Today (11.10.2010) BU was advised via a Dashboard alert that WordPress (WP) had taken the decision to deactivate BU because of a violation of its Terms of Service or Advertising Policy. After querying WP’s action we received the following reply:

“Our apologies – the system should not have done that. We have removed the warning and we are very sorry for any concern it may have caused.”

BU apologises for any inconvenience caused to the family. Please continue to make your contribution in promoting free speech while at the same time acting responsibly – See Comments Policy.

14 responses to “Advisory”

1. Expecting this day to come. I dispatched a template email (written several months ago), to Automattic this morning.

They responded to me at 9:56am to let me know they can only discuss their reasons for so doing with the Blog Owner.

2. @Adrian

Thanks for all the support/concern we received via email and our FB Account (David’s), we truly appreciate it. At this point the most recent communication from WP is to ignore the WP initiated event that occurred this morning. We will have to give them the benefit of the doubt on this one.

3. I’m having problems clicking songs on BU can you check if then can be played please

4. David:

I suppose that the best that we can make of this episode it to conclude that “all’s well that ends well. However, I had been contemplating stting up my own blog (restricted to avoid having to deal with extraneous and useless comment) so I shall take you recent experience as a salutary warning!

5. Oh dear when I saw that warning my heart stopped ah did tink it was a hear attak on de way. I started to think about the many laffs and fun and irritation I got from BU. I thought I gine miss my Bonny Peppa believe it or not, I was gine to miss she. Bonny yuh hearing muh? Evin doa we does not always agree we does agree to disagree. Bonny we got to meet one day soon yuh hear? perhaps ova a few glasses of my jamoon wine and a few slices of fruit cake(ah does mek a wicked one) dis Christmas season. David yuh invited too so doa git vex. And David I hear yuh like creole food, ah does mek a wicked curry too suh ah might do one too. LONG LIVE BU!!!!!

6. islandgal
    girl, I like i comin down wid a fresh-cold or sahing cause all de grans got de cold n dem did coughing, spitting, farting all ova me dis weekend so I in saprise. might tek a break from BU fa a few days if i feel any worsa.

wah when I read de part bout deactivate BU my head start ta spin. I did jess gettin ready wid my colourful language but I read on a lil furtha.

Dem cannn touch BU ya. A boy would get hurtzzzzzzzzzz.

you is my girl too. and we cannn always agree but we agree pun mos’ tings. we can arrange ta meet sumtime. and i love great cake. Lawdddddddd, ah would eat piece now wid lil black green-tea.

7. @Bonny

Ah sorry to hear yuh aint feelin too gud, mek some lemon grass tea wid some honey and it will help yuh feel lil betta. Someting gine round ah hear. Tek gud care and ah gine see yuh when yuh feeling betta 🙁 ah too saddddd

8. It appears they are some who did not see this message yesterday.

It appears it provoked a ‘whole’ blog.

It appears we have to repost as a sticky for the benefit of some.

9. @Adrian. I saw the BFP thing. Blasted idiots – pathetic. Nothing from “No Balls” yet.

10. David @ BU

BU continues to makes waves…

There’s a silent group who sit in the shadows and are either “JEALOUS” or “IRATE” – either way, it is what it is!!!

It maybe time for – http://www.bu.org

11. To keep the BU family in the loop.

We have someone or thing who is using an anonymous host to post comments using the names of popular BU commenters.

That person then uses those comments to post elsewhere to suggest BU is promoting inappropriate speech.

The depths some people are willing to stoop. Good thing we live full in the knowledge that God does not like ugly and if that doesn’t work for you, good oft-times will trump wrong.

12. Hi David
    I was rather amazed to see a couple sentences I submitted yesterday were “awaiting moderation.” As I do not engage in malicious acts or use profanities. . . I was taken by surprise.

Thanks for your explanation of the situation, I was unaware of it.

13. @Yardie

The surprise was mutual.

Have you changed browsers recently?

If you have try using Firefox when posting on BU.

Sorry for the inconvenience.

Your comments going to mod is not as a result of any action on BU’s part.

14. @ David
    Yes I have, will see to it.
    Thanks