Attorney at law Hal Gollop, one of six top lawyers in Barbados not registered with the Supreme Court of Barbados – Photo Credit: Bajan Reporter

The Official Gazette of December 29, 2011 published the list of attorneys-at-law registered with the Supreme Court of Barbados with effect from January 31, 2011. Many practicing attorneys have been omitted from that list. These include certain senior counsel and, indeed, members of the inner bar of both local and international reputation. Among them:

Sir Frederick Smith Q.C., Mr Edmund  King Q.C., Mr Maurice King Q.C., Mrs Beverley Walrond Q.C., Mr Hal Gollop, Mr Vernon Smith Q.C.

As a result, all these attorneys-at-law have been defamed by the Registrar, as the failure to include their names on the list implies that they have either been disbarred or that they are deceased. And it looks as if the Registrar is likely to be sued for defamation, as BU has learned that letters giving notice of legal action have been sent to the Registrar.

That none of the people named above are either deceased or have been disbarred and all have their licenses to practice, is likely to see the Registry successfully sued for tens of millions of dollars.

It means that the Registrar by this omission has stated that these and other also-omitted licensed legal practitioners have misrepresented themselves to their clients as being licensed legal practitioners. Also that these licensed legal practitioners have been illegally and fraudulently passing themselves off as attorneys-at-law.

Then too, there are the losses that these attorneys-at-law must seen to have suffered by way of new clients through their names having been omitted from the Registrar’s list and thus defamed and besmirched.

Hell hath no fury like a lawyer defamed.

But what sort of message does this send to overseas investors who rely and have relied upon these leading members of the legal profession? If one examines the list of lawyers from Barbados who, in the last year, have appeared before the Caribbean Court of Justice, one will certainly find the names of Mrs Beverley Walrond Q.C., Mr Vernon Smith Q.C. and Mr Hal Gollop among others who have, according to the Registrar, appeared before the CCJ fraudulently and illegally purporting to be attorneys-at-law.

The Chief Justice’s six month report card will soon be due and this defamation by the Registrar cannot be seen as other than a serious blot on that report card.

As for the Registrar, in any law practice this omission would be seen as grounds for immediate dismissal. Since the Justice System is, in essence, the largest law practice in the country, clearly this egregious conduct on the part of the Registrar constitutes grounds for immediate dismissal – without pension.

115 responses to “Registrar And Registry Exposed To Action For Defamation By Senior Lawyers”

1. QC can demand a much higher fee..and almost always a very senior attorney with an established practice.

2. old onion bags | February 2, 2012 at 12:39 PM |
    $2700 Bds being spent in Barbados…is a lot of money …no goose food.

Yes it is. 3 monthly payments on a toyota corolla or 1 monthly payment on the car a Lawyer I know drives.

@Amused, do you think this fee is too high for the majority of members in your profession?

3. OVA an AWAY…. Hants…. OVA an AWAY

Down here 60% of lawyers have cars……for 35 % a Toyota corolla or similar ( repayment $1200 p.m) is the car of choice….5%…a BMW or Govt. ride.

4. Quoting Technician “What does having a BB or iPhone has to do with anything?”

To my way of thinking if you can afford a BB or I-nufft’ings you can probably afford your professional registration fee.

But as amused pointed out earlier today you don’t have to don’t mind me man ’cause i is a idiot.

5. @ old onion bags,

You live there and I only visit fairly often so I will accept what you say to be true.

I almost 60 years old so the Lawyers I know or have any contact with fall into your 5% category.

6. I dont know what the hullabaloo is all about. In North America all professionals are licensed and have to pay annual fees. My hairdresser does, my pharmacist does, my dentist does. My friend down the street had a failing legal practice and fell behind with his fees. Now he is practising in the government, but since he never cleared the arrears now totalling over $30,000, with the Law Society, he is not legally allowed to practice, so he gets paid as an analyst for doing legal work.

I dont know what is up with Caswell. My departed grandmother was a fish seller. Every year she had to pay her fees to be licensed to sell fish. That is hardly a profession. She would get an oval piece of aluminium with the year embossed which she would display on her pocket (the money bag)! When I was a litle girl in early 50’s, she paid six pence, then it went to a shilling, then a crown, what it is now I don’t know, but I am sure they are still being licensed.

7. @ Hants

Excuse me Hants…..you a BIG DAWG..lol

8. chocolate city hussle Avatar
    chocolate city hussle

this is pitiful but i bet it was just a careless error of the part of the typist, i don’t know. what i know is that for many years, the registrations dept has failed to include the names of some public pharmacists in the official gazette. a memo would be sent with the list again but the pharmacists would continue their practice,even tho technically they don’t have a license. none have ever sought to sue the Registration dept but i hope that seeing that those crooked lawyers were only too glad for something like this to happen, then they should do likewise and sue. those pharmacists too who newly got their licenses are usually hampered as, they have are unable to work until they get their license. the Registration Dept is much, much too careless with people’s careers

9. Quoting Pat “She would get an oval piece of aluminium with the year embossed”

Thanks for reminding me. Just this week I was talking with Little Johnny (not to be confused of course with the eminent attorney) and told him that my mother had to buy the oval aluminum license with the year embossed in order to sell the bananas, peas, pumpkins etc which my father grew in the ground (productive work I think it is called now). She would use some fine nails to attach it to the front of her tray and go down to the West coast to sell her produce (earning foreign exchange they call it now) because without that oval piece of “tinnin” with the current year embossed any policeman could stop her from selling and she would not be able to support and educate her children. So she paid her trade fee every year, every single year.

I believe that all vendors, bus conductors etc. still have to pay a fee in order to ply their trades.

10. Anybody on here know the meaning of the word

IMPUNITY

11. Quoting chocolate…”this is pitiful but i bet it was just a careless error of the part of the typist”

I bet that the typist was NOT careless.

We are too quick to blame the typist, or the maid, or the gardener.

Sometimes to quote ole onions it is a BIG DAWG..lol

I’ll ask again, anbody know the meaning of the word IMPUNITY.

12. @RT: “anbody(sic) know the meaning of the word IMPUNITY.

Excemption from punishment.

13. @ old onion bags

I ain’t no big dawg. I just had the good fortune to go to Kolij in the 60s so even though I ent nuhbody, eff yu went to Kolij yuh will know somebodies.

14. mo money fuh de Lawyas.

Breakin news in de Nationnews. Uh wundah if Owin gine help out wid some bale muney.

De big dawgs musse salivatin

15. iguess the privilege few allegiance and loyalties is hidden deep within their pockets and have forgotten the golden opportunity of having a free education which has allowed them such a status . now as a “Thank you Note” they are saying to the government”get lost” we owe you nothing and to prove it we will take you to court.

16. @ac: “iguess (sic)… and have forgotten the golden opportunity of having a free education….

Indeed.

17. Random Thoughts Avatar

No bail Hants. Remanded in custody until the 27th.

18. Random Thoughts Avatar

David excuse me for saying again that the tax payers money does not grow on trees, and if the politicians forget this we will remember them when we go to the polling booth.

So the politicians may have to choose between the BIG DAWGS to quote ole onion and the votes of the electorate.

19. Random Thoughts Avatar

Another question:

Are there any people in Barbados, any at all who act with impunity?

20. @RT: “Are there any people in Barbados, any at all who act with impunity?

Members of Parliament.

When speaking in Parliament.

21. Random Thoughts Avatar

Quoting David the blogger “the failure to include their names on the list implies that they have either been disbarred or that they are deceased”

It could also imply that they have decided to stop practising law and have all decided to become full time foster parents. If you don’t understand why foster parenting is highly, highly socially useful, perhaps more useful than lawyering please read Dear Christine in today’s Nation.

22. @Random Thoughts we should follow the case and compare it to the Jerkum case.

Surely they will be back in court tomorrow for a “special”bail hearing.
    He should retain Sir Johnny and he should be home for the weekend.

23. Random Thoughts Avatar

Quoting David the blogger “the failure to include their names on the list implies that they have either been disbarred or that they are deceased”

I could imply that they have all gone home to mind their grandchildren who are as delightful as Uncle Jeffs

24. Random Thoughts Avatar

It could imply that they have married or married again and have moved to Afghanistan or Zambia with their new love.

25. Random Thoughts Avatar

It could imply (although I am sure that none of the honourable ladies and gentlemen do any such thing) it could imply that they have been lucky at the tables and now have so much money that they have no incentive to work

26. Random Thoughts Avatar

It could imply that they have received a call from God and have gone into pastoring instead.

I believe that a few pastors in this Barbados used to be practising lawyers.

27. Random Thoughts Avatar

It could imply that they have always wanted to climb Mount Everest and right now they are at base camp waiting to begin their final assault on the mountain (I put this in here because it is my favourite unfulfilled dream) maybe QC’s dream Everest-sized dreams too?

28. Random Thoughts Avatar

It could imply that they have decided not to practice this year because their mom or dad, or spouse or child is terminally ill and they have decided to make themselves fully available to their wonderful mum or dad, or husband or wife or son, or daughter, or child in this their final year together.

29. Random Thoughts Avatar

It could imply that they have always wanted to write great Caribbean novels or poems. Novels and poems which will blow away Walcott and Naipaul and give Barbados the Nobel prizes it deserves in the 21st century,and they have decided the time is NOW.

I know that inside every Bajan QC is a novel waiting to be freed from the prison of QC respectability.

30. @Randon

We get the idea, chill.

31. Random Thoughts Avatar

Dear David and amused:

The idea that after QCing there is only death is so ridicoulous that I wish I was a stand-up comedian.

32. How are QCs appointed? what is the criteria?

33. The official gazette of 2011 was it a suplemeantal to what would have printed earleir in the year? The normal procedure is to publish as soon as possible all those persons who would have registered by Janauary 31, 2011 and subsequent publications should follow to ensure they capture late filers.

I have not looked at the gazette, but the person repsonsible for registration should ensure that the published names in the gazette(s) compare with what revenue was recieved, and further, a match should be done against the previous years to ensure that is no great inconsistency between the years in those registered. Any great difference should raised a red flag, investiagations could reveal that persons could have died, emigrated, gone on study leave etc. What is critical here, is what management systems are in place to ensure good records are kept. In addition, communication with the various bodies responsible for clearing persons for registration should ensue to avoid any ambarassment.

34. @Randon

thats not true, it could be deemed and administrative error. Your reasoning would seem to suggest that the omission was deliberate.

35. Random Thoughts Avatar

I say again that in Barbados generally we are way, way too quick, to blame the clerk, the maid, the gardener, anybody who has low wages and low social rank and little formal education.

We act of though big shots don’t make errors too.

We act as though big shots never act with malice.

We act as though big shots are like Ceasar’s wife beyond reproach although I am fairly certain that at least some Ceasars were horned by their wives, and it would be interesting if DNA tests were done on the bones of some old Ceasars and their children but I ain’t going dey today.

My statement was pointing out that big shots can be just as careless, just as dishonest, just as malicious as maids or gardeners or clerks are so often accused of being.

It would be interesting if the media would call these QC’s to hear directly from them whether they always, always pay their professional fees in full and on time. Surely a quick call would elicit a quick yes or a quick no. Matter settled. Instead we hear foolishness that the government (that is my pocket) will have to be picked in order to pay money to wealthy people and yet we have not heard from these people whether they always pay their fees in full and on time, and whether they paid their fees on time in this instance.

Personally I have seen a letter written by a lawyer, a Queen’s College graduate and the child of a cabinet minister that was so rife with grammatical errors that it made me wonder how this person got into QC, UWI and law school.

Just last year I had to correct every single document that my own “learned” attorney prepared for me. Every single document was rife with spelling and grammatical errors and errors as to the spelling of the names and addresses of those to receive gifts from an estate, even though I had provided him (twice) with everybody’s names and addresses all spelled correctly by me and the other executor.

I say again. NOT A FCUKING CENT.

THE TAXPAYERS MONEY DOES NOT GROW ON TREES.

36. The comedian was right when he joked : What do you call a bus load of lawyers going over a cliff?. Answer : A bloody good start!

37. chocolate city hussle Avatar
    chocolate city hussle

@Random Thoughts | February 3, 2012 at 7:19 AM |
    “..I say again. NOT A FCUKING CENT…”

listen 2 year old…all ur huffing and panting gets u where? no one gives a rat’s bottom what u think

38. David what is going on in Barbados?

A Gun dealer charged with Gun and ammunition offences.

Somebody planning to mek coup coup wid all dese guns an amanitions?

39. @Hants

When BU wrote about the issue around the slackness how gun licenses are issued in Barbados some showed ridiculed.

Here is the link: https://bajan.wordpress.com/2011/04/24/on-what-criteria-was-alfred-sparman-issued-a-gun-license-commissioner/

BU also understand that the monies taken by Roger Smith is but a fraction of what was taken.

40. Quoting Random Thoughts | April 24, 2011 at 11:51 PM | I’ve always thought that the criteria for a gun license is being a member of the right lodge. Am I wrong?

41. Quoting Carson C. Cadogan | April 25, 2011 at 10:28 AM | “Maybe it is just me.
    The blog owner appears to have a hugh beef with BLACK POPLE.
    I am sure that Bizzy Williams, CO Williams, Andy Armstrong, David Seale, Peter Laurie and huge amounts of WHITE BAJANS, INDIANS, CHINESE have firearm Licenses, not just one, for all types of firearms, probaby including a couple rocket propelled grenades launchers stashed under the bed”

Still feel the same way Carson?

42. On January 9 the 20 year old son of a friend of mine took up a gun, went outside, and notwithstanding his father’s long time lodge membership put the trigger to his head and pulled it.

43. Any of you see the stash of Guns shown in Barbadostoday ?

44. This Gun Dealer must be supplying the SWAT team or the BDF.

45. AK47 was seized. That is a weapon that should only be used by a soldier.

46. @Hants

The reality is that the police know who have licenses to be gun dealers in Barbados.

There is a saying the best place to hide is in a crowd.

The police need to continue to do its work.

47. @ Random…thanks for the interminable reductios. At least we know you have imagination! AND you are 100% right when you mention falling standards in the profession. But please don’t blame the profession as profession for that. Illiteracy starts with the schools and is compounded by UWI. I am told by those who know that standards of literacy at UWI are now appalling and that given Herod-Beckles’ open-door policy the situation can only get worse. I am told that the Faculty of Law under the present Dean, who is actually a Librarian with a fancy title and the protege of Herod-Beckles, has been reduced to a college of further education. The intellectual heavyweights have mostly left because under her leadership there is nothing to stay for – or have retired with no hope from her, fearful as she is in her role of unjust steward, of continuation. The sad thing is that she actually thinks she IS the Faculty. Poor ‘Founding Fathers’ – they didn’t reckon on this. The profession knows what is happening at the ‘centre of excellence’ of course but are powerless to do anything. And I cannot imagine that government is not also aware. Members of the profession themselves complain bitterly about the standards you experienced. So, yes, don’t blame the profession itself. Look at the root causes – something which you are good at I think.

48. Random Thoughts Avatar

Surely the current Dean can’t be that bad. She was in her youth a Barbados scholar.

49. Random Thoughts Avatar

The 2 attorneys of whom I wrote are both older than 45, so I was not writing about an inexperienced youngster of 25.

These people are old enough to know better.

I don’t blame the entire profession, but the profession must take a significant portion of the blame. The profession is not doing a good enough job of policing itself. The profession must mentor the younger members of the bar, and for older members of the bar the profession must insist on continuing education as a condition for remaining a member of the bar. The profession must take itself seriously. The profession must take its clients seriously. We pay you well and we expect good value for good money.

As it is a lay client without a university education should not have to correct the grammar, spelling etc of a member of the bar who has completed 7 years of primary school education, 7 years of secondary school education and 5 year of legal education.

That this happens is disgraceful.

And for God’s sake members of Cabinet(s) and other bid shots with duncy children must discourage them from entering the legal profession (and the teaching, medical and engineering professions) in fact they should discourage them from entering politics as well.

There is good reason why these professions were formerly called honourable professions.

50. @ Random

The woman was a Rhodes Scholar? LOL. Must be a case of premature brain fag I suppose. However, the report is not that she hasn’t a brain. It’s actually much worse than that. Someone suggested that her office required a heavy sprinkling with holy water…but I’d better not go on.