Submitted by Yardbroom

The Late Sir Grantley Herbert Adams (l) The Right Excellent Errol Walton Barrow (r)

Do not castigate me.ย  I have only asked a question for debate, in an effort to tease out what should be well known to political activist and perhaps aย  section of the electorate.ย  I put it to you, if there is ideological difference between the major political parties in Barbados, that difference should be easily identified.ย  Perhapsย  should be addedย  I do not mean simply a form of words, unless those words have been followed by actions over time.ย  Neither do I mean that since the DLP or BLP failed to deliver on a manifesto pledge, that simple act sets them apart.ย  It might give an elector reason to support a particular party, but it is not necessarily ideological difference.

If there is difference how is that difference perceived by the electorate and can it be quantified by electoral support.ย  The general election is only around the corner, a prudent activist or politician will use – or perhaps – should use any opportunity available to set out their stall and say what lies behind the fine suit and the cohoblopot of jokes that have become a mask for policy.

Is it the case that over the years it can be demonstrated by actions taken, that the respective parties here identified have stuck to their ideology and thus changed the face of Barbadian society for the better.ย  If they have failed to pursue aspects of any stated ideology when in Government, why not.

“Perhaps” – it is debatable – that in broad terms the majority of “major” changes which have taken place in Barbados over the years have not been in the interest of a major section of the electorate.ย  Is there something peculiar about Barbadian society, that makes an ideology geared to the major section of society unattainable.

Unless we are able to discuss such issues; there will always be evasion and unwritten codes defined by the expectation that people should keep quiet.

Could it be that we have become so conditioned, that it is mentally challenging to break out from a defined position whatever our educational achievements and that definedย  position is not made by us but by a subtle input from some quarters.ย  Thus we inhabit a social straight-jacket subliminal tightened and maintained by a few.

A problem can only be solved when it has been identified and there is a realization that only action can address it.

Here is an opportunity for those who are active in politics – and there are many who regularly contribute here – to say why they support a particular party and how over the years that party by issues they have tackled; been constant in addressing the “major ” problems in Barbadian society.

1. There is an imaginary idealogical difference between the 2 parties but it is not real. They are and have been always wearing the same khaki pants, probably since their separate institution in the body politic, and nothing suggests that they are about to change in the near future. The myths of one party for the small people and one for the rich people is just that and the new reworked myth that one party is for a society and the other is for the economy is just another one. Their actions when in power confirm their oneness.

2. Here is what Prime Minister Ralph Gonzales believes:

ยถ4. (C) On the subject of Barbadosโ€™ newly elected government, Gonsalves stated that he did not expect any significant differences in the ruling Democratic Labour Partyโ€™s policies, as both major political parties in Barbados are โ€œsteeped in social democracy and committed to regional integration.โ€

Extracted from Wikileaks.

There is the philosophy which is espoused by the party faithfuls and then there is the demonstrated policy.

There is also the real perception that corporate Barbados stands behind the BLP more than the DLP, this is a perception by many.

3. Philosphically, there is no difference, what use to define the difference between the parties was really a difference in leadership re: Grantley Adams vs Errol Barrow, which set this entire illusion into motion. The crux of the matter was the BLP’s difficulty in dealing with balancing the interests and concerns of the traditional power structure and those of the labour movement. A challenge Barrow met masterfully, ultimately Tom would lead a Barbados that was probably further along the process of transformation than Grantley Adams would have imagined, but compatible with what was desired by both parties. Where there was potential for philosophical difference it was elements of the electors association that “infiltrated” the BLP by way of the BNP, a true divergence never occurred because ironically one of the major players was neutered by Barrow…thus the chain is unbroken. We have had one Government since the 50’s.

4. Like Gabby once sang “BLP/DLP same party,” the difference is in personalities in leadership. If you follow the trend in the general elections, voters usually give either party a two session term, there are a few exceptions, but there is little or no change in the philosophy. Sometimes this can be seen as a good thing, in that it allows for a stable government, hence some confidence in foreign investments. Unlike many other countries in the region, general elections can be done in Barbados one day and the next day, there’s work as usual unless declared a holiday. Therefore tourists and others visiting the country, will not even know there was a general elections.Furthermore, the policies carried out by the new government will be the same or similar to the former government’s

5. My belief is voters are getting a bit tired of the same old same old and I think it is time for a new party to evolve and stir Barbados into the new way of doing business internationally. Look at the very method of campaigning, the same method has been used since I was a little boy, that is, mass meetings with a lot of slander with a touch of comody, supporters who are yardfowls and not willing to think for themselves, just for personal gain. We need to adjust and mature and be able to see the big picture, namely patriotism, putting the NATION first which means being able to call a spade a spade irrespective of which government is in administration. Only when this is done will we give more accountability out of our politicians from either of the two major parties or any other to come.

6. The two major parties in this country, has degenerated into a political club, who are very good at playing up to the general public. At the end the only one who win is the politicians themselves. Why do you think that neither of the two parties really want integrity legislation? Both have two much to expose, so they will close ranks, the general public can argue as much as they want one way or the other but the promise made was just to catch votes. The blame of not implementing it would be cast on either of the two main parties.

7. Should there even be Two parties? Why can the goverment be for the running of the island?

8. The politicians are a reflection of society.

They are pretty “dumb” when it comes to figuring out what to do for the future and actually doing it.

They are “brilliant” at acting for the now and stealing a dollar when it presents itself to be stolen.

We say crime is increasing in society.

Well, Parliament is just a part of society and can’t be any different!!!

They can rack up debts like debts are going out of style because they like us are unable to find the economic activity which is sustainable and like us they have lost the capacity for thrift our ancestors once had. Like us, they consider themselves unaccountable.

There doesn’t seem to be anyone of any calibre left in society to stop the rot and be actually different from everybody else.

The politicians are simply a reflection of us.

They are what we see looking back when we look in a mirror.

Why would they be different?

We are all the same.

The exceptional people are in an insignificant minority whereas once they were everywhere to be found, stood proud and were respected for their abilities.

If we stop and think we will remember their names, …… but we no longer stop and think.

Perhaps we will remember how they lived and the principles they espoused …… but we have forgotten what principle is.

Of course the two parties are the same …. what do you expect, how could they be different.

9. @John

The politicians are a reflection of society.

They are pretty “dumb” when it comes to figuring out what to do for the future and actually doing it.

In essence you are saying the people are dumb.

10. @ready done | August 25, 2011 at 6:06 AM |

“Should there even be Two parties? Why can the goverment be for the running of the island?”

You like you calling for a DICTATORSHIP! Doan let de army hear dat kinda talk.

11. @ John yuh right weee reel DUMB tah believe any of dese politicians and dat is why we still vote dem in!

12. Yes there is a SMALL difference…… one spelling uses a “D” and the other one a “B”.

13. David I would like you to start a post titled

“Barbados the good.Past, present and future.”

Let us bloggers write and discuss the good things about Barbados.

I will start with this. Clean drinking water. Warm temperatures all year. An abundance of food. Great educational opportunities.

NEXT!!!!

14. @Hants… I second that motion…

My contribution…

People, of all races, creeds and regions are mostly civil to each other and look out for each other.

I, personally, feel safer here in Barbados that I do in New York (USA), California (USA), Boston (USA), London (UK), Toronto (CAN), Vancouver (CAN), Thailand, Cambodia, Jamaica, Trinidad or St. Lucia.

15. @Hantsie

What is wrong with critiquing the relevance of how political parties are serving Barbadians? Especially if we accept that we operate in a dynamic environment. This is what citizens in a democracy are encouraged to do.

16. David; I see nothing wrong with continuing both topics.

Re. Hants’ suggestion for a topic on what is good about Barbados, I would add;

A level of creature comforts that ensures that one does not miss Metropolitan First World life while enjoying the pace of life of a small tropical Island.

A level of personal security on the streets that is reminiscent of the Montreal of 40 years ago, the Trinidad of the same period, the Accra Ghana of a few years ago, the Cayman’s of today, etc.,

A beauty of built up and natural scenery that matches that of many beautiful places on Earth characterized by gently rolling landscapes

A people who were once courteous and kind but are changing like the rest of the world.

17. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

OFF TOPIC

From over at Barbados Free Press

It is going to get worse for Barbados because of Gline Clarke’s statements.

“My wife and I found that Mr. Gline Clarkeโ€™s statements and beliefs and attitudes are nothing special in Barbados. Weโ€™ve learned that in our past trips to Barbados. For sixteen years until December 16, 2009 while the Barbados Tourism Authority spent millions to lure travellers like myself to Barbados, Mr. Clarke, Prime Minister Arthur and their contemporaries were hating the very ground that we walked upon because of the colour of our skin. That is evident by looking at their few public statements that made it to the news, and it was proven to us time and time again during our eleven trips to Barbados. (My wife and I are gluttons for punishment, it is true.)

The racist anti-whites attitude of the Barbados government representatives set an example for the young people of Barbados and you can see the results in the disdain and outright hostility of the shop clerks to white and Indian tourists. We felt it every time when we rode a mini-bus to Oistins and no one would make conversation with us. We saw it at the reception desk at Time Out at the Gap and two other package hotels. We experienced it first hand at the airport where unsmiling officers made us feel like we were criminals for the offense of wanting to vacation in the sunshine.

โ€œENOUGH!โ€ we said in December 2009. Why should we take this abuse? Spain is closer, much cheaper and much more friendly and they speak English.

Former Barbados Tourist Mr. Kilkenny”

18. David all I asked was to start 1 post about Barbados the good.

It is not my intention to stop wunna from cussin Bajan politicians left,right an centre.

19. @BU Family et al.

Please observe the empirical…

CCC suddenly manifests, and refers to the “other” Bajan Blog…

Just wondering… How many times does the “other” Bajan Blog refer to BU, except when trying to get BU censored?

Hmmmm?

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The real difference between the two major parties is that the Barbados Labour Party suffers from “foot in mouth” disease.

Just look back at some youtube videos of the St. John election and Owen”seethru”Arthur and Gline Clarke in the House of assembly recently.

Just a couple of examples.

21. The intention of the submission – on my part – was not to elicit disrespect to Barbados’ politicians – some of whom I hold in very high regard – but to see if there are perceived differences in ideology between the two major parties and if there are, how those differences have benefited a major section of Barbadian society.

It could be that a broad statement such as: ” we want to help the poor or the poor black man” is often not demonstrated by structured policies, which permeate major decision making strategy over time.

If it is that a major section of society’s lot has materially improved over time, to such a degree that they controll wealth creation, commerce, and financial power in our little island; representative of their numbers, that is all fine and dandy, if not most sensible people will ask the pertinent question, why not?

It is sometimes easier to say we have sunshine, the sea and the beach, others might think the aforementioned were not of our making and in visiting our shores, take a view of us different to what we think of ourselves.

A blog is a wonderful medium, it allows an opportunity to look at issues in a different way, even if we do not agree with the views expressed as they only reinforce our sincerely held positions, but other opinions can “sometimes” put a light on new pathways of understanding.

22. the best politician that Barbados has produced in years was Thompson. He saw the racial problem and was prepared to send the problem back to the souce. He sent home my guyanese friends to help strengthen their country.

23. Invariably whenever you hear racism coming over in the caribbean it is guyanese and Trinidadian people. these people are sick and getting the rest of the woerld sick with thier racial attitude.

24. Trenton | August 26, 2011 at 5:32 AM |

“Invariably whenever you hear racism coming over in the caribbean it is guyanese and Trinidadian people. these people are sick and getting the rest of the woerld sick with thier racial attitude.”

Have you looked in the mirror lately?

25. Yardbroom you have made great submission.

The two political parties in Barbados are not very different.
    The policies are always a variation of each other’s ideas.

There are no radicals in either party and that is why Barbados has had no “riots” since 1937.

I believe the DLP is generally more sensitive to the need to directly improve the lot of the poor.

Th BLP have been good at facilitating Big Business and Foreign investment.

Both have served Barbados well and provided stable Government while practicing adversarial politics.

Barbados the good.

Just so you know David, I have had a self imposed ban on reading or contributing to BFP.
    I see CCC is now injecting their —- into BU.

26. @Hants…”Clean drinking water. Warm temperatures all year. An abundance of food. Great educational opportunities.”

With the exception of “warm temperatures” You are definitely living in the PAST!

27. Bill Reed at the National Hurricane Centre just call Barbados name on CNN saying “haven’t had a direct hit since 1955”.

Wuh he call we name fuh? he tryin to blight we an mek a hurkin come an lik we up.

28. @Hants

Some people like to do what they do to piss people off, is he pissing you off?

Have not forgotten your suggestion and as soon as the opportunity presents itself your request will be honoured.

29. What are you bajans complaining about. You sat down for these years after independence and encouraged a political environment where a mia mottley can say quite definitively that she is going into politics but poor black children can never. You created a social situation where the brown skins from slavery now determine who can run for either party. What also happen is that the professions that would give the poor blacks the opportunity to contest elections are “guarded”. try getting to do law without the secret word. The blacks have to go in debt or be controlled by the elite groups in order to run. Yet you have the same blacks right here in this blog continuing the self debasement by proping up the brown skins from slavery. Whether the b or d is in power there families that continue to live while black companies are destroyed in the name of party politics. The whites laugh knowing that we are our biggest enemies.

30. @islandgirl246

“””@Hantsโ€ฆโ€Clean drinking water. Warm temperatures all year. An abundance of food. Great educational opportunities.โ€

With the exception of โ€œwarm temperaturesโ€ You are definitely living in the PAST!”

I agree.

31. Take a look at Page 34 of Weekend Nation, the ad say “Incoming Chairman Dr Jerome Walcott” (that should say chairPERSON but that’s another story) but how can he get the post when the BLP’s Annual Conference is yet to happen? Did Mia step down? What about democracy? Now this is a story worth investigating…

32. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Another big difference between the BLP and DLP is that DLP is all embracing..
    While the BLP have real problems with WHITE PEOPLE.
    You can’t insult, embarrass and vilify white people and then expect to go cap in hand to the same WHITE PEOPLE begging for political contributions.
    They will spit into your hand, and rightly so.

This RACIST Barbados Labour Party continues to disappoint me.

33. @Carson C. Cadogan | August 26, 2011 at 2:26 PM |

Why don’t you SHUT UP you brainwashed idiot! Try taping your mouth with some duck tape. You make no sense whenever you open your craw. You are BRAINLESS!

34. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

islandgal246
    Sorry, but I had to point out a few of the short comings of
    the RACIST Barbados Labour Party.

35. @CCC… Give it a rest.

We all know what (if not who) you are.

36. Which Government told Guyanese “Ever so welcome, wait for a call”?? Which Health Minister says only Bajans can use the QEH? Is that jingoism, ultra-nationalism or racial? Just askin’… When Adrian Loveridge was on the board of the BTA, there were which supporters that didn’t want to see him and WHY – as in what was the criterion used for objection? I am not excusing Gline Clarke but at the same time, everyone must be bold enough to accept the amblyopia of one’s own before citing glaucoma in another?

37. @IB: “Which Government told Guyanese โ€œEver so welcome, wait for a callโ€??

I don’t know. Which one?

@IB: “Which Health Minister says only Bajans can use the QEH?

I don’t know. Which one?

Come on Ian Bourne… Tell us what you know.

38. @Ian Bourne

Your last comment is false.

Ever so welcome wait for a call must be taken in context in light of the open door immigration policy being confronted at the time.

Minister Inniss’ statement again was made in a context. Citizens seeking medical attention at the QEH for free must show the requisite status document. Even so he pointed out that there will always be situations where non Barbadians will have to receive service.

39. @David et al…

You have to understand the meta context.

In the “‘Great’ United States of America” people can present themselves at Emergency Services at a hospital and be denied service.

Here in Barbados it is much like in Canada, Australia, or the United Kingdom, were we value life more than money.

If someone shows up at a hospital’s doorstep dying, the staff do everything they can to save their lives.

Except in the “Great US of A”, where they first ask “who is your insurer”….

40. @ Carson

The BLP had a white minister of health โ€“ Philip Goddard. It is ironic that for years your party has walked the length and breadth of this island, trying to convince (and have done so successfully), Barbadians that the BLP was for the RICH WHITE PEOPLE, while your party was for the poor. Now for you, the BLP is racist. If we follow your interpretation of racism, surely your party will come under scrutiny. For example, Taan Abed, who is of Arab decent, was replaced after being convincingly nominated by the constituency branch, based on your interpretation, can we not view that as racism? But I guess your spin would be democracy being has been exercised.
    Carson, do you really sit down and think about what you are going to contribute? Do you know that 100% of the times that you point a finger at the BLP, you have three other fingers (thumb not included) pointing at yourself?

41. @ Artaxerxes

Let us not forget Sir David Seale who was made a Senator under the BLP regime.

Your comment adds to the view that there is no significant perceptible difference in philosophies between the two parties,

42. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Artaxerxes

First it was Liz Thompson, then George PAIN, now Gline”wukfuhwuk”Clarke.

Attacking WHITE BAJANS is a national sport for the RACIST Barbados Labour Party.

43. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Artaxerxes

Philip Goddard was just window dressing.

44. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

If I were a WHITE BAJAN I would be very uncomfortable with the Barbados Labour Party from here on in.

What sinister things do they have in store for WHITE BAJANS?

45. From the time I was seriously involved in politics, I always heard that the BLP was a white people party, while the DLP was for the poor people. CCC always have things differently, however, there is little difference between the D’s and the B’s, all this makes for good governance of the country.

46. In many ways, it can be said that the ruling DLP continues to make a number of serious and costly errors, effortlessly but should consider itself fortunate that the Opposition BLP is not capatilising because it lacks focus on what is important to the people. By allowing itself to be distracted, the Owen Arthur led BLP is running the risk of being accused of failing in its fiduciary responsibility to hold the Governmentโ€™s feet to the fire, in the interest of and defense of the people of Barbados. The Opposition now seems motivated โ€˜onlyโ€™ by the thought of obtaining the very prize, which can only be conferred on it by the same Barbadians it alleges โ€“ are suffering as a result of the policies of the DLP. Isnโ€™t this ironic? Given the BLPโ€™s allegation – that it would still be compelled to make such an extra-ordinary effort (as it is now doing) is saying a lot. But, the BLP does not seem to get the point!

I like to call a spade a spade. The BLP got it absolutely correct on Clico; on housing and when it called for a humane immigration policy, as examples. Merely saying why electricity bills are high is not enough, especially when the central issues have always been and remain: the BNOC debt, the Pricing Formula for petroleum products and the increase in Excise Tax by 50%.

On August 10th 2011, in a widely publicize Face book article, captioned: โ€˜Next Tuesdayโ€™s DLP Budget: An Instant Sugar Rush of Feel-Good,โ€ the article read in part:

โ€œAny Opposition with well-honed-skills would immediately ask the Minister about the status of that $80 million BNOC debt. This is important, especially since it was the excuse used to increase the Excise Tax. If the BNOC debt has, in fact been repaid, then the Excise Tax should immediately be slashed, or reduce to reflect the amount already repaid, especially since the Government would, essentially โ€“ now be collecting money illegally. This would either require a refund (hardly likely) or a Validation Act (seems more logical).โ€

On August 11, 2011 in an article captioned: โ€˜DLP Still Price Gouging & Choking and Robbing Barbadians,โ€™ the author again wrote: โ€œSurely by now that alleged BDS$80 million BNOC debt has to be repaid! If it is, then the Excise Tax should be slashed and announced in the up-coming Budget but the greater point would be that (in the absence of any Validation Act) the DLP is also collecting money illegally, especially since the Minister outlined that the Excise Tax would only remain at its current rate, to repay the BNOC debt. This entire DLP-price-gouging-fiasco warrants an urgent public inquiry! Somebody ought to be made to appear before a Committee of both Houses of Parliament, to give evidenceโ€ฆโ€

Having not asked the right question/s during the recent budget debate, even with live television air-time – the BLP is now making a sound and dance after the fact. But it would never have escaped the scrutiny of any Opposition that was focused and alert, that the BNOC debt, which was said in the 2008 budget to have been $50 million and later adjusted to $80 million, was being alleged by Minister Sinckler in the recent budget to be: US$80 million โ€“ a 100% increase. Why?

Since the BLP got it horribly wrong before and given that during his budget presentation, Minister Sealy confessed that the DLP is actually now โ€œgambling with its economic policyโ€ or essentiallyโ€ โ€œoil futures,โ€ [concern for the balance of payments] then the question the BLP must now ask on behalf of the people, is: (1) When did the DLP embarked on its secret policy to trade in oil futures? And (2) what was the status of the BDS$80 million BNOC debt [the entire country was told and accepted that that is what it was] at the time the DLP started engaging in oil futures? This is important because Barbadians never objected to repaying that BDS$80 million BNOC debt, especially since they benefitted from the subsidy. But it would be vulgar, were the DLP to now seek to adjust that BDS$80 million by stealth, to compensate for any cost being incurred, as a result of its โ€˜secret experiment of gambling in oil futures.โ€™

Anyone who is not blinded by party-politics would agree that this is the case the BLP ought to have put in Parliament during the recent budget debate when it โ€˜mattered most,โ€™ especially since under the caption: โ€œGood Governance,โ€ on page 47 of its 2008 Manifesto, the Democratic Labour Party said: โ€œthe DLP administrationโ€™s attitude to accountability will be based on the understanding that as servants and representatives of the people there can be no secrets or matters to be hidden from the population. Consequently, a DLP administration will be accountable for its actions and policies and take the public into its confidence. Under a DLP government, the people will be kept informed of what the government is doing on their behalf…โ€

Engaging in oil futures, even though it was foreseeable that if the DLP got it wrong – such an error would have been offensive to the people who would have been denied enjoying the very savings outlined in the DLPโ€™s Pricing Formula – is a breach of truth. It is also scandalous for the DLP to have engaged in oil futures by stealth in the first place, because that action, not only violates its Manifesto, but above all โ€“ is a cold and brutal betrayal of the trust and confidence placed in it by the people of Barbados.

To add insult to injury, it would appear that Barbadians are now being called upon to pay for the most recent DLP error, which may explain why a BNOC BDS$80 million debt, suddenly and surprisingly climbed to $200 million, as announced by the DLP in its Column last Friday, August 19, 2011.

So what do we have: On one side, a DLP that keeps getting it wrong; on the other – an Owen Arthur led BLP that seems consumed with a desire for power and in the middle are the people, who are feeling the pain.

47. when Errol barrow made his assault Gertrude Eastmond , did it make it uncomfortable for women in Barbados and what impact did it create ?

The DLP nearly destroyed Barbados before and actually came back and won an election in 2008(how sad !)

YOU BELOW ! YOU DOES TALK BARE ………(goat rolls) .
    I mean Carson Cadogam

Carson C. Cadogan | August 26, 2011 at 8:12 PM | If I were a WHITE BAJAN I would be very uncomfortable with the Barbados Labour Party from here on in.

What sinister things do they have in store for WHITE BAJANS?

48. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

SCOUT

How is it that you didn’t bring across this one?:-
    John
    August 27, 2011 at 1:41 am
    I was thinking about the position the Speaker took in relation to the racist remarks of Gline Clarke.

At 2:21 he said;

โ€œIf the member wants to state a racist position that is his right. It is not something I can withdraw or ask him to withdrawโ€

The speaker thus accepted that Gline Clarke had made racist remarks and it was his right so to do.

I then thought, hang on a minute, I have often heard people speaking of the constitution and its strong position on racial discrimination.

So I looked it up.

Here is what the version on Barbados.org has to say. (OK I know there are three on the Internet)

Protection from discrimination on ground of race, etc.

23. 1. Subject to the provisions of this section

a. no law shall make any provision that is discriminatory either of itself or in its effect; and

b. no person shall be treated in a discriminatory manner by any person acting by virtue of any written law or in the performance of the functions of any public office or any public authority.

I think that b. applies to this case and both the speaker and Gline Clarke are in breach of this clause.

Gline Clarke is performing the functions of public office and making racist remarks.

The speaker is on record as accepting he has made racist remarks.

All that the speaker needed to do was to decide whether the members of the rally club were being treated in a discriminatory manner.

โ€ฆ and the constitution even defines the term โ€œdiscriminatoryโ€ for him.

2. In this section the expression โ€œdiscriminatoryโ€ means affording different treatment to different persons attributable wholly or mainly to their respective descriptions by race, place of origin, political opinions, colour or creed whereby persons of one such description are subjected to disabilities or restrictions to which person of another such description are not made subject or are accorded privileges or advantages which are not afforded to persons of another such description.

I think that Parliament may be in breach of the constitution!!!!!!

I am no lawyer so I might be wrong.

I agree with John da Silva โ€ฆ nobody takes what a politician says seriously and I would add because it is recognised that they are a bunch of clowns.

However these clowns may have used the privelege afforded by Parliament to breach the constitution.

.. and that is not funny!!

49. CCC
    When Errol Barrow, in the changing of the barbados constitution in the 70’s, declared that money should be taken from the rich bajan white people to support the poor black bajans, wasn’t that a blatant racist remark? was he sensored for it? Get your facts
    When Errol Barrow told Grantley Adams to bring legislation for free education to assist the poor black bajans, and Grantley asked who would cut the white people canes, wasn’t that a racist remark? Was either of them sensored?