Submitted by The Gospel Knight Rider

Incensed by this recent EVIL act that occurred in Tudor Street, people are again crying out for hanging. THIS IS RIDICULOUS; in about two weeks we will be back where we were before.

You see we have leaders that are void of principles, they take stands based on public opinion and in the case of hanging; they (our leaders) stand with the international community (Amnesty International and the likes). If you do not have a stance based on principle, it can be said; if you stand for nothing, then you will fall for anything. Its this falling for anything that we as a people are seeing our society go down the hill of moral decay. Until leaders be leaders, and until leaders stand for principles that encourage a strong and righteous society (what ever happened to Biblical principles that made western civilization so strong); then we will follow the road of so many other societies that are failing. Let Tudor Street be a wake up call.

From an earlier post โ€“ โ€œWe have to move out of the past and into todayโ€™s world to stay relevant; again someone has to make it happen and stop talking. We need movers not talkers. We need action not eloquent speeches. We need strong leaders, not well spoken wimps.โ€

Onward Christian Soldiers

187 responses to “Fire In The City That Killed 6 people (possibly 7, one female may have been pregnant)”

1. @ Old man
    ROFLMAO you are funny I may be all what you have called me but remember you were birthed by one of these whom you have just described. You are the epitome of a modern day zealot and no better than the Islamic jihadists who cannot see reason. You are definitely suffering from the ” Eisegesis Virus” (thank you Robert) and sadly there is no cure.

2. You can call me GP if you like because you all seem to have a fixation on GP. Anyone who agrees with or defends GP on BU is GP. It amazes me that you all think that you can shake or run a man as strong as GP from BU.

But did you all see any of the news on tv today? Have you read about the goings on in Mexico and at The Mexican Arizona border? Are these happenings in accordance with 2 Timothy 3 or not. The events in your city last weekend Was this in keeping with 2 Timothy 3 or not?

Warrior you are quite correct. Many educated overseas Bajans find BU very depressing. Commenters seem to be devid of reason and logic. Very few seem to be capable of presenting anything of value.

3. @ Kool, history has a way of repeating itself. Are you saying that because Ms. Ram is an indian/muslim/hindu whatever she might be that one should be silent on violations that she has at her places of business. You obviously sleep deprived.

Let that death traps on Harbour Rd and Bay street catch a fire and I hope no black Barbadians don’t die in them.

I saw Ms. Ram place as a little child – went there once with my aunt to pay a bill, at that moment I made a firm decision never to enter any of her establishments again. – NEVER DID.

4. I went into Liquidation Center on Bay Street last month looking for a special part for my drive mower I had heard they stocked. As an avid gardener my first choice was to go to that department. What I had seen left me in shock. The stench of garden chemicals that had been spilt was nauseating. Many of the goods like paints and chemicals she had on the shelves had expired years ago and yet she is still selling them. Can anyone imagine the danger it poses to the staff who work there constantly inhaling these fumes? I had to run out of that area.

The shelves were dusty, the goods were dusty I had to ask to wash my hands. The place was filthy! You should see the contraption I was shown for a sink. You think that since they sold these there that they would have a decent washroom.

The place is indeed a fire trap! The goods are thrown here and there , some aisles were blocked impeding clear passage in the event of an emergency.

I checked some of the prices and found that they were in many cases much higher than other places. I had found a tool I couldn’t find elsewhere and went to pay for it. In front of the cashier there was a notice that stated positively no exchanges or refunds were allowed. I pointed to the sign and stated that is contrary to the Law and the Fair Trading Commission. I had already handed over my money when I saw the notice. I then demanded my money back and told them that they can keep their goods. They gave me back my money and I left. I felt dirty when I left and wondered how clean can their home be, if their store is so filthy.

I asked myself how can anyone be allowed to do business in Barbados under conditions such as these. It seems that there are double standards when it comes to doing business here.

5. No I don’t believe in the death penalty, because none of us can on our own create life, so therefore none of us should take a life. However I do believe in imprisonment for the rest of the criminal’s natural life or until such time as he is reformed AND the society is prepared to have him rejoin them, and if the society never wants to let the criminal out that’s ok by me.

But as I said in an earlier post I believe in punishing all bad behavior. I believe in punishing MP’s who sit on legislation for a generation (or two) at a time.

I believe in punishing politicians and civil servants who take prouges (bribes) and favours to NOT do their jobs.

People are acting as though Bridgetown is the only old fashioned town. There are towns in this world that are hundreds or thousands of years older than Bridgetown. People are saying “well the buildings are joined up so we can’t do nuthin”

When London burned in the Great Fire of 1666 firebreaks were created in the rebuilt town. We need to do the same for Bridgetown or as sure as tomorrow is Wednesday a GREAT FIRE WILL do it for us.

People are saying “well it is a matter of titles and legal stuff etc.”

I say that Barbados is overrun with lawyers. Put some of them to work doing the non-sexy title work. Maybe we should require our newly minted attorneys to do an internship of a year or two before we let them loose on the public. Make them do publicly valuable work. Make them for 80 or 90 hours a week, they are young and strong and healthy and most of them have nothing to do after 35 hours in the office. Wh’a happen. We afraid to mek’ them work? Have we forgotten that we paid upwards of $250,000 each for the education of each of them (from nursey school to law school) We should demand some work out of them in return.

People are acting as though they don’t understand that the Barbados government like all governments has “eminent domain” and can therefore compulsorarily acquire land for any public purpose, in this case to wit “to create fire breaks between the buildings on Tudor Street, Swan Street, Broad Street, Whereever it is necessary street. Wha’ happen? We frighten to take away three feet of land from each merchant in Bridgetown in order to make Bridgetown safer? I can speak of government taking land for a public purpose because I am one of those zone 1 people whom the government has forbidden to build on our own land for 48 years for a public purpose to wit to protect the quality of drinking water of Barbados. And you know what? I ain’t vex. I understand that we all need clean water to drink so if that means that I can’t shit in your drinking water which sits under my land then so be it.

I say squeeze the merchants of Bridgetown and take 3 feet of land from each of them and since we are in such a financial bind I say do not pay them any compensation for this land. Just give them (and us) in return a better safer Bridgetown.

I believe in punishing the shoplifters who make the lives of Bridgetown’s merchants a living hell. So much so that the merchants feel the need to put steel bars on everything, and of course when a fire happened as it had to people died as was inevitible. So shoplifters how do you feel about yourself now? You though that your shoplifting was harmless? You see now what it lead to?

I believe in punishing receivers of stolen goods. Those who sit at home and make a living offa selling the goods that have been shoplifted from the merchants of Bridgetown.

I believe in punishing merchants whose greed leads them to stuffing thier stores form follor to ceiling with way too many goods. I was in that store just in July 24 and I felt uncomfortable and yes fearful, and thought if this place catches afire, it is going to be gone in minutes (or seconds) because there were no “firebreaks” between the racks of clothes. And this is not the only store that is too overcrowded with merchandise. Why can’t the merchants store some of their goods off site in container park?

So we can hang these young men, but if we don’t fix the other problems it will happen again and again and again.

6. Warrior
    ya funny as hell. I cryinnnn.

All dese people dat claim to be against hanging/death penalty what-have-you, I wonder what would be their take if someone close to them was murdered by one a dese demons. Doan mek ma laff do. Dese said same people dat singing de hallelujah chorus against capital punishment would be de first ta hang de criminals by dem balls upside down till dem deaddd. All dis nonsense bout hanging don’t stop crime is a barage a hogwash. I know fa sure dat dat perpetrator would nevva be able to commit anotha crime if de bitch neck pop. Why in dem countries where a hand is severed if caught stealing, why de one-hand thief doan go n thief again wid he nex hand? Cause he frighten as shite ta loss he nex hand. Dese criminals dat kill people willfullyn savagely, frighten as shite ta surrender dem own life when caught. Man hang de bitches do. Allllllllllllllllllll.
    One a dem fellas dat was involved in the Francia Plantation murder wid Winston Hall, he name Oliver sumting. He escape one time n he terrorise dis lil place man til he get ketch back. I sorry as shite dat he did come in deaddddddddd. He is a criminal and should be hanged. Dem fellas heartless man. Doan mek sport. Dem fellas is born criminals and should be eliminated at de first opportunity.

7. Look, some criminals would NEVERRRRRRRRR reform as long as there’s breath in their bodies. So all those who want to wait with baited breath til dese heartless criminals reform and fit back into society, wunna gun get cyanosis cause dem in gun reform in na time soon.Doan mek ma cry do. stupseeeeeeeeeeeee.

I am no structural engineer but how hard is it to knock out walls in these places of business to make exits or fire-escapes or whatever? stupseeeeeeeeeee

8. I believe in punishing men (and women) who neglect and abuse thier children and when the same children turn into angry monsters we say “they were born criminals”.

No they were not born criminals.

We their parents made them so.

9. @Bonny Peppa, talk about funny.

We have to get a handle on the level of crime, otherwise this nonsense will continue.

Will some take up the offer of the New York City Commissioner of Police to help solve the case. I hope the powers that be realize that a criminal element is trying to destabilize this country and we are too small for a Tivoli Gardens secenario.

10. I believe in punishing those mothers (and fathers too) who with inecent haste move to the great white north and leave thier children in Barbados (and the wider Caribbean) to with who’soever will to get knock ’bout from pillar to post.

I believe in punishing those man and women who will not love each other, and so cannot love thier own children.

I bet that whenever the police find the man or men who caused this fire we will find that they were NOT RAISED IN LOVING HOMES.

We fool ourselves that our children can survive without our love.

They cannot.

11. @J
    What is your argument againstthe death penalty. I don”t get it

12. Dear ac:

First argument A: Neither you nor I can creat a life on our own. Therefore we should not break that which we cannot make.

First argument B: Or if you are religious, only God can create life. Therefore we humans have no right to take life. However we can (and should) imprison some criminals for the rest of thier natural lives.

Second argument: Mistakes are made. If we make a mistake we cannot recreate that life which we have taken.

Third argument: Maybe death is too quick. Let the criminals be haunted for years as they recall their bad deeds.

And if they have no conscience, and I agree that some people have no conscience, let them suffer the isolation of imprisonment. And truthfully I don’t care if the other prisoners abuse them and bull them or even kill them in self defense.

Take note that I am quite willing to take a life in the immediate defense of my own. This won’t make it right, only necessary.

J ain’t no little softie, softie.

13. I believe in punishing those men who meet a woman who has a son(s) or daugtert(s) which the new man believes he must push out of their mother’s lives. Here is a man who had his own mummy for 30 odd years and now he is pushing “his woman” to send her son/daughter to live at the grandmother, the godmother, the aunt or whoever is willing to take the child out of his way.

I believe in punish those men sho say “I pay fa dah” and so take no responsibility for their irresponsible sex that resulted in the birth of a son or a daugher.

14. @ J | September 7, 2010 at 9:59 PM |

I’m with you all the way. But I have to ask, what happen to the “cat-o-nine”?

15. I haven’t thought abut the cat o nine lately. Let me think before I write.

16. J sounds exactly like the soft, gutless politicians who make all kinds of excuses for criminals – and thereby create societies where wickedness is empowered and good is disdained.

The ultimate penalty of death is intended to set a societal standard that clearly says how much a society values the lives of citizens.
    “It is so valuable and important, that anyone who takes one unlawfully will pay the ultimate price”

By using their lame excuses, we are devaluing his basic principle….. and we end up with the kind of societies where crime is king – and the good citizens are imprisoned and cowering behind wrought iron grills.

There is a way that seems right to human logic, but the end thereof is the way of death and destruction.

17. well under the sexual offence act. whipping can be added to some of the offences as additional punishment just haven’t heard of any recent case. not to sure about how it applied to robbery , murder etc. currently

18. @ islandgal246 | September 7, 2010 at 8:55 PM
    “…Many of the goods like paints and chemicals she had on the shelves had expired years ago and yet she is still selling them. ”

Barbados government dept. really needs to get serious and do a better job by making unexpected visits for inspection purposes on all businesses.

More people should do like you, islandgal246, that is to check expiration dates on items they are about to purchase; if the item is expired LEAVE IT THERE, and hopefully it would send a message to the employer that expired goods are unacceptable whether for human consumption or not.

Regardless of item, it should be MARKED DOWN close to its expiration date. I can’t believe that there are no penalties meted out to such employers.

19. Neither you or i can createlife on our own and therefore you should not take it.
    the perpatrator of heinous crimes does not give any thought to such words and such wordsgives no comfort to the family of victims of loved ones.Thereforeit is left up to the state or country to imposed the harshest punishment necessary which is death as a way of lessening the pain and suffering the loved ones are feeling.
    I can also argue the point of fairness in which a system warehouse murderers at my expense. That too is not fair.Society is being victimized twice. No one should have to feed and warehouse a muderer on a daily basis until they died. We as a society have to put laws and enforced them rightfully to protect the law abidding citizen and should not falter in doing soand if the death penalty be one of them so be it. No apologises!

20. To those who think that the death penalty is not a deterrent, how many of them would like to undergo the death penalty?

My thoughts exactly, no a fella.

If a person doesn’t have to think hard about the risks involved in committing a murder, then we in some serious hot water.

21. Within the last 4 weeks a “block” has formed near the residence of a member of my family. This “block” is a grouping of mainly young men numbering about 10 to 12 persons. These young men congregate outside the home of the ‘ringleader” (a 20 year old, with a few convictions for drug possession, operating a vehicle without a license and assault). The “block” is assembled from early morning to late at night. The smoking of marijuana is done openly along with the constant playing of music loudly which disturbs other residents. The Police were contacted about this ‘block” but little or nothing can be done it seems. There is fear that these young men are involved in more serious criminality possibly even those of recent events. How else do a number of young men sustain themselves with neither visible employment nor support from family members? It seems that no action can be taken until something bad happens.

22. RBPF needs to get help quickly when a case goes cold it is more difficult to solve. The NYPD have the equipment and means to analyze the chemicals and source etc. Donโ€™t let false pride leave us with another unsolved murder. These killers need to be caught fast. The police ought to crack down on the gangs that lay wait people going to work early in the morning or coming home late at night. People who donโ€™t have a job or legal business are buying cars and houses in their familyโ€™s name. The government needs to make source of income proof a requirement for large purchases.

23. I don’t know whether or not the death penalty is a deterrent or not. Deterence has never been part of my arguments.

But I don’t know if anyone has noticed that Barbados DOES HAVE A DEATH PENALTY.

And Friday night’s young men were NOT DETERRED.

Kamla Persad-Bissessar had to remind Trinidadians just last week that Trinidad does have a death penalty and Trinidad has in fact carried out executions within the lifetime of those who committed this crime on Friday and within the lifetime of those murderers who have made Trinidad virtually unlivable.

The Trinidadian murderers appear NOT to be deterred by a death penalty. If fact it may be argued that Trinidad has become MORE MURDEROUS since the State executed Dole Chadee and his gang about 10 years ago.

So if having a death penalty and carrying out executions does not deter Trinidadian murderers why do we think that it will deter Barbadian murderers?

Very likely it will not. We are angry and we are looking for easy solutions and execution a couple of fellas will make us feel better, but will prevent us from implementing the real solutions to all the real problems which plague Barbados (and yes I believe that these young men WILL be executed within a year or two) but their executions wil not cure what ails Barbados, because criminality is a many headed hydra, and we many of us are hard at work in our homes (or entirely abscent from our children’s lives) creating murderers and other criminals.

TOO MANY OF US ARE TAKING BRIBES NOT TO DO OUR JOBS.

We too like a lift in Mr. Big Shot’s plane, and then we can’t enforce agianst Mr. Big Shot because our hands (no not hands our morals) are tied.

We take the flat screen tv and then we can’t enforce.

We accept a place in a “good” school for Little Johnny (even though Little Johnny is an duncy as hell, because we were too busy working, or socializing, to pay any attention to his homework) and then we can’t enforce against the teacher or the Minister.

We take a blood oath and then we find that we can’t enforce against our lodge buddies.

We can’t enforce against our church members

or the people from our village

or the people who went to school with us.

Barbados may have a death penalty and we may enforce it against Friday’s duo. But do any of really believe that we will ever enforce the death penalty when the day comes (as it surely will) that a university principal’s son, or a Cabinet Minister’s wife, or a police commissioner’s daughter commits murder?

The death penalty will be carried out against black, male, lower class murders only.

All other murderers, those who are white, female, middle or upper class, belong to the right lodge will be given a buddy pass. And we know this to be the truth.

We are a bunch of jokers.

24. Dole Chadee was executed in Trinidad on June 4, 1999. Can Bush Teas or anybody else present me with the evidence which shows that Trinidad has become a kinder, gentler place in the last 11 years.

In fact there is very good evidence which shows that violence begets more violence. Men who beat their wives have more violent more unhappy marriages, parents who beat their children have more violent children, children who go to schools in which children are beaten are more violent that those children who go to schools where children are not beaten, states which execute have a higher rate of murders than those states which do not execute.

We looking for a quick fix. So yes we will go ahead and exucute Friday’s duo, but then don’t act surprised that they are many, many. many more where they came from. Wait until they start taking their vengence against middle class men (instead of against 6 lower class women) especially against some of you middle class fathers who left your children to be raised in the ghettos because you “done pay fa dah”

We better start looking for real solutions to REAL problems fast, fast, fast.

25. @J

You have argued your points so well that you have encompassed what I think might be one of the reasons why the death penalty does not appear to be a deterrent to some.

The Death penalty = reduced murders is partially true, because what we are seeing is that there is an increase in murders in territories despite the death penalty being on the law books.

I don’t think that the persons carrying out murders are not afraid of the death penalty.

It means that something else is also at play here. There is something that has caused murders to increase in such places as Trinidad, but not murder alone, but also other forms of crime (white collar crime etc) and we can’t blame that on the death penalty being on the books. I think you have hit the nail on the head when you mentioned MORALS.

The equation needs to be therefore modified:

The Death Penalty + Decreasing Morals = Increased Murders

Since the equation has to balance at all times. It means removing the The Death Penalty which has been having a negative (deterrent) effect, would cause murders to further increase in societies where morality continues to decline (catalyst for crime).

I believe therefore, that since the death penalty is a constant in the equation especially since the death penalty hasn’t been used for some time in some territories, that it is the DECREASING MORALS that is the factor responsible for the increase in murders, and other crimes being witnessed.

P.S. The death penalty’s effort is to try to deter persons from committing a murder, but it can not stop a person from committing a murder.

26. I might be wrong here BUT aren’t we putting the cart before the horse?
    Since when was the death penalty written as a deterrent to crime?
    Is imprisonment a deterrent to crime?
    Are fines and probation a deterrent to crime?
    I always thought that you pay the PENALTY for the crime committed, according to the LAW, with DEATH being the ultimate price paid.
    Some where along the line this seems to have been missed by most but it is the LAW.

27. You are indeed correct Techie. The penalty for a crime is not necessary a deterrent..Those committed to doing crimes are not afraid of the death penalty or punishment.

It is still true, as it always was, that “the heart is ceceitful above all things AND DESPERATELY WICKED!”

I hope that you have your exam preparations well under control Sir.

28. @ GP….

Thanks….well under control.
    Will be doing the exam in NY though…can’t believe the difference in cost…lol.
    Leaving very soon, another Winter up North…lol.

29. Yes Technician, it is the ultimate price, but it also tries to discourage others from doing the same.

It can’t stop others, but it tries to curb, and have them at least think twice before proceeding with the crime.

“Is imprisonment a deterrent to crime?
    Are fines and probation a deterrent to crime?”

I would say yes it is a deterrent. I am deterred from riding in the car without a seat belt because I don’t want to pay a $500 fine.

30. Techie
    I thought folk used to winter in the tropics? You like you got it the wrong way around LOL IF I get up there we will must arrange to meet up and have some malts.

31. @ Curious…

In other words, the deterrent
    factor is just a fringe benefit then and NOT the motive behind the laws. People are fined daily for not wearing seatbelts.
    IMHO, the true deterrent, is the swift and impartial execution of the penalties eg Saudi Arabia and Singapore (these 2 spring to mind).

@ GP…

Send your email to David and he should be able to forward it to me or vice versa.
    Actually, I love the winter, its the summer that I try to avoid. Spent quite a few winters in Montreal so NY is always a walk in the park…lol.

32. J
    You believe that this n that n the third. I believe that you believe that I believe that you believe de nonsense dat you spewing.
    Many a man n woman have neglected their offspring in days gone by and in this day n age also but some other family member is always there to pick up de slack. Sometimes they prove to be better ‘parents’ that the natural ones.
    So because my father didn’t support me n my other 12 siblings or whatever else example you trying to bring forward to support these heartless criminals, does that give me the right to get angry at the world for my parents negligence and turn into a monster caring little or nothing about others? Please, gimme a break please. I think that if you are mad at your parents for what you perceive as negligence, that it is dem dat you should kill n then kill yaself after, not innocent humans man.
    Wunna-all please stop looking for excuses for these vagabonds behaviour because there are none. NONEEEEEEEEEEEEE.

Tech
    I won’ mind gine fa one a dem ‘walks’ in de park wid you a’tall.

you could imagine how it would be if one a dem girls did one a my grans doe? I mean, after i help raise she from a baby, sen she school, she get a lil pick to feel she independence cause I still helpin she out and a scruffy bitch gun come n end she life just so maliciously and sumbody gun tell me bout, ‘doan hang dem, try ta reform dem n it in dem fault dat dem is criminals”. Man dat sorta argament is mek Bonny stummuck bileeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee. Wah dese people is be tinkin doe? you cud help me?

33. @ Technician
    Very perceptive as usual sir.

The argument about the death penalty being a deterrent to crime (or rather it NOT being an effective one) is a wicked red herring that is designed to mislead and deceive a gullible modern society.

Penalties are designed to serve as a PUNISHMENT for crimes in an effort to establish societal STANDARDS of behavior, morals, and ethics.

It matters NOT in the least if the death penalty does, or if it does not deter future murderers. The real point of the penalty is to establish the VALUE of human life to that society.

If we REALLY value life, then we say that the PRICE of taking one unlawfully MUST BE THE ULTIMATE.

If we listen to the modernist like J, we will be agreeing to lower the VALUE that our society places on a human life…. It is any wonder then- that the youth would say “I don’t care nothing ’bout you…”

These people mean well, but they have no understanding of the issues involved.

34. J, I disagree. One of the problemsof the scenario that you cite i.e. Trinidad, is that it is commonly thought that the T&T Police are corrupt as hell (I do not state this as fact, but as perception of the public opinion).

Hence, if the guardians are corrupt, then how can the average man respect them or the ‘law’?

Then too, some of the upper echelons of T&T are also corrupt as hell, i.e. O’Halloran et al.

Thus, the average man sees the big shots corruption and then ‘why the hell not…’

So, it is not cut and dried. I believe that if we have a strong and efficient and feared Police force, backed up by a fast justice system, then we will be on the way to limiting the breakdown, caused, as you say, by societal disregard for ethics i.e. the joyous celebrations of the various Winston Hall escapades.

Now, if you tell me a man will not be afraid of a SWAT team on his tail, if he commits a crime, I doubt that.

That said, we may have a death penalty on the books, but the criminals know that it has practically zero chance of action, due to our signing onto various traties etc, including the International Human Rights Court.

Effectively the death penalty has been abolished.

But, bear too in mind that recent sentences, apart from the death penalty, for various horrendous crimes, have been lenient, that may have some effect.

But, to keep it real, you are right, our society has fallen a l9ong way and we have no grounding in substance, instead wanting only ‘bling’ and idolising morons who prance on stage.

Well, we wanted it and we getting it, the ‘guh down’ culture’.

Guh down, right down, down dey, right down, to the gutter!

35. There will be always those who can afford to pay highpowered lawyers if and when they comit a crime. Be that as it may is not a good enough reason to abolish the death penalty. The death penalty should be and remain law as punishment for those who commit murder.There would always be people in any society who can afford the best lawyers but for the rest of law abidding citizen who depends on the Justice System to defends us against such acts of evil the judicial system is the only place we can turn to to ask for justice to be served in the appropriate manner.

36. @Bush Tea
    Very good points. I like the one about “not being a deterrent being used to mislead people” Solid as a rock, chap!
    The phrase “not being a deterrent” is not used by the average Joe; it is used by certain intellectuals.
    Indeed, the average man wants this thing introduced – certain middle class intellectuals, don’t.

37. The fellows who committed this crime should not be hanged. This is for the following reasons:
    They had a hard upbringing.
    They suffered as little children
    There was no dominant father figure to guide them.
    They were not fortunate to have a basic education
    They were abused as children
    They were unable to find work
    All doors to development were closed to them.
    They didn’t mean to commit the crime
    They are sorry
    Execution will not solve the problem
    Execution is too barbaric
    The courts may condemn the wrong persons

38. Does anyone remember the case of the murder of a taxi driver from St.Joseph some years ago? If memory serves me right, about 4 men hired a taxi to take them to St.Joseph. On reaching near their stated destination, the men pulled out weapons and ordered the driver to stop the vehicle. They robbed the driver of his cash, tied the driver up and then shot the driver in the back of the head. A clear case of murder one might say. Well no, the men were found guilty of manslaughter. One man expressed remorse and this so moved Justice Kentish that he was sentenced to 4 years imprisonment much to the surprise of even his defense attorney. On appeal (by the DPP) his sentence was increased to 8 years (I believe). To put even a finer point on things, this killer (who is still a relatively young man) should be released by now.

How naive we are as we call for the death penalty to be applied. We should first call for common sense and justice to be applied first.

39. Robert,
    Perhaps you can add that they did not intend to kill the victims. Unless it can be proved that they did, they cannot be convicted for murder.

BT, are you saying that the state should show the value it places on a human life by taking another? This makes no sense.

40. Amazingly, in the case of the taxi driver, it was somehow deduced that the killers did not intend to kill him!!!!

I am not sure what other outcome can be expected when one shoots a man in the back of the head but the Law Courts are places of incredible perceptiveness.

41. Just for the benefit of readers, the two anonymous posts @6:31 are NOT from the same person.

42. Anyone carrying a gun, cutlass, knife or bomb when committing robbery has the intent to kill. If they didn’t have intent why carry it? Just in case the person they robbed attempted to defended themselves and their property? We need to change the terms of these charges. Murder is Murder!

43. Robert,
    Perhaps you can add that they did not intend to kill the victims. Unless it can be proved that the

BT, are you saying that the state should show the value it places on a human life by taking another? This makes no sense.

By Anonymous on September 9, 2010 at 6:31 AM.

This must be the red herrings that BT alluded to…lol.

You left home with a cocktail and a sword to carry out a robbery. In performing the act, you kill 6 women…..but you didn’t mean to….wow!!

Now to twist BTs words, you imply that the state is valuing one life over the other.
    When will you people ever realise that it is called PUNISHMENT?!?
    A man get fined $850 for a $5 spliff….ridiculous you say but no one says a word..its the LAW.
    A guy loses his licence to drive for a year and is fined $950 forthwith for speeding(120km on ABC)…extravagant you say?…maybe…but its the LAW.
    Six innocent women dead in a calculated, heinous and callous act but the death penalty which is the ULTIMATE PUNISHMENT for the ULTIMATE CRIME by LAW, is wrong.

Then we wonder.

44. @Technician

The law is a sort of hocus-pocus science, that smiles in yer face while it picks yer pocket; and the glorious uncertainty of it is of mair use to the professors than the justice of it.

Charles Macklin

45. Lol Crusoe…lol

But it is what keeps us from total anarchy. ๐Ÿ˜‰

46. It is not the judges who determine whether there was an intention to kill…it is the juries…ordinary men and women like me and you untrained in law. Anon@6.31 am is right. The jury has to make the decision.

47. Sorry…my comment was to Curious NOT Crusoe.
    My apologies Mr. Crusoe sir.

48. Tech @7:32
    you always hit de nail on de head. Are you a carpenter Sir? I just luv a man dat can manoeuvre his tool well. you gotta be a carpenter. doan tink ya cud fool me uddawize.

Anonymous @ 6:31
    And if memory serves me correct, that same taxi man was to be married the same Saturday or so. Could you imagine the hurt n pain? I feel that these bitches should meet the same horrific death and the killer/s never found. Case closed. You live by de sword, nutton wrong wid dyin by um.
    And what about the fella n young girl dat killed de otha taxi man who I think was also an orderly at QEH?
    ALLLLLLLLLLLLL dese wilful, spiteful, vindictive, heartless,demonic murders want dem neck POPPINGGGGG. These were all unprovoked murders. Pop dah neck.
    Some are saying that to take a life for a murdered life is putting a price to that life. So when the state give this same murdered a lil shite time fa tekkin a life, what is that? Not putting a price to the life lost too? Man look, all de argaments dat i hear sa far dat are anti-hanging, haven’t convinced me enuff. Their agrament is sooooooooooo weak, it ain’ funny na mo. stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeee
    I agree dat if there’s the tiniest shred of evidence that can support the stay of execution, well so be it
    but if all de forensic evidence and whatevva else points to you John Doe, well, sorry boy, but ya ass is grass. Neck pop. Case close.

Bonny will shed a tear tomorro at noon for those lives lost. May they all R.I.P and their families will find comfort n solace in knowing that ‘tears endure for a night but joy cometh in the morning’. My prayers are with you all.

49. Regarding the burnt out building on # 48 Tudor St, I was very personally involved back in the early 70’s with the demolition and re-construction of that property, when the Royal Bank of Canada (RBC) decided to put a branch there, on the ground floor.

The entire old wooden building was demolished, and RBC had a very professional team reconstruct the ground floor, with the first floor housing offices, which were rented out, most to lawyers.

The land area is relatively small, approx 2,000 sq ft, therefore, all of the new building virtually occupied the entire land area. Walkes Pharmacy, to the immediate left, if facing the properties, and the other property to the right, all of the walls on either side almost touched, from a lack of proper Town & Country Planning rules in days gone by.

The wall at the back of the building was solid, right up to the first floor, that’s where the ladies rest/wash rooms, and gents rooms were located, as Walkes Pharmacy, had land that went around the Bank building, and a tenatry area was behind almost all of these properties on Tudor St, who experienced burglaries from the back from time to time.

Apart from specfic Town planning regulations at that time, which obviously did not require RBC to place an emergency exit at the back of the building, there was no way that a Bank would otherwise do this, if it was not required by T & C planning.

Naturally though, the Bank did have Fire Extinguishers placed on the corridor that led to the back of the building, very near to the two Vaults, one cash and one book vault, which, after RBC vacated the property in the early 80,s were, or could not be removed, that is the vault doors, as it takes a fork lift to assist in having them hinged, and are still, to the best of my knowledge there.

If these tenents of shops, in that area and others, who do not have a back fire exit, would just invest in a few Fire Extinguishers, and have their staff instructed in how to use them, not difficult at all, then, may be, what happend last Friday evening, might have been avoided.

50. @Zoe

Thanks for that info Zoe.

Given your intimate knowledge of the site are you saying a well trained BFS would have been hard-pressed to enter the back of the building?