George Pilgrim, General Secretary, Democratic Labour Party

Good morning, Mr Chairman, Officers of the National Council, Members of Parliament, specially invited guests and comrades, It gives me great pleasure to address the 72nd Conference of this great party.

I address you with a heavy heart amidst our internal turmoil. I am fortified in our past successes and so we will overcome this. “We have had crises in the past and we will rise above this” A party founded on the principle of providing a Better Life for our People must not be put out to pasture by a few who don’t understand the basic principles of democracy. Our founding father, Sir Grantley Adams, fought to ensure the principles of democracy were paramount in the ideals upon which we were to evolve as a nation. We have a proud history, let us not consume it in this quagmire of darkness.

I know most of you here today must be wondering what type of speech I would deliver as your reappointed political leader. It has only been a couple weeks since my return to this lofty office. I must repeat at this junction, however:

“I am here to build and I look forward to that opportunity. This is a very difficult time for the country. It is a very difficult time for the party. It is a very difficult time for me.” I came to office as the son of a shopkeeper and led this great party for 14 years through the rough and tumble. I have said that persons on the other side treated politics like a blood sport and I would not want our party to go down that road. I swallowed my pride and acceded to a response from my parliamentary colleagues and decided to accept the post of Opposition Leader.

I want to make it abundantly clear that this journey to replace Miss Mottley as Opposition Leader had its genesis in last year’s conference when: “Miss Mottley placed her leadership before her colleagues for review. Since then there have been a series of actions that put Mottley’s colleagues  in a position where they believed somebody else should lead the party.”   I am not here of my own volition. My parliamentary colleagues and I are not involved in any opportunistic blood sport activity. I discharge my duties as a politician with the knowledge that I am not acting selfishly. I have a vision and road map that will see this party heading back into the reins of Government. Today, I am calling for healing in the BLP and please, be reminded it is me who recommended Mottley to the BLP parliamentary group to be Leader of the Opposition in 2008. I don’t think that through all of this I was credited with such action.

It was I who made her Deputy Prime Minister. I provided her with as wide a scope as possible. I exposed her to the Ministry of Economic Affairs, Education, Culture, office of Attorney General. I facilitated her every move in Government. I am here because I was asked to do a job. I will not be distracted by the frivolity of a few who don’t understand that when people don’t want you, they don’t want you. Let democracy reign in the BLP.

I was most taken aback by the public circus that put the party’s internal machinations on display. I never agreed with it and still don’t with what evolved around the change of leadership. I believe I was put on trial by a few who allowed their partisanship support for a friend to stand in the way of the bigger picture. How dare I be accused of being an opportunist? If any of the comments hurt it was that accusation.

Today, I want to publicly condemn that type of public posture. We in this party are not known for that type of response to internal crises. I am still shell-shocked as I reflect upon the attempt to suppress democracy in this great party. As I said earlier, I answered a call, I had no voice in my head saying “Owen, come back”.  I had no burning flame within my gut to return. After all, I just turned 61, but I am here to serve my people.

As political leader, I want to see a new Barbados Labour Party removed from the vagaries of the past that placed it in Opposition. I am therefore starting with myself. In moving forward I will ensure that nobody from the other side would be able to wave a cheque on the floor of Parliament again.

In the past I have been accused of calling people at wee hours of the morning and being abusive to them. That too will stop, as I now have a little daughter to look after.
I also want to pledge never to use the floor of Parliament as a weapon to insult and be disparaging to ordinary Barbadians. From this day forth words like negrocrat will be forever removed from my political lexicon.

Comrades, I am also asking for forgiveness for the public utterance about Mia Mottley. What I did was reprehensible. I never meant any harm but was merely acting out my feelings of alienation and discard. I lashed out in a manner that I should not have and I am sorry. I am and will not be any part of any conspiracy.

It is no state secret that for George Payne I was public enemy No 1. But we have both shelved our differences in the interest of the party and I too hope that Miss Mottley can do the same towards me. I am ready to accept her now as I did in the past. To her supporters who feel aggrieved, I am sorry. I wish for Rommel Marshall to withdraw his threat to run in St Joseph against Dale Marshall as an Independent. This threat is causing disharmony. I have been met on the street by people who say to me that this is what you are walking around saying. Please stop it and let’s talk. This is not what I want us to come to. I don’t want a BLP defined by Mia Bs and Owen Bs. We are bigger than that. At the end of the day all of us here would be guilty of sins of omission if we were not honest about the former Opposition Leader’s performance. That is why I was asked back and reluctantly accepted. I felt, just as Mia did, that they met a week before and signed that letter to take to the Governor General. It was in poor taste but don’t blame me, it was not done at my house. I was only a guest.

In turn, if I lose the next election, as your leader, I am committed never to contest the role of leader whether or not a call is made. This will be my last attempt at becoming Prime Minister for the second time. I am NOT doing this to etch my name in the political Hall of Fame. I am here because I believe I have the answers to the problems that confront our country, region and the world. I am promising upon my return to office that I will immediately set about implementing solutions to mitigate against the global financial crisis. I have the solutions to the unemployment in our country and the people will benefit as soon as I am returned to office. I will not accept that the global crisis is the root of the country’s problems. We need to get up and work. Let’s build another prison in the North and do a re-designed flyover that will aid in alleviating the traffic build-up. We can and will get it done.

I will also personally write to Obama and tell him what he needs to do win back the majority control of the House and reduce his unemployment too. You see, these folks don’t have what I have as a former  Prime Minister. I have earned a worldwide reputation for my track record in creating an economy without a society. Don’t forget, I discovered poverty in St Michael North West. I was able to create a class of working poor. When no one else wanted to do it I woke up Barbadians to the fact that land must reach its highest economic value. That is why I don’t support the idea of lots for $5 per sq ft. I firmly believe that will cheapen our product and I intend to reverse such a decision if ever re-elected. I will rescind that foolish decision by Minister Lashley.

Comrades I have much more to say, but there is little time

133 responses to “Anticipating Owen Arthur’s Address To The 72nd Annual Conference DLP Style”

1. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar
    Perlixin Pearlie

Someboy call my name? Look muh hey. Pearlie does get blame fuh everyting yuh know.

2. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar
    Perlixin Pearlie

Look, wunnah doan get Pearlie in nuffin tonight. I gine back and finish drink off this long cup uh ginger tea and see if I could get this air from stickin me all onneat my ribs.

3. cARSON c. cADOGAN
    ya change up ya name pun ma but i still sniff ya out. ya gettin like BAF. he is a rale nutta-narian. LOL
    But wah bout addin me ta de lis a candydates fa St.John? I too bad or wah? or wah bout Perlixin Pearlie? we would add lil spice ta de Senit. Ya smarty.

4. Amused
    You’s my cup-a-hot-choklit, ya kno? but wah is dah big word you puttin gensa my name now bosey? Ass-tute or sumting so. befoe i start ta feel fussy, dah is a minus or a plus fa me? Lordy dese newcummas doan realise ta kno, dat dem shun cum bout hay de-littlin (or de word is be-littlin) BU famblee?stupseeeeeeee.
    Tell dem doan worry wid Pearlie hare? she in easy a’tall. she much worsa dhan me. she doan hole back nor feel fa she words. she does minc dum up wid she tong. she is got me brekkin dung.

Perlixin Pearlie
    Girl you drinkin ginga tea but i not lung had my cup a black, green-tee. i like ginga but um doan like me. evva time i drinkin ginga, i does be kekkin wen i swalla. i doan kno y. but effen i drink cocoa tea, coffee tea, peppamint tea or even bushtea tea, um doan happen. sumting in de ginga doan gree wid my stummuch. stupseeeeeeeeeeee

5. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Bonny

How was your day today?

6. @ Bonny
    …yuh can’t go wrong with bushtee tea.
    But the bushman getting a likkle jealous with dis lotta swoite talk ya got for Amused….

7. @ cARSON c. cADOGAN | November 8, 2010 at 6:38 PM |
    Why seek out newcomers in what looks as though it is going to be a battle for that St.John seat. There is all ready a half or maybe three quarter grown ….

Maxine McClean that’s if she interested in sitting in that chair

Mark my words, sometime in the near future, Barbados will have a female Prime Minister. Leave it to the young generation.

8. It would seem that Santia’s appointment is to appeal to the youth and entertainers. I think she represents Lil Rick, Ram and so on but she has been the candidate since about October 2008, yet not a word from her even when the units in the Pine are leaking from the recent storm.

You can’t take Holder out of the Senate and replace him with Kerrie unless you want to insult PM Thompson. Holder is a family man. I think Holder lectures in economics.

I think Mascoll is a UWI lecture. It left to be seen if now that Mascoll is lead spokesman for the BLP (because Arthur do not want to be scarred by Sinckler) Mascoll is allowed to keep his Friday column at the nation newspaper.

Didn’t the BLP have an economic team under Mia Mottley. I remember hearing their radio programme many a Friday and hear it announced that this person and the other is a member of this and that Team.

The point is: Arthur made another blunder. He is saying that both Liz and Holder resigned. My instict tells me that somebody is telling lies.

Did they resign or did they placed their appointment at the disposal of the leader (as convention requires) with the specific indicattion that they are available to serve?

Let us see the letter they wrote because the impression is given that they do not want to work with Owen and resigned.

SOMEBODY IS TELLING LIES. If it is Owen then that is a credibility issue and highlights why PM Thompson was right about ITAL and freedom of information legislation.

David, can you find the news item when Owen went to the nation newspaper cussing because his friend was no longer able to get $4000 monthly from the public purse because he was in a tight spot? Seems like Owen forgot the convention then.

9. Owen Arthur is reaching at air. If he thinks that by ushering in Clyde Mascoll as an economic Czar, that the people of Barbados can’t see through his idiocy, he’s more demented than I thought. First, Mascoll is a Macro Economist, pretty much like Arhtur himself. Macro Economists, typically don’t understand finite economic theory, and are less concerned with conservative economic principles. On the other hand, although the late Prime Minister David Thompson was not a trained economist, he gravitated to micro-economic theory, which espouses an analysis of complete economic fact finding. The Social Sciene Economics, is pretty much like meteorology, it is a business of forecasting. Arthur and Mascoll, both look at the Macro, because they can change economic outcomes to juxtapose their positions. Chris Sinckler, like the late David Thompson, understands the finite principles of cause and effect, and the truism of “Ceteris Paribus.” Although macro-economic principles, look at the larger nine cascading economic principles, starting from Full-employment of labor and all other resources, through reasonable balance of trade. National economic planners would for the most part be best advised, to address typical day to day economic operational problems, that would be found in micro-economic settings. I look forward over the next few months, to entertaining Mr Mascoll’s economic hypotheses. As most trained economist know, policies and theories are clearly two different types of concepts with specifically different functions. Fallacy of composition, maybe the overarching fact, that stifle’s or limits full economic recovery.

10. @Bonny. All um mean is dat you bright. Add de convertible bike and you formidable. As for ginger tea, try a little Stones Ginger Wine instead -mix it with a little rum and some ice and a dash of bitters. Pearlie may like that recipe too.

@Bajan Panday. On target again. Ditto @Expatriate.

11. PM Stuart MUST NOTcall a snap general election. He should first allow the byelection in St. John to take place.

Owen Arthur said that there is a clamour for him, eventhough it is now known that he means a clamour of one (HIMSELF)

Owen said he wished Mia Mottley had so run the BLP that no one would be calling for him to return. He is now issuing a disclaimer that he cannot win a St. John byelection.

Wait a minute, you would have thought that given all he is saying about the economy, that the people all across Barbados would be rushing for he and his (dark-half) of the BLP.

Owen Arthur led the BLP to a defeat at the polls in 2008 when he suffered a crusuing defeat at the hand of PM Thompson and must be made to lose again this time by PM Thompson from the greave because PM Thompson represents all that Arthur is not. Strong families and PM Thompson like Stuart and Mia Mottley are not leaders who corrupt people would be pushing to do business with.

PM Stuart must let Thompson defeat Arthur is life and death. So that having led the BLP to a defeat at the polls in 2008, Owen Arthur will again lead the dark-side of the BLP to another defeat in 2010. I say his dark side because it is clear that Mia Mottley, Rawle Eastman, Cynthia Forde and other – are not with him.

There is simply no for Owen Arthur.

Arthur will also have to mount a platform in St. John. What will be his message and who will speak. Will his speakers represent all that PM Thompson was against.

Will a BLP St. John platform show the unhealable division in the BLP.

CALL A BYELECTION MR. STAUART – NOT A GENERAL ELECTION. Owen Arthur does not want 2 1/2 years as Opposition Leader, he does not have the energy.

Stretch out that process and the cracks in the BLP will be seen even more.

12. THE BLP CONTINUES TO CRUMBLE. YESTERDAY I CALLED THE OPPOSITION’S OFFICE AND MIA’S STAFF HAVE ALL BEEN FIRED BY OWEN ARTHUR. IS THIS HEALING OR IMPLOSION MODE.

THE HEALING PROCESS in the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) seems to have become a little more difficult following the announcement of two new senators by Opposition Leader Owen Arthur yesterday.

It has left one candidate contemplating his future with the party, and another long-standing member expressing concern about how it was handled and the implications for healing.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/blp-sore/

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BAJAN PANDAY

Bajan Panday | November 9, 2010 at 6:05 AM

You have really given this thing a lot of thought. Thanks for this insightful piece.

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

By the way today is my birthday. I am not saying how old I am.

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

OFFTOPIC

Today is also the birthday of Frank Hall of King Street. He will be 94.
    Mr. Hall is an ex Army man, he was part of the Military units that brought order to the country during the riots of 1937. He was a Vickers Machine Gun specialist. Even at his age he is great shape. His brain is as sharp as a tack . If you want informatation about Barbados from a first person persecptive from the 30’s, 40’s, 50″ etc.this is the man to talk to. You will be amaze at what he knows.

Also of note he is one of three of the oldest last remaining St. Leonard’s School old Scholars. He went to school at St. Leonards School when it was located in Baxters Road next to Green Park Lane.

Happy Birthday Mr. Hall!

16. Dr. George Belle recently suggested – and most amusingly – in some sections of the media that Mr. Arthur – on becoming Opposition Leader of the Government in Parliament – would bring healing to the fractures and divisions in the BLP.

Nothing could be further from the truth, given some of the things that have been happening since his appointment as Opposition Leader, and since his becoming political leader of the BLP!!!!

That Dr. Belle has massively failed to diagnose for public consumption what a first year political science student on the Hill would have diagnose, that the new Opposition Leader Mr. Arthur would bring further fractures and divisions within the BLP, is staggering and shows that some media people must rely less and less on people like Dr. Belle for valid sound political analyses on certain political goings on in this country .

The dismissal of those two Senators and the manner in which they were done so do show again too the contempt and disregard Mr. Arthur has for certain people within his own party.

Surely, it is time Ms. Mia Mottley, Ms. Liz Thompson, Mr. Arthur Holder and co realize that another serious party is needed in this country.

And do the honourable thing and go and form their own party.

17. It would be nice if the DLP would stop focussing on the woes within the BLP and get their house in order. Everything the BLP IS GOING THROUGH NOW< THE DLP went through during the tug-o-war between Thompson and Mascoll, yet the party was able to come out of itr and win the last general election, because the voters rejected the BLP. Now it is the DLP's turn not to let the same thing happen to them. Everyone knows that there are signs of cracks in the DLP, what they should concentrate on right now is mending those cracks as big matured individuals and unite if they truly want to carry on the legacy of David Thompson. As I've always said Owen and theBLP are waiting for that little opening in the door to rush on in. The DLP's object is to keep the door shut in their faces.

18. @Bajan Panday

I respectfully disagree with your point that the DLP should wait for the cracks in the BLP to widen before calling an election. The situation within the BLP cannot possibly get worse and can only get better for them politically. The people of Barbados today have a clear choice that the international economy and the American push for the second tranch of the bail-out might only further muddy.

I cannot see the Mottley faction and the Arthur faction coming together as one on the same election platform in January. The same would not be true by September next year. A week, as they say, is a long time in politics. The goodwill that the memory of David Thompson is currently giving the DLP might not last through the summer as a potent force for voters. Remember how Bree St. John waited for 1986 instead of calling for an election in 1985 and what the outcome was? I think that it is in the DLP’s best interest to call a general election at the same time that the bye-election in St. John is due. Mesh the two together. Strike while the iron’s hot. Give yourself 5 tears for the economy to turn around, rather than 18 months (deducting canvassing time) for the BLP to possibly get a foothold and once again benefit from the outcome of the programmes of the DLP. Strike while your enemy is weakest. Don’t allow the snake to grow another head. And don’t give the snakes behind you the time to foster dangerous alliances.
    Strike!

19. Fair and Balance Avatar

Wut loss Bajan Panday call Kerry Simmons a woman beater and he is a supporter of Mia. How ironic.
    But then again I don’t think he is a BLP or Mia supporter. He is beginning to sound more like wishing in vain who now has to shift gear with the change in opposition leader. You thought you had it easy with Mia in charge but now have to deal with a political animal like OSA who for the first 10 years in office almost destroy the DLP

20. There are often many valid reasons for calling a snap general election; but one of them is “not” a luxury for self aggrandizement, or for Prime Minister Stuart to put his stamp on this administration.

Proper governance is about country, not the individual.

The Government has a substantial working majority, sufficient to carry out its manifesto programme. Particularly the very important Prevention of Corruption Legislation, which is at the cornerstone of its election promises. . . that is unfinished business.

The by-election in St. John has to be called, that is a natural occurrence.

The electorate of St. John, have become accustomed to a “political heavyweight” of the DLP representing them. The person thus selected should be capable of securing a ministerial position, or being Prime Minister, should not be beyond their intellectual powers.

In return for such a seat, in the harsh times in opposition as well as success in government; they will be expected to care for the constituency in political terms, but even as important is a seemingly umbilical bond to its people. An order of some magnitude, for even a “political heavyweight’s,” actions will be compared with their predecessors.. . high expectations indeed.

Prime Minister Stuart do not give away the “certainty” of Government on the “fickle expectation” and I repeat expectation, of acquiring what you already have.

21. Yardbroom
    This is exactly what I’ve been saying, the DLP has to chose very carefully the person who will represent St.John. Yes, that person will win the by-elections but it is how the person interact will the constituence that will be the critical matter that individual faces; if the people of St.John loses confidence in their representative, this would leave the door open for the BLP to introduce a homeborn candidate who will be a serious challenger to the incumbent.

22. @ Scout
    You even had the foresight to see a scenario much further ahead than I did. . . very good judgement indeed.

23. Freundel Stuart has no personal financial advantage to lose by calling a snap general election but the DLP has much to gain, imho.
    A Barbados Prime Minister has to occupy that office for only one day to qualify for a full prime ministerial pension. However, I am not certain of the pension rights of other MP’s, especially the new ones, if an election is called before the normal five year term is up but I think that it was changed to allow for those parliamentarions that were disadvantaged by Sandiford being forced into a snap election in the nineties to retain their pension rights. Perhaps one of the politicians or their proxies who post here could clarify.

Yardbroom has made a number of good points to counter those advanced for an early snap election. Let us examine them:-

“Proper governance is about country, not the individual”.

It can be argued that calling a snap election is in the best interests of the country since it will most likely give the Government the time it needs to get the economy back up on its feet, untrammeled by outmoded ideas (CLICO anyone?). A feat that is not quite certain if it only has 2 more years in office.

“The Government has a substantial working majority, sufficient to carry out its manifesto programme. Particularly the very important Prevention of Corruption Legislation, which is at the cornerstone of its election promises. . . that is unfinished business”

I would be very surprised if a snap election would not result in a greater advantage to the DLP given the disarray in the BLP at this time. Most of us who contribute to this blog agree that the Prevention of Corruption Act is of extreme importance, but is this necessarily also true for the majority of the population, especially if such population considers that they might be suffering seriously by other policies put in place by the Government? It might be sufficient to table the Act and, on winning a new mandate, to have it passed within the first 60 days of the new administration.

“The by-election in St. John has to be called, that is a natural occurrence”.

What is so natural about it? Is there any real impediment, legal or otherwise, to the election in St John being called as a very important sympathy-producing part of a general election?

“The electorate of St. John, have become accustomed to a “political heavyweight” of the DLP representing them. The person thus selected should be capable of securing a ministerial position, or being Prime Minister should not be beyond their intellectual powers.”

There should be no difference in running a political heavyweight in St John in either a bye-election or a general election. In your last sentence above are you intimating that a Freundel Stuart or a Chris Sinckler would be a good choice for a candidate for St John in the bye -election?

24. Far as I remember to collect the pension the mp must serve two terms whether they where full or not.

25. Hi checkit-out
    In making an important decision, one must consider the consequences of success as well as failure; surely an election victory for the DLP cannot be considered a “certainty.”

If they are successful, it is possible that they could be returned, but with a reduced majority, or even the same majority they have now. What would be gained? only approximately a full term of five years, reduced by approx two years which they would have had without a snap election.

In essence they would be sacrificing Government, something they did not have for 14 years in the wilderness, for just a miserly 3 years.

It would be madness, because those who are advocating an election now, are doing so on the basis of “certainty of victory”. General elections are never certain, unless there is a military dictatorship.

If the DLP give away this opportunity to govern, those whose decision it is, will be forever covered in ignominy.

You wrote, quote: “I would be surprised if a snap election would not result in a greater advantage to the DLP given the disarray in the BLP at this time.”
    All it would take to counter that, is for Mia and Arthur to be seen on the same platform, saying we had some difficulties “but we is family” that difficulty you see, will be blown away.

Impossible!

Who would have thought George Payne and Owen Arthur would be very close buddies, as they are now. . . that is politics my friend.

I am not as sure as you are, that having said about 100 days to make moves for The Prevention of Corruption Legislation before the last election. They could return to the country asking them to wait again, having called a snap election. . . that is a recipe for disaster.

The election in St. John “Is natural” in the sense that it will happen with or without a snap election, as it would have happened if David Thompson was Prime Minister, or any other MP who had passed away during his time in parliament.

I will not be drawn “now” on my preferred candidate for St John, as sometimes you can do more harm to a candidate, by advocating their case at the “wrong time”, than by staying silent.

26. cARSON c.
    A happy birthday to you. May you live as long as you want but don’t want as long as you live. Cheers ma brotha. Drink one fa me pun de rox.

Bush
    No need ta get jellus baby-babes. dere’s enuff ta ga ‘rong. I still wanna pat you lil dog n gih he a lil kiss pun he lil head.

Amused
    anytime you mix Bonny n anyting wid alcohol, you lookin fa rale troubl. I tawt you did learn you lesson wid dat de secun nite we meet pun my convertible. Ya faget areddy nah?Huhhh.

Expatriate
    psttttttttttt, I is one a you secret-admirars. shhhhhhhhhhhhh, cannn leh Negroman hare. ya brite anuff.

27. Yardbroom; I just wrote a long reply to your post above and it just vanished.

This is just a relatively short reply as I can’t remember what I wrote earlier.

I think that the arguments for not having a snap election cannot withstand intense scrutiny. They are short sighted and will most likely result in a return to the political wilderness by the DLP in 2012 or 2013.

I have no axe to grind in this matter except that I think that the Country would be better served in the next two years and beyond by an administration which can get down to business on our economy without the albatross of CLICO around its neck. I think that the current Stuart administration may be too timid and too careful to do anything that might reflect badly on the Thomson “legacy”. However, if Stuart gets a new mandate he and his team might be willing to really put Barbados first and move us forward while excoriating CLICO and the mess surrounding it.

I do not think that the current BLP party is capable of leading the country out of the situation it is now in and under Owen’s leadership would have to withstand arguments that might show some culpability (but significantly less than David Thompson’s) in the whole CLICO mess. The BLP probably would have been so capable if Mia were still opposition leader. However, I think that two years of continued DLP rule and possible missteps will allow for an adequate healing and rebuilding process in the BLP which will likely give rise to a new BLP that would have an excellent chance to oust the DLP after only 5 years in office presiding over a badly battered economy.

With no snap election, I think it is likely that the DLP will have just 5 years in power. With a snap election, called within the next two or so weeks, I think it is quite likely that they will have 3 plus 5 years plus perhaps another term.

Is there any certainty in all the above? Of course not! I have been wrong several times before.

28. Hi checkit-out
    You have made a very persuasively reasoned case, and it certainly is not without merit.

However, one of my grounds against a snap election is that there is liable to be a perception – and I know that is not the intention – that there is a lack of confidence in this administration, so they are going to the country when they believe the going is good, due to the circumstances of Mr. David Thompson’s death. . . it shows “weakness and a lack of self-belief.” If you do not have confidence in yourself, what message does that send to the electorate.

The CLICO issue is complex, in that true diligence was not shown in the early years, therefore no “one” administration can take all the blame. It then comes to degree of blame, it will not play as important a part in the election, as some believe, because of its complexity.

You speak of Stuart getting “a new mandate,” there is no reason for a new mandate. He has one now constitutionally backed, with the full support of the DLP’s parliamentary members. His only function now is to govern the country; instead of inducing uncertainty in Barbados, which is always the case prior, during and after an election.

Barbados cannot afford that “dithering”.

Another persuasive reason for not having a snap election, is that it gives Prime Minister Stuart the opportunity to show political “leadership” qualities, before the election due in 2013. If a snap election is called now it can be said he has not been tested in that position of leadership. .. . that will work against him.

29. Hi Yardbroom
    You have some good arguments above, but taken in their totality, I do not think they rise to an adequate defence of a probable Stuart failure to take advantage of the current fortuitous situation with the current split BLP.

30. @Yardbroom

In the game of politics one has the play the hand dealt. Your points are sound. There is a heavy suspicion on our part that this would have been discussed with Thompson/Henry as far as succession planning/strategy is concerned. The last piece of the puzzle with Arthur taking charge of the opposition would have been missing but Henry would have anticipated such.

Stuart has a strategy if one can judge by his public posture and nature and he is not the kind of man to be hasty in his deliberation and decision making. Rest assured when Stuart makes a decision all angles would have been considered. It is the nature of the man. He already enjoys tremendous goodwill from Barbadians, three variables in the equation are the economy, deliverables which were promised (FOI, IL, etc) and internal leadership issues. He need to ensure at least 2 are in his favour to remove and foothold Arthur will use to create leverage. Bear in mind there is a heavy suspicion of corruption and misspending by the last administration, it is something Stuart will have to be perceived as delivering on or his government will lose credibility at the expense of the BLP. What could seal the win for Stuart is Mia Mottley and her cohorts.

31. @ David
    It might seem a silly thing to say but: Mia Mottley is now the “king maker”.

If she decides to be as hostile to Arthur, as he was to her, he is finished. With well chosen words, properly delivered, at the right time, he is finished.

Will she? I do not know. He has now played all his aces. . . Mia has a full hand.

32. @ David | November 10, 2010 at 7:16 AM |

OWEN ARTHUR SEEKS TO GET REVENGE ON A DEAD PRIME MINISTER WHO EXPOSED HIS (ARTHUYR’S) CORRUPTION

You know that Hartley Henry must be smiling, given the turn of event. He is probaly thinking that this will be an even easier general elction for him to win now, that that of 2008.

Surely Mr. Stuart too is reminded of the T&T last election where Panday and Dookeran spit the indian vote and Manning won by default. Except in this case the DLP deserves to win because it has been honest with the people. Voodoo economics will not save Barbados. That rules out Arthur.

The BLP is now split with no chance of healing. In my view, all Mia Mottley has to do is win her seat. Owen Arthur is so bitter and angry that he lost the 2008 election to David Thompson, Owen Arthur is so bitter that PM Thompson made him out as the man who put campaign contributions into his personal bank account (unknown to anybody in his party) he is so bitter that after 14 years he does not have a legacy by having served only 2 1/2 years as PM, Thompson has one – that even when asked to pay a tribute yeaterday – he (a bitter and broken Owen Arthur) attempted to wrestle with Thompson, who is at peace in his grave.

That confirmed why of 75 sittings of the House to date (Based on BU post) Owen Arthur has attended about nine, based on what is being said in drawing room talk.

Yesterday’s fiasco shows that it is not the Lower House that is “poor raker” but Owen Arthur. It explains why he called a media conference on the morning that PM Thompson died. Was Arthur signalling his arrival to take over?

Owen Arthur is such a broken man: tired, bitter, irrelavant with nothing new to add, that’s why he has asked Mascoll to be the lead on economics for the party.

However, it must be noted that Mascoll, Owen Arthur, Tyrone Barker , are said to be directors of a company doing work within the region. They thinking seem to be that once the BLP wins (which is impossible) Arthur’s private company of which those mentioned are directors – may get a fat contract from the State. Study yourself and see what is happening.

That’s why PM Stuart must hurry with the Prevention of Corruption Act. Arthur want an election before it is passed. That’s why he wants elections now.

Owen Arthur is angry and is a loose cannon. Already Barbadians are seeing his politics of spike and he ain’t win nothing yet. Owen Arthur could not handle Thompson when the PM was alive so he now seeks to get revenge on a dead man.

This is the very worst of the dark side of the BLP which Owen leads. In contrast, Mia Mottley half of the BLP: Rawle Eastman and Cynthia Forde were dignified and respectful in the debate. That is the contrast.

How could there every be healing between Arthur’s power- hungry-faction of the BLP and Mia Mottley’s half that want to serve and rid the BLP of the corruption that PM Thompson exposed and the nation newspaper highlighted again yerterday as regards, the election rigging, electoral fraud, hence, organised crime and corruption?

33. […] Anticipating Owen Arthur’s Address To The 72nd Annual Conference DLP Style […]