George Pilgrim, General Secretary, Democratic Labour Party

Good morning, Mr Chairman, Officers of the National Council, Members of Parliament, specially invited guests and comrades, It gives me great pleasure to address the 72nd Conference of this great party.

I address you with a heavy heart amidst our internal turmoil. I am fortified in our past successes and so we will overcome this. “We have had crises in the past and we will rise above this” A party founded on the principle of providing a Better Life for our People must not be put out to pasture by a few who don’t understand the basic principles of democracy. Our founding father, Sir Grantley Adams, fought to ensure the principles of democracy were paramount in the ideals upon which we were to evolve as a nation. We have a proud history, let us not consume it in this quagmire of darkness.

I know most of you here today must be wondering what type of speech I would deliver as your reappointed political leader. It has only been a couple weeks since my return to this lofty office. I must repeat at this junction, however:

“I am here to build and I look forward to that opportunity. This is a very difficult time for the country. It is a very difficult time for the party. It is a very difficult time for me.” I came to office as the son of a shopkeeper and led this great party for 14 years through the rough and tumble. I have said that persons on the other side treated politics like a blood sport and I would not want our party to go down that road. I swallowed my pride and acceded to a response from my parliamentary colleagues and decided to accept the post of Opposition Leader.

I want to make it abundantly clear that this journey to replace Miss Mottley as Opposition Leader had its genesis in last year’s conference when: “Miss Mottley placed her leadership before her colleagues for review. Since then there have been a series of actions that put Mottley’s colleagues  in a position where they believed somebody else should lead the party.”   I am not here of my own volition. My parliamentary colleagues and I are not involved in any opportunistic blood sport activity. I discharge my duties as a politician with the knowledge that I am not acting selfishly. I have a vision and road map that will see this party heading back into the reins of Government. Today, I am calling for healing in the BLP and please, be reminded it is me who recommended Mottley to the BLP parliamentary group to be Leader of the Opposition in 2008. I don’t think that through all of this I was credited with such action.

It was I who made her Deputy Prime Minister. I provided her with as wide a scope as possible. I exposed her to the Ministry of Economic Affairs, Education, Culture, office of Attorney General. I facilitated her every move in Government. I am here because I was asked to do a job. I will not be distracted by the frivolity of a few who don’t understand that when people don’t want you, they don’t want you. Let democracy reign in the BLP.

I was most taken aback by the public circus that put the party’s internal machinations on display. I never agreed with it and still don’t with what evolved around the change of leadership. I believe I was put on trial by a few who allowed their partisanship support for a friend to stand in the way of the bigger picture. How dare I be accused of being an opportunist? If any of the comments hurt it was that accusation.

Today, I want to publicly condemn that type of public posture. We in this party are not known for that type of response to internal crises. I am still shell-shocked as I reflect upon the attempt to suppress democracy in this great party. As I said earlier, I answered a call, I had no voice in my head saying “Owen, come back”.  I had no burning flame within my gut to return. After all, I just turned 61, but I am here to serve my people.

As political leader, I want to see a new Barbados Labour Party removed from the vagaries of the past that placed it in Opposition. I am therefore starting with myself. In moving forward I will ensure that nobody from the other side would be able to wave a cheque on the floor of Parliament again.

In the past I have been accused of calling people at wee hours of the morning and being abusive to them. That too will stop, as I now have a little daughter to look after.
I also want to pledge never to use the floor of Parliament as a weapon to insult and be disparaging to ordinary Barbadians. From this day forth words like negrocrat will be forever removed from my political lexicon.

Comrades, I am also asking for forgiveness for the public utterance about Mia Mottley. What I did was reprehensible. I never meant any harm but was merely acting out my feelings of alienation and discard. I lashed out in a manner that I should not have and I am sorry. I am and will not be any part of any conspiracy.

It is no state secret that for George Payne I was public enemy No 1. But we have both shelved our differences in the interest of the party and I too hope that Miss Mottley can do the same towards me. I am ready to accept her now as I did in the past. To her supporters who feel aggrieved, I am sorry. I wish for Rommel Marshall to withdraw his threat to run in St Joseph against Dale Marshall as an Independent. This threat is causing disharmony. I have been met on the street by people who say to me that this is what you are walking around saying. Please stop it and let’s talk. This is not what I want us to come to. I don’t want a BLP defined by Mia Bs and Owen Bs. We are bigger than that. At the end of the day all of us here would be guilty of sins of omission if we were not honest about the former Opposition Leader’s performance. That is why I was asked back and reluctantly accepted. I felt, just as Mia did, that they met a week before and signed that letter to take to the Governor General. It was in poor taste but don’t blame me, it was not done at my house. I was only a guest.

In turn, if I lose the next election, as your leader, I am committed never to contest the role of leader whether or not a call is made. This will be my last attempt at becoming Prime Minister for the second time. I am NOT doing this to etch my name in the political Hall of Fame. I am here because I believe I have the answers to the problems that confront our country, region and the world. I am promising upon my return to office that I will immediately set about implementing solutions to mitigate against the global financial crisis. I have the solutions to the unemployment in our country and the people will benefit as soon as I am returned to office. I will not accept that the global crisis is the root of the country’s problems. We need to get up and work. Let’s build another prison in the North and do a re-designed flyover that will aid in alleviating the traffic build-up. We can and will get it done.

I will also personally write to Obama and tell him what he needs to do win back the majority control of the House and reduce his unemployment too. You see, these folks don’t have what I have as a former  Prime Minister. I have earned a worldwide reputation for my track record in creating an economy without a society. Don’t forget, I discovered poverty in St Michael North West. I was able to create a class of working poor. When no one else wanted to do it I woke up Barbadians to the fact that land must reach its highest economic value. That is why I don’t support the idea of lots for $5 per sq ft. I firmly believe that will cheapen our product and I intend to reverse such a decision if ever re-elected. I will rescind that foolish decision by Minister Lashley.

Comrades I have much more to say, but there is little time

133 responses to “Anticipating Owen Arthur’s Address To The 72nd Annual Conference DLP Style”

1. Whoevva fill David shoes in St.John um gun be a hard act ta folla. George is de ideal candidate. He was my representative once n i kin tell wunna-all he is a rale dong-ta-earf fella. My nedda nex nominee wood be Derrick Alleyne. Anedda good fella.

Hants
    wah i got Engalish pun dah level too. doan mindst de gramma. i is bajan fuss. LOL

Perlixin Pearlie
    So ya get out ta church tadae? dah is good. dis whun fa you frum me:
    I go ta church pun a Sundee,
    de vows dat i mek,
    I brek dem pun Mundee,
    de res’ a de week,
    I do as i pleeze,
    den cum Sundee mornin,
    I pray pun my knee,

Dear God, I kno I in worthee
    But i need thee close
    Please wunt ya hurry
    N help me turn back on de paff I have trod
    You’ll nevva be sorry dear Godddddddddd.

(Pearlie, tek ta hare ma singing dah chune girl. i song betta dhan de ariginal Patsy Cline)
    chawwwwwwwwwwwwww.

2. @ David, even though I hate the business of political dynasty I am nursing the idea of Mrs Mara Thompson taking up where her Husband left off and make a run for the seat. On the other hand I dont know if she has gumption or the chutzpah to “swim with the sharks”- an inherent reality of the nature of politics.

3. In the next election if the DLP has strong representatives in the majority of constituencies they can win with PM Stuart.

The DLP must present strong candidates who support the leader.

Based on some of what is written on this blog Lil Rick would be a good candidate. He would get the vote of the young people.

4. I don’t know too much about politics so maybe someone can explain to me why Dale Marshall, George Payne and Ronald Toppin shifted from Mia to Owen. What happened between last year and this year for them to change allegiance?
    A year ago they sided with her in the question of who should lead the BLP. Furhtermore there wasn’t a lot of love lost between Payne and Arthur nor between Toppin and Arthur.
    Some seem to think that Arthur single handedly “dissed” Ms Mottley,however, that would not have worked without their support. As a matter of fact, is it possible that Payne was the “instigator” and not Arthur?
    Enlighten me please.

5. It would be a hard decision as a single parent, it would depend obviously on her revised life’s goals now that her husband has died . Having operated in the shadow of her husband for so many years she might see this as an opportunity to blossom into something that only a few months ago would have been a dream. She did go to Howard University!

6. Expatriate

Tom Adams installed H Bernard St John, an elitist to be his heir apparent
    Where did you get the idea that H Bernard St. John was “installed” by Tom Adams?

H Bernard St. John also known as “Bree” was the leader of the BLP before he was defeated by Anderson “Peanuts” Morrison in the 1971 General election. After he was defeated Tom took over the leadership of the Party since he was one of the senior elected representatives and an eloquent one to boot. Being the son of Sir Grantley also helped. Indeed if Bree was not defeated Tom may never have become PM.

A running joke in Christ Church at the time of Bree’s loss was that Stella (his spouse) had measured the curtains for Culloden Farm ( the PM’s Official residence at the time) anticipating a BLP victory.

Anyway such is history although Bree later became PM after Tom’s death one could describe his time in office as a footnote in Bajan political life.

7. Do not expect Stuart to be a clone of Thompson; he will fail. However, he could continue to carry out some of the ideas Thompson anticipated and was planning to put into action, but only if he had the blueprint with the process of how it was going to be done. That being said, Stuart has to be himself, and feel extremely comfy in his actions.
    Only time will tell if it were for better or worse.

8. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar
    Perlixin Pearlie

Bonny girl yuh is a boss. Dat song jess suit some people I know but I ent callin nuh names.

But wait, you know George Pilly? You know he personally? You could put in a word fuh Pearlie. Lord I would love tuh meet he. Jess lookin at he picture my spirit tek tuh he.

9. The state funeral of the late PM David Thompson will be repeated on CBC tonight from 7.30PM.

10. @ independent
    How can you wonder if PM Stuart will be better off not reshuffling? At present, he is carrying the workload of the former PM who was on his deathbed. He needs to pull his weight so he must reshuffle even if just a bit to take on some responsibility. Right now he is just Minister of National Security.

11. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar
    Perlixin Pearlie

Pearlie jess done bade and put on she funeral clothes and in front she TV ready tuh pay she respecks tuh she Prime Minister again. A blessed goodnite tuh one an all.

12. @ sweet delores
    As PM it is his cabinet, his administration and his government. He can pull his weight by managing his ministers and making sure that policies get implemented and that his minsters do the job they are paid to do. Trust me that is a full time job!
    It is a novel idea in Barbados, but that doesn’t mean that it can’t be done.
    I also said that in my opinion elections should be called sooner rather than later. If he doesn’t reshuffle he has more time to focus on and strategise to make sure that the dlp gets back in office.
    Last but not least he doesn’t need any friction or unnecessary tension between himself and any of his ministers, which might happen if he reshuffles.

13. @ independent
    What do you mean is a novel idea? Prime Ministers managing their ministers and making sure that policies get implemented? I hope that is not what you meant to say. I would have hoped that all PM’s did that, including the late David Thompson. While it is true that he has a by-election or election to concentrate on, he cannot use that as an excuse to not pull his weight. One is a Governmental responsibility while the other is a party responsibility. As Prime Minister the work of the country must come first.

14. Perlixin Pearlie
    no,no, I cannn watch dah fun’al agen tonite. Lord, wah ah mite pass out dis time arong. Once did enuff fa me ol hart soul. I tun off me TV befoe de nuze did dun causen I in want fa seh nor hare nutton bout na fun’al. Um still got ma shakin ma hed in disbeleef.
    But George is a rale sexy whun fa tru. I tink he is haffa a twin. de edda haff is a sista. he nuze ta ride a mota-cickle. not sure if he still ridin um. but he rale kool n sexy. i tinkin bout movin up in St. John effen he get elect. ‘de closa i getz ta you, de moe ya meks me feel’. (you kno dah chune Pearlie)
    But wait, you see de klown dat supposen ta be runnin pun de BLP ticket up day? He tawkin shoite areddy bout how David could be tawkin bout families first when he had fathas unable ta suupport dem chil’ren. Now you see wha does mek me sin my sole? Fathas din supportin dem chil’ren from time immemorial n along cums dis piece a shit tawkin pupp.stupseeeeeee. I barely hate he n he in get in yet. idjit.

15. sweet delores
    i luv dah name. you got a split/gap between you front teets too? me too. LOLLLLLLL. sweet bonny peppa, bonny peppa sweet.
    Ayeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

16. @ sweet delores
    The novel idea would be that a PM can indeed pull his weight by taking overall responsibility for his cabinet rather than having one or two ministries.
    Compare it to an executive President like for example in the USA. Clearly novel since you seem to think that “pulling his weight” means that he should be PM and minister of ….finance or economic affairs.
    But you know what we just have different opinions and that’s fine.

17. Anyone who believes OSA’s BS is just as naive as he is. Chuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuupse

18. LOL
    OSA naive? :))) LOL
    Anyone who thinks that OSA is naive is……………( take your pick in filling in a word)LOL

19. So who is Hudson Griffith ?

20. @ Charlie

I am NOT GP and the last time I heard of a Georgie Porgie he was a joke calypsonian. Now you entreat people to think outside the box and suggest Senator Maxine McClean as the candidate? Perhaps your box is X shaped. When have you ever heard of a candidate selection process and all the candidates but one all have a SINGLE achievement and people shouting for the majority? I know that of which I speak: the only candidate for St. John that would be in keeping with the legacy of Errol Walton Barrow is Dr. Leroy McClean. Perlixie, George Pilgrim might be purrteee , but is that the baasis on which you select a representative? Hush, nuh !

21. Ok I just read about him on Barbadostoday.His future in the BLP is secure.

22. Interesting to read the feedback this submission has attracted so far which was about the uncertainty within the BLP, yet the expectation of Stuart and the government have trumped every thing.

23. Persnickta
    I met Dr Leroy McClean in October 1971 when we entered Dr Euna Moore’s N2 Biology class at Cave Hill. From way back then Leroy was an ardent fan of Mr Barrow. He had a great love and affection for Mr Barrow, who could do nothing wrong for him.

Many years later I learned that when Mr Barrow would make his rounds in the parish on Sundays, that Leroy would dutifully accompany him. His love for Mr Barrow was so great and obvious, that on the passing of Dipper he seemed to be the best person to accompany the Father of the nation’s body to the US for cremation. That was planned to ease him out of the way. his deep devotion for dipper blinded him to the sinister plot that was set to eject him from his “inheritance”.

After all, he was only a poor black boy from the country, and he certainly was not a lawyer with charisma who was thought to be bright.

Just as (and I quote Lenny St Hill ) “Sandi out ran them to government house and they were out; runout” in similar fashion likkle David ran out poor Leroy.

This is the information I got from a man in whose buisness place in St John where I was introduced to Mr Barrow one Sunday morning soon before his death, when he sat for some tea………prior to his going around in the parish.

If I may make a pun with my Latin it was a case of
    the aut…………aut! And Leroy was OUT.

Mr Pilgrim is a nice young man who was well brought up by his parents in Porey Spring.

24. On reading Barbados Today, Mr. Hudson Griffith you starting off on the wrong foot.
    Here you have a picture of a former Prime Minister who declared he employed illegal Guyanese to work on his house. Now you like all the other BLP candidates believed that the DLP did the wrong thing in sending home the Guyanese.
    It is small business men like you who employed them, paid them little and stop the Barbadian fathers from getting work. Those fathers voted out the BLP. Now you come back with that foolishness.
    There were illegal immigrants living in pig pens and other unsanitary conditions and pulling down the health services of this country and you want to bring them back.
    Freundel pass your IT and FOI legislation fast, have your budget and call the general election. You can hear the line of attack that they are preparing. The gang of five selected this man. I wonder who was Mia’s pick.
    Why don’t you go away? You are now trying to big up yourself by saying you had tea with Mr. Barrow when you wrote that David Thompson took over the man business place for his campaign headquarters. You like yah forgetting what yah say

25. @Georgie Porgie

I was going to respond to a submission you made the other day with respect to David and the whole “planting” issue; but I didn’t because it’s easy to be misunderstood on ablog … The short form is: “Context is everything and people have a right to respect whomsoever without being taken for dolts.” Having said that, I have followed your comments with interest because you are one of the few (if not the only one) who speaks with any degree of knowledge and truth about matters re St. John 1987.

One of the major problems is that Bajans like argument and disagreement even in areas wherein they have little knowledge. The only people on earth prepared to have a point of view on a subject matter while maintaining a strict ignorance of that matter’s contents.

They will not therefore appreciate the following: “Principle and Fairness and Barrow’s legacy demand that the DLP nominee for St. John in the Bye-election is Dr. Leroy McClean.”

nuff said.

26. @David

“Thompson’s young and growing legacy shows he was considered a man of the people. If Stuart wants to be attuned to what the people want, he will have to descend from the place in the ionosphere where his head often resides.”

“Interesting to read the feedback this submission has attracted so far which was about the uncertainty within the BLP, yet the expectation of Stuart and the government have trumped every thing.”

Disingenuity at perplexing heights. Only a true true Bajan could have made those two statements without blushing! Are you blushing, David ?

27. Honestly the dlp could select anyone for st john and still win except in one purely unlikely scenario. as for the blp guy well he could mash all the corns he wants he knows he not going to win. Think of it like the recent kamla scenario with him saying what he likes.

28. @anthony
    You are correct that the St. John seat is a safe one. Now, there are other political considerations: (i) Does the DLP want to do a BLP (St. Thomas) and assign a safe seat to non-contributing candidate?
    (ii) In a Cabinet considered weak by most, does the DLP want to increase its strength by allowing someone who would strengthen the front bench a chance?
    (iii) Does the Prime Minister want to stamp his imprimatur on the government and LEAD or does he want to be seen as a follower?
    (iv) Does Wickham know anything about Politics or is Survey Research his expertise?

29. Charlie
    Re You are now trying to big up yourself by saying you had tea with Mr. Barrow when you wrote that David Thompson took over the man business place for his campaign headquarters. You like yah forgetting what yah say
    ===================
    I do not suffer from either dementia or Alszheimers and I dont have to big up myself. I know exactly where I have come from, where I have been, where I am, and how I got there.

If you could read you would have seen that I said that I was introduced to Mr Barrow one Sunday morning soon before his death, when he sat for some tea………prior to his going around in the parish.

I was obviously introduced to Mr Barrow because the one who introduced me thought I WAS BIG UP and worthy of being introduced to him. I DID NOT THINK THAT BEING INTRODUCED TO MR BARROW WAS A BIG THING OR SOMETHING TO BE GRASPED. I just happened to be there. Nor had I sought being introduced to Mr Barrow.

As I said a few months ago- and was cursed for it POLITICIANS AND POP STARS AND CELEBRITIES MEAN NOTHING TO ME . NONE OF THEM ARE CHRIST !

Common sense would tell you that the DLP had no need to take over the Doctor’s office as they did later, at the time I met Mr Barrow, because MR BARROW WAS STILL ALIVE when I was introduced to him. Why would the DLP take over the office for a bye election when MR BARROW WAS STILL ALIVE.

If you had really read what I said, and understood it, you would also have read that I have never met Thompson or interacted with him in anyway. However, the DLP took over the doctor’s office for week’s to run thier campaign…..and after the campaign they set up a sign outside which read DLP HEADQUARTERS FOR ST JOHN

You are no doubt an example of one of those that had free education but remain illiterate and incapable of even very simple English Comprehension.

Meeting Mr Barrow was no big thing to me. Mr Barrow was only a man as far as I was concerned. When I met Mr Barrow I was already a doctor (and big up according to the values of our society) , and I had met men whom I respect far more than Dipper Barrrrrrrr even to day– like Professor E R Walrond, Prof George Nicholson Prof Timothy Roach Prof Sir Harry Prof Sir GAO Alleyne who was head of my firm when I did my first clerkship in medicine at Mona in the mid 7o’s.

And I wont be going anyway soon
    Many of you who like to cuss me came and found me on BU, where I have made a stirling contribution in my areas of specialty. I plan to stay and run morons of your ilk ragged.

Now you go and let some one teach you how to read
    go back to Basics

THIS IS DAN
    DAN IS A MAN
    THIS IS A VAN
    DAN IS THE MAN IN THE VAN

30. @ Hants, I do not think it is a question that the DLP “could” win, I think the DLP WILL WIN the next election unless they do something absolutely silly.

It seems we are beating up ourselves over PM Stuart. That’s because we seem to manufacturing perceived weaknesses as opposed to focussing on his enormous strengths.

PM Stuart is what Owen Athur is not: can you see PM Stuart putting campaign contributions into his personal bank account?

When PM Thompson was ill: did PM Stuart rush to replace him or even change his Cabinet eventhough PM Thompson gave him full power and authority to do so?

PM Stuart is a symbol of honestly, loyalty, sincerity, decency, and integrity in public life.

He seems “squeaky clean,” and like Mia Mottley of the Bees, PM Stuart is not the type of leader corrupt people will be pushing to do business with.

To have Stuart as PM is therefore to honour PM Thompson’s legacy since Stuart is a symbol of what is good about Barbados’ politics and what PM Thompson intended by talking about ITAL.

He has just became Prime Minister but Mr. Stuart has naturally elevated to being a Statesman. Think about it!

Arthur was PM for 14 years but is not. If an old lady drops her pocket-book, she does not have to worry if PM Stuart sees it.

My friends, the issue is not whether Staurt (who might have been a “teacher?”) seems friendly. He is a good role model because he is “squeaky clean.” He is a good decision for the Office of Prime MInister because he is honest. With him as Prime Minister of Barbados, there is absolutely NO need to put the BDF and the Police to guard the Treasury.

PM Staurt is a man you can trust. He seems like an honest fellah. That is a serious statement to make in Barbadian politics these days and can only be said about himself, or Mia Mottley (who it would seem) was axed because she tried to clean-up the corruption in the BLP and because she did not ask PM Thomspon to resign or state who was paying his medical bills.

This brings me to Hants’ concern.

The DLP will win the next general election because of the leadership crisis within the BLP. The leadership crisis within the BLP and the breach of trust it will continue to cause) cannot be healed.

On one side you seem to have corruption and persons who feel that women cannot lead them and on the other side stamping that crap out, is Mia Mottley. It would seem that for there to be healing within the BLP, Mia Mottley and the three who supported her, would all have to become corrupt.

This is where the electorate come in: they have to force change by sending home Payne, Toppin, Dale and the like, home.

Secondly, the DLP has to deliver on the Prevention of Corrution Act.

3. In the national interest, the people of Barbados (the electorate) must VOTE FOR THE DLP, because the BLP needs time to clean up the corruption PM Thompson exposed and the Nation newspaper highlighted as regards, electoral fraud; election rigging – which seems like organised crime and corruption to many.

It is not the economy but the corruption in politics that needs to be fixed. A strong economy only means more money and a bigger lure to the corrupt.

31. Fair and Balance Avatar

@Bajan Panday
    Can you tell me, was Mia Mottley really axe because she was trying to clean up the corruption in the BLP or was she axe because of something she did? I am hearing rumours about a storm in St Lucia before Tomas and also another about 16 year old girl. You seem to know a lot so can you tell me if you heard those rumours.
    Personally I thought she did a reasonable job as opposition leader (CLICO issue and all) so her ouster cannot be solely on performance but would have to be on some other underlying factor.

32. To correct some pass injustices, the person to contest the seat for the DLP in St. John should be leroy Mc clean. This gentleman was the Personnal Aid to Errol Barrow when he was and was not P.M. He knows St.John and St.John’s middle to old voters, also, he’s a grassroot person with a good acedemic head and will be an asset to the ruling DLP right now.
    The problem is that the person who gains that seat for the DLP, must be a person who can go around the country in a not too distanced general elections and help his colleagues to win their seats. One must be reminded that neither, Stuart nor Sinckler occupy “safe’ seats, so they both have got to spend time in their constituency. The best thing to do is for the one destined to lead the party resign his seat and contest the one in St.John. Right now the only one who can do that is Sinckler, for Stuart to do that he would have to call a general elections. Remember Stuart was ousted in St Plilip South because of his apparent aloofness, then loss in St Michael South, his seat now was because of a swing away from the BLP; Sinckler, it is alleged, was not planning to run again but was asked to do so by the then P.M David Thompson.
    The choosing of a candidate for St.John is not an easy job, it’s not about winning the seat but is the person who wins a strong enough candidate to influence the rest of B’dos to support the DLP in a general elections

33. Warning
    No one who wants to run for St John is capable to fit into David Thompson’s shoes, he was one of a kind a unique breed. The worse thing to do is to pretend because when you’re found out you will be dissed. Even though Mr Barrow was good, David established his own style, whoever comes must do the same, the one basic is to be a people’s person

34. @The Scout
    I agree with most of what you posted. As a member of the Young Democrats and as a Senator, Dr. McClean has been part of the process that led to the DLP victory in 2008. At present, to suggest that one of the current leaders become a carpetbagger (which all of the other potential candidates are) would be to play with the electorate and NOT INCREASE THE STRENGTH of the Cabinet or the parliamentary party.

No one suggests that anyone could fill David Thompson’s shoes; but do you recall that when David went to St. John it was widely said that no one could fill Dipper Barrow’s shoes? I don’t know how one could get to be more people’s person than a grassroots son of the soil who have met and mingled with all of St. John’s residents for going on 40 years.

Does anyone now remember the general election of 1986? I have seen in other places commentators talking about David’s contribution during that historic victory when in fact David was in Trinidad and didn’t appear on a single DLP platform. Who then [went] ” around the country in a … general elections and help[ed] his colleagues to win their seats?”
    Ponder on these things, Scout. For far too often the DLP has been guilty of “unfairing” its most passionate supporters. Let us not allow this to happen again.

35. Persnicka-t
    I agree with you, what I was looking at is that neither Stuart or Sinckler’s seats are certain seats. I will also add that Owen’s seat can also be under pressure if the DLP could dispatch some “heavyweights’ down there to help Benn. Let’s say both Sinckler and Stuart loses their seats, who will be the next in line for the P.M office? The BLP would have Mia to replace Owen if the same thing happens to him. As I see it both parties have got a lot of work to do, the good thing is that the DLP has win the toss and can decide whether to bat or bowl first. On the other hand sometimes it’s good to lose the toss

36. Brother Scouts greetings.
    Slightly off topic.
    David & BU Was anyone aware that a reception was held at Ilaro Court last Wednesday the day of the state funeral?
    This reception was for visiting head of governments,dignataries & cabinet ministers.Was this reception a part of the official events in the mourning period for our former Prime Minister?
    Was this event mentioned by Government Information Service or the other media houses in Barbados?
    I am asking these questions because if this event was put on without notification to the people of Barbados,I am upset that the taxpayers money was used to put on an event and the public of Barbados was not aware of that event.
    I asked some Barbadians if them were aware of the event and all them were not aware that a reception was held at Ilaro for select few people without the public of Barbados knowing.
    Prime Minister Freundel Stuart if this is indeed the case I am extremely disappointed in you & I believe that you must come to the public of Barbados and explain the reason why a reception was held at Ilaro Court -maintained by the people of Barbados and the public of Barbados was not made aware of the event.
    Owen Arthur imposed a secret tax on us & now Freundel Stuart had a secret reception for members of his Boy Club.

37. David

Why can’t ordinary people take time out to improve their vocab during this era of increased
    vehicles of communication? Bajan is a dialect, English is an international language, to text a shorter compilation of words is used by the youth -should we continue to use baby language to young men and women and then expect them to interpret intellectual language during their pursuit of higher education?

Let us embrace all levels of learning, capacities, abilities and seek knowledge for our own self development.

Change the mindset.

38. Update
    Apologies the event was a private event organised by private individuals and not by the government of Barbados.
    Prime Minister Freundel Stuart this Negroman humbly apologise to you & your government for any misinformation that was sent out in my earlier comment.
    David & BU,please disregard my earlier comment.I did not received all the correct information.

39. June
    Are you another of those pompous jackasses who seeks to ridicule some of us bloggers lack of English skills.Many of us bloggers do not have the ability to cOmmand the correct usage of the English Language.Nevertheless in our restricted ways,we are able to make our points and make useful contributions to the subject matters that are being discussed.
    June get off our bloggers lack of English skill and if you want make your contribution and not worry about our English skills.
    If you do not appreciate our English skills DO NOT READ OUR COMMENTS.

40. @ Fair and Balance

I am hearing what you hear and that is that the Bees wanted Mia Mottley to call on PM Thompson to resign when he was ill and she did not. I am also hearing that they wanted Mia Mottley to ask who was paying his medical bills and she refused to do that also.

We all know that it was Mia Mottley who told Barbadians to pray for PM Thompson, even with her last words as Opposition leader, she was making a case for PM Thompson and not herself.

That show humanity and character. Frankly, she has gone up in my books. It would seem that of Harold Hoyte and many others feel the same way.

Her addres to the BCCI attracted positive comments from intellectuals like Dr. Marshall and so on.

In short, even a well respected journalist at the London Times seem to have noticed that Mia Mottley’s star was rising. The five who moved her seem to have felt that PM Thomspon was ailing and made a rush for power.

They sought to benefit in the ill health of PM Thompson and therefore removed Mia Mottley because she did not ask PM Thompson to resign. By the time they snatched power from Mia Mottley to do it themselves, PM Thompson had died.

We now have another honest and decent man at the top. This is good because (given the corruption PM Thompson exposed about campaign financing) honesty and decency in politics are rare things.

Don’t you find it extremely strange that all of the rumours about Mia Mottley are never started in the DLP but in her own party? Why?

41. @Negroman
    We were discussing PM Stuart’s language skills not ours. If I recollect as a child I learnt to increase my vocab because of Dr. Don Blackman’s use of English. Today, I continue to speak Bajan. I listen to and read English – I interpret based on my level – where I need to research for my benefit I do so – that is education.

The communicators, including yourself want your receivers (me) to understand what you say. If I want greater insight I research – we encourage ordinary people to seek and find not to be fed like a baby bird is fed.

42. Bajan Panday
    The truth for the reason for ousting Mia will never be told, it will remain a 7 day wonder. The point is Mia, Owen, Payne and all the rest will sit and work out strategies to regain the government, it’s now up to the DLP to unite and work together to keep this government the BLP is ready to pounce on any mistake the D’s make. Owen knows he cannot win the by-elections so therefore he is not interested in contesting it to lose and then be called a failure even though the DLP knows it’s theirs once they put forward a candidate. What will happen is, if he/she is a weak candidate, then the BLP would spend their money to ridicule the person who replaces David Thompson, that’s why the candidate must be carefully chosen

43. @Negroman | November 8, 2010 at 1:20 PM |

I find it to be commendable that you would admit and apologize for posting misinformation which might have been damaging to the person(s) mentioned.

I wish more people would take a leaf out of your book.

44. Fair and Balance Avatar
    Fair and Balance

@ Bajan Panday
    You speak about corruption what about the morally corrupt?

45. Has Owen Arthur spat on Mr. Thompson’s grave and his legacy by appointing Kerrie Symmonds to the Senate.

Imagine. Owen Arthur removed Holder from the Senate but says he wants an economic slant in there by replace Holder with a Kerrie Symmonds.

Word on the ground is that Holder was worth five persons in the Senator to the Bee, him being (1) a trained Lawyer (2) a trained social worker or social policy specialist (3) a trained educator (4) a trained economist and a lecturer in the subject and (5) a respected family man who does not beat his wife and for that would have met the approval of PM Thompson – a sybol on families in Barbados.

See what I told you? Owen Arthur wants to remove an threat in economics that would upstage him. But placing a wife beater in the Senate, he blatantly and knowingly dishonours the legacy of the late Hon. Prime Minister Thompson.

This is the second greatest insult that Owen Arthur has paid to PM Thompson. First Arthur called a media conference on the day Mr. Thompson dies, now he places a wife beater in the Senate knowing full well that PM Thompson supports families.

Has Owen Arthur spat on Mr. Thompson’s grave and his legacy by appointing Kerrie Symmonds to the Senate.

46. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@June
    May I ask what is intellectual language? For crying out loud, this is a blog. If you choose to write the Queen’s or for that matter the President’s English so be it. Be very careful how, who, and what you criticise. I am at variance with you because from very practical experience, one is taught to write more simple and less complex sentences — use the simplicity of language and words rather than verbosity the higher you move in academia. There are good reasons including the avoidance of ambiguity and definitely to ensure that your audience is getting the meaning that you exactly want to communicate. Please June, ease off the backs of bloggers; that too represents a forum away from your normal rules and the meanings are generally understood by the audiences who choose to participate therein.

47. cARSON c. cADOGAN Avatar
    cARSON c. cADOGAN

Charlie

“How about making Maxine Mcclean the candidate for St.John and the Political leader to take on Owen Arthur in the next elections. After dissing Mia so cruel we will have our first female Prime Minister who is very efficient.”

Talk yuh talk!
    I was thinking about three people for various reasons.

Mara Thompson or

Undene Whitteker or

MAXINE McCLEAN

48. Fair n Balance
    Start de ball rolling bout de morally corrupt lemma hear ya. I hay waitin.

Bajan Panday
    You in easy a’tall. You betta tek up de post in St. John ya. you kno a lot n speak wid sense.(by de way, i fine de rastaman Holder rale sexy)

Bro. Scout
    If God Himself run fa de seat in St.John fa de DLP, de opposition gun still ridicule he, so what de fawk?
    Dem is sore losers ya kno? you like you gettin fryten.

49. @June | November 8, 2010 at 1:12 PM |. Whu wrong wid you, gurl? Variety is the spice of life and I personally am learning the shorthand employed by young people on the Internet, so lef we Bajan speakers (and writers) lone. Ef yuh does done understan we, ejucate yuhself. What I am saying is that we are bilingual – Bajan and English (with Bajan being the first language). Some of the most astute remarks made on BU have come from Bonny and they are communicated in her own unique way straight from her heart to ours – which is more than can be said about your latest which communicates nothing except unwarranted superiority. But maybe that is the message you intended to communicate from your heart to ours.

50. @June. By the way, I see that the testicularly (and spectacularly) challenged has posted something on his blog that is all about you. With my edits, the headline reads, “Subliterate, racist, violence-admiring, sh**head c*** now concerned about the English language.” So chile, tell we whu um is you do to twist His Ball-less-ness’ nuts. The attack seems disproportionate First, he attacks Bonny for commenting in our first language, Bajan. Now he attacks you for for agreeing with him. I wonder what he gone make of Perlie.