Submitted by Yardbroom

The Late Sir Grantley Herbert Adams (l) The Right Excellent Errol Walton Barrow (r)

Do not castigate me.ย  I have only asked a question for debate, in an effort to tease out what should be well known to political activist and perhaps aย  section of the electorate.ย  I put it to you, if there is ideological difference between the major political parties in Barbados, that difference should be easily identified.ย  Perhapsย  should be addedย  I do not mean simply a form of words, unless those words have been followed by actions over time.ย  Neither do I mean that since the DLP or BLP failed to deliver on a manifesto pledge, that simple act sets them apart.ย  It might give an elector reason to support a particular party, but it is not necessarily ideological difference.

If there is difference how is that difference perceived by the electorate and can it be quantified by electoral support.ย  The general election is only around the corner, a prudent activist or politician will use – or perhaps – should use any opportunity available to set out their stall and say what lies behind the fine suit and the cohoblopot of jokes that have become a mask for policy.

Is it the case that over the years it can be demonstrated by actions taken, that the respective parties here identified have stuck to their ideology and thus changed the face of Barbadian society for the better.ย  If they have failed to pursue aspects of any stated ideology when in Government, why not.

“Perhaps” – it is debatable – that in broad terms the majority of “major” changes which have taken place in Barbados over the years have not been in the interest of a major section of the electorate.ย  Is there something peculiar about Barbadian society, that makes an ideology geared to the major section of society unattainable.

Unless we are able to discuss such issues; there will always be evasion and unwritten codes defined by the expectation that people should keep quiet.

Could it be that we have become so conditioned, that it is mentally challenging to break out from a defined position whatever our educational achievements and that definedย  position is not made by us but by a subtle input from some quarters.ย  Thus we inhabit a social straight-jacket subliminal tightened and maintained by a few.

A problem can only be solved when it has been identified and there is a realization that only action can address it.

Here is an opportunity for those who are active in politics – and there are many who regularly contribute here – to say why they support a particular party and how over the years that party by issues they have tackled; been constant in addressing the “major ” problems in Barbadian society.

1. You see the type of people involved at the sponsorship level? The club raising funds for its own activities is one thing, but the owners of the top cars also utilize the funds of these and other BIG named sponsors to put their cars on the road. THEY HARDLY WOULD WISH TO SPEND THEIR OWN MONEY when they have access to this illustrious pool. The thing is that it is the general population (92% Black according to our local expert) that patronize these businesses, so in effect these are funds that originate from the pockets of an overwhelmingly large Black population by proportion. And through the advertising and mileage (pun intended) the same population would be enticed/conditioned to further patronize the same businesses that promote and give unfair advantage to those in the clan. My God, what a scam!

2. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

I have never touched this subject on BU, but I have to tell you… I found that shoe/car story and “skill set” argument just as ‘tactless’ as Clarke’s remarks.

John… at the moment, most of the young ones threatening to knock the old timers off their perch are already in that top 10. I agree “the inevitable march of time takes it toll”, but burying your head in the sand does not help. If the top 10 list is not good enough for you, here is the point standings up to end of July for all 58 active drivers of the BRC…

http://www.barbadosrallyclub.com/sites/default/files/2011-07-27-driver-points-by-event.pdf

3. Micro Mock Engineer | August 28, 2011 at 9:04 AM | โ€œI donโ€™t see a single female in your list!!!โ€

I agreeโ€ฆ the BRC is also gender biased.

Sorry David, I could not resist.

MME, you are the first person that has raised the issue of gender bias in motor sports.

If this were really true, the women of Barbados would have put a stop to that ages ago and moved on. Google “Suffragette” and see what women are capable of when overcoming oppression is an issue.

Using your position, I would suggest that this conversation is gender biased.

Apart from Liz Thompson, how many women do you hear speaking of colour?

I would suggest that the contributors to this thread do not proportionately represent the gender distribution in society and by extension it is thus …. gender biased!!

4. To John:
    Am I rewriting history by saying that the context of the statement was unfortunate and not racist. When Gline Clarke gave Bizzy Williams enough work so he could buy a plane which I am sure you John flew in was he then a racist. The answer is no and the answer for that unfortunate statement is still a big no.

5. Political parties are genre biased

6. BAFBFP | August 28, 2011 at 10:35 AM | You see the type of people involved at the sponsorship level? The club raising funds for its own activities is one thing, but the owners of the top cars also utilize the funds of these and other BIG named sponsors to put their cars on the road. THEY HARDLY WOULD WISH TO SPEND THEIR OWN MONEY when they have access to this illustrious pool.

This is really getting ridiculous now and I am trying my best not to laugh.

It has now gone from “rich white boys” to “rich white boys who spend black people’s money”

Grow up!!

7. Political parties are gender biased

8. lemuel | August 28, 2011 at 10:44 AM | To John:
    Am I rewriting history by saying that the context of the statement was unfortunate and not racist. When Gline Clarke gave Bizzy Williams enough work so he could buy a plane which I am sure you John flew in was he then a racist. The answer is no and the answer for that unfortunate statement is still a big no.

If you use your imagination anything is possible.

You clearly have a fertile imagination, maybe you should apply it to entrepreneurship!!

9. Grow up? What you really mean is simplify. I speak of a scam that utikises money that originates from the pockets of Blacks, not money that is owned by them. Am i talking to a person or poppet?

10. @John

Are you averse to this debate which seeks to expose certain behaviours that allow the wealth of the country to settle within a minority group?

11. To John:
    Now that statement to me a poor black man is RACIST. You know that I will never own a business because of the social structure that are in place, so you sit on your little throne and tell me get a business and run it, employ people. The truth hurts doesn’t it. remember those cousins of yours who shot black boys and called them monkeys. Some of us survived.

12. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

“MME, you are the first person that has raised the issue of gender bias in motor sports.”

John you raised it… I agreed. Are you feeling ok this morning? Are you now saying that motor sport in Barbados is not gender biased? Among the causal factors is the difference in socialisation of males and females… we give our daughters dolls and our sons cars… how many girls you know aspire to race cars? I like I gine have to start using those double and triple exclamation marks wid you yuh.

13. Wonder how many noticed the PR space in the Sunday Sun today which shows the Barbados Rally Club donating $2,000.00 to a for BRC Marshall. Interesting timing.

14. @ John
    You know that the bushman likes and respects your usually frank and to the point inputs- and your detailed research shared here on BU…. but on this particular issue you are behaving EXACTLY like my other friend Zoe.
    What you both have in common is an entrenched position that you both see as intractable, and hence rather than argue objectively as you are both capable of doing, you argue with your emotions and spoil your hitherto excellent record of being objective.

Now will you STOP accusing the speaker of the House of agreeing that Clarke’s statement was racist!!! Come on man – you are a Crumpton Street man!!

The speaker said “IF the member wants to make a racist statement then he can do so” or words to that effect.

How does that agree that the statement was racist???

Did you ever hear about Tank?
    “if you want to keep noise in here you will have to go outside”
    Does that say the student was keeping noise in the classroom…?

15. Here is a status taken from Facebook:

I see the Rally Club spent $3000 (my guess) on an Ad to give a person $2000 who was injured at one of their events. Don’t they have Insurance? And why not give the injured person the $5000 rather than putting the majority of it in an ad. Will my people ever learn?

16. David | August 28, 2011 at 10:54 AM | @John

Are you averse to this debate which seeks to expose certain behaviours that allow the wealth of the country to settle within a minority group?

If I am record that I support the Free Enterprise system then the result is that the wealth will fall within a minority group and I must support the result.

The alternative has been tried elsewhere and shown to be an utter failure.

The majority prefer to hold down jobs and concentrate the wealth they create in the various insurance companies that sell them policies and take their money and invest it.

Who am I to argue and debate with a majority?

The CLICO fiasco resulted because of the Free Enterprise system I support!!!

However as I said before, I support rules and order and CLICO resulted from a complete breakdown in the applications of rules, …. just as we watched in Parliament with Gline Clarke.

Do I have an entrenched position?

I sure do!!

The Free Enterprise System and the Law & Order that must go with it.

This is for me is non negotiable!!

I have no problem debating any breakdown in Law & Order, which as I have consistently maintained is what happened in Parliament.

17. Bush Tea | August 28, 2011 at 11:36 AM | @ John
    Did you ever hear about Tank?

โ€œif you want to keep noise in here you will have to go outsideโ€
    Does that say the student was keeping noise in the classroomโ€ฆ?

But of course!!

Tank used words sparingly.

I was fortunate to have been at a function to honour him a few years ago and he told us why he used the word please.

It was simply because he was brought up to be polite … to say please and thank you.

If I were to translate what I am saying into how I think he might have said it it would go something like this.

Mr. Clarke and Mr. Speaker, if you want to come within the precincts of Parliament and hide behind its privelege while you breach the constitution, please, …. will you please cease and depart the premises to a place where you may be dealt with accordingly , ie go outside.

In other words, go outside, breach the constitution and face the music, but do not bring this House of Parliament into disrepute.

In the days of Tank his word was law and it was both feared and respected.

Nowadays as we have seen clearly demonstrated, anything goes.

18. Micro Mock Engineer | August 28, 2011 at 11:22 AM | โ€œMME, you are the first person that has raised the issue of gender bias in motor sports.โ€

โ€ฆ how many girls you know aspire to race cars?

Danica Patrick …. although I admit I have never met the lady!!

http://aol.sportingnews.com/nascar/story/2011-08-26/danica-patrick-finds-a-large-support-group-in-nascar

19. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

Danica Patrick? LOLโ€ฆ seriously John? Well good for youโ€ฆ you found one. There is one darky in the BRC top 10 list too, so I think I understand your logic now.

Lookโ€ฆ I don’t know how I find myself discussing a sport I have little interest in, a subject I don’t enjoy – racism, defending my least favorite politician and agreeing with Bush Tea all at the same timeโ€ฆ but it is a little too much to handle on a peaceful Sunday afternoonโ€ฆ I going an drink some coconut water like my man Anna Hazareโ€ฆ

20. @ MME
    Ha ha LOL
    It sounded like it was painful for you to agree wit the Bush man indeed ….take a likkle rest…
    By he way “I going an drink some coconut water like my man Anna Hazareโ€ฆ”
    You may wish to note that he had his with HONEY .. not old gold.

21. Bush Tea Micro Mock Eng and John

Crumpton Street has absolutely nothing to do with this bullshit campaign that is being advanced here; a misrepresentation of success that free enterprise in any part of the world is forgivable (defensible). If other systems were tried, systems that were instigated by some of the greatest minds in history and somehow found wanting, chances are this resulted from the fact that the the Free Enterprise concept is powered by the most primordial of agendas, … SELF PRESERVATION. Shared by every organic species on Earth, this ethos is manifested in this part of the world as … wait for it … Clannish Racism. John as a member of the Higher species should Self (in Self Preservation) not be representative of a flag as opposed to a colour of skin? … Just asking … If Whites need to clan, the very least that Blacks can do is recognize it, and in the vein of Self Preservation, do something in response…. not bury their heads.

22. @ BAFBFP

Now you see why you does get banned now?
    Man take it easy nuh. We here having a cool discussion with John and you coming with high level philosophical and sociological arguments. LOL

What do you expect John to say? That due to historical inequities he and his cousins have ended up sitting on the products of generations of our cousins labour?
    You expect him to confirm that his cousins meet down Cattlewash and Bath every weekend to refine their underhand plans to keep their misbegotten spoils and to ensure that the status quo is maintained?

You think John born yesterday?

Bush Tea don’t know what system you talking about – all systems are plagued with such inequalities.

In any case the REAL problem is probably more related to the mendicant attitude of the majority of Bajans (who have been so spoiled by the luxury of living in paradise that we allow the situation to continue.) They seem to be waiting for some good fairy to come and give them their due…

You think that MME is a poor boy? or that the Bush Man hand -to -mouth?

Bushie actually gets John’s position on the matter – what is hard to get is the position of the 92% idiots (91% cause you can count the Bushman out LOL) who allow themselves to be marginalized in this way. You have to admire a small mediocre minority that has been able to maintain dominance against an overwhelming majority of idiots for so long….

23. BT

Admire the few… most certainly not! Be ashamed of the rest of idiots … never

24. We should never forget when the dominant group in Barbados tries to assert itself politically, it does at the risk of shedding much political capital. Ask the errant school teacher Sir Lloyd.

25. Admire the fewโ€ฆ most certainly not! Be ashamed of the rest of idiots โ€ฆ never
    @ BAFBFP

NO ADMIRATION??!!

What are you talking about?
    Were you not adopting the position that if you can’t beat them you will join them?
    I thought you just said that you were married to one and recently was dating another?

26. BT

leave me be; seriously. Talk to John and MicroMock or who ever he is. Leave me to my stupidity

27. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Instead of all this goobledegook, what you all should be doing is calling on GLINE’WUKFUHWUK”CLARKE to apoligize for his RACIST remarks.

He and the Barbados Labour Party are causing a great deal of discomfort and fear among WHITE BAJANS.

We are also A Nation dependeant on WHITE tourists visiting our country and investing and spending their holidays here.

I am positive they are now having second thoughts about visiting Barbados. What we need here post haste is damage control.

All the rationalization is not going to cut it. He was wrong for his stupid statements and he must be told that in no uncertain terms.

The longer this drags on the worst it will be for Barbados.

APOLOGIZE NOW GLINE CLARKE!

28. Bush Tea:
    Why are you aving this man John from the licks that he deserves. How could he expect to come to this forum and spin things according to him with no backlash. That shall not happen. I believe Glyne Clarke made a boo boo; that is all. I have read John closely I do not believe him to be racist, but like him I can contort his statement to my advantage. what is he getting out of this persistence that Glyne is racist, when he has been flying on Bizzy’s plane.

29. @ BAFBFP
    LOL – wait a bushman can’t ask a question now?

@ lemuel
    It is important to always try to see things from other people’s perspective. Both John and Zoe are good people, valuable citizens and most importantly, BU family, .There is no law that says that we have to see things the same way. When we differ Bushie tries to point out the inconsistencies and hope that we can see eye to eye – This tactic only seems to work with David LOL.

The other thing is that we need to be open to the possibility that we are wrong. This way we are much more likely to arrive at the truth.

What would you do if you were John? The man is committed to family first – an admirable trait.

You REALLY think that an intelligent man like John don’t get the point…? Believe me, in another forum he will be an advocate for fairness and for change.

30. To Bush Tea:
    I am putting my confidence in you, but let him know to let up I think he made his point.

31. Bush Tea | August 28, 2011 at 4:20 PM | You think that MME is a poor boy? or that the Bush Man hand -to -mouth? โ€“ what is hard to get is the position of the 92% idiots (91% cause you can count the Bushman out LOL) who allow themselves to be marginalized in this way. You have to admire a small mediocre minority that has been able to maintain dominance against an overwhelming majority of idiots for so longโ€ฆ.

I suspect that if positions were reversed, the enlightened White man would seek to bring along the other not-so-enlightened White men.

32. @ A. Freeman
    I suspect that if positions were reversed, the enlightened White man would seek to bring along the other not-so-enlightened White men
    ….and you say this based on what precedent?

33. Bush Tea | August 28, 2011 at 4:20 PM | @ BAFBFP|You expect him to confirm that his cousins meet down Cattlewash and Bath every weekend to refine their underhand plans to keep their misbegotten spoils and to ensure that the status quo is maintained?

34. @ A Freeman
    LOL – you like you studying the bushman postings yuh! Bushie wants you to know that he just killing some time here because he aint got no date tonight.

Well the Cattlewash thing can’t work for BT or MME.
    MME has amassed his fortune because he’s a bright bright engineer and those with the money have to pay him whatever he charges if they want to enjoy his services. No sense meeting with him unless you’re interested in understanding advanced thermodynamics or Gauss Seidel methodologies.

Now in the case of the Bushman it is an even simpler explanation – as one of BBE’s boys what would you expect? Wha’ cuddear, if COW was bushie’s old man -you would EXPECT the bushman to have a few coppers. So what do you expect when bushie does call the Big Boss Engineer -“father’?
    Trust Bushie – If BBE is for you, who can be against you…?

So no clandestine meetings are needed. Anyone not talented enough (like MME) to make it, is invited to take the Bush Tea route – Seek first the Kingdom of God and everything else will be added ….

35. BT

Can you enlighten us “Gauss Siedel” methodologies?

I am quite sure you are talking way above most people’s heads.

Just want to make sure my understanding and yours match so I can simplify it for readers.

36. The Gauss Seidel method is simple a methodology used in advanced mathematics to solve multiple simultaneous equations. It is interesting in that it is built on the fact that one can begin the process with random ‘answers’ and by an iterative process eventually arrive at the correct answers to the unknown factors.

LOL – Actually this is exactly the method being used by Zoe. He started with Catholicism and moved through Masonry to his current pentecostal stance.
    In a couple more iterations Zoe will be talking just like BT ….LOL – especially after Lemuel finish with him…..rotfl.

37. @Carson C. Cadogan | August 28, 2011 at 5:30 PM |
    “Instead of all this goobledegook, what you all should be doing is calling on GLINEโ€™WUKFUHWUKโ€CLARKE to apoligize for his RACIST remarks. He and the Barbados Labour Party are causing a great deal of discomfort and fear among WHITE BAJANS. We are also A Nation dependeant on WHITE tourists visiting our country and investing and spending their holidays here. I am positive they are now having second thoughts about visiting Barbados. What we need here post haste is damage control. All the rationalization is not going to cut it. He was wrong for his stupid statements and he must be told that in no uncertain terms. The longer this drags on the worst it will be for Barbados.APOLOGIZE NOW GLINE CLARKE!”

All who wondered what that “MIDDLE C” stood for, I checked it out in the Registry, and I was not surprised to learn that his full name is CARSON “CORNWELL” CADOGAN.

“CORNWELL” CADOGAN, , many years ago around the mid sixties, when the Great, His Excellency Errol Walton Barrow said that he had little use for White people, and if he had his way, he would pack them on the “Lord Combermere”, and push ALL of them from the Careenage out to sea, did it cause any fear and discomfort to WHITE BAJANS?

It surely did, because the reponse of the WHITE BAJANS, represented the greatest ever Helter-Skelter exodus from Barbados to such far flung places as Australia and New Zealand FOR FEAR OF HOW THE DIPPER WOULD TREAT THEM. It was the first and only time in the just over fifty years or so hence, that a racist assault had been unleashed against the WHITE BAJANS living in Barbados. A surprising statement by Barrow though, because he had in his ranks, such rich white persons as Douglas Lynch, (HEAD OF BS&T and FOUNDER MEMBER of the DLP) and other rich white financiers like PAUL BERNSTEIN.

Remember that famous headline years ago that read “BARROW AND BRATHWAITE GONE TO CANADA TO BULL?

Yes, Barrow and his sidekick CARLTON BRATHWAITE did indeed go to Canada to visit yet another rich white financier, GERALD BULL, the HARP man. BULL, facilitated by Barrow, USED Barbados, and wrecked havoc and homes on this island, and made a lot of money from the RACIST WHITE SOUTH AFRICANS, manufacturing and testing missiles to shoot down POOR BLACK SOUTH AFRICANS! All BULL gave us in return was a crappy, scratchy-sounding, public address system fit for MOUNT STINKEROO, but which BARROW installed at Seawll Airport,thereby assaulting the ears of poor travellers for years. Anybody remember these things?

Tell me, “CORNWELL” CADOGAN, if since Glyne Clarke said what he had to say, if you have witnessed EVEN A SINGLE WHITE BAJAN RUNNING HELTER-SKELTER TO LEAVE BARBADOS IN “FEAR AND DISCOMFORT”! You know very well what Glyne Clarke meant. Nobody ’bout hay got anyting against WHITE BAJANS. The POOR BLACK BOYS just need to be granted piece of the action too …. that is Clarke’s heart! So if Sinckler made a “typographical error’ let Sinckler do the correction. The WHITE BAJANS look very happy to me. The only fear and discomfort they are feeling has been occasioned by the terrible mismanagement of the DEMS, such that FREUNDELand GEORGE STREET have helped to produce an unprecedented, serious CRIME SITUATION in this country, which is causing NOT ONLY POOR BLACK BAJANS TO COWER IN FEAR, but COW, (the richest of all the many rich WHITE BAJANS) is literally crying on the radio!

“CORNWELL”, you carrying this thing too far with your assinine comments. The time has come for your GEORGE STREET owners to ‘SELL YOU ASS’.

38. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Maddocks

A lot of words really saying nothing at all.

You could have used fewer words and simply called on GLINE CLARKE to apologize for his RACIST speech.

In PARLIAMENT of all places.

39. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Maddocks

“In PARLIAMENT of all places”

Now there is another story.

Why did GLINE CLARKE feel that he could make such INCENDIARY STATEMENTS in PARLIAMENT and get away with them?

Why, why, there is something insidious underlying here, and it has to do with the Barbados Labour Party.

40. GLINE CLARKE I don’t like you seriously, but sometimes you does mek mah proud …!

41. @BAFBFP

We have the politicians and their surrogates who have no qualms milking this issue for all that it is worth and to hell with all else.

Then we have regular Bajans who hate to discuss race issues and prefer to grumble about it behind closed doors.

Remember that Commission sometime back that documented those amazing revelations? The report remains hidden in a draw.

To discuss race and ethnic issues is not to be racist but it to purge the phobias which exist and create a non toxic environment to move forward as a pluralistic society which seems inevitable at this stage.

42. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Maddocks

I suspect that you are a member of the Barbados Labour Party and you were delighted with the RACIST speech of GLINE CLARKE.

Otherwise you would have called on him to APOLOGIZE.

Why did the Barbados Labour Party not nominate any WHITE BAJANS for National Hero?

I am noticing a pattern here with regards to the Barbados Labour Party.

43. David | August 29, 2011 at 7:18 AM | @BAFBFP

Remember that Commission sometime back that documented those amazing revelations? The report remains hidden in a draw.

I went to all of the then meetings and heard nothing amazing.

I went to the meetings on Nelson and found one or two of them to be hot but was not amazed by the contributions.

That was the time I started to seriously research what the historians were telling us and found it to be unrelated to historical fact.

Now that I found utterly amazing.

That a Government could make decisions based on flawed facts …. man, that blew my mind especially as I was coming at the time to an understanding of the geology of Greenland.

BTW, if the report is hidden in a drawer how do you know amazing relevations were made?

Perhaps you were there too and heard something different from me.

44. @John

Have you not heard members of the commission and others who attended like you commenting?

45. CORNWELL C. CADOGAN, You said NOTHING about Errol Barrow’s fiercely racist comments, which make Glyne Clarke’s pale into absolute insignificance. If you wish to continue on your assinine tirade, say something about Barrow’s racist attack on Bajan whites.

It is indeed sad that Grantley Adam’s battle to secure adult suffrage, has to be wasted on individuals like you with conjested, fouled up brains. But then again, that’s one of the vagaries of freedom that more responsible and sane people have to endure ….. suffering fools like you, CORNWELL, because after all, you are people too!

46. David | August 29, 2011 at 8:45 AM | @John

Have you not heard members of the commission and others who attended like you commenting?

By now (how many years is it?) you would probably have realised that I prefer to form my impressions from my actual witness of events and/or the collection of verifiable facts that can be cross referenced and checked …. and rechecked.

I guess I must have heard comments after by various people but I was actually there and saw and heard and had formed my opinions from my actual witness of the events.

I would love to actually read the report that is supposedly locked away in a drawer somewhere if only to see where it differs from what I observed.

47. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

MADDOCKS

There is an excellent article in today’s Advocate on page 8.

‘RACIALLY WOUNDED” by Stephen Alleyne.

In spite of all the nonsense on this blog on the topic of GLINE CLARKE’s RACIAL ATTACK ON WHITE PEOPLE in Barbados, thinking Bajans are seeing the great damage done to this country by Gline Clarke on the floor our PARLIAMENT, THE HIGHEST LAW MAKING BODY in Barbados where people rights, regardless if they are white, black, oriental or Indian should be upheld.

WHITE PEOPLE must be very afraid in Barbados right now.

48. David please don’ censor me but I just got to say this …

Carson C. Cadogan You is a flipping idiot! You most certainly are not a “thinking” anybody … my God ..

49. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BAFBFP

I thought the name of this blog was”Barbados Underground”.
    What you seem to be saying to me is the new name is “The Sheep Blog”.

Once everyone is going down a particular line follow on like a blind Sheep, I should stop pointing out the obvious.

In this case GLINE CLARKE’s RACIST remarks on the floor of our PARLIAMENT of all places.

Stop

50. @BAFBFP

No worries BU is not the CBC.