Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

The news that the Prevention of Corruption Bill is back on the Order Paper of Parliament or soon will be is good news. The fact that it is has taken so long to come is to be regretted. What BU has gleaned from the statement issued by Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart is his commitment to deliver anti-corruption/transparency legislation. To those who will predictably howl at the position BU has taken, it is an opinion which the BU household is entitled.

Not many Barbadians will disagree that Prime Minister Stuart possesses a few endearing qualities, those that engender trust, honesty and integrity easily come to mind. If he says he will deliver the Bill under his watch before the next general election, how can he not deliver?

It is interesting to note Opposition Leader Owen Arthur’s  response to the issue – Bring it on! Arthur has been labelled a Master Tactician on BU and one must admire his attempt to wrestle the anti-corruption agenda from the Democratic Labour Party (DLP). While delivering a speech on the weekend Arthur referred to the time when he and Mia Mottley ‘declared’ their assets. He ridiculed the fact that ‘not a boy’ from the government side mirrored their action. BU opined at the time Arthur and Mottley’s action was a gimmick to win goodwill from the electorate. How can any member of parliament  declare assets when there is no framework implemented to assess the accuracy of the submissions?

The government to its credit is getting back on track by proclaiming it will deliver transparency legislation before it’s term expires. Given the Opposition’s fleeting mention of transparency legislation in the last four years, it is highly likely were Arthur to return to government transparency legislation would not see the light of day.

The Prime Minister’s announcement has also served to remind the traditional media about the issue. Social Media never stopped championing the need to enact transparency legislation. In the weeks ahead BU will join other Barbadians to witness Prime Minister Stuart go where Prime Ministers before him failed to travel.

When Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart delivers transparency legislation his legacy will be assured win lose or draw.

182 responses to “Prime Minister Stuart To Go Where No Prime Minister Has Gone – Prevention Of Corruption Bill Coming”

1. mr checkitout- how often must i repeat on this forum that mr barrow did not introduce free secondary education to barbados but the dlp under mr barrow expanded it. mr leonard shorey has constantly produced the facts but for some reason people ignore them. in addition, mr barrowe’s deputy pr8ime minister mr wynter crawford in his autobiography edited by the remowned professor sir woodville marshall stated that mr barrow was not there when the manifesto was formulated. free secondary education was ,introduced to barbados before1961. and no distortion of the history of educational advancement in barbados can alter that fact.

2. amused why would the personal business of mr arthur and his wife amuse you? would you not like to get to the bottom of the allegations that mr donville inniss has connections to a porn site as well? after all he is an honourable member of her majesty’s government charged with the responsibility of making decisions in the interest of her majesty’s loyal subjects.

3. @ Amused.
    Your logic here is impeccable ; cannot be faulted . Just remember to stay away from Wikipedia when supporting legal arguments . Peace my brother ..

4. @ balance.
    ” amused why would the personal business of Mr Arthur and his wife amuse you ” ?
    How wrong -headed can you become ? Has the CLICO debate not been dominated by discussion of the ” PERSONAL BUSINESS ” of Mr Thompson and his wife And is Amused not justified in having at least a smirk at how the tables have now been turned ? Please show some BALANCE !!!

5. ITAL or not, this government is gone if the policyholders of CLICO do not hear something really positive soon.

6. @peltdown

Isn’t a big part of the problem the need to gather information and the matter under judicial management?

What would you have the government do in the circumstances?

7. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Amused | February 29, 2012 at 5:44 AM |
    “I have great respect for Prime Minister Stuart – his record is that if he says he will do a thing, he does it.”

It is felt that Bajans have short “political” memories. So name two, or even one, to support his effective record of accomplishments.
    I know you would not respond .So please, Checkit-Out, be the spokesperson for those people with short memories and ask ‘Amused’ about the PM’s record of accomplishments and living up to his word in an effective manner.

Maybe ‘Amused’ sees the PM’s style of leadership as the type most suited to the challenging times and socio-economic problems the Country is faced with. Inertia, delay, vacillation, obfuscation, double-speak, use of nebulous language and legalese might be traits and qualities you admire and possibly think are effective in communicating with ordinary citizens and managing the affairs of State. But Joe Bloggs is of a different view of what we expect from our leaders and managers.

Practise those tactics and strategies where they belong- in the courts of jesters and tricksters. No wonder EWB warned ordinary citizens to stay away from Coleridge St. Modern citizens would be well advised to heed this solid piece of commonsense advice and stay away from Whitepark Rd unless you need a birth marriage or death certificate or to conduct some other “administrative” business. You might just have to deal with artists who are not there to help you but to “amuse”, confuse, empty your pockets and wear you nerves thin.

God bless the day when the local legal system is overhauled in a manner similar to the UK and other enlightened jurisdictions where the average person in an educated and sophisticated population can handle on their own straightforward matters with the help and reference to well-written Statute laws and regulations along with ICT to meet their legal needs without having to deal directly with this band of artists.

Luke 11:46

Jesus replied, “And you experts in the law, woe to you, because you load people down with burdens they can hardly carry, and you yourselves will not lift one finger to help them.

And he said, “Woe to you lawyers also! For you load people with burdens hard to bear, and you yourselves do not touch the burdens with one of your fingers.

Take your pick as to which version better reflects The Christian revered leader’s view of lawyers.

8. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Sargeant | February 29, 2012 at 1:03 AM | @Caswell The general thrust of your argument is that passage of an Anti Corruption/Integrity law does not guarantee that offenders will be prosecuted, which is a curious argument to make because everyone who breaks the law is not prosecuted, but hopefully they will be prosecuted if/when they are caught.

Sargeant

You seem to misunderstand what I am saying. At present in Barbados certain people break the law and are caught and are not prosecuted because of who they happen to be. I believe that it would be no different with the passage of integrity legislation. The Integrity in Public Life bill is just a ruse to make the people of this country feel good and give the appearance that something will be done about corruption. Everything that the Government is attempting to penalize with integrity legislation is already against some written law or the Common Law and yet we have never seen a prosecution. All Government will do is to put the law in one act of parliament but none of it is new. Just a case of old wine in new wine-skins, but I like the optimism of contributors on this blog.

9. @an observer
    I wish to respond to your peice and say that truth like a mighty sword is not always pleasant but it is always right. Mr, Stuart has shown over the time to say one thing and do another . In integrity you must be able to take a man at his word . He must do the things which like Caesar;s wife must be beyond suspicion. Just the mere passimng of an Integrity Bill will do nothing for the DLP, ,Stuart or anybody. When you do not trust your politicians you can get a Clico situation.

This Integrity Bill with the aid of Stuart will Kill the Thompsin’s legacy once and for all , More anon Think on these things

10. @ David
    “Any intelligent voter would have known tsuch legislation could not have been implemented in 100 days.

BU agrees however that it should not have taken 4 years but when it is implemented Stuart gets the credit, not Adams, not Arthur, not Barrow et al”.

And you mean to tell me that the Dems were able to fool so many thousands of Barbadians. Wow, Barbadians are truly gullible people. I know they never fooled me with their promises. And to think that Fruendel is now coming to fool people again, the DEMs he is leading will not adhere to any such legislation especially the GANG of 11.

11. @ Observer
    “Prime Minister Stuart continues to demonstrate that he is capable of “keeping his head when all around are losing theirs ” and seeking to cast the blame on others. If he now promises to have integrity legislation
    enacted , it is a clear indication that he has CAREFULLY thought it through and fully understand and appreciates what obstacles will have to be overcome before such legislation could be enacted .”

Give me a break. Freundel is just trying to cover the DLP ass now that the shit has hit the fan. He has been PM and leader of the DLP for nearly 500 days, why did he not bring this legislation to Parliament or even when he was responsible for law and order as AG. He is just ashamed now since he said the man is not a leper. The damage to the DLP is so great that he must do something to save face. Integrity and the DLP dont go together, yes Freundel may be straight but he is leading a gang of corrupt men.

12. @ac,
    “Here is a man that none the likes of OSA can hold a candle to when it comes to integrity PM STUART wins hands down. The BLP paling cocks talking about the time period it took to bring the legislation to the table ought to keep their mouths shut afterall the BLP had 14years to implement such policy but didn’t” .

You dont give up, do you? Yes Freundel has integrity, it seems. Talk about the dead king……I will not lie, cheat or steal.

13. @Checkit-Out,
    “I say so because it is clear that, taking the David Thompson, Mara Thompson, Leroy Parris, CLICO issue, for example, Integrity Legislation that has adequate teeth to fairly evaluate and adequately punish the existence of fraud, misfeance, malfeance or other infelicities demonstrated in the unholy mix of facts coming out of the Deloitte audit, would not be in the best interests of the DLP in its bid to retain power”.

Checkit,

Excellent post. Can you imagine Mara Thompson having to declare her assets?

14. LooK see Fruendel…..this ITAL bit…bare distraction boys.Imagino The duppy help thief $3.3 million and Mona Lisa Mara( office manager)…still in he cabinet fa st John..who he thinks he fooling…boss ya gots ta remove the beam in your eye (Mara) before ya attempt to cast doubt on others.
    I hear about a GG…nuttin, I hear bout Phase II Alexandra..the teachers still waiting , the Clico Baico policyholder still waiting…..The Barrack money he get promise…he still waiting….MOUT TALK GENERAL BOY… ITAL ??? wait for it …What is real is that CLICO and BAICO SUFFERING daily BECAUSE OF the MONEY the Duppy had a hand in….
    Think a dat

15. @Prodigal Son

Not everybody would have voted based on a 100 day promise.

16. Prodigal Son, I can imagine her having to declare her assets and I can imagine her declaring assets that would not reflect one twentieth of her true assets but assets which would be likely to satisfy the ITAL law.

Am ITAL law can be passed and can help but the loopholes are likely to be enormous unless one can get the DLP and BLP members to put real teeth into it.

A real effective ITAL law will scuttle David Thompson’s so called legacy. That will be ruinous to the DLP vhances in the coming elections. Does anyone expect that FS will pass a law to do this?

17. @ Chris McHale

In your earlier blog you wrote, and I quote ” Tropic Ice is still in business at Salters;………..”

Reports reaching me indicate that Tropic Ice Unlimited Inc in Salters in St. George is currently NOT in operation on account of the Landlord having re-entered and take possession of the property with Court Order for a significant sum of unpaid rents. Is this true, as I have taken the liberty of going to see for my self and I noticed that a barricade has been erected around the entire leased property (former) and security guards have been posted to ensure that no one goes into that property or business, also someone has erected signs on the barricade saying “Private Property, No Tresspassing”

The staff are all outside not knowing what to do, were you too ashamed to show your face.
    HOW MUCH RENT DO YOU OWE THE LANDLORD THERE, OR ARE YOU SUING HIM TOO?

18. @ David and Co.

if Stuart had fast tracked judicial managment; insisted on changing board and management of Clico to prevent further disposal of assets or hiding of info; call for further investigation of Thompson Associates and the issue of money-laundering through FSC; even mention the issue; instructed the Supervisor of Insurance to lodge an action in court against Clico for not responding to Parris’ lawsuit of 10m; negotiated with Trinidad gov’t or take such action as to work towards securing an equitable arrangement so Bajan assets in Clico which made T’dad policyholders whole while Bajans suck salt was redressed. In addition then if he called for Integrity legislation, he would deserve the label of being a man of integrity. Ellis & Co trying to push bajans past Thompson Assoc. corruption and pretend all will be well with passing a bill, and roping in the BLP. Heard him call for revelations about how much the political parties received. To my knowledge the only political contributions not in the public domain is what for the Dems, and how much David got personally, and who got their money out of Clico, and how widows sitting pretty got from the estate.

If wunnnah swallow the drivel that the Dems about to serve up from Stuart to Henry to Ellis and the yardfowls on radio and blogs, wunnah deserve to be fleeced.

19. @An Observer. Perchance you have observed how much the BLP-ites are getting their “knickers in a twist” over the imminent passing into law of integrity legislation which, in draft, carries some serious fines and custodial sentences. Does your skill in observation lead you to any conclusions as to whether they are worried about the political popularity that might accrue to the PM for having bravely (and against considerable opposition) passed into law this extremely important legislation? Or do you think the knickers are twisted because some people may be found with said knickers down – or off?

I too was highly amused by the defence of the loss of OSA’s public domain divorce file. The allegation of $6 million is being treated as if $6 million is chicken feed and, in a public official, the source of that $6 million is no one’s business. Many people have tried to access that file – a file that is supposed to be in the public domain and therefore open to the PUBLIC! After all, if any of the rest of us goes through a divorce, those files are open to public scrutiny. What makes those of OSA personal, private and confidential? Will someone point me to the legislation that decrees one law for all the rest of us and a different one for OSA? Only in Barbados could someone suggest such a thing.

The idea that we live in a banking bubble is ridiculous. The USA and the UK and Canada and other major players know exactly every transaction that goes on in and originates from Barbados. They know who is involved in drugs and anything of that nature. Naturally, they are not going to reveal this, unless someone pisses them off. Then you can be sure they will use that information and all will be known. I would be VERY surprised if they have anything untoward on Prime Minister Stuart. And I, who have always been apolitical, am going to cast my vote for integrity (both legislation and personal).

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Amused | February 29, 2012 at 4:16 PM |
    “I too was highly amused by the defence of the loss of OSA’s public domain divorce file. The allegation of $6 million is being treated as if $6 million is chicken feed and, in a public official, the source of that $6 million is no one’s business. Many people have tried to access that file – a file that is supposed to be in the public domain and therefore open to the PUBLIC!”

So if you are so interested in seeing the file why not make further representations to the new CJ? He might be able to “retrieve” such an important “public’ document for your inspection and eager investigation into the source of the $6 million. If this act of public service was to be performed and O$A found to be a corrupt, bribe-taking official then you can use your “apolitical” contacts to ensure the new legislation is made retroactive to trawl all of thieving BLPites who used their public offices for personal aggrandizement and corrupt practices. An independent fishing expedition for wrongdoers from say 2003 to 2011 would find among its huge catch of fishy species from both sides of the pond- both dead and alive. You would not want to see the queen of St. John getting her “knickers in a twist”; would you now, Amused?

21. @millertheanunnaki | February 29, 2012 at 4:43 PM. And do you really think that no matter how many searches are carried out or under whose orders and supervision they are carried out that this file is ever likely to be found? Dream on or take a reality check. FAR bigger interests than poor me have tried to see this file and have had no luck – and I mean some people with mega bucks. But, it is not to be found.

22. When Mia Mottley tried to discuss the CLICO matter in the House after Leroy Parris had revealed that CLICO had sold 800 policies even when forbidden by the SOI,

The Speaker of the House refused to allow her to debate the motion. He even threaten to put the whole BLP out of the House, so hopping mad was he and WICKED Reudon Eversley replayed the whole thing after the evening news. Poor Speaker, in his anger he did not realise or more pointedly, he did not know that he could not put the BLP out as party, the Clerk of the House had to tell him, Mr Speaker, you have no authority to put out members, they would have do contravene the rules of the House…..I want some water…..bring me some water, he said.

Low and behold, we now know where he stood, they did not want CLICO being debated. After the dead king, the current PM and Chris Sinckler assured the policyholders time and time again that they would get their money back, he now telling people that policyholders knew they were taking a risk and that he is hearing a lot of emotionalism and people talking without knowing the facts.

Hypocrite!

23. Amused apolitical? If a mere sneak peek into the real David Thompson is causing so much pandemonium just imagine the bedlam that will ensue when there is full disclosure.

24. @ Prodigal Son
    In reference to Mr Stuart..” He was leader of the DLP and Prime Minister for more than 500 days , why did he not bring this kind of legislation to Parliament…?
    I simply reply..Mr Owen Arthur was leader of the BLP and Prime minister of Barbados for approximately 5,110 days . Why did he not bring this type of legislation to Parliament ? Like a true prodigal son you might have been somewhere in the wilderness ; If you have returned you may care to respond.

25. @ Amused
    I have been more than amused at the sudden panic of the BLP operatives on this blog. Is it a case of the guilty fleeth when no one pursueth ? Strange lot of persons …..

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

“An Observer.. | February 29, 2012 at 8:52 PM |
    simply reply..Mr Owen Arthur was leader of the BLP and Prime minister of Barbados for approximately 5,110 days . Why did he not bring this type of legislation to Parliament ?”

Simple! He never made it an election pledge to be done within 100 days.
    Deal with the present. Yesterday is dead and gone (no pun intended). The DLP has one redeeming chance and that is to bring the FOI & Integrity legislation by end of June 2012- a mere 122 days away. Think your man can handle that? According to ‘Amused’: every thing is watertight and shipshape, ready and rearing for laying and debating. No need for referral to special committee or committee of privileges or whatever filibustering technique or strategy applicable here.

But make sure it does not suffer the same fate as the Health & Safety at Work piece of legislation. And we will exonerate your man on this score.

27. the BLPites would bob and weave around the question of why in 14yearsthe BLP never once made a promise to the electorate FOI in their political plank and we all know the answer lies with their Leader OSA lack of integrity.To think that in all those years Never once makes one wonder!

28. There is nothing like imagintion. Some people believe that Integriity Legislation will absolve Stuart in some large political way. I do not see how . I say that the pursuit off INtergrity Legislation is Stuart’s way of reducing the legacy of Thompson and his cohorts in the DLP. This a is about oneupmanship. Stuart knows that he lives in the shadow of Thompson and he obviously cannot take this as leader. Imagine Stuart has to go through his whole Political career with a Thomson Memorial footbal and cricket tournament and there nothing for hiim. After this Legislation Thompsoms’ name will be so tarnished that the D EMS will have to look for another saviour. The Thompsons will be tainted meat. Let the Drms deny this. The Dems will have Stuart to thank for this .Rest assured the DLP stands condemned with their nefarious behaviour and some believe that by Integrity legislation they will santify corrupt people and practices, Go and flee ye workers of inquity.Think on these things

29. FREUNDEL STUART IS A BOSS!
    The man showing that if is integrity legislation and anti-corruption laws that you want, then that is what you will get!
    Put up or Shut Up!
    Owen Affa chaired cabinet for 160 consecutive months with at one point a majority of 26-2 and did NOTHING ! NOTHING! NOTHING! on integrity legislation.He did not and does not give a damn about it . He as usual on this issue will play for the cameras. It was not even on pause- it was obviously not on his mind.
    That is the BLP’S record 1994 – 2008 and these hypocrites want to go after Stuart for attacking this issue in only his second year as PM- The same man who did NOTHING for 14 years attacking the gentleman who attacking the issue head on. Get serious BLP.
    I said that Owen Affa cannot lead the BLP fight on this issue and the BLP on this issue will live to regret the day that they “pelt way” Mia Mottley as leader like old garbage because nobody aint buying Affa’s acting last Sunday in St. Peter!
    True To Form said the following earlier ” How do you judge integrity? It is not what you say it is what you do.” Well since Affa did nothing in 14 years as PM to introduce this legislation I am sure that True to Form like many others will never vote for Owen Affa again!

30. I congratulate the P.M on his attempt to introduce IL, however, I believe it has come too late, especially after the recent report of the JM. Why was Mia refused to debate the Clico matter? Why should the same P.M declare Parris as his FRIEND? Why should Sinckler be seen in public, happily enjoying the company of the same gemtleman? Why was the Clico jet used to transport the ailing late P.M? Why did that same late P.M admit there was no $ bds 10 million graturity letter to parris, only for the letter to appear after his death? I suspect that this IL will take long after the date fotr the general elections are due, to be completed and the DLP hope to use this as a reason why they should be re-elected to complete it. I also suspect that the DLP knows they are going to lose the next elections, and if the BLP drops the IL, then they would be comdemned by the public; it would be a hot potato in their hands. Neither the DLP or the BLP wants the IL passed, the P.M knows he is in a win-win situation, he knows, win or lose the next elections, he is in for a big pension, Even if the DLP wins, he knows he would not be re-eleted as the P.M, so he is throwing everyone to the wolves, who escapes, good for them. This is a perfect Sandie move.

31. PM Stuart will not only have to bring Integrity Legislation to put some sanctity in the DLP . He may also have to build a Church. From this performance so far nothing can save them. This has been a piss poor bunch and you cannot make people good by passing legislation. Tell me who will the legislation purify? .Good people do not need this the DEMS do and Stuart knows this . Let him control his eagwer 11 and his lackeys.. Stuart knows what he has and is making sure that he can rope them injany way necessary. The leaders of the BLP declared theirs . Let the DEMS declare theirs, For some people it does not matter what they do some hacks will compllain. Think kon these thi nfgs.

32. Incedentally, this is the late evening of the 29th Feb 2012 (luckily it is a leap year) Mr Barrack has given this government until the end of the month to pay him or he is taking the matter to the World Court. this will certainly cause a further regrading of the Barbados economy and human rights, can we afford that now? No-one will lend this country money while theyare being sued for their fsailure to pay a Court’s order. Then we have Lagan to deal with, 3S to deal with, and the promise to repay all the Clico policy holders including those of the OECS. the St.Vincent’s P.M is sticking to that promise made and he estimates it can be around BDS $ 2 BILLION. He also said this matter is FAR FROM OVER. Maybe it will be nice for the DLP to win the next general elections, since they have dug Barbados into such a deep hole, they should have to deal with it.

33. true to form you have the mitigated gall to speak about sanity in the DLP . have you forgotten the four years of infighting in the BLP and still counting wid Offa and MIA and as recent the Eastmond Affair . thinki on DEM Thongs heffer!

34. @ Scout

And then we have PM STUART who has told the BLP they cant tell him when to call elections. and then we have the BLP fighting against the implementing of FOI and then we have the BLP PALING COCKS crowing about a corspe being paid by CLICO and calling it money laundering and then we have OWEN Arthur witrh off shore bank accounts and lots of money like 6million dolars to pay for divorce and then and then!

35. I might have missed it but did Owen “Hypocrite” Affa say at the St. Peter Branch meeting that the BLP wanted a Commission of Inquiry on the Al Barrack issue?

If Barrack is taking this to the World Court, surely we would also want the public to have a full airing of the facts .

36. ac
    You’re blabbing like a scared monkey, Mr Stuart said nobody can tell him when to call elections, technically he’s right, but didn’t the late David Thompson and the DLP not force Owen’s hand by refusing to attend Parliament? What happens if the Barbados workforce decides they had enough and stop work, hence shutdown the country, wouldn’t this cause Stuart to call elections? The integrity of the late P.M is now questionable because of the JM report, where is the report on the 6 million dollars payout by Me Arthur? Until a true report is made it will remain JUST A HUMOR. AC you’re cuffing wild and not connecting POOR THING.

37. What is truly amazing is that there are people out there who actually beleive with a straight face that Owen Affa, Wuk Fa Wuk, Muscle Mary,etc will “restore” integrity- Oh if only we had them-Integrity Legislation, Al Barrack would have…. but wait..Oh shoot we already did have them !

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | February 29, 2012 at 10:29 PM |
    “And then we have PM STUART who has told the BLP they cant tell him when to call elections.”

That is one of the most inane statements to emanate from a leader in such a powerful position. Every political Tom Dick & Harriette knows that the PM is the only person who can call a general election earlier than it is constitutionally due. Unless of course there is a “no-confidence ” vote against him or her. In this case the DLP holds the majority so that statement should really be directed to his fellow DLP parliamentarians including the Eager Eleven. But given the double speak and obfuscation, maybe those are whom he had in mind at the time but got mixed up between the 2 letters taking a “B” for a “D”. A Sweet Senior moment, indeed!

39. bajanfuhlife
    It was a matter that started with the BLP, however, the DLP knew full well if and when they won the government they would have to deal with it. The DLP turned it into a political football, much to the detriment of the bajan taxpayers. The sum for Mr Barrack has risen from Bds $ 34 million to almost Bds $ 70 million because of the courts’ approved interest rate. Therefore the DLP is now the one to blame for the astronomical rise in the amount due. No International agency will see party they see government, therefore the government of the day HAS to carry the blame, and the downward degrading of the country’s economy.In other words no particular party will be blamed, it is the government at the time, forunately or unfortunately the DLP IS THAT GOVERNMENT.

40. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Bajanfuhlife | February 29, 2012 at 10:37 PM |
    “I might have missed it but did Owen “Hypocrite” Affa say at the St. Peter Branch meeting that the BLP wanted a Commission of Inquiry on the Al Barrack issue?”

Where you get this from? Are you sure you are not mistaking Barrack for CLICO? What political mileage could the BLP get out of the Barrack case? A “commission of Inquiry” has already been conducted by the High Court. Don’t try to avoid the CLICO scandal by any Barrack diversionary tactic. The Court has already ruled. Just obey the law of the land or admit the Treasury is broke and he can’t be paid. But your party is known for making promises and not keeping them. Stop making the law look stupid and toothless or it might just redound to the society’s undoing and disrespect for that last bastion of protection afforded to citizens.

41. #ac The Democratic Labour Party had 20 yes 20 years of political infighting and political free fall from 1987-2006. I will remind you. !987 Richie Haynes, NDP and tfour members left. 1991 the Dems marched against Sandy. Blackman,Greaves, Hal.l Simmons voted against yourr PM . Thompson and Kellman 1999-2003. Hell oh hell to such an extent that Thompson did not make him a minister in 2008 . In 2006 Stuart amd Mascoll vs the Judas gang. You talking about infighting that was infighting. You may care to forget but some one will have to remind you. Let me repeat. This Integrity Legislation is for Stuart to put in the finall nail and completerly and unceremoniously bury The Thompsons, Think on these things

42. Somehow I do not think that Owen Affa or George “Pain” will make Barrack a campaign issue. That will open a can of worms which is not in the BLP’s interest.
    Barrack was made an offer early in the adminstration and he refused saying that he wanted everything up front. The question is how could a BLP government at a time when there was no global recession refuse to pay a man while he was doing the work.
    The DLP is putting up two buildings in Warrens and the difference is clear. Affa knows this and dispite the attempts by the BLP Wednesday PR man Sanka Price, Bajans will put the Barrack issue where it belongs – right at the feet of Owen Affa and George Pain.
    If Affa is serious about getting facts let him hold a commission of Inquiry on that !

43. true to form
    Less ac forfets, David Estwick was BOLD enough to go on the call-in programme BRASSTACKS and declare that he would NEVER be a part of a David Thompson’s government. Stuart referred to Thompson as a poisonous snake in the DLP camp. Tell which BLP member has made such statements against their colleauges publicly? Talk about in-fighting, had Arthur call elections a year earlier the DLP would be still in opposition, even though people were fedup with the treatment meted out by Arthur at the time.

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Bajanfuhlife | February 29, 2012 at 11:19 PM |
    “If Affa is serious about getting facts let him hold a commission of Inquiry on that !”
    Why not let the DLP hold one to besmirched “AFFA”, “Pain’ and “Smiley”?

Then the BLP can hold one on CLICO which the DLP would never do.

You really don’t give a damn about taxpayers money, do you? Who do you think foot the costs of these commissions of inquiry? Only lawyers from both side of the hog through benefit and no justice for the aggrieved citizens.

45. bajanfuhlife
    You are missing the point, when this matter goes before the World Court, they do not care which party was in office when the problem arose. It is a metter for the PRESENTBARBADOS GOVERNMENT, and that government is the DLP, therefore the DLP HAS TO CARRY THE BLAME. The only way the BLP will carry the blame for not paying Mr Barrack is if or when the DLP loses the next elections. Then the Barrack issue, the 3S, issue, the Marina issue and the CLICO issue would become the problems for the BLP to resolve

46. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

Good Evening all-
    While I hear people talking about CBC has anyone noticed How the Nation is a straightforward PR machine for the BLP?
    Monday -Harry Russell,
    Tuesday- Tennyson Joseph,
    Wednesday – Sanka Price,
    Thursday – Clyde Mascott,
    Saturday – Sanka Price again via Question Time and Puddin’ and Souse,
    Sunday – Albert Branford and Pat Hoyos , Ezra Alleyne and Peter Simmons.

People will get the BLP side from the Nation, that is for sure that is why we have to check various news sources. There is no columnist in the Nation who is not a consistent critic of this DLP administration- that seems to be the prerequiste for getting a space as a columnist.
    The Nation clearly is not “all the paper for all the people”. My point will be reinforced by the responses to this p

47. @enuff | February 29, 2012 at 8:45 PM | “Amused apolitical? If a mere sneak peek into the real David Thompson is causing so much pandemonium just imagine the bedlam that will ensue when there is full disclosure.”

I have no way of knowing what would happen. However, and I am not a betting man, I would be prepared to give you odds that a sneak peak into the real Owen Arthur would multiply the David Thompson related bedlam by about 1,000.

@An Observer. I am also greatly amused by the efforts to deflect the effects of your comments by what I am beginning to think are hired guns for the BLP. What is your take on that?

You know, if Mia was leader of the BLP, I might have a second thoughts over choosing which party to vote for, because she is shaping up very well indeed as prime ministerial material. As it stands, for me (and this is a personal thing, so no persuasion or attacks will get through) I have no choice and will vote for Mr Stuart’s party, even if it means voting for a jackass like Lowe-Life, sorry, I mean Dennis Lowe. Barbados needs a few years of integrity leadership in order to recover from the political and judicial cronyism of the past. As for the economic climate, well that is global and no Bajan leader is in any position to wave a magic wand and make it go away. As a part of the global community, we are in this mess because of actions taken, not by lawyers, but by bankers, economists and financial “experts”. The LAST thing we need is for some inebriated, ancient, has-been economist (who yearns after past glories and the pomp and trappings of power – and let us not forget to reimburse himself for $6 million allegedly paid out to an ex-wife) to come in and create a temporary feel-good factor that will come return to bite us in the financial butt long after other nations have recovered. I would point out that it took YEARS for this present global financial climate to be achieved. Many years, during which governments worldwide sacrificed fiscal duty to the popularity engendered by the feel-good factor – and the Government of Barbados under OSA was right up there in the mix.

48. An Observer.. Avatar

@ Amused .
    Unfortunately ( or fortunately ) the efforts to deflect from serious , objective comment are not matched by a similar level of objectivity ; we are being exposed to an exhibition of wild swiping . The 20/20 culture is about to take us over.

49. There is no doubt that Stuart has had to lead the DLP and the country during an extraordinary and unprecedented time.

Whether we believe he has the qualities or not he is the one who will have to demonstrate by his actions and decision making in ways which convince others.

50. An Observer.. Avatar

@ David.
    Well said…………