Submitted by Yardbroom

Leader of the Opposition (l) Former Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley (r)

There are times in the affairs of men – and women – when a decision taken, can alter the course of history.

The decision taken, which engineered the removal from office on the 18th October 2010, of the BLP leader Mia Mottley, had major reverberations on the political landscape of Barbados.  I venture to suggest even now, before the embers are yet cold, that those decisions will be seen in the future, as  defining moments in Barbados’ politics.  Even at this early stage, any discerning neophyte to the political scene in Barbados, can see that since the first flash, when the flint caused the kindling to burst into life, the fire has been gently subsiding.

That suggestion leads to the question, who will rise like the phoenix from the ashes.

The question any reasonable person must ask.  Is why was Mia Mottley removed from the leadership of the BLP?  Is it a question of performance? If it was, surely the ordinary citizen did not notice it.  Was it due to personality?  When elected  leader, she was the same person as she is now, and in the public consciousness that has not changed.  Or were there circumstances and issues, beyond the control of Mia Mottley, over which she could never have an input, which caused her “temporary” demise as leader of the BLP.

With a tentative glance around me, I venture to ask.  Was it opportunism, the lure of power and authority to be regained?  Some politicians are very pragmatic, they will do what is required, often in their own interest.  Opportunities perceived, can often bring enemies together, but when expected outcomes are not realized, does that pragmatic bond still hold.

When the “putsch” was started, there was feverish political activity, press conferences held, talk of malpractice, expectations were cranked up.  There was the belief the Government could be ambushed, there was even talk of a snap election.  I allowed myself a wry smile, and asked in a soliloquy why surrender a working majority in parliament, and go to the electorate with the “hope” of getting another working majority. . . . it did not make sense.

Those of us – of a certain age – hardened and baked in the heat of Barbados, know that in lighting a coal pot, you must ensure the paper and sticks are well alight, before you put the mahogany pods on the fire, they must be well dried, or they will not catch a-light.  For if the pods are green, and the wind is in the wrong direction, you will get a face full of acrid smoke.  For in lighting a good Bajan back yard fire, as in politics “timing” is everything. (Forgive the Bajan folklore).

The internal self-destruct button has not been pressed in the DLP.  In Government to date, the line holds firm.  No sensible politician voluntarily walks into the wilderness. . . mad they may be, but not that mad.  David Thompson, as if to thwart that anticipated division, had placed in strategic positions, men to hold the line, the “expected” has remained just that – the expected.

The BLP opposition is reduced to calling for a snap general election.  A plaintive and hollow call, to a government with a substantial working majority, barely half-way through its term of office.  The word snap in context means “unexpected” timed to give advantage to the government.  I ask of you, to think logically, a snap, “unexpected” general election, being asked for by the opposition, with the BLP waiting in ambush.  Where is the snap, where is the unexpected.

Prime Minister Freundel Stewart can just govern, the electorate expects it of him.

In the meantime Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler, in his first budget was a man not in a hurry.  He was just putting the building blocks in place, for a secure foundation, from where he can build a structure of some substance. . . mission accomplished.

For those who made the decision to usurp Mia Mottley, there is only the grind of opposition.  Which can sap the energy of young parliamentarians, on older ones it can take its toll.  The volcano has erupted, sending molten larva down its sides, venting itself destroying a lot, building nothing, now dissipated it bubbles, just bubbles.  Intense mental activity can be like a lubricant to a motor.  In-activity, without lubrication can cause gradual corrosion and later seizure.  The road ahead is long and lonely, there are no favours to be given without authority, only the mental torture of being in a dark place.

Is it too early to ask, where did it all go wrong? Was it timing, planning or execution?

Meanwhile Mia Mottley walks with renewed confidence, the smile has regained its sparkle, there is a relaxed air about her, she talks and walks with belief, refreshed and rejuvenated. . . the electorate know she has behaved with honour.

The opposition BLP in waiting, look to each other and ask where now my friends, the response to a nodding of heads is just wait.  Is that all there is.  A few might contemplate the future, for lonely is the way  a-head, and the waiting can be long when the “ambush” is set, and you know the enemy will not appear.

As I said earlier, there are times in the affairs of men – and women – when a decision taken can alter the course of history.

1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Barbados Property, Barbados Underground. Barbados Underground said: A Stroke Of Genius Or A Major Miscalculation By Owen Arthur?: http://wp.me/p41kz-3Ed […]

2. Mia’s gave an outstanding budget reply, she came with alternatives and presented them with seriousness not like Owen who seemed to be and looked like he was back in the 90’s, was he drunk he did not present himself like a leader.Pleas Owen come and apologise to the people of Barbados give back the leadership to Mia and you step down. I think that Owen now realises that he lost the elections even before them call. I for one after being a BLP for over 20 years now gone over the other side yes DLP got my vote, unless Mia becomes leader again.

3. Devide and rule is something which is common in the world of politics, bearing in mind that politics is not limited to matters of a country.It eats away like metastases and leaves scar upon scar like keloids. I am sure that Mia is where she is to be at this point in time. She has an opportunity to see how fools rush in where angels fear to thread.To her benefit;she no doubt shall be better prepared when she answers the call for higher office but not yet.
    Owen Seymore and team must understand that a night may be dark but there is always a way to get home.It is stupid to be like a child running in the wilderness unmindful of the dangers. For now everyone in the party (BLP) should greet each other with a holy kiss keeping their eyes on those who cause dissensions and hindrances. What more can I tell ya!!!!

4. Yardbroom; I agree with several things in your analysis. I disagree with a few. My major disagreement is with your analysis of the reasonableness of a snap election. “There is a time in the affairs of men that taken at the flood leads on to fortune, Omitted all the journeys of their life is bound in shallows and in misery”. That is my partial recollection of a famous shakespeare quote learnt at HC many many moons ago. Time may yet tell that in addition to Owen Arthur and his cohorts misjudging that time and acting precipitously, Freundel and his cohorts, have themselves misjudged the propitiousness of the time by acting with a superabundance of caution in not calling a snap election at this time. The calling of a snap election would be in the very worst interests of the BLP and would give the DLP time to surmount the deleterious effects of their draconian budget on the poor and middle class in this country, bring the country for the first time out of a major depression and put the BLP in the wilderness for a very long time. As it is now, they will have a fight on their hands in 2013 which there is a good chance that they can lose.

(To be continued)

5. @Checkit

BU agree that the government has missed an opportunity to renew its mandate with the death of Thompson.

The current economic climate which will cause additional austerity measures is plagued with danger for the government.

Of course it gives a fractured BLP time to regroup which is reminiscent to when Arthur did same to the DLP.

6. Owen Arthur in his reply , introduced us to the biblical book of the prophet Luke . Given in bajan parlance is simply that “de stone dat de building refuse shall become de head cornerstone.” This very medium that Mia once sought to silience now proves to be most resourceful as right thinking ,democratic minded persons seek to right the wrongs of the few , who at the most convenient of times wrap themselves in the flag , and sing the songs of democracy in voice and chorus as sweet as the Nazarene Silvertones of Barbados. Who was it that declared her deputy ? Mr. disingenuous himself . Should not the same criterion apply in the ascension to the role of leadership ? Not if a perceived opportunity presents its self. You see folks our very own version of Eric Gairy has gone from “politics of inclusion” to “politics of opportunism ” . The acute sense of smell drives the shark to bloody waters miles away , in much the same way the obvious demise of the country’s leader inspired and rejuvinated the politically infirmed , to the point where logic ,fair play and even democracy would be asked to accompany Mia to the back benches of Roebuck Street. In this mad dash and grab for power , lifestyle is now and only now an issue. So it begs the question which is more deleterious to the role of leadership ? Orientation or Inebriation ? They say that power corrupts , and absolute power corrupts absolutely . Bajans must now to themselves pose this question . Is this about absolute power , or absolute’s potency ?

7. Hi, checkit-out November 26 , 2010 ‘ 8:09 pm

I await the conclusion of your analysis. However, I will give a preliminary opinion.
    The outline of your remarks, presupposes that the DLP will win a snap election. The outcome of a general election is never certain, but taken at its highest value, and the DLP are returned in Government, so what! They already have a working majority “now,” to pass any legislation they wish, an increased majority is of little consequence.

I am aware of the expected sympathy vote, for our late Prime Minister David Thompson, and the divisions in the BLP over their leadership contest; but the electors are not a “toy” to be played with. . . the DLP has the mandate, govern.

Of course a general election – I will not use the term “snap” in this case, as that word is redundant here – increases the possibility of a full term, in reality that is only another 3 years. The BLP would rather an election now, because they are prepared for it. Why should the DLP take on a battle, at a time the opposition has chosen, No! Wait and go when you are ready, and on a date and at a time of your choosing.

My opinion is based on confidence in the DLP, I see no reason to seek the shelter of an election now. The DLP government has to be “prudent”, spend only what the economy can bear, no large scale spending to carry a large deficit, with the resultant high borrowing requirement. Pass the anti corruption legislation, and pull together. Governance gives authority, authority properly utilised, generates confidence in the electorate.

I speak not from a position of fear or weakness in the DLP. I believe they can, and will do well. There is no reason to scurry away in the darkness, and uncertainty of a general election now.

8. The Dems can play foot and fancy with facts and the truth, though.

I just overheard Senator Irene Sandiford Garner on Brasstacks trying to refute what one of the DLP supporters disagreed with her re her comments on the removal of Mia Mottley.

Sen Garner said not so, the two were different. Well, let me refresh your memory Sen Garner. The elders wrote Clyde Mascoll and asked him to resign, he refused. This is after the blood bath and blood letting took place for the presidency between him and the now PM. (Freundel must have said time longer than twine). Remember Harold Hoyte and Peter Wickham advised David Thompson to go after the leadership of the opposition after he defeated Fruendel. They even did a poll to convince Bajans that Thompson was more popular than Mascoll.

Next thing after Mascoll refused to resign, Thompson was given the title of election leader. Remember that Irene?

Well next thing that happen is that Chris Sinckler who was not even elected at that time, got Jones and Sealy to sign a letter saying that they had no confidence in Mascoll, then he brought this letter to Lashley (mr 5 & 10) to sign. Lashley said he did not read it, he only signed it. Estwick refused to sign the letter. They were so dumb, they took the letter to the Speaker of the house instead of the Governor-General.

Deal with facts, not lies.

At least the Bees had a meeting and invted Mia to defend herself. It is not their fault that she refused to go. Through the back door the elders and Chris Sinckler got rid of Mascoll.

By the way, can anyone explain the Dems new love fest with Mia, every day they used to spread gossip on this woman and now all of a sudden, she is the best thing since sliced bread.

Wow!

9. Did I hear right today in the VOB news that Chris Sinckler said that they are going to begin oil exploration next year?

Didn’t Thompson said after he won the elections that there is no oil off Barbados and it was all a hoax by the Bees?

See why you cant believe the Dems? Damn Lying People.

10. Peaches; I heard the news about Oil exploration next year too and it made me reflect, not only on what you said above, but that Chris Sinckler in his budget presentation took pains to stress that the BLP in 14 years had done nothing to restructure the Barbados economy. He therefore seems to be classifying a potentially significant off shore drilling programme as not contributing to the restructuring of the economy. I wonder if it comes to pass in the next 5 years or so if he will claim it for the DLP as a major restructuring of the economy.

Yardbroom; I think you continue to misss the point. It is all but certain that the DLP would have won an election called before an austerity budget and with public sympathy for David Thompson’s death so high that the current Prime Minister could call with a straight face for David Thompson to be elevated to the panoply of a National Hero of Barbados presumably for his outgoing nature and pleasant personality. In addition, the remaining two years in the DLP’s current mandate is insufficient for it to be totally sure that it can get Barbados back on a growth path and, importantly, persuade the general population that it (the DLP) was not primarily responsible for the trials and travails emanating from the draconian budgets of 2010 and before. Therefore it would be quite likely that the DLP will have a much harder battle on its hands to win an election in 2013, all other things being equal. Given the happenings and observations during the Budget debate, There is a possibility that we might see Mia Mottley returned to the helm of the BLP opposition in the not too distant future. If that happens, and even if it doesn’t happen, the BLP will regroup and will likely have a very good wicket to bat on in 2013, rolled and watered with the blows the populace would have suffered from between now and then.

I think Freundel Stuart gives the impression of being a somewhat indecisive leader. eg. look at the statement he is reported to have made in an interview yesterday re. selecting a deputy “I will HAVE to establish some kind of hierarchy that takes care of that AND I DON’T SUPPOSE I CAN POSTPONE THAT INDEFINITELY”. Doesn’t that look as if his natural inclination would be to postpone such decisions indefinitely? Can we look forward to seeing Chris Sinckler anointed as Deputy or will Freundel Stuart consult his oracle to see if he would be permitted to designate someone other than Ronald Jones, the past PM’s choice?
    Hasn’t postponement of important decisions been the story of the DLP in the interregnum period when David Thompson was unable to work? I fear that important timely decisions will be hard to come by in the next 2 years and the BLP will exploit those frailties in the DLP under Freundel Stuart.

Another similar matter is the choice of a candidate for the St John vacant seat. From his answers in the same interview, Mr. Stuart seems to be indicating that Mara Thompson will be getting the nod. Surely not the sort of decision that one would expect from someone who wants to stamp his own authority on the DLP and move away from the large shadows that David Thompson cast.

I therefore fear that, despite the fact that Chris Sinckler was apparently given free rein in the budget debate, it is not clear that the decisions by the current PM in the next 2 years will engender significant confidence in Freundel Stuart by those who would want the DLP to cement their hold on the electorate and go on to carry the country triumphantly through the next 12 years or so.

I think that circumstances might well conspire to put Chris Sinckler at the helm in the not too distant future and that this would be a different kettle of fish. I think it was a godsend for the BLP that Freundel Stuart acceded to the Prime Ministership just as it was a godsend for the DLP that Owen Arthur and the gang of 5 made the ill conceived miscalculation to oust Mia Mottley in the way that they did.

11. Prodigal
    Why don’t you n Peaches hookup, elope n ride off into de nite pun wunna donkey-cart n stop humbuggin de place?stupseeee. Wunna in get enuff licks fa de week a’reddy?

Peaches
    See why ya can’t trust the BLP?
    Blasted Leechlike Pilferers.

12. check it out
    stupseeeeeee, man Frundel doan do tings hasty like wunna. you see how Owen n he maw-maw ganga do tings in haste n wah happen? Evva body, who did like dem n who din like dem, like me, buse he n dem stink, stink, stink. Owen now like de neighba-hood sheep-tief. Head down n lookin fimbly. He n dem spit up in de air n hol dem face fa um, causen dem did in a hurry ta oust Mia de maguffy. So my man Frundel gun do tings in he time not pun wunna-all granfadda clock. ondastan?
    Lefff my man Frundel. ya cannnnn sa I in warn ya, hare? I is a sa-warriah.

13. Hi checkit-out
    I have not missed the point, I will explain what I see.

You wrote: Quote “. . . “and with public sympathy for David Thompson’s death so high that the current Prime Minister could call with a straight face for David Thompson to be elevated to the panoply of a national Hero of Barbados presumably for his outgoing nature and pleasant personality”.
    You did not think much of David Thompson, that is clear.
    You also wrote: Quote ” In think Freundel Stuart gives the impression of being a somewhat indecisive leader. eg. look at the statement he is reported to have made in an interview yesterday re, selecting a deputy” I will HAVE to establish some kind of hierarchy that takes care of that AND I DON’T SUPPOSE I CAN POSTPONE THAT INDEFINITELY”
    From the above statement you do not think much of our present Prime Minister Freundel Stewart either. That is your right, and I certainly would not complain.

If you think so little of the DLP’s past Prime Minister David Thompson, their present one Freundel Stuart, and it seems the DLP’s in general.

Why are you seeking to tell me an election date, that would be “to their advantage” . . that is the point.

14. Yardbroom;

It is true. I didn’t think much of David Thompson. But I think that Freundel Stuart is a good man, honest, erudite and plodding but definitely not in the class of Chris Sinckler as a politician or thinker. I don’t think that the BLP in its present ruptured state is fit to be the Government of Barbados, especially since most of their current parliamentary reps appear to be somewhat jaded. I think, however, that with new blood, the BLP would have been ready now if Owen Arthur and friends had not made the miscalculation to oust Mia Mottley in October. Mia Mottley is the future of that party and with a relatively young slate of candidates she could have prevailed.

I think, that at the present time, it is best for Barbados’ survival as the country we all know and love, for the DLP to be in power. But that such survival can’t be ensured if Freundel Stuart follows David Thompson’s policies of “politics first and foremost” to the letter which he seems enured to doing.

I think we would be much better off under Chris Sinckler after he has got some rough edges rubbed off.

I’m a bit like the Scout; I analyse the situation as I see it. I belong to no political party, I am no party’s yardfowl. Neither BLP nor DLP. But I think that over the years, on balance, the BLP has had better candidates and contributed more to the country than the DLP. But that this is not so at this time.

(To be continued again. Can’t find the time to finish this now)

15. Peaches, The facts about Mascoll being put out in the pasture away from the Dems are as follows: 1/ Mascoll was caught regularly talking to Owen ,Cranston asked he how comes Owen calling you so often? 2/Mascoll allowed Owen to buy him just like how Owen buy Hammie, Rudy, Commisiong, Ralph Thorne, Tyrone Estwick and all the rest that left the Dems because they felt Owen was in power for life.3/ Mascoll went to house in Graeme Hall with Owen and four more people and sign a deal just before the budget that year and he had planned not to reply to no budget for the Dems.4/ You know nothing can’t hide in Barbados for too long somebody tell Jones and Sealy and Jones took and went to David’s law office to inform him about what was going on,some people said Mia told David before Jones got to him,but David said some of rest of group came and asked if him if he would lead them again and he said i supposed so. So Peaches ,as the old people say the rest is for historians.

16. Hi checkit-out
    Like you, I do not belong to any political party, seek favours from any, and do not need a pick.

My reason for writing as I do, is simply because before the last general election. I recall the element of fear that permeated some discussions. To my mind that should not happen in a democracy. The allegations that were rife and became common currency. . . Barbados is a small place.

It does not matter how much one loves a party, when the votes have been counted, and the people’s choice has been declared . . . that is it. What I find a little disconcerting is some blogger’s – not neccessarily you – inability to accept that after 14 years, the majority of voters were dissatisfied with the government. They and the BLP, cannot accept that the BLP Government made mistakes -which means that in going forward the recipe will be more of the same, which was unsatisfactory.

17. Yardbroom;

Getting back to your original question above. As I’ve stated before on this blog, from the beginning I thought that the BLP Hierarchy misread the tea leaves when the plan to oust Mia Mottley was first reported. From things that Mr Eastmond has been reported to have said, the plan started sometime ago when it was recognized that David Thompson was gravely ill and perhaps had only months to live. They thought that it was possible that a snap election could be held and, thinking that Owen would be more likely to lead the BLP to victory than Mia Mottley, hatched a plan to get rid of her. In September it was recognized that David Thompson was unlikely to survive for more than 2 months and so they felt that the plan had to be put into action asap. I don’t think Owen Arthur was one of the originators of the plan but I think he was persuaded that he was the best person to take over the Government if any such election was called and the faction put the plan in precipitate action when one of Mia Mottley’s workers sent a very thoughtless email to the members of the executive and BLP members of parliament. We all know what happened after that.

I think they totally misread the situation. Rawle Eastmond and Cynthia Forde were not swayed by the arguments for Owen Arthur taking over the opposition leadership and, on principle, openly opposed it, with someone leaking the details of the undemocratic means that was planned to have been used at the general conference to oust Mia. The actual ouster was messy and actually turned several members of the party against the Arthur faction.

I think that at present Mia’s stock might well be higher in the BLP and the Nation than Owen Arthur’s. But that’s just my view with little real evidence. That change would have been fuelled by their respective performances in the budget debate. Remember the famous Richie Haynes alternative back-raising budget where Richie’s budget performance was probably the major factor in the DLP winning the following elections. This recent budget may, I think be just as influential in delineating the front running horses in the next general elections.

But what of the future? Seemingly unnoticed, Owen Arthur threw a spanner in the works of the Governments negotiations with the Trinidad RBL for the sale of the Government’s remaining BNB shares by throwing out a probably inflated value of the shares in his budget reply. Barbados Today Online reported last night that RBL had ceased negotiations AT THIS TIME. It should be recognized that the Government of Barbados apparently initiated the negotiations and needs to sell our BNB shares more that RBL needs to acquire them, so hardball negotiations are not likely to realise a figure close to what Arthur stated, whoever buys the shares. An alert electorate might draw some important lessons from this whole incident.

In any case, the Budget will cause some discomfort to many in the Island and it is not certain that it will realise all its objectives. Thus the DLP will not be on firm ground for the next several months and they are going to be judged on the performance of the economy and on individual hardships that might be linked to the budget impositions.

I hope for the sake of Barbados that future historians will say that this budget and the policies of Sinckler/Stuart led to an upsurgence in Barbados’ economic fortunes.

The situation would have been easier if a snap general election was in the offing. But that is now totally out of the question. Ilaro Court beckons.

18. The DLP were not going to take a risk with a snap election where everyone was concerned about the economy, and Owen Arthur, with his reputation as a PM who had led Barbados through good economic times, was making a political comeback. However Arthur’s return as Opposition Leader through his ousting of Mia Mottley was clumsy and crude, and a PR nightmare for him and his Opposition colleagues who supported him. It made Mia Mottley a sympathetic figure with charges of misogyny and greedy opportunism being levelled at Arthur and his cohorts. Sinckler was not bad, and Arthur was not spectacular in the recent Budget presentation, and the intended Master of the Economy vs the Neophyte battle did not work out as the BLP had probably hoped and expected, leaving some to wonder what Arthur came back to the helm of the Opposition to do. The BLP has to hope that the economy tanks under the DLP Government in the next couple of years, so they can argue that the DLP Government does not know what it is doing and they can regain power. I hope for my sake and that of my family and friends that the economy does improve, the cost of living goes down, and we all still have jobs. Whichever of the parties can achieve that, I will be happy with.

19. Yardbroom re your Nov. 26, 2010 at 7:08 PM post.

I understand your sentiments above. Indeed, Mia Mottley in her budget reply suggested that there might have been a culture of leadership by fear, presumably in her party. However, there is a strong possibility that such was also true in the DLP given the indications of Hartley Henry’s strong control of the DLP parliamentarians during David Thompson’s illness.

Re. your second paragraph. I also have a small modicum of concern with the high content of seemingly unthinking partisanship on this blog which David usually does his best to moderate. But I think, to be fair, the DLP oriented bloggers are no better than the BLP oriented ones.

Generally, however, I think the contributions on this blog are highly Entertaining – from the likes of Bonny Pepper; Educational – there are some facts you get here and nowhere else; and Addictive – I check out this blog at least 5 times per day.

I’m retired and don’t get around very much, so this and the other blogs keep me up to date on happenings in Barbados. I don’t know what I would do without BU. The BU bloggers are all my family.

20. check it out
    you find me entertainin nah? you like a lotta sport. dah is aaightttttt. I get a good belly fulll a laffs from dis blog too.
    So you’re retired n don’t get around much? I do ‘home-care’. Call me anytime ya reddy fa me. My hanz are slowwwwwwwww n gentleeeeeeeeeeee. 🙂

21. @checkit-out “But I think, to be fair, the DLP oriented bloggers are no better than the BLP oriented ones.”

The price of Democracy is that party supporters are not always reasonable or logical and some will support their party come hell or high water.

Politics of inclusion is a bed of gestation for Dictatorship.

Lest we forget Royalsyllyrumble’s pronouncement.
    “Father of First world Barbados and Prime Minister for Life Owen Seymore Arthur”.

Fortunately they lost in 2008.

22. So Big John’s locked out for NPOR. Recession biting.

23. This piece by Yardbroom is a great piece . Kudos to you Yardbroom ! Kudos to you for the pig manure that you have spread all through cyber space . You are the first to fertilize cyberspace, much like the first man to walk on the moon. This is a major piece of shit for an article(post) Wheel and come again BRO !

To add insult to injury or better yet , to add more shit to cyberspace (cyber shit), commenters with the exception of people such as checkit,, prodigal son
    and peaches, have consorted to inrease the cyberspace shit level.

On another note, Irene Sandiford Garner (would you believe that this woman lives in my (neighbourhood) and Durant -the multi -titled , have been awarded the award for talking shibberish (gibberish to the 15th degree =super -shite),

Durant called for TYhompson to be named a national hero

Irene Sandiford said that Mia’s ouster was -what ?? some shite like wha’ –wha she say—gender bashing ??
    well well r—–s hole well !
    Ever heard summuch shite ???

Both of the satements need to be evaluated-Psychological and Psychiatric evaluation

24. @Hants

Chefette has Barbados on fast food lock down.

25. Whatever happened at Graham Hall was at yesterday and not at ‘YesterYears’.Foot runners are plenty!There is none so blind as they who cannot see.O what a tangle web we weave when we set out to deceive.Let now therefore thy servant depart in peace- not pieces! Sound familar? I once heard someone say that you should lick ass til you can kick ass. I have a problem wid dat!!!! Irene? If ya want to get tie up call de hotline…… your slip is showing! You are encroaching on territory that must be singled out! Woman up!!

26. Checkit-out makes little sense in his deductions . Freundel Stuart is indecisive , a strike against his leadership . Owen Arthur was persuaded to make such a monumental mistake , one that surely will taint his legacy even in his own party , yet checkit-out still sees him as a good leader . Also his point about Chris Sinckler , the P.M. and class . Seems to me that he has confused class with charisma , a trait that so far has not been associated with Mr. Stuart. The refusal to call any snap election simply speaks to fact that the government finds comfort in the knowledge that it still enjoys the confidence of the electorate , not to mention the cost associated with an election at this time . The whole exercise would be nothing more than superfluous , a term reserved for the characterization of the return of THE EXTRAORDINARY ECONOMIST.

27. Hi chectit-out
    Your analysis of events leading up to the removal of Mia Mottley, and why she was removed, has a ring of truth about it.
    If it was as you suggested; Rawle Eastmond and Cynthia Forde were not swayed by the arguments, and refused on “principle” to throw their hats in the ring with the others-that is to their credit and should be acknowledged as such.

With regard to the BNB situation and the buying of shares by RBL, although Arthur did give an opinion. I believe it was Hoyos who first brought the matter to the public’s attention, regarding the proper valuation of BNB shares -that is from memory I could be wrong.

That RBL has ceased negotiations for purchasing the shares, does not mean that is the end of the matter. The Government has lost nothing, apart from that “immediate” injection of cash. If this was a planned initiative by the Government, surely they must have calculated that possibility -it is not a major setback.

You wrote, Quote: “An alert electorate might draw some important lessons from this whole incident” (Suggesting a negative component)

Permit me to quote you, but say. An “astute” electorate might draw some important lessons from this whole incident. Those lessons being, that the Barbados Government will not be short-changed, neither will it throw away tax payers hard earned cash, and when the need arises, will adopt a tough negotiating position -kudos to them.

Your conclusion makes much sense. . . particularly the timing of the general election part. I have no doubt that the DLP Government, feel better about the actions they have taken, than the BLP faction does. Doubt has already set in, as they played their cards on the basis of a snap election; it has not happened.

Regarding this Blog (BU) and its contributors, there is variety and fun. Sometimes even”gold nuggets” of information, on a few threads I do not contribute because I know nothing of the subject matter, but I read them just the same. On a few other Blogs, the deliver of contributors seems the same, as if written by the same person. As such, individual bloggers have no specific personality – that is a shame, as there is enough room for others to be successful.

Hi Micha
    I could not have said it any better; most Barbadians feel as you do.

28. Hi Kissmya
    You wrote Quote : “Kudos to you Yardbroom! Kudos to you for the pig manure that you have spread all through cyber space. You are the first to fertilize cyberspace, much like the first man to walk on the moon. This is a major piece of shit for an article (post) Wheel and come again BRO!
    I understand from the above statement, you are not in agreement with what I have written.

Fertilizer has its place, earlier this year I applied some to the soil around my Hybrid Tea Roses, and the blooms were wonderful, their scent intoxicating. My wife displayed them to good effect around the rooms; tranquillity abounded.

Sorry I cannot join you in the exchange of expletives. Certain things are for the front room, and others for the little room at the back. . . my mother taught me that as a little boy, I have adhered to it all my life.

29. @ Yardbroom
    “the majority of voters were dissatisfied with the government.”
    You did a survey?

30. Hamilton Hill (the other HH?); If I had actually said anywhere that Owen Arthur is a good leader after the Mottley ouster, your claim that my analysis was illogic would have been substantiated but I’ve NEVER said that.

Owen Arthur WAS in my estimation a good leader, given to ruling with an iron rod, it is true, and one who instilled fear in his troops and opponents alike, but a man who by dint of hard work, foresight, intelligence and brave policies did much to develop Barbados. I have said for the last 2 months that I think he made a gross miscalculation by joining the Mottley palace coup. Where does that translate to my (checkit-out) “still seeing him as a good leader?”

Re. Freundel Stuart, I stand by my analysis until proven wrong. You added the characteristic of lack of charisma to him. I did’nt.

Your last point suggests a modicum of illogic as well as spinning. The gains from having a new term now far outweigh that of doing nothing especially since you are so comfortable in the electorate’s confidence in you. Not having a snap election soon is therefore less a sign of evidence of comfort in the knowledge of the confidence of the electorate in you and your policies than a further sign of timidity and indecisiveness.

31. simply anonymous Avatar

i am looking for Mia to start her own political party. the time is ripe. many are waiting.

32. Hi Enuff
    You Quoted me: “@ Yardbroom “the majority of voters were dissatisfied with the government”

You did a survey?

I did not do a survey, but the voters voted for the then opposition party the DLP, giving them a substantial majority to govern.

I would conclude that to be a showing of dissatisfaction, in a Democracy, would you not agree?

33. @ checkit-out | November 26, 2010 at 7:47 PM |

You wrote:

But what of the future? Seemingly unnoticed, Owen Arthur threw a spanner in the works of the Governments negotiations with the Trinidad RBL for the sale of the Government’s remaining BNB shares by throwing out a probably inflated value of the shares in his budget reply. Barbados Today Online reported last night that RBL had ceased negotiations AT THIS TIME. It should be recognized that the Government of Barbados apparently initiated the negotiations and needs to sell our BNB shares more that RBL needs to acquire them,

This is foolishness!!!

RBL stated publicly that it wanted control of BNB. Once it said that, every intelligent person (Sinckler/Stuart) knew that the shares the government holds – IMMEDIATELY BECAME PREMIUM SHARED – CARRYING A PREMIUM PRICE.

They probally though they could get them cheap but Sinckler had other ideas. But you are missing the point. Who resigned from the BNB Board immediately before talk about the sale of the shares became public?

Which female did Owen Arthur appoint to the Senate and what is her connection to the person who resigned from BNB Board?

WHY do you think OWEN ARTHUR SO DESPERATE FOR THE DLP TO SELL THOSE BNB SHARES?

34. @ checkit-out | November 26, 2010 at 3:28 PM |

IT IS RATHER QUITE SIMPLE. THE FUTURE OF THE DLP IS SINCKLER. STUART BRINGS STABILITY AND IS A SYMBOL OF INTEGRITY, HONESTLY AND LOYALTY.

PM Stuart has to shepherd Sinckler and remain PM until such time as Sinckler gets more experience.

The future of the BLP is Mia Mottley. The people who ousted her is the hopeless and ugly past of the BLP. Mia Mottley is patriotic and Sinckler is willing to listen.

Sinckler got a good break in the budget and having floored Arthur, no dount his ratings will increase but the speech by Mia Mottley must not be dismissed.

The point is that the DLP restructured between 1999 and 2008 whereas the BLP now has to do similar. The BLP simply has too much baggage.

35. Owen has made the biggest mistake in his political career and has handed the next elections to the DLP on a gold platter.

Bonny sweet peppa

Girl chile de wedda nice an cool up here. I did tryin to save likkle turkey fuh yuh but ah kept pickin at it and only de bone leff. Sorry bout dat. Now yuh got to stop troublin dese old menz, dat ain looking gud fuh yuh reputation. I gine try ketching up pon BU , but eff yuh doan hear muh ah gine be travellin to de mountains to see a winery. A hear dem got nuff wines fuh me to taste. Ah gone fuh now.

36. KISSMYA
    Lemme telll you sumting see, I got nuff nuff respeck fa a goodly gentleman like Yardbroom and when you cumin ta disrespeck he, me n you gun rumble. He in gun ‘buse you, but I wood ‘buse you fa he, n stink as ass too. wunna is de same peeple dat does cum tellin me bout how I does ‘buse whoevva doan agree wid my party. Now wat de fcuk you doin? not de same ting? you jus like a crab-lice pun goadies. cah ya krutch n respec Yardie fa ma, ya lil pissy scally-wag.

I doan agree wid Irene usin gender as Owen reason fa oustin Mia de Maguffy. If um did Water-Mout Dale, Big-forrid Payne or Down-Syndrone Dugid, it woulda bin de same fate. Sumbody or bodies gih Owen de impresshun dat he is de BLP Dan-Gorgon but wah he din hear is haff-dead Dan Gorgon. So he push up he sparra-bird chess n boun on pun Mia only to suffa de agony a defeet. He gotta feel shame, shame, shame. Ef I did sexy, kush-teet Julie, I woulda gih he he ‘walkin-papers’. “Huhhh, tek dem n ga long back ta Bev’ly, ya served ya time”.

37. islandgal
    I kno how um is chile. you out day spennin time wid ya famblee n still got ta be peepin at BU. Girl, dah is how luring BU is. befo ya kno um, ya does be addicted. but injoy ya wine n ya cah still bring back de turkey torsa fa ma. I lickrish so.

38. Bajan Panday re your Nov 27, 2010 at 8:52 AM post;

I think you misunderstood what I was trying to say about the BNB shares. The finances of the Government is in a parlous state. The RBL intimated that it was Government which approached them first about the sale of the shares, not the other way around as you intimated. RBL was obviously happy to oblige, at a price predicated on the likely urgency for the Government to offload them. They don’t have to acquire those shares in a hurry but the Government needs the foreign exchange that the sale of the shares would bring asap. The Government is therefore operating at a disadvantage in the negotiations, imho.

Enter Arthur. imo, He proposes a big price for the shares, knowing that it is unlikely that Sinckler would get that much and that then he (Owen Arthur) could claim that Sinckler and his team was inexperienced, did’nt know what they were doing, etc. Negotiations have currently broken down between Government and RBL. Do you think that when they reopen that Government will be able to persuade RBL in Trinidad to part with substantially more money than the base offer put on the table.

My point was essentially. Was Owen Arthur’s putting out in the open to the Nation, a high figure as the target for the sale of the shares, in the best interests of the Government, the Negotiators or the Country? or was it a purely political ploy since the main point Owen was making did not need for him to produce an explicit figure that the Government should get for the sale of the shares?

You must tell us a bit more re. your innuendos about the person who resigned from the Board and his or her connections to the person that Owen Arthur appointed to the Senate. I don’t have a clue what you are talking about and I’m all ears. Sounds as if it should be very interesting.

I really don’t have any clue also about why Owen Arthur should be so “desperate” as you say for the DLP to sell the BNB shares. I was taking his statements at face value (Indeed Mia essentially repeated the same argument about divestment of state enterprises) i.e. that such a sale might be better for the economy and for providing a space for needed restructuring of the economy, than tinkering with VAT and other aspects of revenue generation.

I am in general agreement with the other aspects of your 2 posts.

39. I have noticed that Owen and Hoyos been phographed alot lately, is that just maybe they are working in unison on the BNB sale of shares?

40. The Government is right to hold on to BNB shares.
    There is a real chance that the shares will not change in value by more than 10%.

Look for a “friendly investment bank” to make an offer on those shares if the Government needs cash early next year.

41. @ checkit-out | November 27, 2010 at 10:48 AM |

(Indeed Mia essentially repeated the same argument about divestment of state enterprises)

I think she spoke about mobilizing the savings of Barbadians (perhaps home and abroad) Credit union; NIS Scheme & REMITTANCES – to save Barbados and asked what is the difference if the government owns the Hilton, the air and seaport or whether Barbadians own it and have the appropriate legislation so that what happened to Sagicor (Foreigners bought) does not happen here.

Her thesis seem to be that since the restructuring of the economy and government would take 3 – 5 years that in the interim, instead of pushing up our debt profile, which would affect the country in a negative way, the country should instead use the savings of Barbadians to save Barbados.

DON’T WORRY, THERE IS NO DIVIDE HERE – WE ARE ON THE SAME PAGE.

42. @checkit-out

You should not dismiss so easily the negotiating clout of the government. A good reason why the BNB remains profitable has been its access to government deposits and projects. The government obviously has a vested interested in BNB remaining viable but it is clearly in a position to flex its muscle if forced. It is a situation which should be avoided but do not send abroad that the Barbados government is powerless in this matter. RBL is obviously engaged inn gamesmanship because they believe a lousy economy and time on its side, Sinckler will have to show his leadership given it is his move.

43. @ David | November 27, 2010 at 1:07 PM

I agree with you. The Government is not desperate for money that it will treat BNB shares as a fire-side-sale. It is why we need to mobilize the savings of Barbadians to save Barbados.

There are millions in our Credit Unions and in the NIS scheme. Overseas Barbadians also have huge savings of foreign capital.

BNB Shares are now considered Premium Shares, worth far more than what Owen Arthur sold for. It would be better to sell Hilton that those BNB shares to RBL.

It is why the DLP must start having a series of serious discussion with Barbadians (home and abroad) But we must not forget that that it was Sinckler who reviewed the EPA and did not rush to sign, when clearly Owen Arthur and Billie Miller were.

mINISTER SINCKLER – THREE THINGS: (1) MOBILISE THE SAVINGS OF BARBADIANS (2) HAVE A SERIES OF SERIOUS DISCUSSION WITH BARBADIANS, AND (3) ESTABLISH THAT JOING SELECT COMMITTEE OF BOTH HOUSES OF PARLIAMENT UNDER THE TERMS YOU OUTLINED IN THE HOUSE IN THE BUDGET.

44. SORRY ABOUT THAT. I MEANT:

“BNB Shares are now considered Premium Shares, worth far more than what Owen Arthur sold for. It would be better to sell the Hilton “THAN” those BNB shares to RBL.

45. With three major Canadian banks, CIBC, RBC and Scotiabank, already highly successful in the Caribbean, another such as Bank of Montreal or Toronto Dominion, may wish to consider a profitable, inexpensive (in relative terms) introduction to the market, thereby allowing a strategy to be developed from within the market.

46. @ Yardbroom

One could be satisfied BUT willing to give another product a chance, especially if it appears attractive.

47. Rather than selling the Hilton plant, consideration may be given to the individual GEMS properties, where those that are suitable, or have the potential to be, are marketed to internationally known hotel brands. The Government may consider retaining a minority interest in each branded hotel that is created, to benefit from the potential success.

48. David; Good point! I accept it and think that there will be a movement upwards. But I don’t think there is room for a significant movement towards the 150 million dollars that Owen mentioned.

49. Bajan Panday “Overseas Barbadians also have huge savings of foreign capital.”
    “I think she spoke about mobilizing the savings of Barbadians ( ABROAD) REMITTANCES – to save Barbados.

Dear Mr. Bajan Panday sir, are RETURNING NATIONALS included or are we Overseas Bajans only valuable eff we keep we mout shut,stay weh we is and leh wunna get wunna hans on de little piece a change we got in de bank or onneet de mattruss ?

50. Mobalize whose money? Wunnuh really mekking sport. A bunch non productive high spending people would like to use my money that I wuk two jobs many nights for, while they roaming the country on weekends drinking and partying . I think not. Learn to do without.