacturing sector, about which I know most, companies are mainly small, even micro, and would find themselves in a weak position even if times were good. The recession has taken a toll, no doubt about it. Reduced economic activity in our main tourism markets has inevitably led to the same happening in Barbados. Onions might like to look at the double dip recession in the UK and Europe and the say that they are worse off than St Lucia, which of course, is the completely wrong use of statistics. To add to the problem for manufacturing has been the huge drop in business available within Caricom, our manufacturers’ main market. Bearing in mind this depressing scenario, the sector deserves all the praise that it can get for coming out so strong again at BMEX 2012. It is absolutely true that the BMA is the best and most successful event organiser in Barbados – they put the others to shame. But I digress. We cannot talk about growth in the manufacturing sector until we can see growth in the main markets. In the meantime, survival is the key – the number one KPI.

34. Observing (and polling) Avatar
    Observing (and polling)

Mia still batting????

35. old onion bags Avatar

@ peltdown
    Why not stick to what I said..that real GDP in St.Lucia exceeded that in Bdos in 2010 and onwards…and not what YOU think I would say.

By the way…to assist you with your quest..try http://www.cbb.bb to see what figs. the central bank site can offer…cheerio,

36. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

Mia all but call the MoF a liar with documented proof.

37. Onions, you are convincing no one but yourself. The same website shows that GDP per capita in Barbados is way higher than in any of the other Caribbean contries that you mention. So you used a bogus argument. The real GDP growth rate in St Lucia was also higher than in the UK and the Eurozone. Would any opposition supporters in those countries be stupid enough to use St Lucia as a comparison? My suggestion? Stick to literature.

38. old onion bags Avatar

Now the strategy (like looking glass) is to say the figures lie……man wanna is something else..the GDPr of St .Lucia is NOT higher than UK…chk chart
    again.Seem like you need a class in EC101…

39. @Prodigal

What about owen behavour whe he was in the house. He got on like someone from Nelson Street.>

40. @peltdown

Onions cant stick to anything he is back in time when yah had those turn tables to spin recoreds that use to get stuck so often. I challenged him and waiting. Did I hear that another Caribbean coutry going to increase vat or am i dreaming.

Onions out of his league in understanding development issues from a socio-economic perspective. That is typical of blps they only can see the $. No wonder owen will sell our lands to the highest bidder..

41. @onions

what u speak of cant be for 2010 and onwards when it is stated that as january 2011. Perhaps I misread, but where is ur logic that u can deduct and onward. I will put u in the class of use of English, that a first year course and apart of it was logic when i went there. This is the same way u r referencing people to first year economics.

42. Everybody wanted Stuart to start talking and rightfully so, but it would have been better if he had kept his mouth shut and DO positive things. What is happening that he continues to do nothing, now he’s talking nothing too.Mr P.M if you continue to DO nothing and TALK nothing, people would believe YOU ARE NOTHING. Quite recently you declared that you would not call general elections before you pass the Integrity Legislation, maybe, just maybe, if you stick to that one promise you will get some more votes. We’re waiting

43. @scout
    the pm will do what he has to do and wants no advice from people like u whose motive is not in his interest.

44. old onion bags Avatar

Blogger 2012
    Ya knao I had promise myself not to engage wid vermin like you but I broke my promise then….now that I am back this i what I raised for you …. ccccccccccc gfuself. may you have long and many hours ccczzzzzzzzzzzzzz

45. old onion bags Avatar

Speaking of Use of English classes…I distinctly remember Pro. Woody stating….”It is not the education deass may get but how derass..heshe uses it.”.remember ?. So apt to come to mind now years of yonder.Professor probably rolling wid laughter in his grave..rest his soul.

46. Blogger2012
    I hope the P.M is not thinking like you, if he is the DLP will sit in oppsition for a much longer period of time. Don’t you and the other DLP yardfowls realise you are behind the 8ball and thing not looking good. Yet with all that you are burying your heads in the sand and pretending you are high and mighty. Wake up and smell the roses, come to reality before it is too late, that’s if it’s not too late already. When general elections is called and your party is defeated, it seems the fall for you and others will be so great, some of you might break your neck. For me LIVE GOES ON, I ask for NOTHING from any politician, that’s why I’m FREE to speak my mimd, whether ot be to criticise the BLP or the DLP, to me both have lost their way but the DLP is worse off, and that hurts because as a young man I believed in that party. I went around day and night canvassing for the candidates in my constituency, spoke on platforms, worked at polling stations and more, now I see a fragment of the party I loved parading as the representatives of that GREAT PARTY. .

47. blogger 2012
    What makes it so hurtful is that for the many years I have been voting and running around the DLP, for the first time in 2008, my vote was in favor of the winning party. All the other times I’ve voted for the DLP my candidate or the party was on the losing side, therefore I expected much, now I’m very very disappointed by the performance or lack of of this bunch of jokers

48. With all the promises being made, I’ve heard no more news about Donville Inniss’ NEW HOSPITAL

49. This is the site where accurate stats should be sourced when discussing the performance of the EC countries.

http://www.eccb-centralbank.org/Statistics/index.asp

50. old onion bags Avatar

Thanks David…this still aint no help to Blogger2012…..when she was up d hill she had to evade Soc Sci……lol. Differentiated with respect to why (Y)…..lol