Read Mia Mottleyโ€™s Letter to the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) announcing her withdrawal to contest the post of Chairman

Mia Mottley MP

On May 22rd this year, I announced my intention to contest the post of Chairman of the Barbados Labour Party. I made it clear that I was running on a platform to secure for every member of our Party the right that all Members of Parliament enjoy – to participate and vote at our Annual Conference, our highest decision-making body.

In 1951, the Right Excellent Sir Grantley Adams fought for and won the right for every adult Barbadian to vote. On this 60th anniversary of that momentous victory for Barbadian democracy it is only fitting that his Party, our Party, should enhance our own internal democracy by ensuring that every member has the right to vote. Indeed, this is consistent with section 11 of the BLP Constitution, which states as follows:-

โ€œThe purpose of this Constitution is to provide for procedures and practices which are democratic and efficient to the end that all Barbados Labour Party members may participate meaningfully and effectively in the deliberations and activities of THE PARTY.โ€

Read Full text of Mottleyโ€™s letter

81 responses to “Mia Mottley Accuses The Barbados Labour Party Of Reducing The Rights Of Women And Young People And Announces Her Withdrawal From the Race To Contest Chairmanship”

1. Put another way, ” I don’t want ladybird to put some warm licks in my backside, so I done………..I withdraw”

2. What utter nonsense reducing rights of women and young people! It will simply mean that a person CANNOT vote three times for a candidate! OR is this what they were hoping for? How can a person really effectively be a delegate and contribute meaningfully at the conference sitting in possibly three different organs.Something really smells in her reasoning.Again this year she smelt the coffee and ran!!

3. I served the BLP for many years, but was forced to withdraw from amongst them for a number of reasons, particularly the behaviour of Mia Mottley. She appears to be spoilt and must get things her way or no way.

I cannot therefore sit idly by and allow Miss Mottley to portray herself as a victim in order to garner sympathy. Let me therefore give you some idea of how she respects the party’s rules by giving an example using the treatment meted out to me. In 2002 at the close of nominations for internal party elections I was the only person nominated for the post of General Secretary. Initially, when I heard that I was nominated I intended to withdraw but I was persuaded to leave my name in nomination because it would have looked bad if the BLP could not attract one candidate for the important post of General Secretary. I was therefore elected unopposed. During the conference I has reason to leave Combermere Hall where the meeting was taking place to assist in the bar because the person that was delegated to work did not turn up. While I was there someone came outside and started to abuse me for withdrawing in favour of Miss Mottley. That was the first time that I knew that I had withdrawn. Miss Mottley became General Secretary and amazingly she had not even been nominated when nominations closed.

My understanding is that she sent in her nomination two weeks after nominations were closed.

While I am at it let me address another self-serving section of her letter. She wrote,

“While the National Council has the power to propose Standing Orders to the Annual Conference and any Special Conference, it does not have the power to ratify them in advance of the Conference. It is appalling that it has acted in this manner”.

Now read for yourselves paragraph 86 of the BLP’s Constitution which states:

“There shall be elected at the first meeting of the National Executive Committee after the Annual Conference a Standing Orders Committee consisting of three members which shall make recommendations as to the Standing Orders to the National Executive Committee. The National Executive Committee shall then be empowered to formulate The Standing Orders of THE PARTY and to make such amendments from time to time as it deems fit. The Standing Orders when so formulated or amended as the case may be shall be considered for all purposes as if they form part of this Constitution and shall have effect accordingly”.

She then went on to ask if internal victory at all cost for certain interest is worth jeopardizing the party’s image. She should do what I did back then for the good of the party, Shut up!

4. Just asking for what ? Avatar
    Just asking for what ?

The BLP style lights, action, cameras the Razzmatazz the way the BLP like it.

I will tell you that Mottley is a spineless beast to be spitted on as she has by Arthur but still want to be holding on for the scraps from the table of power is very sickening and sad for a woman with the bite that she carries.

5. Wuhloss David,

A few days ago I warned my BLP liliputians on this site that a tsunami of the magnitude witnessed above was pending.

Since last year (2010) BLP Annual Conference Owen Arthur and his 5 man gang have refused to address the issue of voter padding/rigging as expressed by Rawle Eastmond and others in the BLP.

So here it is the BLP members cannot interpret or respect their party’s constitution….and want Barbadians to trust them with our National Constitution ?

And Caswell Franklyn only after Mia Mottley’s throat because when Mia took over from David Simmons……she had to call in Caswell Franklyn’s car loan from government.

That in itself speaks about his ” CLEAN HANDS”

I hope potential trade union members note his name and ANTECEDENTS !

What a sorry bunch in the Fractured BLP Party !

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The women of Barbados will deal with Owen at the next general election.
    He replacing a real woman with a mock woman.

7. @ Just asking for what?

I agree with you. Mia must have a good stomach to come back for a second load of crap from Arthur. – but time longer than twine

8. But wait who wearing the pants and who wearing the dress in all of this ??

It got me confused for real, this story got some real bite to it tonight in truth !

I here bussing ma guts laughing,

It took a while but it now come home to roost the evil that they inflicted in their time of power and control now come back to bite all of them, they say pay back is a bitch and long may they feel the bite and the pay back, an evil corrupt bunch of vagabonds and crooks.

9. Ya Lie !!!

And Caswell Franklyn only after Mia Mottleyโ€™s throat because when Mia took over from David Simmonsโ€ฆโ€ฆshe had to call in Caswell Franklynโ€™s car loan from government.

10. You hit the nail on the head here my friend, this must leave you to wonder what this group did while serving as the gov’t ?

Did they also tamper with the voting in the general elections ?

After all, if they clearly and obviously were prepared to tamper with their internal voting process what would they stop at to control the treasury and their personal funding agency the gov’t of Barbados ?

Fractured BLP, Since last year (2010) BLP Annual Conference Owen Arthur and his 5 man gang have refused to address the issue of voter padding/rigging as expressed by Rawle Eastmond and others in the BLP

11. What we are seeing here is the Arthur BLP falling in line. Mia will have to ask herself some serious questions now.

12. and of course the DLP is reveling in the distraction.

13. David, What can she ask and expect to get out of that asking ?

The barrel right now as it is is empty for her the Arthur faction have spoken and take it from me the others will fall by the wayside very shortly as well, I put it to you that now he has put Mottley in check he will remove both of her remaing supporters in Eastmond and Forde in short order, they are no longer relevant to his program or plan and out they must go.

14. Mia should remember is better to be carried up on the backs of those who want you for higher office than trying to trample on the backs of others in the naked scramble for power.

15. Fractured BLP | September 19, 2011 at 9:25 PM |

From what you have written, I can tell that your first draft was in crayon.

Mia had nothing to do with calling in my car loan. Back then we were on good terms and she offered to speak to the Prime Minister on my behalf. I declined the offer, and put the Government in court instead. The court returned my car on the first day of hearing and I was eventually paid $11,000 for my troubles.

I don’t beg favours when I have right on my side: I use all legitimate means available to me. My hands are quite clean, even the High Court agrees. I don’t tell lies, not even to discredit someone: I can do a better job with the truth.

16. @Franklyn… Is this you?

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/caswells-frank-approach/

A man who would not sell something just because it was worth money?

Like, for example, your integrity.

17. When I read the contents of Miss Mottley’s letter I see many unrelated points which only suggest that Miss Mottley smelt the rat and has decided to chuck in the towel before she is beaten in the contest. No other candidate has complained about the process. No other candidate seems to think that he/she is without a chance in the election to the NEC I .Ithink she is calling Sir Grantley’s name in vain because Sir Grantley always had a Delegate Conference in his time. There was no place then and there is no place no to holld a members conference in Barbados. I have tried to find out where members are disenfranchaised. I would like some one to show me. This tirade simply explains Miss Mottley to Barbadians and I think they will see her as she is.She isl trying to make statements hoping to get sympathy. Barbadians are foolish. I can understand the Dems gloating, This impasse will not help them, They are too incompetent.

18. What Mia is saying, “if I can’t be the leader of the BLP in the next elections, I brekking it up.” What a disloyal party menber!!!!!!!! Even before David Thompson’s death, I heard Mia was behaving in a manner that was no siuted as a leader of the opposition, it is alleged she was spoken to but she was unrepentent, therefore to save face the BLP was forced to remove her, this information while serious was confidential and such could not be made public, little sip-bits were released in the weakileak. However, it seems Mia is now a ragging BULL and is destined to destroy anyone or anything that comes in her path, the unfortunate thing about it is that she has a following. Obviously Mia does not have the BLP party of the interest of Barbados at heart, just her own selfish gains. I hope the DLP don’t try using this to get her to jump ship because she spell disaster for any party once she cannot have her way; right now the only persons within the DLP that is capable of handling Mia are Sinckler, Estwick and maybe Kellman, she will run havoc in that party in a short while. Mia’s only goal right now is to become P.M of Barbados and she would steamroll anyone or anything that gets in her path, God help this country if this ever happens.

19. I think there is still time for some purging within the party and still be ready to, if not win, show a strong presence at the next general election, failing this and if they allow this cancer to grow, they will be beaten almost as badly as the DLP was beaten in Owen’s second term.

20. @The Scout… Have you considered the possibility that any party might win? We’re 14 months off…

The incumbents won’t leave the fattened calf.

It’s their turn.

We were told this.

21. @Scout
    How is Mia trying to break up the BLP? Since Owen’s UWI speech Mia has been very circumspect in her comments, and public actions. With this latest โ€œattackโ€ she feels an injustice was perpetrated against her and she wrote a letter outlining her grievance and you can conclude that she wants to break up the party? Are you serious????

22. Are we to believe that Mia Mottley is such a Monster, so bad for Barbados -in spite of her tremendous success in her constituency- that Owen Arthur would risk the integrity and unity of the BLP -which he said within recent times that he is fighting hard save- and also risk a good showing in the next election that he would as Peter Wickham mused in his recent article treat to a former Deputy Prime Minister, and Leader of the opposition in such a publicly distasteful way? We all know of Arthurโ€™s propensity to “legally defame” Barbadian citizens; —- is no one safe from this man who liken himself unto Fidel Castro? I must ask Owen Arthur as Sincler did in his Budget rap up “What is it about Bay street that you Owen Arthur is in such a unfocused hurry to return there? What?

23. Mottley is certainly and very clearly used goods, little did she or the BLP know that by 19 th Sept 2011 that the part would be in such an uproar and divided and figting so viciously.

She obviously stands for nothing having received the first political salvo form the office of the UWI until now and she has not had the balls to say to Arthur so long good bye, I done with that !

What makes her want power so badly that she is prepared to have every aspect of both her private life and her public life exposed to the public in a most vicious and nasty way knowm to man , woman or lesbian ?

Bearing in mind that with power on her side she was no candy either as she hired her women at the CBC like there was no tomorrow, and gave the Carol Roberts construction work that was beyond her abilites, nor can we forget her threat that if local construction companies did not fall in re the matter of Chinese workers at Four Seasons that they should know that they would receive a VAT and TAX AUDIT, so she aint too nice either.

24. I must ask Owen Arthur as Sincler did in his Budget rap up โ€œWhat is it about Bay street that you Owen Arthur is in such a unfocused hurry to return there? What?

*********************************************************************************************
    When you have finished asking him that, ask the people actually living in Barbados, if they would facilitate his hurried return to Bay Street?

25. MM is just proving to bajans both blp and dlp why she is ready to be PM, and that she is not a team player and is self serving.. All for the love of power.

26. Mia and Owen have both engaged in personal short term Mutually Assured Destruction. Owen has no forseeable long term and Mia’s long term is moot. They have also ensured that the BLP will be in the political wilderness for quite a while. In the meantime they have both done the country a grave disservice by leaving it in the clutches of a far from ready DLP at a time when the country needs a strong, well lead, and sensible Party in Power.

27. Mr. Boyce, note that NOW is planning a significant lobby during the next general election. It is reasonable to assume that NOWโ€™s efforts will focus on the advancement of women. Please ensure that MESA is as influential and that men are not in anyway disadvantaged.

28. Imagine the President of NOW saying that she intends to play a major role in the next elections for the advancement of women. Is this the same woman who the DLP treated with scant respect just a while ago? When she was removed, I did not hear of the DLP keeping down women and all the crap I heard her saying today?

If only these people knew why Mia was removed, they would be ashamed to back her.

As for Peter Wickham, he should really shut up. His views are no longer relevant. I heard him carry on Mia so scruffy one night on VOB’s Tell it Like It Is program, I was angry. It was the occasion when there was the judgement in the B/dos/T’dad fishing dispute. He was so rude and condescending, refused to let her talk and finally asked her do you think spending 11 million dollars on this was a good use of taxpayers’ money. He said I dont think so, it was a hollow victory and cut her off. So I find it strange that he who is so discredited, now is defending her.

Trying to redeem himself to become relevant again???

29. Scout I must agree with you . Well said.It is clear , if she can’t lead then destroy, but she nor the rest of Barbados really do not know the members of the BLP . Try to destroy their party and they will take you to pieces..Stay tuned.

30. It is I who declared one rule for men and another for women. It is I who said that as long as I lead this party for which I had no intention to run again, but only in good faith because I am recalled, that I feel Cyntie and MAM should know their places. Politics is the hunting ground of real men. Women make good deputies, ask Billie or even Mia. It is I that say men may do de dog with other men wives, daughters, girlfriends, and get away wid a smile or skin teet. It is I who say dat women cant do nothing wrong except be virtuous followers to I Tacitus. Georgie, I am not done wid you; I cuss you about your mother before and I will do it again.

31. Both Mottley and Arthur can go to hell in a pan cart, neither of them have any honour or morals both are as bad as each other, vagabonds to the bone.

Keep the fight going I heard that joker Linton trying to see no wrong with Arthur where was he living ??? did he not see the VECO ore DANOS issues ?

32. austin
    show me one a dem dat in love power n I would show you a idiot. she is not alone star-boy. you would like lil power now yaself ta remove me from BU but ya power-lessss in dah respeck. LOL. ( do thra a tantrum pun me now)

Tacitus
    ya got ma cryinnnnnnnnnnnn. whey you now cum frum boe? ya insane.

Prodigal
    Peter Wickham silence Mia? NOt in a towsand years. You in no wah you tawkin bout. It would tek ten mo Wickhams ta quiet dah ‘roarin-lion’. doan mek sport.
    But lemma hear de rale reason why Mia was removed nah. N doan tell me na shoite bout ‘it was she lifestyle’ causen you kno n all a we kno dat Owen did fcukin evry Mary, Jane n Sue n breedin evry Tom, Dick n Harry. So doan cum wid dah but gimma a lil hint.

33. @ CARSON C. CADOGAN

I am a woman in Barbados and yes we will deal with Owne Arthur in the election by voting for him. He has the fortitude to deal with a bully in a woman’s body but pretending to be a man. She cannot speak for us women. We know the truth.

WOMAN

34. J.Selena
    So wait, when you state dat ‘we woman will vote for Owen ……………..’ aren’t you speaking for us women too? So why can’t Mia de Maguffy, speak fa we too? She isn’t a woman like we too? (doan ansa dah)
    But be careful how ya spread proppa- ganda bout she trap in a woman body hare? de las time I check, ya does still get sew fa li-bull n ‘definition’ a characta. watch ya lipz.
    You soun rale bitta bout she. She try ta b/eat you tu? Kool de pas-shun.

35. @BONNY PEPPA

Real women have the right to speak for women. A real woman would never let anyone who is not designed to do the job well b/eat her.

WOMAN

36. All of this talk about who could speak for women, I am the real deal. In vagina monologues cats of all types talk, but I Tacitus say that MAM not talking for anyone; she nor Cyntie. I doing all de talking and Georgie and Dale got my back. It is them fellas that cannot win without me. It is the BLP that cannot win unless I get a pint of see thru, bash a few more women, cuss a few more journalists, and rescue the country from the wrong hands and from MAM. No woman aint leading me, so it is I Tacitus that will speak for the women and young people. I may not be a perfect example because apart from late nights out wid de boys and girls, I have been known to let my demons get the better of me. Yuh tink I gine let MAM or any of these women in the BLP lead me? Where? They do not know where Ilaro court is; they want justice and to better the country, I want power, power, power and people to fear me for I am Tacitus.

37. Oh boy…rather than a being a political issue, it seems people are turning this into a battle of the sexes. Women are obviously desperate to see a female, or anything that resembles a female, become PM in Barbados.

38. J.Selina
    Any woman, be she mock or real, can speak for me.But a married man, be he mock or real, that goes around spreading his sperm n breeding every Mary, Jane, Sue, Tom, Dick or Harry cannot speak for me. He’s making a mockery of the institution of marriage, which I respect dearly. Don’t tell me that is nothing new because Mamma Mia’s ALLEGED ‘preference’ is nothing new either. So I say, ‘give Jack his jacket n Jill her jill-pot’.
    And yes, some women will spite him for what he did to Mamma Mia which to me is nonsense. Politics is stranger than fiction. I don’t delve too deep. Who I like, I vote for n who I doan like, I vote for too. All n de same.

39. No battle of the sexes! Don’t you understand, in the end my greed and desire for power, and knowing that people feared me before and will fear me again once I get Mia out of the way first, Georgie second, and Dale third, then who will be left but me in the seat of power. This is a man’s job, short as I am, I am powerful, I am Tacitus.

40. Is it that the Christian Right in Barbados is about to witness the issue of morality sit squarely on the political agenda in the upcoming election?

41. Is the present P.M of Barbados a married man? Does he accept being the father of a child? how did he become a father? Wasn’t that child concieved out of wedlock? Did the Right Excel. Errol Barrow father a child from someone other than his wife? What is bad for one is bad for all, so we either condemn both or none at all

42. Zack
    Not a fair statement ’bout us women. We’re not dat daft to want a woman, any ‘semblance of a woman become PM. Hog pupp Zackius. Gih we lil mo credit.

43. Tacitus
    ya demon.

Scout
    So why cry-down Mamma Mia for her ‘alleged’ sexual preference. She is a lesbo n he is a village ram.
    Scout you tying up yaself when ya draft in Freundel but you is Joseph wid many ‘coats’ so I in surprise. He in marrid so he cannnn be an example of whorism. Ef Barrow get sum whil marrid, he is a village ram too.
    Leff Freundel fa ma do. stupseeeeeeeeeeeeee

44. Bonny Peppa
    Did you say the P.M is married? who , to you?
    All of them is the same bunch of …………., the only difference is that it is believed some take it to higher levels with international flare.
    Yes, I have many coats, I keep telling all who would listen, I can speak my mind about any party, none of them is holding any favors for me. When I see them from both sides we converse, that is why David ( god rest him in his grave) and I was so friendly, I never told him what he wanted to hear, I always told him how I feel about a matter. Sometimes I agree with him, sometimes he agreed with me and other times we agree to disagree. Call me B or call me D it makes no difference to me. It might seem strange to some people but there is little difference between the two parties.

45. Even the bravest men are frightened by sudden terrors, so who is MAM that she play she aint frighten for me when everybody else in the BLP and Barbados, especially the women and yutes fear me? Who she think she is? Well I will destroy her and show her that I am Tacitus, I am to be feared, I am ruler of Barbados. Wait and see that bajans will forget about Veco, Clico, and the plotting against Mia and mek sure that I Tacitus return to my home at Ilaro court. Start putting the see-thru on the table. No riding off in de sunset, no more latex, I am Tacitus your ruler and what I do in the eyes of Bajan women and young people is right.

46. Not at Deputy PM, not as Leader of the opposition, not as chairman of the BLP, What did Arthur mean when he said to Mia that the BLP party needs her? What do the Arthurites mean when they said that “Mia’s time will come?”

47. Owen and the BLP will have to convince the MIA is not fit to be a leader.

Was it extremely bad judgement when they made her deputy PM or Attorney General or their Leader.

What has she done to be kicked to the curb?