Where Is Barbados Gine?

By Baba Elombe Mottley

I have been following with fascination a debate on the internet about what direction Barbados’ budget should take.  I am taken by the wide range of people who are involved in the debate passively as adjunct recipients and actively (like myself) as commentators. What comes across are the various traditional alternatives on how government should divide up a shrinking pie in what appears to be crisis oriented with no consensus as to where we are going.  I am not an economist but I would like to raise one or two points which I think should be considered, valued and included in a budget to start the process of change.

WiFi-ing Bridgetown is one, but here is the problem – the level of awareness of politicians and civil servants and their unwillingness to seek advice on suggestions etc. The developer of the London Eye visited Barbados about ten years ago and when he found out that Barbados did not have Wi-Fi, he offered to construct the system.  The Barbados government – the politicians and their civil servants – refused.

About a hundred years ago, Barbados was at the crossroads between Europe and South America and as a result it was able to develop its nascent tourism with stop-over visitors from both of those continents.  The Panama Canal construction relieved us of a large portion of our population and in turn pumped considerable funds into the economy to raise the standard of living of thousands of Bajans. The sugar industry was still able to generate most of our foreign exchange.

In the mid-fifties, migration again played a major role, the sugar industry persisted and English and American big-wigs discovered our West Coast and established the up-market tourism that still presently exist.

The building of the deep water harbor and the expansion of Seawell Airport led to the flirtation with “industrial development” in the form of screw-driver industries where we built massive factory spaces to employ Bajans that totally disemboweled our skilled trades – tailoring, dress-making, joinery, etc.  I am aware that there were areas where technological changes made other skills obsolete.

By the end of the 20th Century we were absorbing lessons from the migratory and now ubiquitous egret.  This bird although not indigenous to our countryside established a symbiotic relationship with cows and other domestic animals gaining sustenance from their waste and from the worms and other vermin that their hooves dug up and exposed from the rich soil on which they grazed. Stand on the bridge in Holetown and observe their numbers and roostings especially at sunset.

I want to argue that this symbiosis is a major lesson we should learn and implement with respect to our dealings with the rest of the world.  It is not just a question of a budget that no doubt will create hardship one way or another, but how we as Bajans see our future and what we are prepared to do in order that we can increase the size of the pie to benefit all of us.

But what is it that we have that will make people willing to come to the middle of the Atlantic Ocean to give us their money in exchange for what we offer them? Remember Mr Rice from the BTA is reported to have said that British travel agents find Barbados too costly to get to and too far.   So what are Barbados’ strengths?

• Its people?
  • Its education?

oPublic University?

oPrivate University?

oPublic Secondary School?

oPrivate Secondary Schools?

oTechnical Schools?

oSpecial Education?

• Manufacturing

oSugar Products

oJuices

oHerbs

• Tourism

oUp-market?

oRihanna fans?

oDown-market?

oOrigins?

• Environment

oNatural?

oBuilt?

• Heritage

oArtifacts?

oCreativity?

oFestivals?

• Sports

oCricket?

oFootball?

oSurfing?

oPolo?

oRoad Tennis?

oAthletics?

oGolf?

oWindsurfing?

What are those things that are unique to Barbados? We tend to toy with this heritage.  Those who can, benefit from it while others in their ignorance, ignore it.

What factors would make people want to visit Barbados, invest in Barbados, and protect that investment in Barbados unlike the parasitic industrialists of the sixties?

Finally what is Brand Barbados? Example.  Is Crop Over a Bajan brand or is it a Carnival?

I am interested in all Bajan people.  If we are going to exhibit entrepreneurship, what are the areas of this entrepreneurship?  Are we going to be making a living off other Bajans or are we going to gear up to do so off the rest of the world?  If so how do we do it, and what are the areas most likely that we can undertake to do it?

One of the major blocks in determining where we go is a lack of understanding and acceptance of our culture and heritage.  This sounds simple but it is not.  Most of the decision makers – politicians, businessmen, bankers, investors, and corporations – have no idea of our unique heritage nor how we can make it work for us as a nation.  A few people know different aspects of it but our people as a whole do not know it and those in decision-making positions definitely do not or only pay lip service to it.

A couple of examples.  There are hundreds of Bajans interested in the film/video industry.  This involves 20-25 different disciplines.  There is no access to television to show their work because of government’s phobia about opening the airwaves. So there is a great dependency on the amorphous internet.  Yet there is in the EPA agreement with the European Union a provision for reciprocity in television ownership. Entry into the EU market thru music already exist  but none of the capital owning class is willing to invest in these creative industries.  Whether it is Barbados or the Caribbean as a whole, it is totally off the radar of the decision making class and the policy makers and yet it is through our music and sports that we are best known.

What is important about this? Here are some of the reasons.

• ·The music
  • ·The promotion of the Caribbean festivals and sporting events
  • The imbedding of Caribbean products to go with the lifestyle found in the videos
  • The promotion of Caribbean Fashion
  • The creation of opportunities for Bajan and Caribbean artists to tour Europe
  • The promotion of Caribbean sports
  • The promotion of Caribbean Heritage.

There is a general feeling across the Caribbean that Barbados has the best educational system. True or not what do we do about it? There are some that feel it is failing but do we try to make it indubitably so?  Do we offer others in the Caribbean the opportunity to come to Barbados and benefit from this education? Do we encourage investors to open more private schools to attract children from across the world using the IB (International Baccalaureate) program?

Example.  Several executives from US, Europe and far afield who work in Trinidad and the OECS are uncomfortable with the situation there, wanted to have their wives and children live and schooled in Barbados.  They were refused permission by immigration even though they were going to pay rent, school fees and other living expenses out of their own income.  Why?   As a Nation, have we developed the self confidence of knowing who we are and use it to generate the income necessary to pay us generously?  If not how do we do it?  It is the same issue about developing excellence of service.  Service does not exist in a vacuum.

Let me go further, should we make education an industry?  Should we encourage foreign universities to set up shop here because we have a highly educated class of persons that can service such institutions? Barbados in the seventies and eighties turn down St Georges University twice when they wanted to move to Barbados.  Why?  Poor greatness! – the same reason that we are currently looking down our noses at medical graduates from Cuba.  Ignorance is a curse.  Bajans must be given the information so that they can make intelligent decisions.  Is such a plan in the budget?

What sort of shortsightedness that Barbados Invest has indulged in when they talk about the former St Joseph Hospital facility?  We got away with murder for the last 50 years because of the embargo against Cuba? Have we considered the impact on Barbados when the embargo is lifted and Americans start to benefit from the low cost of excellent medical services available in Cuba?  Why could we not offer it to a university to set up a medical school here?  The same applies to Codrington College with its 790 acres of land?  Why can it not be leased for 100 years for a Spiritual University?  The Anglican Church can barely maintain the churches in its possession far less stop squatters from taking over its idle lands.  This is one of the reasons I support Sir Hilary’s move to make Cave Hill an international university that can eventually pay its way.

If anyone is interested I will submit details on how we can use other aspects of our heritage to build Barbados as an attractive crossroads for the rest of the world. We have it and we must flaunt it.

0 thoughts on “Where Is Barbados Gine?

1. WOW an excellent article Elombe. You are seeing the real potential for Barbados. You see how misinformed decisions have been made in the past by politicians/decision makers on the direction Barbados should have taken to develop and become a more sustainable country. We have a lot of book sense but we lack loads of commonsense. We have a problem with the transference of skills we have acquired. Many cannot think or work outside the box, they are too uncomfortable and insecure outside their zone.

Years ago many Caribbean islanders sent their children to be educated at private schools here on the island. We have become insular and proud people for the wrong reasons. We could have been the Education MECCA of the Caribbean but we have cultivated an attitude of disdain for outsiders, yet Tourism is our main industry. We keep shooting ourselves in the foot and each time paralyzing ourselves further and further. We haven’t recognized what we have that we can market but we attempt to market an unsustainable dream.

The St. Joseph Hospital could have been the site for the off shore medical school that would have given the north of Barbados a boost. Lack of vision killed that dream. Your vision for the beautiful Codrington College is an excellent one. The infrastructure is already in place BUT no one sees the oldest seminary in the New World as a place where peoples of all faith can come and mingle and learn. Why hasn’t this site been given a World Heritage site status?

We fail to understand that what we have physically other islands have as well and more to offer the visitor. We charge high prices for substandard products and services. How long can we maintain that? This recession should be a wake up call BUT the powers that be keep saying that it will become better and it will be business as usual. We have a shock coming to us if we keep believing these shallow politicians, It will NOT be business as usual.

2. Great article, Elombe. Your argument in support of pathways to development is sound. In my view, Barbados is held back in many cases due to egotistical battles between policy makers and political officials at the top. The game of one one upmanship is everywhere to see in Barbados. From the lowest class levels to the very top of the social order. A pride that kills!

3. The talk show circuit is devoid of moderators like Elombe who are willing to defend a position which dispenses with the approach of playing devil’s advocate. Submissions like this one stimulates constructive dialogue by planting good options in the public arena.

4. My problem with Elombe is he is all talk some of his ideas Mottley can leave Jamaica or wherever he lives and implement himself he will get local help. I see Mottley as one of them my way or the highway fellows .He does twist the truth to suit himself eg David Rice was talking about American travel agents not British. The neareset Caribbean island to Britain is Barbados eg the Dominican Republic much further and the Brits go there in droves as they do to Barbados. The Brits love BIM cost is not a major deterrent except for the APD.

5. We need thinkers like Elombe, without thinkers how the hell do we get ideas? We need collaborators to join Elombe and make this vision a reality and not shoot down the messenger.

@Been in town too long……….. Another Ostrich making noise…..it is time for you to take your head outta de sand and leave. Keep believing that the Brits will always be coming here and see where that will get Barbados. It is sooo sad that people like you are sooo stuck in the past and can’t see forward.

This post by Elombe is awesome and inspiring, we need to have more submissions like this one. I am raising my glass to you Elombe!

6. I don’t know if any of you see that Elombe is identifying our major problems as xenophobia and po’ greatness that we don;t need nobody or nothing from outside. There are many on this blog of that view!

7. Seems that every body dat was part of the problem when dey was here does go away and know all de answers for Barbados.
    …maybe we need a government in exile.

8. Great post Elombe!

I urge you to put your ideas out there.
    Who knows someone that matters my read them, i can tell you though, they are probably to proud to ask.

So keep up the good work and let us hear all your ideas.

9. @Fair is Fair….one has to remove themselves in order to see the problem. When people like you are part of the problem it is very difficult and almost impossible to spot the problem, so all you can do is to criticize anyone with better and brighter ideas. If the rest of Bim think like you and Been in town too long , we aint gine nowhere!

10. Fair is Fair | July 23, 2011 at 10:53 AM |
    Seems that every body dat was part of the problem when dey was here does go away and know all de answers for Barbados.
    …maybe we need a government in exile.

lol @fif
    best instance a man name Charlie Skeete self proclaimed NY based World Bank economist Tony Best loves to quote. Ive never heard skeete say anythigng uplifting about his homeland. Based on his “economic wisdom” Barbados should not even be in existence yet UN states us as number one developing cuntry. Skeete talk same bullsh*t under BLP too at least his pessimism and doom and gloom spans both parties. I wouldnt take that man’s advise for all the tea in China.

11. I read this because I have to believe that as one ages one’s thinking and outlook will in some way change for the better… you know, improve. But Elombe, you are stuck in something, and I just can’t place my finger on it. Seems to me that the only person who truly understands what Elombe is saying is, as always Elombe. I signed your e petition by the way, and of course it got no where …!

• @BAFBFP

We need people to impregnate the public space with ideas. Attacking such people accomplishes what?

• A sobering quote found in BU’s inbox:

These are possibly the five best sentences you’ll ever read: Unfortunately, most voters don’t know this.

1. You cannot legislate the poor into prosperity, by legislating the wealthy out of prosperity.

2. What one person receives without working for, another person must work for without receiving.

3. The government cannot give to anybody anything that the government does not first take from somebody else.

4. You cannot multiply wealth by dividing it.

5. When half of the people get the idea that they do not have to work because the other half is going to take care of them, and when the other half gets the idea that it does no good to work, because somebody else is going to get what they work for, that is the beginning of the end of any nation.

12. I think that we are missing an essential point. That is, we have to get the powers that be interested in “real development”. How is that done? Will it take a paradigm shift? However it is done, the fact is that sufficient people, who can make a difference at the polls or anywhere, must get up and say, “enough is enough”. The amount of people I see complaining for electric bills had nothing to say during the hearing, where I got shot down for raising the topic of rate shock; something we feeling today. Why the disconnect? Is it lack of vision? Is it the education system that is failing to make us aware as a people?

It is easy to say that the article is all talk, but people being aware that life can be better if we put our heads down, is the first step. The article is a resource for those who would dare to make a difference to the sham that we keeping up; that is not in our best interests. If one person in Barbados is poor, that is one too many for the skills, education, talent and genius that emerge from the loins of our people. Just that the ship is rudderless and tipped one-side by materialism to achieve a dream; whether it be the American dream or a Bajan dream. We must wake up! ‘Cause it is only a dream that you will more than likely die of stress before you truly achieve it. You may even get your hands on it and can’t hold on ’cause it is only a dream and it is not hard to see that people are turning outward for answers because the opportunities here seem to be for certain people. Meanwhile, you will not see many protests on the streets, the reality is escalating crime; as each man takes his own chances just to live the dream; ’cause fo’ right now “is ’bout me!”

13. I suspect that racism, discrimination, indiscipline and a lack of commitment are major obstacles to Barbados reaching its full potential. The intellect of a country’s people is perhaps its greatest resource and, to protect a minority, our leaders over the years have failed to access, or seek to exploit for the benefit of others, 90%-95% of that resource. We then expect the exploited to be good citizens and make a meaningful contribution to a society that offers them little hope, their predecessors having already made significant sacrifices, while others now arrive to take the benefits. It is not surprising that indiscipline follows the frustration of those that decide not to play the support roles assigned to them.

We need leaders that have a deep love for, and unwavering commitment to, Barbados and Barbadians. Our simple message to all should be that you are welcome here, but on mutually beneficial terms. Our simple message to our people, you are the priority and each entitled to participate in creating and benefit from the fortunes of our country, but indiscipline will not be tolerated. The consequence is that decisions are made for the benefit of all and not a few.

Schools: Boys are clearly not performing as well as they did under single-sex schools. There is no need for extensive, pointless discussion – revert to single-sex schools. There is no logical reason to sacrifice boys for the benefit of girls.

Unions: Legislate that every employee must join a union, avoiding the need for time-wasting discussions and work stoppages when some foreign, and probably some local, companies are established. In return, the unions adopt a no-nonsense approach to members – play the ass on the job and you do not have our support.

Access to the sea: This resource is there for all, not to be restricted. No further construction, except for public facilities, on the seaside – all new hotels and such development start from the inland side of the highway. Existing seaside properties may continue until time for demolition and then be rebuilt on the inland side.

Agriculture and welfare: Combine agriculture and welfare, so that there is no need for welfare assistance to able-bodied people. With adequate expert input, NHC et. al. will develop, on behalf of the Welfare and Agriculture Departments, farming communities comprising housing units and commercially viable greenhouses. Able-bodied welfare will be a housing unit and a job in the associated greenhouse. The Agriculture Department will provide the required guidance via extension officers assigned to manage each greenhouse and the marketing and distribution of the output. The “welfare employees” are paid a salary, from which rent is deducted. No indiscipline will be tolerated – no work, no house and you are on your own.

Major investments: Major investments in areas such as land development, communications, electricity, etc. (special development areas) must be done via a public company. The major investor may hold in excess of 50%, but less than two-thirds, to prevent unilateral fundamental changes.

Etc., etc., etc.

14. Interesting perspective Elombe! I also note your veiled warning to the BTA, not to hinge the fortunes of Barbados’s important Tourism Industry (itself a product with potential for volatility and fragility) on ephemeral prospects like the career of Rihanna etc.

Especially when Rihanna has the tendency to ocassionally degenerate into lasciviousness and various forms of crudity, E.G witness that expose in the NATION this week with simulated lesbian sex on stage.

Rihanna, you clearly are a gifted and talented young lady. Take that NATION article reprinted from the international press, as a subtle exhortation : DO NOT BRING THAT STUFF TO KENSINGTON OVAL NEXT WEEK. Then, if it turns out that the people overwhelmingly love it so, our country is in serious trouble! And Rihanna, since we are talking about “Good Girl Gone Bad” I urge you to learn some lessons right now. LOOK AND SEE WHAT HAS HAPPENED TO AMY WINEHOUSE, dead this morning at age 27!!!!! Your life is yours to live, but I believe that most of us, if not all, care about you and would love to see you return to the “GOOD” mode.

15. Then, will Rihanna be tempted to jump into the Crop Over Swing, and give Barbadians a taste of her own peculiar brand of ” pooching back” and “jooking” maybe far exceeding the remarkably extravagant diet of our now “national” dance, WUCKING UP, which has been fed to all and sundry these past two months!

What is really going on in this country with this elephantine level of “pooching back” and “wining pon it”, and in the majority exhibited by our scantily clad young “ladies”? Will the Ministry of Culture and the Ministry of Tourism ultimately declare June, July and August as the annual National Period of “WUCKING UP IN HEAT” just like the dogs, and will our Youth Ambassador be the Global Poster Girl? I pray that this dreadful thing does not come to pass.

16. Trust Truthman Burton to pollute a worthwhile post with his brand of commentary.

Truthman as usual can’t resist seeking the lowest common denominator, Truthman there was lesbian sex in Barbados long before Rhianna ever graced any stage and there will be lesbian sex long after she is gone. There was “wukking up” and “pooching back” in Barbados during your party’s tenure in office and I never heard a word from your culture czar about the issue.

Truthman Burton what a well chosen sobriquet, your namesake would be proud of you.

17. @Truthman Burton …where do you think Rhianna learnt to pooch back and wuk up? And like St. James Barbados was known as the homosexual capital of the West Indies long before Rhianna was born. You seem to have a very convenient memory.

18. Islandgal246,

You ain’t over stay your time in Barbados.

Wah you know bout St. James in Barbados ?

Ketch REDJET back to Guyana….2 morrow !

19. @Not fooled…..Yuh want to chase me to a country ah neva gone tah? My time here is legal like yours an ah bet dat I here longer dan yuh. Yuh wudn’t tell dat to Mara nor David when he did living nuh? Yuh is one big piece ah pupp!

• It appears the thrust of Elombe’s submission mirrors the Singapore approach.

The assessment of what it could offer the world and then build out the infrastructure by developing a medium to long term plan.

20. Labouring and Prospering with the Lord Jesus Christ!

“Unless the Lord builds the house ( Village, Parish, Home, Nation) They labour in vain who (seek to) build it. Unless the Lord guards the city, the watchman stays awake in vain.” (Psa 127:1)

21. I doan want to read anything from Elombe
    I want Elombe to come back and run things bout here in Bim

Barbados needs you Elombe
    Gone too long ! Baba

22. I think we place too much emphasis on signapore. Check back to Garvey. We must develop “we” economy and society for “we”.

“Up you mighty Race, you can achieve what you will!”

• @ROK

The reference to Singapore is to agree to an approach which seems obvious any way – initiating an assessment to inform strategy forward and then putting the blocks in place to achieve it.

The strategy which we have to adopt does not have to be Singapore like.

23. islandgal246 it is people like you who does perpetuate lies bout st.James men.
    But yuh is a Bajan so cuh talk as much shiite as yuh like.

24. @Hants……yuh from St. James twoo? LOLLL Nuff shite does happen dere yuh know …so doan ben down ah say doan ben down

25. Yes islandgal246 I from St.James too so you are free to call me a bulla.

I live by the principle of the great philosopher PC Broomes. “Talk….but doan touch me.”

Now go an buy a MADD video and support yuh Bajan brethren.

26. Truer words cannot be said. “WE” must develop our economy and society .I don’t think that politicans have a clue or a real sense of what bring tourist to an island. Tourist are looking for “”Difference” not the European or North American way of life. An island atmosphere which makes the tourist feels as being in a place they have never visted or seen before. The article is spot one but like all things bajan no one listens.

27. AC…how you? I thought you were on holiday like Bonny. She must be roasting up there in New York. Ah too happy to be here than to tek dat heat up dere. Glad to see you.

28. “Unless the Lord builds the house ( Village, Parish, Home, Nation) They labour in vain who (seek to) build it. Unless the Lord guards the city, the watchman stays awake in vain.” (Psa 127:1)

Vybz Kartel got a song with this particular verse as the intro.
    But looka muh crosses doh.
    Dem cancelled de people show and block de man from coming down heh and it look like de man no just as much scriptures as dem.
    I wonduh wuh dat mean?
    Oh dear Miss Barker cat got pups!

29. @Sargeant | July 23, 2011 at 2:43 PM |
    “Trust Truthman Burton to pollute a worthwhile post with his brand of commentary.”
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Sarge my friend, first of all, my statements have nothing to do with politics, although if you want to go there, I can engage you. The sentiments expressed represent MY personal views on a situation that begs caution as opposed to a warm embrace, and for close examination regarding the deleterious effects that certain influences can have on the impressionable minds of large numbers of our young people.

Is it that you are living so comfortably in your political fatted-calf cocoon, (profoundly articulated by your dead king as a Families First initiative for the DLP FAMILY) to the extent, that your conscience, your sense of decency, your sensibilities have become so caloused, you do not care if this country continues to decend into a cesspool of the ribald and lewdness. Don’t blame me for the pictures that appeared elsewhere around the globe and in the NATION Newspaper this week. Obviously you approve, and whilst I stake no claim to being the moral policeman for Barbados, would you tell me what value can be attached to the upliftment of the youth in this country, by the actions of an International Star, wildly and publicly on stage, writhing like a dog in heat on top of another female? Tell me Sarge, what is the benefit, and should such actions be receiving Official sanction at the highest levels of Gov’t? Do you now see where the hypocrisy lies?

The TRUTH hurts you so much, that you would now like to blame me for commenting on the gory details. There is a cartoon that appears in the same NATION every Saturday entitled “How The Youth Get So” and the reason they have gotten so, is due to the extreme liberal attitudes of people like you (I assume you are an adult) who would passively stand by, as our young people, AND SOME OLD ONES TOO, take this country speeding down the path of moral decadence and destruction.

Take your eyes and the focus of your ignorance off of me; I did not create this situation. You don’t even recognise, that by your own words, you ARE the one who has described Rihanna’s behaviour as “the lowest common denominator”, and you are happy, quite unlike what Elombe is subtly warning against, that our BTA has signed a lucrative agreement (presumably so, because it is SECRET) to promote just that …… behaviour equated to the lowest common denominator. I can only hope and pray that Rihanna comes to her good senses, and refrain from despoiling the stages around the world with these instances of crudity and sluttiness. I hope that she will use her huge talents more wisely, and more in keeping with the tenets of decent behaviour. I would like our Barbadian young people to know and understand that there is nothing noble about “going from good to bad.”

And Sarge, as far as your politics is concerned, and as far as lasciviousness in governmental circles is concerned, let me tell you about the real pollution! Why won’t Minister Donville Inniss clear the air once and for all about his alleged involvement in the porn industry, and the alleged millions gone and still going to a secret swiss bank account? Is it true that these funds allegedly helped to finance the election campaign? These and many more questions require answers from him.

30. Good article and many ideas to ponder.

I like Alien’s Agriculture and Welfare idea though it would probably never fly in a society like ours but it seems very interesting.

31. @islandgal
    HI sis. I was away on vacation. thanks for keeping me in your thoughts. When i travelled i always try to buy products or visit sites that is a refection of the place. I find that the same is not true in Barbados. There is a whole mirage of things for Tourist to see and do on an island only if “WE” would truly represent ourselves as is and stop being copy cats of other countries. Our country needs to reinvent the wheel go back to basic s and simplity.The politicans are lookingt outward for answer when most of the solutions are right here at home. .

• @Hants

One area we can exploit is our rich cricket heritage as well as our HR resource to build out Online Universities.

• We have Sir Gary, Wes Hall, Sir Everton, Joel Garner and the list is endless.

Create a lecture series and promote it.

Let Barbados be known for the place to be if you want to hear the greats.

The Cricket Legends of Barbados is suppose to be doing it but it seems very low keyed.

Our greats are getting old, we need to exploit their experiences before they get older.

32. Barbados must focus on food security.

Use Solar energy to produce electricity which will make commercial Hydroponic farming viable and reduce the dependance on fuel oil.

If Barbados can grow 90% of it’s food requirements the country will save a large amount of foreign exchange.

Barbados must continue to sustain and enhance its Tourism product.
    Tourism is firmly established.

I keep reading “buy local”. I agree but manufacturers must produce good quality products.

The Government should grant scholarships for talented and qualified students to study Industrial design. This is important if you want to diversify manufacturing.
    Industrial designers can also work for companies in other parts of the world using the internet.

That is the contribution from Hants. NEXT!!!!

33. I am appealing to Bajan peppersauce manufacturers. Please use fresh tumeric and not powdered.

It would give you an edge over the competition.

I have been using a bottle of “Barbados Hot pepper Sauce. Product of COSTA RICA . Wha gine on hey?

No Windmill or Aunt may’s at the two West Indian stores I shop at in Toronto. mmmmmm???

34. @Truthman Burton

Don’t try to put words in my mouth, the readers can decide whether I was describing any behaviour attributed to Rihanna or whether I was describing your attempt to bring “lesbian sex” , “Pooching back” and Wukking up” into the discussion as the lowest common denominator.

In Elombe’s post there are many areas that he thinks that Barbados can focus on to build on its strengths. Instead of responding to any of these ideas you focused on Rihanna who is mentioned only once. Why on earth you would choose to bring salacious details into the debate is beyond my understanding, you then “upped the ante” as it were by casting other behaviours into the mix which you tried to relate to the entertainer and the efforts of the BTA/Govt.

Rihanna will not bring the same stage act from Germany to Barbados, she knows her audience, this is a country where she was criticised for walking across the road from the beach in a bikini, there are horses for courses and she knows what course she is on.

At this junction I think I should mention that the leader of your Party and the former PM had as one of his portfolios the Ministry of Culture if we are still “wukking up” and “Pooching back” after his tenure it doesn’t speak very well for his efforts in curtailing the same.

As to my living on any “fatted calf” as my grandmother used to say of politicians “ I don’t rice at any of dem”, I live by the biblical philosophy of “In the sweat of thy face shalt thou eat bread” ( Genesis 3:19 KJV) and there has been a lot of my sweat over the years.

35. Great article Elombe, you are the type of person that I would like to see rise up and start a new party along with other persons of like thinking. This country is in dire need of new political blood to chart a new course of development for this new century. Gone are the days of the old time politics still played where they are yardfowls from both parties just spouting their crap. We need people who see Barbados as their own and who are willing to think less of self and more of the country, for too long we have been in a political relay race where the B’s pass the baton to the D’s and vici-versa, this antiquated politics MUST stop or this country will be left far behind. Let me be the first to welcome you back home, in anticipation, and also be the first to register as a member of your party, just to give supprt to others like you.

36. jack spratt | July 23, 2011 at 10:39 AM |

“I don’t know if any of you see that Elombe is identifying our major problems as xenophobia and po’ greatness that we don;t need nobody or nothing from outside. There are many on this blog of that view!”

Jack Spratt you have hit the nail on the head! We cannot and must not isolate ourselves by believing that we know it all and yet we are so ignorant.

Many of you reading this blog would not know that a sandwich was named after Sir Frank Worrell in India because someone out there admired him soo much that he created a special sandwich named a Frankie. That sandwich has become a mainstay of Indian cuisine in India street food as well as in New York city.

Frankies are unique to Mumbai and are distinguished by the egg washing of their casings. They’re said to have been created by a Mr. Amarjit Singh Tibb. Supposedly, Tibb wasn’t inspired by the kati roll,
    but by a Lebanese preparation of stuffed pita bread similar to shawarma. After a trip to Lebanon in 1967, he worked on creating the right curried fillings, and named his creation for the famed West Indian cricketer, Frank Worrell, actually trademarking the term. The first “Tibbs Frankie” opened in Mumbai more than thirty years ago, and now the chain has franchised locations.

The specialty at Tabla’s Frankie Cart is the Chicken Tikka Frankie (above). It features Bread Bar Chicken Tikka and mint chutney wrapped in an egg-washed “roti.” The wash contains cilantro, chilis and scallion. Inside are moist pieces of chicken that have been marinated in green curry, cumin, pepper, garlic, ginger and scallion. The exterior is surprisingly eggy, the chicken is flavorful, and the green chutney exudes vibrant hints of garlic and mint. Currently, the chicken is the only variety available, but Tabla plans to offer additional vegetarian options once the Greenmarket is better stocked.

http://www.alwayshungryny.com/thought-for-food/entry/alwayshungryny-tablas-frankie-cart

37. Unfortunately, having stayed in Barbados, Eric Lewis may never reach his full potential. This is theater for the stages of London, New York and Toronto. With appropriate backing, Barbadians and our tourists should be flocking to see theatrical productions of this, and other works by Eric, at the EBC for Creative Arts. Sir Hilary, please consider a production of this and other works of Eric, in association with MADD – not the usual MADD in concert, but theater, appropriately produced and marketed, with the guests in evening wear, of course.

38. Alien wrote “This is theater for the stages of London, New York and Toronto.”

They will have to clean up their act and leave out the references to xxxping 13 year old schoolgirls.

39. Elombe’s life experiences have not been spent hovering over or nesting within the immediate cultural environment into which he was born. He spread his wings and his mind and is, once again, giving us his opinions and facts. He knows the difference and is aware that others can make similar differentiation. I can well imagine that a Secondary School educator with responsibility for English and other related subjects (GP) could use this post by Elombe. If comments by the retired Chief Justice, Sir David, are to be acted upon, the Lecturers at the Law School could also use it a s a demonstratiopn of the effectice use of English and grammar.

Elombe briefly addresses the evolution of Barbados’ society. It has been in my opinion appropriate but not without pain and diversions. There have been some discards. I can remember stories of bright and academically gifted Barbadians receiving scholarships to internationally recognized (foreign) universities, completing their training, returning and being denied jobs for which they were prepared. These positions were fille by inferior imports. The other side of this is the experiences of many young people who grew up outside of these shores. There were Barbadian educators, magistrates, Labour Comissioners and industry of many types whom helped to mold and populate many communities within and outside of the Caribbean. Many of these pioneers were forced to leave these shores for social reasons which fall under headings similar to those which I observe in the recently manufactured Cuban Physician Crisis. Elombe wisely exhorts care in the addressing of ths matter.

He seems willing to be involved in a discussion. I really do not know him well but am aware that name calling may only provide him with another subject upon which he may discourse in prose or poetry. Those of us with four or less decades of experience need to confront these older ones like Elombe with facts. There is much room for opinion but this tends to go down better when mixed with verifiable information. There are marvelous examples from these shores. Clennel Wickham, Grantley Adams, Errol Barrow and many others did not change anything by themselves. There was steel which sharpened them into the historical giants that they have become. Let us pull more from Elombe and those whom will step into his sandals.

40. Elombe posted this article 22Jul2011 about WIFI,,,,,

What the hell does all the other submissions have in common related to the subject,,,Christ wunna all really F*^%#D up..

• @tweedley dum

Many of the commenters agreed with Elombe and went on to make other points.

What is wrong ?

41. Francis,

Are you serious in your first paragraph? Effective use of English and good grammar? Have you seen the title?

Leave a comment, join the discussion.