After reading an article emailed to us a couple weeks ago BU resorted to the ubiquitous Wikipedia to understand the termย  Genetic Sexual Attraction. The article highlighted the story about a Penny Lawrence, 28 who tracked down her father, Garry Ryan, 46 after her mother died. The father left Penny Lawrenceโ€™s mother when she was pregnant. To get to the gist of the matter, โ€œupon meeting, they felt an instant physical attraction, which resulted in a sexual relationship. Ms Lawrence is now pregnant with her father’s child.โ€

The BU household immediately thought, oh my gosh, how disgusting! On further reading we were โ€˜enlightenedโ€™ that what we thought to be an illegal and immoral act could actually be a documented condition. Although the BU household readily accepts the label of being conservative on family values, on the flip side we have been exposed to life enough not to immediately dismiss strange occurrences.

Explaining the act of a father impregnating his daughter under the diagnosis of GSA,ย  no way Josรฉ!ย 

To the old fashion BU household we believe what we have here is incest, pure and simple. Older Barbadians would understand the term inbreeding and the attendant issues of physical defects passed on often times to the offspring. Some will offer the excuse that this kind of thing has been happening for a long time.ย  What we have here is the in your face deposit of the matter. The publicโ€™s ready acceptance by the parties. In days of old when it did occur those involved knew it was wrong and would do all humanly possible to manage it away from the public eye. Nowadays it appears the same behaviour is worn as if it were a badge of honour.

As we enter the important Christian season of Holy Week the role of the Church seems to be waning. There was a time when the Churchโ€™s role was to ensure a high moral standard was maintained. Today the moral compass seems to be quivering with indecision. No doubt the endtimes cadre resident on BU will interpret the obvious moral decline as the sign of things to come.

The challenge for modern society is accepting the right of the individual to freedom of choice while establishing a societal standard. How do we manage the two conflicting positions?

1. Under no circumstances, whatsoever, can one justify fornicating with one’s own near kin. Anyone who do such things should be rendered dick-less, I believe.

2. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Strange indeed! Like one man wanting to impregnate another!

3. @man wiv no name
    There are many things that are stange in this world, but it was practiced by the upper classes of england including the queen’s family and jews. Its still happening.
    What is even stranger is paedophiles, child porn, stalking, spying for sex scandals etc.

If you want to know how bad it really is look at some islands in the caribbean that call it ‘carnal abuse’ which leads to rapes and other sex crimes.
    Once again, you can research all these things and see where strangeness lives and where it all came from in the first place
    Just like all the abuse of children in world war II and the subsequent abuse of children by the catholic church and its many religious orders around the world, that situation is still exploding.
    Type into your search engines’ religion and child abuse’ or the fact that all the past popes were paedophiles too.
    Too many wicked things going on in this world!

4. Well done, David. All boxes ticked.

Many religious laws are, as we all know, dictated by every-day considerations. We look to Judaism mainly for these โ€“ laws about eating pork, about mixing fruit and milk or cream on the same plate, circumcision etc. โ€“ laws that are almost all completely outdated by things like refrigeration, Pepto-Bismol, sanitation/medical advances. The most notable Roman Catholic rule is that priests must not marry or indulge themselves sexually, the former of which they have no problem with and the latter which they, for the most part, totally ignore. This embargo was brought about a few centuries after Christ, because of the very high number of Christian priests and their families who were being martyred (the authority for that being the Vatican itself). So, another outdated and obsolete rule. Then, there is the RC veto against contraception that has its roots and being in populating the Earth with as many RCโ€™s as possible, on the basis that this was (and is) to spread the Word of God โ€“ not only an obsolete, but in this day and age, a potentially ruinous rule in terms of health and the well-being of the peoples of may countries.

So, we come to incest. Incest, unlike the outdated and irrelevant other religious rules and prohibitions, continues to be relevant. However, it is not necessarily illegal in some countries. In Australia it is illegal; in Brazil it is legal as long as you are over 14; in Canada it is illegal; in England and Wales it is illegal; in Finland it is illegal; in France in January 2010, incest was made illegal once again after a 200 year hiatus when it was legal, because the French Revolution viewed it as a religious taboo; India, a Commonwealth country, does not recognize incest as a crime and this has led to massive unreported incidents of sexual abuse of children โ€“ and to think that a lawyer or judge from India could have been appointed as CJ of Barbados; it remains only to say that the USA prohibits incest.

So, you can dress it up in whatever way you wish, the claim of GSA as a defence to a charge of incest is EXACTLY akin to a murderer presenting the defence that they had an uncontrollable urge to murder and must therefore be found innocent as a result. What these people need is a good psychiatrist and some excellent psychiatric medication. What are the bets that when one of them has tired of the other and wants to end the relationship, they will fall back on how guilty they felt in the first place about breaking one of the few relevant laws that is not only religious, but civil?

@guest. Since it takes two to tango, would you care, for the edification of the BU readership, to explain and define the feminine gender equivalent of โ€œdick-lessโ€?

5. There are a lot of kids with uncle Daddies running around as a result of incest.In the case where there is no reproduction, the fact remains that incest sucks!What gets to me is that those who were scarred as a result of this unacceptable act of incest never truly heal and in many instances, live a lie.
    I am yet to be convinced that psychiatric treatment works in reversing the effects of incest. My soul cries………

6. There is no freedom of choice in immorality. How does one explain immorality as having a freedom of choice . I really don’t understand it. The bar is constantly being lowered making way for society to accept just about everything that is immoral or illegal we as a society are at high risk of losing our right to say enough is enough. the challenge and the right to say “no more” .

7. @Raymond

One can never reverse the effects of incest. All psychiatric or psychological interventions do is to help one cope as their soul cries.

There can be no justification for GSA, call it whatever, its still incest, ungodly, immoral and illegal and hell bent on destructing family members for generations.

8. In those countries where incest is not illegal but perhaps socially frowned on, why is that position held?

Aren’t individuals in a society where incest is legal free to do their thing?

Why do the people who shout ‘bloody murder’ at incest have no such squalms with homosexuality as an example.

Just curious?

9. Amused writes “and to think that a lawyer or judge from India could have been appointed CJ of Barbados”. According to the amended law which appears to have failed so far to achieve its objective, he or she still may be. Homosexuality is legal in the US, by the way! Should we have a CJ from there?

10. @Spratt. Pathetic. Surely you can do better than that.

11. What happens in the case of siblings marrying siblings and not knowing they were related? They went on to produce offspring and later found out they were related. What can they do in a case like this? I have heard of this happening in Barbados.

Many local genealogist when doing family trees have found that incest occurred and it was the skeleton in the closet that no one wanted to talk about.

In some areas of Barbados incest is rife and I think that studies have to be done to see how widespread it is. It will be a very difficult project to undertake. Perhaps this is where the hospital can help.

I believe those who knowingly commit incest should be charged and jailed. Like the song goes……. woe is me, shame and scandal in de family.

12. “Why do the people who shout โ€˜bloody murderโ€™ at incest have no such squalms with homosexuality as an example.”

David Incest is between close family, Homosexuality occurs mostly between unrelated people and it does not produce offspring.

13. I believe that incest is wrong, however who are we to tell two grown ppl what they should do. Its like homosexuality, who is going to tell two big men/women that they can’t, in the privacy or the homes, engage in homosexual acts. Its a personal, moral decision.

14. Yes, this is disgusting and inexcusable. Even if they are consenting adults, think of what the poor child will have to go through for the rest of its life.

15. There is a difference between inset and homosexuality…

Incest has the potential to harm another.. namely any child born of an incestuous relationship due the the higher likelihood of it have a detrimental genetic condition.

Homosexuals harm no-one, or if they do harm someone, it is only themselves.

16. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

bajan | April 21, 2011 at 3:29 AM |
    @man wiv no name
    “There are many things that are stange in this world, but it was practiced by the upper classes of england including the queenโ€™s family and jews. Its still happening.
    What is even stranger is paedophiles, child porn, stalking, spying for sex scandals etc.”

Hi ‘bajan’, I’m glad we’re at least agreed that it IS strange! I don’t care who practised it before or the root of its origins, it is STILL STRANGE! I agree there are ‘too many wicked things going on in this world’. At least, while we can still discuss them openly, there’s hope that things may change! I’ll never forget the American, BLACK man who appeared on the Gerry somebody’s show and admitted to having had an incestuous relationship with his daughter, who was there in the audience and also admitted to it! He swore that she loved it/him and wanted more and would come back to him for more, when she was ready. The audience wasn’t best pleased!!

17. Guyron Philbert-John, T@T Avatar
    Guyron Philbert-John, T@T

Sexuality is largely a social phenomenon determined by each age according to prevailing norms. In biblical times incest as we know it today hardly existed. Brothers and sisters frequently married and there was no big issue about it. Today, of course, we would frown at such things, and rightly so. In no age, however, have do we know of parents and children legally or morally sexually involved.

18. The problem as I see it with incest lies in interbreeding. That is what has to be avoided. As has been said, however, there are times when people do not know that tey are committing incest. The old adge springs to mind. “Maternity is a matter of fact. Paternity is a matter of opinion.” In the present case, both parties knowingly entered into an incestuous relationship and are to produce a child. The effect on the child might well be catastrophic from a medical point of view – and from a social pointof view………

19. @Amused, you are really amusing. Never thought of the feminine of dick-less. Probably the answer might be sown-up cavities…oops, cavity has a bad ring in BIM because of recent alleged happenings. So, to be safe, an iron or metal fixture, neatly fitted, save for a water spout possibility to render any fornicability impossible. Pad locks and chains might also be put to secured the further guarding of this pleasure route in order ward off any transgression. The police or immigration at GAIA should keep the key. 46y, Nh765+8h53-2byx!

20. Milton Griffiths Avatar
    Milton Griffiths

I suggest that incestuous people be flogged, homosexuals keep their proclivities private, and everybody keep the sexual talk in their bedrooms.

21. @islandgal & Duh

Point taken that the physical and moral issues when discussing incest and homosexuality should be separated.

22. May I suggest that incest is probably created (sic) out of an irregular ‘home’ situation and hence is therefore a symptom of something wrong in the family per se?

It is just weird that anyone would want to have relations with another family member. It is a sickness, like other personality disorders.

23. 40acres and a mule.(formerly Zion) Avatar
    40acres and a mule.(formerly Zion)

I see no difference in terms of sexual morality between homosexual behaviour , beastiality, paedophilia or incest. If society can justify gay marriage and gay sex based on some semantical legal mumbo jumbo then why do these same hypocritical people want to draw a line with incest. The day we went about and legally normalised gay behaviour was the day everything went out the window for me.So, If two grown ass people wanna get it own – even if they are related I don ‘t see no problem with that. Let us not forget that Abraham married and impregnated is half-sister and so did a host of biblical figures.

What I find absurd is that a gay person or a gay sympathiser will see no sickness or abnormality in their behaviour- uisng all type of reasoning to justify their behavoiur with words like ( privacy, adult, consent, harmless,..etc) but yet still will be the first to frown and condemn the weird sexual preferences of others.What is good for the goose must be good for the gander. If gay people were born that way I say GSA people have the same right. Let everybody celebrate their sexual preferences.

24. Random Thoughts Avatar

Quoting 40 acres… “I see no difference … between homosexual behaviour , beastiality, paedophilia or incest.
    Beastiality=unfairing the poor non-consenting beast, the mule might not like you 40 acres but can’t say no.
    Paedophilia=unfairing the poor non-consenting child who might grow up to hate you and maybe even kill you. It has happened before and as sure as the sun will rise tomorrow it will happen again. Study dat!!
    incest=very likely (as in this case) bringing a poor non-consenting child into a very, very awkward situation AND by breeding-in depriving that poor non-consenting child of 50 % of its family members.
    If 2 non-breeding adult males or females feel to get in on who are they harming?

25. After May 21 there will be no more of these discussions

26. Random Thoughts Avatar

Why not Harold?

27. Random Thoughts Avatar

If the Maya or Inca or Aztecs could see God coming 700 years down the road, how come they couldn’t see Columbus and his diseased men coming right ’round the corner to deciminate them?

Stupseeeeeee!!!!!!!!

28. Random Thoughts Avatar

Patrick Stuebing has recently been the centre of a heated debate around incest, due to his relationship with his biological sister, Susan Karolewski, since 2001. The relationship has so far produced four children of whom only one, Sofia, remains with the couple. Sofia is the only healthy child. The older two children suffer from severe physical and mental disabilities. The third child was born with a heart condition. All three were placed in foster care… Patrick, an unemployed locksmith …and Susan share a small flat… on the outskirts of Leipzig…Incest is a criminal offence in Germany…disabilities caused by inbreeding are viewed as deliberately inflicted bodily injury to the child. Patrick had 3 disabled children between 2001 and 2004 before he had a vasectomy.

Patrick shulda find a job and stop fooping his sister and breeding a lot of half foolish children for other people to raise. And he shoulda had a doggie clipped (vasectomy)way back in the 20th century. Ya mean they got such fat pretty freuleins in Germany and the only body he could find to foop is he own sister?

Patrick talkin’ shite about human rights.

29. @Guest. You bad. What you are saying is that women inclined to incest ought to be fitted with a chastity belt and the key to said belt handed to the head of cusoms and immigration at GAIA.

@Random Thoughts. Thank you for that. It is exactly the point I was trying to make. It is the reason that incest is illegal in most countries.

30. @40 Acres
    Are you having a bout of paralysis of the brain? It has not really struck you that this whole incest matter is not funny.Trust me it will hit home when the man in the long black coat knocks on your door!!

31. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

The incest taboo is one of the strongest taboos in ALL human societies precisely because widespread incest has the capacity to utterly destroy a society in a few generations.

And no society wants to destroy itself. Every society wants to perpetuate (reproduce) itself. Every human being wants to have one or more healthy children (and in the Barbados context we ALL want those children to come first in the 11+ to win Barbados scholarships, Nobel prizes and Olympic gold medals (ah lie??)

Everybody wants children who are winners.

Nobody wants children who are losers (ah lie?!!)

And lest we forget because of Patrick Stuebing’s (and his sister’s) selfishness and foolishness 3/4 of their children are severe losers, so disabled that they cannot ever run to the shop on thier own errands and they are certainly incable of working the land to provide thier own food.

Let us step back a bit from the modern social welfare societies that so many people in the world and we in Barbados enjoy. Let us step back say 200 years (to 1811) or 2,000 years (to 1011) when our foreparents lived and most people lived in small villages without government provided goods and services. In those days there were rulers and peasants and even though the small ruling class might practice incest without doing harm to the larger body of the society, if incest with its attendant socially and economically expensive disablities became widespread the society would be suffer a terrible economic GENETIC BURDEN by having to care for so many disabled, unproductive young people and the elders in turn would suffer because without the labour of healthy young people elders suffer, even now in modern social welfare societies ALL of us in one way or the other are dependent on the labour, the services, and the taxes provided by a healthy young population.

So the incest taboo, protects us from our greedy sexual selves, by prohibiting us from having sex with the nearest living breathing human being (our children, siblings, parents, and often first and second cousins) so that the society can achieve its long term goal of healthy productive survival.

So even though having to walk to the next village to seek out a reproductive sexual partner who is willing to bear the social and economic burden of raising our children, even though that walk through the forest, or jungle, or arctic, or desert is a physical and economic burden, all societies impose this burden because that walk is the economic price we must all pay in order to have a healthy next generation.

So no there is after all no free lunch and no free sex either.

Satisfying ourselves on our children, or parents or siblings, may serve our short term goal (a piece of sex right now) but will destroy the societies long term goal (healthy survival)

And beside the only incest survivor that I know well. She and her sister were victimized by their father at 13 and 14. She bore and raised alone her father’s child andwas still shaking and crying 60 years after the incest was committed. So no incest is NOT harmless and it is NOT cool. A man should NOT make his daughter (or his sister) cry for 60 years.

And less we forget the burden of incest is most often borne by adolesent girls.

These girls DESERVE better.

Surely fellas we can and must do better.

32. Don’t you idiots realise that incest more often than not involves acts of pedophilia? Ask those inbreeding people in Barbados who plan to keep their neighbourhoods the same colour.

33. Random Thoughts
    LOL. ya got ma cryinnnnnnnnnn. Dah German fella in easy a’tall. Jus luv foopin he sista. All two a dem want drownin like rats. I had a firs cousin dat dis wanna foop me rale bad when we did growin up too n I nuse ta shun he like de plagues bosey. One time he corna me n tellin me bout he want a lil kiss, I kick he in he fcukin groins hard as shoite n tek off. He is a bigga christian now dhan de Pope. stupseeeeeeeeeeeee

I know of a family dat de mudda n brudda got bout six or seven children togetha. De fadda tell one a my bruddas dat dem din kno dat dem did famblee till long afta dem had de chil’ren. dat is de consequence of men gine all ova de place breedin evry Mary, Jane n Sue. de chil’ren grow up not knowin one a nedda, nex ting ya kno, ya in luv wid ya sista or brudda. stupseeeeeeeeeee.

But two hard-back adults knowingly related and still foopin one a nedda, want floggin like shoite. Tummuch edda peeple out day dat dem could hook up wid man. doan tell me na shoite.why you would want you own brudda ta foop you or vice versa? dese peeple sick n should be down Jinkins.

And as for adults incestin lil chil’ren, dem does want dem penix bobbit. A lot a de times it does be dem own famblee members e.g uncle, cousin, step-pa or a trusted neighba dat does be guilty a dis heinous crime. All dem want stringin by dem ballzzz.

I undastan dat a former WI bajan cricketer fadda got he n sum moe chil’ren from two sistas. doan kno how tru but how a man could breed me den go n breed my sista too. all we would want drownin like rats. stupseeeeeeeee.I doan k how big n sweet he ‘ting’ did.

I also hear bout a famblee from de East dat de fadda n son does foop de mudda. dis is crazeeeeeeeee n nastyyyyyyyyy if tru. all dem want drownin like rats.

Stan
    wah you tawkin bout? how prevelant dis practise is in B/dos?

34. 40acres and a mule.(formerly Zion) Avatar

@Raymond, Random thought. We are all children of incest if you believe in creationism. So called proper sexual behaviour is a social construct that is not etched in stone and operates more like a moving target depended on the time, place and culture. That is why incest and child marriage was acceptable in years gone by and homosexuality was deemed immoral.There is no universal law that govern people sexual behaviour and what we deemed normal or proper is nothing more than cultural bias.

Homosexuals who go aroung adopting kids can cause great psychological damage to these kids also. And our society would be decimated much quicker if we all practiced gay behaviour versus incest. If god created Adam and Eve only, that means the human population was borned out of incestous relationship. Nowadays we lived in a society that selectively cherry-picked the moral values of the society, not based on the consent of the majority , but rather on pressure from lobbby groups, rights group, activists etc to secure their own narrow self-interest. That is why I believe 50 years from now people will create their own laws to get around issue like beastiality and incest just like how they did the same with homosexuals.

35. 40 acres and a mule (dis name killin me)

While there is no law to govern people sexual behaviour we as animals of a higher vertebrate and blessed wid common sense, which in sa common, by de way, should kno dat it is wrong ta foop wid ya famblee-membas man, however far removed. It is immoral, unscrupulous behaviour. If you want piecea puss-c why a sista, mudda or aunt? dat is just crazeeeeeeeee 40 acres.
    But how ya could use Adam n Eve as an analogy fa incest doe? If ya believe dat ‘story’, den they were created as man n wife not brudda n sista. mek ma ta undastan 40 acres man.

by de way, wah ya got pun dah 40 acres? de sweet potatoes reapin all like now. LOLLLL
    ya tu swoiteeeeeeee.

36. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Dear 40 acres:

I don’t believe in creationism or other fables.

You wrote “There is no universal law that govern people sexual behaviour and what we deemed normal or proper is nothing more than cultural bias”

In fact the incest taboo is universal.

37. @ 40 acres
    Are you saying that the people of today have it wrong when it comes to incest. I meaning we used to stoned people to death and burn people at the stake if that is revived should they become morally accepted. I think you have a twisted view of life trying to compare events and situations that happened thousands of years ago as to be acceptable behaviour in todays modern society we are more learned people and hopefully we have become a more
    responsible society learning from the mistakes that our ancestors had made through no fault of their own. Those who forget the past is doomed to repeat it.

38. 40acres and a mule.(formerly Zion) Avatar

@ Bonny peppa. 40 acres, planning to plant some mango next year. Anyway, Bonny remember we are all social beings and we are nothing but products of a culture that we have internalised through a process of socialisation. So if you were brought up in a culture that practiced incest like the nobilities and royal families of Europe in the past then it would seem normal for you to marry your first cousin or other family members. We only deemed it a taboo not only because of the biological implication but rather more of a social construct. Homosexuality was deemed the same way in the past but now we have sanitised and legally entrenched it to the point that it has now become an acceptable and normal behaviour in some parts of the world. Which is why I say that the foundation of a societal values and mores is nothing more than a construct borned out of its philosophical and religious biases which makes up part of its culture. However, nowadays we are seeing a shift in this process because going forward the reshaping of our societal values will be sectorially driven by interest group. And in the end evertyhing will be up for grabs. eg, prostitution, polygamy, age of of consent, etc. So my dear Bonny what may seemed taboo today can be santitised, legally redefined and with a little re-socialisation becomes acceptable tomorrow.

@AC. Your comparative analysis of past behaviour of some societies in terms of good vs bad or right vs wrong is shaped by your 20th and 21 century frame of reference. But lets us not forget that we have killed more people since the age of enlightenment than ever before and continue to do so today.

39. @40acres
    LOL! with all due respect. I think your mental faculties have been
    dwarfed by age rendering you helplessly and hopelessly into a state of delusional euphoria

40. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting 40 acres “lets us not forget that we have killed more people since the age of enlightenment than ever before and continue to do so today”

Your people may have done these killings. But I can assure you that niether ac’s people nor mine (nor Bonnie’s) have killed anybody

41. It is sick and twisted to foop members of your own family.
    Any of you who are doing it should seek counseling.

Worse yet are those who abuse children. They need to go swimming off North Point or Cove bay when the sea rough.

42. Random Thoughts

while I too abhor the idea of incest, such behaviour was not universally abhorred historically. The ancient Egyptian royal families certainly engaged in incest.
    “Recent DNA analysis sponsored by the Secretary General of the Egyptian Supreme Council of Antiquities Zahi Hawass published in February 2010, shows that Tutankhamun, the successor of Tiye’s son Akhenaten, was born of a brother-sister union.” – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tiye

” It is generally accepted that sibling marriages were widespread at least during the Graeco-Roman period of Egyptian history. Numerous papyri and the Roman census declarations attest to many husbands and wives being brother and sister. Some of these incestuous relationships were in the royal family, especially the Ptolemies; The famous Cleopatra VII was married to her younger brother, Ptolemy XIII. Her mother and father, Cleopatra V and Ptolemy XII, had also been brother and sister. In Ancient Greece, Spartan King Leonidas I, hero of the legendary Battle of Thermopylae, was married to his niece Gorgo, daughter of his half brother Cleomenes I” http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Incest

In Hawaii the practice of brother-sister relationships was also the norm up the 1800’3. “He (like his father) married several relatives of high rank, but he was the last Hawaiian king to practice polygamy. His favorite wife was his half-sister Victoria Kamฤmalu Kekuaiwaokalani. Elizabeth Kฤซnaสปu (Kamฤmalu’s full-blood sister) was his second wife who would later remarry and become Kuhina Nui. Princess Kalanipauahi was his niece by his half-brother Pauli.” http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kamehameha_II

This is, however, not to negate your general point that all the major religions condemn incest in the strongest terms.

43. 40acres and a mule.(formerly Zion) Avatar

@ Random thought. I donot know what you mean by “your people “but I was referring to humanity in general. On the other hand if you think that it is only white people that have a monopoly on war and destruction look no further than your mamma Africa.The Biafara war in Nigeria alone claimed over one million lives in the 60s. Go figure. Yet we called ourselves civilised and enlightened. The line between good and evil is a thin one my friend.

44. David
    what happened? My comment is awaiting moderation!

45. @40 acres and a mule

Know that you are into the man and beast thing but bestiality?

Come on man give the human race some credit! (couldn’t resist the man and mule business :-))

46. I recall an incident where a Sergeant in my parent unit, interfered with his daughter who he said “was in love with him.” After a night under house arrest in the mess among his fellow Sergeants, he was unrecognisable next morning, as they had beaten him black and blue.

47. But its a good thing that in Barbados those from the great house do not entertain relationships with us from the N-Yard, cause sure as hell, many a daddy is your daddy, but ya sister from the great house don’t know.

48. 40acres and a mule.(formerly Zion) Avatar

@David. I repeat, everything went out the window for me when homosexuality became a sexual right. Why should I then frown on a person if he or she wants to have sex with his or her cow , goat etc . If two adults in the privacy of their house consent to copulate, why should I care if they are related. I use to know a lady in Mahattan who use to do oral sex with her cat…. she had no qualms about it.

49. Random Thoughts Avatar

Quoting Ping Pong “This is, however, not to negate your general point that all the major religions condemn incest in the strongest terms.”

You misunderstand me. I was NOT making a religious argument as I am not a very religious person. I was making a socilogical argument that incest is taboo. The incest taboo is much, much, much older than Judism, Christianity, Buddism, Hinduism, Christianity, Islam, or Rastafai.

All of these religous have subsequently included incest as a taboo behaviour.
    But the taboo is older than these relatively “modern” (in terms of human history) religions.

50. Random Thoughts Avatar

Quoting mule and I hope that you don’t mind me calling you mule “a lady in Mahattan who use to do oral sex with her cat”

First of all if she was doing a drity deed with the cat she was NOT A LADY. Ladies don’t do that.

Secondly when she gets old and sick (and we all become old or sick or both) the cat won’t run to the drugstore to pick up her medicine or make her a cup of tea or ensure that her house is properly secured at night.

Foolish woman.

There are very good sociological and practical reasons why we should cultivate GOOD relationships with other human beings.