Patrick Toppin (l) Oliver Jordan (r) CLICO Judicial Managers

The BU family will want to comment on the Deloitte & Touche Press Release issued yesterday (20/03/2012). BU understands the governmentโ€™s reluctance to comment on an issue which remains fluid and under the direction of the court. On the flipside however there is a large population of CLICO policyholders and others on the periphery who are concerned about the current state of affairs. Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart must be aware of the political fallout which CLICO has the potential to generate. It will be interesting to observe the pace at which a legal settlement is found to the CLICO Mess which must sync with the political beat with a general election on the horizon.

See Deloitteโ€™s Press Release which seeks to clarify the issue of the leaked Forensic Report.

1. David be thankful that we are generally a “passive” people.

2. @ David

Agreed

3. @Hants

It is a characteristic which can work for you or against you. If we want to promote needed change it is a quality that will make the shift very difficult.

4. correction in my above comment should be”the taxpayers have been hogtied and BIPA is sleeping with the enemy but who are these crooks And why are they allowed easy access to maniuplate the system yes they have demonstrated the capabilty of also not being able to destroyed peoples lives but to also to remove themselves from all that has happen to CLICO and in a political grandslam have easily remove themselves as chief crooks and have replaced others as the central players..

5. This particular issue seems to be one where the Judicial Manager is just clearing the air as to why the Prime Minister of Barbados and other territories did not see the report as they were just following the Court’s instruction to submit it to the FSC. I agree with Snipes that the PM would be foolish to respond to a few snippets he saw in the Nation newspaper.

6. @ What will they think of next ? | March 22, 2012 at 12:13 PM |

And another question of note, was it not the same Oliver Jordan who was pictured complete in a RED SHIRT at the nomination of Rudy Grant just before the last elections ?……………………………..

You Dems are vicious, speak the truth and you all go for the jugular.

I always heard that Oliver was a Dem. He may have had a top job under the Bees but I understand he is a Dem. How could you accused the gentleman of stealing? Did he not go on to a bigger job at FCIB? If he is a Bee why did the Dems embraced him? Dems do not give Bees jobs remember only those who stayed the course with the dead king were invited to the feast of the fatted calf. He was made Chairman of BTI and other boards so you may be off track here.

Check with George Street for the next talking points. Peace. Dont assassinate people’s character like that, this is little Barbados.

7. Pachamama

I just call all de people I know at NIS … and dey is allot ah dem … and not one, NOT ONE can attest to your claim … Sorry Pan, this time I must respectfully disagree …!

8. @CBuck,
    “I agree with Snipes that the PM would be foolish to respond to a few snippets he saw in the Nation newspaper.”……………………………….

Yes but do you not think that as PM of this country, he had a right and the power to request a copy seeing the uproar the revelations were causing? Who is in control here? Is the PM going to continue to act as a mouse and play he sticking to every protocol?

Give me a break!

The DLP clearly does NOT want to deal with this issue at all. He must be embarrassed to see what was in the report seeing that he so stupidly declared the man to be his friend and that he is not a leper.

Fruendel Stuart had a way out of this CLICO debacle in 2010. Everybody knew that Leroy Parris was tied up tightly with David Thompson. David Thompson was dead and Fruendel Stuart could have said all that was under David Thompson, here is the new way. From there he could have swiftly moved to put the JM’s in place and with public sympathy in 2010, all of this could have been behind the DLP. But they dithered and dithered and now they cannot deal with the reality.

Maxine McClean and Irene Sandiford, go away! Deal with the issue, you cannot sweep it under the carpet. Tough luck! You have the nerve to say none of you all dont have CLICO money, “wunnah” spent it last election though.

9. Why cant the JM’s sell the CLICO massive building at Waldrond Street? That could fetch a good price to be able to pay some policyholders back? Or the other massive one in Collymore Rock?

10. @BAFBFP
    ”In Guyana, the consequences of the collapse of the Trinidad parent on CLICO
    Guyana are an estimated US$ 30 million hit for the Guyana National Insurance
    Scheme, which represents an estimated 20 to 25% of the net reserves of the entity.
    In addition the Guyana Government has agreed to pay all persons who had
    invested money up to US$ 20,000.00 per person.”
    Authored By your WILLIAM LAYNE – see link below and page 5 of document

http://da-academy.org/Financial_Crisis_in_the_Caribbean.pdf

@BAFBFP
    My brother, we will never say anything on this blog which has not been punctiliously checked. Our life is about research and we carefully measure every word we use. If we are to contending that your whole political-economy model is in end-stage collapse then we must write to defend our position from all sides against all comers. This includes the leading thinkers everywhere in the world. We are not afraid to take them on. Let’s talk about your small point.

Above is an excerpt from a document presented by your own William Layne. I believe that you may have more confidence in him that the persons you called at the NIS (Barbados). Though this excerpt cites the NIS of Guyana and if given more time we are sure that we will prove our central point that National Insurance Schemes across the Caribbean, and Barbados has not been an exception, have at some point in the past held significant deposits with CLICO or its subsidiaries over decades. NIS (Barbados) has long held a policy of spreading its funds between financial institutions. CLICO was never excluded. And this is an undeniable truism. The more important point however, is that all the CLICO entities were private companies and therefore had no culture of accountability to stakeholders.

You may review the information attached. We stand ready to accept the perfunctory apology. LOL.

11. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ An Observer.. | March 22, 2012 at 11:49 AM |
    “Pray tell me what is that โ€ political Stripe โ€ which tarnishes me !!”

The use of an adverb as a โ€œslightlyโ€ limiting factor has its merits in helping to withstand any accusations of open bias. The stripes of CCC, old onion bags and ac are plain to see whether the colours are raging red or cowardly yellow. In your case it is more a case of professional brotherhood and social interaction rather than an open show of foot soldier loyalty forged in the trenches of the George St. battlefield and command centre. The miller too shares that kind of โ€˜ties that bindโ€™.
    But this loyalty to a pal is covertly manifested (pardon the oxymoronic slant) in your ceaseless enthusiasm to jump to his defense. No man gets to the top to the political ladder (unless he is covered in hereditary or dynastic robes that protect him when the shit hits the fan) without the need to commit a few political murders and abortions on his way up. He must also establish exploitable relationships that can be depended upon in times of need. Here is where the art of winning friends and influencing people comes to the fore.
    It is incumbent on those who seek to defend and protect a dog to first establish his pedigree and capabilities. It is also well advised to be wary of those strays moving from one riding to the next and whose mercurial rise to the top of the recent power ladder was catapulted mainly because of the vagaries of fate and the dice of misfortune rather than by dint of hard work, scintillating battles fought in the political arena and charisma earned through popular appeal.
    May the angel assigned to guard this nappy-headed Wordsworth of African ancestry march through the fields of six roads to the Oistins hill of resistance and rebellion with a shield of protection to the very challenging corridors of power. These are very trying times unrivalled since the advent of Black majority rule. Unsteady is the head that wears the crown however taken. But one thing is sure, there will always be an โ€œObserverโ€ on hand to catch it from smashing to smithereens. The next 9 months will be the acid test of loyalty- openly expressed or tacitly observed. Let the political adrenalin flow and the party drums roll!

12. millertheanunnaki | March 22, 2012 at 5:26 PM |
    Miller…your prose is like music to the ears and brilliantly penned.

“May the angel assigned to guard this nappy-headed Wordsworth of African ancestry march through the fields of six roads to the Oistins hill of resistance and rebellion with a shield of protection to the very challenging corridors of power”
    RFLMAO

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ islandgal246 | March 22, 2012 at 6:12 PM |

Thanks for the nice compliment!
    My schooldays weren’t all taken up with pitching marbles, flying kites, fishing, climbing fruit trees setting fly-sticks and playing games or even looking after cow, horse, sheep and pigs like BAF. I always had a love for dogs but it was caring and healthy, unlike CCC and his adorable bitch.
    I might have attended Brumley College in Bromley but not in August.
    I try to be โ€˜originalโ€™ as much as possible. Unlike Zoe, the High Priest of “Cut & Paste”!

14. Pan

I promise U. I gun call WI

15. iam tonight or tomorrow if he is not available

16. miller

BTW I like sheep NOT pigs …

17. @ millertheanunnaki | March 22, 2012 at 5:26 PM |

Re your post above. I have only one word to describe it………..Brilliant!

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@BAFBFP | March 22, 2012 at 7:10 PM |
    “BTW I like sheep NOT pigs โ€ฆ”

Scared of the extra-long third & fourth phases?
    Don’t blame you. Stay within your limitations. Sheep (females only) are meek and mild. Just graze them near a patch of luxuriant grass not on deck of a gay cruise ship. Like true CLICO-like Bajans they would sheepishly put up with any thing set up to screw them.
    Send the pigs over to the mill. We have the right 12 gauge equipment to slaughter the sows, foc despite the squealing. (LOL!!!)

19. old onion bags Avatar

@ Miller
    Ya ole dawg you ..man you showing us up……we ( not even Observer) could handle your Shakespeare….got D man gone silent fa the rest of the night….I glad I pun this side boy..Wait you is Billie Miller right ?

20. Panch

You knows I likes U but U pun your own this time ’round … sorry man … big time

21. Miller

LOL …

22. Prodigal Son

Sorry to piss on a parade but I actually do not like sheep either … at least not in the context that you would have imagined my comment to be acquainted with …

23. old onion bags Avatar

All exits out of this CLICO hell hole seemingly closed…send in Maxi and sidekick Irene to makes matters worse..talking bout corporate directorship experience and playing dumbshit Who’s Got it tactics.Regardless, the weak ploy, far from aiding,caused more confusion in the Senate , with obnoxious Darcy Beckles’ of abit of this subtract from 50 % of that leave a half of a lil bit nonsense and nothing worth worrying about shit.
    An early morning summonsing of the the new senator to work on Morning Barbados, with cautioning reminders of Civil Servants Secrecy Act, Sen. Depieza curried up Doug Hoyte’s already cloudy ideas of what could be done supposing the document fell off a turnip truck.She started out by saying she has never read the Act…but willing to advised those who have.
    What a bloody mess in the captain’s mess hole.Laud what will we have to deal with tomorrow ?

24. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

@ David | March 21, 2012 at 7:24 PM |
    “…to the PMโ€™s position by avoiding comment on the matter which is under the direction of the Court but he has to be acutely aware that he has a general election which his party wants to win …”

why should the PM care? he pension has already been secured, whether they will or lose will not affect him financially.

25. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

sorry correction to above.

why should the PM care? his pension has already been secured, whether they win or lose will not affect him financially at all

26. @ Miller
    ” the Miller too shares that kind of ‘ ties that bind ‘ ”
    When you are honest enough to make this admission we can both have a jolly good laugh . Excellent banter my friend .LOL . Peace .

27. Instead it remains fixated on the political dimension. because david the politicate directorate who are supposed to lead the charge were tardy in acting in all respects.

28. I cannot imagine that a company of this standing in the corporate field could have committed such a howler .observer you are so onesided’ why continue to beat this red-herring. what is more a howler to use your word to me is concerns me most is mr stuart’s continuing gaffes in the management of public affairs. his erroneous advice to mr thompson in the lawful suitability of mr gibson for the post of chief justice. his erroneous announcement to the dlp faithful in new york about the origins of the bastardy law and his erroneous announcement to the people of barbados about the elevation of miss ifill to the presidency of the senate to gain the obvious political mileage.

29. this incestuous fraternity is a sad reflection of the kind of returns on the countryโ€™s investment in free tertiary education.

Where was your voice and eyes, โ€œObserverโ€™ when this travesty was being played out?

miller, they are vultures. they just do not care whose carcass they feed on.

30. Do you now understand the reason for the sudden mood of silence and plea of ignorance by the generals and the start of blame game by their political lieutenant

observer is intelligent to know that free and frank discussion of the contents of the report could spell doom for the dlp with electioneering around the corner. hence the redherrings to keep the report officially out of the public domain.

31. ole onions you giving billie miller too much credit,. she ain’t so bright. her profile fits the bill of those ascending to power of whom mr miller speaks.

32. old onion bags Avatar

Balance submissions on to something…exactly what though ..I can’t put my finger on it…these luminary fellas..abit faster than Onions when playing second division cricket and all …but Onions always ready and willing to listen..and sometimes play water boy.

33. The government by not commenting on the CLICO matter only serves to make the debate more protracted. CLICO matter is not going to go away. It will be a bigger issue moreso than the economy come next election.

34. The PM KNOWS he is going to LOSE the next election.He is dilly dallying with Barrack,the eager XI,Clico and the Alexandra affair.When Stuart and co. are backed into a corner,they will call elections,and Owen Arthur and co. will have to deal with ALL the mess they left behind.The Ax’dra affair……….those teachers have been FOOLED big time…….they need to get rid of Mary….can’t they see what is happening ? Barrack……you will be promise and promise and promise…..but you will never ever be paid under the DLP…. and the eager XI have already dug their graves,by the way how come Sealy acted as PM the last time around ? was Jones overseas ? but you see that Clico thing,….man that is a time bomb…bigger than ALL the others combined and multiplied by 2.

35. @ Old onion bags ,
    You would note that i have gone no where : literature excites me ; I myself am a keen student of literature which , if you were less partisan , and more objective ,you would certainly have observed by now . Shakespeare titilates me , not silences me . You are therefore running the grave risk of driving me once more unto the breach ..as ;
    ” in peace there’ s nothing so becomes a man
    As modest stillness and humility ;
    But when the blast of war blows in our ears ,
    Then imitate the action of the tiger ;
    Stiffen the sinews , conjure up the blood ,
    Disguise fair nature with hard-favored rage ; ”
    Now that is real real Shakespeare . Don’t underestimate me . Peace my brother.

36. old onion bags Avatar

@Observer
    Wait why you telling me this? I ain’t the one who hit you fa SIX…..the fella name “Miller the annuaki” in case you forget…..man he tear ya up too.Less partisan ?..Man all you getting is a stupessss….you got pension money tie up at CLICO ? Well I keeping the flame HOT HOT for my cause….Them thief my money and I go make them sooooo uncomfortable….you could hold your Shakespeare shit and recreation chat for the your Latin lingoed and leper friends…”when the blast of wars ? ..MAN YOU IS NUTTIN BUT A BARE COWARD…Miller knock in you brass-bowl…and all you could do is come fa Onions ? Man you lucky I is a christian or I would start to tell ya where ya mudda come from….Check ya self ya…Miller warn he ya ..

37. old onion bags Avatar

@ Observer
    @ Miller
    Ya ole dawg you ..man you showing us upโ€ฆโ€ฆwe ( not even Observer) could handle your Shakespeareโ€ฆ.got D man gone silent fa the rest of the nightโ€ฆ.I glad I pun this side boy..Wait you is Billie Miller right ?
    Man you got to be sick …..threatening ME…read again an weep ! HE BUSS YA ASS…tek dat !!

38. @ Old onion bags .
    Can you hear me laughing ? You have me in stitches ! I thought you were a Shakespeare man as well ! Shakespeare did not use such profanity ! The Miller and I have an understanding based on mutual respect for each other’s intellect . You should have recognised that by now . If you want to create that kind of respect from me you would have to exercise greater restraint . In this instance you succeeded in pulling the tiger’s tail . Be more careful in the future . In the meantime , peace my brother . Be of good cheer!

39. old onion bags Avatar

Mr.Man….I aint no luminary nor I aint not Wordsworth nor Shakespare man..but when you or anybody ..just so .coming hay ..lookin fa fight wid Onions…who did just observerin….I go represent myself…Be Good ya forgiven!!! lol .

40. @ Old Onion bags .
    Man you have made my day . I don’ know when last I have laughed like this and you should know that laughter is really good for the soul . But you have to be more careful not to get caught in a CROSSFIRE ; you are sure to get shot . Anyhow , this time I will cease fire and take you into safe harbour . But thanks for really giving me a good laugh this morning . BU really exposes us to all sorts ; and as you know it takes all sorts to make a world . David you must take note ; please see to it that nothing is done to rob us of this medium , Thanks my friend ; right now I am still crying with laughter . Peace my brother .

41. old onion bags Avatar

But wait…CROSS FIRE ?…I go ask EVERYBODY to be referee..ONIONS din trouble nah body….Man you too quick to lash out..By the way …WE waiting for your to reply to “the annuaki”…OR,,, you does dun so ?

42. old onion bags Avatar

@ Millertheannuaki
    Wait boss …like you up at the Stadium….we can’t find you …come in the court come in the court…..you summonsed. lol.

43. @ Miller
    The true grains of a true blogger extraordinaire Miller…..allowing the admonished time to pickup their dead…or wounded..
    Dat (an Observer) is a real joke…imagine he asking if I want HE respect…another stupesss.Is now nearly 24 hrs since….a no reply to the annuaki. …Shakespeare what …Google maybe..

44. Tiger tail what…he mean boar cat…lol..softy softy softyyyyy.
    Miller stop laughing and get in hay do.

45. @ Old onion bags
    you are not observant enough ; i replied to the Miller long time ago when he admitted that he too ” shares that kind of ties that bind ” . See my response to him on March 23 ,2012 -12.40 a.m. Some boar cats , what the Jamaicans call a ” ram puss “, real dangerous ; you corner one and see what could happen . You had better wait until David comes in . I had intended to call a truce but it seems as though you still want to put a lash on me . And the Miller wont come to your rescue . Be careful ..The miller might have decided to wait and see what kind of defence you can mount on your own behalf before he comes to your rescue . The Miller is a smartie . Any how as I promised earlier , I have put away the big guns . But be careful the tiger is not dead ; he might only be sleeping and it is clear that you would rather interfere with a boar – cat than a tiger . peace my brother .

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ old onion bags | March 23, 2012 at 11:04 AM |
    “Tiger tail whatโ€ฆhe mean boar catโ€ฆlol..softy softy softyyyyy.
    Miller stop laughing and get in hay do.”

You are rather perceptive. Or maybe you can read minds via cyberspace.
    That’s exactly what I am doing, having a good laugh like the โ€œObserverโ€ whose medical advice I have taken on board if not his legal wheeling and dealing to get his man off the CLICO hook. Donโ€™t be afraid of the paper tigerโ€™s tail. “The higher the monkey climb de more he exposed he ‘tail’; or in Observer’s case his ‘tale’. Just say โ€œbooโ€ and the sly mongoose pretending to be guarding the yardfowls will run away faster than the rat can lick his teeth at the chickens.
    Just watching you living up to the old saying: “The toughest steel must first go through the hottest fire”!
    โ€œThere is a tide in the affairs of men which, taken at the flood, leads on to fortune; Omitted, all the voyage of their life is bound in shallows and in miseries.
    On such a full sea are we now afloat, and we must take the current when it serves, or lose our ventures.โ€ Observer the Cassius of the CLICO legal saga will cite the source as a โ€œpro bono publicoโ€ gesture to share knowledge of great Literature. Et tu, Old Onions!
    Stay the course, even girdled in your old onion bags! Just 9 more months at the most before your ship sails into port safe and sound after a rough voyage on the political high seas through the storms and economic hurricanes. Time will make the โ€œObserverโ€ weep from the juice of the fresh crop of onions you are using in the recipe to stew the DLP and the supporters who are now sticking like flies in a barrel of molasses delivered by the CLICO garbage truck that the fumbling gatekeeper refused to turn back.

47. @ Old onion bags .
    Man you see what the Miller has done to you ? He has given you a defence from SHAKESPEARE and you have confessed you are no Shakespeare man . The Miller is there laughing saying ” tek dat ” ! You had no right getting into other people’s business . Now try and save yourself . You had better hope that David gets in here quick , quick . He might be of greater assistance . I warned you that the Miller is a smartie . Now tell me if you don’t agree with me. You must go and pick up and dust off your Shakespeare . It will assist us all in getting away from the garbled offerings of most of the politicians . In this regard BU can usefully assist in providing an outlet . But be warned The MILLER is not coming to your assistance UNLESS you pick up that Shakespeare text . LOL : LOL : Peace my brother .

48. old onion bags Avatar

Oh laud ..Onions only but laughing….these old bags ent want nah Shakespeare for the likes of you…big guns what ..as fa David…he ent want nah parta you neither….Miller the next time you see Onions walking down the road…. mark my words… he go got a boar cat tail in ee hand ..watch !

Aside: I was watching cricket and Pollard’s century…do humbly apologize ALL

49. old onion bags Avatar

@ An Observer
    @ Miller
    โ€ the Miller too shares that kind of โ€˜ ties that bind โ€˜ โ€
    When you are honest enough to make this admission we can both have a jolly good laugh . Excellent banter my friend .LOL . Peace .
    Wait you call this a REPLY..? Man try and get down pun ya knees and beg the annuakia’s forgiveness…..You mekkin sport right ?

50. @Old onion bags
    Man why you dont you behave yourself ? Let the Miller decide what is acceptable to him . The Miller has raised no objection and you real late .