75 responses to “Cover Drive Is #1 On British Charts”

1. Government help for Cover Drive and Rihanna was non existant as far as we know imagine if they had help its high time to pass the cultural industries bill to assist the young music tyros in Barbados they have clearly demonstrated they can take on the world and win.

The talent is here no doubt.

2. Hear a voice crying in the wilderness ..prepare ye the way of the Lord.

3. Smooth Chocolate Avatar

@TheKnowledge | January 30, 2012 at 7:13 PM |

i understand what some people are saying. you do not see the sinister goat head when the video of Lick Ya Down at normal speed. it is embedded in the design of the flowery background. it is only when the vid is slowed and at Full that u see it. when i first saw it, it was shocking. the persons in costumes is obvious. but why are they in the vid and what part are they playing? why did the guy turn and bow to the goat head? it is a catchy song but also full of questions

4. anonymous

The harsh reality is that a group of lawyers and other bureaucrats have already been paid BIG money to draft this bill. And before it comes to fruition they will continue to be paid. These shites frown on any form of productive endeavor, and can be expected to be the least effective at implementing all this fine planning that is described in the bill. What is hilarious is a mention of a committee … a word that stands for a group of egotistical historians and (yes) lawyers and other academics who will also receive a stipend or something for their participation, and at the end of the day accomplish nexkin to nuffin … mark my word. The Lawyer PM will cash in on some wonderful mileage as well … They can all fly in hell!

5. Smooth Chocolate

A goat is a harmless animal.

6. Smooth Chocolate Avatar

@BAFBFP | January 30, 2012 at 11:35 PM |

the secret society members, the satanic worshipers, the warlocks and witches who went into harrison’s cave last year October, casting spells on the young people of barbados; the warlock who was thrown out of Barbados after he was discovered but not before he had taught some young school children how to cast spells, are all laughing along with u too. y did they then embed the picture of a goat head among the flora background? y did they not use a cat, dog, a bird? don’t just pass it off…anyhoo, time will tell. eyes wide shut we all want to be

7. I have sorted out the problem with the world, its due to stupidity and the world needs to become cleverer about things such as finance, social issues, living and looking after each other. Its fairly obvious when you are bright, but more difficult to get others to be. Everyone has to raise their awareness up several notches

8. Anything that shines the spotlight on Barbados in a positive way is a good thing period!
    Now the detractors would you please leave the room and take your little goats and devil worshippers along with you !

9. Smooth Chocolate

Just in case you are not aware, any person that practices a traditional earth-centric religion is considered pagan and a witch/warlord. Christianity does NOT and has never impressed me. I say big up the “devil worshipers” if only for the sake of pissing wunna off …!

10. warlock

11. @BAFBFP
    “A goat is a harmless animal”

Not if you stand too close with your back turned. A friend of mine got butted right through the paling!

Congratulations to Cover Drive

12. Ri Ri musse tell um bout de goat ting

13. BAF now i know fuh sure you are a”real devil” horns and all

14. Investment Markets, pyramids, ponzi’s, illuminati’s it all makes sense now
    which way shall we head to now east or west

15. chocolate city hussle Avatar
    chocolate city hussle

@BAFBFP | January 31, 2012 at 7:52 AM |

“… big up the “devil worshipers” if only for the sake of pissing wunna off …!”

what an ignorant statement..

16. When the artist looks into the canvas it becomes a crystal ball revealing past and present and future and even THE UNSEEN.
    http://www.saatchionline.com/art/Painting-Acrylic-THOUGHTS-AND-MEMORIES/325031/1378228/view
    ARE YOU ABLE TO SEE?

17. Think on these things Avatar
    Think on these things

You Ri Ri haters realise RiRi discovered Cover Drive she’s not only gone where no other Barbadian has gone before she is now unearthing Bajan talent ready to beat the world. She’s done for Cover Drive what Evan and Jay Z did for her kudos to her for giving back and helping her own people big time.

18. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

The Twilight video has now had over 2 million views and what a shame it was not filmed in Barbados.
    CBC has had all the opprtunity in the world to air it between Days of Our Lives and the News but they seem to think we prefer Kenny G and Toni Braxton. As much as I like these two artists, give our youth some inspiratiion and encouragement, knowing to that they could become a Cover Drive.

19. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Correction ‘opportunity’.

20. @ Chocolate City…..
    This is not a personal attack against you but I noticed especially with ‘black’ mainstream artist, a lot of people like yourself suggests that the only way they realize success is because they engage in some form of demonic appeasement or they are members of some secret society. Some artist who are popularly named as doing such are Jay-Z, Beyonce, Kanye West, Rhianna and now you are saying Cover Drive. Cant ‘black’ people be successful in their own right because they are smart enough and have worked hard to achieve it?
    And sorry to say most of this tearing down is form fellow blacks and I dont understand why we constantly continue to pull down out own.

21. @ Island Gal

‘It’s more difficult for a black group to be noticed in a white country’…or words to that effect.
    You know, I’m not clear that you are right. Much depends doesn’t it on the fashions of the time, what captures the imagination NOW and, sometimes even what talent is on offer and how it’s marketed? Thus Rhianna has a lot of zest and a raunchy aura – though, frankly, I don’t rate her as Barbados’ answer to anyone very much as a singer relying so much, as she does ,on electrical enhancement – but then you don’t have to be Galli-Curci to get on. And Rhianna (however you spell her name) has – and good luck to her. And BLACK can be an advantage. Think of how Boney M ‘took off’ in the ’70’s…..all those sexy braids and gyrating thighs touching the repressed desires of white audiences already schooled on the nakedness of Ipi Tombi.

22. @ Rosemary Parkinson

Thankyou for your posts. Yes, there IS so much talent in our little island in the middle of nowhere very much. To everyone out there and beyond – we are BIGGER than you will ever know and as we think we are. See: the world is captured on this little dot of coral.

23. We are all prostitutes for money when we work and give up our personal loyalties and integrity. Throughout history the most talented black actors and actresses were given bit parts like jig-a-boos tap dancing for shirley temple, or smiley culture offered the role of rapist (which he turned down) and miles davis as a cocaine smuggler on miami vice. If we had enough talent to sell out to the Money Makers Movers and Shakers we would. So see illuminati symbolism as representing their backers not the artists. Maybe the artists are warning you about the system