46 responses to “Economic Review For The First Nine Months Of 2010 – Barbados Battling To Stay On Course”

1. Why is our consumption bill rising in a recession?

2. @David,
    “Why is our consumption bill rising in a recession?”

You is a Bajan David? Guh in de market or Chefette an yuh gine see.

3. @Hants

We have discussed it all before. We have an economy which is overly dependent on the distributive sector and little focus on foreign exchange generation. We welcome Arthur back who has done little if anything since his defeat at the polls to signal a vision that is relevant to the times.

Our people continue with the old behaviours.

4. @ David
    Who would you support? …and what would/could/should they do?
    Six is half dozen, and not one of them have the faintest idea of how to go about dealing with the crisis facing us…… many do not even see the imminent danger…
    Thus you have experts dismissing the idea of food security through self sufficiency..

5. I wish to congratulate the government for battling with the economy in their own quiet way and seeing some results that do not square well with the naysayers and doom and gloom experts that support the BLP.
    Today the economist the former BLP senator called getting down to brass tacks and in trying to castigate the government of doing nothing for the economy foolishly started to give a true picture of the world’s leading economies and the trouble they were experiencing like Britain laying off 17000 arm force personnel.
    Mr. Economist Barbados will not recover with our service industry economy unless those countries that you recognized that are in trouble and we depend on recover. What is so hard for you gloom and doomers to understand

6. @ David
    The Bushman suspects that panic is beginning to set in among those who are privy to the facts…. it really is not a pleasant scenario. The BLP parliamentarians (and any really objective observer) knows that MAM is just a talking head.
    Leadership is not about talking pretty.
    Leadership is about vision and being able to INFLUENCE others to positive action.
    Mia is just a forced ripe rich girl from a family background that has convinced her that she is ‘born to be a boss’

She could not even influence 5 opposition ‘losers’ to desist from splitting the party.

BTW
    Noticed today that NO ONE will be charged with burning down Glendairy Prison? BT is not surprised.
    That place burnt down when the whole BDF, half of the RBPF, and Mia were on site with guns drawn….
    …and wanna believe that 4 half starved prisoners with no access to matches or gasoline burnt down the whole place…?
    stupppppssssssss!!
    …..mussie think BT born yesterday!!

NOTHING that MaM has done demonstrates any kind of leadership qualities….. so the fellows panic and gone back to Owing.

Now, Owing got balls. ….no denying. But he wrong on CSME and he also got plenty baggage, and too many questions to answer. Owen will NEVER survive in a BU environment where everything is in the public domain. Also he never conquered his ‘fear of poverty’, and would thus be easy prey for ‘large cheques’.

The DLP is not much better. Thompson had good intentions, but seems to have misjudged the urgency to force change. (which is incredibly difficult to do- and keep lots of friends. )
    His illness obviously has been a major blow.

As you know, my third favorite politician of all, is my man Dr. ‘Quick Draw McEstwick’,( who is not afraid to force change…) but any time he becomes prime minister the bushie going underground….. LOL

Truth is that we are like a 40 year-old alcoholic spending our small salary on rum, and trying to figure how to turn our life around. ……. a matter that should have been dealt with back in our school days…..
    …the reality is that now we need Alcoholics Anonymous.

7. @ charlie
    You are obviously correct.
    There can be no question that Barbados is an extremely lucky (blessed?) place. We continue to do MUCH better than we should by any kind of measure.

No one has ever been able to truly explain our relative economic, political, social, educational successes.

If you are honest, you will be hard pressed to identify any specific conceptual, policy or administrative initiatives from any government that explains our luck.

Question is; how prepared are us for the time when this luck (blessings?) ends?
    LOL…
    BT seems to recall a story of 10 virgins; 5 wise and 5 Bajans….

8. Christ Bush Tea for God’s sake (wow that felt seriously good)

Reflect on the fact that Barbados is traditionally considered Little England. Do you not think that there is a reason for White People being allowed the liberties that they have enjoyed for time immemorial? No luck no God, just a few White Barbadians playing their part in understanding the true British connect thingy. (This of course cannot be sustainable)

9. David do you not think that there should soon be a time to consider and discuss the ongoing White Barbadian Separatist Movement?

Do participants from this clan not know that they represent the true lifeblood providers of this fair land?

Mugabe should I not be supporting you instead…!

10. It is amazing to listen to Bajans calling in to the shows expressing amazement at a 10% unemployment rate when the external markets which we depend on are all experiencing contracting economies.

11. @Bush Tea | October 19, 2010 at 10:15 PM | @ charlie
    “You are obviously correct.
    There can be no question that Barbados is an extremely lucky (blessed?) place. We continue to do MUCH better than we should by any kind of measure.

No one has ever been able to truly explain our relative economic, political, social, educational successes.

If you are honest, you will be hard pressed to identify any specific conceptual, policy or administrative initiatives from any government that explains our luck.

Question is; how prepared are us for the time when this luck (blessings?) ends?
    LOL…
    BT seems to recall a story of 10 virgins; 5 wise and 5 Bajans….”

Man, Bushie, you posting so fast that I didn’t know which comment to reply to, but I’m going to stick my two cents on the bottom of your last, like the old people used to stick a piece of paper on the baby’s forehead when he had hiccups. I hope that you don’t find it too cold.

I really have to agree with you that we have gotten by so far, largely with a bit of “British” luck, but the Brits luck looks like it has run out as they are doing worse that we are. No wonder we aren’t getting the Rum Louts, as King Dyall used to call them, in the same numbers as before!

As to what we can do if history tells us that luck has been the main element in our previous “success”, this is a serious analytical problem. I recall having a chat with Dr. DW, sometime during the second half of 1993, after I had returned from my sabbatical at the University of Kentucky (I went there to see the bluebirds, and to fool people when I told them I was in the UK), and we agreed that we seemed to have saved the BD $2 = US $1 exchange rate even though our reserves went down to two weeks import cover, more by luck than by contrivance. That may be one reason why the Governor of the CBB seems quite relaxed, at the moment. But Delisle has always been a cool cat – the kind of person you would wish to have flying the plane as ground impact looms ever nearer (my God to thee)!

To continue my analogy of the plane in a nose dive, we must realise that we are flying by wire these days (the latest technology), and that pulling out the stops won’t work. Maybe our best approach is to keep circling till the clouds clear.

What do you think?

12. @ Doc Reid

Man cud dear, The bushman introduce the analogy of a big boat (SS Titanic Bim) to explain the current situation and you now gone and update the analogy to a plane?
    ….. But George, at least boats take a while to sink…..some people could swim for a while…. boats have lifeboats…… and a passing ship may be able to pick up some people…. Planes tend to have serious endings when they go out of control.
    …..problem is that you know MUCH more about this than a lil foolish bushman.

…. still waiting for one of the political Gurus to tell us exactly what a PROPER set of politicians could/should/would do for us now…

13. All of the economists or people of that training seem to have gone underground. Suppose the uniqueness of the times beginning to defy all economic theory.

14. The BLP RAN THIS COUNTRY WELL
    BRINGING BARBADOS FROM THE DEPTHS OF DESPAIR IN 1994.

JOBS NO1 WAS JOBS
    and unemployment was brought down to 6 % BY THE BLP even with imported labour.

IS BARBADOS BETTER OFF NOW THAN PRE 2008 ?

HAS THE COST OF LIVING GONE UP OR DOWN.

HAVE THE FOREIGN RESERVES GONE UP OR DOWN ?
    None of wunna DLP sympathisers /Owen Bashers cannot be comfortable answering these questions so go ahead and attack me -the person me
    KISSMYA’I LOVE OWEN SEYMOUR ARTHUR’ MCCLEAN

15. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar
    Perlixin Pearlie

Wuhloss. Ongrateful Bajans should ask demself why today is “Axe Wensdee”, and then they might be lil mo thankful fuh small mercies and stop criticising de guvmumt suh onfairly.

Wuhloss! Even de Queen getting a pay cut!

Anyhow, I gine hey and juck-out dese two clothes, and keep minding my business, soul.

16. KISS MIA
    During the boom years of the world Owen Arthur looked like a rose. Tourists were coming; foreign direct investments were coming from all of those Ponzi schemes around the world. Things started to tighten in his last five years as these things started to dry up. He started to get aggressive calling people names, putting the media under real pressure if his name was mentioned in anything funny.
    The economy started to falter. He brought in all and sundry from across the Caribbean especially Guyanese and the social services came under tremendous pressure and the living standards dropped because people stated renting out pig pens.
    The people spoke loudly and voted him out because they did not see any magic in him. They saw a Prime Minister taking a cheque for $75000 and putting it in his account. They had loss trust in him.
    As an educated Barbadian go check this site to see the unemployment figures for the develop countries.
    http://www.visualeconomics.com/unemployment-rates-around-the-world/
    Make a comparison to Barbados and see if you are honest.

17. Charlie!
    Cut the Crap
    Answer the questions:
    ANSWER THE QUESTIONS
    JOBS NO1 WAS JOBS

HAS THE COST OF LIVING GONE UP OR DOWN ?

HAVE THE FOREIGN RESERVES GONE UP OR DOWN ?
    (I too love these questions though ! KISSMYA –YOU ARE A BOSS-I LOVE YOU KISSMYA)

Owen Arthur is not a saint , an angel nor a God
    He is good at what he does and has done.
    Credit the man for what he is capable of doing and has done . It is why the people, the moneyed and the un-moneyed, want him back. If you want a perfect human being -well go find him/her.

The Right Excellent Errol Walton Barrow , Tom Adams , John ,F. Kennedy, Mahatma Ghandi, The Dali Lama, Martin Luther King -(all PERFECT HUMAN BEINGS ???)-
    Get real !

18. I would like to know what Owen Seymour Arthur do Harold Hoyte

That is what I would like to know !

19. [Reflect on the fact that Barbados is traditionally considered Little England.]

[we have gotten by so far, largely with a bit of “British” luck, but the Brits luck looks like it has run out as they are doing worse that we are.]

BY ALISTAIR MACDONALD AND LAURENCE NORMAN
    LONDON—In a gambit to tackle its record debt, the U.K. government detailed sweeping spending cuts Wednesday, announcing double-digit budget reductions for everyone from the police to welfare recipients and the Queen.

Treasury chief George Osborne stuck to a previously announced timetable for paring back the budget deficit of £155 billion ($243.37 billion) through a £113 billion fiscal tightening over the next five years, including £83 billion in spending cuts. The steep cuts are a gamble that weaning the U.K. off robust public spending will reinvigorate the private sector without undercutting the country’s sluggish recovery from the recession and the global economy.

—————————————–
    [I would like to know what Owen Seymour Arthur do Harold Hoyte ]

He call de man a negrocrat, you fuhget uhready?

—————————————————-

Why is it that Mia not being a trained economist justifies Owen’s return? That Barbados would be better led by a so called trained economist in Owen Arthur who only has a B.Sc in economics, from UWI, but the economic opinions of the Govenor of the Central bank who also has B.Sc in economics from UWI and a PhD in the same subject from renowned Canadian McGill UNI does not weight has heavily??????

20. ————————–ARIAN HINDS !!!
    Owen Arthur who only has a B.Sc in economics, from UWI, but the economic opinions of the Govenor of the Central bank who also has B.Sc in economics from UWI and a PhD
    ——————-
    check your facts AGAIN !!!
    —————-
    I WANT TO KNOW WHA’ OWEN ARTHUR DO DR DON MARSHALL
    and PETER WICKHAM ?
    ——————
    Why Owen called Hoyte a negrocrat ?
    Why these DLP Sympathisers now supporting Mia.
    Dr. Don on the radio now talking shite about male chauvinisism-Ho w dare you Dr.Don ????

21. The Governor is saying tourism should pick up, Colin Jordan of the BHTA is not so optimistic. Why the different positions.

22. Barbados like many other islands have been juped into believeing tourism was going to be the be all and end all of all the islands economic worries, when all you get with tourism is perverts and crooks who have stolen from black people around the world already – and they do the same thing on our island, they are called expats and they usually have a nato base to run to if they foul up. Most are pedophiles be warned!!

23. isis – you are the one to be warned, since you clearly think like a 5 year-old! Indeed, if we had a NATO base here, we would never have any economic worries.

24. Anonymous Numero Uno Avatar
    Anonymous Numero Uno

@Charlie
    “They saw a Prime Minister taking a cheque for $75000 and putting it in his account. They had loss trust in him.”
    —————————————————-
    Now Charlie, you, Bajan Panday, and Hants are irking me with your repeated references to $75,000.00. I am therefore posting below for your attention, some comments and questions I posed to Panday in another discussion thread, and to which none of you have responded :-

Anonymous Numero Uno | October 18, 2010 at 9:41 AM | @Bajan Panday
    “Anonymous Numero Uno | October 17, 2010 at 12:40 AM | Panday, what is the size of the cheque from CLICO to THOMPSON? OWEN has already explained what happened to the $75,000 campaign contribution, so don’t keep lingering on it.
    HOW MUCH DID THOMPSON GET? $10,000,000.00? MORE THAN THAT? If Owen received a measley $75,000.00, how much you believe Thompson received?”

Hi Miss Panday, you never seem to answer my questions. You keep talking about $75,000.00, and I am still waiting for your reply to my question above. Can you contact George Street and supply Barbadians with some info? Mrs. Bissessar in T&T reported that the oppostion party there, while in Government received multi-millions of dollars from CLICO.

You are suggesting that the coming Integrity legislation should adress the $75,000.00. What about the multi-millions of CLICO’S money that MUST HAVE GONE to Thompson and the DEMS? At least we know that some time ago, Owen either tore up or returned to the man “at the hellum” a large CLICO cheque. Did Thompson return any any of the amount he received?

Come on Panday, I want to hear from you on this particular matter.”

And I may add….No wonder the poor old age pensioners at BARP can’t get their money out of CLICO! Did it all go into the DEMS election campaign?

25. KISSMIA
    You are behaving very infantile .Having a discussion with you is futile.
    Here are some stats on unemployment across the developed world now. France 8.8%, Canada 8.4, USA 9.5, Germany 8.3, Ireland 11.8, Spain 18.9.

You and many more Barbadians do want to hear the truth about Owen Arthur. He has not left any legacy. This second defeat will give you a stroke.
    You are going to ask what Owen do Mia just now.

26. Anonymous Numero Uno Avatar
    Anonymous Numero Uno

It is real strange when you hear a discredited “double crosser” like Hammie La, saying he “feeling sorry” for Mia and talking about an orchestrated move against her.

What is more orchestrated than all these crocodile tears being presently shed by DLP DEMONS like Hammie La , who said the worst things about MIA during the last election campaign.

AND does anyone remember when Hammie La , during his most recent circus when he effected yet another crossing, launched a subtle, but vicious attack on Mia’s character and morality, saying that he could not serve under such a person.

Hammie La, my advice to you as the Man of God you say you are [although I can’t see the linkages between Rastafarianism and Seventh Day Adventism……2 different gods.. No?] really thank THE REAL GOD for saving your life in that horrible accident, and put a stop to the nasty malicious lying behaviour. YOU AIN’T SORRY ONE BIT ABOUT MIA! YOU are simply a part of orchestration of FALSE DECEPTIVE SUPPORT for Mia, and I am sure she recognises it!

27. Alright KissyuhA2s he has an MSc in economics (1974), however my comparison and point still stands.

28. @Anonymous Numero Uno,
    When was the last time you read anything I wrote about Owin and a $75,000 cheque?

The only reason I ever mentioned that $75,000 cheque is because I heard Owen say he received the cheque. If he didn’t and he said so just mekkin sport so be it.

Just so you know I did listening to vob and cbc radio stations from de time dey went online.

29. Anonymous Numero Uno Avatar
    Anonymous Numero Uno

“The only reason I ever mentioned that $75,000 cheque is because I heard Owen say he received the cheque. If he didn’t and he said so just mekkin sport so be it.”
    ———————————
    Hants, Hants, Hants, (I hear you live in Canada?) I want you to know that I am speaking to you, to Bajan Panday, and to Charlie from the point of view that you three form a Triumvarate putting out lies and ennuendo from the lie factory in George Street.

Your response on October 20, 2010 at 6:17 PM is very poor-rakey! Get the info from Hartley Henry……[even call Thompson at home because Dr.Ishmael says he can still function despite his illness] and let the public know (that’s biased, number one, DLP TALK SHOW HOST Tony Marshall’s favorite phrase..LET THE PUBLIC KNOW) about the multi-millions of CLICO DOLLARS that were passed to the DLP for the election campaign. Demonstrate that your party the DEMS, are serious when they speak of transparency and accountability, and get off Arthur’s back man. Are you a clone of Peter Wickham?

This hypocritical behaviour is staggering! All three of you continue to imply by your mouthings that the DLP NEVER received anything from CLICO! How could they not, when everybody knew that LEROY and SWEET CAKES were in bed together for years! The private jet trips and shopping in Miami were only the fringe benefits, and we don’t necessarily need confirmation on those. WE NEED TO KNOW ABOUT THE MULTI-MILLIONS OF CAMPAIGN FUNDS, that helped to pay for those expensive, but lying daily full-page ads, and those giant ILLEGAL BILL BOARDS plastered all over the country.

30. Anonymous Numero Uno Avatar
    Anonymous Numero Uno

I meant TRIUMVIRATE Hants, not triumvarate……… Yes, a group of three, each holding from a DLP point-of-view, the esteemed office of professional LIAR cum HYPOCRITE!

31. @Numero Uno

What you are addressing is the need for campaign financing legislation. To some extent this matter will be addressed in the Anti-corruption prevention Bill 2010 which had is first reading in the lower house this week.

The matter of the $75,000 cheque was made public and it turned out the money was deposited to Arthur’s personal account. Can you prove such a thing regarding Thompson? Let us separate the issues even though most people in the know understand politicians routinely deposit donations to their personal accounts.

32. You know, people in Barbados amaze me. Imagine the people in France kicking up pist about the additional 2 years they have to work.

The pension went from 65 to 67 not a boy aint say a word.

Is this a form of docility, ignorance or perhaps not givng a shit?

33. @BU David,

at the Haggatt Hall meeting during the 2008 election campaign, Mr Thompson explicitly acknowledged that the DLP had received money from unstated sources. He did not indicate the amount of money given to the party nor the benefactors. He did make the point that these benefactors to the DLP could see how effectively the money was used whereas those giving money to the BLP may have questions. However, his more telling point was his excoriation of Mr Arthur as a Minister of Finance with regulatory oversight of financial institutions, to wit banks, receiving money from the CEO of a bank. Mr Thompson even declared that he would never put himself in such a situation should he become the Minister of Finance. Subsequent events re CLICO has shown this to be another empty promise along with others such as the reduction in the cost of living, the facilitation of inter-island shipping and trade, the passing of the agriculture land protection act, provision of better remuneration for Police Officers, introduction of integrity legislation and much of the manifesto titled “Pathways to progress.”.

34. Anonymous Numero Uno Avatar
    Anonymous Numero Uno

Don’t make me laugh PING PONG! It’s all CLICO. At the time of the donations, the Bank in question CCB, was MAJORITY OWNED BY GUESS WHO? CLICO!
    Thompson must not think he can hide behind stupid semantics.
    David, I agree there is need for need for campaign financing legislation. Mia Mottley articulated that in fine fashion, but I maintain that even though there have been NO detailed disclosures so far of the amount of money given to the DEMS and Thompson by CLICO, the DLP must not think they can fool Barbadians that Owen Arthur and the BLP received this drop in the bucket, while they (the Dems) are oh so pure and holy and would not take a cent from CLICO, WHETHER IT CAME DIRECTLY FROM THE BANK, or FROM THE HANDS OF LEROY “THE BUFFOON” HIMSELF.

Thompson. the DLP, and Sweet Leroy have been LONG TIME LOVERS, so whom do you think would be the beneficiaries of the best gifts……the multi-million dollar ones? But it seems to me that that whole CLICO KINDRED is under some kind of severe judgment!

The business gone through the eddoes, Duprey laid low with bad health, large amounts of money appear to have been invested in Florida swampland?, BA Life Insurance insolvent, no money for BARP, no money to settle $300 million in annuities soon due, (DLP PROMISED TO SETTLE THIS? WE TAXPAYERS TO PAY?), and now on top of all that, SAM LORDS BURN DOWN? And don’t forget to check all of those lurid financial reports coming out of T&T.

Man everything gone wrong, and still going wrong!

35. These DLP shite hungs like Charlie does really make me laugh.

What quoting figures from places far removed from Barbados got to do with any thing in Barbados,
    Who you think you could FOOL with that stupid
    argument
    Man cah yuh cunt do
    I could quote certain figures from those places too but I will not beacuse it is crap. There is no comparision
    Man cah yuh cunt do !

36. I AGREE WITH NUMERO UNO

TOTALLY AGREE
    ABSOLUTELY
    ———
    Hants, Charlie et al—DLP JOKERS-

we will await the next election.
    DLP has already conceded defeat
    MAN they so frighten for Owen
    cheez on bread !

37. KISSMIA
    I have promoted you to a FULL IDIOT because I had you as a halfa idiot.

38. Anonymous Numero Uno Avatar
    Anonymous Numero Uno

Dear Kiss, I appreciate your support, but I sure wish you would cut out the profanity. Those choice bajan cuss words really grate my ears and spirit.

Let’s do this in a better way.

39. @David | October 20, 2010 at 7:07 AM |
    “All of the economists or people of that training seem to have gone underground. Suppose the uniqueness of the times beginning to defy all economic theory.”

You see why I like Dr. Delise! He is a solid technician who don’t try to fool the public that his economic analysis can conjure up magic potions or that he can use blue smoke and mirrors to waft the fiscal deficit away and usher in new growth to the bimmyconomy. Of course you will also understand why his candid approach to the problems of mini-conomies has not endeared him to the political leadership of both parties, and he has been bypassed for the job of Governor on far too many previous occasions because he refuses to “twist up he mout”.

You ask where the economists have gone (I think you mean the UWI Chill ones). I feel that they are in hiding because Delise explain that they don’t know what they want the public to think they know. In fact you could say: dey do’t no nuttin!”

You see how the man say that there is no magic in Owen! I have been trying to get Bajans to understand that for a long time, but, perhaps, they will listen to the GCBB.

Let me end by saying something that Dr, DW probably won’t say, and that is that Bajans have been trying to live too high on the hog for too long, but all that grease can make the hog back slippery, so any day now they can fall off. When that happens they will have to scrounge for sustenance like all the PIGS in Europe doing nowadays!

I gone fuh now!

40. Dr Reid
    I thank you for your candid analysis.
    Now I am very disturb that our educational system is not producing more rational and logical thinkers.
    I believe because of blind political loyalties and the fact that persons benefit from the public purse when their party is in power that they do not want to accept the truth that we have live above our means for a very long time.
    Dr.Worrell incurred the wrath of Clyde Mascoll today because he dared to say that Owen has no magical wand and he does not see why he has to consult with him.
    He is a real man to stand up for what he believes in. Not falling for this ignorance from some of the public that Owen is a genius.
    Clyde Mascoll will now have Owen back but he will feel the effects of Mia again as alleged in the last elections.

41. But George, you ought not to stop there. If the GCBB is as pragmatic as you claim and does not hesitate to tell it like it is, why doesn’t he tell the government one of the major ways of living high on the hog that should be curtailed is the 100% credit being given by car dealers on new and used vehicles, including the insurance, that is contributing to gridlock on the roads and more importantly, digging a pit in our foreign reserves at an alarming rate. Check how many cars are sold each month.

He, as a tell it like it is GCBB, ought to advise the government to impose an equity requirement on prospective purchasers, 30,40,50%, whatever is required to slow the inflow of vehicles and the outflow of foreign exchange. Salivating over the tax revenue generated is short sighted.

He ought also to tell the government that to allow Barbadians that to be able to go into Courts etc, walk out with the biggest TV, fridge or stove in the place without having a cent in their pocket and pay $5 a week is to facilitate their living high on the hog and some restrictions should be put in place by a prudent government that was concerned about its foreign exchange position in the face of greatly reduced inflows from FDI, tourism and remittances.

Is he waiting for the hog back to get so slippery that everybody, including the prudent and thrifty fall off into the doo doo in the pig pen?

42. charlie
    WHY dont you answer the questions

Charlie!
    Cut the Crap
    Answer the questions:
    ANSWER THE QUESTIONS
    JOBS NO1 WAS JOBS

HAS THE COST OF LIVING GONE UP OR DOWN ?

43. Charlie talks about political AND being partisan yet people of Charlie’s ilk fail to see any good in anybody who is not on their side OF THE FENCE
    What bovine excretement !
    Who do you think you are fooling ?

44. KISSMIA
    Let me answer your question about if Barbados is better off pre 2008 or now this way. I am living the same way. I support $10-15 cook shops the same .I sometimes have lunch on special occasions at hotels which is the same 15 dollar food for $60 but I spending some of my hard earn wages how I see fit because children spend it for you faster. I am living the same way and feel a lot better about the government now because they do not display the kind of arrogance that the last government did in their last five years.
    Unemployment is higher but all over the WORLD KISSMIA. Could you tell me the unemployment at the end of 2007?

45. should be somewhere inbetween 7.4 and 8.1 according to central bank pdf . ( they only take figures to june so those represent june for 2007 and 2008 respectively)

46. @Inkwell | October 22, 2010 at 10:04 AM |
    “But George, you ought not to stop there. If the GCBB is as pragmatic as you claim and does not hesitate to tell it like it is, why doesn’t he tell the government one of the major ways of living high on the hog that should be curtailed is the 100% credit being given by car dealers on new and used vehicles, including the insurance, that is contributing to gridlock on the roads and more importantly, digging a pit in our foreign reserves at an alarming rate. Check how many cars are sold each month.

He, as a tell it like it is GCBB, ought to advise the government to impose an equity requirement on prospective purchasers, 30,40,50%, whatever is required to slow the inflow of vehicles and the outflow of foreign exchange. Salivating over the tax revenue generated is short sighted.

He ought also to tell the government that to allow Barbadians that to be able to go into Courts etc, walk out with the biggest TV, fridge or stove in the place without having a cent in their pocket and pay $5 a week is to facilitate their living high on the hog and some restrictions should be put in place by a prudent government that was concerned about its foreign exchange position in the face of greatly reduced inflows from FDI, tourism and remittances.

Is he waiting for the hog back to get so slippery that everybody, including the prudent and thrifty fall off into the doo doo in the pig pen?”

Surely, you can recognise the difference between candour in one’s analysis and being a complete asshole? Your questions seem to suggest that you think that the problems of the Barbados economy can be solved by simply identifying an arbitrary list of consumption items and making it difficult to aquire them. I think that you should step back and decide that kind of economic system you wish to operate and what are the associated costs and benefits before you start swinging your “collins”.

I think what Dr. D would tell you is that economists can construct models that may assist them to identify the POSSIBLE results of particular courses of action, although they would prefer to be able to identify those results that are PROBABLE, but that they prefer to leave it to economopoliticos like Owen and Clydie to turn them into magic potions. It is one thing to be able to pull rabbits out of a hat, but it is another to be able to pull out a white one, rather than a black, on demand.