For the soul is dead that slumbers,
And things are not what they seem.
A Psalm of Life

Hartley Henry – Principal Political Advisor to the Hon. Prime Minister

MY first instinct this week is to comment on the response by National Housing Corporation Chairman Marilyn Rice-Bowen to the revocation of her appointment as Chairman. I will get there. But before I do, let me return to the important issue of the Pickering development in St.Lucy because I don’t think that as the intent, strategy and obviously desired outcome that former Prime Minister Owen Arthur longs for become much more pellucid we should let such an issue go.

It actually stands at the heart of the difference between the Barbados Labour Party and the Democratic Labour Party led by David Thompson at this time in our history. I have already pointed out that, in my view, the people who are spear-heading the St. Lucy development were never within the development strategy of the last BLP-government. The previous government never had any faith in the ability of ordinary barefoot Barbadians citizens to attract large investments or sustain them.

That is why, if you check it carefully, you will see that apart from some carefully stage-managed “interventions” and the publicity stunts of the son-of-a-shop-keeper to save Sam Lords Castle and Julie N’, precious little fundamentally changed. There was no depth of commitment. If you check the record, more large, established indigenous businesses in the distributive sector closed between 1994 and 2008 than at any time in our history.

Here, in relation to Pickering, there is a deeper motivation. One of the big criticisms of the DLP government by the BLP has been the fact that there has been a slowing of international investment in our economy. I believe that, in due course, David Thompson will emerge as a highly patriotic Barbadian who sought to return our country to some basic moral themes, including protecting our patrimony. He should not be afraid of any silly criticism today. Our children will venerate his – and their – belief that we need balanced economic and environmental development in our country that sustains our national social objectives and not the greedy money-grabbing insensitivity of those who live now-for-now.

It would very much suit Owen Arthur and his supine acolytes to be able to say that there has been no new foreign investment in Barbados since 2008! To have been able – particularly in relation to the Pickering project – to enlist the support of some strange allies in this quest is interesting, to say the least. The argument against Pickering’s developers is that they don’t have enough money to undertake the entire investment or even some of the initial parts of it. But wouldn’t that be true of Four Seasons? They ran into initial investment issues. Is this so unusual?

Why is one of Mr. Arthur’s biggest St. Peter boasts as a St. Peter Development project – still in its fledgling stage – called “Bacassa” on the market for sale internationally? And there are so many others – for which ground-breaking ceremonies were held – which have not succeeded so far because of a multiplicity of factors, mostly international in nature.

Isn’t it traditional for entrepreneurs and promoters of a project to come up with the design concepts, drawings, promotional material, financial projections, government approvals and so on and the attract investment? Did anyone promoting the Pickering project say they had all the money to complete it? What, then, was the objective of last Sunday’s offering in another section of the media which sought to disembowel the project?

I was proud as a young journalist many years ago to be part of the staff of that distinguished risk-taking institution in its fledgling years. I would never seek to diminish its impact on my life. That some black Barbadians got together and made an initial investment in the development of another media establishment was most salutary in our development at that period.

One of the boasts of that new business, highly risky in nature, was that it was not sure how it would finance the next edition, get it printed on time, overcome major early investment and operational hurdles.

Isn’t this the story of Mr. Goddard who walked from Martins Bay, St. John to Bridgetown and started an International family enterprise in the Caribbean and Latin America? I urge Mr. Arthur to use his fully tax-payer-funded luxurious office at Cave Hill to practise his profession, to study the financial development of Barbados Mutual (now Sagicor) or Barbados Shipping and Trading rather than use it to plot and announce Ms.Mottley’s demise (imminent though they say it is from that location)!

The story of limited start-up capital (although I know nothing of Pickering’s business plan) is the story of almost every new business. So why does it become a front-page revelation that a new investment is not fully funded? To discredit whom? And to give credit to whom? I have come to my own conclusion. I am sure you have too! Now to my second issue. I like Marilyn Rice-Bowen very much as an activist and woman who is making a contribution to our country. But as the fish gathered – to use a landmark political phrase that was ultimately the undoing of Sir Richard “Johnny” Cheltenham’s political career – on the issue of her being removed as Chairman of the NHC, I had to give the matter much more definitive consideration than was apparently due after her Press Statement. Mind you, the statement was empty, vapid and useless to her cause. What was her cause?

As a general rule, in a dispute or deteriorating relationship between a Minister and a Chairman that cannot be resolved – and I am told of several attempts to do this – the Chairman must go. It is the Minister, not the Chairman, who is ultimately accountable to the public. It is a strange political circumstance that as housing policy and development – the mere building affordable housing for Barbadians – has become such a success story under this young government, the Chairman of the corporation charged with the responsibility for this success is at loggerheads with the Minister. But as the shadows lengthened on the story, there are simple facts that, under better legal and political advisement, Ms. Rice-Bowen might have considered. The NHC Act gives much wider powers to the Minister of Housing than many other Acts establishing Statutory Corporations. This does not mean his powers are unlimited. Secondly, the former Chairman said she was speaking for the Board. But she has no solidarity! Not a single Board member has corroborated her stories! And third, the Joint Ventures purportedly between NHC and the private contractors are
overseen by a Cabinet Committee. The latter was to speed  up the process of getting affordable housing to our citizens.

What rules, if any, were broken? What laws were violated? State the case, Ms. Rice-Bowen! Instead of that, the fish gathered in a most interesting way. Insurance brokerage contracts surfaced and all kinds of claims and counter-claims will emerge. But there seemed something quite orchestrated and remarkable about the sequence of events, the choreography, the fashion and the entire stage-management of Ms. Rice-Bowen’s show on Saturday. Things are truly not what they seem. As I said before, we will let the fish gather and return to this subject in the fullness of time.

(Hartley Henry is a regional political strategist. He can be reached at hartleyhenry@gmail.com)

15 responses to “Things Are Not What They Seem”

1. ” Not a single Board member has corroborated her stories!” Has any of them denied them either” you are a pure political jackass. who do you think the public believes? she made it clear abouts the insurance brokerage you know that – why not justify the reason the Minister has NOT given contracts to the small investor or contract and along with that betray those people in society like me who had hopes of owning one of those house in Coverley? what thief would put the prices of those houses at that horrendous cost? only a good-fa-nuffin dope infected rat. but night will run til day catches it. one of these days, they will pay the piper. i really cannot see the DLP lasting 5 years. we heard that it was time for change – “14 years too long to hold on to power” but which is the greater evildoer? thank God I voted Mia and will do it again

2. sorry for the typos above. too angry i guess

3. HH:
    Typical BS from the paid BS merchant.

Answer the question everyone needs to know to judge your party’s integrity.
    Has Lashley taken a bung off every house at Coverley, or not?
    Answer is one word, Mr Consultant, Yes or No.
    People who know are waiting on your publicly paid for answer.

4. Ms Anon

We in East see good chance of one term DLP administration too ..no? But Mottley as only alternative not good thing ..no? I not citizen so I no vote.. that for me very very good thing…

HH
    My intelligent agent acting on best information tells me that Grosvenor from Advocate act too slow in changing paper to tabloid size … he foolish old fashion man ..no? That very very good for you Gilkes and Hoyte ..no?

5. @Ms Anon. Good going, girl. HH is a jackass. As has been said on many blogs, he has long ceased to be an asset and is now a grave liability to any hopes that the DLP has of winning the next election if they are confronted by Owen as leader of the BLP. Not too sure what will happen if BLP has Mia leading it. I think it will be a toss up. But with Owen at the helm, unless there is some serious progress by the DLP and not just the usual bovine excretions from HH, they are going down. And that would be said, because it would mean that there is no credible opposition – and without opposition, our form of democracy will not function as it should.

6. My Name Is Not Sylvan... Avatar
    My Name Is Not Sylvan…

Ahh yes Rice Bowen has been Hartley Henried…..

We know the strategy well from watching WIV operate on the blogs.

step 1.
    Don’t respond to the allegations no matter how damaging.

step 2.
    Make some form of counter accusation, the more personal the better. It would seem that he couldn’t find anything to hang his usual sexual innuendo on Rice Bowen.

step 3.

Divert the public discussion on to the counter accusation or onto “safer” political areas.

You will note how suddenly the discussion is being moved away from the DLP abandoning it’s manifesto pledge onto Rice Bowen and Insurance at the NHC?

Hartley…. spin and sophistry will not save you or your administration that is out of it’s depth in managing the economy.

It will not resolve the CLICO issue, or it’s impact on the economy.

It will not get the Pickering project started, and comparing a project that never had investors to projects that had financing and lost it due to no fault of their own (bank failure in the international financial crisis) is a sad indicator at just how desperate you are to “put lipstick on a pig”.

It will not solve the problems at the QEH where you have fired two of their most experienced consultants in order to “give younger doctors a chance”. It is the first time that someone is being fired for being too experienced. Or is it that the fatted calf is being divided up to give a less experienced party supporter a top job (with no thought to how it will impact on medical care)?

Spin will not present a budget for you nor will it solve the problems of the economy. When business leaders like Peter Boos can come out and plainly state “All is not well” in direct contradiction of a ministerial statement, it is clearly an illustration that people are tired of a government of spin and nothing else.

Spin won’t solve the traffic problems either. Your administration has said “There will be no flyovers” on the now twice paid for highway. And we still have traffic backing up. Yet another indication of how this government puts solving the people’s problems second to political considerations.

I could go on and on…
    But tell us about the work going to JADA, and how CBC’s insurance is suddenly at CLICO (I certainly hope that should something happen that they will be covered)

Spin is not governance Hartley.

7. G.C. Brathwaite Avatar

@My name is not Sylvan
    I largely agree with you except that last comment. I would suggest that it (spin) very much is part of governance in modern democracies. What is not and should not be treated as such is the disdain, divisiveness, and petulance orchestrated by a political adviser to the Prime Minister whose salary obtains from the public purse meaning from tax payers of this country. That for me is problematic and serves as a conflict of interest (national interest) if ever there is a case to be made out. Certainly on the matter of integrity and transparency, Mr. Hartley Henry and who ever holds the Office of the Prime Minister would be truly at pains to justify the workings of a political operative whose priority is that of the political party over the necessities of the populace and need for good governance. Maybe a rejuvenated Prime Minister (if it is possible to attach such a label given the prevailing circumstances for which we really do not know and I am definitely not in a speculative frame of mind on that personal challenge), would make the necessary change. I feel sure that Mr. Henry’s portfolio would have sufficient pull to earn him a job (politically dirty and inflammatory) in another jurisdiction or he may have time on his hands to chase after exploits for which he stands accused (in the court of public opinion), but for one reason or another he has managed to evade detention if not detection.

8. Wait!!! Wuh My Name Is Not Sylvan say up dey fuh true? CLICO got CBS insurance business? Lord look at my crosses! say it ent so! Wunnah gone mad in Buhbaduss? Call the police!!!!!!!!

9. What has become of the Hartley Henry/Carol Martindale spat?

Again the people taken for fools in the name of politics perhaps?

10. Robert Deschappe Avatar
    Robert Deschappe

@ Hartley Henry
    “That is why, if you check it carefully, you will see that apart from some carefully stage-managed “interventions” and the publicity stunts of the son-of-a-shop-keeper to save Sam Lords Castle and Julie N’, precious little fundamentally changed. There was no depth of commitment”.

David Thompson also used “some carefully stage-managed “interventions” and publicity stunts” to save his friend Leroy Parris with the $10,000,000. CLICO still in trouble, people cannot get their money (Leroy mek sure he get some ah his, dough). Sam Lord’s Castle still on the rocks. Maybe “there was no depth of commitment”.
    After running up and down behind the DLP and contributing to their campaign, Neville Rowe and Mall Internationale still in trouble. Ya right Hartley, “precious little fundamentally changed”.

11. G.C. Brathwaite Avatar

“What has become of the Hartley Henry/Carol Martindale spat? Again the people taken for fools in the name of politics perhaps?”
    Something has happened. Did you not read my submission to you wherein it is clear that the Advocate is raking in ***** galore whilst spitting out every thing fed to them by the DLP and the DLP-led administration. On the other hand, there is still the attempt by the Nation to be reasonable in terms of fair reporting. Realistically, I too would like to hear something more definitive. My reasons may differ from your David, but I am not impressed with the key ‘political adviser’ to the Office of the Prime Minister appears to be an untouchable in contemporary Barbados. I would argue with any David or Goliath that that person ought not to be paid from public purse when the clandestine nature of that work is narrowly rooted in party politics rather than a national agenda. I am no adviser to any Prime Minister nor do I entertain work at this time from other caribbean governments so I do not carry the burden of conflict of interest. What I do carry is the realisation that at some point, one or several decision-makers in that regime will attempt to pull the rug from under my feet simply for raising ethical and governance issues as major concerns for the barbadian public. On that point, has Hartley indicated when will be the DLP’s annual conference? Did the Martindale ‘fallout’ occur as a result of that conference? Curiosity surely did kill the cat and possibly the answer that you and I are awaiting david.

12. HH wrote ” Not a single Board member has corroborated her stories!”

Maybe the Board members are silent because thaey want to hold their Board membership pay cheques.

13. @J | August 13, 2010 at 11:16 PM |

so true – we all know it

14. J in East board member only pay stipend… Not big money… Board member get pay by association and business arrangement ..no?

15. Except for the Chairman,the stipend from most boards is not worth the time or effort. To be a member of many of these boards is to engage in public service. If there are too many negative comments the more able and independent party people will refuse to sit on the boards. The ministers and cabinet will be left to select from persons of lesser ability.