Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

The news that the Prevention of Corruption Bill is back on the Order Paper of Parliament or soon will be is good news. The fact that it is has taken so long to come is to be regretted. What BU has gleaned from the statement issued by Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart is his commitment to deliver anti-corruption/transparency legislation. To those who will predictably howl at the position BU has taken, it is an opinion which the BU household is entitled.

Not many Barbadians will disagree that Prime Minister Stuart possesses a few endearing qualities, those that engender trust, honesty and integrity easily come to mind. If he says he will deliver the Bill under his watch before the next general election, how can he not deliver?

It is interesting to note Opposition Leader Owen Arthur’s  response to the issue – Bring it on! Arthur has been labelled a Master Tactician on BU and one must admire his attempt to wrestle the anti-corruption agenda from the Democratic Labour Party (DLP). While delivering a speech on the weekend Arthur referred to the time when he and Mia Mottley ‘declared’ their assets. He ridiculed the fact that ‘not a boy’ from the government side mirrored their action. BU opined at the time Arthur and Mottley’s action was a gimmick to win goodwill from the electorate. How can any member of parliament  declare assets when there is no framework implemented to assess the accuracy of the submissions?

The government to its credit is getting back on track by proclaiming it will deliver transparency legislation before it’s term expires. Given the Opposition’s fleeting mention of transparency legislation in the last four years, it is highly likely were Arthur to return to government transparency legislation would not see the light of day.

The Prime Minister’s announcement has also served to remind the traditional media about the issue. Social Media never stopped championing the need to enact transparency legislation. In the weeks ahead BU will join other Barbadians to witness Prime Minister Stuart go where Prime Ministers before him failed to travel.

When Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart delivers transparency legislation his legacy will be assured win lose or draw.

182 responses to “Prime Minister Stuart To Go Where No Prime Minister Has Gone – Prevention Of Corruption Bill Coming”

1. David
    After 2 years of Stuart as P.M, if you had to evaluate him, out oa scale of 10, how would you mark him and why? I’m not including the time of acting P.M when the late P.M told him he has the full authority..

2. old onion bags Avatar

The Scout | February 29, 2012 at 10:06 PM |
    P.M knows he is in a win-win situation, he knows, win or lose the next elections, he is in for a big pension, Even if the DLP wins, he knows he would not be re-eleted as the P.M, so he is throwing everyone to the wolves, who escapes, good for them.

IF only eveyone would be as wise as you…..a visionary and true Daniel

PM seems to be on a purge….(if he is serious)…we can look very soon for a reaction..(if the Eager are not asleep)….things coming to a showdown or a showup anytime now.. Scoutie boy !

3. @baajanfuhlife

The Barrack is issue is one of the glaring examples of perfidiia by the DLP. Under this government Barrack interest has gone up by $30 million dollars without so much as a cent being paid. The government MUST pay, that is the order of the court and no amount of attributing blame to the BLP will absolve the DLP from the promise to pay AL Barrack, This government is jwithout conscience, integrity, yesd that’s the word, honour or right. This is a clear example of jthe DLP in action,. This is dispicable and wrong, buit why shold I telll the DEMS anything they behave like children. Lie, Cheat and Steal and feel they have God given right to behave so, Pay Barrack and show that your word can be your bond.Get thee behind me Satan, Think on these things

4. @ac,
    “The BLPites would bob and weave around the question of why in 14yearsthe BLP never once made a promise to the electorate FOI in their political plank and we all know the answer lies with their Leader OSA lack of integrity.To think that in all those years Never once makes one wonder!”

ac,
    Because you deceitful DEMS made corruption an issue in the last election to win as that was the only way the Dems would have won. If there was corruption by some BLP surrogates, bring them to justice and stop flying the corruption kite. You had four years, all the files are available, pass the files to the DPP.

I know it is painful and embarrassing for you DLP diehards to even contemplate that your dear departed king whilst trying to take the little moat out of the BLP’s eyes was all the while a DAMN LYING HYPOCRITE!

5. Miller.
    “That is one of the most inane statements to emanate from a leader in such a powerful position. Every political Tom Dick & Harriette knows that the PM is the only person who can call a general election earlier than it is constitutionally due. Unless of course there is a “no-confidence ” vote against him or her. In this case the DLP holds the majority so that statement should really be directed to his fellow DLP parliamentarians including the Eager Eleven. But given the double speak and obfuscation, maybe those are whom he had in mind at the time but got mixed up between the 2 letters taking a “B” for a “D”. A Sweet Senior moment, indeed!”

Miller,

Give him a break, his diabetes may have been acting up, it certainly did not sound as a well man!

6. @The Scout

PM Stuart’s challenge is to do what highly effective leaders do as a matter of routine i.e get his team energized and motivated to deliver. With a general election a few months away (by the PM’s last utterance) it is evident some on his team have to be kicked in the butts or jettisoned. So far Stuart because of the economic challenge of leading a country which had enjoyed what many perceived as economic prosperity his wriggle room to make changes is limited. Made more so by the E11 incident and the obvious disaffection which exist. He is in a very difficult position.

7. old onion bags Avatar

@ac Your slip , petitcoat and what every else there is …..is showing you all just been exposed for the frauds you are……can’t try that again dis elections now can you ..as a matter of fact…the dead king wife now got to face the piper or RUN now that Freundel has thrown down the gauntlet….she has family in St.Lucia and a BIG bank account compliments the duppy..lol

8. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

In the BLP’S daily PR sheet commonly known as the Nation newspaper on Feb29, 2012, Sanka Price had the audacity to say and I quote :
    “A check with the Supervisor of Insurance would have revealed that CLICO had not been complying with regulations as it had not been filing its financial statements in a timely fashion……(Thompson) as Minister Of Finance should he not have checked on whether the company was fully complying with its statutory regulations?”
    If Sanka Price was not so biased he would have the balls to ask the same of Owen Arthur who was also Minister Of Finance when the Statutory Fund was in deficit but NO – because Sanka is on a mission – he is a BLP lackey masquerading as an editor.
    You see how the Saturday Sun does be so critical of everything the Government do.
    The Nation newspaper is fastly losing credibility in the public, it is now known more for entertainment than serious journalism.
    Sanka Price is playing politics with such a serious issue. Sanka Price is a disgrace!

9. Hey, new comer, do not have to post the same nonsense on every thread.

You are the disgrace, not Sanka.

You Dems think that everybody have to fall down and worship you all but the scales have been removes from people’s eyes and they now see you Dems for what you all are.

“David Thompson will not lie, cheat or steal”. You have been exposed!

10. with all due respect to you mr observer when mr thompson aided and abeeted by the lady governor of the central bank hands a well run company which turns out to be not so well run 10 million of taxpayers money and then uses his law firm to be a conduit for the disbursement of millions of dollars from a beleaguered company to his cohort and business partner at the expense of stressful policyholders then it becomes everybodys business as opposed to mr arthur’s bedroom business.

11. @balace

If you are balanced then you need to establish Thompson’s role in the law firm when he became PM then and only then can you draw the conclusions you have.

12. David; Is it permissible to establish the former PM’s likely role by deductions from information in the public domain?

13. balance | March 1, 2012 at 9:49 PM. I completely agree with David’s response to you on the subject of Mr Thompson. If things were as you allege (which is not admitted) the certainly it is everyone’s business. BUT, nowhere do I see any attempt on BU to delve into the “Mr Arthur’s bedroom business”. A divorce is a legal, public domain process that many people go through yearly and the records of which are always open to the general public. When a question of a divorce settlement of $6 million is alleged and the person receiving this $6 million resides in New York, the “disappearance” of the files from a court registry ruled over at the time by the political crony of Mr Arthur has got to be asked – and, whether you like it or not, answered. The next question(if the allegation is correct) is: How in hell did Mr Arthur, on a prime minister’s salary, afford to pay a settlement of $6 million? And the final question is: How did Mr Arthur get the $6 million out of Barbados to his ex-wife in New York, in defiance of the Central Bank regulations?

By all means examine Mr Thompson’s role in CLICO. But do not try to suggest that anyone is breaching Mr Arthur’s privacy and bedroom secrets by enquiring into an alleged $6 million divorce settlement. And since when can a divorce be classified as “bedroom secrets”? By its definition it is a “lack of bedroom secrets”.

In any case, this upcoming election that you are seeking to win for Mr Arthur is not against Mr Thompson. It is against Mr Stuart. I have always thought that there was something rather nasty about anyone who tries to use a deceased person in this way to gain advantage in the mortal world. I am not suggesting that Mr Thompson’s role not be investigated. What I am saying is that the battle is between Mr Arthur and Mr Stuart. I have raised a question relating to an alleged $6 million in the matter of Mr Arthur’s divorce. It is a legitimate and timely question. I would like it answered. I somehow do not think that you will be able to discover even the slightest whiff of alleged impropriety regarding Mr Stuart with which to counter.

And it is on the basis of his personal and undoubted integrity, his courage, his tenacity and his intelligence that I will vote for Mr Stuart’s DLP.

There is, after all, a simple test to be applied here and I highly recommend it to the Barbados electorate. Would I want my son to emulate and be like Mr Stuart…….or Mr Arthur? I submit that it is no contest.

14. @checkit-out

Of course let us read your best analysis of the situation.

15. sorry david i have not accused mr thompson of anything. all i have done is stated the facts, if you want to disprove that 10 million dollars was not given/loaned to clico mortgage from the treasury , then prove me wrong; if you want to deny that mr thompson did not say clico mortgage was a sound and well run company, then prove me wrong; if you want to say that mr thompson and mr parris were not close friends, thenprove me wrong;if you want to say that as a policy holder, i am not enduring stress not knowing if i will get my $30,000 plus dividends when my policies mature this year, then prove me wrong.how much more balanced do you want me to be?

16. @balance

Do you deny also that the SOI by his inaction agreed that the company was compliant?

Do agree also that the lack of serious auditor’s notes to the financials signaled the company was well managed?

What would have been the determining factors in Thompson making a decision to state publicly that the company was a well manged?

Is it possible that Thompson could have been friends with Parris and believed the statement that it was a well managed company? How would you know otherwise?

Should Arthur have made his good friend Rodney Wilkinson head of GEMS?

17. amused that is why barbados is in such a sorry state and the political elite (not faithful footsoldiers like you who no chance of grazing on either of the fatted calves) yes, the political elite vultures would continue to ride rough shod over this dear country only to ride away in the sunset like clint eastwood.it is alright for you to castigate mr arthur as much as you like but not mr thompson or mr stuart.well, sir i am not aligned to any party and as such unlike the apologists is free to comment freely and frankly without bias on issues affecting governance. so, you and david could try and spin the issue as much as you like , miller and i would always as thye missing in action CCC would say ‘see through it’.honestly, i hope that the forensic audit does not uncover any further controversial transactions which could cause you to lose more sleep at night.

18. mr david, in my view there is nothing wrong with mr thompson appointing mr parris to chair the board of cbc or mr parris selecting mr thompson to handle clico’s affairs neither is there anything wrong with mr arthur appointing mr wiljkinson as chairman of gems as long as they are prepared to as the speaker said to let the chips fall where they may if in my words issues of governance or management or accountibility arises. after all, a friend in need is ca friend indeed and there is no moral or fiduciary responsibility to abandon our friends high or low when we assume positions of power or prominence.

19. @balance

Your last comment is a departure from the one which was challenged which was laced with assumptions.

Thompson made a decision and he is gone and the DLP will have to deal with the consequences, to ascribe all the mumbo jumbo you did is mischievous.

A few days after the clico mess broke all Thompson did was to try to bolster confidence in the enterprise. What else could he have done at that early stage to prevent a run on the company?

Time will tell if the transactions highlighted in the Deloitte’s report can be explained away.

In the mean time the political fall out will have to be dealt with by the DLP.

20. Thompson made a decision. THe question is why ? and what would have been the alternative to knowing the truth and its effect throughout the carribbean ? would the policyholders have benefited ? These and many more probing questions ?

21. An Observer.. Avatar

@ Amused
    ” Would I want my son to emulate and be like Mr Stuart….or Mr Arthur ? I submit it is no contest “.
    I do not even envisage this being thought of as being considered for a contest. But even if you should not agree with me , ASK MIA MOTTLEY..
    Peace my brother .

22. for all of the bloggers who continue to perpetrate ‘Persistent Barrow Myth” I quote Mr Leonard Shorey-” Free secondary education was introduced into Barbados under the wise leadership of the late Rt. Excellent sir grantley Herbert adams, and the significance of this enormously important deevelopment is recorded for all time in the Report of the National Commission on the Status of women (pages580-583), which provides substantial details about what actually occurred. The Report noted that “secondary Modern Schools… were intended to provide secondary education for those who did not qualify on the basis of the Common Entrance Examination for admission to Grammar Schools.” Additional information from the report is provided below.
    Payment for pupils in elementary schools was abolished in 1928, but there remained considerable hardship for large numbers of parents who were still required to pay fees for children attending grammar schools.Under the leadership of Sir Grantley, a dramatic change took place with establishment of a whole new set of secondary schools first known as Comprehensive Schools, sometimes as Secondary Modern Schools and later as Newer Secondary Schools.These secondary schools were established as follows:1952-St Leonard’s Boys and St Leonard’s Girls; 1955Princess Margaret and West St Joseph( now Grantley Adams), and Parkinson School in 1960.The coming of these schools marked the beginning of a totally new era in education in Barbados, opening new horizons for thousands of youngsters who would otherwise have had no hope of receiving secondary education, and for the first time in our country’s history the State was meeting the cost of education for large numbers of children. Under the Grantley Adams administration, ” free secondary education” had at last become part and parcel of the education landscape in Barbados.
    It is interesting to note that by the time all fees were abolished in secondary schools under the RT. Excellent Mr Errol Walton Barrow, there were actually more youngsters(4636) attending the the newer secondary schools than those attending the older secondary schools (4325) whose fees were removed under Mr Barrow.
    i recognise that the above information is a bitter pill to swallow for those who want to hear otherwise but we have a responsibility to our children not to distort the facts to satisfy our egos. I hope that the above information lay waste to the myth that MR barrow introduced Free Secondary Education to Barbados.

23. An Observer.. Avatar

@ David.
    Indulge me to repeat what I have posted elsewhere..IT IS A MYTH THAT YOU CANNOT DEFAME THE DEAD…..

24. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

The 1961 DLP campaign had as one of its slogans “free secodary education for all, or free secondary edcation for none at all” also “sweep them out” “them” being the BLP.

So yes prior to the 1960’s there was free secondary education but only for the richest and the brightest.

After 1961 it gradually became open to many more, but it was not until 1976 that the all-age elementary schools were phased out and the school leaving age was raised to 16.

We need to raise the school leaving age to 18.

25. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Amused | March 2, 2012 at 5:08 AM |
    “The next question(if the allegation is correct) is: How in hell did Mr Arthur, on a prime minister’s salary, afford to pay a settlement of $6 million? And the final question is: How did Mr Arthur get the $6 million out of Barbados to his ex-wife in New York, in defiance of the Central Bank regulations?”

It appears you are somehow in possession of evidence to substantiate the allegation you seem to go along with. But this is a very serious allegation and imputed impropriety on behalf of the former PM and Minister of Finance under whose responsibility and purview the Central Bank of Barbados falls. The following concerns need further probing and of which you can run with for your “apolitical” mill.

A very pertinent concern about the source of that six million divorce settlement. Based on his public outcry of being in an impecunious state, one can assume that Mr. Arthur came to office as PM with the only former source of income being that of Leader of the then Opposition. The office of PM requires you work solely for the Crown. No other public or private enterprise or professional engagements should be undertaken for profit.

When Mr. Arthur demitted office in January 2008 once can conclude that any wealth created by him would have arisen from the pecuniary rewards of that office of PM. He subsequently made a public declaration, along with Ms Mottley the then Leader of the Opposition, which indicated that he was not in possession of any “significant” liquid wealth or real property or any which could seen as “excessive or abnormal” when compared to his remunerations over the 14 years as PM. The question you need to probe then is this: Since no known real property was acquired and sold leading up to the so-called public divorce where did the proceeds for the $6 million settlement come from? So you concerns in this area do have merit and worthy of further probing by you, Amused. So get on your bike and ride with it to the mill house.

But on your way stop off at the CBB and ponder on the following:

It appears you are somewhat ‘cocksure’ that because Mr. Arthur’s ex-wife emigrated after the divorce to reside in New York the divorce settlement was in the form of money and must have followed her in its US$ or other foreign money equivalent form.
    So did Mr. Arthur apply to the CBB authorities for permission to make such a large remittance overseas?
    Can you use you “apolitical” contacts once again to establish if such approval was granted? If not how can you feel so confident that such a transaction took place?
    If you are confident that such overseas payment(s) was made then which commercial bank would have colluded to break the CBB rules and regulation.
    This is a potentially serious matter capable of bringing all parties involved in to disrepute and even attracting the interest of the police.
    So, Amused, unless you are prepared to further probe, investigate and examine the allegations (which you seem to impute some credibility) to ensure justice is carried out, then treat Mr. Arthur’s financial integrity you would wish us to treat Mr. Stuart’s or even the intended beneficiaries of the estate of the late PM.

26. Miller the Annunaki; Very interesting. But it doesn’t compute.

Even conceding all the likely allowances and savings from a PM’s legal use of facilities at his disposal, 6 million cannot come out of a PM’s salary and allowances over 14 years. So as you hinted, something is not quite right there.

Oh what a tangled web! Amused needs to somehow get hold of that divorce settlement, or someone who is prepared to swear to its content, soon and confirm for the general public what was the true quantum of the settlement.

27. Mr Random Thoughts -Are you for real? if you do not want to continue to wallow in ignorance then read my post of march 2 at 7.33am. it was put there to enlighten persons who i believe want to be educated.

28. Rambling Rose Avatar

Please would you all uninformed people stop speculating about people;s money especially money of the former Prime Minister- and next Prime Minister of Barbados , the RIGHT Honourable Owen Seymour Arthur

It has been shown that people come here and write things that they know absolutely nothing about

Oh Spanish Sumplings on a bright Caribbean day , why dont you people stop it

29. @Rambling Rose

Do you know?

If you don’t know how do you know that others don’t?

It would be fair for Arthur’s missing file to be where it is suppose to be.

The fact that it is missing is endemic to what is the problem anyway.

30. Rambling Rose Avatar

We need to raise the school leaving age to 18

YES

I support this suggestion

31. And when the school leaving age is raised will you be amenable to your taxes being increased?

32. Rambling Rose Avatar

The next question(if the allegation is correct) is: How in hell did Mr Arthur, on a prime minister’s salary, afford to pay a settlement of $6 million? And the final question is: How did Mr Arthur get the $6 million out of Barbados to his ex-wife in New York, in defiance of the Central Bank regulations?”
    —————————

This is blantant nonsense
    Stop the nastiness now !
    Concentrate on Feebily Stuart and his lack of ——————–
    and leave RIGHT Honourable Owen Seymour Arthur
    alone. He will rescue Barbados again this time with Mascoll as his man, the best combination of talent ever seen in the Western Hemisphere.
    I am rubbung my hands with glee and cherishing the thought. I am loving it.

Dont fret ! It will be good for Barbados and we love Barbados now –dont we
    Dont we ?

Oh G String , why cant people get it

33. If you are balanced then you need to establish Thompson’s role in the law firm when he became PM then and only then can you draw the conclusions you have. (sounds familiar david.)

i take it that you know for sure that mr arthur’s divorce file is indeed missing. and not going on hearsay.

34. @balance

Why don’t you pay visit to the Registrar of Courts and prove us liars.

35. Rambling Rose Avatar

Raising the age to 18 does not mean raising taxes
    What is the correlation

With the right Prime Minister at the helm, creative ways and means will employed to inrease revenue. Increasing taxes is all you know ?
    And if the PDC win the Government , which they can very well do if you people dont want B nor D , the taxes will be abolish
    So there !

Oh jumping Grandmother apron strings whay cant you get the piture

36. Rambling Rose Avatar

will be employed

37. @David,
    “Why don’t you pay visit to the Registrar of Courts and prove us liars”…………………………………….

Has David Thompson’s will been probated? Will we be able to see his assets? Who was responsible for his law firm during the period January 2008-2010 which the present team say they were not in charge?

It is quite alright for certain people to come on this blog and throw figures out there about Owen’s divorce settlement but if you dare something about the dead king, oh no, thou shall not speak evil of the dead. That $6million figure has been thrown out there by certain people who should know better. Where would Owen get $6m from? In fact his former wife was quite well off from her work in the US.

But why bother with Dems who said that the law did not have to be changed to appoint thenew CJ. So I would take what they say with a pince of salt.

38. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting balance balance | March 3, 2012 at 6:02 AM | “Mr Random Thoughts -Are you for real? if you do not want to continue to wallow in ignorance then read my post of march 2 at 7.33am. it was put there to enlighten persons who i believe want to be educated.”

I’ve re-read your post. I’ve re-read mine. I have no reaosn to change nanything in mine because (1) I am completely non-political. I don’t care about any of the parties. (2) I was there in 1961 and before and I am here now. I am not quoting someone else. I know what I saw with my own eyes and heard with my own ears, and understood with my own mind.

39. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

And the plural of person is people. There is no need to keep saying/writing “Persons” like some kinda poor great poppet.

It is ok to say PEOPLE.

I was walking down the road yesterday and I say one person.

I was walking down the road today and I saw two people.

I went to the Gold Cup race at the Garrison today and I saw many people.

Have I educated you and other people?

40. In order to get a settlement in a divorce the assets of both person will be called into account. These asssets must be real amd must be shown as true. However much you have it must be in your possession. If a person cannot work for X amount of money in Y years then those assets cannot be divided because according to some those amount could not have been worked for. If this is so the amount suggested cannot be correct. The law would not allow a person to give away what is not his, The law would not allow money laundering if it could help it . I find the accusation quite like the DEMS that is why they need Integrity legislation. They have NO integrity and they prove it at all times and when the moat is in their eyes they cannot see. Nothing will absolve them in this Thompsons debacle, They lied they cheated and they stole. Think on these things

41. Employment Question Avatar
    Employment Question

Does an employer have the right to assign any junior task to a senior employee that is within the senior employee’s competency, though outside of the role for which the senior employee was hired?

42. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

But in a divorce settlement wouldn’t the income and assets of BOTH the husband and wife be added up and then divided between them with the approval of the court?

The people who are discussing Mr. Arthur’s divorce seem to forgetting is that the former Mrs Arthur was/is a childless professional woman and has been so since her late teens or early twenties, and she in fact worked in the U.S. for many, many years while her husband was in opposition. I would assume that she has prudently managed her earnings/investments over the last 40 years (no point being married to a very sharp economist if one cannot get some GOOD FREE economic advice from him) and as a childless woman she has likely accumalated a tidy sum. In fact her earnings and assets very likely were GREATER that those of her former husband. I have a close friend in the same profession who has worked abroad for many years, is childless, and a very prudent person without bad habits. If you saw her walking down the road in a pair of old shorts and slippers and with a t-shirt on you would not believe that she is worth several million. But I can swear that she has never gone into a bar or other place of public entertainment in her life, does not drink, smoke, do drugs, nor run behind strange young doggies (nor old ones), and has as far as I can figure out in more than 50 years has NO BAD HABITS. But so many Bajan men are so sexist, they assume that women are dependent on men’s money. In fact a Bajan banker refused her request for a commercial mortgage loan a few years ago, because she went to the interview in her regular very, very casual clothes. She politely said thank you and goodbye and got the loan from another banker (female) switched banks and repaid the $400,000+ loan in 10 years instead of 20 and the property purchased has been a consistently good money earner for the past many, many years. The stoggy (well school and lodge connected and so forth) male Bajan banker even now does not know that she has had a very positive outcome because she has never banked with that bank again, and if she sees the banker is public she smiles sweetly says hello.

I think that we are assuming likely incorrectly that Mr. Arthur earned the most money during the course of his first mariage.

I verily believe that the first Mrs. Arthur outearned her former husband.

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Checkit-Out | March 2, 2012 at 12:28 PM |
    “Oh what a tangled web! Amused needs to somehow get hold of that divorce settlement, or someone who is prepared to swear to its content, soon and confirm for the general public what was the true quantum of the settlement.”

Don’t expect any thing productive from that source. “Amused” will side step it like a dead dog in the road.
    Amused likes to attack OSA with wild unsubstantiated accusations and allegations while attracting the tacit or implicit support of “Observer”… Observer always tells us to stop the name calling and allegations while calling for the judicial process to be the appropriate place and final arbiter of right or wrong guilty or not guilty when it comes to the CLICO debacle and the late PM’s involvement in this affair.

So Mr. or Ms Amused, listen to what “Observer is preaching and stop making wild allegations about Mr. Arthur unless you are prepared to follow through and take the paths as recommended by the miller.
    Observer, you need to reign in your amusing character and legal crony if you wish us to accept your professed “apolitical” stance and unswerving belief in the Judicial system of Barbados.

44. An Observer.. Avatar

@ Miller above.
    I will never get involved in the discussion of persons or personalities and their PRIVATE affairs…sorry , I cannot be of any assistance in the current debate…as the old song said “try another cherry tree ” .

45. @BU.David et al…

It is interesting to note that this BLOG entry has produced 144 comments.

But, to the best of my knowledge, no actual action has occured.

Could you please provide us with evidence that what was promised by the late will be delivered by the present before the next election?

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ An Observer.. | March 3, 2012 at 6:40 PM |
    “I will never get involved in the discussion of persons or personalities and their PRIVATE affairs…”

No one wants you to get involved in any discussion of persons or personalities and their PRIVATE affairs. We want you to be fair, demonstrate a measure consistency and operate based on principles not cronyism. The same way you try to “correct” Amused on a number of legal moot points (Laches et al) we would expect you to exercise similar admonishment that reflects you high moral standards as embedded in your ‘morality’ lecture.
    Charity begins at home. So too does advice and moral instruction.
    There is no one law for the Medes and another for the Persians on this blog.
    Who gives you the moral high ground to proffer advice to persons to like Prodigal Son (and presumably the miller and old onion bags also) about name calling and your so-called spurious allegations of malfeasance in the CLICO affair but cannot extend a similar principle of consistency to people like Amused when scandalizing a previous PM who served this country for 14 years and who is still admired by many Barbadians and people from overseas. Doesn’t the title “The Right Honourable ” mean anything to you and Amused? Give respect where respect in due. The man is innocent until proven guilty in a Court of Law, you would accede to this axiom, wouldn’t you now?

There is no need to try another cheery tree only hypocrites shelter under it.
    Finito!

47. @Chris

If one applies your uncompromising logic then of course there is no evidence but then there is the other position that Stuart has unequivocally stated that this legislation will be enacted before the next general election.

It is obvious if he doesn’t the opportunity to win becomes even harder. One may reasonable assume therefore he is on a suicide mission a la Sandiford/Manning or he means business.

48. @Prodigal

Suspect that all are waiting with baited brief for Thompson’s will to be probated. Why has it taken so long? Is there a complication with the estate?

49. David “Suspect that all are waiting with baited brief for Thompson’s will to be probated. Why has it taken so long?”

David it takes years to do anything involving the Legal system in Barbados.
    Ask any of your lawyer friends why.

50. @David: “One may reasonable assume therefore he is on a suicide mission a la Sandiford/Manning or he means business.

Let’s be honest here.

The late David promised several things to be elected.

They weren’t done.

Perhaps during the next election the electorate will be more critical of promises from all potential candidates.

And if Stuart has the balls to do what needs to be done while he’s still in power, good on him!