Submitted by Bajan Truth

Marilyn Rice-Bowen, sacked NHC Chairperson – Photo credit: Nation Newspaper

Sage advice from the acting P.M. Freundel Stuart about the wisdom of putting โ€˜vulnerableโ€™ persons in the way of temptation.ย  The remarks by Marilyn Rice โ€“Bowen raises questions about commitment of the Minister to the promises of the manifesto; it raises questions about what possible deals may have prompted the Minister to plough ahead and give contracts without due process; it raises questions about the regard the DLP has for small black businesses; it raises issues of transparency, integrity, honesty and accountability.

It is appalling that two years later after the promise of change, honesty and accountability that today we the nation of Barbados have strong reasons to doubt the integrity of ministers of its government, who came to office on the strength of corruption on the other side, and a promise of transparency and honesty with legislation to back it up.ย  When challenged about commenting on Marilyn Rice-Bowenโ€™s allegation the Minister declines to comment.

The broken promises were disappointing, the incompetence disheartening but the dread spectre of possible corruption in less than three years and by the golden boy,ย  just fuels my fury. All of this after week by week of accusing the other administration, now this.ย  Here is Marilynโ€™s press statement in whole.

PRESS STATEMENT

This statement is designed to set the record straight as regards my termination as Chairman of the board of the National Housing Corporation.

When I willingly accepted the role of Chairmanย  of National Housing Corporation in December 2008, I viewed the position as an excellent opportunity to broaden my service within the community through alleviating many of societyโ€™s ills that are rooted in the twin issues of inadequate housing and overcrowding.

Despite my social intent, unfortunately there were fundamental differences between the Minister of Housing and Lands and the Board in terms of our interpretation of established rules and protocols, as well as the role and function of the Board in respect of all NHC projects.ย  The established rule is that in respect of all NHC funded projects the Board recommends and the minister is free to accept or reject any such recommendation. Regrettably, in some instances, the Board was never accorded the opportunity to give due or any consideration to and/or make the appropriate recommendation in respect of some NHC projects.ย  This attitude and disposition on the part of the Minister ultimately led to an impasse between the Minister and me and ultimately, my termination as chairman of the Board.ย  Case in point work at Fordeโ€™s Road, Clapham, St. Michael.

Prior to my termination and as a result of the said impasse already referred to, I considered resigning on several occasions but felt that I owed it to Prime Minister, the Hon. David Thompson, who was instrumental in my appointment, as well as my commitment to the cause of social justice, to persevere in what was fast becoming an impossible situation, in the hope and expectation that the matter wouldย  be resolved amicably.ย  Sadly this was not to be and I exited the Board on July 31st, 2010.

Whereas some strides were made under my stewardship at the NHC, I leave somewhat disappointed that certain issues were not adequately addressed, for example, the awarding of contracts to small contractors.ย  I feel passionately about this issue given my direct dialogue with many small contractors, many of whom are on the brink of failure.ย  I have repeatedly sought without success, to persuade the Minister to buy into the concept outlined in the DLP manifesto of awarding a far greater portion ofย  NHC contracts to small contractors.

Additionally, I leave with the knowledge that despite my best efforts and alerts, I could not ensure that a contract be put in place with the contractors, CLICO Holdings, re: the ongoing work at Constant, St. George.

The experience I gained as Chairman of national Housing Corporation will be forever etched in my mind.ย  Hence I wish to extend sincere gratitude to the Board, as well as the Management and Staff for your cooperation.

I also wish to take this opportunity to publicly thank all well wishers for their notes and calls of encouragement.ย  To my clients and policyholders, the YWCA sisters and our many sponsors, rest assured of my adherence to the highest standards of professional responsibility.

To date I have not received any direct or indirect explanation as to the root cause of my termination as Chairman, nor have I received any prior warning.ย  In the absence thereof, I can only conclude that my termination was due to my interpretation of and strict adherence to established rules and protocols.ย  If so, then I leave with my head high as a proud and principled Former Chairman of the National Housing Corporation.

Signed:ย  Marilyn Rice-Bowen

There are a number of questions that the Minister needs to answer:

1. Is it true that land sold to Bjorn Bjerkham to build houses for Bajans was sold under theย ย ย ย ย ย  marketย  price at $3.00 per square foot, yet houses sold at over 200,000 and 300,000 dollars?
  2. Is it true that the mortgages are inflated to include a furniture package of 40,000 which by the end of the mortgage will increase the total cost to 600,000.00?
  3. Is it true that the furniture was imported bypassing Bajan manufacturers?
  4. Is it true that the Minister is being flown on the jet to Miami provided courtesy of Bjorn Bjerkham?
  5. Is it true that the minister received 5000 โ€“ 10,000 on each house from persons awarded contracts?
  6. Is the minister upholding the manifesto promises to promote the interests of small businesses or could the minister possibly explain why small contractors were dismissed in favour of large business?
  7. Has the DLP gone to the dogs?

This on top of the issue of the incompetent management of the economy; Mr. Lowe, Pickering, and more revelations apparently to come, requires further investigation. David we leave it to you to find out about these new matters, I only have one side as passed on to me and the facts are needed to ascertain their veracity.ย  This was passed to me.ย  I feel it requires discussion and our investigation.

142 responses to “The Rice-Bowen National Housing Corporation Eruption”

1. Marilyn Rice-Bowen is known as a no nonsense kind of woman. Her position merits more than a no comment from Minister Lashley. The DLP promised transparency, here is an opportunity to practice it. If we had FOI we could ask for the documentation. The point is however, a transparent DLP government does not need the legislation to practice what they have been preaching and should we say it? What was promised on the political platform.

2. The other point to be made now that Rice-Bowen has resigned amidst the accusations etc is what about the other Board Members? Yes they are political appointments but if the sacked Chairperson can be supported by the facts plain as day shouldnโ€™t the other Board members feel duty bound to resign. Sorry for asking, resigning on principle doesnโ€™t happen in Barbados does it.

For your info here are the other Board Members:

Ms. Marilyn Rice-Bowen  – Chairman

Mr. Anthony Wiltshire – Deputy Chairman

Mr. Anselm Rogers – Member

Mr. Junior Inniss – Member

Mr. David Daisley – Member

Ms. Sandra O Forde – Member

Mr. Geoffrey Griffith –Member

Mr. John Jones – Member

Mr. Richard Watson –Member

Mr. Neville Lewis – Member

Mrs. Gillian Alleyne – Member

Ms. Fiona Goodridge – Board Secretary (acting)

3. MENDOZA:ย  I am a brigand: I live by robbing the rich.

TANNER:ย  I am a gentleman: I live by robbing the poor.

-George Bernard Shaw

4. We will have to wait and see how the Minister of Housing responds to the accusations that have been made against him by Ms. Bowen. I was somewhat amused, but actually more a bit concerned, that the Barbados Advocate in its report of this story in the Sunday papers described the problem as one between the NHC Board and the MinisTRY of Housing as opposed to a problem between the NHC Board and the MinisTER of Housing. It was clear to me from listening to and reading the statement of Ms. Bowen that her comments reflected the latter situation. The Advocate may have been concerned about libel issues, but as they had a written statement which was read by Ms. Bowen which provides what are only allegations at this point against the Minister, I would think that they could get around that by reporting that certain allegations were made against the MinisTER without necessarily specifying what they were. One therefore wonders why the Advocate felt the need to alter the story which changed how the substance of this matter was conveyed.

5. One wonders if Rice-Bowen was sacked by Minister Lashley without* consultation with Cabinet. It appears the Act gives him solo power but courtesy wise there is that question. If he did consult what would have been his case? It is highly unusual that Minister Lashley would fire Rice-Bowen given her reference to the fact she was recommended by Prime Minister Thompson. Interesting indeed.

6. He will cause the DLP to lose elections next toss. wait and see. He will win back his seat but the DLP will still lose. wait and see

7. Donald Duck Esq, Avatar
    Donald Duck Esq,

the minister should be sacked.

8. (from Barbados free press)GANGSTERS AND DRUG PUSHERS GETTING HOUSING CONTRACTS WITH THE NHC, NO WONDER THERE IS WAS A RIFT BETWEEN THE MINISTER AND THE BOARD. MINISTER OF HOUSING DOING NON-SENSE, THE FIRST THING HE COULD FIND TO DO UPON BECOMING MINISTER OF HOUSING WAS TO TAKE A PRIVATE JET RIDE WITH BJERKHAMN AND MORSE (VILLAGES, FLORIDA), ALL EXPENSES PAID. HE WAS WINED AND DINED AND EVEN ASKED IF THEY WOULD BUY HIM A PLASMA TV TO REPLACE HIS BOX TV.

The above is TRUE.

9. DLP has one thing to boast of, that is teh houses they are building but only thing is that the minister is too corrupt. In his quick attempt to become a millionaire, he will cause the DLP to lose. Why couldnt he take 14 years to be a millionaire like the BLP ministers. It is a case of the lesser of 2 evils. In my opinion BLP is the lesser evil.

Housing Minister’s name is Wuk 4 Wuk. see how many young girls he f…ing and then they get jobs and houses. He has all of them employed at NHC. Journalists please do your job.

10. So far the Minister has received good press as one who seems to get things done, but he canโ€™t fire the Chair of a Statutory board and escape with a โ€œno commentโ€ statement.

BTW didnโ€™t the previous Chair โ€œJuniorโ€ Allsopp also resign?

Hmmmmnnn

11. The termination of Marilyn Rice-Bowen as Chairperson of the National Housing Corporation Board, reminds us of how Mr. Patrick King’s relatively short tenure at the National Conservation Commission (NCC) was also terminated a couple of months ago by the board at the NCC – with no reason having been given for the termination, and no notice having been given of it.

Just like Ms Rice-Bowen, Mr. King seemed to have been a thorn in the side of another minister – this time the Environment Minister, Dennis Lowe.

Where both of them are concerned however, it is clear that they would have stuck strongly to principle and uprightness in the shadows of a strange politics that is now snaking its way through the corridors of this DLP government.

And, yes, both would have paid the price for having practiced their own right to freedom of beliefs, consciences, and for holding dearly to their own convictions during their respective stints at the respective statutory corporations.

But, by their knowingly agreeably putting themselves in the middle of the sea of deceptive and lying and manipulative governmental politics, and fighting still against a diseased order to uphold ideals of integrity, accountability and disciplined politics, would have meant that inevitably somethings/some persons had to give, and so Ms Rice Bowen and Mr. King were tossed to the sharks.

And they are NOT the only ones to have been treated so shabbily, for there are surely some others of these characteristics who would have been done so since this DLP Government came to office in 2008, and for sure too there were so many people who would have made to suffer the same fate under the last BLP Government.

Can anyone imagine Mr. Dennis “the Menace” Lowe instructing Mr. King not to go down Bolton Lane and lime with the fellows there, once King had become a personal aide to the Minister in 2008, and Mr. King having to seriously protest against such??? Our Goshess!!!

Too, it must NOT go without saying that some time ago – perhaps about in 2007 – a couple of members of our party did have a conversation with the said Marilyn Rice Bowen at the Greame Hall Nature Sanctuary – after her faliure to become the DLP’s candidate for St. Michael West Central Constituency in the 2008 election, and during the course of this conversation, they remembered being told by her then that she was finished with national politics.

Up came the 2008 election. Then lo and behold they and the wider party were shocked to see that after this 2008 election the same Marilyn Rice-Bowen, big HAT and all – was made Chairperson of the NHC Board under Minister Lashley.

What a reconversion it must have been!!!

Moreover, we have the following to say to anyone that is reading this PDC missive, esp. political newcomers – that despite the fact that Rice-Bowen and King were – in those instances – treated very badly by a few individuals within this old stupid rotten DLP faction, the major lessons to be gleaned from the experiences of these two individuals are that it really makes NO sense whatsoever that you or any one else with their virtuous selves would be going and joining or remaining part of the DLP/BLP to fight to overturn a most entrenched cannibalistic, dog eat dog, corrupt venal politics found within them, unless you or they wish or wished nevertheless yourselves themselves in the first place or some way along to be part of that culture, mainly to quietly gain from any material or financial benefits from it, until when then once you or they become established enough, there comes a time when it rages and lounges at you or them with fangs sharpened at anything barely sufficiently harmful or threatening to it, owing to what you or they might have said or done too ambitiously, and then having almost having been devoured and mauled, but terribly injured, you or they later appear to turn to many members of the public for sympathy, with whatever contrived statements/utterances you or they make, or in those latter instances where it would be found that sections of the media would take what you or they have said and make you or them look pitied pitiful for their own or some others’ political purposes. Our Goshessss!!!!Poor souls!!!

But, please, do not say that you have NOT been been warned by us!!

And, too, whereas Mr. King will surely truly get our sympathy because he did so much to help get Lowe elected in 2007, when Lowe was in the Opposition – calling the call in programs – canvassing hard for that political blight in Gibbons Boggs, Charnocks, Parish Land, day and night, etc., Ms Rice-Bowen CANNOT and WILL NOT get our sympathy simply because she knew or ought to have known exactly what she was getting into having told our members what was her position in perhaps 2007.

Finally, it really makes far better sense if any person that believes in bringing about serious change in the politics of this country to go and form their own serious people centered national developmentalist parties – rather than going and joining or remaining with these two old musty backward and inhumane DLP/BLP factions. It really does!!

So, Down with the Damned DLP and the Blasted BLP!!!

12. Ms Rice-Bowen should also acknowledge that many of the housing projects now being done were actually planned by the previous BLP administration. However, I find the association between Bjerkham and this DLP administration instructive of the saying “the more things change, the more they remain the same.”

I am told that Mr Bjerkham was so close to the former PM Arthur that he was one of the few non-family persons that was invited to Arthur’s wedding! Isn’t Mr Bjerkham one of the persons that BU stated in July 2008 that it wanted to try in the court of public opinion for the rape of the west coast of Barbados?

see: http://bajan.wordpress.com/2008/06/15/west-coast-barbados-real-estate/

On that same thread, over year after the initial post, a David on 10 October, 2010 had this to ask:

“Under the former government the economic philosophy was let land fetch its highest economic value, is it the same of the current government? Have we seen any change in policy you think?”

13. Awful. I hope David Thompson returns soon to clean up this mess. He can start with a good spring cleaning of the Cabinet room. M. Lashley = Fail. Lowe = Fail. Stuart = Pass. J. Boyce = Pass. D. Boyce = FAILURE. Sinkler = Pass. Sealy = PASS. Jones = Pass. S. Lashley = Pass. Suckoo = Kinda Pass. Inniss = Pass. Estwick = Pass. Benn = Fail. Blackett = Fail. Hutson = Pass. McClean = Pass.

14. There seems to be more in the mortar than the pestle………………check with former Senator Peter Millington. Wasn’t he a another sudden casualty not too long ago?

15. The Deputy Chairman of the NHC is going to sit quietly like a good little boy and hope to either be appointed Chairman or at least to be spared the rath of the Minister. One must remember he was on the private jet rides with the Minister, Bjerkhamn and Morse.

16. Let us understand this matter good. Are you saying despite the hullabaloo when PM Thompson flew on CLICO’s jet Lashley has ignored all good sense by doing same? Ignoring the conflicts which exist?

17. From East I be respectful of others, very very respectful.. so therefore no temptation to laugh at comments to day… I be friendly with everybody…!

It very clear in my corner that allocation of contract at epicenter of democratic elections in West ..no? Change process and expose contributors to political party ..no? Contractor pay party to cover expense of party, party pay Starcom to use facility to get support of people, party win election and pay back Contractor with tax payer money…

We in East have no problem with process.. we help party out too ..no?

In East, Election not considered, so no Starcom and no payback of contractor ..no?

Democracy nice English word, but without contractor, no English meaning..no?

18. Talk-your-talk Marilyn. And do not let Michael Lashley dismiss you, who he think he is. There are rules and precedents. Stand up for what is right. It is about time that these men who in their 40s and still have to listen to mother’s every word can then attempt to trample other women who want to stand on principle. Say it as it is Marilyn, while DT may listen, the truth is that Barbadians will listen to you. Ask Undene Whittaker if you doubt me.

19. Bajan Truth

My intelligent agent based on best information available say that David Ellis try to spin you in circles and in end was glad not to continue conversation after news break… We from East very proud of effort today.. very good English.. Ellis stunts not phase you .. ho ho.. really very proud ..no?

20. I remember attending a DLP political meeting in Spooner Hill when Stuart said, ‘a hungry man should not be left to watch the pot’. I think it is time and more voters in this country realise that WE HAVE TO WATCH OUR POT. We definitely need to insist on integrity legislation, if this gov’t does not do it, we need to holler hard and long that the next one must do it. We need a list of must have changes to break through this corruption that engulfs politicians and the civil service too. We have the blocking of the first bill of integrity legislation under Adams, by the then DLP in opposition; drawing up of draft legislation for Integrity legislation by BLP, did not reach parliament, we now have DLP promising the legislation in a 100 days. Ain’t see it yet more than 970 days later. They probably went back to drawing board, cause we ain’t see it yet. My list of MUST HAVES are -Contractor-General, FOI, Integrity legislation, campaign financing.

21. Important Message Avatar
    Important Message

AIDS WARNING !

To all of you approaching 50 or have REACHED 50 and past, this email is especially for you……… ….

SENIOR CITIZENS ARE THE NATION’S LEADING CARRIERS OF AIDS!

HEARING AIDS

BAND AIDS

GARDENING AIDS

WALKING AIDS

MEDICAL AIDS

GOVERNMENT AIDS

MOST OF ALL,

MONETARY AID TO THEIR KIDS!

Not forgetting HIV (Hair is Vanishing)

and

AIDS: Acute income deficiency syndrome

22. Goodness… is so scarce

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BAJAN TRUTH

“We definitely need to insist on integrity legislation”

Is this not closing the stable door after the horse has got out? After the Barbados Labour Party stole so much, you now “insist on integrity legislation”?
    Don’t make me laugh. I have always maintained that the Barbados Labour Party members and supporters have no shame. Your statements only reinforce that notion.

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Marilyn Rice-Bowen is not the first person nor will she be the last person to be
    sacked.
    When Owen was in power he sacked Liz, he sacked a Central Governor among
    countless other people.
    This is nothing new. You come one day, and you go one day. That is life.

25. @ Carson Cadogan

It is people like you who obviously have your head so deep in the trough, that you resent being disturbed to allow your snout to come up long enough to get air, think and see that there are some things that are beyond partisan politics, and are in the national interest. Ms. Rice has made some serious statements that cannot go unanswered. No self-respecting Barbadian could feel that it is just a matter of someone being fired, it is what she was fired for, and it is what she has revealed that should command our attention even that of a political moron like you. She is indicating serious impropriety on the part of a minister who has charge over 100’s of millions of dollars of taxpayer’s money. Allegations that pierce to the core of the DLp manifesto and campaign slogans – corruption, integrity and small black man.

I work for my money, I don’t feed at any political trough, so I will speak as I see it, and shoot form the hip. This DLP lot seem determined in their headlong rush to knock over the last moorings of Mr. Barrow’s party. Even if you could prove your argument, the only excuse you can offer is that somebody do it already, so the country should let this lot do it again.
    How are we going forward with the Lowes and the Lashley’s, contraband Liquour, and now freeing up to casino gambling. Is there no line that the DEES will draw? Meanwhile the economy sinking.

26. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BAJAN TRUTH

The most” serious impropriety” that I see is the fact that the DLP people have not
    learned from the BLP a simple fact, don’t wash your dirty laundry in public.

27. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Marilyn obviously does not watch cop movies. Otherwise she would be aware of,
    “you have the right to remain silent, if you give up the right to remain silent
    anything you say can and will be used against you”.

We all have skeletons in our closets. Talk what you like about the Barbados
    Labour Party, if it is one thing that they know very well it is how to keep their
    bloody mouth shut.

28. lol @important message

dlp will lose next elections
    dont blame lashley

29. Carson C. Cadogan not serious person..

We here to make friendly with everyone and speak with serious people… Not serious people should listen more.. talk less.. no?

30. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BAJAN TRUTH
    I can assure you that if Marilyn Rice-Bowen was chairman, chairperson or
    whatever the hell she was, under a Barbados Labour Party administration and she
    was removed we would not have had any type of press conference.

It would have been none of your business. Not under Owen.

31. crabs in a buket turn th eheat up u have a meal

32. So after all is said and done, we reach the conclusion that frightens us more than anything. All politicians and governments are the same. All bound to “steal” or use the public (and private) purses to their advantage. No matter who’s leading, it’ll be the same. Just that some are better at hiding it than others. Without accountability this is just one of many sad days for Barbadian society and its young people.

33. @Observing
    Indeed. I have been saying the same for sometime. We have the political class who are members of the two main parties where they pretend a vague difference. They are all the same, vying for control of power from which they fatten themselves. This compounded by a system that is circular regarding ultimate responsibility. The PM cannot make changes that would negatively affect members of parliament. To do so is to be careless with the loyalty he enjoys and whence he becomes the PM. Being first amongst is his equals means that he had better watch how he treats to them otherwise he could cease to be first.

It is left up to the people to agitate for change to our system where we can place a popular vote for the person who shall be the Prime Minister and leader of the country. Until we have a leader that is accountable unto us as a result of gaining his place through our vote we will never have the kind of change that is needed.

To force this issue we must convince a majority of voter citizens to recycle these bastards every 5 years.

34. Carson C Cadogan
    You are not doing a good job in defending the members of DLP. You are saying that they should do like the BLP and keep quiet. That is so ridiculous.
    I agree with you that the BLP was very good at keeping information from the population. The majority of the same population voted them out and placed the DLP in office on the promise of Integrity legislation and freedom of information legislation.
    If those pieces of legislation are not put in place soon, the DLP will be back in opposition because Barbadians are not going to allow politicians to get away with that foolishness again.
    It may not be the BLP to get back in office but a group of Barbadians who will come together to put real integrity back into public life.

35. Do any of you honestly believe the DLP with their psuedo articulations of being squeaky clean will miss out on the opportunity to hoard riches? I have no proof but with a little investigative work by persons who are not afraid to victimization tactics and who are obviously not bought with prides, I bet dirt can be dugged up implicating the same said minister or any minister with wrong doing. It is common knowledge in Barbados that any worker who adheres to rules and regulations in the government service will be severely rediculed, belittled, victimized and propagandized for their principles. The crooks and vagabonds masquerading as servants of the people are out to get what they can get for themselves. BLP or DLP all is the same shite!!!

36. Ah ha… Any new political party need funding.. unless you be Henry Ross Perot..no?
    Funding come from contractor ..no?

Democracy very very flawed system… you never get away from contractor… No Contractor General, only talk..no?

Perhaps we in East lead the way ..no?

37. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

FAIRPLAY
    “If those pieces of legislation are not put in place soon, the DLP will be back in opposition”

…and who will replace them? Not the crooked Barbados Labour Party? Surely you do not believe the PDC will form a Government anytime soon in Barbados.

We all known the track record of the Barbados Labour Party when it comes to plundering the Barbados Treasury!

38. Dodds is a brand new prison that should be christened by somebody of importance. I am frustrated that DLP did not come up with the evidence on Bees, so I can only conclude that there is no real case to answer; or there is some damn negligence and complicity. We have to get serious. if we are going to cut out the corruption, I propose the following:-

Campaign financing of 20 milion dollars would have to be cheaper than teefing by five year terms – enough to campaign and respond to peoples needs – don’t have to be subject to financiers etc, If financiers wish to contribute they can but the politician does not have to be beholden to them.

Strange as this may seem, pay them better, commensurate with private sector equals, it will keep them from having to accept money from the piranhas; and it will attract a batter quality politician because the ones who are okay financially take a serious income cut when they come to office and have serious financial difficulties after, so more vulnerable to teefing and being bought. Very few people are willing to jeopardise children’s future and retirement for ungrateful,cuss yuh citizens.

Contactor-general to scrutine contracts and monitor tenders etc to safeguard our money pot, so somebody could get lock up.

All this in addition to integrity legislation and FOI .

39. Anybody that could think that Marilyn Rice-Bowen is wrong and should shut up, are termites of integrity. People like her on all sides and no sides need to speak out, this is our country that we have to leave for our children and retire in. Ms. Rice does not deserve criticism or ostracism, only if we find out she lie, and scandal a blamesless man. You mean we don’t have enough balls to say well yes I question this situation, and if it is proven true that we need to do something about? These allegations have not come from an opponent, it has not come from somene who is not in a position to know and have facts; it is not coming from the opposition trying to gain political advantage by spreading unsubstantiated rumor and scandal and no facts.

40. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BAJAN TRUTH | August 9, 2010 at 6:11 PM |

We agree on something else. Your comments at 6.11 PM are spot on.

41. My my.. two people arguing about impossibles… What new for Democracy..

Ha ha .. Calypso very funny exercise.. Year after year complain for same thing…My intelligent agent inform that Calypso never change thing in region, other than Tom Adams regime in mid eighties.. but calypsonian still sing about same damn thing year after year..no? Price gone up (nobody sing about US printing money), Politician not keeping promise (nobody sing about promise to contractor) Sing sing sing and beat each other up on who win crown..no?

Democracy good system ..no? Keep contractor in business and keep calypsonian in business … no? Talk talk talk.. no change damn thing…
    (Not very nice, I be friendly with everybody ..)

42. David, why does this blog look so strange and uninviting?

What has gone wrong here?

We are here spraining our eyes to read many of the last blogs of commenters, too.

This background colour even hurts our eyes even more.

This format with the text in the middle, with the highlights of the most recent posts, popular articles, voice of the people, etc. all to the left side of the page, and with those picture like images to the right side of the page, just is not cutting it.

Can you revert to the format before this one that worked for so long?

Or could you try something else new that is far more palatable and aesthetically pleasing?

43. Ministers look for persons who can get things done and are willing to “play”. Board members and public servants who will not go along with the corruption are ostracized. Minister who previously could barely support themselves suddenly get nice cars and houses.

What is perhaps most ridiculous, the sycophants make politicians of average intelligence into geniuses. The politicians in turn then decide who is bright and who is not. For the most part both the politicians and the senior public servants are mediocre.

To the senior public servants that do the ministers’ bidding to get promotions and accolades from the stupid ministers and believe that you are actually bright, I say do something worthwhile for your pay and look after the interest of Barbados and not the politicians.

44. Marilyn Bowen has been dealt a raw deal and I admire her ability to have lasted that long on the NHC board.However you got to know when to hold,
    know when to walk away know when to run.You never count your money while sitting at the table,they will be time enough for counting, when the dealing’s done!Kenny R ogers say so.In the mean time keep 2 pun 10.

45. There must be more to this matter.

Minister Lashley can’t be this dumb.

46. Ha Ha BU David sound now like VOB David..Ha ha..

By and way,, PDC make very good point.. shortest piece ever by PDC, and PDC make best point of blog… BU page look like made in Taiwan ..no?

47. The final result of settling for something is that it eventually returns to zero or the lowest point. I await the return of Prmie Minister thompson as this two month break has clearly demonstrated to me, he is the heart, the soul and the glue that holds everything together in this administration. I suspect his reappearance will be shortly, mop in one hand, pine sol in the other (maybe jayes fluid). I can see him now heading up to the Cabinet room and opening the blinds and letting, sunshine the best disinfectant, in before he starts mopping the floors, the walls and the windows.

48. Why change the BU wordpress theme. This blog is digusting now. we cud as well go to barbadosfreepress.

49. Off topic, but I welcome the new (v.2) format.
    My right index was calloused through scrolling down the previously read blogs to get to the latest comments.
    For regular readers I would think Voice of the People should be at the top of the left hand column, but hey it’s your blog David, do what you want.
    Nice to see a 40% increase in hits these last three months.
    Keep on doing the right thing, letting the Voice of the People speak out clearly, with no moderation, except the counter arguments of the dissenters, freely expressed.
    True democracy at work in real time.
    Congrats on your excellent blog for the betterment of our country.

50. @I-Witness

Wordprerss stopped supporting the old Theme yesterday. What is it you don’t like?

Post suggestions to the Suggestion Box and BU will try to make as many happy as we can.