Caswell Franklyn, Head of Unity Workers Union

In 1998, a panel of Law Lords took the unprecedented decision to set aside a ruling of a differently constituted panel of judges of the House of Lords because of the appearance of bias, in an appeal brought by Senator Pinochet, former president of Chile.

The Government of Spain was seeking Pinochet’s extradition from the United Kingdom to face trial for acts that he was alleged to have committed when he was head of state of Chile. He pleaded that he had immunity from prosecution because of his status of head of state when the acts were alleged to have taken place, and that was upheld by the lower courts. To make a long story short, the lower courts’ decision was overturned paving the way for the continuation of extradition proceedings.

Subsequent to the first appeal it was discovered that the wife of one of the panel of Law Lords, Lord Hoffman, was employed by Amnesty International who sought and was granted permission to be an intervener in the Appeal. Lord Hoffman was not a member of Amnesty International, but he had raised funds to assist them to acquire a building.

The second panel accepted that there was a real danger or reasonable apprehension of suspicion that Lord Hoffmann might have been biased. There was no allegation of actual bias, but the panel ruled that the appearance of bias was enough to cause them to set aside the ruling in the first hearing before the Lords.

Just recently, in Trinidad, that country’s Chief Justice was embarrassed into returning the instrument constituting him a senior counsel, what we call queen’s  counsel in Barbados, because it was bestowed by the Government. It was submitted that such acceptance would conflict with the doctrine of the separation of powers, and also there would be some appearance of bias if the Chief Justice were to adjudicate a case involving the Government.

Based on the two examples that I cited above, imagine my surprise when the Chief Justice of Barbados could be seen on the front page of a newspaper receiving honorary membership of the Rotary Club. My head immediately started to work overtime: should I join Rotary in case I am ever at the receiving end of a law suit; or what would happen if I had to go up against one of his Rotarian brothers in court.

Ever so often, we hear unfounded allegations that some of our judicial officers being lodge members cited as the reason why certain cases are decided in a particular way. It does not matter how unfounded these claims happen to be: they would tend to reduce confidence that the populace should repose in the judiciary. I am not saying that the Chief Justice would be biased but I would sleep a whole lot better if he had declined the invitation.

I do not know if it only me clutching at straws or is it that the Chief Justice has exercised extremely poor judgement in accepting honorary membership of Rotary. In my opinion, he should be required to return one of his instruments of appointment: it should either be Rotary or Chief Justice, not both.

137 responses to “Rotarian Chief Justice! What Was He Thinking?”

1. @ Caswell
    So who is expected to show consideration for rich people? Only poor people deserve consideration?

So when the bushman takes it upon himself to allow two poor old ladies to come and set up house on bushie’s extra acre of land which was purchased with blood and sweat so that the young bushlings would not have to beg on the street….

And when the lazy offspring of those two old ladies find themselves being asked to remove themselves because the young Bushes have grown up….. Why do they deserve more consideration than BT?

….you mind ac? Yuh hear she ALWAYS on the wrong side….? Lol

Wanna solution is to keep the piece of land as a lawn till the children ready – rather than to allow its use by someone in need WHILE IT IS AVAILABLE…
    …but of course wanna does rent…. Rotfl

2. Hi Caswell,
    Quote:” But I will continue to say Politicians only care about poor people at election time.”

There are many who hold a similar view.

However, that is a problem for you to address and perhaps you will take it up with your Parliamentary representative….and it may even have an impact on your voting intentions.

My comments were solely about how the Law appeared to unfold in this specific case.

3. The government found a house for a young woman who was “squatting” in an NHC unit.

Can’t they do the same for this elderly couple?

Step up MP. Elections coming.

4. Yardbroom I am not talking about evidence Even if i had to argue with the evidence set forth as is i would side with the decision of removal. Having said that when all is said and done The finality and the procedures taking to evict the couples was cruel and totally uncalled for.like i said it could have been handle in a more humane way.Nobody after 40 years of struggling to keep a roof over their heads whether the home is in good or bad condition is deserving of having their house bulldozed court order right before their eyes. The law as i said failed miserably in this case to implement measures inplace to guarantee the couples dignity remains in tact while at the same time being able to enforced the law that would give the land back to its rightful owners There are cases like these when we should take a step back and realise that human value is worthless when actions such as these are allowed to take place in the 21st century/

5. i would bet you that if the couple had to take this to a higher court based on humanitarian grounds they would win. The basis of a court is not just to dispense justice for the plaintiff but to make sure beyond the shadow of a doubt that justice rendered not be seen or have the appearance of “cruel and inhumane punishment” and those pictures in the paper screamed JUST THAT

6. Hi ac,
    January 21,2012 at 7:27pm

Quote:” i would bet you that if the couple had to take this to a higher court based on humanitarian grounds they would win”.

They would not win ac they would lose. I will now set out my reasons.

You suggested Humanitarian grounds. Human Rights Legislation is generally only enforceable against public bodies, however it provides a framework of reasonability.

(1) Did the landlord act “reasonably”. Yes, he did not harass the tennant, he took the case to court.

(2) Did the Judge act “reasonably”. Yes he gave adequate time for the tennant to vacate the land.

(3) Did other agencies act “reasonably” Yes they facilitated an alternative plot of land.

The tennant would lose because they have no grounds for a successful appeal.
    I feel your pain. You may have the last word, but I will let it rest.

7. @ yardbroom

Even though judgement was in favour of the landlord . They could be grounds necessary again based on “humanitarian Law ” on the way final judgement was executed. The part which you seem not to want to deal with is was the “finality and the execution of the judgement executed in a dignified and human way and does it falls in the category of “cruel and unusual punishment.A good and capable lawyer would have found grounds to appeal this case even with the facts given and making it possible for a win win on both sides.

8. i don’t understand how some can’t see the inhumanity and the way dealt in finalising the judgment by giving permission to have a house bulldozed .you mean with all the laws about basic human rights we as a society have not learned anything. unfortunately i have to keep repeating myself but some how it doesn’t get through to those who value “PROPERTY” over the dignity of People. i am in no way condoning any body use of illegalities but law is not only to protect the rights of of ownership be it property or otherwise but somehow just somehow along the way to see that justice is served in a human and dignified manner, Even with all the evidence in favour of the plaintiff a scare has been left in minds of the defendant forever having to relive the sightof a bulldozer leveling their home one that they had work for40years .Justice might have been served for the landlord according to civil law , However for the couple what an “INJUSTICE” according to humanitarian law.they could have been a better way!

9. Then we sit back and wonder and criticise why the judicial system is in the mess it is now having cases sitting idly for 10plus years unheard . because it is the attitude we take . Be it victim or defendant everyone is has a Right to a speedy trial. In order to achieved that process the DIGNITY of the individual must take precedent which in turn would make it faster for trials to be heard it all goes back to the way the courts treat individual Human RIGHTS with a lack of respect and it doesn’t take money to accomplish that just a duty of respect for all individuals having to deal with the process.

10. Random Thoughts Avatar

AC let it rest. They elderly couple and their healthy young son/stepson had 2 years notice and the offer of an alternative plot of land. It does not take 2 years to move a chattle house. In my girl days 2 good carpenters and 2 strong labourers and 1 truck and driver would move a chattle house from its old location and set it up in it s new location and be done before Sunday lunch. At today’s wage rates the same work would cost about $300 for the carpenters, $200 for the labourers, and $300 for the truck and driver (maybe 2/3 this if they used Guyanese labour) This family has 3 incomes. I believe that they could find $800 over a 2 year period so that they could move their house. But some people prefer to stay and stay and stay on the landlord’s property in some perverse way hoping to be seen as victims and to get sympathy. Now of course the government will need to house the old couple. The government should provide the old couple with a one bedroom apartment and withhold 25% of their pension for rent. If government did this it would put a stop to this foolishness. The young son/stepson should look for housing in the private market. I believe that there is a surplus of private rental housing right now.

11. why is it that i can’t not getthrough to you that the “BULLDOZING” of the house is my bone of contention? Is there not a better way to seize Property than to have A Bulldozer level it ? What if the house was in good condition? Would the same measures be taken. All the long talk about what the couple did or did not do does not overshadow the fact that the LAW which allows a person Home to be BULLDoze to render a judgement is WRONG and should be corrected forthwith.

12. Why is it only a few can see the humanitarian side of this case . Just maye ! just maybe! when the rest of you awaking from your slumber .you would understand what i was pointing out! Hope it would not be too late.
    Therefore i STATED MY CASE ON HUMANATARIAN GROUNDS!
    I REST MY CASE
    THE JURY IS OUT!

13. robert ross | January 19, 2012 at 11:33 AM |

“But becoming associated with a charitable organisation openly and frankly is rather to be praised …”

The Rotory is NOT just an organisation, it is a CLUB! There is the refinement that makes all of the difference. This “CLUB” may very well “pride itself in giving back to the community” but that is only because its members are guilty of first taking a hell of a lot out of the community in the first place, far more than they will ever be prepared to “give back”

14. Maybe the Yacht Club, the Raleigh Club and Turf Club should offer him honorary membership as well

15. BAFBFP
    It is also a clique, where friends and associates routinely exchange favours, influence and information.

Imagine Bushie have a matter in court against you BAFBFP ( who secretly is a ‘big up’ in most of these organizations lol) and who therefore can casually pull the judge over in a corner to put your case while the poor Bushman ( well not poor in the economic sense LOL ) have to rely on some retarded lawyer to put mine while the judge writing in long hand…
    Dat could be fair….?

But that is a different matter.
    Bushie’s problem is that the CJ is able to RUSH into all these extracurricular activities and make public positions, speeches and appearances and yet WE CANT HEAR A SINGLE WORD OF PLANS OR ACTIONS FOR HIS SUBSTANTIVE JOB.

….Wuh we bring he back here to chill out or Wuh?….?

16. and imagine bushie JESUS ridding into town on a bulldozer leveling some body home cause de court say . Imagine ! BUSHIE! IMAGINE!

17. @CJ

Oh boie…..never never ….Dipper Dipper …..all about independence…

no compromise.

18. What Jesus ride into town on what bulldozer what!?

Shoot ac, give it a rest nuh!!?
    ..even Random Thoughts can’t support you on this one. Ever since the Bushman accuse you of picking the wrong side of issues, you like you going out of your way to prove Bushie right…

IT IS BECAUSE OF THE VERY ROTTEN CONDITION OF THE STRUCTURE THAT HEAVY EQUIPMENT WAS USED OK?

You want the whole thing to fall down on the workmen when somebody pull out the second nail?
    You would be willing to go up on top to take off the roof sheets one piece at a time? Cud dear… You think you is the only one with compassion?

How come you ain’t got no compassion for Broomes? The man trying he best in a piss poor system, to help the children….

Man ac go and read yuh bible or something do!!! You ain’t going to understand it, but at least it would keep you from posting for a while….

19. Bushie i am not a politician i do not seek or need supporters i say or write my comments geared to the social conscienous of people one that you are sorely lacking in this case.
    AS for your suggestion to read my bible i will pass on that because your knowledge of the bible has done very little to enlighten you.

20. was humbled to have had the opportunity to interact with the new chief justice. created quite an impression with his amazingly jolly and down to earth bajan disposition. seems to me that like his predecessor, he would be a credit to the office even though i still maintain that the handling of their appointments was not in the best interest of public transparency.

21. @ac
    lol….everytime is ac.v.Bushie….chez on breds though I glad you two aint husband and wife.Or are you ?Now looka trouble….( ole onion just tek up he bags and run like hell)looking back all D while to see if a big rock comin.

What I just say is like Marson unawareingly accepting that invitation.

22. And Bushie ..I doan like Broomes neither …me and he did come wrong in annuda capacity..and i waiting in line to hit he wid 2 BIG ROCK…so lefout ac fa me cuz I cud pelt 3 rocks-at-a-time dawg.

neva miss neither..lol

23. @ onion bags

Tek it easy bro. … That is the worst thing that ANYBODY EVER wished pon de bushman….
    …to be married to ac…
    AAAAAAAAAAHHHHHH the VERY thought!!

…however, if she still want that bush bath….

24. @ole onion bag

Bush tea is psychologically demented he is suffering from the”Submissive Syndrome” Woman must submit to any thing the man say, dat is why he finds comfort in the loving arms of his tyranical friend.BTW yuh rocks can compete wid he bulldozer. jus watch yuh back.

25. Bush Tea

I mek a New Years resolution … I ain’ troubling dese women hear ..! I luvs them all …ALLL. They get a free pass this year, if only for one year … I gun read my Bible knowing that I ain’ gun understand a word, but it will keep my mind off things too …!

BTW, again I agree with you. We have a world class academic, who is proving to be a world class celebrity type (a judge told me today self that it is important that he is viewed with celebrity type status in this community because it will help significantly in his effectiveness on the job) who has shown little so far by way of plotting, administrative and execution ability.

26. LOL women getting a free pass from men. BAF please don’t do us any favur We are capable of taking on all wunna toe toe . See wuh happen to dat man at de school bet he nevvvvvvv try dat sh … t again!

27. Random Thoughts Avatar

Understand that I would have had no problem if the couple or their family of friends or any civil or church or government agency had helped to move the elderly couple before the bulldozers came. Understand that even now I believe that governments have a responsibility to help the poor, the very young, the sick, the elderly etc. and in fact a responsibility to help this couple who are 70 and 79 unemployable and have I presume only modest incomes. The 34 year old son/stepson should be required to brek for himself. I am not without compasssion and I don’t like to see poor people’s houses being bulldozed either, but really 2 years is more than enough time for the couple, their family/friends/church or the government to have resettled this elderly couple. But the 34 year old son/stepson should be required to brek fa heself.

28. good resolution BAFBFP.

Focus on the Salt and Pepper chicks. Cropover coming soon.

29. @Random Thoughts elections coming.

The MP for the area should earn his votes and help these two old poor people.

30. Hants

I see that you still ain’ gettin’ nah real snow to talk ’bout this year …

31. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Imagine if Barbados executed the law on the basis of the crime committed and not who committed the crime. Imagine if Barbados did not have crooked lawyers who get slap on the wrist penalties for stealing clients money. Imagine if Barbados law system was not divided into two parts: One part Elitist protected the other part peasants punished. Imagine if the former Chief Justice was not a former BLP minister and not tied up in allege corruptive activity that sullied his CJ position and that of his beloved Barbados Labour Party. Imagine if the BLP and DLP kept their promises and executed management of the countries resources with integrity, transparency and accountability and the enactment of legislation. Imagine if the truth behind taking draw-backs and changing laws to accomodate probable infelictious activity were not true.

TELL ME WOULD ANYONE HAVE A PROBLEM WITH THE CJ JOINING ROTARY?

32. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I have seen and heard many allegations about lodges, and even in today’s Nation one of those lodges is on the defencive pointing out that they are not evil. I do not know about that: what I can tell you is that these lodges are responsible for putting a lot of evil persons in positions where they become influential. I know of a case at a government department where a worker viciously attacked a colleague without provocation. The doctors claim that with a little more force the victim’s neck would have broken.

The police were called and the attacker declared in a loud voice in the presence of a number of witnesses that his lodge would protect him. It apparently did. Despite the number of witnesses who were prepared to testify against the lodge man, the police were not allowed to pursue the matter. No charges were ever filed. But you know what is interesting, the attacker got promoted even though the matter of the attack was referred to the Chief Personnel Officer. In essence, the lodge was able to protect its member from criminal prosecution and also ensure that a thug was promoted to a senior post in the Public Service.

I did not call any names because I represented the victim in an attempt to remove him from the service because of this incident: I have not sought his permission to use his name on this blog, but I can assure you that what I have written is absolutely true.

33. Bush Tea | January 22, 2012 at 11:16 AM |
    BAFBFP
    It is also a clique, where friends and associates routinely exchange favours, influence and information.

Poliical parties and Lodges can also be described like this!!

34. And the beat goes on and on and on leaving the peasants to fight among thenmselves .Time for a revolution

35. … In fact Bush Tea, on sober reflection on the sordid goings on at Alexandra which clearly have the stamp of political and Lodge connections, I would say that I, like you, support Caswell’s thesis.

Clubs in Barbados can cause harm to our country inspite of any good they do.

So perhaps it is not good to see the CJ becoming a member of one.

Then again on, and the other hand, maybe it is good that it is in the open and maybe his transparent example will be followed by all club members in Barbados, be they political, Lodge or Rotary and they will declare their membership.

36. I will start the ball rolling and follow the CJ’s transparent example.

I declare that I am not a member of any Political Party, Lodge or Rotary.

I have in the past been a member of The Lions Club but personal and business commitments forced me to resign many moons ago.

37. A lot of interesting posts here. However all of you guys who talked about Freemasonry should read a book called “The Hiram Key” by Christopher Knight & Robert Lom’as.
    A very enlightening expose on Freemasonry. You will be supprised at what it’s NOT.