Submitted by Charles Knighton

I have become convinced practitioners of the pseudoscience of psychology will not be content unless and until they attach the words “syndrome”  or “disorder” to every human behaviour, even behaviour  most would deem as rational. Along with the host of syndromes and disorders already afflicting my existence now comes another novel syndrome with which I have to cope.

The first step in confronting a problem, I am told, is to admit you have one. So let’s get on with it: My name is Charles, and I suffer from pedestrian aggressiveness syndrome. I didn’t know it had a name, or that there were others like me, until I saw myself described by psychologist Leon James.

People with PAS walk on crowded city sidewalks in a very brisk and directed manner, and have zero patience for those who dawdle or, worse yet, stop short to read or respond to a text. When idiots— I should say, fellow pedestrians—do impede our progress, we dodge among the dawdlers like halfbacks, muttering insults and fantasizing about violence. At times, we even display a “mean face” as we rush past. It’s all true. The shame, the shame.

One is never “cured” of PAS, of course; one can only enter into a process of continuing recovery. In that spirit, it might help me not relapse if stupid  laggards—that is, my fellow pedestrians—followed some simple, commonsense rules.

First off, please note that sidewalks, like roads, have lanes, not marked by white lines I admit, but lanes nonetheless. So please do not drift across the sidewalk without checking over your shoulder. You are very likely in my way. And please, do not just stop short, like a car suddenly braking in traffic,  every time some pointless text or tweet or call pings your phone.  Pull over to the side! Or something awful might happen. I might even display my “mean face,” and we both don’t want that to happen.

53 responses to “PAS—Pedestrian Aggressiveness Syndrome”

1. Rambling Rose Avatar

Thats not a real name–(charles)

2. I suspect that I have a variant of this condition. Whilst there is pleasure in almost colliding with the rapidly approaching wanderer I absolutely detest those whom while strolling in front of me slow down for no obvious reason and places the back of their shoe beneath the toe of mine. The apology that I expect for this misdemeanor is never spontaneous.

3. I have been a sufferer for many, many years. In my case, my vocabulary becomes very Anglo-Saxon, with words like C U Next Tuesday forever hovering on the tip of my tongue and, on occasion, utterred and frequently overheard. The family, espcially the ball and chain, always take me to task – but do you know something – I am FAR too polite to point out that they are chronic sufferers too, especially the ball and chain.

4. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Very amusing yet sensible piece. I sympathise with your predicament Chares and am happy to say that I follow all the rules which you advise. Let’s hope the others will do the same.

5. This is certainly humorous and true. Maybe because I tend to approach most things logically, I see one or two lanes going one way and vice versa.

What annoys me muchly, is when two or three friends stroll along, coming towards me as if I do not exist.

Hello? Can you not see someone coming and therefore stick to ‘your’ lane single-file, then regroup after?

The solution is to look away, into a shop window and pretend you have no idea that someone is coming. Then just walk.

And if you are in a big city steet, it helps to look a bit ‘mad’.

Lol.

6. It appears Charles is leading a charge to give Lowdown some competition.

7. What about when as a motorist you toot at a pedestrian to let them know they are far ON the road and they STOP in the middle of said road, TURN around and look at you as if to say “Why are you bothering me?”

You know who’s a local or which is a visitor, as tourists once hearing the beep, will try to Spider-Man up the nearest wall in exact same circumstances…

8. Then there is when I want to give way to the oncoming pedestrian, I step to the side and they do the same . I step to the other side and they do the same, I will then ask if they wish to dance with me and that always brings on a smile. Other times when walking behind a slow coach and about to overtake they step to the side I was about to overtake on. I mutter incoherently and take the other side and give them a real NASTY look and move on quickly. Sometimes I even give a beep beep and then I am the one receiving the odd looks.

9. LOL! Strange but true.

10. LOL, I definitely have a touch of PAS! Nothing annoys me more than walking behind two people who are strolling slowly along in just front of you, chatting with each other and taking up the whole pavement as if it belongs to them. When they sense that you are walking behind them and want to get past, they look back at you in surprise. But instead of moving out of the way so that you can overtake them, they then just continue on strolling and chatting as before.
    It’s at this point that I move right up alongside them and then barge past as if to say: “Yes, you WERE in my way!”

11. Oh, and I always make sure I give them my biggest Bitch-Face too!

12. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Other times when walking behind a slow coach and about to overtake they step to the side I was about to overtake on. I mutter incoherently and take the other side and give them a real NASTY look and move on quickly.

Islandgal, that’s because you’re a nasty person, as I discovered recently on this blog!

Nia, don’t be tempted to become like Islan. Clearly you’ve got an ounce of decency left in you. Don’t be tempted by her to lose it!

13. Man wiv no name /dick

It takes a NASTIER one to know one.

14. Man wif no name

GET OUTTA MUH WAY!

15. But as motorists we should be more tolerant to pedestrians, because during those rare times when we park up our cars and become pedestrians ourselves , we make lousy pedestrians.

16. yes, i have PAS and real bad too. I feel like I would kick de person/s blocking my path right pun dem ankles hard,hard, hard.
    And when dem bend down ta rub de ankle, a hard kick in dem arse, knockin dem right ovva pun dem face.
    fa tru.

17. Bonny

Lawd yuh mekking muh laff LOLLLL I cud see yuh kicking dem in de behind! LOLLLLL

18. Nationalist
    I got lil or no patience/tolerance fa igrance. I serious. Picture dis, de sidewalk already too narrow n two big klowns blocking de lil walkin space ya got leff. you doan tink dem does want a hard kick or sumting? tell de trute.

19. Bonny

Ah hope it is man wiv no name in front of yuh and I wud love to see dat one! LOLLLLLLLLL

20. islandgal
    LOL. I would nevva kick de Man wiv no name. Mo like a kiss, not a kick. LOL, murdahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

21. Bonny yuh gine kiss him on de pooch den? LOLLLLLLLL

22. islandgal
    gal, all is fair in luv n war. so be it pooch or prick, all’s well dat ends well. LOLLL

man wiv no name
    smoochhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh pun ya poochhhhhhhhhhhh.

23. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting Bonny Peppa | April 6, 2011 at 5:34 PM | yes, i have PAS and real bad too. I feel like I would kick de person/s blocking my path…”
    Girl u very violent? You sure you not Jamaican?

24. Wuh part wunna in such a hurry tuh guh. If wunna feel wunna suh bad, bounce me or me young ting when we window shopping pon a friday forenon in Swan Street. De lash I pelt in wunna rass, wunna guine run home and call wunna mother a man.
    Ef wunna caan walk slow keep off de people sidewalks yuh.

25. But Bonny P, when a ummum like you take to the side walk, ya broad behind takes up two lanes, that is why a gentleman like me would quickly give way to you and walk behind you .But whatever ya do ,don’t stop sudden ,ya may get shaniqued .

26. @Nationalist. “But whatever ya do ,don’t stop sudden ,ya may get shaniqued .”

VERY funny. I haven’t laughed this much in years.

27. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Islan, why u doan lef me alone nuh? I trouble u? lol!!

Bonny, iv got every sympathy wiv what u say gal but u got tuh realise dat a lot uh people jus in got na sense, n does do v. stupid tings. it happen hay in London too. sometimes i does react in fling dum tings out d way or even fling dem out d way, in d case of children, but i has tuh learn tuh calm down or i fear one day it gun get me in trouble! 🙂

Bonny, u can make love to me any time u like babe. no problem at all!! 🙂

Bonny, please doan listen to dat Islan. u know she in nuh good!! 🙂

“man wiv no name
    smoochhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh pun ya poochhhhhhhhhhhh.”

Bonny, please behave now!! xxxx

28. Reminds me of school days when all the little children pretended to be hard giving each other dirty looks instead of 8) smiling, saying hi…

29. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

kiki, they were trying to be Jamaican then!

30. Yes Bim My Bro reggae rocks better than Patra

31. You sound like a big baldhead National Front man.. must hate yourself too

32. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

@Raw Bake,

Sir, I assure you that such as I will not bounce you. I may, due to space constraints, have to squeeze past you ‘young ting’, however such may result in our closeness and my inadvertently pushed against her buxom lovelinesss.

However, being a gentleman, I shall apologise profusely and give her a hug and squeeze, to boot (maybe with a bit of a wink).

Is that satisfactory to placate you, friend?

@Bimbro,

When I was in London town, I worked with a delighful girl, absolute refinery and gentle, her parents were Jamaican.

Now, back here in the land of my birth, I know a lovely Jamaican girl, obviously both being married precludes further ‘interaction’, but she is the epitome of decency, she is lovely, intelligent and very enjoyable company.

Please, please ease up on the generalisations, friend.

33. Mawnin all
    Random
    Lol. yes, I is a bajan wid a J’can attitude when um suit me. LOL

Raw Bake
    I comin in town Fridee fornoon jus fa ya bumba-clawt. ya tink ya bad? well, i is a rebel. See ya Fridee by Abeds.

Nationalist
    I hope ya fingas big. dah is alll i gine tell you.

the man wiv no name
    muahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh. ya teasa.

Sir Bentwood
    I realise dat de dick still ben. good going. ya blessed.

34. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

kiki, i used to fancy u but now i in suh sure!!x

@ Sir Bentwood. i in Bimbro. I’m his brother. Sir, I’m not saying that all of them r degenerate, only 99% of dum. Anyway, wait till dis young lady u suh fond of, n di res like her, has children, den yuh gun c wha gun become uh Bim! – foolishniss!! i had nice ones too, but, thank d merciful, i in get nun uh dum pregnant! dat’s about d worse ting dat could ever happen to a person!

35. Careful how you paint people with the same brush.

I remember going to Puerto Rico and seeing signs saying “No Bajans”… So, just imagine what ALL of us were being classed as.

36. @ Bimbo
    In London Town most people think all Bajans, Dominicans, Africans etc must be Jamaican out of general ignorance, except those from the Caribbean who love to differentiate each other and fight amongst themselves.

37. Reggae is my cup of tea

38. And not only in Puerto Rico remember Margarita? Signs with “No Bajans” on shops there too.

39. Man wiv no name please leave this jamaica ting outta dis post please. We all know about your prejudice mind. So put a zip on it in here. This is to lighten up the mood and for us to have a laught. Don’t come here and spoil it.

Kiki Reggae is also my cuppa as well.

40. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

hi sexy Kiki, as a matter of interest; do u live in the UK? n, why do u call me Bimbro inspite uh my protestations dat im e bredda!!

Islan, LOL, did i bring reggie into it? LOL! ok, i’ll run away from reality fuh d time being, but id still love tuh know if sexy Kiki live in Blighty as she tink she know hay suh well! x

41. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

n, btw Islan, wha u doing tonite! where would u like to take me out to, tonite? xxxx

42. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

iv got all my windows open for d first time dis year, while lying here on m bed typing into dis ting. summer’s coming folks, u lucky people over dere!! 🙂

43. (Not Bimbo) the man wiv no name is a player.
    he’ll flirt with anyone and anything on the internet men, women, underage children’ old age pensoners, ho’s and tarts there is no shame in his game they are all the same

44. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

r u saying that YOU’RE a ho Ki?!!

45. Man Wif No Name/DICK….. “n, btw Islan, wha u doing tonite! where would u like to take me out to, tonite? xxxx”

I aint nuh stray dawg like you looking fuh friends. I will be here with my sweet husband doing sweet tings.

“the man wiv no name is a player.
    he’ll flirt with anyone and anything on the internet men, women, underage children’ old age pensoners, ho’s and tarts there is no shame in his game they are all the same”

GOOD ONE KIKI! PUT THIS RABID DAWG IN HIS PLACE!

46. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Islan, ur husban mus b a very patient man!! n, i still waiting to fine out if Kiki’s a ho!

aside from dat, i meet a nice Bajee chick hay in London las night. problem is, i already got an African chick but i like coo coo so, now i got to decide whether to stick wid my African chick or switch tuh my Bajee chile who can oviously cook coo-coo n saltfish or ANY fish, as long as it’s coo-coo! wha do u advise!

47. @Bim Bro’s Bro
    You must be stupider than Bim Bro just because you dick go hard on talking to an unknown stranger on a computer does not mean that it’s a woman communicating w/ you
    ( i.e. you might be acting accidentally gay )

48. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Kiki, to b honest, nothing u have to say’s of any real interest to me. i was jes passing time dear, whaever u is! no problem!

49. @ Raw Bake

Lookah, the sidewalk is NOT for snails!

If yuh can’t walk fast, DRIVE! And ON THE STREET, thank you very much!

The boardwalk is for dawdlers! Dawdle there! If you have to go someplace quick, out of the way of traffic, that is what the sidewalk is USED for!

50. Given the urgent need for the general public to be fondling their handheld devices a walk on the sidewalk is bound to move from brisk to pedestrian.