Mia Mottley, Leader of the Opposition – Credit: Nation newspaper (photo)

Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley staged a press conference to respond to the Governor of the Central Bank’s 6 month review of the Barbados economy. If the average Barbadian wasn’t already beaten into a state of disillusionment by the contracting economy compounded by a perceived inert government, Mottley’s recent offering made the condition more acute. If there is one thing the current political debate on the economy has demonstrated is the number of intellectuals Barbados has educated who can wax lyrically about what should or should not be done to improve the economy of Barbados. Bear in mind global economies are experiencing an economic condition which has never* been experienced in world history.

BU listened to the 54 minute press conference with rapt attention. Whether you are a B or D there is the reality we are all Barbadian* and want to see Barbados successfully navigate the current social and economic challenges which are confronting us. Mia Mottley represents the ‘government in waiting’ (no disrespect intended to the PDC or PEP) and therefore should be accorded commensurate respect. It therefore saddens BU to opine that her press conference can be easily labelled ‘same old, same old’. She was passionate in her delivery, her analysis of the current state of the economy was good but* where she fell flat was her failure to produce ideas and alternatives. Her delivery was populated with words like deficit, declining revenue, underemployment, stimulus, borrowing, substantial drop, 18-wheeler truck bearing down on us etc – obviously to play on the fears of Barbadians. When asked by a reporter to offer suggestions to the government on what a BLP government would do differently in a sprite of bipartisanship (BU’s paraphrasing), Mottley’s response was to ‘stay tuned!’. She begged the media to provide adequate coverage because her opposition party intended to provide feedback sector by sector. On this note BU agrees that the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation’s blatant blacklisting of the opposition party is reprehensible.

Ms. Mottley the country is waiting for some suggestions with great expectation, do take your time!

Another observation which attracted BU’s attention is Mottley’s focus on the rising current account deficit up to May 2010. Can someone explain how a country that is reliant on tourism and foreign direct investment is expected to grow in a global recession? Ms. Mottley tell us how you would manage the economy differently. BU remembers joining with you and Professor Avinash Persaud (an advisor) to pressure the government 1 year ago to rollout a significant stimulus package. Would that approach not have added to the debt burden given the protracted nature of the global recession?

If Mottley’s message to Barbadians stood any chance of resonating her constant reference to comparative analysis in the periods pre and post global financial meltdown smacks of being disingenuous. All* developing countries (and developed) are experiencing economic hardship at this time. Some may holdup the economies of Singapore, Mauritius, Hong Kong and others as beacons of success in the current environment but we all know the fundamentals of  those economies were on firm footing  before the meltdown.

Sadly Mottley and her crew continue to support an economic model which is built on selling land to realise foreign direct investment to fill the gap in government revenue and expenditure. The fact that government’s high expenditure is propped up by fiscal indiscipline, mediocre productivity and a desire to feed a lifestyle which is hungry to consume all that is foreign means nothing* to Mottley and her crew. Mottley was part of a government for 15 years which did anything significant to encourage the nascent industries of renewable energy and the cultural industries. Perhaps the time has come to suck up the pain and take some economic casualties.

Ms. Mottley, our runaway lifestyle cannot* be supported by selling our most precious commodity. Maybe some of us could tolerate leasing but not selling. You and your party need to come with ideas which address how Barbados can dismantle the existing economic model which is clearly not sustainable in a global economy.

122 responses to “Same Old Same Old From The Mottley Crew”

1. Black Business Avatar
    Black Business

A businessman’s perspective is this: Any real solution to our current position will be politically unpalatable and therefore it would be surprising to hear it from the political opposition. It needs to come from Government who can use all the powers of office to explain and persuade us that this is what has to be done, however, unpopular and they are going to do it and if they do it quickly, they may well reap the rewards of the future.

I am not a psychologist but it seems to me that the fear of 1990/91 seems to be leading to a kind of paralysis in Government that is most likely to take us back to 1990/91. It is a weird and unfunny “Groundhog Day”. I cant articulate it properly, but does anyone else have this feeling?

2. @ WIV

Honest, even in light of the CLICO affair?

3. WIV, you really need to deal with one issuse raised and not just buse owen and mia. They are not our problem any moer.

4. @ Young Democrats

Where are our leaders, we cannot find them but if you are willing to lead we are willing to listen to your plan. I willl study your document more closely and provide some comment. Glad you joined the fray.

5. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Fair Play @ 7:48 pm, you are right. Section 72 of the Constitution addresses the point.

6. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

BAJAN TRUTH, you are a sick one really.

7. @ Carson C. Cadogan // July 17, 2010 at 1:34 PM

BAJAN TRUTH

“Miss Mottley, Owen Arthur, Clyde Mascoll, all have knowledge, experience, courage and competence”

being so blinded by s….e you have not addressed BAJAN TRUTH contention that Clyde Mascoll has knowledge, experience,courage and competence. what u did was look at the insults that was dished out to him. it has nothing to do with his character

8. Well then it seems to me that there should be a clause in the constitution that says that a PM should not hold the post of The Chancellor of the Exchequer, after all it is a far more difficult and rudimentary position and any academic costume position…!

9. @ BAJAN TRUTH // July 17, 2010 at 9:38 PM

I am sure, Sir, that you will realise that if one was to dress a broomstick in pants & shirt that once it showed a propensity for leadership that Bajans would rather follow that broomstick than what we have passing as leaders in this country at present! 🙂

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Enuff

Don’t forget that it was the Barbados Labour Party that started Barbados down this Clico slippery slope.

11. Robin

You ever try putting a hood on a broomstick? Man you might find it to be a good and challenging companion…!

12. @ BAFBFP// July 17, 2010 at 10:49 PM

Are you speaking from experience, B? BTW, I much prefer the other avatar that you had before, not that it makes much of a difference to me.

13. I wonder what Barbados would look like if every peice of agricultural land was cultivated.

The first time I went to America I was asked if my family was rich or poor and I could not answer the question, because even though like most Bajans of my generaton I was born at home in a home without running water or electricity I never felt poor, because in my family we always ate very very well.

In my family we always grew a lot of what we ate and we still do, so this morning I harvested, and this week I will eat cucumbers, egg plant, okras, pigeon peas, chives, butternut squash, chinese cabbage, avocado pears. All of this from a lot that is only 10,000 square feet. I’ve shared some with 2 people already today and will share some more tomorrow. So if I don’t own a big ride but I can afford by my own labour to eat better and cheaper than 99% of the people in the world am I poor or not? And I put in a 40 hour week in my regular job, and haven’t taken any sick leave for the year.

Maybe there is no breadbasket in Guyana or elsewhere, since breadbasket give the impression of something that is ready-done. Maybe we can grow a lot more of our food by the old fashioned sweat on our brow, right here, right now. Why do we covet Guyana’s land when so many thousands of acres of Bajan land is not cultivated, including significant quantities of family land bought in rural villages with Panama money and which now lies uncultivated while the great grand children of those Bajans who built the Panama Canal lime of the block.

14. Rosemary I agree with you entirely. But over the years we have looked down on the agricultural workers and farmers ,only paying them lip service at election time,and a bit part of crop over.
    Before farmers can start producing enough food to satisfy our needs, they have got to be given the assurance that a positive step will be made by the Government/Ministry / Police/Courts to curb the prevalent practice of praedial larceny, a fancy name for crop thefts,which has driven many a farmer out of business. These crop thIeves have a ready market in Bridgetown or at the back door of some supermarkets.
    The Giant African Snail, a natural and destructive crop thief, is now domiciled all over the island.In one of todays papers residents of Oistin is complaining of an abandoned property, which among other pest,harbours the Giant African Snail. And the Government seemed to have abandoned the drive to eradicate these snails,as for weeks there is not snail bait available in the island.
    As for the increase production of sugar,this will entail the destruction of the many housing projects that have sprung up in the last five years on what was good arable land. In fact a few years ago mature canes were pushed down to start the infrastructure of a new housing project. We are almost down to one sugar factory, but one fast food business is proud to announce that its 14th outlet will soon be opened.
    Farmers are given a rough time in this island by successive governments, probably because those who give big campaign donations,are also the very ones who are the agents for the same tin foods and other goods coming into this island ,most of which could be easily produced here if the farmers are given the right incentives

15. Awight Robin galong

16. @David.
    “The excuse that the Permanent Secretary in the Mininistry of Agriculture is blocking the Minister at every turn ……”

Get your facts right. The new PS who joined the Ministry a year ago has been making the Minister look good at every turn. He knows how to motivate people and has been trying hard to change the bad reputation of the Ministry with his no-nonsense approach in dealing with all and sundry in a balanced way. He calls a spade a spade and does not play political games with anybody.

17. @anon

BU’s comment was in reference to the PS who we understand is now retired and who was very uncooperative.

18. Thanks for the votes of confidence…I do not often get them. J & Bosun you are quite right.

The full comment by Rosemary has been given full prominence HERE.

Thanks Rosemary for that very thoughtful posting, it provides a lot of food for thought, please keep sharing with the BU family.

19. @ David // July 17, 2010 at 5:48 PM
    For those who underestimate the voice of the BU family, government surrogates have been monitoring the discussion and felt constrained to submit the following document which is self-explanatory
    I read the document which was authored by the Young Democrats, and I would certainly object to your use of the term “surrogates” to describe them. Below is a number of definitions of the term culled from the Free Dictionary (http://www.thefreedictionary.com):

sur·ro·gate  (sûr-gt, -gt, sr-)
    n.
    1. One that takes the place of another; a substitute.
    a. A person or animal that functions as a substitute for another, as in a social or family role.
    b. A surrogate mother.
    3. Psychology A figure of authority who takes the place of the father or mother in a person’s unconscious or emotional life.
    4. Law A judge in New York and some other states having jurisdiction over the probate of wills and the settlement of estates.
    adj.
    Substitute.
    tr.v. (-gt) sur·ro·gat·ed, sur·ro·gat·ing, sur·ro·gates
    1. To put in the place of another, especially as a successor; replace.
    2. To appoint (another) as a replacement for oneself.

[Middle English, from Latin surrogtus, past participle of surrogre, to substitute, variant of subrogre; see subrogate.]
    I see the YD’s role as providing essential support to the process of developing a positive perception by the general public of the definition of what is happening in the “Bimmyconomy) and the GoB’s response.

20. @Lincoln

The term surrogates was used to refer to the person who sent the document and not the Young Democrats :-).

21. One begins to wonder just how much the millions that were squandered by our brilliant former tourism minister one Barney Lynch , along with the millions taken by the Texas Thieves to build a prison ,would help to float the boat that our ecomomy is. When all of this was happening ,where were you Missing In Action?Or is it Mia? I guess you’re on the ball now.

22. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Ms anon

How do you explain that Clyde Mascoll was consider as garbage by the Barbados Labour Party while on the DLP side and overnight once he joined the crooked Barbados Labour Party he is now considered as knowledgeable, experience,courageous and competent?

How did he suddenly morph into this? I think that what you are actually doing is giving a big vote of confidence to the character of Democratic Labour Party officials.

Don’t worry I know that you did not mean to, it just happened.

23. Thanks Mr.Cumberbath for your confirmation.
    This blog has provided persons with an avenue to air their thoughts especially when the other blog became very arrogant.
    It is therefore refreshing to see persons like Rosemary and Bosum putting forward ideas of how we can assist in getting the Barbadian economy moving again. This is what is required at this time, therefore let us brain storm on this blog to give both the government and opposition home grown ideas of improving our economy.
    It seems that the Ministry of Agriculture has always been the ministry that a lot of persons do not want because it is not high profile. It should be considered just like tourism and resources injected into it.
    We should set about in the short term to cut our food import bill by twenty percent. We should not import chicken, lamb or pork, any can beets, carrots or mixed vegetables to start with.
    A no nonsense approach to praedial larceny should be implemented. All persons caught stealing agricultural crops should be put in Dodds where they will farm the land there for five years. Especially the persons who steal sugar cane and sell the peeled sugar cane by roundabouts. I would bet, none of those persons own a sugar cane field or work in the crop. The defense force which has no wars to fight should be put on farm patrols at night .I suspect the defense force takes up a lot of our resources for its maintenance and therefore should protect our struggling economy. This is an agricultural war where farmers are frustrated waiting three months for cabbage to grow and then in one night persons take them. Who would not stop planting?

24. Uh Fair Play

Just assume that I too go’ two law degrees and am worthy of some type of notice… you ca’e to comment on my comment too…? uhhm

25. @David // July 18, 2010 at 6:21 AM

@Lincoln

“The term surrogates was used to refer to the person who sent the document and not the Young Democrats “.

IS THAT SO? i HAVE TO WATCH YOU DAVID. YOU SEEM TO HAVE A LOOSE TONGUE. I HOPE THAT THE FEMALE MAIL CARRIERS ARE TAKING NOTE AND THAT THEY WILL GIVE YOU A WIDE BERTH (ALL PUNS INTENDED0.

26. @ WIV
    Thanks for your concern about my health, I received a clean bill of health from my GP.

27. BAFBFP

I did respond to your comment and sought some clarification. Unless you are insinuating that the present acting Prime Minister should have remained Attorney General and somebody else become acting Prime Minister.

28. @ Carson

Just to clear up a misuderstanding about MY assessment of Clyde Mascoll. He improved in his experience when he went to the other side (BLP) rubbing shouders with Arthur rather than locking horns . I have heard a measure of improvement in his pronouncements now he’s had the chance to understand the practical side of economics , the theory he always had down pat. I cannot clarify the Bees assessment of him. But I can say he is experienced now, always courageous, and knowledgeable. Today’s call in programme Mascoll proved it again. He was better than your representative, and Jepta could have learned something from him. The Dems are incompetent to lead this country, no doubt about that after today’s programme, no courage to come out and discuss the economy and their strategy, and sent out a minnow to play the ball for them.

29. Is this the way forward? wunnah can do a lot better. Not a minister of the crown. My Lord! what a morning.

30. @ Fair Play

This is the comment that I think you and the double degree law lecturer may have overlooked…

BAFBFP // July 17, 2010 at 10:32 PM
    “Well then it seems to me that there should be a clause in the constitution that says that a PM should not hold the post of The Chancellor of the Exchequer, after all it is a far more difficult and rudimentary position than any academic costume position…!”

I am too much ignored on dis blog. David I think that your people may be racistical. (I am learning the English)

31. @BAFBFP

You need to behave man…lol. Stop fooling people that you ignorant, we all know you got your fair share of brain.

32. No no David I very very igornarant… I need to learn the English or your people will take advantage of me.

33. @ BAFBFP

Hear nah man, I is tinking dat you bes change yuh handle (nom de plume) to Bruce Lee. 🙂

34. What will they think of next Avatar
    What will they think of next

DAVID

Getting back to this point.
    “On this note BU agrees that the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation’s blatant blacklisting of the opposition party is reprehensible.”

The Barbados Labour Party is getting a taste of their own medicine, they did the same thing to Democratic Labour Party while they were in office. You really do have a short memory and the Barbados Labour Party is making full use of it.

35. The DLP seems to be falling in the same trap as the BLP. During the last years of the of the BLP government they also did not send representatives to the Brass Tack program.
    What I have learnt from the program this morning is that Clyde Mascoll is still very arrogant. He told Jepta Ince he talking ignorance, he is not in his league, stop him from talking foolishness, that public finance is his area that the man did not know what was going on no wonder the government is in trouble.
    By the end of the program they were repeating the things I heard them say on may programs before. Mr.Mascoll said one of the policies should be to get more British tourist to Barbados. Well if that is a policy I think we are in big trouble because a poll in Britain just showed that this was the worst year for British travelers and it will get worst.
    I am a simple bajan who follow world affairs very closely by reading most online newspapers all over the world. Many European countries have 20% unemployment rates right now. Where are the tourists going to come from? Mr Mascoll said Jamaica is doing well with its tourist arrivals but he did not say that Jamaica is under an IMF program. Why are they under an IMF program Mr.Mascoll?
    Mr.Mascoll and Mr. Persaud are educated men but I don’t think they realize that they are talking to a more aware populace. Our trading partners economies are in trouble therefore we will be in trouble also.

36. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

BAFBP#2,

Congrats on your metamorpohosis; an improvement don’t you think?

I appreciate that you are making a proposal for constitutional reform, and it may be a good idea, though rather impractical I should think. Would any local PM be secure enough to give up the ministry of Finance on which the #success/failure of his government depends? He is not “primus inter (super) pares” for nothing!

Keep at the Hinglish; good luck. And come on, you know me better than to call me a “double degree law lecturer”.

37. Robin

You ain’ tired cursin’ me, you is a racialist… you leave me and my family alone…!

38. Oh Oh No Mr Lawman

You must not call me a metamorp because that will make you be a racialist too…

In the East we do not concern ourselves with insecure leaders or Ministers. We simply shoot them in the back of the head.. We call it metamorphosis. We change their appearance for ever… laugh at it out loud…(I am still learning..)

By extension then you are agreeing that the success/failure of a government does depend on the office of the Attorney General… hmm.. so why is it constitutionalised..? (Please forgive me my English..)

39. Does Not depend… does nor depend (I am learning)

40. Bajan Truth

Just to clear up a misuderstanding about MY assessment of Clyde Mascoll. He improved in his experience when he went to the other side (BLP) rubbing shouders with Arthur rather than locking horns
    I have been reading the exchanges and just couldn’t resist commenting on the above. Having gained that experience he proceeded to establish The Hardwood Corporation which transformed the Barbados economy. Prior to that, his “rubbing shoulders” caused him to rethink his stance on “JAWS” and he made a major speech in which he recanted his accusations. I misplaced my copy of that speech, would you mind posting it for us?

Thanks

41. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BAJAN TRUTH

I think what clyde Mascoll has is a cast iron stomach.

After the Barbados Labour Party members made fun of his very sick mother in the house of assembly he could still find it possible to join that party. He is a disgrace to his mother who gave birth to him, fed him, schooled him and made him into a man.

You can believe all you like that he is a great economist, but I think that he is a poor human being. In my book before you can be good at anything you first have to be a good human being.

42. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BAJAN TRUTH

Clyde still wearing those plaid shirts?

43. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BAJAN TRUTH

I wonder what “Peanuts” Morrison thinks of him now. That would be interesting.

44. Black Business Avatar
    Black Business

So Senator Ince’s position is that the fiscal mess was caused by cost overruns at the Prison, ABC Highway, Coast Guard, Justice Building etc and nothing to do with the current government and there is nothing they can do about the economy, the balance of payments, credit rating, etc, etc, because it is all driven by the US/UK economy anyway.

The problem is that while the level of debt in 2007 was high, it has grown by $1500m or 25% in two and a half years since then and this growth has nothing to do with the Prison, ABC, Justice and Coast Guard which were recorded as increased debt in 2006/7. This is why Barbados faces a second credit downgrade in 12 months and not two years ago. This $1500m increase is almost three times the cost of the Prison etc. And what do we have to show for this increased debt? What investment in the future, what new infrastructure? Mr. Ince said that there were new guidelines in place on capital expenditure. Prof Persaud pointed out in today’s call-in that this $1500m increase in debt was not driven by one-off capital expenditure but reoccurring expenditure. He asked whether these guidelines would have reduced the $1500m increase in debt and Senator Ince had no answer. Mr. Mascoll chewed up Senator Ince on the Government current account and having looked art the numbers earlier today Mascoll was right. It is frightening that somebody in Ince’s posiiton is so clueless about a public finance accounting item. How can Ince help to rescue the economy?

We spend $1000m per year on statutory corporations out of sight of public scrutiny. If every dollar of this is well spent, then there is not much we can do. But if there is waste, inefficient spending, opportunities to deliver the same public service at less cost, then there is indeed something we can do to improve our position irrespective of what happens in America.

Moreover, whether our policies attract an increasing part of the burgeoning global health tourism market, or global education tourism market or global asset management, has little to do with the fiscal deficit or America.

Someone quoted Norman Lamont the other day and his words could have been said about the current administration: “the government gives the impression of being in office, but not in power”. The Government has two and a half years left to prove itself. Lets kick off with a radical budget that proposes to shake up the statutory corporations through a range of initiatives like a freezing of the current grants to UWI students and introducing top up government loans, private delivery of public transport and public health, or something similar that would preserve quality of public service, access to the most disadvantaged, but deliver it more efficiently and with less costs. And let the Government present its plan and position to the public with competent people who know what they are talking about, it is part of what is required to make people confident to invest in the economy and the future.

45. Black Business
    Lets agree that the debt went up in the last two years.
    Why in the times of plenty with such great visionaries as Owen Arthur and Clyde Mascoll was Barbados not prepared for this shock? Why was the Barbados economy not restructured? Do you remember Minister Wood saying that bus fare was going up so as to cut the subsidy to the Transport Board and Owen “want to win the election” Arthur hearing the public outcry said no, it will not happen to poor working class Barbadians. The BLP always looked at the next election and refused to introduce any harsh measures that were required in their fourteen years in government so as to keep the economy from being in this state today.
    The DLP is faced with that situation today where they may have to introduce harsh measures again like in the early nineties.
    The talk on the streets before the last elections was it was a good election to lose; therefore I give them a passing grade because they are keeping the economy as stable as it can be in these rough economic times
    The BLP gave Barbadians a false sense of living on borrowed money that is haunting us today. Maybe that borrowing for rainy days has contributed to this increasing debt.
    If you are a patriotic Barbadian you would be at the front, educating Barbadians of what they must do to help maintain a standard of living which matches our limited resources.

46. Fair Play says that he gives the Government a passing grade for keeping the economy stable.

Stable? Unemployment rising from 7% to 10% in two years.

The fiscal deficit rising from 1.5% to 9% in two years.

The public debt rising by $1500m in two years?

Potentially two downgrades in 12 months?

GDP down 10% from its peak?

If that is a pass, God help us if we were to fail.

The issue as to whether they could do any better lies in the rise in debt of $1500m over two years? What caused that rise? BLP projects? No, that occurred before the last two years in the public accounts. Unemployment benefit? No, that comes out of the NI fund. Capital projects at the BWU? No, capital expenditure is at very low levels.

The rise comes from current consumption at the statutory corporations in the last two years, beyond the scrutiny of the public servants at central government and under the oversight of politically appointed board members like the incompetent Senator Ince.

And if we did not have that rise of $1500m what would have happened? There would be no credit downgrade, lower cost of borrowing, and the potential for a one-off capital expenditure stimulus on import-substituting green energy, like a $250m waste to energy plant, or a $100m wind farm, or a $150m solar farm, or the potential to guarantee five other Four Seasons-like projects each with 1000 jobs pushing unemployment back to 7-8% and $500m of inward capital investment that would boost our foreign exchange reserves above today’s precarious levels of enough for 19 weeks or so of imports.

47. @ BAFBFP
    Thanks, buddy, you seem to be able to to make me smile with your witty rejoinders! 🙂

48. @ Fairplay

ROTFL, KMWL (killing myself with laugh) BLP did not take thehard decisions to raise busfare for political gain. In what category do you put free busfares. alright you misappropriate 1.5b spent on yardfowls, yardfowls, and not a brick to show for it. You all hav ethe nerve to tlak about overruns.

In what category of strategy would you put new cultural industries, energy, offshore accelerated, new agriclutural initiatives – greenhouse , fuel canes in place, sugar products in place , cotton, plans for health services and health tourism, arbitration plans, forensic services, medical transcription services in place. Now if that is not restructuring in motion, perhaps it is DLP camps, councils, youth fora,free houses, busfares, embassies, fete, fete fete and the list goes on

You could not see that 1.5b could have put protections for tourism, manufacturing and small black enterprises that sufferring these two years. At beginning of crisis said theywould only provide 80m in stimulus for a 9b. economy, because they want to be prudent and spend 1.5b. I am going to burst a blood vessel just thinking about. So I have to keep laughing. Now our businesses losing money, people losing jobs and houses. DLP have the nerve to look to borrow another 1.5b in the medium term plan carrying our debt to a place where our credit is junk.

I have to go and open the business, which is under stress of this incompetence or I would spend more time with you.

49. Who ever wrote this piece was spot on!!!!!!!!

It is indeed sad really!

BAFBFP funny is ass as usual.

Long live BU!!!!!!!!!