Mia Mottley, Leader of the Opposition – Credit: Nation newspaper (photo)

Leader of the Opposition Mia Mottley staged a press conference to respond to the Governor of the Central Bank’s 6 month review of the Barbados economy. If the average Barbadian wasn’t already beaten into a state of disillusionment by the contracting economy compounded by a perceived inert government, Mottley’s recent offering made the condition more acute. If there is one thing the current political debate on the economy has demonstrated is the number of intellectuals Barbados has educated who can wax lyrically about what should or should not be done to improve the economy of Barbados. Bear in mind global economies are experiencing an economic condition which has never* been experienced in world history.

BU listened to the 54 minute press conference with rapt attention. Whether you are a B or D there is the reality we are all Barbadian* and want to see Barbados successfully navigate the current social and economic challenges which are confronting us. Mia Mottley represents the ‘government in waiting’ (no disrespect intended to the PDC or PEP) and therefore should be accorded commensurate respect. It therefore saddens BU to opine that her press conference can be easily labelled ‘same old, same old’. She was passionate in her delivery, her analysis of the current state of the economy was good but* where she fell flat was her failure to produce ideas and alternatives. Her delivery was populated with words like deficit, declining revenue, underemployment, stimulus, borrowing, substantial drop, 18-wheeler truck bearing down on us etc – obviously to play on the fears of Barbadians. When asked by a reporter to offer suggestions to the government on what a BLP government would do differently in a sprite of bipartisanship (BU’s paraphrasing), Mottley’s response was to ‘stay tuned!’. She begged the media to provide adequate coverage because her opposition party intended to provide feedback sector by sector. On this note BU agrees that the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation’s blatant blacklisting of the opposition party is reprehensible.

Ms. Mottley the country is waiting for some suggestions with great expectation, do take your time!

Another observation which attracted BU’s attention is Mottley’s focus on the rising current account deficit up to May 2010. Can someone explain how a country that is reliant on tourism and foreign direct investment is expected to grow in a global recession? Ms. Mottley tell us how you would manage the economy differently. BU remembers joining with you and Professor Avinash Persaud (an advisor) to pressure the government 1 year ago to rollout a significant stimulus package. Would that approach not have added to the debt burden given the protracted nature of the global recession?

If Mottley’s message to Barbadians stood any chance of resonating her constant reference to comparative analysis in the periods pre and post global financial meltdown smacks of being disingenuous. All* developing countries (and developed) are experiencing economic hardship at this time. Some may holdup the economies of Singapore, Mauritius, Hong Kong and others as beacons of success in the current environment but we all know the fundamentals of  those economies were on firm footing  before the meltdown.

Sadly Mottley and her crew continue to support an economic model which is built on selling land to realise foreign direct investment to fill the gap in government revenue and expenditure. The fact that government’s high expenditure is propped up by fiscal indiscipline, mediocre productivity and a desire to feed a lifestyle which is hungry to consume all that is foreign means nothing* to Mottley and her crew. Mottley was part of a government for 15 years which did anything significant to encourage the nascent industries of renewable energy and the cultural industries. Perhaps the time has come to suck up the pain and take some economic casualties.

Ms. Mottley, our runaway lifestyle cannot* be supported by selling our most precious commodity. Maybe some of us could tolerate leasing but not selling. You and your party need to come with ideas which address how Barbados can dismantle the existing economic model which is clearly not sustainable in a global economy.

122 responses to “Same Old Same Old From The Mottley Crew”

1. David, canot access the speech by Mia Mottley, link is not opening.

2. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

My Grandmother once told me, and I have never forgotten it, empty bottles make the most noise.

I always apply this Mia Mottley.

3. @Bajan Truth

Test the link and it opens fine at this end. Can we get a test from another computer?

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The Barbados Labour Party has nothing worthwhile to offer Barbados at this time. The Leader of the Opposition is just trying her best to destabalise the country because she feels that is the only way they will be returned to office.

The people of Barbados are not stupid, what ever she is saying is just falling on deaf hears. Barbados is not located on Mars or Jupiter we are on Earth like all the rest of the countries. The entire world economy is being battered and it is impossible for the economy of Barbados to escape and Mia Mottley and her cronies know that very well.

Her stance simply represents a naked grab for power at any cost.

Mia, if greedy wait hot will cool!

5. I am not a politician. I am not an economist. I am not a University graduate. But I have lived through recessions in both Venezuela and Trinidad. I am expecting to live through the one that will be soon be hitting us even harder here in Barbados and the rest of the English speaking Caribbean than it has already.

My answer to all our problems in the Caribbean is not a rocket scientist solution and will not stop the island from being in a recession but might help in a big way to ensure we get through it unscathed and better off. So here goes:

STOP ALL IMPORTATION OF U.S. /EUROPEAN /CHINESE GOODS to a point. Only import what is necessary and that DOES NOT include FOOD!! Force this lazy lot of crying-in-their-soup-until-de-nexx-fete/party/festival/cricket or football World Cup or series, to work. Get back to farming, production of food (cattle, pork, chickens, ducks, turkeys and vegetables and fruit) – make sure all farming is organic while you are at it. Fish/sea-egg-turtle farms. REVIVE THE SUGAR INDUSTRY. Sell the sugar here and export it to the niche health food markets worldwide. Sugar Cane Juice. Cane has so much it can do, why are we not looking at that? From clothing to building materials can be made from the bagasse. Food Processing (there is room for so much more – not what is being done already – another pepper sauce processor is not required – market studies should show the niches. Manufacturing same ting.

Buying local would keep a good piece o’ money within the country. Small businesses of any kind should be given special attention – banks should be forced into allowing loans at a small interest whether they like it or not to small businesses with good plans and future. We have all that is required to grow and sell within our islands and even to export. We have extremely creative people in our midst who should be able to produce creative innovations – and no! that does not include another straw handbag, or shiny wooden clock with Barbados written on it.

I know, as I said before, this will not solve the whole problem…but surely if we can feed ourselves to begin with, this is a good start. Before we thought about the movement of people within the Caribbean region – we should have thought FOOD movement within the Caribbean region. Our high quality produce is exotic and sought after. Add the figures of what we import, and look at that as a huge saving that could turn around and help people to be MORE PRODUCTIVE. We really just need to stop expecting that our governments and opposition parties should guide us through anything – if we all play our part, we can move through a recession with ease. All we really have to do is get real!

6. Carson C. Cadogan

Mia Mottley is NOT an empty bottle sir… She is indeed a very full bottle sir. You may want to inquire about the contents however..

7. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Don’t be fooled by this bogus concern for Barbados by crooked members of the Barbados Labour Party, all they are really interested in is in getting their hands back into the cookie jar.

They are now having to draw down on their secret offshore bank accounts and the balances are dwindling and they need to replinish them! Hence their desperation to return to office.

8. Empty barrels keep the most noise, coming from Carson Cadogan. Carson at least if your noise had rhythm it would hve some use. Has Miss Mottley said anything inaccurate, unreasonable, or unfair? At least I am hearing something to try to address these isses for the sake of the country, somebody has to tell this gov’t we need to hear and do something that MAKES SENSE. Or is it because it is Mia Mottley. We are about to lose our livelihood, a 1991 repeat, the same group, second string of jokers, because they cannot steer a ship in stormy seas. Every country is on the stormy sea, but which ships survive depends on the leadership by the captain, his knowledge of sailing, experience and courage. It depends on the competence of the crew. Miss Mottley, Owen Arthur, Clyde Mascoll, all have knowledge, experience, courage and competence. Where is our gov’t cowering, distracting – Edutech did not deliver, 1000 job sin summer camps. Have mercy Lord. There is a difference between getting wet, buffetted by waves vs. pitching rudderless and clueless through stormy seas. The ship will take on water, but use the blasted pump, do not fold your hands and say oh but every ship gets water in a storm, good grief.

Your team stated they do not need knowledge or experience to run a country, apparently it only requires goodwill, and good wishes. That is true, look at the group, who has economic management, government experience or ministerial expertise. You are apparently satisfied to entrust your life and your children’s well-being to that lot, I am not. I have children to send school and I could lose the business I took over from my father. We listened to alot of foolishness about ‘give them a chance’, we did that with Sandi; ‘its their turn’, like it is a damn swing we sharing; ‘they were in too long and its dangerous’ (to my shame I bought that one, because I was satisfied with the performance but concerned with them being in office too long) – BIB,BIG,BIG MISTAKE. It will be corrected at the next election. Miss Mottley make sure and be there, keep the team together. Prepare, looking forward to hear what the BLP will offer for a turnaround for the sectors. Let it make sense or I will blister the team, I do not like nonsense; make it truthful, I don’t want deception; make it realisitc I don’t want dreams. I want to hear how we can approach this current tangle, and how we will grow in the medium to long term.

9. BAJAN TRUTH

But BT do you in any way contribute to our net foreigh currency reserves in your many and varied business dealings..?

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BAJAN TRUTH

“Miss Mottley, Owen Arthur, Clyde Mascoll, all have knowledge, experience, courage and competence”

I just read something, but I think that my glasses need changing. Is that Clyde Mascoll that you have in there? Knowledge, experience, courage and competence?

Let me clean my glasses! Is this the same Clyde Mascoll which the Barbados Labour Party cursed morning, noon and night as useless when he was a member of the Democratic Labour Party?

Is this the same Clyde Mascoll whose sick mother was made fun of in the House of Assembly by the sitting members of the Barbados Labour Party when they were in office? Is this the same Clyde Mascoll that Billie called, to much Barbados Labour Party sitting members laughter, “Malik wid teets”?

You Barbados Labour Party people really think that Bajans have short memories.

11. Following (the DLP) fashion going “kill” Cadogan. He does keep real noise…he must be an empty barrel!

12. @ David:
    “BU listened to the 54 minute press conference with rap attention. Whether you are a B or D there is the reality we are all Barbadian* and want to see Barbados successfully navigate the current social and economic challenges which are confronting us. Mia Mottley represents the ‘government in waiting’ (no disrespect intended to the PDC or PEP) and therefore should be accorded commensurate respect.”

I guess that if I had listened it would have been in “wrapped” attention, as a member of a captive audience which, obviously, is tightly wound. The good thing is that at my age, though Barbados may eventually go to hell in a handbasket, it is unlikely to reach with me alive and in it. Say what? I think we need a song, but not a dirge!

13. Pretty Blue Eyes Avatar
    Pretty Blue Eyes

Why should Ms Mottley tell the DLP what to do now…just to let them take her ideas and run with it like how Michael Lashley and the whole lot at NHC tryied to make the public believe that they found all these houses and lands for Barbadians, don’t make me laugh, she is wise I am behind her 100%. The economy is supposed to be on the decline yet Barbadians are flying to U.S, Canada, etc having their vacation in the air or cruising, where is the money coming from, we are supposed to be in recession yet there is a fete or some means of getting-the-money-out-of-the-poor-man’s-pocket every weekend, and these events are well attended, so get off this thing about recession if there is one certainly the working class Barbadian cannot be feeling it, onward ever Mottley, I just want to wake up to a BLP government.

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Anonymous

I am just doing my bit to make sure that Bajans are not misled by these Barbados Labour Party jokers.

15. @ Carson C. Cadogan // July 17, 2010 at 12:54 PM

You said:- “Don’t be fooled by this bogus concern for Barbados by crooked members of the Barbados Labour Party, all they are really interested in is in getting their hands back into the cookie jar.”
    …………………………………………………………………………………………….
    So, Cadogan, we do not have to worry about the dlp TRYING to get their hands in the cookie jar!
    No, we don’t, because they are already there!! What is it called these days……. feeding at the public trough??
    Or do you seriously believe that they are not “making hay while the sun shines”? You must really be on cloud 9, Sir!

16. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

de hood

The Government is being administered by a decent, honest set of Bajans. Unlike your crooked bunch.

17. Rosemary Parkinson

WOMAN – YOU MAD???!!!

How you mean stop the imports of junk (that we can’t afford to pay for) and make Bajans work- instead of fete and lime? You Serious?!! You Crazy???

You did not have to explain that you did not have any fancy university degree – that was OBVIOUS.

Your suggestions make FAR to much sense to have come from an academic. You are correct in suggesting a serious proactive belt tightening…..

but it will not happen – no one has the balls to take the step. Neither of the two political sides really care what is best for BARBADOS – only what is politically expedient….. so we will drift along until reality kicks in.

Of course there is a better alternative than yours – it is to get ourselves together as a national TEAM and work hard and long as SHOITE to be productive enough to maintain our (unrealistic) standard of living……. but I suspect that you already see that we are incapable of raising to that level – which leaves your option…..

18. @Rosemary Parkinson

I agree with your view of cutting food importations. The region(CSME) can amply provide food for its own people. Guyana is a bread basket of food with ample land for more agriculture.

19. ” The economy is supposed to be on the decline yet Barbadians are flying to U.S, Canada, etc having their vacation in the air or cruising, where is the money coming from, we are supposed to be in recession yet there is a fete or some means of getting-the-money-out-of-the-poor-man’s-pocket every weekend, and these events are well attended, so get off this thing about recession if there is one certainly the working class Barbadian cannot be feeling it,…”

But Blue Eyes

I state to you with confidence that Miss Mottley and her crew and predecessors are guilty of doing exactly the same damned t’ing as we speak…!

20. @Rosemary

The last government (BLP) is on record as following a strategy of moving the Barbados economy to a service oriented one, it seems at the expense of agriculture development. Barbadians extended a lot of hope when the DLP assumed office that we would have seen some movement regarding agriculture development. Especially so with Haynesley Benn and James Paul in the fold. These are two men who have had a life long commitment to agriculture and by now should have significantly influenced that sector.

BU agrees Barbados cannot* be self-sufficient in agriculture but there should be some effort to become partly sufficient. A few benefits which would result, foreign exchange savings i.e. import substitution/replacement, our food import bill is horrendously high. There is the opportunity to use technology to maximize our returns from agriculture, BU family member Ready Done has been a loud advocate for growing the aquaponic technology. The excuse that the Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Agriculture has been blocking Benn at every turn is not good enough. The time is now more than ever to do what has to be done in the interest of the country.

21. I surelyhope that Mia did not give her 54 minutes of discourse in “rap”. Surely you listened with RAPT attention?

22. @ David

The PS aint home retired for over a year now and a proud Dem too?

23. @Anon 2

Thanks

24. Carson C
    talk ya talk man, talk ya talk. Yes, he is de said same Mascoll. Tink dem easy?

BAFBFP
    wait,wait, waittttttttt, wah happen wid you face now? ya see wah I tell you bout eating all dah Chinese ‘food’? next ting ya gun be tawkin chinese:
    wahoidhmxnja., diwdfjpen, eopeu89403j, dz5& fadkjei;a djf dj, oeutrirnzd/;anboqurt nvc;
    (and all dat is just to tell me ‘hello bonny’) stupseeeeeeeeeeee.
    Uh cryinnnnnnnnnnnnn.

Rosemary Parkinson
    Well said.

25. Pretty Blue Eyes
    Sorry to be the bearer of bad news but you will be asleep for a long time my dawlinks. Sleep on.

26. @ David//July 17, 2010 at 2:38 PM
    Hi David, Just a minor correction…………please change “foal” to “fold” in the above comment. 🙂

27. Thanks hoodie, hope the two gentlemen didn’t think I was likening them to an animal of the equine variety…lol.

28. @ Carson C. Cadogan // July 17, 2010 at 2:08 PM

You CLAIM:- “The Government is being administered by a decent, honest set of Bajans. Unlike your crooked bunch.”
    …………………………………………………………………………………

Ha, ha, ha! If things weren’t so crucial under this lot I could continue laughing all the way to muh grave (or Jenkins!) because that is where a lot o we gwine end up!

But let me welcome you………………….. as Barbados’ latest & best comedian for this crop over!

What you really meant to say, I suppose, was the “best” of a sorry lot of politicians from which we have to choose!

29. Mia look nice in pink doe, oh my gawdddddddddddddd

30. @ David// July 17, 2010 at 3:32 PM

Now that you mentioned it…………………………maybe you are quite correct with the original spelling! 🙂

31. Bajan Truth
    The manner in which Edutech was implemented by Minister Mottley was not well thought out because it could not be sustained by an economy like Barbados.
    Almost every input for edutech used a large portion of foreign exchange. At one point it was said to be costing $400+ million. Just get the picture of every teacher in an edutech school getting a free laptop. Up to this point some schools are still not yet wired up for the use of computers.
    Go to most schools and see the junk yard of gutted computer hardware lying around in computer labs and in store rooms. The polytechnic should have been mandated to produce hundreds of technicians who are skilled in maintaining computers. These persons should have been assigned to schools to keep the systems running for as long as possible before buying new computers that the schools do on a regular basis. This is a failed program. Minister Jones is right about it.
    The Minister of Agriculture has failed and must be replaced, but not with James Paul. They should try someone coming through the senate that has no attachment to agriculture but with a good working knowledge of management.

32. Why would we want food from Guyana? It wont taste as good as that from Amurca.Duh got Subway in Guyana? Why would we want clothes made by Slim on Swan street, he dont have no brand name like Hilfiger. Why ride a bicycle or walk or catch bus, de gurls aint going to tek me on wid out a big ride. Wunnuh want we to work and be self sustaining,? Get real! De only ting we want from bout here, is de riddims, de gurls and de weed.

33. I voting for de party that plan to abolish suit and tie. Dat is de problem wid dese politicians. Dey overheating in de suit and tie and can’t think straight. I supportting Patrick Todd. He does walk and catch bus. All de other ministers barely get in de job when nuff Jaguar, BMW, Lexus and Benz buy. I supporting de party dat pushing coconut water and lemonade and leaving out de Corvousier and Johnny Walker.

34. Anonymous@3:58
    Adroit.

35. Anonymous

“De only ting we want from bout here, is de riddims, de gurls and de weed.”

Don’ faget Coc’nut water..

36. @ BAFBFP

Do you earn foreign exchange? Yes, I am one of many small businesses that earn both here and in the C’bbean occasionally further afield.

@ Carson

Yes the said same Mascoll, that it is alledged that Thompson trick into taking the leadership to put space between his failures so that he would not pay a political price for failure at a time when his party needed him. The self-same Mascoll who fought bravely and the best he knew how to counteract the gov’t taking on Arthur, even though he had limited experience in applied economics to small economies; who scorned to sit idly by every Tuesday, scorned to sleep and ignore the dialogue and tried to come to the defense of DLP policies. The said same Mascoll, who when Thompson realised that he would do better in the 2003 election, it is alledged he made sure that Clico did not give sufficient money so he could not win and be P.M. But instead in true machiavellian style it is alledged that he got Clico to give BLp a windfall in contributions, hence his knowledge of the check, check number etc. to make doubly sure. The said same Mascoll who Thompson toppled from the leadership when the party had recovered its balance and got some more seats and therefore was poised to take the gov’t because chances are bajans would not give the BLP an unprecendented fourth term. I think it is alledged that Thompson likes to get things easy – easy St. John seat that was said to have been snatched from McClean they told me. Yes the said same Mascoll who was treated like a dog, by his own political family. He ain’ come back so he must be alright where he is.

37. Anonymous
    But Patrick Todd cud drive doe?
    Murdahhhh

38. Had not fa ‘bad-luck’ dis Mascoll fella like he won’ta had na luck a’tall. Wah both parties treat he like a mangey dog. Cuh dearrrrrrr.

39. Todd aint pass de test? I see he last year in a Suzuki van wid “L” plates on. Wuhloss! He is still a good man though.

40. @ Fair Play

I understand that there are issues with the Edutech programme, but I do not have verified facts on it yet. I have heard that some of the equipment is obsolete, and some is not working. It worked in some schools, but no current up-to-date details. But my reference to it above was not to say that what Jones said was a lie; but rather to point out we have had the most serious report for the economy from Central bank, the leadership is saying nothing to the point and what is said is not relevant to the trouble we are in. Light stuff to distract. When did Jones find out it was not working 21/2 years later. Pleaseeeeee. I need Kid Site to sing:

Can’t find Boyce,Freundel Stuart, nor David Thompson too.
    We looking all round, up and down the town, to get a piece of news.
    Ah looking for a Minister of Finance,
    Ah looking for a Minister of Finance

41. @ Rosemary

That is a good idea. One was that pooh poohed by the DEms on the call in programme when Owen Arthur said to start your own kitchen garden and showed the media his own. You should hear the DEMS. This idea would save foreign exchange. We would still need to find a way to earn foreign exchange for things like medication, equipment, vehicles etc. But it is a good point that we should all take on board.

42. For those who underestimate the voice of the BU family, government surrogates have been monitoring the discussion and felt constrained to submit the following document which is self-explanatory.

43. BAJAN TRUTH

My imgination is peeking now… Gi’ mah an example of these small businesses that net this foreign exchange. Gi’ two if ya don’ mind…!

44. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

I wonder why Owing allows her to speak on of which knows nothing or is politically stupid ?

Once again Muttley opens her mouth and knows not what will fall out.

She really is quite a sad specimen of a person.

As the The Prime Misister has been heard to say Barbados is more that an Economy it has Social component as well, and under this DLP Gov’t the two components are very well balanced.

At lease people know who we have running the affairs of this country and not being run from the back rooms of offices in London or New York, nor in the board rooms of Bridgetown nor from Muttley’s bedroom.

45. WIV;

I have never been a fan of David Thompson but when in opposition the then Government lead by RHOSA tried their best to mek laughing sport at every contribution he made. They jeered and laughed at his every comment. They drove people like me into his camp. Do you really think now that your approach with Mottley is a wise one?

46. Why must the Prime Minister or Acting Prime Minister of Barbados always be the Minister of Finance? It is not so in Jamaica, Trinidad or England.

47. Fair Play

Interesting observation.. to which I must attach an counter… Why can’t the Prime Minister remain as Attorney General?

48. I think constitutionally, the Prime Minister cannot be the Attorney General .It seems that they must be separate posts for a government to be formed. I am not an expert so speaking under correction.

49. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

BAFBFP, At least we knew we had an honest upright man to turn to, Muttley has proven herself to be ineffective in every Ministry she has been given to
    Molest.

Also The Prime Minister has never been the subject in abuse cases of anyone unlike Muttley.

Muttley’s list is extensive in this department.

50. WIV

I still think that you are missing the point but neva de less..