Submitted by Charles Knighton

I have become convinced practitioners of the pseudoscience of psychology will not be content unless and until they attach the words “syndrome”  or “disorder” to every human behaviour, even behaviour  most would deem as rational. Along with the host of syndromes and disorders already afflicting my existence now comes another novel syndrome with which I have to cope.

The first step in confronting a problem, I am told, is to admit you have one. So let’s get on with it: My name is Charles, and I suffer from pedestrian aggressiveness syndrome. I didn’t know it had a name, or that there were others like me, until I saw myself described by psychologist Leon James.

People with PAS walk on crowded city sidewalks in a very brisk and directed manner, and have zero patience for those who dawdle or, worse yet, stop short to read or respond to a text. When idiots— I should say, fellow pedestrians—do impede our progress, we dodge among the dawdlers like halfbacks, muttering insults and fantasizing about violence. At times, we even display a “mean face” as we rush past. It’s all true. The shame, the shame.

One is never “cured” of PAS, of course; one can only enter into a process of continuing recovery. In that spirit, it might help me not relapse if stupid  laggards—that is, my fellow pedestrians—followed some simple, commonsense rules.

First off, please note that sidewalks, like roads, have lanes, not marked by white lines I admit, but lanes nonetheless. So please do not drift across the sidewalk without checking over your shoulder. You are very likely in my way. And please, do not just stop short, like a car suddenly braking in traffic,  every time some pointless text or tweet or call pings your phone.  Pull over to the side! Or something awful might happen. I might even display my “mean face,” and we both don’t want that to happen.

53 responses to “PAS—Pedestrian Aggressiveness Syndrome”

1. Fubba U Cubba Cubba (Anger Management)

2. When I used to drive, befo de people at de licensing authority tek way my license, I had a variant of “pedestrian aggressive syndrome”

It was fuh dis precise reason dat dem tek way my drivers license causing, after bouncing bout 11 uh dem ingrung pedestrians, fuh crossing de road, while looking in de ole man face, daring me to hit dem, i did get ban (as AC should be from dis site)

Yes sir, i, after hitting nuf cars trying to avoid dese people who mudda din tell dem “you evah see a car in a horsepital?”, i did decide dat MacEarneys charging me too much money fuh de car repairs en id decide dat while i din gine brake and lef my face in de steering wheel and win screem, i decide sat a little bounce cyan hurt dem

Oh i should mention dat i used to have a licensed 9 mm in de glub compartment in case dem fell ingrunt.

Mos uh de time dem, un de family assualt me wid words but when dem see de leather cashet in me han’ dem wait till de police and ambulance come en ting