Submitted by Yardbroom

Leader of the Opposition (l) Former Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley (r)

There are times in the affairs of men – and women – when a decision taken, can alter the course of history.

The decision taken, which engineered the removal from office on the 18th October 2010, of the BLP leader Mia Mottley, had major reverberations on the political landscape of Barbados.  I venture to suggest even now, before the embers are yet cold, that those decisions will be seen in the future, as  defining moments in Barbados’ politics.  Even at this early stage, any discerning neophyte to the political scene in Barbados, can see that since the first flash, when the flint caused the kindling to burst into life, the fire has been gently subsiding.

That suggestion leads to the question, who will rise like the phoenix from the ashes.

The question any reasonable person must ask.  Is why was Mia Mottley removed from the leadership of the BLP?  Is it a question of performance? If it was, surely the ordinary citizen did not notice it.  Was it due to personality?  When elected  leader, she was the same person as she is now, and in the public consciousness that has not changed.  Or were there circumstances and issues, beyond the control of Mia Mottley, over which she could never have an input, which caused her “temporary” demise as leader of the BLP.

With a tentative glance around me, I venture to ask.  Was it opportunism, the lure of power and authority to be regained?  Some politicians are very pragmatic, they will do what is required, often in their own interest.  Opportunities perceived, can often bring enemies together, but when expected outcomes are not realized, does that pragmatic bond still hold.

When the “putsch” was started, there was feverish political activity, press conferences held, talk of malpractice, expectations were cranked up.  There was the belief the Government could be ambushed, there was even talk of a snap election.  I allowed myself a wry smile, and asked in a soliloquy why surrender a working majority in parliament, and go to the electorate with the “hope” of getting another working majority. . . . it did not make sense.

Those of us – of a certain age – hardened and baked in the heat of Barbados, know that in lighting a coal pot, you must ensure the paper and sticks are well alight, before you put the mahogany pods on the fire, they must be well dried, or they will not catch a-light.  For if the pods are green, and the wind is in the wrong direction, you will get a face full of acrid smoke.  For in lighting a good Bajan back yard fire, as in politics “timing” is everything. (Forgive the Bajan folklore).

The internal self-destruct button has not been pressed in the DLP.  In Government to date, the line holds firm.  No sensible politician voluntarily walks into the wilderness. . . mad they may be, but not that mad.  David Thompson, as if to thwart that anticipated division, had placed in strategic positions, men to hold the line, the “expected” has remained just that – the expected.

The BLP opposition is reduced to calling for a snap general election.  A plaintive and hollow call, to a government with a substantial working majority, barely half-way through its term of office.  The word snap in context means “unexpected” timed to give advantage to the government.  I ask of you, to think logically, a snap, “unexpected” general election, being asked for by the opposition, with the BLP waiting in ambush.  Where is the snap, where is the unexpected.

Prime Minister Freundel Stewart can just govern, the electorate expects it of him.

In the meantime Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler, in his first budget was a man not in a hurry.  He was just putting the building blocks in place, for a secure foundation, from where he can build a structure of some substance. . . mission accomplished.

For those who made the decision to usurp Mia Mottley, there is only the grind of opposition.  Which can sap the energy of young parliamentarians, on older ones it can take its toll.  The volcano has erupted, sending molten larva down its sides, venting itself destroying a lot, building nothing, now dissipated it bubbles, just bubbles.  Intense mental activity can be like a lubricant to a motor.  In-activity, without lubrication can cause gradual corrosion and later seizure.  The road ahead is long and lonely, there are no favours to be given without authority, only the mental torture of being in a dark place.

Is it too early to ask, where did it all go wrong? Was it timing, planning or execution?

Meanwhile Mia Mottley walks with renewed confidence, the smile has regained its sparkle, there is a relaxed air about her, she talks and walks with belief, refreshed and rejuvenated. . . the electorate know she has behaved with honour.

The opposition BLP in waiting, look to each other and ask where now my friends, the response to a nodding of heads is just wait.  Is that all there is.  A few might contemplate the future, for lonely is the way  a-head, and the waiting can be long when the “ambush” is set, and you know the enemy will not appear.

As I said earlier, there are times in the affairs of men – and women – when a decision taken can alter the course of history.

1. Bajan Panday

It would be better to sell the Hilton “THAN” those BNB shares to RBL
    Is this a “shell game”? I thought that the original sale of the BNB shares helped finance the cost of the Hilton. Now instead of selling the remaining BNB shares we should sell the Hilton?

2. Am I missing something? Is it really true “checkit-out” that the government initiated the talks on selling the BNB shares?

Why did Chris Sinckler light into Owen Arthur then saying ….sell, sell, sell. all you know to say is to sell, sell, sell… He made it sound as if BNB came to them! See what I say about deception?

I think BNB has them over the coals and eventually the government will have to go to BNB with cap in hand. The government needs foreign exchange as there is very little foreign investment. The expected big projects they touted are not coming on stream (yes, critics, I understand there is a world recession), projects like Merrrits,Pickerings and I dont think Four Seasons will go too far.

Therefore the expected revenue from the increased VAT will not realise the amounts they need to keep afloat even with Christmas approaching because all I am hearing is people saying they are cutting back. BNB will then play hard ball as the government’s back will be against the wall.

The government too will have increased expenditure with the deals they made with JetBlue and GOL airlines. Who are they going to blame for this, Owen?

I noticed Bajan Panday keeps mentioning that there are millions in credit unions and the NIS. From informed sources, I am told that government is using the NIS funds as their ATM and this is cause for concern. Thank God I have a private pension fund and wont have to depend solely on a NIS pension when I retire. This is why they have not gone to the IMF yet, they have the NIS.

Lastly, what’s happening with CLICO, did not the late PM say in his last address to the nation that a plan was imminent? Where is the money going to come from to pay the OECS policy holders? Dont you think some body should go to jail for this ponzi scheme?

3. @ Hants | November 27, 2010 at 2:56 PM |

I tend to recall that both Mia Mottley (when she was DPM) and the late PM Thompson spoke to overseas Barbadians and invited them to invest in Barbados.

Her thesis seems to be that it is better for Barbadians to own the air and seaport than they ending up in foreign hand.

Perhaps, that is why she mentioned Sagicor and shareholders agreement and other legal instrument to prevent such from happening.

Barbadians also have tonnes of saving in credit union and commercial banks and at the NIS and can purchase foreign exchange if those saving were mobilized to puchase good local assets like the air and seaport which will always be profitable.

When the government becomes strong again, the shares can be repurchased as a capital gain for those same Barbadians who helped their country in the time of need.

4. @ Adrian Hinds | November 27, 2010 at 4:17 PM |

That is why I agree that the government needs about five PPP’s right now (a mix of local capital and foreign capital, say 40% local) which could see a huge inflow of foreign exchange into the country and then structure the repayment of 25 to 30 years to ensure that there is no bunching or pressure on the balance of payments.

So we get foreign exchnage while we build Barbados’ infastructure such as the West Coast Sewage Project, laying of BWA pipes islandwide, a new hospital, maybe a new sugar factory to transform the sugar industry into a sugar cane industry.

There are creative things this government can do but it must start the appropriate conversation now.

5. @ Sargeant | November 27, 2010 at 4:27 PM |

Sir,

The remainding BNB Shares are now a PREMIUM ASSET and should therefore fetch a PREMIUM PRICE but the government should not sell them. NO FIRE-SIDE-SALE HERE.

If the Government sells the Hilton, even to an international brand, that international brand/company would have to market it overseas and by extension – market Barbados.

This seems like a supplement to the BTA’s budget or a cost savings to the Ministry of Tourism/Government of Barbados.

6. @ Prodigal Son | November 27, 2010 at 10:48 PM | Am I missing something? Is it really true “checkit-out” that the government initiated the talks on selling the BNB shares?

+++++++++++++++

THE SALE OF ICB AND BNB SHARES WAS MENTIONED IN THE 2008 BUDGET ARE WERE INTENDED TO ASSIST WITH A HOSPITAL.

The minute RBL said that it wanted the remainding shares in order to get full control of the BNB which is profitable – they automatically became a PREMIUM COMODITY.

When the government borrows money from the NIB, that is an investment and the funds will be repaid with interest. Already then, the savings of Barbadians are being used to build-out Barbados.

Isn’t it time then that the savings of Barbadians are used to own productive assets for them?

7. Dear Mr. Bajan Panday sir, are you going to to keep on cussin RETURNING NATIONALS while begging we Overseas Bajans and Future Returning Nationals fuh help ?

8. Page 20 of the Sunday Advocate has a picture that almost made me think it was from Toronto.
    The more things change?

9. @ Hants | November 28, 2010 at 12:44 AM | Dear Mr. Bajan Panday sir, are you going to to keep on cussin RETURNING NATIONALS while begging we Overseas Bajans and Future Returning Nationals fuh help ?

++++++++++++++++++
    Nobody is begging retuning nationals for anything. Barbadians have enough money in the NIS, credit unions and commerical banks.

Then there is the option of PPP’s? What THIS CONVERSATION IS ABOUT is the transfer of ownership from the State to Barbadians (INDIVIDUALS) or mobilising the savings of Brabadians to save Barbados.

AN INVESTMENT OPPORTUNITY IS NOT BEGGING or a loan!!!.

10. OK Mr. Bajan Panday sir.

I will make sure and take advantage of a safe Investment opportunity.

11. Bajan Panday, as someone who seems to be on the inside of the DLP, can you please tell us if the Government is using the NIS funds on a daily basis to help pay salaries and wages?

12. One can only come to a reasonable conclusion and believe that the Minister of Finance acutally was pulling a fast one on whether MPs would be exempted from the removal of the allowances for travel and entertainment.

If Mr Duguid did not point this out in his presentation, they would have escaped this. But you know the only way that MPs would not be exempted is if it is done now by a ministerial statement. So if no statement is made in the house, we will know for sure that Chris Sinkler was only posturing after he was caught out.

The immigration fees have gone up in one case from $800 to $1200, another from $800 to $1500, in another from $1000 to $2000. Passports are now $150 and business passport from $175 to $225, a replacement passport from $190 to $300, an emergency passport from $30 to $150. All costs for work permits have been doubled. No wonder Mr Sinckler did not mention them in his presentation.

How comes he only lowered taxes on the rum shops as a result of pleas form HIS constituents and did not feel for the fees we professionals have had to pay.

My, my!

13. @Prodigal Son | November 29, 2010 at 1:11 PM |

You would think that the budget was not last week and that everbody except George Payne, spoke?

And yet, we are being asked to believe that DLP politicians are incompetent. WERE INEXPERIENCED, YES BUT HONEST?

But look at their performance NOW in relation to the gang of five, who was in there for years? I PICKED THE GANG OF 5 BECAUSE THEY ARE POWER-HUNGRY BUT IS NOT EVEN THE BEST ALTERNATIVE GOVERNMENT OR GOVERNMENT IN WAITING.

The DLP is!!!

14. @ Peaches

You wrote:
    “If Mr Duguid did not point this out in his presentation, they would have escaped this…”

Duguid read from a letter he said was given to him by a nurse.
    at the QEH.

When I heard that – along with the fact that the gang of 5 were wishing PM Thompson would die, I am glad that he opted to go overseas for medical treatment.

IT IS A GOOD THING THAT THAT NURSE WHO GAVE DUGUID THAT LETTER WAS NOT ASSIGNED OR ENGAGED AT THE LATE PM THOMPSON’S HOUSE.

15. Bajan Panday you must know that when it comes to missives of mischief one looks no further than William Duguid . Not just one half of him ,but the whole hog . That is his forte . One may easier find the tooth fairy,than that nurse . Should Peaches need substantiation all she has to do is contact Adrian Loveridge .

16. Don’t you see a strange scenario unfolding?

At a time when the BLP is engaging in fraudulent practices to augment its membership and at a time where it presented an internal voters list where even people who were not members of the BLP and had never indicated an interest in join, are now members of the BLP.

At a time when the BLP is desperate for people to join it but Barbadians continue to see it (under it present leadership) as a big turn off – the DLP is able to put on display, over 250 persons, who on their own free will and accord, have willing and knowingly joined the DLP.

The BLP has reached such a low, that it is now paying people to join it.

You know, Einstein once said that insanity is doing the same thing twice and hoping for a different result the second time.

Just 2 ½ years ago, the people of Barbados found Owen Arthur unacceptable.

They found-out that unknown to anyone, he had put some $750,000 intended as campaign contributions, into his personal bank account. He is now saying that there is a clamour for him. Mind you, in 2008 when they rejected him, Barbadians were concerned about corruption.

2 ½ years later, Owen Arthur comes back to the people, this time with a gang of five made up of men who feel that a woman cannot lead them. A group of men who are responsible for the mess at the Warrens Building; who gave $10 million to build a few terrace units; who are responsible for the mess on the ABC highway and are also the architects of electoral fraud within the BLP.

Owen Arthur is now leading a group of men who are paying for people to join the BLP and somehow using the economy as a distraction tactic, Owen Arthur and this gang of 5 – are hoping that the electorate would find them acceptable 2 ½ years after the same electorate told the BLP to change and re-invent itself. But the BLP comes back even more corrupt but somehow expects to form the government

THIS HAS TO BE EITHER POLITICAL INSANITY OR BEING BLINDED BY A DESPERATION FOR POWER.

17. Owen Arthur seems to be a big problem to you, Bajan Panday.

The people of Barbados will correct the mistake that they made in 2008, they did not think that they were changing to what they are getting now. When Bajans need the country to be well run, they always turn to the BLP and as soon as they put it back in the hands of the DLP, all hell breaks loose.

Bajan Panday, you tell so much lies on this blog it aint funny. I though the late David Thompson said the cheque was for $75,000 how comes you now say it was $750,000. When you tell the public how much you and the late Thompson and the DLP got, people will then start to believe you.

Tell us the public about the Coverley deal since you know about so much corruption. Tell us why the late Thompson had to move Dennis Lowe after a few months in the Social Care ministry.

Stop your lies and inuendos, it is unbecoming of you!

18. @ Prodigal Son | November 30, 2010 at 8:40 PM |

WHO WROTE:

Owen Arthur seems to be a big problem to you, Bajan Panday.

The people of Barbados will correct the mistake that they made in 2008, they did not think that they were changing to what they are getting now.

+++++++++++++++

In 2008, a mere 2 1/2 years ago, Barbadians found Owen Arthur “UNACCEPTABLE.” The people of this country said they wanted change.

It was proven that Owen Arthur had put campaign funs into his personal bank account. Then there was the building at Newton, the warren’s building AND the ABC highway.

Then there were allegation that he had used the office of PM to raise money for his divorse and than his new wedding.

The people told the BLP to go away and change.

Do you think Barbadians are idiots or that they have short memories or that the BLP can buy them under the guise that the BLP is good at fixing the economy?

If Arthur betrayed the trust and confidence of Barbadians who found him unacceptable in 2008, how can he now expect Barbadians WILL find him acceptable two years after when he is presiding over a more corrupt BLP that recently rigged elections?

THE BLP NEEDS TIME TO RE-INVENT ITSELF. TALK ABOUT THE ECONOMY IS MERELY A DISTRACTION TACTIC.

PM Thompson might have died but the BLP and Arthur will not find it any easier. That is why Arthur was stunned during the debate.

Under Owen Arthur the BLP is power-hungry and is driven by greed. It is not about service. It is all about deals similar to the: “PRIOR PARK ACCORD.”

EVEN IN HAITI RIGGING ELECTIONS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE. HAITI, BUT IN BARBADOS IN 2010 – THERE ARE REPORTS OF ELECTORAL FRAUD AT THE BLP.

Under its present leadership, thing in the BLP have reached such an all time low that while people are queing up to join the DLP on their own free will, the BLP is paying people to join it.

BARBADIANS ARE BEING TOLD TO OVER-LOOK THIS AND VOTE FOR MEN WHO HAVE NO RESPECT FOR WOMEN AND WHO ARE DISRESPECTFUL TO THE SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE AND AUTHORITY.

19. Remember this on Barbados Free Press, March, 06, 2008?
    Posted under “Barbados Nation News: “Owen Arthur Declares War On DLP Government” and “When Owen Declares War… Windmills Tremble!”

Sentinel
    March 5, 2008 at 12:56 am

OWEN ON DEE WARPATH
    Bajans, open up yore ear drums and listen!
    It’s time for dee dumb to speak,
    My face with sweat did glisten,
    When I marched in dee Nation last week.
    “A reign of Terror” has started,
    Dis is no time for Buhbadus to laugh,
    Oh! Bees, no longer must you be downhearted,
    Causing I, Owen, is pon dee warpath!”
    Don’t mind I cancel ev’ry Press Conf’rence,
    And ev’ry photo had to be approved by my staff,
    Never mind I cuss yore writers into silence,
    And approved Liz famous gold bath.
    I objected to yore contrary opinions,
    I cheated pon my Jamaican better-half,
    I spiked news stories by dee thousands,
    But still, I, Owen, is pon dee warpath.
    It’s true I pay all of dem big consultant,
    As stated on the Nation front page,
    But now, he, David mek all of dem redundant,
    So he got to feel my hot fire-rage!
    Half million to Marshall, Hinkson and Hammie,
    Mackie Holder get a nice, fatted calf,
    He dump Angie Walcott, Kheisha Ward and now Gabby,
    Dats why I, Owen, is pon dee warpath.
    As P.M. of my Bajan dominion,
    I wanted and paid for dee best,
    Don’t mind dat an ordinary guard or policeman,
    Pon 2000 a month can’t rest.
    “Pork Barrel Political Patronage”,
    Is not in my kinda new Maths,
    Half Million sound sweet in my language,
    So, I, Owen, is pon dee warpath.
    He, David, come out cleaning and hunting,
    So, I, hereby, lend my voice to dee effort,
    He depriving people from mekkin a living,
    Cost of living gine now mek dem snort!
    Dis despicable and destructive development,
    Is dangerous and must feel my wrath,
    It’s impossible to be like Payne and be silent,
    Dats why I, Owen, is pon dee warpath.
    Mia is now Missing In Action,
    It’s I still pulling dee string,
    My “How Great Thou Art Choir” still in session,
    She nor Marshall can’t clap nor sing.
    It’s dee Consultants and Special Advisors,
    Cost Over-runs and Bank Over-drafts,
    Bogus companies and ghost contractors,
    Dat got me, Owen, pon dee warpath.`
    So, tell every Bajan sit up now and listen,
    Red-herrings I selling again,
    Don’t mind dat man David Thompson,
    With he gone dee Bees will once more reign,
    St. Peter Development Funds in my pocket,
    Of my doings, Bajans don’t know dee half,
    Lil Bow Wow nor Bite Muh can’t meck it,
    So, I, Owen, is pon dee warpath.

Check out the picture and those on the Facebook site “”Bajans against the return of Owen Arthur”

20. If you make a “sound” analysis of a situation and look at the evidence available, despite the passage of time you will be proved right in the end.

21. Bushie;
    My idol looks like he has feet of clay!

I clearly remember congratulating both the DLP and BLP on their results in the elections and calling for both of them to work together in the interest of the country. I also recall Observing doing the same thing.

But, as far as I am concerned, the unprovoked, onesided attacks on the apparent BLP leaning posters here by the likes of AC, !, Fractured, CCC and a few others informed my trying to point out that there was another side to the BU narrative on many things including OSA’s legacy.

I think I was the first to link the Wickham wobble to the stories of escalating vote buying by all sides. My style is to use the info in the public domain (thats usually BU) to analyse what’s happening out there and clearly it appears that something was seriously amiss with these last elections. Many are now seeing that it was a watershed election that can lead to disaster for Barbados if left unattended.

Take the mote out of your eye. Your partisanship is clearly showing. Your high horse is kneeling for you to dismount.

What do you really think can be done at this stage about vote buying by both parties. Is it of any importance in your worldview? Your comments there have been noticeable by their absence.

Wheel and come again.