Ancient copies of the Bible were carried during a procession to Westminster Abbey's altar

Today is the 400th anniversary of the King James Bible. A special celebratory service was held at Westminster Abbey today. It was the Bible, commissioned by a King, that made the Word of God available to all English-speaking people so that they were no longer reliant on translations by those who could read Latin. It allowed the common man to drink, as it were, straight from the bottle.

292 responses to “King James Bible Marks 400th Anniversary”

1. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Ph.D | November 18, 2011 at 4:22 PM |
    “I asked you before , have you ever had a real job, not some political handout, or second tier , third world, rubber stamp “position” of “bureaucracy”?”

Please David & Technician, indulge me one more time!

PhD, my answers are as follows:
    Yes a few jobs, none political. Highly paid that is why I no longer have to work today for a “fella”. If you call Europe and North America “third world”, then yes I have worked only in Third World countries but not in a rubber stamp position but in a position to influence minds unlike yours.
    What about you, fraud? Yes go ahead and boast about your material achievements. Just remember the advice about storing up riches on earth and the difficulty of people like you carrying chips on your shoulder of dromedary proportions to pass through the eye of your god’s needle.

But I have just experienced an epiphany! Eureka! God is a sub-atomic particle faster than the speed of light! Thank you Jesus for saving me just before you are about to be crucified on the galactic equatorial cross and turn this world upside down!

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Ph.D | November 18, 2011 at 4:22 PM |
    millertheanunnaki | November 18, 2011 at 5:28 PM |
    Deal with matters like than that and forget the “I got more material possessions than thou” hatred!

3. Truth by definition IS* absolute; Truth is the ultimate certitude, regardless of who ever DENIES* this reality. Truth does NOT* need anyone’s approval or acceptance, to be Truth. Reality IS* synonymous with Truth; and Truth is unyielding, one can choose to ignore it, SCORN and scoff at it, or even curse it, but all to know avail; in the end TRUTH* impassively stands its ground in the face of the most IGNORANT, emotional, vebal and pseudo- intellectual onslaughts!

Truth can be especially brutal to those who insist on worshipping at the Alter of Theory, I.e., ‘SUN’ worship, and those so inclined by such IGNORANCE and IDOLATRY; this is, because Truth has a way of frustrating theory, and, much like the mongoose circling a SNAKE, I.e., a Python who has swallowed a JACKASS, who simply CANNOT digest its meal, of Pagan idolatry, ultimately wearing it down, and devouring it.

Such is the BU ‘Bildge Pumpers’ and Scoffers club adherents baseless theories, with NO historic evidence, objectively, and coherently presented, at ALL, just voidless, stupid simplistic sentences, laced IN* ad hominem, distilled and brewed in ‘redherring’ distractives, as they have nothing of critical, logical, cogent substance to offer, just FOLLY, and FOOLISHNESS, emanate from the BILDGE they PUMP; from the PIT of DARKNESS, in which their empty, futile, MINDS dwell!

So it be! True to form!

4. Truth is proven by evidence, that can be discerned by the senses, and recorded objectively.

The problem with the Bible is that a lot of hands have gone into the pot in terms of interpretation, and everyone has their own opinion about what should be and what should not be in there. As long as it suits the person, the Bible is the one book that can be twisted and conformed to anything the person thinks. Can a dictionary be dealt with in the same way?

Also, Christianity, for all its emphasis on God, share a lot of holidays & prayer days with the pagan religions it replaced. Is Zoe so sure that Christianity doesn’t also worship a “SON” (Sun) of God?

Religion, at the end of the day, is about power…and man is the creator of that concept, not God.

Straight.

5. How do we know the Bible is true?

Learn about the Bible. There have been hundreds of books written on the subject of the evidences of the divine inspiration of the Bible, and these evidences are many and varied. Most people today, unfortunately, have not read any of these books. In fact, few have even read the Bible itself! Thus, many people tend to go along with the popular delusion that the Bible is full of mistakes and is no longer relevant to our modern world.

Nevertheless the Bible writers claimed repeatedly that they were transmitting the very Word of God, infallible and authoritative in the highest degree. This is an amazing thing for any writer to say, and if the forty or so men who wrote the Scriptures were wrong in these claims, then they must have been lying, or insane, or both.

But, on the other hand, if the greatest and most influential book of the ages, containing the most beautiful literature and the most perfect moral code ever devised, was written by deceiving fanatics, then what hope is there for ever finding meaning and purpose in this world?

If one will seriously investigate these Biblical evidences, he will find that their claims of divine inspiration (stated over 3,000 times, in various ways) were amply justified.

Fulfilled Prophecies

The remarkable evidence of fulfilled prophecy is just one case in point. Hundreds of Bible prophecies have been fulfilled, specifically and meticulously, often long after the prophetic writer had passed away.

For example, Daniel the prophet predicted in about 538 BC (Daniel 9:24-27) that Christ would come as Israel’s promised Savior and Prince 483 years after the Persian emperor would give the Jews authority to rebuild Jerusalem, which was then in ruins. This was clearly and definitely fulfilled, hundreds of years later.

There are extensive prophecies dealing with individual nations and cities and with the course of history in general, all of which have been literally fulfilled. More than 300 prophecies were fulfilled by Christ Himself at His first coming. Other prophecies deal with the spread of Christianity, as well as various false religions, and many other subjects.

There is no other book, ancient or modern, like this. The vague, and usually erroneous, prophecies of people like Jeanne Dixon, Nostradamus, Edgar Cayce, and others like them are not in the same category at all, and neither are other religious books such as the Koran, the Confucian Analects, and similar religious writings. Only the Bible manifests this remarkable prophetic evidence, and it does so on such a tremendous scale as to render completely absurd any explanation other than divine revelation.

Unique Historical Accuracy

Learn more about Archaeology and the Bible. The historical accuracy of the Scriptures is likewise in a class by itself, far superior to the written records of Egypt, Assyria, and other early nations. Archeological confirmations of the Biblical record have been almost innumerable in the last century. Dr. Nelson Glueck, probably the greatest modern authority on Israeli archeology, has said:

“No archeological discovery has ever controverted a Biblical reference. Scores of archeological findings have been made which confirm in clear outline or in exact detail historical statements in the Bible. And, by the same token, proper evaluation of Biblical descriptions has often led to amazing discoveries.”

Scientific Accuracy

Another striking evidence of divine inspiration is found in the fact that many of the principles of modern science were recorded as facts of nature in the Bible long before scientist confirmed them experimentally. A sampling of these would include:

■Roundness of the earth (Isaiah 40:22)

■Almost infinite extent of the sidereal universe (Isaiah 55:9)

■Law of conservation of mass and energy (II Peter 3:7)

■Hydrologic cycle (Ecclesiastes 1:7)

■Vast number of stars (Jeremiah 33:22)

■Law of increasing entropy (Psalm 102:25-27)

■Paramount importance of blood in life processes (Leviticus 17:11)

■Atmospheric circulation (Ecclesiastes 1:6)

■Gravitational field (Job 26:7)

■and many others.

These are not stated in the technical jargon of modern science, of course, but in terms of the basic world of man’s everyday experience; nevertheless, they are completely in accord with the most modern scientific facts.

It is significant also that no real mistake has ever been demonstrated in the Bible—in science, in history, or in any other subject. Many have been claimed, of course, but conservative Bible scholars have always been able to work out reasonable solutions to all such problems.

Unique Structure

The remarkable structure of the Bible should also be stressed. Although it is a collection of 66 books, written by 40 or more different men over a period of 2,000 years, it is clearly one Book, with perfect unity and consistency throughout.

The individual writers, at the time of writing, had no idea that their message was eventually to be incorporated into such a Book, but each nevertheless fits perfectly into place and serves its own unique purpose as a component of the whole. Anyone who diligently studies the Bible will continually find remarkable structural and mathematical patterns woven throughout its fabric, with an intricacy and symmetry incapable of explanation by chance or collusion.

The one consistent theme of the Bible, developing in grandeur from Genesis to Revelation, is God’s great work in the creation and redemption of all things, through His only Son, the Lord Jesus Christ.

Bible’s Unique Effect

The Bible is unique also in terms of its effect on individual men

There is no other document of antiquity, that even comes remotely close, to the historic veracity, and accuracy of fulfilled prophecies as contained in the Word of God, the Bible, NONE!

6. Seeker | November 18, 2011 at 10:30 PM | Truth is proven by evidence, that can be discerned by the senses, and recorded objectively.

“The problem with the Bible is that a lot of hands have gone into the pot in terms of interpretation, and everyone has their own opinion about what should be and what should not be in there. As long as it suits the person, the Bible is the one book that can be twisted and conformed to anything the person thinks. Can a dictionary be dealt with in the same way?”

Yes, Seeker, there are set principles and rules that govern the sound, establised methods of interpreting God’s Word, the Scriptures; Biblical Hermeneutics, Contextual Analysis, and Linguistic Exegesis. Many who are NOT trained in these proper principles of sound interpretation, have made a MESS of twisting Scripture; BUT, this most certainly does NOT invaladate the TRUTH of God’s Word, when properly interpreted.

“Also, Christianity, for all its emphasis on God, share a lot of holidays & prayer days with the pagan religions it replaced. Is Zoe so sure that Christianity doesn’t also worship a “SON” (Sun) of God?”

No, Seeker, true Christianity, does NOT worship a (Sun god!) Jesus Christ, the SON of God, CREATED all things, including the SUN, which He holds in the palm of His hand like an Atom! Also, because certain days within Christian orthodoxy, coincide with old pagan religions, does NOT equate them with paganism, no way!

“Religion, at the end of the day, is about power…and man is the creator of that concept, not God.”

Seeker, Religion is man seeking out God on man’s humanistic ways. Whereas, Christianity, in its purest and simplist ways, IS* Almighty God, in, through, and by, The Lord Jesus Christ, INITIATING the entire process of reaching down to mankind, and revealing Himself, in the Person of His Son, Jesus Christ. Dead, ritualistic religion, brings man into BONDAGE, spiritual bondage, it KILLS the spirit of man; whereas, Jesus Christ, brings LIFE, PEACE, JOY, PURPOSE, and the Gift of Eternal Life, with Him hereafter.

7. Seeker, you mention the dictionary and the Bible, and its proper interpretation. We humans use the words of the dictionary to distort just about everything there is , only a daily basis.

From a purely scientific or even plain common sensical perspective now, Dr. B. G. Ranganathan said, “…the probability of life originating from accident is comparable to the unabridged dictionary resulting from an explosion in a printing shop” . Surely there is some simple logic in that staement.

Everyone has witnessed explosions. Have you ever seen one that was orderly? Or one that created a watch or a clock? Or one that produced a single thing of exquisite design—instead of the certain result of chaos and destruction? If you threw a million hand grenades, you would see them produce chaos and destruction a million times! There would never be an exception.

Can we at least accept that our world is in deep trouble, and the problems are escalating by the day, financial crises , wars natural disasters, starvation and disease at proportions never yet witnessed across the world , all at the same time. Now is NOT the time for a lack of faith , quite the contrary. “all things [will] work together for good” if you love God (Rom. 8:28).

True Christians do not have to distort or fabricate answers to today’s problems using the Bible. The Bible already specifically addresses any and all problems we are facing today, so we just point the non-beleivers to the relevant text. Speaking of our time, the last generation before he returns,

Christ asked, “When the Son of Man comes, shall He find faith on the earth?” (Luke 18:8).

8. PHD

When all is said and then Scientific evidence is more logical and precise than anything written in the bible about the creation of the earth and foryou to deny that is evident of being dishonest and disillusion at worst.The problem that with most religionist is that the same GOD whom you believe to have given you all knoweledge YOU have deny the right to let YOU seekmore knoweldge SCARY!

9. @ PHD

Maybe you can answer a question i have poised to the religionist on this thread. Explain the “Immaculate conception” no one so far have even tried maybe you can. I know it might take a BIG Leap of Faith to explain!

10. AC …you know that these religious zealots will not explain the “immaculate conception” because they just can’t.

Have you all noticed that the Bible was only written by men? I wonder why? Was it because men believed that women were less intelligent? Do you realise that all the prophets and disciples were men? The only book I remember in the bible was the book of Esther and it is probably the shortest book in the Bible ( subject to correction). And of course GOD is a MAN. Wunna men really feel important nuh (the religious zealots) Cor blind all awunna. That is why women are heading many of the households, holding the most mortgages and holding down many of the jobs as well as being the among the most educated. If they had obeyed the men and the Bible they would have been the worst off and second class citizens in this country. I am aware there are some (like Zoe, Scout, TB, Ph.D and Lemule) who feel that women have become too vocal and independent and must be brought back in line (behind the man). Well dat ent gine happen!

11. @Islandgal. Go, girl, go!!!! Yuh right!!!!!

12. One of the big ironies of today is that the RC would find millions to buy a Church but have several victims of child abuse and poor people in the flock where that money could have been put to more humanitarian use.

http://www.thedailybeast.com/cheats/2011/11/18/catholic-church-buys-crystal-cathedral.html

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ islandgal246 | November 19, 2011 at 8:35 AM |

I support you one zillion % on this one!
    The more these misogynists post their sexists comments the more reasons women have to think that men are a bunch of dumb jackasses. How can the likes of Zoe and the fraud PhD believe in a book that quarantines women because they are having a period. This would mean that aprrox. 25 % of non-pregnant adult females ought to be in isolation quarters on any day.
    These silly men who still stupidly adhere to this mandatory practice as outlined in Leviticus15: 19-27
    (“When a woman has her regular flow of blood, the impurity of her monthly period will last seven days, and anyone who touches her will be unclean till evening, etc ”) would starve for days in a very dirty house with bawling nasty brats around them!

PhD & Zoe come to the defence of Mr. LEVITICUS!

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Zoe & PhD:
    Re: ac | November 19, 2011 at 7:09 AM |
    “Explain the “Immaculate conception” no one so far have even tried maybe you can. I know it might take a BIG Leap of Faith to explain!”

Let me speak for once on your behalf to defend you from such a dangerous and serious charge!

This belief that Mary was sinless and of virgin birth just like her firstborn Jesus is pure heresy propagated by that satanic institution called the Roman Catholic (RC) Church. These sun worshipers and pagan sinners coined this concept of Mary’s divinity using the alleged writings of Luke as the basis for putting Mary next to male gods.

But remember that our dear doctor Luke is the RC equivalent of the snake man Ophiuchus (associated with the Egyptian Imothep or Greek Asclepius). He is portrayed in astrological legend as the protector and guardian of the womb (dark rift in the centre of the galactic (Holy) cross of the Milky Way) from which suns (Sons like Jesus) are born and sometimes reborn (refreshed). In astral-theology Mary is therefore represented as the milky way (Mother of God(s)) in which the So (u) n of Man is conceived sent to earth to save humanity but was crucified in the process and will return to usher in a new world order. This return to earth event is scheduled to be enacted next year around the winter solstice when the Sun (Son of God) will be returning to the centre of the galaxy where a special alignment (Holy cross) will occur which will open the portal for the refreshed sun (Jesus) to return to Earth to save (rapture) the likes of Zoe.
    When this rare event (last time was approx 13,000 earth years ago circa 11,000 BC around the time of the great legendary Flood) takes place St. Luke the doctor aka Ophiuchus (Serpentarius, the serpent) will be there between Adam (Sagittarius) with his bow and arrow aimed at Eve’s vulva (centre of Scorpio) to receive the result of this union to be sent to Earth.
    There is your explanation of the Immaculate Conception and a new Joy to the World called Jesus the Sun of Man! The I Ching says so! So sayeth the Chinese!

15. The Dogma of the so-called Immaculate Conception of Mary, in Catholicism, is unscriptural heresy, it has absolutely NO basis whatsoever in God’s Word, a fabrication of the Popes, in an attempt further deify Mary.

The Only Sure Guide To God’s Truth

The Bible is to be the sole source of doctrine for the Christian (2 Tim. 3:16,17). When this basic fact is recognized various forms of confusion are immediately cleared up. When the truth of Scripture is received one can find the God of the Bible, if he seeks God with all of his heart:
    You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart. (Jer 29:13)

Regarding the teaching of the immaculate conception of Mary, all it takes to show the fallacy of it is to ponder and receive the following Scriptures:
    For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, (Rom. 3:23).
    Therefore, Mary has sinned, just like you and I have. Also, the second part of that verse reveals a unique feature of God’s glory, namely He has never sinned at any time, since He is God. So Romans 3:23 is a double blow to the immaculate conception of Mary belief, which has absolutely no support from the Bible. (Catholicism must go to other sources outside the Holy Scriptures for its teaching.)

Only Jesus Was Sinless.

Besides Rom. 3:23, other Scriptures speak of only one who was without sin—the Lord Jesus—with never any mention of Mary:

“For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are—yet was without sin.” (Heb 4:15)
    “God made him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.” (2 Cor 5:21)

“But with the precious blood of Christ, a lamb without blemish or defect.” (1 Pet 1:19)

“He committed no sin, and no deceit was found in his mouth.” (1 Pet 2:22)

“Such a high priest meets our need—one who is holy, blameless, pure, set apart from sinners, exalted above the heavens.” (Heb 7:26)

According to these verses of Scripture (or the teaching of the earliest Christian church), Jesus never sinned, but everyone else has. All others have been guilty of sin at sometime in their life, which is also shown elsewhere in Scripture:

“For God has bound all men over to disobedience so that he may have mercy on them all.” (Rom 11:32)

“If we claim we have not sinned, we make him out to be a liar and his word has no place in our lives.” (1 John 1:10)

Certainly, Mary is included in these last two verses, which indicts her like the rest of us as people who have sinned. Hence, we all need a Savior. Certainly, Mary knew her own need of this as shown in the following Scripture:

“And my spirit rejoices in God my Savior” (Luke 1:47)

The Conclusion From Scripture

From an unscriptural belief about Mary’s conception, many have been further misled to trust in her instead of the God of the Scriptures. This God has revealed His truth in the Bible, which leads us to the Lord Jesus. He alone is the Christian’s refuge, hope, strength, etc. Spiritual life is only found in him, according to Scripture. He is to be the object of our faith for salvation. This is vital truth for many sincere Catholics because the Mary of Catholicism is not the Mary of the Bible.

One is surely making the gravest of all mistakes by rejecting God’s eternal truth given to mankind in the Bible for anything else, even if it comes through a vision accompanied by miracles. Dear reader, may this not be the case with you. Remember, nothing can be wrong with going solely by what the Bible declares, which is foundational to the Christian life as well as salvation itself. This is the only safe, sure way to know God’s truth.

16. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Zoe | November 19, 2011 at 11:10 AM |
    “According to these verses of Scripture (or the teaching of the earliest Christian church), Jesus never sinned, but everyone else has.”

You have responded to the question of the immaculate conception true to form. But I have already presented a better defence on your behalf FOC. Don’t jeopardise your chances. The judges’ decision is awaited!

Would you call getting into a fit of anger in the temple and damaging people’s property sin or just breaking man-made laws?
    If Jesus the son is the same as god the father then explain the conundrum:
    The son Jesus (SUN) descended on the day of the Enunciation (25th of March 4 days after the Vernal Equinox in the Northern Hemisphere) and “knew” a sinful under-age virgin (Virgo) his own mother (incest aka Isis / Horus complex or Grecian Oedipus complex) to be thus giving her “arranged marriage” husband Joseph a ready-made jacket (fornication, adultery and coveting another’s wife (property)). Nine months later (25th of December- 4 days after the Winter Solstice -the opening of the womb) an illegitimate child is born in a cow shed or sheep pen away from social opprobrium and prying eyes (other than the light from the 3 stars in the belt of Orion and directed by the God (dog) star Sirius).

What a Christian parody of pagan astrological story telling!

17. Sex During Menstruation

You shall not approach a woman to uncover her nakedness as long as she is in her customary impurity. (Leviticus 18:19)

I. God hates it.

Indeed the marriage bed is undefiled (Hebrews 13:4), but there is something that can defile the marriage bed. Besides “strangers with you” (Proverbs 5:17), sexual intercourse during menstruation also defiles. Even though Leviticus 18:19 is in the law, and Christ is the end of the law for righteousness for everyone who believes (Romans 10:4), it nonetheless reveals that sex during menstruation is an abomination to God.

Several other sins are listed off in Leviticus 18, sex with near of kin, marrying a woman and her sister, adultery, idolatry, homosexuality, and bestiality. These are all identified as things that defile and are things that God hates, as the following verses declare:

Do not defile yourselves with any of these things; for by all these the nations are defiled, which I am casting out before you. For the land is defiled; therefore I visit the punishment of its iniquity upon it, and the land vomits out its inhabitants. You shall therefore keep My statutes and My judgments, and shall not commit any of these abominations, either any of your own nation or any stranger who dwells among you (for all these abominations the men of the land have done, who were before you, and thus the land is defiled), lest the land vomit you out also when you defile it, as it vomited out the nations that were before you. For whoever commits any of these abominations, the persons who commit them shall be cut off from among their people. Therefore you shall keep My ordinance, so that you do not commit any of these abominable customs which were committed before you, and that you do not defile yourselves by them: I am the Lord your God. (Leviticus 18:24-30)

Before this law was given to Moses (Leviticus 18:1), the nations and their land had already been defiled by these things, and the land had already vomited out nations that practiced them. This makes it clear, that these practices, which includes sex during menstruation, are, according to God, evil (i.e. sinful) and He viewed them as evil before the law was given to Moses.

Furthermore, the decree God gave the Israelites for anyone who had sex during the menstrual cycle was death.

If a man lies with a woman during her sickness and uncovers her nakedness, he has exposed her flow, and she has uncovered the flow of her blood. Both of them shall be cut off from their people. (Leviticus 20:18)

The Lord obviously takes this very seriously and instructed the Israelites to kill anyone who did such a thing (cut off = put to death, see e.g. Exodus 31:14; Leviticus 20:1-5; Daniel 9:26).

Therefore, God’s condemnation of the wicked people of Jerusalem, although under the law at that time, is nonetheless a warning to all. In the context of a list of some very wicked things, the Lord says,

In you men uncover their fathers’ nakedness; in you they violate women who are set apart during their impurity. (Ezekiel 22:10)

God hates this practice.

II. It’s a Matter of Righteousness and Life and Death

Ezekiel 18 further reveals that sex during menses is indeed ungodly. Notice how the Lord describes a “just” man (vs 9) in Ezekiel 18:5-9:

But if a man is just and does what is lawful and right; if he has not eaten on the mountains, nor lifted up his eyes to the idols of the house of Israel, nor defiled his neighbor’s wife, nor approached a woman during her impurity; (Ezekiel 18:5-6)

Along with several other things that depict a “just” (righteous) man, is one who does not approach “a woman during her impurity.” God says this man “shall surely live!” (Ezekiel 18:9) Conversely, after this the Lord says if this just man,

begets a son who is a robber or a shedder of blood, who does any of these things . . . (Ezekiel 18:10)

What is in view with the words, “who does any of these things”? One of those things is approaching “a woman during her impurity.” God says of this man,

If he has done any of these abominations, he shall surely die; his blood shall be upon him. (Ezekiel 18:13)

The death God speaks of here is one of eternal death (Revelation 20:14). This is made clear later in the chapter where He says,

“The soul who sins shall die. The son shall not bear the guilt of the father, nor the father bear the guilt of the son. The righteousness of the righteous shall be upon himself, and the wickedness of the wicked shall be upon himself.”

“But if a wicked man turns from all his sins which he has committed, keeps all My statutes, and does what is lawful and right, he shall surely live; he shall not die. None of the transgressions which he has committed shall be remembered against him; because of the righteousness which he has done, he shall live. Do I have any pleasure at all that the wicked should die?” says the Lord God, “and not that he should turn from his ways and live?”

“But when a righteous man turns away from his righteousness and commits iniquity, and does according to all the abominations that the wicked man does, shall he live? All the righteousness which he has done shall not be remembered; because of the unfaithfulness of which he is guilty and the sin which he has committed, because of them he shall die.” (Ezekiel 18:20-24)

All men die, the righteous and the wicked (Ecclesiastes 2:14-16; 9:2-3), but not all men will be dead (Matthew 22:31-32; John 8:51; 11:26). The Lord is not speaking of simply physical death in Ezekiel 18. He is indicating their eternal home, life or death (Isaiah 66:24). Sexual intercourse during a period is a serious matter.

So, how long should one wait? In the law, the woman was unclean for seven days (Leviticus 12:2). This is a typical cycle, somewhere around seven days for it to be complete. Leviticus 20:18 describes the concern to be with the flow of blood. Actually, the answer to how long one should wait is quite simple. When the period is over, when there is no blood flow, then clearly there is no abomination before God if sexual intercourse is resumed (Hebrews 13:4).

Now, some may wonder about Leviticus 15:19-24, 32-33.

If a woman has a discharge, and the discharge from her body is blood, she shall be set apart seven days; and whoever touches her shall be unclean until evening. Everything that she lies on during her impurity shall be unclean; also everything that she sits on shall be unclean. Whoever touches her bed shall wash his clothes and bathe in water, and be unclean until evening. And whoever touches anything that she sat on shall wash his clothes and bathe in water, and be unclean until evening. If anything is on her bed or on anything on which she sits, when he touches it, he shall be unclean until evening. And if any man lies with her at all, so that her impurity is on him, he shall be unclean seven days; and every bed on which he lies shall be unclean. (Leviticus 15:19-24)

This is the law for one who has a discharge, and for him who emits semen and is unclean thereby, and for her who is indisposed because of her customary impurity, and for one who has a discharge, either man or woman, and for him who lies with her who is unclean. (Leviticus 15:32-33)

Is the issue here having sex, or simply lying down with a woman during this time? It appears to be the latter. In Leviticus 20:18, five chapters later, sex is definitely the context, and the practice is seriously condemned. Here, in Leviticus 15, there is no such language of condemnation, but simply an uncleanness for seven days, and not even a sin-offering for the man is required.

Thus, for a practical application for today, it is not that a man can’t sleep (sleep, that is) with his wife during her time, or even enjoy her breasts (Proverbs 5:19 “at all times”). It’s the sexual intercourse and the exposure of the flow of blood that God forbids (Leviticus 20:18).

Finally, what if a husband were to demand to have intercourse during his wife’s menstrual cycle? Should the wife submit to this (1 Peter 3:1-6)? No, it is an abomination to God (Leviticus 18:19-30). She should resist this even to her own death (Revelation 12:11). As it is written,

For consider Him who endured such hostility from sinners against Himself, lest you become weary and discouraged in your souls. You have not yet resisted to bloodshed, striving against sin. (Hebrews 12:3-4)

Resisting and striving against sin, even to the point of bloodshed, is Biblical. The people of faith in Hebrews 11 knew this well, that is, those who were tortured, scourged, stoned, slain with the sword, and sawn in two (Hebrews 11:35-37).

Of course, if a woman was overpowered by her husband, and the woman was an unwilling participant, then she has not sinned. The husband sinned, but the woman would be as one who was raped as in Deuteronomy 22.

If a man finds a betrothed young woman in the countryside, and the man forces her and lies with her, then only the man who lay with her shall die. But you shall do nothing to the young woman; there is in the young woman no sin deserving of death, for just as when a man rises against his neighbor and kills him, even so is this matter. For he found her in the countryside, and the betrothed young woman cried out, but there was no one to save her. (Deuteronomy 22:25-27)

III. God’s View of Menstruation

In addition, God’s view of menstruation, even though He is the one who made it (Romans 11:36), is not one of pleasantries. He uses the woman’s monthly cycle as an illustration of severe disgust and hatred. Ezekiel 36:17 illustrates this:

Son of man, when the house of Israel dwelt in their own land, they defiled it by their own ways and deeds; to Me their way was like the uncleanness of a woman in her customary impurity. (note also verse 18)

Israel’s sin was seriously wicked (e.g. 2 Kings 17:7-18), and the Lord hated their ways so much, He likened it to menses.1

Even men’s own righteousness God likens to a rag of menstruations.

But we are all like an unclean thing, and all our righteousnesses are like filthy rags; (Isaiah 64:6; in the Hebrew text it is Isaiah 64:5)

A more literal translation of this is, “all our righteousnesses are like a rag of periods.” The Hebrew word בֶגֶד (beged) for “rag” (or “rags” as the NKJV has it) is actually in the singular, and the Hebrew word עִדִּים (`iddiym) translated “filthy” is actually in the plural, and is more akin to our word “period” or “time” than “filthy” (see Lexicons, Brown, Driver, and Briggs, p. 723 or Koehler and Baumgartner, p. 790).

IV. Conclusion

The Bible makes it clear that God’s view of a woman’s monthly cycle is one of disgust and an unclean thing, and intercourse during this time is something He hates. It’s an abomination to Him. So, be warned, those who practice what God hates will spend forever in eternal torment in the lake of fire (Revelation 21:8), because they are abominable and unclean (Ephesians 5:5).

Endnote:

1. Lamentations 1:17 in the KJV reads,

Jerusalem is as a menstruous woman among them.

The NKJV reads,

Jerusalem has become an unclean thing among them. (Lamentations 1:17)

The Hebrew noun translated “menstruous woman” (KJV) and “unclean thing” (NKJV) is נִדָּה (niddâh) and is used for the “impurity” of menstruation (Leviticus 12:2, 5; 15:19-20, 24, 25 [3x], 26 [2x], 33; 18:19; Ezekiel 18:6; 22:10; 36:17) and also other impurities, taking a brother’s wife (Leviticus 20:21), or the water of “purification” (Numbers 19:9, 13, 20-21 [2x]; 31:23); “rubbish” (2 Chronicles 29:5 KJV; NKJV); “unclean” & “uncleanness” (Ezra 9:11 [2x]; KJV “unclean”; “filthiness”); “unclean thing” (Lamentations 1:17; KJV “a mentruous woman”); “refuse” (Ezekiel 7:19; “removed” KJV), 20 (“far” KJV); “vile” (Lamentations 1:8; “removed” KJV); and “uncleaness” (Zechariah 13:1). The related verb, נָדָה (nâdâh), is found only in Isaiah 66:5 (“cast . . . out” KJV; NKJV) and Amos 6:3 (“put far away” KJV; “put far off” NKJV).

If Almighty God was still dealing with mankind today, as He dealt with the Jews in the OT, and other wicked, evil, Pagan nations, the vast majority of us, would be in HELL already, BUT, because of His Grace, Mercy, and Love, being extended to us NOW, in The Lord Jesus Christ, His Righteous Wrath and judgment is being restrained, BUT, time is running out quickly, as we are in the End-Time scenario of all prophetic consummation!

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Zoe | November 19, 2011 at 12:37 PM |

So Zoe I take it you have never been “through the red lights”.
    Good for you for obeying god’s instruction. Neither have I also. So you see I do follow go(o)d personal hygiene practices.

But what about the other verses that follow (20-27) in which your good requires that the woman be put away and isolated for a week fearing contamination arising from contact? You do not speak to this. Do you carry out this pariah approach to your female friends and family members? I certainly don’t? Beg to differ to you on this one!
    Please don’t quote from the Book of Ezekiel which, from your previous silence, you don’t accept as the word of your god but as hallucinogenic ramblings of a mad writer. (A case of mirror, mirror on the wall!)

19. Quoting Zoe “Zoe | November 19, 2011 at 12:37 PM | Sex During Menstruation…You shall not approach a woman to uncover her nakedness as long as she is in her customary impurity. (Leviticus 18:19)…I. God hates it.”

Dear Zoe here is a question from a woman whon spent 456 months menstruating, and was never able to discover the hour, nor the minute or the second when my menstruation started. If in 456 months I was never able to discover this how could my husband, my boyfriend, my pastor, my priest, my doctor or YOU discover when each period started and when each ended. Therefore it seems to me that I and ever woman who has ever lived and who has ever had sex must have abominated God. Is God going to send us all to hell? Is heaven an all male club?

It is clear that you and the other men who wrote and edited the BIble know little about menstruation, so I’ll tell you that menstruation is a gradual process. And for the first few hours of the process a woman is generally unaware that menstruation has started, and if the womanis unaware therefore her male partmer is also unaware. It is likely that every man who has ever had sex with a woman has discovered only after the sex act that her menstruation had started.

20. @Zoe. Do us all a favour and move to Iran, but make sure that you embrace fundamentalist Islaam first. Then you can stone and degrade women, hang homosexuals and generally give vent to all the urges that make you, in our enlightend and Christian society, a certifiable nut case. I cannot believe that in 2011 in Barbados a sociopath like you still actually exists.

21. IS it true that human beings evolved from a snake ??

IS it true that this is reflected in the shape and appearance of ‘SPERM ??? ——->

JUST ASKING
    JUST ASKING

22. Quotiog Zoe “[The Protestant Reformation] made the Word of God, the Bible, with its instructions accessible to ALL.”

Actually it was the invventinof the printing press that made the Eord of GOd, the Bible, with its instructions accessible to many.

The Protestant Reformaton [and the printing press] notwithstanding there are still millions of people who cannot read the Bible, the Koran, the Torah etc. and there are millions more too poor to afford such books.

Just saying…

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ JUST ASKING | November 19, 2011 at 6:35 PM |
    The first characteristic of a person deemed capable of initiation into a higher state of knowledge is the innocent questions posed by that person with deep relevance to spiritual knowledge. Now to achieve your 1st degree (33 1/3 is the max for humans 34 for earthly gods, just for the record) you will have to juxtapose what you said against the role of the serpent in the Garden of Eden who is allegorically blamed for enticing Eve into eating from the tree of knowledge of good and evil! Understand that and we will proceed to the next degree!

24. But in defense of the BIBLE it says that MARY was conceived by the HOLY SPIRIT. also that a virgin (MARY) will become pregnant . Also that Joseph had no sexual relations with mary !Is all this scriptual incorrect For as i have been told her that the BIBLE is the WORD of GOD and GOD does not LIE!

25. For the LORD God is a sun and shield: the LORD will givegrace and glory: no good thing will he withhold from them that walk uprightly.Psalm 84:11 (King James Version).

26. “The Sun of Righteousness will arise with healing in his wings.”
    MALACI.
    The face of Christ as the sun is likewise revealed at Revelation 1:16:

“…in his right hand he held seven stars, from his mouth issued a sharp two-edged sword, and his face was like the sun shining in full strength.”

“I Jesus have sent my angel to you with this testimony for the churches. I am the root and the offspring of David, the bright morning star.”- Revelation 22:16.

“I am the light of the world that every eye will see.”

27. Book of Ezekiel

Author: The Prophet Ezekiel is the author of the Book (Ezekiel 1:3). He was a contemporary of both Jeremiah and Daniel.

Date of Writing: The Book of Ezekiel was likely written between 593 and 565 B.C. during the Babylonian captivity of the Jews.

Purpose of Writing: Ezekiel ministered to his generation who were both exceedingly sinful and thoroughly hopeless. By means of his prophetic ministry he attempted to bring them to immediate repentance and to confidence in the distant future. He taught that: (1) God works through human messengers; (2) Even in defeat and despair God’s people need to affirm God’s sovereignty; (3) God’s Word never fails; (4) God is present and can be worshiped anywhere; (5) People must obey God if they expect to receive blessings; and (6) God’s Kingdom will come.

Key Verses: Ezekiel 2:3-6, “He said: ‘Son of man, I am sending you to the Israelites, to a rebellious nation that has rebelled against me; they and their fathers have been in revolt against me to this very day. The people to whom I am sending you are obstinate and stubborn. Say to them, “This is what the Sovereign LORD says.” And whether they listen or fail to listen – for they are a rebellious house – they will know that a prophet has been among them.’”

Ezekiel 18:4, “For every living soul belongs to me, the father as well as the son – both alike belong to me. The soul who sins is the one who will die.”

Ezekiel 33:11, “Say to them, ‘As surely as I live, declares the Sovereign LORD, I take no pleasure in the death of the wicked, but rather that they turn from their ways and live. Turn! Turn from your evil ways! Why will you die, O house of Israel?’”

Ezekiel 48:35, “And the name of the city from that time on will be: THE LORD IS THERE.”

Brief Summary: How can you cope with a world gone astray? Ezekiel, destined to begin his life’s ministry as a priest at age thirty, was uprooted from his homeland and marched off to Babylon at age of twenty-five. For five years he languished in despair. At age thirty a majestic vision of Yahweh’s glory captivated his being in Babylon. The priest/prophet discovered God was not confined to the narrow strictures of Ezekiel’s native land. Instead, He is a universal God who commands and controls persons and nations. In Babylon, God imparted to Ezekiel His Word for the people. His call experience transformed Ezekiel. He became avidly devoted to God’s Word. He realized he had nothing personally to assist the captives in their bitter situation, but he was convinced God’s Word spoke to their condition and could give them victory in it. Ezekiel used various methods to convey God’s Word to his people. He used art in drawing a depiction of Jerusalem, symbolic actions and unusual conduct to secure attention. He cut his hair and beard to demonstrate what God would do to Jerusalem and its inhabitants.

Ezekiel’s book can be divided into four sections:
    Chapters 1-24: prophecies on the ruin of Jerusalem
    Chapters 25-32: prophecies of God’s judgment on nearby nations
    Chapter 33: a last call for repentance to Israel
    Chapters 34-48: prophecies concerning the future restoration of Israel

Foreshadowings: Ezekiel 34 is the chapter wherein God denounces the leaders of Israel as false shepherds for their poor care of His people. Instead of caring for the sheep of Israel, they cared for themselves. They ate well, were well-clothed and well-cared for by the very people they had been placed over (Ezekiel 34:1-3). By contrast, Jesus is the Good Shepherd who lays down His life for the sheep and who protects them from the wolves who would destroy the flock (John 10:11-12). Verse 4 of chapter 34 describes people whom the shepherds failed to minister to as weak, sick, injured and lost. Jesus is the Great Physician who heals our spiritual wounds (Isaiah 53:5) by His death on the cross. He is the one who seeks and saves that which is lost (Luke 19:10).

Practical Application: The Book of Ezekiel calls us to join in a fresh and living encounter with the God of Abraham, Moses and the prophets. We must be overcomers or we will be overcome. Ezekiel challenged us to experience a life changing vision of God’s power, knowledge, eternal presence and holiness; to let God direct us; to comprehend the depth of and commitment to evil that lodges in each human heart; to recognize that God holds His servants responsible for warning wicked men of their peril; to experience a living relationship with Jesus Christ, who said that the new covenant is to be found in His blood.

New Agers, Raelians, like Nnaki, et al who want to equate what God’s prophet Ezekiel saw in visions of God, with modern day Satanic driven UFO, alien oriented DECEPTION, as Satan who IS* the father of all lies, and counterfieter of Almighty God, has been attempting to deceive mankind with his UFO, alien LIES and deception; IMPOSTER! LIAR!

The introduction to this vision’ His Angels, that Almighty God gave Ezekiel is magnificent and awakening. The prophet, observing the heavens to open, LOOKED, looked up. To clear the way, Ezekiel SAW magnificent cherub, cherubim, Almighty God’s created creatures, Angelic hosts, with incredible descriptive language, “…for their appearance was LIKE burning coals of fire…” each and every other derscription of this vision Almighty God gave Ezekiel, is significant.

Ezekiel’s conclusion of this vision. “This was the appearance of the LIKENESS of the Glory of the LORD. Here, as all along, the prophet is careful to guard against all gross corporeal thoughts of Almighty God. He does not say, This was the Lord (for He is invisible), BUT, “This was the Glory OF the Lord…” in which He was pleased to manifest Himself a Glorious being, YET, it is not ‘the glory of the Lord, BUT, the LIKENESS* of that Glory, some faint resemblance of it; nor is it any adequate likeness of that GLORY*, but only the appearance* of that LIKENESS*, a shadow of it, and not the very image of the thing, Hebrews 10: 1. When I saw IT, I fell upon my face. Ezekiel was overpowered by it. He fell upon his face in token of that Holy awe and reverence with which his mind was possessed and filled. All he saw was only to prepare him for that which he was to hear; for FAITH comes by hearing. God delights to teach the humble.

Satan has been DECEIVING many, in recent times with his COUNTERFIET attempts at such things, with his UFO, alien appearances, as given to Raelien, et al, all of whose messages, are to discredit Almighty God’s, historic divine revelation, as contained in His Word, the Bible.

Nnaki, Yes, you have swallowed, in your Pythonated GUT, and deceived brain, a JACKASS of HOGWASH LIES, exactly AS* Satan intented, for you et al such ignorant Raelien followers and travellers!

——————————————————————————–