Submitted by Austin

The people of Barbados spoke loud and clear in the last election for change they could touch and feel. Their vote came after hearing all the right things as detailed in the DLP manifesto. What was lost in the excitement of the historic moment was an analysis of whether the promises could actually be fulfilled. At this point the answer appears to be “no”.

As a political observer who has been DLP leaning, the logical question that comes to mind is whether “today” the people’s choice of a DLP administration to bring about desired chance was a good choice. While I do not agree with the overall big business leaning approach to governance of the BLP,  at least we saw government movement on a number of fronts, some good and some bad. Movement we are not seeing today from the DLP at all.

I’m not a political strategist but if the BLP can tame or replace it’s Opposition Leader, take on a visible people first oriented campaign versus big business, demonstrate compassion for the average Bajan family, and insert new blood in it’s ranks that are not simply lawyers but folks who have a range of talents… They stand a chance in the next election.

Now the question of BLP leadership will be a problem that will be difficult for them to overcome. The current opposition leader is simply not it, and former Prime Minister Owen Arthur has too much baggage, which leaves that question of who could lead unanswered.

Question: BU if the general election was tomorrow as a blogosphere poll, what party would you vote for and why? At the end of the day the answer to this question is all our politicos really care about. For tracking purposes please state the party and why.

62 responses to “BU If The Next General Election Was Held Tomorrow, Who Would You Vote For; DLP or BLP?”

1. @Austin

A very difficult question. Why is it difficult you may ask? BU believes both our main political parties have fallen short of the mark if we measure from the last general elections.

The government when in opposition ran a campaign on the promise of change as you stated. The issues of reducing the cost of living, exposing corruption and the promise of new legislation relating to immigration, FOI and Integrity legislation were priority issues.

Yes the government has had to manage an economy which has been severely affected by the global recession of the last 18 months. Remember ours is an economy entirely reliant on  services to the international business sector and tourism.

What has been evident to BU for a long time? The confidence in our political parties is wrapped up in our perception of the leaders of the political parties. Whether we look back to Barrow, Adams or Arthur. A wounded David Thompson has severely impacted the stock of the DLP. This is further evidence by a lack of an heir apparent on the DLP side. On the flip side the ride for leader of the opposition Mottley so far has been unsteady with Arthur breathing down her back and a lack of finesse so far dealing with several issues. Would Barbadians feel comfortable entrusting the government to Mottley at this time?

If we accept that the DLP has had a tough time of it because of the prevailing economic conditions what other projects not dependent on the state of the global economy could have been managed better. Could the government at mid term have done a better job by enacting pieces of legislation like FOI, IL, Amendment to the Immigration Act etc? Could the government have done a better job cleaning up the PSV sector? Could the government have done a better job building standards for integrating alternative energy initiatives? Have we heard anything about e-government in the year 2010? We could go on and on and the answer we know is the government has failed* to move these matters forward at a satisfactory pace.

Who would we vote for then? At this point given what we perceive to be an inert position from government BU would vote for the BLP. Our vote is not based on any incredible performance by them while in opposition so far but moreso we the people have to send a message to all political parties that we want change* and the business as usual approach is for the past.

2. Austin,
    i think you should constantly let the readers know how many people. Unless this is done, the statics collated would be useless and not representative of a true sample.

3. that should be “how many people voted”.

Every time someone votes, one should know the number of votes.

Of course,though, if one can vote more than once, this would be a further cause of “suspect polling”

4. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

Just like the Israelites of old, you are seeking to return to Egypt.
    Can you remember what Moses heard from the Isrelites while on their way out of bondage?

“If only we had meat to eat! We remember the fish we ate in Egypt at no cost—also the cucumbers, melons, leeks, onions and garlic. But now we have lost our appetite; we never see anything but this manna!”

Numbers 11:4-6

They could not see the bigger picture. You seem to be adopting the same attitude.

5. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

Don’t forget that there are many ways for one person to vote ten thousand times in these online polls.

Bear that in mind.

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

Have you ever heard of the you ever heard of stockholm syndrome?

“Stockholm syndrome is a term used to describe a paradoxical psychological phenomenon wherein hostages express adulation and have positive feelings towards their captors that appear irrational in light of the danger or risk endured by the victims.”
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stockholm_syndrome

Now apply that to your new found love of the Barbados Labour Party. While you are at it go back and read some of the threads which appeared on Barbados Underground over the past years.

7. Caribbean Artisan Alliance, promoting a radical change to the composition of the Upper House, favouring demographic representation over geographic representation.

8. Just reminded the land use policy under this government continues to be a concern. The recent approval at Pickering and Brighton comes to mind. A read of a letter to the editor in Sunday’s newspaper from Senator Francis Chandler which questions the breaking of a campaign promise by government to bring change of use policy to parliament is good reading.

9. Not saying whom I would vote for, but who would win, usually I am right about that.

Reasons:

The BLP has maintained an inert group of candidates. The Opposition has really not much changed nor improved its candidate slate, except maybe for two positions.

It has also not been analytically vocal in a constructive manner recently. The Opposition in Parliament has been critical without construction, been more of a humbug than bringing good consideration to the fore.

Added to that, first answer, were any of the current Opposition lot heavily involved in recent construction matters that bombed and caused strife?

No answer or change in philosophy has been committed to, regarding the past construction fiascos of the Opposition.

How on Earth could anyone vote for such at this time? Not only would one have to have a short memory, but must be on other substances as well.

Then, to the Government:

The Government, while having a hard time dealing with the recession, as was predicted on these blogs over four years ago, every country has the same issues.

That said, the current administration has at least five young men with ability and the vibrancy to learn and develop.

That is critical in the assessment of the vibrancy and potential of leadership and success.

That the PM is currently ill, is concerning more from a personal view,indeed since his illness the Government has done a good job of managing its image and showing the Government youth presenting as being capable.

Then further, the Government has appeared to be spearheading change in many areas, not least housing and education, with some success.

Remember too that Governments are more often than not, lost and not won. Thus far, the current administration has not done anything damning enough that they would be thrown to the lions.

Rome was not built in a day and while I may be in the minority as an assessor in this, I think you would be surprised at the result, if an election were held tomorrow.

I expect that the Government would still win with a handsome majority.

10. Why am I not surprised that BU is giving its vote to the BLP.

Saw this coming since last year.

11. @crusoe

Can you give specifics of substantial progress made on housing and education you speak of?

Rome indeed was not built in a day, you are correct…. However is it realistic to expect that at least contruction be started in a political term in key areas as mentioned by David … Easy accomplishments like FOI go unanswered day after day…

The current administration appears to be stuck in first gear, is second gear too much to ask.

12. @Crusoe

It is with interest you did not address the fundamental point which BU gave for voting against government if elections were called tomorrow. Bare in mind this is a mid term assessment which can change very quickly. To repeat the point, the POEPLE must send messages to our politicians that we want change, it is what we voted for; some of us at least. If the BLP were to get government and they flatter to deceive we do the same thing until the message is received. The examples you cite in housing etc are all social programs but what about capacity building initiatives? What about strategies which are transformational? Agreed that resources are scarce but we can do NOTHING!

For those labeling BU as BLP, we have gotten use to them.

13. Remember a lazy Senate was addressed in an earlier blog. It seems the Senate is meeting on an infrequent basis compared to when the BLP was in government. When they meet, Senators who are holding key portfolios say very little. How do we want to measure government performance going forward? Same old same old or…

14. If elections was called today the turn out would be very little in the thousands even, as must people fed up but I think blp has the most locals so they would win.

Off topic but related.
    http://www.pressherald.com/business/medical-marijuana-spawns-fresh-industries_2010-06-27.html
    Showing the benefit of medical marijuana, it seams a much better way to go than the dudus effect.

15. Neither the DLP nor the BLP has done an EXCELLENT job in its constitutional role. But this is more likely to harm the DLP than the BLP. That is, of course, if poeople really vote on performance and not on slogans such as “Cuddear, give dem a chance” or “Time for a change” or “Duh had dem time a’ready” !

16. Caribbean Artisan Alliance, promoting a radical change to the composition of the Upper House, favouring demographic representation over geographic representation…

along with an administrative presidential team (no more than ten people) and NO Lower House…. Hah…!!

17. @ Carson Cadogan
    The next time somebody ask to lead you, make sure it is not to a desert. DLP stalwart commented after a speech by P.M. Thompson to Chamber of Commerce, ‘one thing you have to say about Arthur all like now we would give us a plan and he would be leading you down a path that you could have confidence in. I don’t know what to do? All I try I can’t get these fellows to see that we need a clear workable plan for the private sector to have confidence.Don’t know how to formulate one. Whispered all around in groups but ‘he ain’t say anything.

It would seem DLP has lost a lot of private sector support. Small businesses pissed off – contractors, vendors, manufacturers to come with environment levy; shopkeepers – license costs; Young people – the campaign of drink, drugs, money – vex aint see the people they voted for again. You would need to fool them twice.

@ Crusoe – you missed out the greatest downfall that will impact the economy in years to come – CLICO. A case of conflict of interest; lack of integrity; corruption,saving Parris at the expense of the country. How will they find the money to pay the 300m; make good 2B in OECS; make good policyholders in B’dos; buy Sam Lords – not to protect policyholders but to save Parris; no judicial management – to save Thompson’s friend and financier Parris; NIS loaned money to Public Workers Credit Union to purchase the mortgage company – more taxpayers pensions to save Thompson’s friend Parris; Maxine McClean refused to answer truthfully that this was done in the senate; gov’t never let the people know what was happening to their money; by the time 20,000 households realise that they will not get back all of their money; and the people of Barbados know how much of their tax money has to bailout Thompson’s friend Parris; and then pay higher taxes to make up gov’ts revenue shortfall, how you think they will vote.

Politicians always say a week in politcs is a long time and you don’t know how people will vote. If they vote with their emotions and not their intelligence – give them a chance, nostalgic barrow memories; it was the crisis; then they will wrap themselves in their bondage.

@ David you forgot to mention that if they cannot even keep a simple promise to update us on the P.M.s health, after people prayed and sent good wishes, how disgusting and disdainful of Barbadians love and care. They take bajans for granted. I have no hope of them keeping any promise just distracting the people with cosmetic activities that do not drive to the heart of the matter. Where is the Agricultural land protection act.

@ Crusoe – what housing programme, the land, sites and services of all the houses done to date and in the next tranche was done by the BLP. The contracts were given out when the gov’t changed and DLP gave the business to Jada and Preconco. Contractors are angry. The only land programme for housing brought by this gov’t is Brighton, and Pickering. Michael Lashley rode on the performance of the BLP. A house and land programe takes at least three years to get done. It has not been three years yet. LOL that is the only flag they waving. QEH only a bathroom and kitchen done, where are the improvements in A & E, materials and equipment for hosiptal, and they cut the budget this year. PLEASEEEEEEE!!! if you are an apologists or DLP operative trying to protect your party, say so, then fine, you have your job to do. But for us Bajans who have been disappointed and hurt after putting our confidence in a change, and can think and analyse for ourselves, we are not happy campers. TELL DEM DAT.

18. If Blp did so good with the little taxes them was collecting I wonder how they gin do with the large amount they going to get when them get back their seats.

19. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Bajan Truth

“The next time somebody ask to lead you, make sure it is not to a desert.”

Can you remember what was on the other side of the desert?

20. I would want to vote BLP but Mia scares me.

21. @Atman – I couldn’t have put it better myself

22. @Atman

Don’t mean to put you on the spot but what is it that scares you about the lady?

23. Caribbean Artisan Alliance, promoting a radical change to the composition of the Upper House, favouring demographic representation over geographic representation…

along with an administrative presidential team (no more than ten people) and NO Lower House…. Hah…!!

Artisan support translates to :-

1. Wheelchair friendly sidewalks on every road in the parishes of St. Michael and St. James in TWO years after elected office is realised.

24. @David who asked:

Don’t mean to put you on the spot but what is it that scares you about the lady?
    ==============================================================

Her aggressive over-bite…in her political as well as personal life.

25. REYKJAVIK, Iceland — Icelandic Prime Minister Johanna Sigurdardottir has married her long-term partner, her office said on Monday, making her the world’s first national leader with a same-sex spouse.

26. Tolerance my friends, tolerance.

27. @hants

Relax…. that day will never happen in Barbados no time soon… We are way to conservative a nation…. Dream on…

28. Straight talk Avatar

I so admire the Icelanders, in their determination not to be bankrupted by the real thieves still at large, being supported and underwritten by the corrupt system we live under.
    Once people understand that that a capitalist system tied to a fiat currency has only one eventual outcome, no matter how many booms are manufactured, the busts will outweigh them and continue the flow of wealth upwards, as their system is designed to produce.

Trickle down …LOL.

29. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

Icelandic Prime Minister Johanna Sigurdardottir has married her long-term partner, her office said on Monday, making her the world’s first national leader with a same-sex spouse.

No Worries here guys, Muttley isn’t going to bite at that and furthermore Owing is addressing the issue of their leadership matters and going into the next election Muttley will not be the one carrying the flag, she will be displaced by See Thru Arthur.

30. I have no doubt that the BLP will win again but Mia must listen. You ever hear play de fool part? I learn my lesson you learn yours? I remain loyal.St.Peta ah come from!!!

31. @BAFBFP, I like that. Many streets have no sidewalks at all, far less ones that enable wheelchair access.

@Straight Talk. I wonder how long it will take most small and medium states to see that ‘globalisation’ is a re-colonisation concept aka ……t, and reject it as such?

32. @ Carson – what desert. The economy was booming and with careful management we could have had better management through this crisis. people had jobs, thousands of business start ups?The people will eventually conclude that DLP HH took them for a ride – corruption, corruption, squandermania, wuh loss – not a fella for prison yet. What are the facts? Where is the auditor generals report outlining the infelicities. Yuh can fool some of us some of the time but not all of us all of the time. The DLP was never competent at managing the economic performance of this country, they have always managed to tkae a good situationn and make it bad, or take an economic crisis like this and make it worse than it needs to be.

Tell me how does it make sense to talk about squandermania, and wasting resources and you move the gov’t spending from 2.8b to 3.2 in the first budget. To spend on what, the only new line item was the fatted calf and camps. How does it make sense to talk about we are going to bring down the cost of living and promptly without compunction, competence or common sense raise the cost of oil. Did they really think it only affected SUV’s, idiots. Add insult to injury raise taxes, now a levy and all the time you are destorying peoples lives, changing we love you and we for the small man- I am so angry at this, I am sputtering, because this has hurt. I DO NOT LISTNE TO WHAT YOU SAY, I LOOK AT WHAT YOU DO.

33. Our magazine http://www.thefamilymag.com covers similar ideas and topics. Feel free to send us your ideas !

Cheers
    Ryan

34. It is really sad that this government is doing little and it is even more sad that we have to revert to a useless BLP government who wasted so much.

35. Caribbean Artisan Alliance, promoting a radical change to the composition of the Upper House, favouring demographic representation over geographic representation…

Artisan support translates to :-

1. Wheelchair friendly sidewalks on every road in the parishes of St. Michael and St. James in TWO years after elected office is realised.

2. Enhancing the physical environment in Primary Schools by planting 30 new partially mature trees in each primary school across the island by the end of the first year.

36. 3. Cut the money spent on overseas travel by public servants by 80%.

37. Flavour of the Month Avatar
    Flavour of the Month

DLP is no GOOD
    The people made a big mistake in voting DLP

People talked about change
    They did not quallify that term –change—

Owen Arthur asked –change for what and to what

People did not listen

DLP has always been a party of liars, Prime Minister Errol Barrow always had a problem with elements within the party, who were bent on doing foolishness. The mirror image speech was directed to DLP members.

The DLP should disband now !! it is not the party that Errol Walton Barrow, the now Right Excellent Errol Walton Barrow, national hero founded, the real DLP became extinct in 1987-88 with the backstreet abortion of a budget that was presented by the Right Honourable Lloyd Erskine Sandiford.

Many on this blog warned of the folly of the DLP, THE LIES , THE DECEPTION, THE FALSE ACCUSATIONS
    BUT -some apologists fought against this

All the crap about the BLP by an ungrateful people was unjustified. The BLP did a lot for this country and elements within the country who did not want to see Owen get a fourth term conspired to fool the people and undermined Arthur’s effort.

The economy was healthy, unemployment was down down down, guyanese present and all –and now what ? -bare shite !from the DLP .

A certain key person in the BLP may have been part of the plan to stop Arthur and prevent him from getting a fourth term. That person knows who s/he is but what goes around comes back around , all the way back aroun’ ( Justin Timberlake)

38. Flavour of the Month Avatar
    Flavour of the Month

PDEM–The People’s Democratic Party

an amalgamation of the PEP and PDC

Take a hint !

39. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

BAJAN TRUTH

“corruption, corruption, squandermania, wuh loss – not a fella for prison yet.”

Finally we have something that we agree on. I am bitterly disappointed with the Democratic Labour Party on the above as well.

With the mountains of evidence against the crooked Barbados Labour Party and their operatives, “not a fella for prison yet”. So many clear examples of “tiefing” and other types of corruption not a single member of the Barbados Labour Party or their operatives in handcuffs entering the courts to answer charges. My wife and I were hoping that the first guests at the “Dodds Hilton” in St. Phillip would have been members of the last administration.

However what did we get? An audit then talk, another audit and more talk, another audit and more talk, another audit and more talk. and on and on and on…………
    My family and I are bitterly disappointed at the lack of action against crooked people in the last administration. Many guilty people are now walking our streets free and laughing at honest people because the Democratic Labour Party failed to do their duty to the people of Barbados. So why be honest, huh?

I wrote on many occasions of this blog that the Democratic Labour Party will regret this deriliction of their duty with sack cloth and ashes.

Now you and DAVID are pushing an agenda of saddling the people of Barbados with these crooks again. You are eager to pick up from where you left off.

corruption, corruption, squandermania, wuh loss – not a fella will go to prison……….

Grantley Adams was right, Bajans have short memories.

Remember the “stockholm syndrome”!

40. It’s a difficult question because both have demonstrated a lack of sensitivity towards the poor and especially those in between, who always fall thru the cracks. the poor are given benefits with many restrictions in place etc the $10,000 grant from NHC that none with qualify for. the rich don’t need any help but those single parents whose salary might be above $2,600. cannot qualify for anything even tho they need help. for instance. they are renting, would like to purchase land but the prices are too high, they cannot get it from NHC, their salaries are above $2,600 but less that $3,000. they are struggling yet non of the political parties ever consider really helping the single parent. no one does not even suggest giving them soft loans or access to money from Social Care, Urban, nothing. but you will see the unemployed getting their homes repaired, being given land (not often), etc. why haven’t these politicians yet see the need to put measures in place for the single parent who does not get support in raising their children? i see it often and it tears me apart to hear moms crying out for help. we DO NOT NEED the DLP or the BLP, we need a new Party with fresh ideas that would work – take a look at Venezuela. President Chavez has reshape that country. but he is getting licks from America for his stance. Take a trip down there and see for yourself., it was not so prosperous 20 years ago. look at Barbados now in comparison to 20 years ago. people are worse off. foreigners have our land because government does not care about our future generation. it does not happen in St. Lucia, Trinidad, Antigua, or Bermuda. 20 years ago their was much ado about the breathaliser , 20 years later and it has not been implemented. we need new blood from a different stock of people. nothing will change if we continue along this same vein.

41. June 29, 2010 at 9:58 PM

I apologise for the errors in grammar

42. Dear Atman and Fence Sitter:

Whya are you scared.

Mia is a lovely woman.

43. The DLP people can scoff and mock all they like by so far BU has guessed right most of the time when it comes to determining the mood of the people. There is still time to turn it around.

44. It doesn’t really add up does it? All the claims of corruption during the election campaign and threats of imprisonment, etc, etc, and then nothing. There are basically two possible explanations.

The first is that there really wasn’t the kind of evidence that would stand the scrutiny of a court, or, secondly, the evidence is there and the new Government is not using it because it would damage their own interests. Perhaps they are waiting to use it all at the next general election campaign – but wouldn’t we just feel cheated that the revelations were used not to right wrongs and change things but only for party politics. None of these possibilities is very palatable.

The second possibility that the Government is protecting its own interests will be favoured by those who generally favour conspiracy stories. The stories around Clico do add some weight to this possibility. But it would seem to me that this Government does not really pass up on criticising the opposition. It reminds me of when Panday became PM in Trinidad after decades of opposition, he found it very hard to get out of the mode of opposition and criticising whatever the other side did, and into the mode of government and focusing on actually getting things done and changed.

I notice the UK has had an additional, emergency budget, even though their economy is on the mend and we have yet to have a budget this year, even though we are still sinking, according to Governor Worrell’s GDP forecast. I wonder if the Government will find no time for a budget, but will find time for the annual party conference at which it will spend all the time criticising the opposition rather than laying out the implementation of an alternative development plan.

45. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

“The DLP people can scoff and mock all they like”

Let me tell you whenever these Barbados Labour Party people are returned to office it will be cat piss and pepper in Barbados.

Now that the Democratic Labour Party has assured them that they can do their worst with absolultely no consequences to themselves. No body going to prison. They will plunder this country like nothing we have ever seen before. Mark my words.

A leopard does not change its spots.

46. @Cadogan

Seems like the people find themselves between a rock and a very hard place?

47. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

Never put the fox to guard the hen house. As you are seeking to do.

48. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

“Seems like the people find themselves between a rock and a very hard place?”

Now yuh talking!

49. All you are doing is protecting a problem. You are suggesting no solution except to maintain the status quo. If there was so much pillage by the BLP explain why the DPP has not had any work to do.

Believe that the matter of no BLP operatives at Dodds will be a platform issue next election. All the BLP has to do is run a campaign on the fact the DLP lied to win the government, the evidence will be a Dodds prison which has not one single BLP person in it. The people yet again have been taken for a ride. Do we really believe these politicians whether BLP or DLP will lock eachother? They all married to each other, they all went to school with he other etc. No way no how.

50. Heard Mottley say in Parliament, that she is godmother to Tyrone Estwick’s child. Simmons and Greaves are inter-married. They laugh together, talk together, drink together. We get out here and believe everything they say about one another. GET THE FACTS and make a judgment for yourself, not what they say WHAT THEY DO. Our job is to make a judgment about what is best for us, not who you support. This recovery from the crisis will be slower than expected, especially if europe adopts austerity measures. DLP must stop waiting for the recovery to get us out. We have to put in place measures that allow us to earn from Caricom, and Caricom from us, keep the money and opportunities in the family. How hard is that to understand. Put every available penny in tourism, small businesses with regional trade possibilities and culture. Cut unnecessary spending in frills, good but unnecessary to sruvive projects, because you need to save and create jobs. Cuts across the board is not a plan, its a disaster.