The video like many is being circulated on Facebook and captures some of our young children dancing to the popular Lil Rick song Guh Down. BU notes that there are adults in the thick of things. In the words given currency by Fred R. Barnard, a picture is worth a thousand words.

When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things – King James Bible

61 responses to “Guh Down, Guh Down, Down De Toilet – The Chicks Are Coming Home To Roost”

1. Ha ha … look very much like good fun … oh but to be child again … Oh stop being wet blanket … If children want to break law and have sex at young age they do it, ..no? With or without help from little Rick … Sexuality always part of dance and culture in West (both from Europe and Africa)

2. And another true old saying, ” A berry doesn’t fall far from the tree.” If the parents are doing the Dog, what can you expect from the children? And we wonder why boys grow into men showing scant respect for our womenfolk? And many adults will soon tell you that they cannot see anything wrong in these kids behavior.

3. Wonder what Retirement home be like in seventy years time … laugh out loud (noise polution) .. ga down, ga down, Tai chi

4. All I can say is Tek body gaurd!!!Once ya mash up dat half acre between dey so…Ya kan buy it back

5. Can someone help me to understand what the problem is? All I see in the video are young Barbadians (presumably) practising the very “art form” that is our singular contribution to world civilization. Why would we expect Barbadians to be doing something that did not involve either putting something into our bellies or putting something out of our bellies? That is our African heritage I’m told. (Yet every one of my African friends find our dance expression “curious” to say the least) .

6. no, no, no, noooooooooooo, I khan condone dis sorta behaviah from dese lil youn ‘uns a’tall. Dese is bare babies man. No, no, nooooooooo. Dem lil doggies is barely enuff fa dem ta hol’ ta pee n dem playin dat dem ‘jammin’ from behind? Dem want dah lil asses cut. Too young fa dah sorta shoite. I doubt any a dem is 10yrs. yet. stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
    And I see a young ‘woman’ (not lady) in a white/dingy top, wid two big sour bresss enjoying it n skinnin she asthole mout. She gotta be mo idjit dhan de lil ‘uns.

Bonny doan play when it come ta lil young ‘uns. Not nearly.
    I does talk my shite but I does get rale cruulllll wid dis sorta ting.

7. @Bonny

Who do you think the little ones model their behaviour after?

8. What is thepoint of the video. It seems that this is a party where everyone ishaving fun . What chickens arecoming home to roast? The middle eastern form of dancing called “Belly dancing” is provocative and is not frowned upon and is called an “art” The children start learning belly dancing at an early age. Maybe we ought to learn to embrace our culture the way other countries do.

9. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Were the mixed children’s games of the 60’s and early 70’s entirely innocent? Hide and seek? “I went to Jamaica to buy brown paper”?

Let the children enjoy themselves while they can.They are only mimicking what they see on the streets from adults. Now if we listened to classical music in our living rooms more…..They’ll soon have to worry themselves sick about the economy, though.

10. David
    “When I was a child, I spake as a child……………………….”
    Plain n simple.

11. @Bosun, correct Sir!

@BAFBFP retirement home??? No, every country in the world today is facing a crisis in both its age demographic and its national pension schemes. Further, even the private pension schemes are really not ‘safe’ per se, as they depend on the stock markets for their drive and investment valuations, so could potentially be wiped out at any time.

The conclusion is that most of us will work far beyond the current retirment age of 67, even if in a reduced work situation, say three days a week.

No one can really look forward to stopping at home for years after they ‘retire’.

Unfortunately, this is exacerbated by the lack of passing on of skills and knowledge to the youth and also a worsening inflation situation vis-a-vis the cost of oil and thus resource inputs.

So, I’ll see you on the road, when we are on the way to work, at eighty plus, if we live to it.

12. @Anonymous | August 15, 2010 at 11:03 PM | and @ ac | August 16, 2010 at 5:23 AM |
    I’m with botha yuh.

I’m yet to understand why bajans tink that dem is a cut above de risk and shud be diffrunt frum womb tuh tomb. chupse. Doze of us dat grew up in de 50’s thru 60’s use tuh hah we so-call fun and it was criticize den too. Short memories?? I taut by now we wudda be honest wid urselves.

13. @Jeff

Those who did musical appreciation at school of the classics know that it is a tool used by some educators to discipline the mind. So many of a children today have the attention span of a sparrow. Don’t you know?

14. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Alas, so too do too many of our adults, David.

15. There yuh go AC ! Yuh right, leh we promote we kulcha. By the way, I don’t know if in the middle east there is consensus on belly dancing…my evidence? have you heard of a religion called Islam and one its inventions called the burqa? Google it if you want to learn more.

Jeff C please tell us about these games. These sound so thrilling. Regrettably growing up in afrosaxon, middle class Barbados in the 70s our true kulcha was still some way off to me. Dancing I am told can “express or embody ideas, emotions or tell a story”. So what are these children expressing? Do you think that it is a story, idea or feeling that they can competently and honestly speak to? Does it matter that our kulcha seems preoccupied to the exclusion of everything else with the same idea, emotion and story? Talk about a one trick pony (or is it a jackass?)

I do find your juxtaposition of our kulcha (with its unabashed preoccupation with carnality and psychotropic substances) and concern with the economy instructive if not subversive.

16. @Jeff

Now that we are agreed. Let us work together* to reorder our society.

17. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Now, David, where shall we start? Putting an end to partisan political sentiments masquerading as analysis? Or is that too difficult? How about the hypocrisy of our adults who preach one thing and do another? We’ll get to the children eventually.

18. There will always be competing groups with different value positions in the society. The tension which result is where we are now, it doesn’t recede.

To dismiss where we are now by saying ‘it use to happen in the 60’s’ or ‘let the children enjoy themselves’ is to say the sky is blue.

19. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

But where, precisely, are we, David?

And you have not answered my question as to where we should begin in our quest to “re-order society, as you put it.

20. @Jeff

There is no silver bullet, let us continue to talk. Your question is a challenging one.

21. You cannot expect something to be in the fruit if it is not in the seed! When your cultural immunity is low or virtually extinguished as a result of slavery, colonisation and now globalisation what do you expect?
    There is no genuine interest in Caribbean cultural development that goes beyond the popular limiting definitions of culture as arts & craft, food, music, clothing, etc. In the words of one of our great Caribbean cultural ambassadors, the late Pro. Rex Nettleford, ” People with real power are those who are able to make definitions about themselves on their own terms, and proceed to action on the basis of those definitions”.

Peace & blessings

22. The bottom line is, Will those who see nothing wrong in the behavior of these kids in the video,allow their own children, especially girls, to indulge in such behavior?.
    I knew a manager who indulged in propositioning new new girls to the work force,and the day his own daughter, joined the company he guarded her like a hawk.Not a fellow/shark could get hear her.
    @ Jeff in the days of Hiddy Biddy, such very close contact was few and far between,excuse the expression, and such blatant display in public did not exist. But then again I was only a country buck,who at the time thought that a condom was an apartment block.
    The main difference between Today and Yesterday, is that yesterday when we attempted to do something that was not in sync with standards of the day , we were quickly put in place.
    But today we do not have a First, Second or Third Umpire, just fans who merrily blow their vuvuzela and cheer us on,and to hell with it.

23. I am a capalist. While wunna fight over the wukup dancing> i gunna open a school called “The Bajan Arts and Culture of Wuk up Dancing” while wunna fight I making de money.

24. I hope this is not THE Jeff Cumberbatch whom I believe writes a newspaper column, and lectures at UWI. I would be rather surprised if it is, because I am always expecting a higher level of discourse from the intellects.

Quote – “Let the Children enjoy themselves while they can!”

That is stupid and irresponsible Jeff. Let them enjoy themselves, as they hurry down the road to moral degradation? And society stands by, nonchalantly making excuses just like the one you are making Jeff, seemingly oblivious that this lewd, sordid, nasty “Hypa-dog” culture, so heavily promoted by officialdom, is taking root in the impressionable fertile minds of our children. There is nothing innocent about this. Where is this taking place anyway? At a school? At a community centre? Maybe one of the summer camps?

True, it all begins in the home, and adults should be setting better examples. But why would the so-called esteemed, high profiled social commentators like you Jeff, (if it is you) be saying ignorant things like “let them enjoy themselves?”

25. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

So it is, according to you, Watchman, stupid and irresponsible to say ” let the children enjoy themselves”? And, pray tell, what did you do as a youngster when there was no prurient vid-cam to publish every move you made? Pray and play chess and do crossswords/sudoku, I feel sure? Is it now immoral to wuck-up? God help us!

26. It amazes me that posters expect more from these children. Leave them alone. What else do we want them to do? Sit still or play musical chairs to a nursery rhyme? Wukking up is what they do best. It is in their blood. There is no sense in frustrating these children by asking them to behave differently.

27. @David
    The sky will always be blueand society will always continue to change.A society whose youth is gang culutred and laden with drugs is more in danger than one whose only problem is wuking. BTW does wuking up cause youth to do any of what i mentioned

28. Dancing is all about movement . Some people get so caught up in the rhymtic aspects that it reaches their very soul to the point where they cease to be in total control. If one take a look at modernday Ballroom dancing it has become very sensuous,. Dancing is art. Just like apainter would look at an object and designed in many shapes . so is dancing especially wukup. We in barbados can take the wuk up and designed inmany ways for all to enjoy.
    We have something that we can and should be proud of . I’ll bet other societies only wish they had such rhythm.

29. Anonymous wrote on | August 16, 2010 at 8:44 AM | “By the way, I don’t know if in the middle east there is consensus on belly dancing…my evidence? have you heard of a religion called Islam and one its inventions called the burqa?”

I am not sure why people are always quoting what happens in the Middle East and portraying Middle Easterners/Muslims as paragons of virtue.

Middle Easterners are no better than are. In fact many of you would find their sexual behaviour shocking. These are after all the people who marry their daughters off as soon as they reach puberty, and sometimes even before they reach puberty, and oftentimes the marriage partner is the father’s friend, nephew or cousin cousin who is decades older than the bride, these are societies in which first birth invaribly takes place in the mid to late teens, these are societies in which ALL teenage girls are having sex oftentimes with men who are much older than they are, these are societies in which men routinely have multiple sexual partners, these are societies in which women routinely do NOT take part in public worship. These are societies in which marriage to first cousins is the norm. These are societies in which women spend so little time outdoors and receive so little sunshine that Somalia followed by Saudi Arabia has the highest rates of vitimin related D birth defects in the world, these are societies which keep European and North American doctors “restoring” the virginity of teenage girls so that they can bleed on the marriage bed. When will we learn that plentyof [oil] money can cover up a multiplicity of sins? When will learn that wearing a burqua does not make a girl virtuous and wukkin’ up does NOT make her promiscous?

30. Is this what Anonymouus oAugust 16, 2010 at 8:44 AM is onnging for?

From today’s New York Times “The Taliban on Sunday ordered their first public executions by stoning since their fall from power nine years ago, killing a young couple who had unsuccessfully tried to elope, according to Afghan officials and an eyewitness. ..The punishment was carried out by hundreds of the victims’ neighbors and even their family members in a village in northern Kunduz Province, according to Nadir Khan, 40, a local farmer and Taliban sympathizer, who was interviewed by telephone. As a Taliban mullah prepared to read the judgment of a religious “court,” Mr. Khan said the lovers, a 25-year-old man named Khayyam and a 19-year-old woman named Siddiqa, defiantly confessed in public to their relationship. “They said, ‘We love each other no matter what happens,’ ” Mr. Khan said. ..Perhaps most worrisome were signs of support for the action from mainstream religious authorities in Afghanistan. The head of the Ulema Council in Kunduz Province, Mawlawi Abdul Yaqub, interviewed by telephone, said Monday that stoning to death was the appropriate punishment for an illegal sexual relationship, although he declined to give his view on this particular case. .. less than a week earlier, the national Ulema Council brought together 350 religious scholars in a meeting with government religious officials, who issued a joint statement Aug. 10 calling for MORE PUNISHMENT under Shariah, apparently referring to stoning, AMPUTATIONS and lashings. ..Failure to implement such “Islamic provisions,” the council statement said, was hindering the peace process and encouraging crime.

If our mothers, wives and daughters were stoned for their fornications and adulteries how many of us would have an intact family left?

31. J
    but they embrace ‘belly dancing” in the middle east, don’t they? AC say so!

32. Listen Jeff. What I am seeing goes way beyond just wukking up. The Nation’s children , some looking as young as seven years old, are simulating sexual intercourse like dogs behind each other in heat, and you are saying Let them enjoy themselves. Your making ignorant references to comparatively innocent games of a long gone era will do absolutely nothing to help solve this very serious situation.

Do you have children Jeff, and would you be in agreement if you saw them enjoying themselves in the manner depicted in that Hypa Dog video? Would you similarly enjoy such disgraceful activities performed publicly with no shame? Answer me Jeff.

33. @Watchman
    I used to see me grannie wuking up when she turning de coucou. She tell me it make de cocou smoother. Now ! Wuh yu say bout dat!

34. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Watchman,

They are not simulating sexual intercourse except in your twisted prudish mind. They are simulating the behaviour of the adults who dance like that to that kind of music. It looks like sex, but is really no different to the “rudeness” we tried at their age. You doth protest too much.

If I saw my children dancing like that, I would simply wonder where they had learnt to do it, but I do not think it would make them bad persons or make me love them less.

35. Help
    Can somebody please post a video of belly dancing for me on the thread

36. @Jeff Cumberbatch
    Who are you kidding. What part of a little boy doing dog strokes on the back of a little girl, which everyone knows is a sexual movement, part of little kids enjoying themselves. They are enjoying themselves but do not know what they are doing and what that so called provocative dance depicts. You saw the other little boy trying to get under the other little girl whilst he do we culture. The kids certainly are enjoyng themselves but if you call this dance or culture by George you should be put across table of and get ya ass cut like a little child. Joker!!!

37. @ac Here you are, Belly Dancing

38. You crowned one the soca queen and all she ever sings about is wukking up but she represents Barbados all over the world so all is well. Another one is exposing her crotch, ass and breasts all over the world and she is an ambassador.

You have nothing to say about the half naked young girls who lime every night near the Garrison, or about the older men that “befriend” nightly. You see nothing wrong with the police force, allowing persons of dubious gender, to loiter on the streets in the immediate vicinity of the new justice centre and their own central station late at night, after constantly insisting that youngsters move and keep moving earlier that same day.

Of course you have nothing to say about the numerous private events held every week in Barbados, where the scheduled activities makes the above video seem like a Sunday school Christmas rehearsal.

You see nothing immoral in the GOB allowing a thousand and one games of chances to be offered to poor people, some for as little as fifty cents, while the boys on the block have to hide the pool every time the “task force” drive by.

You have a lot to say about Vybz and Mavado but absolutely adore the local DJs who play their music while promoting your products .

Is it any wonder that for every church that is opened in Barbados, there are two or more rumshops .

39. @Nationalist

I prefer oriental belly dancing. Not a good try!Try again

40. Moderator please delete the above if possible. Maybe this one will work.

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YamDoDK71Ds&fs=1&hl=en_US&rel=0]

41. belly dancer

Tabla solo: Watch on youtube

42. Look . People don’t cut off their noses to spoil their face. Even though the movement of bell dancing is sexual and provocative it is a worldwide phenonom that has excited people who has made a living doing so legally . We in Barbados need to use the same kind of thinking that would give the tourist another reason to come here. Enchance our dancing make it beautiful. Don’t let a few rotten apples spoil the whole barell. Thanks Hipocrite. But i still want to see The belly dancer Aisha from Greece she is very good.

43. Thank you for giving me a new interest.
    [youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mjb8p_mOvE8&fs=1&hl=en_US&rel=0]

44. Hypo Critter | wrote on August 16, 2010 at 9:53 PM |
    You have nothing to say about the half naked young girls who lime every night near the Garrison, or about the older men that “befriend” nightly… You see nothing wrong with the police force, allowing persons of dubious gender, to loiter on the streets in the immediate vicinity of the new justice centre and their own central station late at night. Is it any wonder that for every church that is opened in Barbados, there are two or more rumshops .”

But all of these things have been so for hundreds of years especially the prostitution near the Garrison and elsewhere, the more rumshops than churches, and the homosexuality and homosexual prostitution.

ALL of us on this blog born and find it so , and ALL of us on this blog will die and leave it so.

45. Oft times, it is not what we say but how it is said, the same can be said for what we do.
    If one of my grans was invited to a b’day party or any other social gathering for that matter and I popped up unexpectedly and found a youngster pun she wukkin up sa stink n seductive, man all hell would brek loose. Dem would got ta call de ‘mental van’ fa me when I done wid he scunt and hers too and whoevva hosting de party. I doan k wah nabody sah, we as adults got to protect these lil ‘uns from demselves. doan tell me na shite bout culture, nor dem copying it from adults. When my children were young, I set de blasted rules fa dem ta follow or suffa de fate of disobeying. So ‘wunna-all’ ( my supervisor favourite word) telling me then, that if my children see me drinking alcohol when they were young, that they had de right to go n open my fridge n help demself to a beer or two? Somebody help ma hay wid de logic that these kids only repeating wha dem see de adults doing.

“When i was a child, I spake as a child…………….”

Bosun
    My birt-day is nex week. Ya got ample time ta chill de lil wine n get de cake reddy. (all we gun got on dah nite is de radio) wuhlosssssssss

46. @J…….. Looks like you have a busy schedule at nights. Checking the Bush at Bush Hill and the Lady Boys around the Judicial Centre.
    Do you toss a coin?

47. @Bonny

Wuh yuh want fuh de birthday A wuk dance Group od de belly dancer. or de male stripper!Come on now be honest!

48. ac
    Oh lawddddddddddddddd, de mere mention of de ‘male-strippa’ gih my tong(ue) a hard-on. ayeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.aahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

49. @Bonny

girl yuh wild……………….but i’ll see if i cud work out sumetin fuh yuh. OK.
    Need to know de day!

50. ac
    I does celebrate de whole munt a Awgus chile. Not de actual day. De whole munt.
    murthaaaaaaaaaa, a boy dedd.