Submitted by Henderson Bovell

Opposition Leader Mia Mottley

It perhaps would have caused some to think of Charles Dickens (1859) novel – A Tale of Two Cities, which depicts the plight of the French peasantry demoralized by the French Aristocracy in the years leading up to the revolution. After all, the DLP (which does not know what it is doing or what to do) has also demoralized ordinary Barbadians as a result of its dangerous mismanagement of the Barbados economy and more direct – because of its high cost of living, burdensome taxes and its discriminatory family first and fatted calf doctrine.

On one hand you had David Thompson, acting in the interest of the DLP and with a serious fiscal crisis on the current account which was manufactured by his party – reshuffling his politically incompetent Cabinet for the 4th time in less than 3 years and hoping on this occasion for a different result while on the other hand – you had a compassionate Leader of the Opposition – acting in the national interest – taking fresh guard and outlining her vision and advancing a new politics and a new development path for the country.A Tale of Two Cities,’ you ask? – Video 1,2,3

Think about it! In the recent Nation Newspaper/Wickham Poll, Barbadians were concerned about the high Cost of living, Unemployment, the Economy and Crime. Reshuffling the same Cabinet 3 times before, did not help and doing so now (for a 4th time) certainly will not either. How will the recent reshuffle address the peoples’ concerns? Wasn’t Stuart Attorney General from day one (1)?

The fundamental principle remains: “the DLP does not know what to do or what it is doing.” That the DLP spent 14 years in Opposition but could not come up with sensible policies – wouldn’t it now be wishful thinking to expect that they could somehow come up with relevant policies in a few months, given that urgent action is needed now?

But it is clear that the DLP has two doctrines: ‘wait and see’ and: “do nothing and things will get better!” Meanwhile and by stealth, it has been implementing the recommendations of the last IMF Article 1V Consultation. It raised water rates by 60%, refused to adjust the land tax bands or rates, increased the price of fuel, and is now talking about a wage freeze and an increase in VAT.

In contrast, what Miss Mottley has been talking about is so people-centered and revolutionary that a Senior Editor of the Financial Times of London (of the world’s leading business news organisations – recognised internationally for its authority, integrity and accuracy) predicts that her address to the Chamber of Commerce and Industry, recently: will be seen over time as one of the more important post-independence speeches to be made by any political leader.”

At a time when the DLP is more interested in power and access to the fatted calf – even though its political incompetence is recognised by even die-hard dems, Mottley has raised an issue for public debate that should now dominate political discourse for sometime. It is a real answer to the economic mess we are in.” That is, if the BLP and the country are ready for “SERIOUS” politics and SERIOUS conversations.

234 responses to “A New Beginning With Mia – A Chance For Barbados”

1. ”consistent with her Mission for a safer, kinder, more gentle; production; caring and prosperous society for all”

Yeah. As in ‘men must learn how to tek a horn’.

Very kind, caring and productive.

2. Hendy Bovell,

Thanks so much for informing us of the Opposition Leader’s intentions.

Now, will you, as you seem so close to her, asj her to emphatically assert her intent and timeline to introduce Freedom of Information, Transparency, Acctountability and Corruption Legislation, as soon as possible and priority number ONE?

And by emphatically I mean hang her hat on it!

This will truly show her genuine concern for the citizens and governance of this wonderful nation.

3. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I have a nice joke for Bajans, you will die laughing.

“As the newly appointed head of the Turks and Caicos Integrity Commission, SIR David Anthony Cathcart Simmons recently ordered that members of the advisory council and consultative forum must now declare their income, assets and liabilities along with all other senior public servants including senior judges.”

http://www.tcweeklynews.com/integrity-commission-extends-its-reach-p2162-1.htm

Also thanks to Barbados Free Press.

I am sure that everyone see the irony in this. Some how I can’t remember him declaring his.

4. I-Anon
    If you introduce corruption the BLP will not be voted back into office. The most corruption took place under Owen Arthur. For example why would a leader accept a cheque for $750000 for his party in his name .He could give his party$250000 and keep the rest because no one knows how much he got? Do not tell me to bring proof because I will also tell you to bring proof about Michael Lashley. Owen Arthur and Clyde Mascoll led us into this financial mess and you want to give them back, no way. Mia Mottley already told Mascoll to go back where he came from.
    The DLP has done a good job of managing this country and will be given another five years under Chris Sinckler. The DLP really is trying to improve the society and not only about economy.
    Mia was exposed to many ministries but has nothing significant to show. Her biggest project was edu tech which has been a dismal failure with over $400million.I do not know what outstanding record Henderson speaks about

5. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I-ANON
    “I dont mena to make this a older-newer secondary school thing”

My daughter attended Harrisons Collage and she hated it. she could not wait to get out. Ask me why?

6. Henderson Bovell Avatar
    Henderson Bovell

Hey Charlie, please take note that :

In the 2010 Estimates, Miss Mottley reminded the country that in 2007 when it looked as though the competitive benefits with China would go, as Minister of International Business – she went to China to discuss Barbados being given more time to allow for the repositioning of its marketing strategy with China as well as Barbados’ business model in the International Business Sector.

Those discussions were extremely successful and as a result, Barbados was able to gain an additional two-and-a-half years in respect of those amendments to the Barbados-China treaty.

The intention was to use Barbados as an outward investment domicile for Chinese surplus capital into the rest of the world, in the same way that we had done with Canada.

When Miss Mottley was Minister of Economic Development, the Parliament of Barbados passed the International Arbitration Bill.

That Bill was intended to position Barbados as a centre for international arbitration for the rest of the world. To Miss Mottley’s credit, the London Court of Arbitration, which had said “NO” to the Australians’ request to do similar – said “YES” to Barbados.

However, because of the tardiness of the present DLP Government, Barbados lost that opportunity and India became the recipient of the Court.

In her 2010 Estimates presentation – Miss Mottley queried the status of the 495,000 pounds Euro grant from the European Union brokered during her tenure, which was intended to develop an educational institution at the University of the West Indies to prepare Barbadians to occupy better positions in the International Business Sector.

There was also to have been a partnership with the University of Toronto. Unfortunately, no further action has been taken on these matters. The Dems just do not know what to do!

Another area raised by Miss Mottley in the 2010 Estimates in March was: ‘The Special Technical Assistance Programme,’ which had helped up to 495 businesses up to the end of 2007 in the repositioning of their companies in order to meet the more liberalized environment.

Miss Mottley expressed shock that the vote was cut from $6 million to $4 million by this government when they need it most.

It is therefore crystal clear that the very challenges with which local businesses are grappling – are those issues, which Miss Mottley did all in her power to protect them from and prepare them for – when she was Minister of Economic Development.

Miss Mottley’s vision in anticipating and responding to matters as highlighted is why patriotic Barbadians and those who respect the ability and competence of the Barbadian woman – are looking forward to her becoming Barbados first female Prime Minister – with great excitement.

7. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

In your dreams.

8. Islandgal
    I will not equate the two. To compare casting your vote at elections with buying a game of chance is the wrong analogy to me.

9. @Bonny
    So here we have one woman for mottley one against. Between the two of you that gives her a fifty fifty chance! Wuh loss! See her chances ain’t all that bad. However I won”t bet on it.!

10. My mudder is 76 I was talking ta she today, she said dat Mia is the next PM too. She say dat Mia got more brains dan all a dem put togedder. She say dat Mia wud mek a great PM. If she at 76 cud come to dat conclusion dere is hope.

11. @Bonny

I casting muh vote for de person I see cud lead dis Country! Remember life is a game of chance, we aint got tomorrow put down.

12. Henderson Bovell Avatar
    Henderson Bovell

Bonny Peppa, islandgal246 – do you agree:

13. Henderson Bovell Avatar
    Henderson Bovell

@ Carson C. Cadogan,

You seem to have a terrible FEAR of the notion of a woman being Prime Minister of Barbados or the leader of anything. Perhaps you should read this:

“Women leaders are more assertive and persuasive, have a stronger need to get things done and are more willing to take risks than male leaders….Women leaders were also found to be more empathetic and flexible, as well as stronger in interpersonal skills than their male counterparts….enabl[ing] them to read situations accurately and take information in from all sides….These women leaders are able to bring others around to their point of view….because they genuinely understand and care about where others are coming from….so that the people they are leading feel more understood, supported and valued.”

Read On Sir:

http://womensissues.about.com/od/intheworkplace/a/WomenLeaders.htm

14. ‘I want Barbados to stand out, but for the right reasons. Having a sexually confused female as Head of any Government of Barbados would tarnish our image beyond repair.’
    —————————————————————
    This comment is a sign of desperation. Clearly the mantra of offshore bank accounts and the $75,000 cheque etc is no longer working, so the new strategy is to promote homophobia.
    Such a strategy, however, appears rather hypocritical given the presence of homosexuals within the executive of the DLP, Cabinet, the Senate and across many Boards including a known cross dresser as a Deputy Chairman.
    I am not interested in one’s sexual preference, but in one’s COMPETENCE as a PM or Minister and unfortunately the current government appears woefully lacking in this area.

15. @Bovell,

That is all well and good, but again…how about Freedom of Information, Transparency, Acctountability and Corruption Legislation?

Will she hang her hat on it???

16. Henderson Bovell, Mia Mottley is a misfit pervert, living vicariously through her corrupt father and mother. Don’t forget Ulliot Mottley who sold out the BLP, prior to the general election of 1976. Mommy was caught and dipper held Ulliot’s feet to the fire. Barbados will definitely go lesbian and homo. Watch out, our country will be the number gay and homosexual destination in the world, under a Mottley administration. Just bring back Owen, I could deal with alcoholism, rather than wicking and bulling in high places. I would rather a drunk Owen, than a lesbian Mia.

17. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Enuff

“This comment is a sign of desperation”

You are right. One would have to be desperate to vote for a Party headed by her.

18. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Henderson

Tell the public what is in it for you. What has she offered to you? State what is your personal interest here.

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“At the crux of the matter is Arthur’s contention that Mottley does not enjoy the widespread popularity and support throughout our society that is needed to lead the BLP to victory in the next election. “

20. Henderson Bovell Avatar
    Henderson Bovell

@ Crusoe,

As regards your question, I spoke to the Leader of Her Majesty’s Loyal Opposition and here is her reply:

“Please indicate to the person that I will as a matter of urgency – also campaign finance reform” – The Hon. Mia Amor Mottley, Q.C., M.P.,

21. Henderson Bovell Avatar
    Henderson Bovell

Why Are Women Successful Leaders?
    “Women have to constantly prove that they can make a success of anything that they venture upon and have to fight against many odds in a male-dominated society of ours. Men discriminate against them as being inferior to them and often fail to recognize that women can also take up challenging responsibilities. Against this backdrop, women have entered into politics, social and business spheres with full confidence and have performed well.

In politics, many women have left their mark. Even in the developing countries, otherwise considered to be socially and economically backward, many women leaders have made significant contributions. Late Prime Minister of India, Mrs. Indira Gandhi made her mark as a world leader. Being a woman did not deter her from taking major decisions that affected the lives of the citizen of her country. She had courage, determination and will power, and as a leader she understood well the aspirations of her people. She had to lead a country with a large population and had miles to go on the road of progress. She knew it was not an easy task but she faced the situation with conviction. She died for a cause and fell to an assassin’s bullet.

The late Prime Minister of Pakistan, Ms. Benazir Bhutto Zardari faced death boldly. She upheld the principles of democracy and questioned the fundamentalist’s belief systems. She knew death was lurking behind, but was not afraid of it. She too died on account of an assasin’s bullet.

Socially, women have proved their worth.”

http://www.medpundit.com/blog/women/can-women-be-good-leaders/

22. No name today, so leh we call it George. Avatar
    No name today, so leh we call it George.

It is perplexing and says a lot when someone that does not support bajan blogs, seek to use the same maligned blogs in a personal PR campaign.

23. @Saint Carson
    Please desist from determining peoples capabilities based on the length of their penises.

@Expatriate
    You are a venomous homophobic . People like you are the hypocrites we have to be aware of and be careful of contamination. What a sick person you are.

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Henderson

Can you tell us why Owen Arthur appointed Clyde Mascol CO-LEADER of the Barbados Labour Party instead of MI-A?

Yet you want us to believe that she is the best thing since sliced bread?

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Islandgal246

You would know about length of penis. You had quite a few in your lifetime.

26. Enuff wrote, “I want Barbados to stand out, but for the right reasons. Having a sexually confused female as Head of any Government of Barbados would tarnish our image beyond repair”.

Enuff you and Carson full of nuff bullshit, literary. You are talking this foolishness at a time when we got Miss Ronald Jones, who acted as Prime Minister of Barbados, and Miss Cameron Tudor who was deputy prime minister to Barrow. Was our reputation as a country destroyed? Ya talking a bundle of foolishness.

Truth be told a lot of Dems, even those in the BLP envy the brilliance of Ms Mottley. Note that those who talk this nonsense of her cannot deny that she is a brilliant woman who has worked hard in the name of the BLP and has done the Party proud. She is far more intelligent than the idiot we currently have as PM.

Henderson your post is bang on target. Ms Mottley is the PM for the future for this country. Her address to the BCC is a must read. It was insightful, futuristic in its outlook and captured to imagination of the business community. The speech was a breath of political fresh air. It was not one of those speeches anchored in the “what has been” but rather what is to be.

If this country is to move forward it cannot do so by embracing the politics of nostalgia but by offering a new vision a new way of doing business. We must find new ways of using our old resources to new inroads into our next phase of our development. I believe that Ms Mottley’s is this country’s hope for the future.

27. Expatriate wrote “Barbados will definitely go lesbian and homo. Watch out, our country will be the number gay and homosexual destination in the world, under a Mottley administration”.

I read your comment and I am thinking. You Thompson became PM and now Barbadians are view around the world as corrupt, people who steal old people’s money, e.g. BARP money stolen from Clico. We are now viewed as drug pushers, e.g. what was found on the PM when he was stripped searched at the club and the recent discovery of the container of drugs at the Port.

Really you got me thinking.

28. @Enuff: “I want Barbados to stand out, but for the right reasons. Having a sexually confused female as Head of any Government of Barbados would tarnish our image beyond repair.

Like Iceland, for example? With Johanna Sigurdardottir?

Further, to the best of my knowledge, just about every true democracy has openly gay ministers and/or senators.

The rest have them; they’re just not “open” about it.

I think the real question is — is Barbados mature enough in its thinking to enter (and keep up with) the 21st century?

29. MAM’s alleged sexual orientation seems to have been one of the factors preventing the RHOSA from unreservedly anointing her as his successor. I must admit, however, that I find myself unamused at the image of the short man pouring something on Mia. If he had his way whatever he poured would be unlikely to be anything like the oil that flowed down Aaron’s beard.

Barbados is a “conservative” society that more readly accept the behaviour of men who copulate and procreate indiscriminately, than that of women who copulate in a manner that ensures that they cannot procreate.

Mia probably will have the worst of all possible worlds, if she is punished both for her own sins and those of her forefathers. AFTER ALL, SHE IS RUGGED’ GRANDAUGHTER!!

30. Carson C. Cadogan | October 4, 2010 at 6:39 PM |

Henderson
    Don’t forget what happen to Sodom and Gomorrah.
    CCC,
    You seem to know a lot about Sodom & Gomorrah. Is that where you and your cohorts were taught?

31. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

RoyalRumble

Do you recall when Cameron Tudor was being considered for the post of Govenor General of Barbados, the Barbados Labour Party at the time kicked up a storm saying no homo can be allowed to hold a high office in Barbados?

32. @Carson C. Cadogan: “Do you recall when Cameron Tudor was being considered for the post of Govenor General of Barbados, the Barbados Labour Party at the time kicked up a storm saying no homo can be allowed to hold a high office in Barbados?

Can you support that claim with evidence?

33. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Ask any of the old Labourites.

34. Expatriate | October 5, 2010 at 5:38 AM |

You said, quote :-“Just bring back Owen, I could deal with alcoholism, rather than wicking and bulling in high places. I would rather a drunk Owen, than a lesbian Mia.”
    Perhaps you are protesting a bit too much! Are you one of those still in the closet? You must really be living with your head in the sand. Do you really believe that because it is not readily evident that there are none such amongst government ministers. Are you old enough to remember one of the former ambassadors of the DLP regime of some years past who was well know for his “closeted” activities? I think he was a minister under Barrow. If you are not old enough check with an older person

35. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Also around that time the BLP held a meeting in my district, and others, denouncing Cameron Tudor.

They had Eric Fly up and down Barbados castigating Cameron Tudor because of his preferences.

Now all of sudden it does not make a difference because the ball is now in their court.

36. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Halsall

Unlike you, I was not born yesterday!

37. The issue here has to do with how Bajans view say a female of a certain lifestyle compared to that of a man. Perhaps to ram home the analogy, a man with nuff women is viewed as a hardseed, a woman a slut. The learning, our society is much harder on woman who do the same chit as men.

38. @ Carson C. Cadogan: “Ask any of the old Labourites.

Nope. Sorry; That’s not how this works…

When I ask you a question like “Can you support that claim with evidence?” asked at October 5, 2010 at 12:43 PM…

You have to answer with specifics.

If you don’t, baby, you show you’re just pulling shit out of your ass…

(No problem. Most do….)

39. @ Saint Carson
    “You would know about length of penis. You had quite a few in your lifetime.”

I am Guilty, however yours was difficult to measure………. I couldn’t find it!

40. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Halsall

I gave you my answer, go and do the leg work.

41. @CCC: “I gave you my answer, go and do the leg work.

No you haven’t.

You’ve given innuendo, with no specifics. And then tell me (and others) to do the “leg work”.

Please give the specifics.

If you can….

42. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Halsall

I canvass a lot of Elders in this society. Quite a bit of my information comes from them. Much to the chargrin of certain others they do not forget so easy.

The balance is from life experience.

My task for you is to go do and the leg work, I did mine. I will not be doing anything for you. If you want specifics go look for them they are there.

43. @CCC: “I canvass a lot of Elders in this society. Quite a bit of my information comes from them. Much to the chargrin of certain others they do not forget so easy.

But, I ask, what is the value of seeking knowledge which is not shared?

Iff (if and only if) what you say is true you (and those you canvass from) should be very happy to share what you have learnt.

Please share your knowledge.

Assuming, of course, that what you say is actually true….

44. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Halsall

Get off your white ass and go and look for what you want I know where I got mine.

45. @CCC… With respect.

My white ass (and many black asses) are very interested that you cannot answer simple questions but are making great claims.

Some of us are thinking you are lying….

46. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Halsall

Other information will be coming as well. So stay tuned.

47. I doubt very much that a man like CCC would even be able to recognise truth even if it was to hit him straight in the face!

48. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Halsall

You have not heard the half of it as yet.

49. @ Royal Rumble & Hasall

Please read before you comment. That was CCC’s statement NOT mine as indicated with the ‘ ‘. If you read my post you would realise we are on the same page.

@ CCC
    How long ago it was that the late Cammie Tudor was being considered?

50. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Halsall

“Some of us are thinking you are lying….”

you wish that I was lying.