Reproduced from the Barbados Advocate Newspaper – 15/04/2012

Queens Park House (Daphne Joseph Hackett theatre)

Queen’s Park House was once the residence of the Commander in Chief of the British West Indies forces when they were permanently stationed in Barbados from 1780 to 1905. These forces of course were the architects and builders of the handsome buildings in the Garrison area, now a UNESCO listed World Heritage site.

More recently Queen’s Park House was home for the Daphne Joseph Hackett theatre and the beloved Queen’s Park Gallery, the island’s premier showplace for indigenous art. Sadly, first the theatre and more recently the gallery has had to close due to the deterioration of the building.

Queen’s Park House usefulness to Bajans has however continued serving as a daytime “liming place” and night time sleeping place for Barbados’ homeless. However the continued deterioration of the building suggests that Queen’s Park House will soon have to be enclosed by a fence. Behind that protection fence, like with the Empire Theatre or Farley Hill House, we will have another display of an iconic and historic building being allowed to disintegrate.

The preservation of historic buildings like Queen’s Park House will have the passionate support of an enlightened and conscious minority, including one would presume those who successfully achieved the UNESCO World Heritage listing. Recently this group has been relatively reserved but one suspects that their voice and zeal has been muted from continuous disappointment. Nevertheless these champions are well equipped to present their cause.

But spare a thought for those poor homeless folk. Where are they going to go if Queen’s Park House becomes another “exhibit of disinterest and disregard”?

My dream: Queen’s Park House rescued, carefully renovated then re-opened with a brand new, gallery suitably equipped with the lighting and fixtures required for its role as Barbados premier showplace for the plastic arts. And those homeless provided for in other safer places where they won’t be trespassers.

Is this a dream beyond us in 2012?

1. Lick it to shite down. That road needs sidewalk space, with all of the school children in the area (was worse when there were two major schools within throwing distance of each other), and car park space.

2. BAFFY …..don’t be like that you are too full of shite you know. I gine lick you to shite down.

3. @BAFBFP

Explain to the world again why we should not be inclined to preserve our buildings of the past?

4. White Heritage, buldoze the sucker, what’s better than a Parking Lot!

White Heritage is to be eliminated in Barbados, so say the Black Politcians. Someday the Black population of Barbados will all wake up sleeping on the street without any Queens Park House to sleep in and wonder what the Hell happened to the country.

It’s not a question of IF but WHEN.

5. Look at the building. It is a beauty. It is not in the way of anything and is set on the grounds of Queen’s Park.

For so many years it used to house a theatre, which could be restored.

It housed a gallery which represented hundreds of artists, sculptors and photographers.

It needs to be restored back to where it again becomes a place where the visual and the spoken word can flourish again.

6. But isn’t this the ethos of this society. Lick up, mash up, tear down and wreck what we came along and find, without building back anything in its place. Perhaps it may pleas some to replace QPH with a shanty town complete with pit toilets. Now that would be our own home grown heritage. And while we are digging down Queens Park House, let get rid of place name like Combermere Street, Harrisons Point and Coleridge Street.

7. Government has to take the lead role. We have just fought for world heritage listing and leadership is required to change the ethos as Colonel Buggy stated.

8. Islandgirl

You see who get attract to this blog …? Coyote and Scott and Buggy. The building is “White Heritage”, and there is more than enough to go around. We can’t save everything just to please a population that is less than 3 percent of the whole. We need space in Bridgetown. Lick the blasted building down, and with it the Yacht Club too… we need more windows to the sea.

9. David

“We” did not fight for anything. A White lobby that needed further protection with the help of international agencies persuaded a Ministry (Culture) in which they have great influence, and incidentally a Ministry with virtually NOTHING to do,(NCF does everything from that end) to get active with that campaign. Now completed the Ministry of Culture has returned to its usual agenda … nothing!

10. @BAFBFP

So what is your road map for preserving history (history is history good and bad) or are you suggesting to make it up as we go along?

11. @ David
    How about taking some pictures, making some videos and writing a book…. Then moving on with life in this century?

Painful as it seems, BAFBFP has a point. 🙂

12. @ bush tea

So what is BAF point ?

13. @Bush Tea

You too?

You are saying that pictures can adequately replace physical structures?

What defines imagination?

What provokes thinking?

How are the two combined to define who we are?

Is it as simple as you say where we can disconnect from our past, especially relevant for Blacks who continue to be haunted by it.

14. I agree Bushman, tek some pictures and a videa and then lick it to shite down. Look there so many Cathedrals and parish churches that cannot be touched because of the fear of desecrating the dead. St Michael Cathedral is obviously on my mind as the walls stick right into the road. So leave those buildings. So there is a generation of people that still enjoy walking through the park on Christmas morning. That too will come to past but remembered through the many videos that have been captured by the CBC camera crews over the years… and so on. David you see modern Port of Spain? There are a still a few traditional old Spanish and Dutch buildings yes (far more interesting than these English match boxes ‘bout hey) but sky scrapers man, and ultra modern cultural halls man … wow, and fly-overs … Generation next.

15. @BAFBAF

So we follow T&T?

16. Damn straight … We soon be annexed anyway

17. How can pictures and books replace ancient structures? One of the best selling books of all times, tells us over and over about Jerusalem and many places in the Holy Land. Pictures, videos and bricbac of these places are widely available,yet millions upon millions of people from all around the globe, including Barbados, visit Jerusalem every year.
    Perhaps when persons abroad wish to visit Barbados, the travel agency should present them with a Picture of Barbados and a Nation newspaper. It would save the APD.
    But did I hear anyone suggest the knocking down of George Washington House on Bush Hill, or are we quite satisfied to do the knocking on the wall outside.

18. Colonel Buggy

Christians are a peculiar breed. Thank God 🙂 that the breed is dieing out, and fast!

19. BAFBFP | April 17, 2012 at 8:20 AM |
    Lick it to shite down. That road needs sidewalk space, with all of the school children in the area (was worse when there were two major schools within throwing distance of each other), and car park space.
    But Bajans do not used the side walk when they are provided, except to park cars and sell goods.

20. @ David
    Keep your shorts on.
    This paranoia about maintaining outdated structures needs to be balanced with logic and reality.
    Except for the argument that there are people with money who are willing to pay to experience the relics of their ancestors former greatness, …..how. Is it helpful to maintain outdated structures in prime locations at ridiculous costs?

Skipper, Bush Tea can recall with fondness and vivid clarity the structures that defined Bushie’s youth and Heretage too….. Like small two roofed chattel houses with open back yard and “home sweet home” lamps.
    How come no one wants to preserve Bushie’s Heretage except at the museum?

Who in their right mind can expect to remain stuck with old rusty 19th century technology in a small place like Barbados – in the 21st century… And be taken seriously?

Don’t get tied up David. What makes the plantations ‘preservable’, while replacing the villages with heights and housing areas is progressive…?

21. By the way GW house is as a result of the same White Lobby (lead by Hynam and company) that was aware of the owner being a close associate of the political party in power would jump at the excuse of gaining easy tax payers money … (6 million)

22. I wonder how many remember the Light and Power HQ building at the Garrison Hill, around the late 70’s early 80’s. Just another ugly old building until they started to strip the plaster off the wall, to reveal the facade that we now know it by .This building ,also was built by the Sappers of the Royal Engineers, now greatly enhances the beauty of the Historic Garrison Area.

23. In plenty and in time of need.

Those “in plenty” should help those “in need”.

Rich Canadians donate kazillions of their cash to museums and Hospitals.

Yuh mean to tell me duh ent got nuh rich Barbadians who could donate some cash to restore some historic buildings.
    Fuh example duh cuh get a plax on de buildin saying “this ediface restored by a willin busy cow.”

or de Sir Carmikael fambly.

de guvamunt in need so dem cant help till dem in plenty again.

24. @ Colonel Buggy

Maybe they can afford the luxury of maintaining that building. You think the average business that does not have a fuel adjustment charge can afford to spend money so?

It HAVE to be more efficient and cost effective to put up a modern, efficient, purpose designed building to conduct business in the 21 st century.

Bushie knows some people who would like to have horse and buggy on the highway too, ….it would probably be cute….

25. Bushie knows some people who would like to have horse and buggy on the highway too, ….it would probably be cute…

Well why not? If we all drove buggys and donkey carts again, it would save on our oil import bill and traffic bout here these days does generally only move at horse and buggy pace anyhow,

26. Yeah Greeny. But wah about the poop and the green house gases that these creatures emit …!

27. @ GM
    Good point, but not exactly applicable in this case.

The problem is that David wants to restore a bunch of old rotted buggies because they used to belong to Mr and Mrs Bowring and represent some kind of special ‘

If we built technologically savvy buggies using the most efficient materials etc Bushie would fully support you.

While we are at it, we should look at going back to pit toilets too…., since the current water based flushing process only serves to deliver our poop directly into our drinking water…. With modern technology we can probably create sanitary, efficient, pit-type toilets that much better suit our environment….

There is no good excuse for keeping outdated infrastructure just to stroke some people’s ego

28. @Bush Tea

Your analogy is akin to a modern day parent being expected to toss the rod and spoil the child- handed down through the ages as a legitimate method of punishment- because new methods validated by modern research validates it all.

29. old onion bags Avatar

@ Hants
    Yuh mean to tell me duh ent got nuh rich Barbadians who could donate some cash to restore some historic buildings.
    There rich in resident all bout but not investors not donators of ole maple leaf ilk….not a fellow for BNB or BST or more recent Almond…..takers not givers. All bout Me not You…philosophers..

30. Frankly there gotta a building before Queens Park along Crumpton street that want licking to shite down too. Blasted waste ah space …!

31. “There is no good excuse for keeping outdated infrastructure just to stroke some people’s ego”

Bush Tea ……start with your Bible and BURN IT!

32. Wah about Government House and the buildings just east of it. Government House and Illaro Court could both use some dynomite. Leave the grounds though … magnificent pieces of real estate …

33. I would convert Government House to a Springer Memorial Boys School and employ Bust Tea as Head Master Emeritus

34. astle gosfe astle sof amerle desne sagte,aldante enof enof samdle unde snati demde snte adissmale goge nelia ahi ahi destle enof enof BeDoFF!

35. @ David
    If indeed it could be shown that modern methods do discipline made it possible to dispense with the rod then Bushie (and no doubt you and other logical persons) should adopt the new methods.
    ….of course the problem there is that the so-called ‘new approaches’ are demonstrated failures, and yet some of us insist on adopting them while expecting different results from the originators.

@ Islandgal
    Bushie don’t have a bible to burn. Why would the Bushman need one? Bushie could write the bible now….
    Do you see any expert walking around with a handbook on basics? (only lawyers LOL)
    Point is …. Already burnt!!
    …any other suggestions?

36. I find the old buildings in Bridgetown beautiful. I spent most of March walking and for the first time “seeing”. I used to look but not see. I say save the Queen ‘Park House. If necessary, I will donate a few $$$$ to help with restoration. I have given $$ to save “heritiage buildings” in Canada.

@ Colonel Buggy

was that distinguised, militaristic bearing, tall, handsome, brown skinned geltleman in the brown suit at Miss Deane’s funeral YOU?

37. Pat

Save your money. The decision has been made …hic

38. Moneybrain

or minibrain, I hope you reading this thread and follow that link that David put. You t’ink that these peoples are the good guys and the Mugabes and Hussein’s are the bad …

39. Davi;

Why you dont make this revelation a topic for discussion … !

40. Pat | April 18, 2012 at 5:48 PM |
    @ Colonel Buggy

was that distinguised, militaristic bearing, tall, handsome, brown skinned geltleman in the brown suit at Miss Deane’s funeral YOU?
    *****************************************************************************
    Tall, no. Black suit ,yes. That could have been either Norman Walker’s son. or the Brigadier.

41. After 45 years of independence ,perhaps we need to revisit and revise our National Anthem ,as some of the lines are not seen as relevant by many of our citizens today,
    ” Our brave forefathers sowed the seed,from which our pride has sprung” (really?)
    “These fields and hills beyond recall are now our very own” (by default ,and for a price we have sold them to ‘forners’
    “Strict guardians of our heritage” (What a laugh, should be deleted forthwith)
    ” Firm Craftsmen of our fate”, (we are just junior Apprentices)

42. @BAFBFP

Tell me it is not so. Where is the National Trust on this?

@Colonel Buggy

That gentleman gave me the eye. He stopped by me and paused as though he wanted to say something. I put on my distant, another world look. I was there mid-Church – black slacks, black top with with trim, reddish brown hair to match same colour skin and large white framed sunglasses.

43. @BAFBFP

Please, feel free to join us in trying to save the Queen’s Park House to be able to have it as a gallery once more.