Submitted by Henderson Bovell

Opposition Leader Mia Mottley

It perhaps would have caused some to think of Charles Dickens (1859) novel – A Tale of Two Cities, which depicts the plight of the French peasantry demoralized by the French Aristocracy in the years leading up to the revolution. After all, the DLP (which does not know what it is doing or what to do) has also demoralized ordinary Barbadians as a result of its dangerous mismanagement of the Barbados economy and more direct – because of its high cost of living, burdensome taxes and its discriminatory family first and fatted calf doctrine.

On one hand you had David Thompson, acting in the interest of the DLP and with a serious fiscal crisis on the current account which was manufactured by his party – reshuffling his politically incompetent Cabinet for the 4th time in less than 3 years and hoping on this occasion for a different result while on the other hand – you had a compassionate Leader of the Opposition – acting in the national interest – taking fresh guard and outlining her vision and advancing a new politics and a new development path for the country.A Tale of Two Cities,’ you ask? – Video 1,2,3

Think about it! In the recent Nation Newspaper/Wickham Poll, Barbadians were concerned about the high Cost of living, Unemployment, the Economy and Crime. Reshuffling the same Cabinet 3 times before, did not help and doing so now (for a 4th time) certainly will not either. How will the recent reshuffle address the peoples’ concerns? Wasn’t Stuart Attorney General from day one (1)?

The fundamental principle remains: “the DLP does not know what to do or what it is doing.” That the DLP spent 14 years in Opposition but could not come up with sensible policies – wouldn’t it now be wishful thinking to expect that they could somehow come up with relevant policies in a few months, given that urgent action is needed now?

But it is clear that the DLP has two doctrines: ‘wait and see’ and: “do nothing and things will get better!” Meanwhile and by stealth, it has been implementing the recommendations of the last IMF Article 1V Consultation. It raised water rates by 60%, refused to adjust the land tax bands or rates, increased the price of fuel, and is now talking about a wage freeze and an increase in VAT.

In contrast, what Miss Mottley has been talking about is so people-centered and revolutionary that a Senior Editor of the Financial Times of London (of the world’s leading business news organisations – recognised internationally for its authority, integrity and accuracy) predicts that her address to the Chamber of Commerce and Industry, recently: will be seen over time as one of the more important post-independence speeches to be made by any political leader.”

At a time when the DLP is more interested in power and access to the fatted calf – even though its political incompetence is recognised by even die-hard dems, Mottley has raised an issue for public debate that should now dominate political discourse for sometime. It is a real answer to the economic mess we are in.” That is, if the BLP and the country are ready for “SERIOUS” politics and SERIOUS conversations.

234 responses to “A New Beginning With Mia – A Chance For Barbados”

1. Sinckler can beat Mia he can’t beat owen.

2. If we must respect the Barbadian woman then maybe we should vote for you hendy. you is woman yourself.

3. Been in town too long you are bang on target. Every word of your post is gospel. I support your position 100%.

That is why I said in an earlier post that Mia’s politics is like a breath of fresh air rather than the politics of nostalgia that currently flows from the other side.

Mia has been doing a lot of work in keeping the BLP relevant. If there is any improvement in the political fortunes of the BLP and there certainly is, it is all because her hard work.

4. Been in town too long wrote, “But there is one other thing that makes me chose Mia over Arthur. He has no guts. The man is a coward. If he wants to lead the party have the guts to just say so”.

Could Owen be serious about leading the BLP again after giving it up following the last election? Is this what you are saying fellow bloggers Been in town too long? This is beginning to sound like the Thompson and Mascoll debacle when Thompson ran away from leadership in 2003 and then came back in 2006 to oust Mascoll.

We saw the political destruction and division this caused in the DLP and to this day the DLP is still paying the price. Could the BLP be looking to repeat history? Thompson was installed while Mascoll had to leave the Party. Today Thompson has received his call from on high and the DLP would do with the assistance of Mascoll. Haven’t the BLP learnt anything from this?

If we destroy Mia for Owen and Owen falls ill then who can we turn to for leadership? Payne?, Dale?, Toppin?, Clarke?, Pat Parris? God help us.

5. Can somebody please tell me that the BLP is not this dumb? We have always had could sensible leadership. Let commonsense prevail BLP. Any open warfare in the BLP at this time could put the Party in opposition for any other five years.

So tell me. Why would Owen want to commit the BLP to other five years in opposition which clearly put him out of contention for leadership for the next election when he can simply support Mia win this one and play a major role in reshaping the economy? He can’t hate women that badly, can he?

6. Even David Thompson acknowledeged that OWEN ARTHUR is a great leader, ROYALASS ,i mean Royalrumble

7. BLP united this country
    DLP has polarized the country
    DLP DOOMED

ONE TERM!
    ONE TERM!
    ONE TERM !
    IS BARBADOS better off now than Barbados was pre-election 2008 ?
    Answer : ONE TERM !
    IS THE DLP GOVERNMENT DOING A GOOD JOB ?
    CAN THE DLP STOP TELLING LIES

8. If we destroy Mia for Owen and Owen falls ill then who can we turn to for leadership? Payne?, Dale?, Toppin?, Clarke?, Pat Parris? God help us.

Answer : CLYDE MASSCOL

9. I will only say this once Avatar
    I will only say this once

we have a real man to lead us yet we choose to lead us a mock man, Mia

10. @ I will only say this once.

It is really funny how fucking simpletons like you walking around trying give the impression that you are real men yet scared as hell for bright intelligent women.

The real mock men in this country are men who lack the ability to step up to the plate and be counted. We now live in society where big hard balls men still live home and live off of their mother’s pension but walking bout telling people that a woman can’t lead them anyway. They see women as sex tools and punching bags. Any time a woman is independent of that kind of male dependency they become scared and piss their pants.

They believe that their daughters can only be fooping bags for other men and should not aspire to any serious highs in this country. Oh how pitiful. What has men come to. Well let me say this, my daughter as the right to rise to any level in the country or in the world. Sorry I don’t have a problem with bright intelligent women and none of you on this blog can say that Mia is not head and shoulders above her contemporaries.

@Royalrumble

You are mashing the line.

11. KISSMYA wrote, Answer : CLYDE MASSCOL

Would this be same Mascoll that was the victim of this same viscous political underhand tactics? The BLP would really want put him in this position and would he really accept being pushed in this position?

How could Mascoll deal with himself, his conscience, to sit back and watch Mia work tirelessly to keep the BLP politically relevant and he just walk in and take over? Would he not see the repeat of what Thompson did to him? He despised that level of behavior then. Would permit now? Will the ordinary folks in the BLP sit back and allow their Party to be use in this way?

I am calling on the young people of the BLP to step up and take control of this Party. They must stop this rot which the elders and supposedly statesmen of this Party is about to visit on. If this wrong is allowed to happen then it will destroy the confidence young people have in the system.

12. Mr. Bovell if Mia is your friend the least that you could do for her is to ask to step down let a real man do the job. Owen or Clyde.

13. Been In Town too Long
    Lawddddddddd mek peace.
    ‘………and the more women you could foop the bigger man you are.’
    Ah deadinnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn. Sumbody soon get charge fa my murdahhhhhhhhhhh bout hay.

Heroes Square
    ya badddddddd.

Royalrumble
    Cool down, cool down, befo ya burs a artery. aneurysms does kill hear my man. Chill
    But wait, how you know de gender of someone posting? You tearing off you coat at wah ‘I will only say this once” post. Ya getting me frighten now ya.

KISSMYA
    You mean Clyde Mascoll or Clyde B Jones? Wah both a dem dead areddy. Man, wake up do.

Crusoe
    As man, just between me n you, you know dat a woman sweet because you got de tester ta insert ta experience de sweetness but pray tell me, how two women could experience dah same sweetness? Dat is always puzzle me. and doan mention nutton ‘mock’ cause um in de same ting. ya gotta born liking dah rub-a-dub-dub two women in a tub. wah you tink?

14. Now that the BLP people are killing one another let me just ease in here and encourage the DLP to get their PR program working because they deserve five more years with or without David Thompson.
    You the DLP are behaving like you are frightened. The IMF said that you are doing things right with your medium term policy, not a word from any of you to show that MIA is all hot air with her gloom and doom talk.
    Today Sir Courtney Blackman gave a thumb up to one of the most progressive social policy delivered by you to the families of Barbados in Free Bus fare. Big up yourself, the women of Barbados are behind you not behind someone who has them confused with her behavior and the other who took us for a ride and then called us xenophobic

15. Henderson Bovell Avatar
    Henderson Bovell

On a Point of Order Mr. Moderator Sir. David I rise to bring this debate to a close. I wish to thank all honourable persons on both side of the blog who participated.

I must admit that the Dems who are obviously afraidand in panic mode. They have moved this debate a long way from what I brough to the public’s attention. This is trademark DLP incompetence that now has Barbados in crisis.

This same DLP inherited a perfect batting wicked but in less than 100 days – it somehow managed to crashed the Barbados economy.

That the DLP operatives would vulgarise this debate – shows the level of disrect the DLP has for the Barbadian woman. In fact, it is Mazie Barker-Welch who refers to the DLP as a male Chauvinist party.

But what is my thesis?

I posited that two things happened last week which were completely opposite each other and yet – very few noticed.

On one hand you had David Thompson, acting in the interest of the DLP and with a serious fiscal crisis on the current account which was manufactured by his party – reshuffling his politically incompetent Cabinet for the 4th time in less than 3 years and hoping on this occasion for a different result while on the other hand – you had a compassionate Leader of the Opposition – acting in the national interest – taking fresh guard and outlining her vision and advancing a new politics and a new development path for Barbados.

That is the contrast and the debate: Mia Mottley saying something new and fresh in the national interest but a tired, frightened and incompetent DLP, holding on to power in the interest of the DLP and Clico.

The most recent Cabinet reshuffle is about Clico and who is most likely to continue to give CLICO a Golden parachute at taxpayers expense.

The point is: Mia Mottley defends Barbados while the DLP has taken fresh guard to defends Clico even more. Simple as that!!! That is what that Cabinet reshuffle is all about?

With Mia Mottley and Team BLP, Barbados wins whereas with the DLP – old ladies cannot get their money out of Clico and Clico gets a golden handshake and renewed protection from the DLP.

16. Anonymous Numero Uno Avatar
    Anonymous Numero Uno

You are right Henderson! SweetCakes has set up things mostly to ensure the protection of his Man “At The Hellum”

The Man At The Hellum seems to be coming back down to earth, and good for him! Glimpsed him this week travelling incognito! He has put down the large conspicuous Mercedes, now driving an ordinary pickup truck.

17. @ Henderson Bovell

“The most recent Cabinet reshuffle is about Clico and who is most likely to continue to give CLICO a Golden parachute at taxpayers expense.

The point is: Mia Mottley defends Barbados while the DLP has taken fresh guard to defends Clico even more. Simple as that!!! That is what that Cabinet reshuffle is all about?

With Mia Mottley and Team BLP, Barbados wins whereas with the DLP – old ladies cannot get their money out of Clico and Clico gets a golden handshake and renewed protection from the DLP.”

Sadly, HB (the soft pencil) has got it wrong, again. This is what happens when you take a systemic problem and try to reduce it to a narrow issue, like little old ladies losing their life savings (although I am not saying that this should not be a matter of concern for the authorities) for purely political purpose.

It should be clear to even the most purblind commentator that the risk the CLICO debacle poses to the financial systems of CARICOM countries cannot be resolved simply by taking action only at the national level in individual countries. CLICO is a problem that demands an innovative response at the sub-regional level!

I am not sure that Ms. Mottley has the credentials to be a leader in that process, but I shall continue to keep my ears tuned!

18. Henderson Bovell Avatar
    Henderson Bovell

Hello George Reid-Raven Craven,

You posited: “I am not sure that Ms. Mottley has the credentials to be a leader in that process, but I shall continue to keep my ears tuned!”

Tell me Sir: Is this then a matter for – say, a constitutional lawyer or an economist, and – is this matter more or less complex than Four Seasons?

Is it more complex than winning a maritime boundaries dispute with T&T or negotiating with China – an extention for Barbados as regards, the IBS?

19. @Henderson Bovell | October 7, 2010 at 6:58 AM |
    “Hello George Reid-Raven Craven,

You posited: “I am not sure that Ms. Mottley has the credentials to be a leader in that process, but I shall continue to keep my ears tuned!”

Tell me Sir: Is this then a matter for – say, a constitutional lawyer or an economist, and – is this matter more or less complex than Four Seasons?

Is it more complex than winning a maritime boundaries dispute with T&T or negotiating with China – an extention for Barbados as regards, the IBS?”

Listen pencil boy (it seems that your only contribution in the classrom was handing out pencils) what the hell does it matter whether am Ravin’ Craven Raven (can’t you get the name right? WTF is a “craven” anyway?) or not?

Your inability to comprehend what I mean when I say:
    “It should be clear to even the most purblind commentator that the risk the CLICO debacle poses to the financial systems of CARICOM countries cannot be resolved simply by taking action only at the national level in individual countries. CLICO is a problem that demands an innovative response at the sub-regional level!” is pathetic. What does a recitation of Ms. Mottley’s alleged successes, have to do with fashioning a financial engineering solution to resolve the CLICO problem. It seems that you and your “championess” have not moved beyond your one note samba in which you are merely trying to create alarm, and that you have nothing constructive to propose.

And you dare to suggest that solutions for all the ills that confront Barbados can come from persons of your ilk!

20. Hi Ravin’CravenRaven;

At last we seem to be getting a defense of the Thompson CLICO policies from someone with very significant government credentials at the highest public service levels and indeed one who might have helped concretize those policies. I think you have practically all the credentials for explaining some of the things which have troubled me and perhaps others about that policy.

Perhaps (but not in your inimitable obfuscatory style) you could explain the following;

Given your call for a sub-regional treatment of the CLICO clean up effort, Why was it necessary for David Thompson to reject the judicial management approach that appeared to be the regional approach, initiated by Trinidad and adopted by all the other caribbean jurisdictions, and instead opt for a novel and strictly Barbados approach that appears to be now resulting in Barbados being saddled with regional CLICO debts that we can ill afford.

Why is Barbados only now adopting the Judicial management approach for CLICO well after the horse has bolted?

Did you assist in formulating any advice that a number of statutory organizations should be required to transfer their pension fund or other investment portfolios to CLICO soon after the changing of the administrations?

What else did David Thompson do in his Prime Ministerial capacity when he first reassumed the office of Prime Minister about a month ago besides pushing through a Cabinet solution that reportedly would leave the Barbados taxpayers facing a 1/2 billion dollar debt, much of it for writing off CLICO debts to the other Islands?

What is the strategy you would have recommended to government for avoiding serious IMF conditionalities and properly managing those CLICO debts, apparently now in the process of being transferred to the public purse, in the face of a burgeoning deficit that might well be now significantly higher than 1.5 billion dollars?

Why does it appear that the oversight committee was not reconstituted when it expired in June therefore leaving a possible avenue for some costly infelicities to occur?

There are many other questions but these would do for a start.

21. Henderson Bovell Avatar
    Henderson Bovell

@ George Reid. You wrote:

“CLICO is a problem that demands an innovative response at the sub-regional level!

I am not sure that Ms. Mottley has the credentials to be a leader in that process, but I shall continue to keep my ears tuned!”

Listen Sir: Until and unless the suggestion of Dr. Tennyson Joseph is accepted and there is a reshuffle of the quasi-CARICOM Cabinet, any Prime Minister of Barbados immediately has lead responsibility for the CSME. That is the first point..

My question to you is – Can the problems at Clico be solved by a BLP Cabinet? The Trinidadians seem to think that it can be best solved by the DPP with Robert Lindquist’s assistance. Further the T&T AG is now in London seeking independent persons to serve on a Commission.

Therefore, isn’t Kamla – the New PM of T&T fixing the CL Financial/Clico mess that was created by MEN?

The point remains that the mess at CL Financial/Clico was created by a man. There were male dominated Cabinets across the region when the Clico mess was created.

It now falls to a WOMAN in T&T (Kamla) to clean-up the mess that occured under the watch of male-dominated Cabinets.

Or, is it that you are just not getting it?

Men have always ruled Barbados. Therefore, if there is corruption, mess whatever, a woman or women cannot be blamed.

All across the world, it now falls to WOMEN to clean-up the mess caused by MEN, whether Clico, CL Financial, AIG, Nother Rock, where ever.

It fall to Hiliary Clinton to now resolve world tension created by MEN.

That is my thesis. I do not have to be a constitutional lawyer to have a view – do I?

It is therefore immaterial what The Hon. Mia Amor Mottley, Q.C., M.P., can or cannot do in you male chauvonist opinion – as regards, Clico, because the REAL issue is that – the mess was created by (males) MEN.

That, kind Sir, is your smoking gun.

In Barbados, the current fiscal crisis on the current account was created by a male dominated DLP Cabinet. So too the high level of taxation locally.

What part of what I am saying do you not understand?

22. In a male dominated society it is very difficult for men to give up power to a woman whom they see only as chattel. There is also a deep hatred and jealousy of women by men and some women. Look at the ratio of abused women in society to men. In the past even when had the right to vote, we were not protected by the law when it came to domestic violence. Many women were murdered by their spouses because the law condoned it. The law and the Bible stated that the man is the head of the household, even though today many( if not the majority) household are headed by women. Men think that they have the God given right to rule. Until they see women as a partner who will share the leadership role from time to time, we are in for a fight.

23. Henderson Bovell Avatar
    Henderson Bovell

Earlier, George Reid wrote:

“CLICO is a problem that demands an innovative response at the sub-regional level!

I am not sure that Ms. Mottley has the credentials to be a leader in that process, but I shall continue to keep my ears tuned!”

+++++++++++++++

Do you hear that male chavonist crap?

Here is what Miss Mottley said at the Chamber’s lunchoen last week. Note that it was Miss Mottley who brought the no-confidence motion against the PM as regards his poor handling of Clico.

Note also that the males said that Miss Mottley’s actions were salacious gossip and that it should be punished with laughter.

Fellow bloggers, tell me – does the below sounds like a good idea? Have you heard any male offer a better suggestion:

Perpetual Bond

“Instead of making a payout in two years time, which is expensive from the perspective of the government, but miserly from the perspective of individual clients, the Government could issue a perpetual bond, backed by the company’s assets, with a Government guaranteed rate of interest, similar to the rate offered on long-term Government bonds.

The guarantee of a government interest rate would allow the instrument to be traded and sold by those who need cash today without the Government having to fork out this principal today or in the immediate future. A broadly similar commitment of Government can be turned into something worth several times what depositors have been left with today.

The Government should decide who would be eligible for the perpetual bond, and up to what level of deposit and I would hope this would focus where possible on the most vulnerable in our society.

However it is cut, this Government guarantee is the single biggest guarantee in our history. Although there are no lasting buildings and facilities, it dwarfs that of the ABC highway or the prison. This matter is too large, too important, too critical to our economy and our fiscal position, to be treated in a dismissive fashion.

I have outlined these facts to show you that serious and sensible decisions must not just be made, they must be made now. Not ten years from now, not when we get round to it after recess here and there, but now. We are already late…”

24. @Henderson

What is this feminist bullchit being peddled all of a sudden?

Is this Mia flying a kite?

Was it Mia when asked to give an explanation about the CLICO statutory deficit under a BLP government offered the explanation that the government at the time felt a comfort level with the financial standing of the parent CL Financial?

This CLICO matter has been a real political football.

25. You can’t see that Henderson is a woman too, he can talk all he likes if that mock man as somebody call she at the head of this BLP I am not voting next time and I am not alone.

26. Henderson Bovell Avatar
    Henderson Bovell

@ David:

“Was it Mia when asked to give an explanation about the CLICO statutory deficit under a BLP government offered the explanation that the government at the time felt a comfort level with the financial standing of the parent CL Financial?”

Are you sure Sir David?

Under the Insurance Act, the Minister mentioned is the Minister of Finance. While I understand collective responsibility – Mia Mottley has never held that office.

So-all of a sudden, I remind of the Barbadian reality and you call it feminist bullshit. Ok, which woman was Prime Minister and Minister of Finance of Barbados; Head of Clico or the substantial office holder of the Office of Supervisor of Insurance of Barbados?

27. @Henderson

Don’t side step this issue at all. She made the statement when all hell broke lose on this CLICO business. He stated that the BLP government at the time felt comfortable that CL was a strong parent and therefore the short reserve at the time was to be viewed in that context. If you make us we will research it.

28. Why are you substituting he for she in the above post? I know it is a typing error but that is why Henderson is peddling the feminist crap. He now has to sell her as a woman which is so ridiculous because she was born a female.

29. To all those persons who wish to suggest that I have privileged information about the CLICO mess, or that I have been in any involved in advising the current authorities, I wish to say the following:
    1) I retired from the Barbados public service in August 1996, and I have played no role of any kind in policy-making since then;

2) My comment regarding Ms. Mottley’s capabilities was in no way related to her gender. In a nutshell, to call for judicial management (which is a process) is not enough, since appointing a fully competent JM may be a major challenge. Even if such a person is appointed he/she/they (is it not reasonable to assume that more than one person could be appointed? In Barbados we like committees.) must formulate the “imaginative” solutions where nobody loses, for which we all seem to be hoping;

3) The judicial management process in the Bahamas seemed to have presented serious challenges to the work-out of the CLICO problem in Guyana, so to that extent given CLICO’s regional reach, action at the purely national level may be inadequate.

I think that the problem of most persons who have commented on the CLICO issue, is that they seem to think of it as discrete unrelated national problems. In short, no one seems willing to think regionally! I doubt that T&T will take a lead in this matter, not because the PM of that state is a woman, but, because she has already limited her capacity to act by declaring that Trinidad and Tobago is not an ATM card.

This will be my final contribution on the CLICO matter.

30. George Reid; Thanks for providing a tangential limited response to the queries in my last post above about CLICO. I note that you will no longer participate in the debate on this thread but I wonder if Ravin’ Craven Raven might do so, if only on the aspects of it related to CLICO. I admit to being quite inexperienced in matters of high finance or insurance and I suspect that many who post on CLICO may also be so disadvantaged. Therefore any light that can be placed on the matter re. a regional approach versus a national approach or the pros and cons of judicial management would be very much appreciated.

In effect, I am wondering if knowledgeable persons about high finance in general and the CLICO problem in particular would deign to educate us.

The various disparate bits of information coming into the public domain on this matter, taken together, seems to suggest that CLICO could serve as a catalyst to serious times ahead for Barbados . It would be very useful if someone could carefully, fully and clearly give the side of the story related to the current Government’s actions in this regard.

31. @ checkit-out | October 7, 2010 at 2:07 PM |
    “George Reid; Thanks for providing a tangential limited response to the queries in my last post above about CLICO. I note that you will no longer participate in the debate on this thread but I wonder if Ravin’ Craven Raven might do so, if only on the aspects of it related to CLICO.”

You seem unwilling to accept that I have no information on CLICO, other than what is in the public domain. Of course, I can research that information and offer an opinion, but that opinion would not have the “authenticity” that you would like to attach to it.

I really don’t feel that I have anything more to contribute on this matter, so “goodbye” for now.

32. George;

Thanks for responding. A pity you finished with this discussion as I think there is a crying need for someone with credentials like yours to research and provide a balanced picture of the whole CLICO debacle.

33. checkit-out:

I’ll try to make a deal with you. In the interest of promoting a better public understanding of the issues at stake, if you can find someone to do the grunt work, I am willing to review their analysis and conclusions. However, for a semi-retired septaugenarian, my hands are too full, at the moment, to do more than that!

34. I may never have agreed with anything Royal Rumble said beefore but when he wrote on October 6 at 1:50 p.m. “The real mock men in this country are men who lack the ability to step up to the plate and be counted. We now live in society where big hard balls men still live home and live off of their mother’s pension but walking bout telling people that a woman can’t lead them anyway. They see women as sex tools and punching bags. Any time a woman is independent of that kind of male dependency they become scared and piss their pants.” he wrote the truth.

But I’ll also add that the mock men are those men who foop down the place and then do not acknowledge their own children and who refuse to be seen in public with such children until the children are successful hard backed men and women.

Both parties have mock men like this.