Submitted by Bajan Truth

Marilyn Rice-Bowen, sacked NHC Chairperson – Photo credit: Nation Newspaper

Sage advice from the acting P.M. Freundel Stuart about the wisdom of putting ‘vulnerable’ persons in the way of temptation.  The remarks by Marilyn Rice –Bowen raises questions about commitment of the Minister to the promises of the manifesto; it raises questions about what possible deals may have prompted the Minister to plough ahead and give contracts without due process; it raises questions about the regard the DLP has for small black businesses; it raises issues of transparency, integrity, honesty and accountability.

It is appalling that two years later after the promise of change, honesty and accountability that today we the nation of Barbados have strong reasons to doubt the integrity of ministers of its government, who came to office on the strength of corruption on the other side, and a promise of transparency and honesty with legislation to back it up.  When challenged about commenting on Marilyn Rice-Bowen’s allegation the Minister declines to comment.

The broken promises were disappointing, the incompetence disheartening but the dread spectre of possible corruption in less than three years and by the golden boy,  just fuels my fury. All of this after week by week of accusing the other administration, now this.  Here is Marilyn’s press statement in whole.

PRESS STATEMENT

This statement is designed to set the record straight as regards my termination as Chairman of the board of the National Housing Corporation.

When I willingly accepted the role of Chairman  of National Housing Corporation in December 2008, I viewed the position as an excellent opportunity to broaden my service within the community through alleviating many of society’s ills that are rooted in the twin issues of inadequate housing and overcrowding.

Despite my social intent, unfortunately there were fundamental differences between the Minister of Housing and Lands and the Board in terms of our interpretation of established rules and protocols, as well as the role and function of the Board in respect of all NHC projects.  The established rule is that in respect of all NHC funded projects the Board recommends and the minister is free to accept or reject any such recommendation. Regrettably, in some instances, the Board was never accorded the opportunity to give due or any consideration to and/or make the appropriate recommendation in respect of some NHC projects.  This attitude and disposition on the part of the Minister ultimately led to an impasse between the Minister and me and ultimately, my termination as chairman of the Board.  Case in point work at Forde’s Road, Clapham, St. Michael.

Prior to my termination and as a result of the said impasse already referred to, I considered resigning on several occasions but felt that I owed it to Prime Minister, the Hon. David Thompson, who was instrumental in my appointment, as well as my commitment to the cause of social justice, to persevere in what was fast becoming an impossible situation, in the hope and expectation that the matter would  be resolved amicably.  Sadly this was not to be and I exited the Board on July 31st, 2010.

Whereas some strides were made under my stewardship at the NHC, I leave somewhat disappointed that certain issues were not adequately addressed, for example, the awarding of contracts to small contractors.  I feel passionately about this issue given my direct dialogue with many small contractors, many of whom are on the brink of failure.  I have repeatedly sought without success, to persuade the Minister to buy into the concept outlined in the DLP manifesto of awarding a far greater portion of  NHC contracts to small contractors.

Additionally, I leave with the knowledge that despite my best efforts and alerts, I could not ensure that a contract be put in place with the contractors, CLICO Holdings, re: the ongoing work at Constant, St. George.

The experience I gained as Chairman of national Housing Corporation will be forever etched in my mind.  Hence I wish to extend sincere gratitude to the Board, as well as the Management and Staff for your cooperation.

I also wish to take this opportunity to publicly thank all well wishers for their notes and calls of encouragement.  To my clients and policyholders, the YWCA sisters and our many sponsors, rest assured of my adherence to the highest standards of professional responsibility.

To date I have not received any direct or indirect explanation as to the root cause of my termination as Chairman, nor have I received any prior warning.  In the absence thereof, I can only conclude that my termination was due to my interpretation of and strict adherence to established rules and protocols.  If so, then I leave with my head high as a proud and principled Former Chairman of the National Housing Corporation.

Signed:  Marilyn Rice-Bowen

There are a number of questions that the Minister needs to answer:

1. Is it true that land sold to Bjorn Bjerkham to build houses for Bajans was sold under the       market  price at $3.00 per square foot, yet houses sold at over 200,000 and 300,000 dollars?
  2. Is it true that the mortgages are inflated to include a furniture package of 40,000 which by the end of the mortgage will increase the total cost to 600,000.00?
  3. Is it true that the furniture was imported bypassing Bajan manufacturers?
  4. Is it true that the Minister is being flown on the jet to Miami provided courtesy of Bjorn Bjerkham?
  5. Is it true that the minister received 5000 – 10,000 on each house from persons awarded contracts?
  6. Is the minister upholding the manifesto promises to promote the interests of small businesses or could the minister possibly explain why small contractors were dismissed in favour of large business?
  7. Has the DLP gone to the dogs?

This on top of the issue of the incompetent management of the economy; Mr. Lowe, Pickering, and more revelations apparently to come, requires further investigation. David we leave it to you to find out about these new matters, I only have one side as passed on to me and the facts are needed to ascertain their veracity.  This was passed to me.  I feel it requires discussion and our investigation.

142 responses to “The Rice-Bowen National Housing Corporation Eruption”

1. i had applied for one of those houses in Coverley, christ church. was told that because of my living situation i would have been one of the 50 that the NHC would have started with. i was told that the 3-bedroom wall was for $145,000, i had qualified for $152,000. i so looked forward to that house as i knew that it would be difficult for me to get a house at that price in the private sector, imagine my hurt and dismay, when i saw those Coverley house being sold for $300,000 for a one bedroom. i later found out that govt did not have the needed funds to go ahead so they worked with a private company. what bull. i cry each time i think of that as i am a mother of 2 working in govt for over 15 years, i am trying my best to buy my own
    and am getting help from no where. i truly felt betrayed

2. G.C. Brathwaite Avatar

No, no, no. It is not a matter of political expediency. It is holding to account a political party that when in opposition shouted from the rooftops and alarmed from the gutter that the then administration was corrupt (absolutely no evidence whatsoever to suggest such), and that there were gross infelicities being undertaken at the detriment of Barbadians. Two years on, Barbadians are by far worse off, there is less accountability and transparency, and the only changes that are occurring are happening behind closed doors with regards to contracts and practices of collusion and conflict of interest. The BLP was not totally exemplary in every action, nor will it be perfect in every undertaking when it rescues this country again; but what it did to my admiration was attempt to deal with issues in a manner that was above board (no pun intended) and that would have the least negative impact on Barbadians and by extension Barbados. The people came first and the people mattered most notwithstanding hiccups from time to time (expected under any reasonable circumstances). Now in all honesty, can you say that you are pleased, contented, satisfied with the standard of governance that you are receiving from this administration. I am on record as suggesting that they (the DLP) deserved their chance because the people spoke on January 15 2008, but all that has been happening leaves me to seriously doubt whether the DLP were serious about any of its manifesto pledges, or was there every attempt to belittle the psyche of the majority of Barbadians who went to the polls? Now David, the truth may not set you free today, but I am sure by the time the next election comes around the truth will matter more than Mr. Sinckler will suggest today. Mark my word!

3. G.C. Brathwaite Avatar

Can anyone tell me who is the high-ranking DLP member in the present administration who in 2007 said the following:
    “We have made accusations of malfeasance or corruption and we are concerned that in several of the decision-making processes and special concessions given to persons and companies, party affiliation and personal considerations appear to be at the heart of the decisions.”
    I am sure that David will inform the BU readers. My guess is as good as yours. All I know is that this statement is very relevant today, even more than it mattered in 2007 when there were genuine attempts to enhance the lives of Barbadians. I wish the ‘real Prime Minister’ well as he continues to recover. This crop of Ministers will be more than a handful for him to manage when he returns, they will make his life even more difficult. What a shame! The ‘fill-in’ does not seem to be able to speak-out. I wonder if there is some compromise going on? I have a curious mind and a critical brain, but I do apologise if I manage annoy any members or supporters of the DLP. I do not have the same alacrity or cunning that Hartley Henry possesses.

4. What will they think of next Avatar
    What will they think of next

G.C. Brathwaite

David Eliis has more common sense than you give him credit for. He no doubt read your e-mail, concluded that it was pure nonsense and probably decided against inflicting your hogwash on the Barbadian listening public.

For that I thank him. I did not see anything in it that was sensible. Your crooked party was in office for fourteen years doing as they like, stealing left, right, and center and I never heard anything from you about it.

5. After the UDC debacle, you people really buy Sinckler’s story?
    The lands being used to build these houses were vested in the NHC. How could the Chairperson of a Board which by LAW is responsible for the assets of the NHC be unaware of the Cabinet’s decision regarding the use of those assets. Did the PS in the Ministry of Housing receive the relevant cabinet note, and if he did was this information communicated to the Board? Why did it take the government so long to respond? Who at the NHC signed the contracts between the NHC and the contractors?

It is clear that government’s investment in the public-private partnership arrangements is LAND and therefore projects MUST be put out to tender by the NHC. The previous government was crucified for the way in which 3S was awarded the highway project, and it is downright appalling that the current government has gone even a step further in not inviting tenders at all.

This government continues to flout public administration laws without batting an eyelid, and the public just keeps turning a blind eye that’s why I doubt that the failure of the administration to implement the much touted FOI and Integrity legislation will lead to defeat at the polls.

6. Readers are encouraged to visit the website of the NHC Coverley project. There are no one bedroom units. Two bedroom units start at $281 300 and 3 bedroom units start at $333 200.

http://villagesatcoverley.net/residences.html

Note that the 2 bedroom unit is 660 sq ft of living area with a 220 sq ft garage. Readers should note that NO alteration to the houses after purchase may be done without the permission of the NHC. See the covenants One interesting stipulation is as follows:

“ix. The hanging of clothes or clotheslines or placing of clothes poles is prohibited except with the approval of the NHC. No aerials, satellite reception dishes or antennas of any kind, nor window air-conditioners or irrigation wells are permitted within the Development except as approved by the NHC.”

The DLP can take pride in taking the initiative in taking public land and handing it over to private contractors thereby providing innovative housing solutions for middle to high income persons .

7. Just remember the recent case in St .Lucia the cabint member said that he did not sit at the meeting when the decision was made. Check the ruling of the court .It did not make a difference that he did not sit.Therefore if a chairman did not sit.

8. Integrity, morality and fear for God is unknown to some individuals in the higher political echelons in Barbados. There’s the evidence out there to support Ms. Bowen on her accusations. Perhaps recorded voice conversations/ text messages will help. Did someone raise the question about being dumb?

9. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Enuff

This Democratic Labour Party administration is moving ahead with haste in its effort to make sure that Barbadians have acess to affordable housing units. The Government is making great strides in this regard. The Barbados Labour Party is hoping that something is amiss at the NHC so that they can derail these efforts. They are hoping Marilyn Rice-Bowen can help them. They want to use this as a smoke screen to hide their incompetance in the housing areana. For fourteen long years they were in office and have very little to show for it with regards to housing Bajans. The competance of the Minister Of Housing is a big embarassment to them. How could one Minister achive so much in so little time, they are wondering. They even tried Mascol in their housing push with disastrous results.

The Minister of Housing is like the star batsman in a cricket team. The batsman every bowler is trying to get out. However the best efforts of Marilyn and the crooked Barbados Labour Party will fall flat because they are dealing with class.

10. The St.Lucia case will haunt many a politician and political lacky in Bim.

11. G.C. Brathwaite Avatar

@ What will they think of next

“David Eliis has more common sense than you give him credit for. He no doubt read your e-mail, concluded that it was pure nonsense and probably decided against inflicting your hogwash on the Barbadian listening public. For that I thank him. I did not see anything in it that was sensible.”
    Personally, I think that was a good try. As a matter of fact, I have much respect for David Ellis’ common sense although I have been known to disagree with some of his framings and conclusions. Perhaps it is ‘pure nonsense’ to some, equally, it may be worth the while for others. As an academic I have been long trained not to dismiss a question as being silly or as you may suggest nonsense. And please note what you said: “I did not see anything in it that was sensible.” My dear friend, your eyes are not the eyes of the world, and even if they were, you are still entitled to your opinion. I bet that should the question elicit a response, you may find merit in the answer. That too may depend on who gives the answer; we have heard Mr. Sinckler, I do think that to hear Mr. Stuart after hearing Mr. Lashley would be an eye opener for you and others, and for me. At the end of the day, we shall each walk away with our opinions knowing that we each have one and only one vote. I thank you for making the remark so that I could respond appropriately. You have been outdone by someone that inflicts ‘hogwash’. Learn your trade and do come again.

12. @ Carson Cadogan

Keep politicking, I know better.

13. George Brathwaite is really something else….. Bush Tea is just waiting to see if Sir Hilary will REALLY give him a Phd for real……

Bush Tea wants to seriously disagree with your assessment of the situation as ‘same ole, same ole’.

In fact, the bushman feels vindicated to have supported the DLP over the BLP – and this incident reinforces my intent to continue to do so until circumstances dictate otherwise.

This Rice-Bowen incident is a clear case in point. You think that this could happen under the BLP???? David, the bushman personally know of persons who privately expressed disgust at happenings under Owing but who DARED NOT to raise a word to guard the public’s interest.
    For three terms it was free reign for scams and parasites.

The fact that Ms Rice-Bowen can resign, call a press conference, respond to counter accusations and RAISE QUESTIONS in public is what transparency, democracy and openness is all about.
    This is possible ONLY WITH THE DLP.

Anyone who thinks that everyone in the DLP will be absolutely ‘straight’ and beyond corruption is an idiot. Most of us KNOW that even we ourselves are not beyond reproach.

So the important point is that the SYSTEM is open enough for persons in authority and ‘ in the know’ (like Rice-Bowen) to feel free to raise concerns, complaints and charges when they feel uncomfortable with circumstances. THAT is the critical issue.

There was nothing worse that the BLP experience, where even well intentioned persons were made TOO AFRAID to speak out, to complain publicly or even to resign.

What we need is MORE situations where persons on Boards and Statuary Corporations feel empowered to stand up and shout when they see clear wrong -doings and miss -steps.
    There is no better way to keep our politicians in check. (This is almost as effective as the bushman’s proposed National Supervisory Committee to replace the useless Senate)

All that remains outstanding now, is for the leadership of the DLP to get to the bottom of the facts, determine who is right – and TAKE EFFECTIVE ACTION…. this is what has been lacking so far -( except for the cabinet reshuffles that we have seen.) And if Minister Lashley is indeed out of line, then he should be dealt with appropriately…..

Even if he is found to be perfectly in line, and Ms Rice-Bowen’s concerns were well founded and not malicious, then SHE TOO should be reinstated into a suitable position to safeguard the people’s business.

At least the matter will have been illuminated and anyone else planning such scams forewarned of the likely consequences.

Bush Tea says HAIL to Ms Rice-Bowen for making the point that she will not be disrespected and sidelined in doing the people’s business. Pity there are not many others with the necessary cajoles ……

14. Yes, Bush tea, talk-your-talk. Tell Hilary not to give that Brathwaite fellow the PhD even if he works his tail off for it. Anybody that speaks their mind like him should be penalised even if they do their work. Do not award him even if he has earned it. Well said Bush tea. All hail Marilyn!

15. @Bushman

Where you position is flawed and by your admission …

All that remains outstanding now, is for the leadership of the DLP to get to the bottom of the facts, determine who is right – and TAKE EFFECTIVE ACTION…. this is what has been lacking so far -( except for the cabinet reshuffles that we have seen.) And if Minister Lashley is indeed out of line, then he should be dealt with appropriately…..

does it matter if under the DLP people speak out and under the BLP they are silent if in both cased there is not effective action to use your words?

16. Beware Caesar,- Cassius, Brutus, and Casca have out their knives for you. Ms. Rice-Bowen thet intend to drain you of every ounce of blood. It is obvious, they have launched a vicious attack – Peter Wickham to dampen the expectation that it will hurt the party and to indicate that you will suffer more than the Minister; article to suggest that you a conspirator dabbling in infelicities for the inappropriate in the assignment of the insurance contracts to CGM brokers; and now Chris Sinkcler deciding he will boost his leadership in the eyes of the public to mama guy the barbadian population to sugest you were worng, a liar, a madwoman and stupid. That you knew about the decisions. Then you have these lackeys and yardfowls and those with snouts deep in the trough coming to blog not from a genuine position to look at the truth of the position and examine critically the situation, but are so divorced having never been wedded some suggest to integrity, that really the issue is for them,whatever dishonesty was transpiring you should be silent.

Case in point: P.M.went on the floor of the house, where he paraded that BLp entered into a project with 3S with no contract, though there was a memorandaum of understanding. Yet you have a situation where CLICO has commenced on a project and there is no contract. When challenged , Sinckler back, backed he must know if it was signed or not because it was a public private sector agreement that would have had to pass through the same committee.

The hypocrisy is a stench and the inconsistency is so ludicrous. Parris, chairman of CBc changed insurance from ICB to Clico; B’dos Conference Services (Sherbourne) shifted from ICB to Trident, the chairman’s firm; the gymnasium, airport and seaport as already alluded to by another blogger. Will those chairmen heads’ roll. Apparently not, and the scandalous denuding of ICB the part- Barbados owned insurance company is worthy of investigation. How does the accusation against Ms. Rice depart from the DLP norm?

Is this the silencing of the lambs?

17. @ David

Of course there is a difference.

If both sides of an issue are placed before the public by officials (Rice-Bowen and the Minister) then that is a much different situation that where there is only one side of a story allowed, and everything else is confined to cocktail parties (until the blogs came).

As it is now, the public is free to come to our own conclusions on this issue. If the DLP choose not to investigate and act, then in such circumstances they will obviously pay the price, but in any case, the public wins….

18. @ Co-Vision
    Yes, Bush tea, talk-your-talk. Tell Hilary not to give that Brathwaite fellow the PhD even if he works his tail off for it.
    Where you now come from co-vision? When did people start getting Phd’s for ‘working their tails off”?
    If that was the case my old man would have had six….. as would thousands of hardworking Bajans.

A Phd suggests some degree of ability to think logically, critically, independently and coherently.

What work what tail off what??!!
    …..bush tea’s was a breeze….

19. Bush Tea wrote “In fact, the bushman feels vindicated to have supported the DLP over the BLP… You think that this could happen under the BLP???? David, the bushman personally know of persons who privately expressed disgust at happenings under Owing but who DARED NOT to raise a word to guard the public’s interest…This is possible ONLY WITH THE DLP.”

I’d like to ask the Bushman 2 questions :

1. “Would this have happened if David Thompson was not laid up in bed (pass his best by date so to speak)

2. If Owen had been laid up in bed over in away (Lord knows where) suffering from Lord knows what, and was not expected to be better until God knows when, and was generally believed to be past his best by date would something similar have happened?

Tek ya time answering.

20. The usual trivia, claims not supported by evidence, or positions by thought. Now we are making virtue out of public squabbling and disclosure by accident as though it speaks to honesty and integrity of Dems. ROFL. Commitment to integrity if not yet translated to law would be seen in action – Senior cabinet ministers would speak to Ms. Rice, to get her side of story, in interest of fairness and transparency. Mr. Lashley dealt with if wrong, Ms. Rice dealt with if wrong; scotch scandal by shifting her to a different position, and her shame would keep her quiet; or shift Lashley to attorney-general, less temptation, and both keep quiet. All those ‘infelicities’ of chairmen shifting insurance work to their private interests –CLICO & TRIDENT would have been stopped ever since. Chairmen and boards condemned, removed and corrected in 2010 allocation of insurance businesses back to the benefit of Barbados.
    What really happened given flow of events (logical thinking) – did not know she had damage to inflict; perhaps unaware of some of the ‘happenings’ in housing; perhaps did not wish to stop flow of 5000 X 2000 units = $10m, if Michael properly divvy up that fat calf ; or quick strategies to stop a haemorrhage. And as we have not yet seen HH or WIV perhaps the latter is the case. If it were not for the hundreds of contractors suffering and businesses dying this would be laughable.

Now Darcy’s integrity now called into question by Peter Boos. The man all but call him a liar. The economy is not well, and it is not on track to recovery. Nation earlier this week.

21. We must congratulate the DLP for taking state owned land, “giving” it to a private developer to build houses at over $300/sq ft and then claiming that this is a housing solution for poor people.

22. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Anonymous | August 12, 2010 at 7:49 AM |

I guess you and the Barbados Labour Party think that it is better to give state land to people form “over in away” and Bajans have to put up with erecting shacks in their parents back yards in order to get somewhere to live.

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BAJAN TRUTH

“The usual trivia, claims not supported by evidence, or positions by thought. ”

Things not going the way you, DAVID, and the Barbados Labour Party were were hoping.

24. Hello David,

The Nationnews of 12 August 2010…screams…..Rice – Bowen says selection of Gallagher ( where here son works) was above BOARD ! Yes the BOARD may have made a decision based on the facts and costs at hand.

BUT:
    Did Rice Bowen come back and tell the Board that Callagher subcontracted the work to a COMPANY she is affiliated with ?

David…..me thinks the plot thickens !

25. Could anyone please give an instance when the BLP gave, sold or made available STATE owned land for use by people “from over and away”?

26. @ Carson
    Do you just dream these things in a haze of illegal smoke? You can’t smoke in public nomore and the bill should have made it illegal for persons of fragile intelligence to speak or write after smoking anything.
    Carson which foreignor was given state land to build houses?

It certainly is not going my way, Bajans hurting, economy sliding, Darcy like he lying about the economy, lashley like he divvying up fatted calf in exchange for a blanket of propriety. The only body getting their way is the BLP, but it mean we bajans got to suffer:

Sincklers presentation has added more speculation to the position. Why was he talking and not the minister, in short his message is – Ms. Rice is a liar; she knew; and a sub-committee of cabinet took decision. Michael Lashley could not say that , or he still got de belly and he backbone melting.

Ms. Rice claim is the Board Not Asked For Recommendation it is NOT THAT THEY WERE NOT INFORMED AFTER THE DECISION WAS TAKEN. That is a breach of procedure.
    Gov’t lands were used for a project without the oversight of the properly constituted entity – no contract Carson; oh and the cabinet did not see the Clico contract, cause the claim is it ain write, but work start. Well here comes corruption if no contract ain’ write.

Cabinet approve a set of insurance contracts, as the boards including NHC can only recommend. If they do not meet required integrity, then the cabinet is guilty of corruption.
    Cabinet set a policy to disenfranchise small contractors to the advantage of large.
    What gine happen Carson when contractors stop muttering among themselves and friends and let people know how much work in dollars they get. How many of them only get the roof to put on and the cupboards to build, because Preconco do the slabwork, but the roof counted as a contract? Technically yes, in reality how much dollars they make. Even Dems quarrelling bout it.
    Boy you and I could cry together bout this, because it is bare political fodder for the Bees but pain for the Dems, and unfortunately hurt fuh Bajans. got to hold yuh head and bawl.

27. If I was Minister Lashley I might send dis one for Ms Rice-Bowen.
    “Ah want somebody to hug up in de party.
    Somebody wid tempo
    Somebody to roll it up and shake it up”!

28. What amuses me about some people and the tactics of distraction. How did this become an issue about insurance contracts. This issue is about the circumventing the legal process used to assign contracts; the policy about assigning work between large and small contractors undermining the viability of small contractors; corruption of no contracts and gov’t land assigned; is about giving of gov’t land by gov’t to a large contractor at 3.00 per square foot but end price does not reflect that given, the sizes – 600 sq.ft of house on 3/4000sq.ft of land (12,000.00). House cost 288,000.00 .

29. Laws are invariably bent or broken by the boards and in ministries and departments of government . This could happen because of the need to counter the slow nature of the bureaucracy; provide opportunities for corruption or deliberate strategies by some public servants to undermine other public servants or to undermine the policies of the government.

30. @The Pious One

Please expand?

What is her connection to CGI?

31. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

OFF TOPIC

Living in Barbados has a new blog.

http://potomacgrasshopper.wordpress.com/

32. My intelligent agent tells me G.C. Brathwaite is from East, along with Barney Lynch and many other fast men win School sports for School in East for six of seven years… lost one year by one point to Crumpton Street when baton in relay was drop ..no? Seems to me baton still loss … Even Comrade Barney not find Baton …! Comrade Barney intervention on public radio not sensible…

33. A NEW NICKNAME FOR THE MINISTER OF HOUSING. IT IS “JADA”. MICHAEL JADA LASHLEY.

34. http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=local&NewsID=12139

Shall this be the end of the furor ??

see page 5

35. It does not appear to be the end. Ms. Rice-Bowen has today challenged The Minister to produce the contract which she was supposed to have signed. According to her, she did not to her best knowledge did not sign the alleged contract.

Do you think that there is an obligation on the Minister’s part to let the public see the signed contract??

Would his failure to do so not speak to his credibility, or his compliance speak to Ms. Rice-Bowen’s, so long as the signature is a valid one??

36. ebony hair cholacate skin Avatar
    ebony hair cholacate skin

@The People’s Democratic Congress | August 9, 2010 at 8:15 AM
    what kind of crap are you saying? Sentences should be at least a max of 3 lines. re-read you post. for this reason i will never vote for you. you turn me off. this blog is for us to make small points not for you to make or attempt to make political mileage. stupessssssss long and hard

37. With reference to my earlier comment, the fact that Ms. Rice-Bowen has stated that she did not sign a contract, we note that in her original statement regarding her inability to have a contract signed with Clico for the Constant Project, despite her best efforts, her reference was to a CONSTRUCTION CONTRACT.

On the floor of Parliament, The Minister of Housing referred to a FINANCIAL CONTRACT, so clearly, Ms.Rice-Bowen is challenging him to produce a CONSTRUCTION CONTRACT…….. two completely different matters. Is the Minister using the tactic of obfuscation or distraction, in an attempt to mislead the public about what she actually signed? The Gov’t cannot on one hand boast that we have benefitted from free and superior education, and on the other hand, expect us to behave like brain-dead people.

However, what a nasty situation it could become, if she also means that she did not sign the FINANCIAL CONTRACT either. The Hon. Minister has a compelling duty to clarify this matter for the public without delay, and Ms.Rice-Bowen must press for the immediate clarification, if her reputation is to safe-guarded.

38. @Anonymous

Didn’t Hal Gollop a prominent attorney at law and former Chairman of the NHC under the former government deal with this matter? He stated to the effect that the financial contract is the mother contract and all other are sub- contracts which point back to the mother contract.

BTW, what’s up with the houses at Greens?

39. I did not hear Mr. Gollop’s explanation. Maybe the mother contract scenario comes into play in this case, since CLICO is BOTH the provider of the finance and the construction.

Still, Ms.Rice-Bowen is disputing that a contractural document was signed by her. I find it hard to accept that a competent and responsible lady such as Ms.Rice-Bowen would publicly deny she signed the relevant document, knowing full well that the Minister could easily present the said document to the public and disprove what appears to be her confident assertions.

40. @ David
    The Bushman heard Hal Gollop and was not very impressed.

Surely there is a fundamental difference between a financial contract (think loan agreement) and a building contract (actually designing, providing material and constructing).

If you agreed to finance the bushman $100000, AND also to build the likkle shack for bushie; would you think that an agreement detailing the loan and repayment could cover the whole gig?

Stuuupppsss

Gollop also went into some esoteric argument about contracts not needing to be written, which he based on some fancy precedent.

Of COURSE contract may be unwritten.
    In special cases, contracts may be verbal, precedent, or even implied, but unless one wishes to spend millions on people like Gollop to sort out the resulting mess it is best AVOIDED.

HOWEVER business sense, common sense, normal practice and basic logic would tell us that it is STANDARD practice to write down, sign, and witness such agreements.
    Not to mention that GOVERNMENT rules REQUIRE such documentation.

…..Hal is PDC’s lawyer???

Of course there should be a written and signed CONSTRUCTION contract in place for a project like this.
    This is the same foolishness that happened with 3S.

41. I really could not understand the argument that Hal Gollop put forward that once a financing contract was in place, then the lack of a construction contract would not be significant. Wouldn’t he have to see the actual financing contract to make that statement?

Does Hal Gollop have DLP connections?

And only a lawyer would pursue the line of argument that a formal written contract is not necessary. That is because the lawyers will earn nuff money when the parties to the unwritten contract fall out and they have to go to court to resolve the dispute.

42. Gollop is suppose to be a BLP person. Could it be lawyers closing ranks? Something smells maybe?