Submitted by Observing

You are suffering and you are indirectly suffering the independents that support you. We like you, really we do. We believe that you have the most integrity and desire to help all Barbadians and with time could do so. But you are doing an atrocious job of showing it, proving it, or at the very least talking about it properly.  Let me pause to offer a moment of sympathy for your departed leader, former PM David Thompson. He truly went too soon. He also left big boots to fill and an unfinished vision and mandate that desperately needed time and hard working, honest souls to bring it to fruition.  Fast forward two years and we must now ask. What have you done? How have you done it? How have you shared it?

I’ll declare my hand and admit that my philosophy, leaning and beliefs endear me to the DLP rather than the BLP. But, my objectivity will always question right from wrong, good from bad, sense from nonsense and efficiency from ineptitude.  In too many cases you have collectively chosen the latters. To make matters worse, it has been so blatant, so obvious, and in some cases so bumbling that it seems you are still now trying to “settle” into the role of government, four years after the fact.

While on that, let me turn to your chairman, the PM, the numero uno, Mr. Freundel Stuart.  A good man.  A liked man. A decent man. An intelligent man. But clearly a man with flaws in some of the critical areas of leadership, team building and emotional intelligence.  They say a leader gets the job done. Full stop.  But there are many tasks he/she must undertake and people he/she must work and talk with to get there.  The jury will decide on Stuart’s performance as PM and leader.   As for the team? Likeable fellows somewhat. But, complacent, sometimes arrogant and now conveniently blind to the very things that swept them into power, and are poised to sweep them out.  They should pray for light.

We admit. We do not like the BLP so much (Their numerous supporters love them however).  But, that is not good enough reason for us to come running to you when it feels like you have pushed us away, ignored us or both. We need to hear, to see and to feel that you are serious, sincere, genuine, thoughtful and selfless enough to work together for the betterment of this country.  Anything less will render you to political obscurity for a long time to come.

We want to hear from you.  Not via legislation or edited press releases. Not via grandiose verbosity and circumspect generalities. Not via international fireside chats that we happen to catch while on our sofas. No…from you…directly, bluntly and honesty.

Rest assured, many are watching. Many are thinking. Many are waiting and many are listening. Some like I are just observing.  You have good talking points, use them.  You have good ammunition, release it.  You still have some confidence among the electorate, maximize it.  What we are seeing now is far from stellar and definitely not enough to make me jump out of bed, pick up my “X” and award it to the generic candidate on your ticket. I’ll stay home first.  A word to the wise.  It’s not over yet, but you seem to be rushing it there.

I’ll provide one straightforward statistic that has nothing to do with the recent polls, and is but one of many laid strewn across my desk that convince me you have more than an uphill battle.

In 2008 you won by 8800 votes. Take out St. John and St. Lucy and that margin drops to 4,100 across 28 remaining constituencies.  The maths isn’t hard to follow. A 3% swing is an illusion.  A more accurate swing needed is in the region of 1.5% and even less in most places.  There’s more discouraging statistical news where this came from.
Enough said.

Wake up and at least put up a reasonable fight…together.

Just Observing.

1. Observing (and polling) Avatar
    Observing (and polling)

Based on these and other comments it seems pretty clear that a lot of people will be staying home these elections. Substance will be be replaced by salaciousness and inuendo. Performance will be drowned by propaganda and the issues will be inundated with ignorance.

God help Barbados if this combined lot and their respective brainwashed followers are the best we can do.

Just observing

2. @observing

You correct, nothing has changed, the same old salacious nonsense.

It would be interesting to know WHAT proportion of this increased VAT collected came from the higher electricity and fuel (petrol, diesel etc)
    and did it really make up for the much lower corporate taxes collected over the same period.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/1.3m-in-vat/

3. the people of Barbados should be proud that the sacrifices they made has netted gains the money put into VAT belongs to You which would to used to pay bills and provide the necessary services which is needed to sustain a country. Never mind the BLP with their hogwash of doom and gloom for without the Vat increased the alternative would have cost more either through more borrowing which future generations would have to pay as we are experiencing now or cuts in many government funding programs and jobs bajans should be proud of themselves for helping to keep the country afloat and stable and not helping to push it over the cliff with an approach like some BLP yardfowls with their”its all about me” attitude . yes the pain was hard but the gains are sweet with 1.3billion dollars in benefit which will be used to keep the country sustainable barbados still have a long way to go and without a collective help by us the government could not do it, the money is OURS and bajans should be proud of themselves. GOOD JOB DLP!

4. Another thing, it is unrealistic for some to compare the performance of the DLP in government for 4 years, who has had to manage in a bad global recession, by using economic indicators from the boom years. It is simply illogical and this is where the government has fallen down by not articulating this massage clearly. Individuals will naturally be overwhelmed by the day to day realities, managing in an environment where austerity measures have to be in placed cannot be easy. The fact that the recent CADRES poll (Peter Wickham) gives the DLP a chance is instructive.

5. DLp coming wid tricks and gimmicks at this late stage: HNUP, HELP, Cavalcades, St Andrew Carnival, new schools and supposedly new nurseries are a bunch of vote catching ideas
    How many people can benefit, how sustainable is it. They realise they need all of st philip constituencies so they telling lies. I hope bajans can see thru the lies
    Wunna hear Chris SinLiar, he cud mek a suit by only seeing the corner where the man pass.

6. It is time politicians stop trying to take bajans for a ride, we need to lift the level of politics in this country. Days were where politicians would be boasting about their wives buying panties by the box, this type of politics is very very much with us in the 21st century. Time politicians, from both sides of the fence, tell bajans the truth, we are intelligent enough to understand, don’t kill us for 41/2 years, then wait till the eve of a general elections to offer us sweets, which is then taken back, with int immediately after getting back in. these things must stop.

7. old onion bags Avatar

We shall call today Wednesday of LIES……Morning to the early fowls who greet me with biased figures compile to suit covert WARFARE purposes..like in Honduras and the like….those guys keep there own propaganda machine up to suit their own ends Charles who we go rely on World Index or Uncle Sam’s takeova machinery..?…choice is yours Everybody knows they can’t trust the CIA to move a big rock far less like a small one.I also see other DLP yardfowl doing a jig…..and feeling good listening to Chris “imaginary growth @ star trek warp speed”….bout what is realistic and what is not (growth when nobody is spending or tourist coming)….How the DLP chances are good as ever…how the people after getting four years of their guts kick-out should be thankful they made these sacrifices, because Santa Chris got 6months of goodies in a bag at month end for the belly aches n pains….praise the Almighty…he won’t be getting the chance to take them back…1.3 Billion in Vat collections…what he din tell the people that that was due mainly to threatening and prosecutions in Court of business… we read of in the daily papers…..What he didn’t say was that the same companies turn round and send home nuff people fa spite ( D lines nowadays stretching all out in the road )…But fowls like ac still see this as a feather in their caps…not knowing these same business men who were once DLP…got plans of switching as more spite….But today is lieing Wednesday remember.?….we at liberty to fool ourselves…..Did I hear more lies coming…stay tuned for the other DLP liars today..

8. The Art of Begging is a book written by Ronald Jones:
    He is begging people of St Philip to vote for the DLP if they want to get a nursery school and another primary school. How low can you get with the use of our tax payers money that you are expected to create social services such as schools, roads etc. Then Freundel saying he will do Coggins Road if the people vote for the DLP in St Andrew.

Can anyone tell me what Ronald JOnes has avhieved as Minister of Education?

9. I don’t trust a thing that the MOF said. Both he and the PM can continue to be liars. The DLP is known for lies and operates only in reverse gear. They simply go back on their word every time. Do you want that again?
    I wonder if Bajans especially all thos Dems ever reflect on each year that the DLP was in power, and they will see that we Bajans suffer and suffer. That is a fact…staying tune for more Dem’s lies…

10. It is not ironic that scout, onions prodigal and enuff are now posting more than ever because they recognized that their party is not going to win this election with the economy arguments. Chris and his advisers have thought the way forward carefully and to any RATIONAL PERSON did the right thing up to this moment.
    All the GLOOM AND DOOMERS (BLP MOSTLY AND MEDIA PERSONNEL) are sulking that the country is not in the IMF hands.

With these tough measures the government cut the deficit. Why give this this government back to Owen Arthur to make him look like a saviour again as was done after Sandiford’s tough measures where he came in and restored the eight percent because the money was there. My problem is that the DLP always have to fight to get the economy back up with tough measures after the BLP lick up the economy by letting a couple of people get rich while the most just survive.

11. @Clone
    Either you are suffering from halitosis or dementia.

12. Spread the word DLP stalwarts today is/the beginning of our ability to fight fire with proof we have the numbers and a stable economy to PROVE them wrong they have PERCEPTION now they will continue on that road but DLP stalwarts don’.t lose ground don,t lose focus continue to spread the word that our economy which the BLP left on “life support” because of a a ballon ed and out of control borrowing yes the fatted lamb is gaining weight and the vultures are on the prowl”SPREAD THE WORD”

13. The DLP can be best described as ‘DEATH LOOKS POSSIBLE’ If you follow the Dems, you will surely die. It’s just a matter of time before we start falling down, the lies, taxes, increases, crime, You all know that under this leadership, you can catch anything…..ya body is so weak wid de pain and suffering that you cant hold up……I believe more people are sick, dead or dying under this DLP administration than any other. I should really ask CADRES to carry out a survey and see what is what….Stay tune…

14. If this debate is a preview of what we can expect between now and the election, one wonders what will happen if/when the debate on the Prevention Corruption Bill is read.

15. old onion bags Avatar

The real hot potato going be the THIEF dat get catch at CLICO.
    PCB is going be a clear water compared. Stay tuned !!!!

16. Well David at least you can’ say that you did not receive the polls … You must have by now

17. Ac
    Tell the housewife, whether middle-class or poor, who is going into the supermarket, or little mini-mart, who have the light bill, water bill, tel.bill etc to pay, tell them the economy has stablised. Beg them to spread the word how good this government is treating theire citizens. It is O.K for you “high-flyers” who because you have elevated from that level to soar above the rest
    of us to say how good this govern
    ment is, you don’t know of families who now have to paste butter on the children white rice to be sure they get a meal, or on their bread for snacks at school. the shopper who walks around with a calculatorand monitoring every item in the trolly before they embarras themselves at the cashier. Tell these people GOOD NEWS, we have a stable economy. I wish some of you B or D would get real and face the hard times that this country is going through with no positives in sight.

18. Observing (and observing) Avatar
    Observing (and observing)

I would like the Minister (or ! or ac or Blogger2012 or CLone) to explain the IADB document and its implication in some measure of detail. if 17.5% is needed for stability, so be it. But, if it is to satisfy a “macro economic” path, at least let us know. Forget all the BS about review and “in a few weeks time” and “budget” blah blah blah

Honesty is the best policy. Sincerity is a satisfying virtue.

——————————–
    The targets for the first operation are:
    (i) make permanent an increase in the VAT rate from 15% to 17.5%;
    (ii) an increase of 50% in the excise tax on gasoline and other fees;
    (iii) the elimination of tax-free allowances.

Also
    The programme will support measures to control the growth of expenditure, which include:
    (i) containing transfers by rationalising the cost of personal emoluments
    (ii) increasing the efficiency of the procurement system by strengthening the procurement framework and;
    (iii) reducing levels of spending on goods and services

I have heard NOTHING from the government in relation to this or the policies that will guide it. I’m tired getting my information from elsewhere while being asked to “sacrifice” and “hold on”

It’s impolite and discourteous at the very least.

Just observing

19. Some of you partisan DLP supporters/yardfowls,like a/c, clone, believe that I like or would like to see Barbados fall flat on its face because the DLP is in governance. No matter which party is in government, I AM A BORN BAJAN, and this country belongs to me, like RUPEE sang, ” no matter where I roam, Barbados is my home.” I would never like to see the day when any one party dominate the political landscape for a longer that three terms period. However,
    when we have novices at the relm at this c

20. ! | May 29, 2012 at 9:57 PM |

The opposition leader Owen Arthur driving a new $400 000 Audi – well, well-
    Arthur probably goes home at night and laughs at the BLP yardfowls on these blogs talking about the sky is falling. Stupse!………………………………

Your dead king bought a house up Martins Bay for close to one million dollars cash, did you ever question how he was able to do that? Another minister never owned property until he became a minister, have you ever questioned how a two by three lawyer who hardly won cases could now be so rich to the point where he is under the FBI radar???

21. continued
    However, when we novices at the helm of this country and are too pigheaded to listen to good advice but instead full their pockets until it is overflowing, then they bring their family and friends to do the same. At the end they then want you to vote them in again, they are seeing all those who can’t think fot themselves as FOOLs. Both parties have fooled me before, now the DLP is not only fooling me but milking me too.

22. We the DLPstalwarts are very happy and proud of the/way our govt have managed to stabilise this economy we too have felt the burdening pressure of economic pain and making the /sacrifices which we made and in doing so did not let selfish ness get in our wayour most important goal was too see the survival of our country by putting its vital interest first and in so doing we knew that our sacrifices would not only be a benefit to a few but be beneficial to all. “THANK YOU DLP” for showing the way

23. I now confirm the the MoF is on another planet. He said last night on CBCtv that the economy has grown and businesses are doing better. Well I am a small business owner and I can assure you that me and my colleagues are smelling hell to pay the basics, light, rent, wages, etc. Please tell me Mr Sinckler which business sector is doing better so we can change product or service. Real talk – Mr Sinckler we understand that there is a recession and we expect to have to bear some of the burden but unlike the yard fowls and operatives on this blog, we have to make a living, we have families to feed, We cannot feed, house, clothe or entertain our families with shite talk. Case in point you say Vat collect this large amount, Tourism arrivals up, Manufacturing up and all this good things going on by your policies then how come we en seeing no money, why professinals and small business owners filing their Vat returns but them en pay because they can’t afford it because if they pay vat they can’t make wages, I want to know what you doing with d money u collecting and how come only poor people suffering under an administration that is supposed to implement policies for the betterment of poor people. We need better policies to deal with the problems we face. And don’t tell me one shite bout de BLP dem gone long time!

24. ac
    While we were sacrificing to see this country don’t sink to the ground, the politicians who should got us in this SORRY mess and who should be sacrificing with us, is/was busy setting fat while living off the fatty calf. Look at them, most, if not all of them, have become obese, soime has almost double their weight, while the rest of the country is suffering. I had plan to stay home general elections day, but it is my duty to cast my vote. My parentss told me it was only in their adult years they were allowed to vote, that generation fought hard for the right to vote and I would be letting my parents down if I didn’t honour my constitutional right to vote., Unless the DLP can drastically turn things around, my vote for the first time will go to the BLP candidate, even though I don’t know him, never seen him yet.

25. and another thing we young people are tired of the drivel the you party people keep regurgitating it is time to be mature and tell your leaders that we want real solutions not dem do dis and dem so dat so it alright for we to do the same. nonsense!! We want to leadership in the form of a coherent plan to take us to the next level. May the best team win!

26. Many businesses are on the verge of laying off staff, many have staff on reduced pay and reduced working hours, yet Mr sinckler has the nerve to tell me private businesses are doing better? One thing I HATE is a LIAR and/or a THIEF. if something isn’t done to ease the pressure in this country soon ALL HELL WILL BREAK OUT. It only takes the private sector to pull the props and start laying off staff, then it will happen in mass. Without help from government, the unemployment rate can easily jump toI would hate to see that day, because crime will also rise drastically. 20% soon.

27. I have to admit that after DT died, I too was supportive of Freundel Stuart replacing him as PM. He was then and certainly still is the best of the sorry questionable lot we have been presented with in this DLP government.

I was sure that this man was a good, honest and decent man that would put Barbados and Barbadians first. I actually felt very relieved. But low and behold to my shock and horror, he declares himself a friend of our own version of Bernie Madoff in the form of Leroy Parris…..he is not a leper. Integrity? I think not! Knowing Parris, no self respecting individual would be seen with him, far less declare him to be a friend. Here is a man who has swindled 35,000 Barbadians out of their hard earned monies and thousand others across the region by way of their pension funds.

A debt apportion to the taxpayers of this country in an amount that has the potential to sink this country. To think that some of you would even about reelecting them. Unbelievable! Further with a forensic audit competed, having have had five months to read it, Stuart declared, he aint read it yet!!!

Setting party affiliation and psychological fantasy of the good old days aside, examine your conscience, are you willing to sell Barbados out, the country that Grantley Adams and Errol Barrow built to the highest bidder just to say your party is in power?? Cuddear, they were even trying to marginal Barrow in an attempt to deify Thompson and herald him as a great man. Not after the forensic audit?

A true leader stands up for his people, by his people and defends them against all odds. Focusing on CLICO, can it honestly be said that Stuart is a man of integrity, an honest man, a decent man? By the way what, does Parris have on the Dems that NOT ONE of them would speak out against him?

28. I know you DLP yardfowls would say, I’m preaching DOOM and GLOOM, it may be so, and if I’m wrong (I hope Iam), I apologise, however, this government is administering the doom and gloom. Incedentally, I feel they don’t know any better. It is like taking a BOY to do a MAN’s job, in times of plenty, this government could make their mistakes and get away with it but times are too hard for such blatant errors. What makes it worse is they are also just stocking up their personal coffers are when they are back in oppsition.

29. Prodigal Son
    Thank God, no -one is holding any secrets for me, that’s why I can speak my mind OPENLY. It appears that this man is holding many secrets for the DLP, to the point where they are obligated to him, they are victims of a dirty scandal that can destroy the party, therefore they have no choice but to dance to his music.

30. @scout

r u not tired regergating, stick records r a thing of the past. U liar want to fool people u had an interest of the party. U got ur handout for fourteen years.

dont understand why i am getting such a slow response, correcting errors is like pulling teeth and any attempt to type quickly by the time u finished typing a word the first letter then appear in the block AND PoSTING THE Comment taking an inordinate lenght of time.

31. We DLP stalwarts are very happy and proud of the way our govt has managed to stabilise the economy”

I thought that onioions and cccc were purblind partisan but you ac beats them all.
    AT what cost to the burdened and battered middle cast did you manage to bring the deficit down and how did the deficit reach such levels in such a short space of time?
    should you gloat about good management when public servants have not ot received a salary increase in four years, along with astronomical increases in light, water, and fuel products all of which have served to impact on the skyrocketing of the cost of living which you claimed to be as a result of the collaboration between the BLP and the merchants.
    i eagerly await the giveaways in the budget out of the excessive amount of taxes collected.

32. ac
    You and CCC are in the same ship, way out to sea without even one oar. It makes little or no sense discussing anything logical with you. The only handouts I would want from any party is for people like you and CCC to think for yourself and stop letting the politician think for you.

33. I am trying to follow the Minister of Finance’s logic.

The unemployment rate has risen to nearly 12%. Water rates rose by 60%. Electricity bills went up higher due to the increase in VAT. Food costs went sky high. People’s spending power as a result has been greatly reduced, how then could he have collected over one billion dollars in VAT if people are spending less? They are counting in 24 hour tourists to boost the numbers and it bears out because of the low spend, yes even taking in the recession.

Mr P, a noted DLP supporter used to bombard Brasstacks with …..Owen Arthur collected more VAT money than any other PM. He called today and said he aint talking politics. I would have liked to hear him on this boast from the minister.

A senior person in the supermarket business told me that their revenue is down 18-20%. So where is this growth in business coming from? If more and more people are out of work, spending on only their basic necessities, where is this money coming from?

The facts do not add up! If as the Minister says that the VAT did so well, why are they still using so much of NIS monies paying government salaries, transfers to the Transport Board, UWI and the BTA? Just to keep this monies from adding to the deficit, so that they could claim that the deficit is coming down?

The facts do not add up! Why then did he had to extend the increase until further notice? The facts do not up add! Which means the Minister is LYING.

34. @Balance

you got ur facts wrong, public officers have not received an increase for the 2010-2012 period ending in March. The unions have agreed to forgo that increase to help stabilise the economy.

I control the amount of electricity cost to some extent, like unplugging ny electic stove, never leave the microwave plugged in;,the computer and the direct tv box. Had the govt not taken corrected measure, where would we be today. As a middle cllass myself, I cut out the unnecassry things. We have to make sacrifices so that the lower class can continue to survive. Further the
    decison to tax those allowancs were receving allowanes almost a third of their
    salaries.

The cost of fuel is contingent on world market prices. i might agree with u on lowering the excise tax, but then again dont we have to pay off the BNOCL debts that were hidden through off balance sheet financing under the party u favour.

d

35. Observing (and observing) Avatar

@Blogger
    “We have to make sacrifices so that the lower class can continue to survive.”

Whose responsibility is it to make that case?
    Who was supposed to inform the ones making the sacrifice that this is the case?
    Have we been asked?
    Have we been shown?
    Have we been told?
    Have we been given “assurances” that our sacrifice will make the country better?
    Are we seeing improvement in any of the classes?
    Is the “lower class” surviving?
    How?
    Are they appreciative of our immense middle class “sacrifice”?

This argument sounds good but like most things recently ring hollow unless presented in a wholesome way.

The cost of fuel is contingent on hedging. The cost of electricity is contingent on Emera. The cost of water is contingent on 60% yet my tap still goes off. The cost of food is contingent on “market monopolies” that can be controlled. Cost of living is Job number1, 2 and 3. At the very least when we last heard that the government of the day (like them or not) kept their promise and made that their number one priority.

Think of your audience before you speak. Quotes that are effective at a branch meeting or in George Street will NOT have the same effect when the average man listens to them.

Just observing.

btw. Maxine MacClean back with this “the VAT is not necessarily permanent” argument that we heard yesterday. Bollocks. If it was going to be taken off, a “time frame” similar to “18 months” could have easily be put in place with the same amendment rather than “until further notice.”

The ignominy of it all. The DLP sounds better when they keep their mouths shut. Opening them raises the ire of the thinking man.

36. Look at the BLP yardfowls in total shock and cackling like gesse now 1.3billion dollars in reserves in less than four years. UNBELIEVABLE!they say “no way! just to think from an economy that was all dried up and driven to immient danger ONLY the DLP could do it.RESTORE! again CONGRATULATIONS on a jib well done!

37. Observing (and observing) Avatar

Just to clarify, the government of that day (like them or not) made jobs priority number 1, 2 and 3. Then they got on with the task.

Just clarifying.

38. you got ur facts wrong, public officers have not received an increase for the 2010-2012 period ending in March.”
    Mr blogger if you are a public servant and you received a salary increase or decrease in the last four years then my facts are wrong. if you haven’t, then my facts are correct.
    while you are at it, show me the evidence to indicate either of the unions has come to an agreement with the govt to forego that increase to help stabilise the economy. and if so, all credit to the unions and not the govt.

39. Observing (and observing) Avatar

@ac and others.
    I’ve resisted this question but here goes.

Was the economy dried up and sputtering at the end of 2007?

40. Observing (and observing) Avatar

@balance.
    Last “official” increase was April 2009 (agreement in 2008). A “silent” agreement was made in 2010 to “freeze”…oops….that should read “restrain” wages in light of the recession. Which makes it now 3 years without an increase.

Now, the inflation rate between 2009 and 2012 has increased by around 3% give or take. Let’s not add in the other increases to costs and subtract from income for obvious reasons and we can still see why the frustration.

I remember one year that a government had to pay workers “back pay” to compensate for a greater increase in inflation than was expected when the salary agreement was reached. Wasn’t much, but the principle was sound and it fulfilled a promissory clause in the agreement.

Just observing.

41. @observing

it is two years with out an increase. The union will submit proposals for April 01 2012-March 30, 2014.

42. @balnce

do u think that public officers only know what go on the Public Service. you have been proven wrong, but u resort to trying to ascertain whether I am a Public Officer, What has that got to do with what I said. U continue to have ur facts twisted and pard them as the truth. It shows u tha Public Officers are reponsible. During the September 2001 there ws cooperation from the unions when our tourism took a battering or u have convenient memory.

43. ac is such a DLP yardfowl, the Dems are never wrong…….. but what 1.3 billion reserves is she talking about? It is not foreign reserves, ac, that the minister was talking about, he was talking about the amount of VAT they have collected from the astronomical 17.5% he has inflicted on us.

And to boot, he is spending this money that is why he cannot take the increase off. They are spending like crazy on roundabouts, St John polyclinic, tiny houses that no one is buying or can afford, travelling here there and everywhere, visit by royals where their yardfowls were out in full force,eating and drinking like there is no tomorrow, constituency councils, Rhianna concert, not so free bus fares, summer camps with their yardfowls getting all the catering, new cars in every department, David Thompson football, Illaro Court parties. But nothing significant that one can see.

I am convinced more than ever that you are one of the favoured ones still feasting on the fatted calf.

44. I notice that none of the Dems in the House yesterday did not jump up on a point of order to say that the BLP was misleading the house when it was said that the government is planning another Rhianna concert with Jay zee…. this August? Is this true?? If so, this is just to get votes. Anything to distract the people.

But the message of the BLP’s campaign should be “are you better off than in 2008?”

45. @O&O et al

when did the recession started please think before u asked a stupid question?

Is this the worst and longest recession in the histroy of mankind?
    what did ur govt do with all the vat money? How has Barbados’ mangetement of its economy compare with greece, portugal and spain. Did the govt in england make any major cuts?

Hust asking like you. let us continue this discourse.

@AC
    yah got them blp propagandist stumbling and those who did not use to stutter are stuttering too.

46. Observing (and discoursing) Avatar
    Observing (and discoursing)

@Blogger
    You haven’t answered (any of) the question(s). And, to be honest I’d prefer not to make this strictly an economic argument since we all agree on the depth, impact and challenge of the recession. Neither am I here to massage or jerk off the statistics until they reach a climax that I can live with.

But , if we want to go with the question when did the recession start (mid 2007), I’d have to ask a question why then make promises that could not be kept given knowledge of the likely impact of said recession. Or, why make policies that were made in 2008/9/, given the potential challenge it would place on the average person and the knife it would shove in the bleeding heart of job number 1, 2 and 3?

Also, wages went up in 2009 to cover 2009-2010. They did not go up in 2010. They did not go up in 2011. They did not go up in 2012. That makes it three years without an increase. It is four years since a wage agreement. If you know of which union has or intends to submit a proposal for a wage increase, please enlighten us. I only know of one that “hinted” that they might.

All discourse is good for learning and enlightenment. I sincerely thank you.

47. David (not BU) Avatar
    David (not BU)

it is truly amazing that the DLP and its supporters would call the $1.3b taken in over the 18 months in what they are quick to tell you is the “worst and longest recession in the histroy of mankind” a good thing.

there is this feeling that bajans will say away from the polls, i believe this election will have a turn out that will shock most because the crap this government is doing and the down right lies they tell will make persons get up and vote them out of office.

call me whatever you like it does not change the facts.

48. @&D

the dlp was not aware of the massive off balance sheet financing that went on. It was not aware of the massive loss BNOCL was experiencing and who should pay that debt. If the govt did not take corrected measures, and I am happy it di where would we be today, perhaps forced to devalue or dollar.

As I said before, the responsible unions that we have reconized the impact the recssion have had on our economy and preferred no th chase wage/salary inceases with the understaning that job security was the order of the day and so far govt kept it sise of the bargain. I reiterate in 2001 when the sept incidence occurred the unions cooperated

49. @)O&D continued
    I state again, the agreement ended on March 30, 2010. There was no increase for April 01 – March 31, 2012. Negotiation will be for April 2012-March 31 2014. Based on negotiation cyle it is two years. and any agreement will be back dated.

50. @O&D continued

Obama made promises, the current English Government made promises and what happened, They did not understand the magnitude of the problem unitl they came to office and consequently took the necessay corrective measures.