Madam Justice Kaye Goodridge

BU recently commenced its series, Tales From The Courts, a sort of judicial equivalent to Tales From The Crypt and equally gruesome.

We started the series in an effort to highlight a judicial system in terminal decline that lacks any credibility anywhere, a Chief Justice whose efforts to correct this are being constantly obstructed and frustrated by appointees from a previous administration and a Government that surely MUST now step in and aggressively support the Chief Justice and fire or discipline any and all who seek to obstruct him in the exercise of his office.

BU also invited private and confidential e-mails from its readers on their own experiences with the Justice System and is now following leads and verifying information on submissions. If we find there to be merit in them, we will name and shame without compunction.

We have also opted to follow up the progress of stories that we had reported on previously, but had chosen not to go into details on then, due to the fact that they were before the courts at the time. However, what we discovered dismayed the BU household to such an extent that whether or not they are before the Courts, they demonstrate a degree of incompetence by the courts that is frankly shocking. Due to this, we hold that these stories are of public interest and refuse to defer to anybody that uses convention as a shield behind which to hide their own incompetence.

A CERTAIN ATTORNEY AND MP: BU has been apprised of a land transaction involving a certain attorney and MP. The transaction comes under the Tenantries Freehold Purchase Act, Cap. 239B. Inevitably this involves the Urban Commission. BU, at this stage, does not think it prudent to go into details on this case or to name names – but rest assured, Mr Attorney MP, if we do not receive notification that this matter has been cleared up, we will ventilate it and you fully. For the time being, BU will content itself with advising the general public and attorneys who may have missed that bit in their training, that Property Transfer Tax is paid ONLY by the Vendor, NOT the Purchaser. In the event that there is a house on the property in existence, whether it is owned by the Vendor or the Purchaser being immaterial, and that house is under the value of $150,000, upon application, the Property Transfer Tax is waived for the Vendor as well. In addition, BU wishes to advise that there is a scale of fees to which attorneys must adhere in matters of real property transactions in Barbados. BU intends to obtain a copy of this scale of fees and publish it. We are looking into this case fully and if, in our opinion, it requires the attention of someone more expert than ourselves, we shall be referring it to one of Her Majesty’s counsel in Barbados for full and complete action, including civil and criminal as well as to the Court of Appeal for disciplinary action against the Attorney(s) concerned. We will, of course, be carrying a full report on the matter later naming names. So, Mr Attorney MP, consider yourself placed on notice.

Far right – Sir David Simmons and Madam Justice Elneth Kentish

MADAM JUSTICE ELNETH KENTISH: Madam Justice Kentish is on leave and it is she who is replaced by Madam Justice Beckles (which ought not to be seen as damning Madam Justice Beckles with faint praise, although it looks like it). With any luck the replacement will be permanent. But did you know that Madam Justice Kentish is herself sued in the Barbados High Court? The action against Madam Justice Kentish arises out of her omissions and failures to do her job in respect of a High Court Action commenced in 2004. Omissions and failures that have, to date, cost the Plaintiff $3.5 million. It is noted that only after proceedings had been filed against Madam Justice Kentish, did Madam Justice Kentish finally deliver her long-reserved judgement in 2010. This delay is the basis for the proceedings against her. Meanwhile, predictably in protection of each other, the judges have delayed and retarded the hearing of the application against Madam Justice Kentish with frivolous and annoying delays unworthy of the Bench in any other common law country. This is compounded by the failure of the office of the Attorney General to file within time (or at all) certain documents (indicating that no further information is required) for the matter to be heard. And the failure of the judge in the Kentish action, Madam Justice Margaret Reifer, to make the required declaration that no further information is required, in default of the Attorney General having done as required – a matter of statutory law that could only be misinterpreted by a total incompetent. But it does not stop there. Madam Justice Reifer’s failure is undergoing an application for leave to appeal to the Court of Appeal to make the declaration she was statute-bound to make. Leave to appeal is heard by one judge. In this case, Madam Justice Goodridge. If the judge is unable or unwilling to grant leave, they must refer it to full hearing of a panel of three judges. Now, a long time later, this matter has not been referred to the panel. A letter to the Registrar complaining  – in November 2010 – of the circumstances remains unanswered. A letter to Acting Chief Justice Moore a week later complaining of the lack of response from the Registrar – ALSO REMAINS UNANSWERED. The Plaintiff in this action against Madam Justice Kentish is out of pocket to the tune of $3.5 million. Meanwhile with all this incompetence flying around, the substantive case against Madam Justice Kentish is stalled on issues that, in any competent judicial system, would have been heard before a judge by PHONE and a judgement rendered AT ONCE!!! But, why should this surprise us that the Barbados Justice System has no hesitation in running up the costs? After all, it is that very Justice System that cost Barbados at least $500,000 in the Shanique Myrie case. But, hey, there may be an excuse – like “De file lost.”

THE CONTINUING KNOX SAGA: Back on June 24, 2010, BU reported the outcome of Knox/Allard’s case against the Country of Barbados and over 60 prominent Bajans, including the Prime Minister (Thompson) Owen Arthur and the Chief Justice (David Simmons). Most recently, yet another of the multitudinous Knox/Allard case was heard before the CCJ sitting in Barbados and a decision should be forthcoming very soon. At issue in the CCJ case is the matter of costs awarded against Knox. But there is another issue of costs awarded against Knox that BU referred to in its June 24, 2010 report. It is High Court Action 2279 of 2003 in which Eric Iain Stewart Deane sued Marjorie Knox alleging fraud. BU had heard nothing further of the outcome of this action and decided to investigate and update its readers. We had heard nothing, because there is no outcome. This action, filed in 2003, did not reach the Courts until January 2009, some 6 years later. It was adjourned part-heard in April 2009 and to date, three years later, is uncompleted and no date for the continuation of the hearing has as yet been scheduled. 2279 asks the Court to void Knox’s transfer of her shares in Kingsland Estates Limited and to hand these shares over to Mr Deane in satisfaction of his costs (running, we have ascertained, to some millions of dollars). These costs relate to a case, appeal and the Privy Council Appeal ordered back in June 2005…….7 years ago. The interest alone goes back to 2001 and the first costs order. 11 years have passed without the Barbados Courts completing the hearing of this case. Given the propensity of Knox/Allard to appeal, it does not take clairvoyance to know that this case will end up on appeal before the CCJ, who will doubtless have some pointed and highly critical comments to make about the Barbados Courts, which will provide yet another nail in the coffin of Barbados’ judicial reputation worldwide. BU feels impelled to point out that this is but one of MANY similar delinquencies on the part of the Justice System and BU has chosen to pursue and highlight this one, because of the extensive reporting carried by BU on this particular issue in the past. However, BU readers are encouraged to report on similar cases where justice has been denied through delay. We will, as time permits, investigate and, where appropriate, report on these.

THE OMISSION OF LICENSED LEGAL PRACITIONERS IN THE OFFICIAL GAZETTE LIST: BU reported this matter on February 19, 2012. Included in the names of attorneys omitted from the list were Sir Frederick Smith Q.C., Mr Edmund King Q.C., Mr Maurice King Q.C., Lady Beverley Walrond Q.C., Mr Hal Gollop, Mr Vernon Smith Q.C. BU went on to report that several of the omitted attorneys had served notice on the Registrar of impending legal action against her for, among other things, defamation. There followed a robust discussion on BU in which, among other things, arguments were advanced (a) that no case could be brought against the Registrar and (b) that the Registrar had done nothing wrong and (c) it was even suggested that the omitted attorneys might not have paid their license fees. It may have escaped the attention of BU’s readers, but shortly after our report, the Official Gazette published a new, corrected and complete list of licensed attorneys. Any suggestion that the Registrar did not in fact screw up is now settled. We are unable to discover if the Registrar has had the manners to apologise to the defamed attorneys. Given that lady’s record, we suspect NOT. Registrars and manners in Barbados appear to be strangers – a situation which visitors to the Registry will know (and attorneys will know better) infects that entire office.

STOKING THE TALES OF THE COURTS: Yet again BU issues a clarion call to all and sundry to keep their complaints about the courts and officers of courts coming. Click on this LINK to send your information. Rest assured as always anonymity will be respected.

172 responses to “Tales From The COURTS – Part II”

1. Ross

You call alotta names that I like … and a couple that I really care little for … including that arrogant ass Moneybrain … lemme tell yah, don’ lef me in the same room as he fah longa than thirty seconds hear … Only one will be left standin’ when all de smoke clear …!

But then again you have confirmation of there being a clan on BU and it has even been named … The BU Mafia … BAM! HA HA HA … MURDA !

2. BUM …! 🙂

HA HA HA

3. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

“Predictability has nothing inevitably to do with what is commonly supposed to be scientific method. That method includes the a priori – the hypothesis – as well as intuition.”

LOL Robert…. Were you joking or do you really believe that? The scientific method requires a priori assumptions about the nature of knowledge itself – what is ‘knowable’, but the scientific method is distinct from (and superior to) a priori methods of investigating phenomena…. it is based on a posteriori testing and validation of hypotheses…. it is rooted in falsifying the predictions of hypotheses.

BAFBFP…. It wasn’t “Dear fans”… it was “Onlookers” LOL

4. @BAFBFP

Do you think that when any group of people assemble to share views some will share positions?

5. BAFBFP it must be near crop ova.

You had to come up with a :BUM” cause you got yuh pepper chick pun yuh mind.

Yuh still got de salt one for posing?

6. @ Micro Mock

I don’t know of any a priori method of investigating phenomena – as distinct from demonstrating it – if by the a priori we mean deduction. So for me, Conan Doyle was talking nonsense when he made Holmes speak of the “science of deduction”. What I said was that the a priori is not inevitably foreign to scientific method. It manifests, exactly as you say, in the hypothesis for you have to start somewhere. Mere experimenting goes nowhere without it. Intuition also plays a part if only as the wild hunch – yes, often wrong but sometimes right. Think of the ‘calculated hunch’ when we try to guess who’s whom on BU. And also analogical method…how like is this to that – so that the conclusion arises from weighing strands from a number of severally inconclusive items in accordance with anterior validity criteria. Or again what of scientific ‘maxims’ like ‘where there are two possible explanations for something, each equally possible, equally, tenable, the simpler is to be preferred’ – ‘Ramsay’s maxim’ as I remember.

7. “It is high time that Bajan lawyers stopped pretending that the got where they are ENTIRELY by their own efforts and money and ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THEY GOT THERE LARGELY BECAUSE THE MONEY OF THE TAX PAYERS OF BARBADOS, which pays for the education of lawyers through day nurseries, elementary schools, secondary schools, the Barbados Community College, the University of the West Indies, and the law schools in Jamaica (Norman Manley) and Trinidad (Hugh Wooding)”

and what about doctors, don’t they enjoy the same benefitsat taxpayers expense and don’t they charge exporbitant fees as well? ah well1 i suppose that is a matter of life and death.

8. @Micro

Jesus Ch#st man, you got a memory like a sponge. Now what was the man handle again for the records?

You see me I believe that the only way to get to the truth is to ENCOURAGE all opinions. Set aside the clans and deal with the group as a family …

Hants

BUM is not only a Crop Over thing as I am sure you know, but what these guys are doing is bare BUM (or asinine for the pseudo-intellectuals)

9. BAFBFP

My memory is getting a bit dim but I think it was Dictionary who also had those memorable battles with Technician

10. BAFBFP

It really takes a lot of chutzpah to give yourself an online handle of “Dictionary”, the next step is Thesaurus and on to Encyclopedia.

You should ask bloggers to comment on why they chose their online personas, if I reveal mine I think a few people would know who I am so my access to certain information would be compromised.

11. Oh dear, oh dear … ha ha ha. No wonder I forgot … ha ha ha. Well done Sargent. Dictionary, what a bore …(for me anyway)

Now if some people were to expose why they chose their handles it would give nincompoops like Moneybrain yet another opportunity to come and try to piss over everyone … Nah, not a good idea ..

12. @ BAF
    I wonder if you can guess why I chose mine.

13. Look how far off course we have gotten off topic instead the topic has degraded into egomaniacs fawning all overv each other this is a disgrace to say the least coming from those/ who persumed are of a higher intellectual calibre than those off us who exposes our asses and dribble in politics and it is also a glaring example as to why the judicial system Is in such a bad state iof affairs

14. old onion bags Avatar

@ ac
    So why you don’t come back to the political blog.. cuz i got some politico kisses for you….

15. Ross

Call me foolish, but I always thought that that was your real name … wallas ya mean I wrong ..? I admire those who chose to use their real names in forums such as this. I would do so had I a fraction of the adversaries that I am currently contending with.

16. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

“I don’t know of any a priori method of investigating phenomena”

Robert…. that’s easy enough to fix…. just go to Church next Sunday.

“What I said was that the a priori is not inevitably foreign to scientific method.”

True….. but you also said “Predictability has nothing inevitably to do with what is commonly supposed to be scientific method.”… which is not true.

… you also went off track at the end there with Ramsay’s Maxim.… what you described is actually the law of parsimony or Occam’s razor… all-in-all, not too bad for a lawyer I suppose 🙂

17. The National Insurance Scheme has just celebrated 45 years of service to this nation and while for some there might be good reason to celebrate; there is reason to believe that there are countless tales of woe to be told by appellants disadvanaged by the lack of frequent benefit appeals hearings and the timely delivery of judgments sometimes in excess of several years by the Appeals T ribunals. Not that the malaise in the law courts is not deserving of the highest condemnation, but there seems to be a culture of indifference adopted by some personnel in social service related activity in government institutions charged with the responsibilty of ensuring that persons especially ordinary folk obtain the best possible advice and service.

18. @balance

If you are in the know now is your time to step forward.

19. @ Micro

The repetition of doctrine is not a ‘method’ nor an investigation; it’s a brainwash.

If A is bigger than B and B is bigger than C…then A is bigger than….I predict C

This fish is brown, this fish is brown, this fish is brown x X….agh a blue fish……now are we predicting or classifying?

Is the judicial process about porridge for breakfast?

But yes, Occam..lol

20. @ BAF

No. But I’ll tell you. Robbbie Ross was Oscar Wilde’s first lover. When Wilde was convicted, Ross raised his hat to him when he left the court room as a sign of respect. That took courage and the kind gesture meant a good deal to Wilde. He mentions it in De Profundis – which is a wonderfully spiritual work which has some marvellous things to say about Jesus. If the world was different from what it is, it would be (and should be) compulsory reading in seminaries. He was also there for Wilde when he left prison. I think I would have done that – well, I hope so. You remind me of him.

I hope you’re not disappointed. I was reminded yesterday by someone that we have a mutual chum…something to do with tennis. So perhaps one day you will be in a position to understand. I hope so anyway

21. I’m gone to say to my little brother, that he should also pay a quick visit this blog on regular basis to get updated from hottest gossip.

22. Mused -despite your failing grade and threat of litigation looming over his head from the infamous Jack Warner it seems that the former in your view incompetent Chief Justice of Barbados has landed another big job in the regional arena.