George Pilgrim, General Secretary, Democratic Labour Party

Good morning, Mr Chairman, Officers of the National Council, Members of Parliament, specially invited guests and comrades, It gives me great pleasure to address the 72nd Conference of this great party.

I address you with a heavy heart amidst our internal turmoil. I am fortified in our past successes and so we will overcome this. “We have had crises in the past and we will rise above this” A party founded on the principle of providing a Better Life for our People must not be put out to pasture by a few who don’t understand the basic principles of democracy. Our founding father, Sir Grantley Adams, fought to ensure the principles of democracy were paramount in the ideals upon which we were to evolve as a nation. We have a proud history, let us not consume it in this quagmire of darkness.

I know most of you here today must be wondering what type of speech I would deliver as your reappointed political leader. It has only been a couple weeks since my return to this lofty office. I must repeat at this junction, however:

“I am here to build and I look forward to that opportunity. This is a very difficult time for the country. It is a very difficult time for the party. It is a very difficult time for me.” I came to office as the son of a shopkeeper and led this great party for 14 years through the rough and tumble. I have said that persons on the other side treated politics like a blood sport and I would not want our party to go down that road. I swallowed my pride and acceded to a response from my parliamentary colleagues and decided to accept the post of Opposition Leader.

I want to make it abundantly clear that this journey to replace Miss Mottley as Opposition Leader had its genesis in last year’s conference when: “Miss Mottley placed her leadership before her colleagues for review. Since then there have been a series of actions that put Mottley’s colleagues  in a position where they believed somebody else should lead the party.”   I am not here of my own volition. My parliamentary colleagues and I are not involved in any opportunistic blood sport activity. I discharge my duties as a politician with the knowledge that I am not acting selfishly. I have a vision and road map that will see this party heading back into the reins of Government. Today, I am calling for healing in the BLP and please, be reminded it is me who recommended Mottley to the BLP parliamentary group to be Leader of the Opposition in 2008. I don’t think that through all of this I was credited with such action.

It was I who made her Deputy Prime Minister. I provided her with as wide a scope as possible. I exposed her to the Ministry of Economic Affairs, Education, Culture, office of Attorney General. I facilitated her every move in Government. I am here because I was asked to do a job. I will not be distracted by the frivolity of a few who don’t understand that when people don’t want you, they don’t want you. Let democracy reign in the BLP.

I was most taken aback by the public circus that put the party’s internal machinations on display. I never agreed with it and still don’t with what evolved around the change of leadership. I believe I was put on trial by a few who allowed their partisanship support for a friend to stand in the way of the bigger picture. How dare I be accused of being an opportunist? If any of the comments hurt it was that accusation.

Today, I want to publicly condemn that type of public posture. We in this party are not known for that type of response to internal crises. I am still shell-shocked as I reflect upon the attempt to suppress democracy in this great party. As I said earlier, I answered a call, I had no voice in my head saying “Owen, come back”.  I had no burning flame within my gut to return. After all, I just turned 61, but I am here to serve my people.

As political leader, I want to see a new Barbados Labour Party removed from the vagaries of the past that placed it in Opposition. I am therefore starting with myself. In moving forward I will ensure that nobody from the other side would be able to wave a cheque on the floor of Parliament again.

In the past I have been accused of calling people at wee hours of the morning and being abusive to them. That too will stop, as I now have a little daughter to look after.
I also want to pledge never to use the floor of Parliament as a weapon to insult and be disparaging to ordinary Barbadians. From this day forth words like negrocrat will be forever removed from my political lexicon.

Comrades, I am also asking for forgiveness for the public utterance about Mia Mottley. What I did was reprehensible. I never meant any harm but was merely acting out my feelings of alienation and discard. I lashed out in a manner that I should not have and I am sorry. I am and will not be any part of any conspiracy.

It is no state secret that for George Payne I was public enemy No 1. But we have both shelved our differences in the interest of the party and I too hope that Miss Mottley can do the same towards me. I am ready to accept her now as I did in the past. To her supporters who feel aggrieved, I am sorry. I wish for Rommel Marshall to withdraw his threat to run in St Joseph against Dale Marshall as an Independent. This threat is causing disharmony. I have been met on the street by people who say to me that this is what you are walking around saying. Please stop it and let’s talk. This is not what I want us to come to. I don’t want a BLP defined by Mia Bs and Owen Bs. We are bigger than that. At the end of the day all of us here would be guilty of sins of omission if we were not honest about the former Opposition Leader’s performance. That is why I was asked back and reluctantly accepted. I felt, just as Mia did, that they met a week before and signed that letter to take to the Governor General. It was in poor taste but don’t blame me, it was not done at my house. I was only a guest.

In turn, if I lose the next election, as your leader, I am committed never to contest the role of leader whether or not a call is made. This will be my last attempt at becoming Prime Minister for the second time. I am NOT doing this to etch my name in the political Hall of Fame. I am here because I believe I have the answers to the problems that confront our country, region and the world. I am promising upon my return to office that I will immediately set about implementing solutions to mitigate against the global financial crisis. I have the solutions to the unemployment in our country and the people will benefit as soon as I am returned to office. I will not accept that the global crisis is the root of the country’s problems. We need to get up and work. Let’s build another prison in the North and do a re-designed flyover that will aid in alleviating the traffic build-up. We can and will get it done.

I will also personally write to Obama and tell him what he needs to do win back the majority control of the House and reduce his unemployment too. You see, these folks don’t have what I have as a former  Prime Minister. I have earned a worldwide reputation for my track record in creating an economy without a society. Don’t forget, I discovered poverty in St Michael North West. I was able to create a class of working poor. When no one else wanted to do it I woke up Barbadians to the fact that land must reach its highest economic value. That is why I don’t support the idea of lots for $5 per sq ft. I firmly believe that will cheapen our product and I intend to reverse such a decision if ever re-elected. I will rescind that foolish decision by Minister Lashley.

Comrades I have much more to say, but there is little time

133 responses to “Anticipating Owen Arthur’s Address To The 72nd Annual Conference DLP Style”

1. Pretty Blue Eyes Avatar
    Pretty Blue Eyes

Owen, you move at de wrong time because of ill-timing and bad advice ya lost de election even before it start, steupe

2. George Pilgrim.

Why don’t you let sleeping pitbulls lie?
    This is not the time for negative campaigning.

I remain a loyal DLP supporter.

3. Ha ha This man soun’ like the real deal … What a spoof … Yah faget tah mention ’bout the new category of Voluntary Unemployed which you create an’ nahbody still can’ define wah um is, ha ha, a category that allow you tah drop the unemployment indicator from above 17 pct to less than ten in just two years … Ha ha ha

4. The address given by Owen Seymore is pure hogwash!By his omission he simply screwed up and has become like the prodical son asking for forgivness.I am sorry that some of his pledges for his personality changes is due to the fact that he now has a daughter! Excuse me?Is’nt Mia somebody’s daughter? Liz?My somach churnes from lack of assurance that the ‘Great’Barbados Labour Party is not ripping at the seams.I come from a long,long,long genaration of persons who took the BLP very seriously.What makes it more discomforting is the fact that one man could have had so much disrespect for ‘Order’ at a time when matters should have been dealt with with caution.So now he tells us of what he did for Mia but without his influence Mia would have achieved greatness and will no doubt rise. She shall rise from the bitter twisted lies. Suppose all the people who Owen call and cuss or sent messages to were bold enough to verbalise his words verbatum it would be an outcry!At the end of the day, party supporters will see the transparency of his words. For his sake and the sake of Barbados,Owen should eat humble pie. A source told me that if shit had wings Owen’s ass would be an airport! I don’t want to think so!!!!
    See now why I voting fa David Thompson if I ever vote again?

5. The address given by Owen Seymore is pure hogwash!By his omission he simply screwed up and has become like the prodical son asking for forgivness.I am sorry that some of his pledges for his personality changes is due to the fact that he now has a daughter! Excuse me?Is’nt Mia somebody’s daughter? Liz?My somach churnes from lack of assurance that the ‘Great’Barbados Labour Party is not ripping at the seams.I come from a long,long,long genaration of persons who took the BLP very seriously.What makes it more discomforting is the fact that one man could have had so much disrespect for ‘Order’ at a time when matters should have been dealt with with caution.So now he tells us of what he did for Mia but without his influence Mia would have achieved greatness and will no doubt rise. She shall rise from the bitter twisted lies. Suppose all the people who Owen call and cuss or sent messages to were bold enough to verbalise his words verbatum it would be an outcry!At the end of the day, party supporters will see the transparency of his words. For his sake and the sake of Barbados,Owen should eat humble pie. A source told me that if shit had wings Owen’s ass would be an airport! I don’t want to think so!!!!
    See now why I voting fa David Thompson if I ever vote again? George Pilgrim’s anticipation gives all the opportunity to tell it like it is.Write some more George!

6. Appreciated the satire

7. OSA sees conscience as a luxury but caught himself that it can also be an SOB.

How many of his posse remember the calypso Conscience sung by Classic in 1987

8. I hope the DLP has it right, I just hope they don’t get trouble in their camp too or some members would have to bury their heads in shame. the way I see it the DLP has to show and perform in unity to gain the confidence of the voting public. The reshuffle of the cabinet must be done without a flaw.

9. In the Sun on Saturday of November 6, 2010, there was the headline, which gave the impression that Liz Thompson and Arthur Holder have resigned from the Senate because they did not want to work with Owen Arthur.

Yet further in the article, it said that Billie Miller also placed her appointment at the disposal of Owen but he did not accept hers.

Let’s face it Owen is removing Holder from the Senate out of FEAR that as a trained ecomomist and Arthur’s student – Holder would upstage him. Eeveryone knows that Owen feels he is the only economist on planet earth.

But, here is the classic. Owen Arthur let fall from his mouth that there is a CONVENTION that when a leader or administration changes, persons appointed by the previous leader or administration places their appointment at the disposal of the new leader or head of the new administration.

YOU HEAR THAT CRAP? Is Arthur senile? Isn’t he taking his mediaction.? Do you remember after the 2008 general election he went down by the same Nation Newspaper complaining that PM Thompson had put an end to an arrangment where Arthur was paying his friend $4,000 a month of the taxpayers money because – according to owen – the man “was in a tight spot” and he Owen wanted to “help him out.”

Don’t you recall the corruption that PM Thompson exposed and put an end to? Do you really believe that Owen would be going to Parliament if PM Thompson was alive? PM Thompson literally ran Owen Arthur from Parliament. Arthur’ puny response was that Parliament was poor rakey.

Perhaps, but honest. Even so, Isn’t Arthur now going bak to the same Parliament he said was poor rakey? YOU SEE WHY HE SHOULD TAKE HIS MEDICATION?

But what can you say about a man who would call a press conference on the day our PM died only to read an insincere speech, causing us to see how feeble he now is–even with shaking hands and a miserable and uncomfortable look on his tired face.

So Athur – who was helping out a friend with $4,000 monthly from the public purse is coming back to do more of the same.

10. Satire at its best. So good that I could almost hear the little man speaking the words. I appreciate pre-emptive strikes, and this on is a masterpiece.

11. The DLP propaganda machinery has hit the ground running right after the period od mourning is over, I hope it works but be very careful it doesn’t run out of steam before the next general elections or even the coming by-elections. Good luck DLP

12. I think that both parties have shown that they are susceptible to internal problems, and it makes no sense for one to be gloating at the other’s problems. What each party needs to be doing is focusing on their relationship with the public, and how best to tackle the problems that our country face.
    George Pilgrim, it seems that either you or Verla Depeiza will get the nod for St. John. I hope you’re up to the task and able to fill the boots of your late friend and PM.

13. As an independent Pilgrim’s satire is greatly appreciated. But Bajan Panday should take it down a notch and stop mixing up apples and oranges. Not impressed.
    The Scout is as always more balanced. I still wonder if PM Stuart would not be better of by not reshuffling.
    BTW, I am also one of those who think that Stuart might suprise and do a good job. He has a lot of tough decisions to make and that’s why in my opinion early elections would be a wise move.

14. Thompson’s young and growing legacy shows he was considered a man of the people. If Stuart wants to be attuned to what the people want, he will have to descend from the place in the ionosphere where his head often resides.

15. ” in the iosphere where his head often resides” LOL
    David what are you implying? :))

16. @Independant

It is an open secret that Stuart is perceived by many as operating aloof from ordinary people. His challenge should he be serious* about being an effective PM will be to make the adjustment. Perhaps he will have to hire an advisor.

17. Wasn’t/isn’t Obama also accused of talking above people’s head and being more of a professor than a politician?
    Stuart very often delivers a thought provoking, educational lesson which is intended to provoke deep thought on the matter discussed.
    I agree with you that it would serve him well to temper his use of language to resonate with a larger cross section of the voters.

18. The DLP has to support Stuart. They can’t afford a Leadership change.

The BLP OwenMIA battle was a political gift to the DLP.

The DLP must rally around Stuart if they want to win the next Election.

19. BTW, the only PM in recent memory to be considered not aloof was the late PM Thompson . All others: Barrow, Adams, Sandi, Bree and Arhur were considered by the majority of the population to be aloof. People felt reluctant, at times even intimidated, to approach any of them. The exception being late PM Thompson.

20. He (Stuart) will also have to design a strategy/communications plan to effectively manage his team. He is managing a team where several key members who were loyal to Thompson will now transfer to Sinckler. Working to shift the power structures in the parliamentary group to gain political advantage/loyalty will require him taking a look at the lose canons or should we say mavericks (Kellman and Estwick). A scary proposition indeed.

21. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar
    Perlixin Pearlie

Marnin.
    But wait, is only now dat somebody tell Pearlie dat George Pilgrim name is one dat get call up fuh de Sin John by-election. I supportin whoever de Dems pick, but Pilly you could get de ole girl vote anytime dear-heart! Doan mine I ent live in Sin John. Wuhloss de yong boy too sweet and hansome, and Pearlie always hear dat yong boys does keep yuh yong!

Anyhow, I gine here and powder up muhself and guh long down tuh church fo people start spread malicious rumours dat Pearlie backslide cos is 3 straight sundees now I aint darken de church door. I gine read Pilly story bout Arfuh when I get back from church, so I got someting sweet tuh look forwad tuh when I get back.

22. David is absoluetly right about Stuart needing not to seem aloof, Perception is everthing. THe youth today need to hear from someone who can think on their level. Someone who they can interact with. Someone who can understand their language .Stuart has a lot of work to do in that area.

23. We must ask ourselves, what do we want from our politicians.
    Do we want effective leadership?
    Honesty and integrity in the governance by Government?
    Looking after the welfare of the poor and needy?
    Being statesman-like in representing Barbados at home and abroad; not being addicted to bribery and corruption?

OR

A “feigned” we is one attitude in the rumshop; back slapping in an appearance of being the ordinary man, discarded as soon as their feet hit the pavement outside, and they are encircled by the cocktail circuit.

What we want is “honesty” not pretence, because true honesty permeates everything a person does. . . that is what they are. Do not think the ordinary people are fools, we should not assume that they are.

24. @Yardbroom

The challenge for the modern day politician is being able to deliver on what you described while at the same time understanding that a short coming of a democracy is, not all people will be of the same mind at the same time.

25. If aloofness was an obstacle to office and being ‘nice’ was a prerequisite, how do we explain the aloof Owen being PM for 14years while the late ‘nice’, ‘humble’ David Thompson remained in Opposition?

“THe youth today need to hear from someone who can think on their level. ”
    What is thinking on ‘the youth level’? Is the majority of our VOTING youth illiterate? Schupse

26. @Enuff

Where your perspective is flawed perhaps has to do with some of us looking to a new way of practising governance.

27. Hi Enuff
    How true.

@David, I well understand your view and there is some merit in it.
    However, the “pretence” by politicians is endemic in Barbados. During an election campaign they will come to your home, sit on a biscuit box if required and tell you how comfortable they are. If they are offered a drink of water, they will say it is the coolest water they have ever tasted. After the election- now in office- they are difficult to contact. In making a telephone call inquiry they are always out of the island, lawyers are always in court. A suitable time for an appointment is rarely proffered. . . we have had enough “pretence”in the interim we have allowed some scoundrels to govern us.
    Of course they are a “few”exceptions.

28. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

I do not perceive Stuart to be talking above the heads of Barbadians. Is our concept of literacy to be somehow limited to being able to read and write our own names?

29. @Jeff

Who would expect you to be of a different view, you intellectual you!

30. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar

Ah, David. Touche.

I have been following the discussions even though I have not commented in recent weeks. Good work! Keep it up.

31. Some Leaders are effective if they have a good team.

Other Leaders have the ability to be effective when surrounded by weaklings.

PM Stuart appears to need a good team.

@ Jeff, I read your column today. Very good as usual.

So someone wants to teach our Bajan children English as a second language.
    Pray tell why GP and de crumpton street alumni cuh talk bajan all day everyday in de square,on de small field an all bout harsun kolij and still pass English at o level, A level and de next level an go an get 2 an 3 degrees.

I hope Barbados does not allow this kind of nonsense to be introduced into our education system.

32. On the subject of who should run in St. John. It seems Peter Wickham who we know lurks on BU because he is running from Bush Tea has had a lot to say. Verla Depezia maybe a good person but don’t we have too many damn lawyers in the Lower House? How can we get change when we keep electing lawyers who are known to fight tooth and nail to protect the status quo? Should Dr. Leroy McClean get it if as Doc GP has opined it was ‘stolen’ from him all those years ago?

33. @David
    There is no one more qualified to replace our late Prime Minister as the representative for St. John than Dr, Leroy McClean. Anyone who has any awareness of the struggles of the DLP in opposition during the Tom Adams period and the sterling work Dr. McClean has provided to the D’s from then ’til now and the fact that Dr. McClean should actually have replaced late Prime Minister Errol Barrow had it not been for the sentimentalism and emotionalism that led to the coronation of David, would readily agree with me.
    @ Jeff
    Wonderful piece today. This is Harry (he he from Alkins). Gird your loins, indeed!

Persnicka_t

34. Imho Dr.McClean would be a good minister of International Business.

35. Another minus against Verla is the possibility of a high level of arrogance if we conclude from observing her brother Francis.

36. David & Others

Stuart Aloof? Hardly! Admittedly he is not the gregarious politician that David Thompson was but who is?

Stuart is a Foundation boy and everyone knows that we come from salt of the earth, God fearing working class folk who don’t have a haughty bone in their bodies.

Stuart never expected to be the leader of the DLP as he felt that he would be unacceptable to the Part hierarchy. I heard this from an impeccable source several years ago when David Thompson was going through his trials and tribulations when many Dems were being lured to the BLP and Owen Arthur’s “politics of inclusion”. Stuart felt that his social/working class background would be inimical to his political ambition.

However as a result of being in the right place at the right time the Office has fallen into his hands and I believe he will be a good leader and do a commendable job.

As to speaking well, here is something that I remember from an Industrial Arts Class
    (everyone should know that in Industrial Arts you made Bread Boards/ Cutting Boards etc.) a teacher, ironically also named Stuart said Freundel’s name reminded him of someone famous… not his first name but his second… Jerome. The teacher then mentioned Jerome Kern the famous American composer. Imagine circa 1964-1965 a wood work teacher encouraging a group of Bajan country students to explore a world beyond their parochial setting, no wonder he speaks well.

FOUNDATION the little school that could.

37. It seems Dr. McClean used the 14 years in the political wilderness wisely. He got himself a PhD.

38. @Sarge

Regarding Stuart’s perceived aloof position the emphasis is on perceived* as Sir Richard Haynes would point out.

@Thanks Jeff!

39. @David, I agree with you, Stuart does come over as very aloof and as a schoolmaster speaking ‘to’ his students. He seems unable to connect to ordinary people and governance today demands that those who lead be able to connect. David Thompson seemed to have understood this, hence his appeal to the young people. There is no room for that stuffy upper lip attitude.
    I also like that term ‘ place in the ionosphere’ that connotes somewhere beyond normal human existence, LOL

@Bajan Panday,
    you on the ball today, shooting with both barrels. I said the same thing about Owen looking tired, and one anonymous tell me Owen looks full of energy, he mussy did looking through rose coloured glasses.

Please no more lawyers in Parliament, thieves on the outside and thieves in de too. plea………..se.

40. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar
    Perlixin Pearlie

Oh Lord, de itis got muh. I hey sleepy enough.

Look, in my humble opinion only 2 people worth carrying de torch fuh de Dems in Sin John now.
    1. Maxine McClean. Pure class. Bright. No nonsense. No lotta pretensions and dat kinda foolishness. Does get on well wid people and does get de job done. Simple.
    I see in Har Hoyte paper dat Peter Wickham like he got someting gainst Maxine. How he could suggest dah udda young girl over Maxine? Jess cos she younger? Or cos Maaxine usetuh work at UWI did he? Peter Wickham want one slap round dah square head uh his.
    2. George Pilly. Handsome fuh days, wuhloss! Bright. Young. Energetic. Hansdome fuh more days! Lord, wunnah see he picture in Har Hoyte paper.

Pearlie don’t know much bout de Leroy MClean fella, except that he bright whichin is good, but e like e a bit short in personality and people skills. But I could be wrong.

But de pint is dis – Wunnah think Sin John is a lil nay any constituency? Anybody dat want to represent de good people uh Sin John hafta be potential Prime Minister material ef yuh please!

41. @ David. I think Jeff would make a good replacement..lol

42. @zion

Jeff is a good boy.

We have a lot of respect for him actually.

Along with Dr. Robinson, Dr. Karl Watson, Dr. Winston Moore he is the only one from Cave Hill from memory who has shown the balls to enter the blogosphere and fraternize with the humble folk 🙂

43. I have had only intermittent internet access since Tomas and so couldn’t join in the debate.

I see there seems to be a consensus on this board that Owen Arthur is aloof. I wonder which Owen Arthur they are talking about. Owen Arthur is no more aloof than David Thompson was and I fully accept that David Thompson was far from being aloof. There is no truth to that rumour. Indeed, show me a politician that is aloof and I’ll show you a failed politician. I don’t know our new Prime Minister, but from what I’ve heard of him, I think that his problem may reside in his use of big words and sentences that convey significantly more information than does the typical politician . But there was a man named Don Blackman who never used short words but was adored by his constituents. Freundel Stuart may be cut from similar cloth.

Freundel Stuart seems to be an honest politician who speaks his mind and is not afraid to take unpopular decisions such as the one to cut himself loose of Hartley Henry. I think he has far greater potential than the pundits have been giving him credit for. I think Freundel Stuart was the best choice for an interim Prime Minister and now he has a number of choices to make. The first will be if he should call a general election instead of a bye-election in St John. That choice will define him either as either a free thinking, forward looking prime minister or merely a stop gap stand in for David Thompson.

In an economy whose major challenges are yet to come, calling a general election anytime after mid January 2011 is seeking to ensure that the BLP gets back in after only 1 term of DLP rule.

Indeed, I would say that allowing Chris Sinckler to present a budget in 2010 would be somewhat inimical to Stuart retaining the leadership of the Country if the elction is called near to the time it is statutorily due.

44. The idea proposed here is that the young people of Barbados are deficient in some regard; not able to connect with Barbadians who speak English.

Where is this supposed literacy of which we often boast, is it only relevant as another blogger said to “read and write our names”. . . is that all we aspire to.

Are we so condescending to ordinary Barbadian young people, as to say we can connect with the new Prime Minister Stuart, but the youths cannot. . . how “patronizing.”

45. David

Stuart has his own style are you expecting a carbon copy of Thompson? (See how quickly he got rid of Hartley).

Talking about “Aloof”, well the Bajan public accepted JMGM Adams for many years I don’t think he was beloved but he was respected. Any one who didn’t think Tom had a patrician air about him never met the man

46. Dr.McClean
    You have one problem. You were recommended by one GP.
    He also seems to be writing as Persnicka_t who keeps pushing your case
    You have no chance of being the candidate for St.John not with GP as your backer.

47. Too many persons on this blog are disrespecting the young people of Barbados.
    You call them illiterate but expect on Election Day for them to go and vote your party in. They are smarter than most of you intellectuals on this blog.
    They sit on their blocks and politicians are forced to bring some monetary enticement for them to go and vote. They get it and they sometimes do not even vote for the person who gave them the enticement.
    For the DLP to win again they need that youth vote.
    Peter Wickham is right if PM Stuart makes the wrong moves it is back to the opposition for a long time.
    Thinking outside of the box
    How about making Maxine Mcclean the candidate for St.John and the Political leader to take on Owen Arthur in the next elections. After dissing Mia so cruel we will have our first female Prime Minister who is very efficient.

48. The political landscape in Barbados, has always facilitated for politicans who were glowingly oratorical, and those who captured the hearts and imaginations of the giddy masses, to ascend to high political office. For the most part, political leadership in Barbados has never been predicated via a meritocracy, but by way of entitlement. Again, the Barbadian political establishment has seemingly crowned Chris Sinckler as the heir apparent, in the DLP. Although, I can find little argument with Chris’ installation to high office, I do find a problem with the fact, that no one seemingly, looked seriously at the plethora of talent within the DLP. If a politician is a minimal parliamentary representative, then how on earth can he or she expect to portend a change, at the helm of government’s leadership? Some of our country’s parliamentary representatives, have not been seen in their constituencies since the election. How then can they be crowned heir apparent? For years, there has been a propensity by certain elites in both parties to hand pick their political operatives, to replace them. Errol Barrow hand picked Erskine Sandiford, and then designated Phillip Graves. what an absolute debacle that was. But before Sandiford, Tom Adams installed H Bernard St John, an elitist to be his heir apparent, again a colossal mistake. No leader can be installed, or forced down the throats of the masses. sooner or later, the people will come to believe that they’ve been given a bitter pill to swallow. Political Science 101, states that all politics is local. It’s time to reject Owen S Arthur and his foolishness. Owen wanted Mia to “Stomp on the grapes, while he drink’s the wine.” In my opinion, Owen Arthur is nothing more than a pimp, he’s been pimping Barbadian politics for years.

49. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar
    Perlixin Pearlie

Alright, Pearlie got tuh ‘pologise tuh Peter Wickham. I jess read over de story and it like I misinterpret wuh he was sayingfuh trute. Apparently de names he give wasnt summuch that he was recommending de Dems should choose, it was de people he feel de Dems might be thinkin bout. At least dah’s wuh my granboy seh it sound like tuh he, and he must know causin he does guh UWI and Pearlie aint went school nuh weh. So it look like ef Peter Wickham aint loss he head after all. He get off, causin Pearlie don’t waste time, I did ready tuh call up Jinkins tuh get dem book a ward fuh he! I got contacts up deh yuh know.

50. Stupid! Whatever message a leader sends to the country should be delivered in a clear and concise manner and not only to those who would agree with their point of view. It takes a leader with vision to move a country forward . I suspect that Stuart is not a visionary and probably would have a hard time relating to the youth on many social issues.