Submitted by Austin

The people of Barbados spoke loud and clear in the last election for change they could touch and feel. Their vote came after hearing all the right things as detailed in the DLP manifesto. What was lost in the excitement of the historic moment was an analysis of whether the promises could actually be fulfilled. At this point the answer appears to be “no”.

As a political observer who has been DLP leaning, the logical question that comes to mind is whether “today” the people’s choice of a DLP administration to bring about desired chance was a good choice. While I do not agree with the overall big business leaning approach to governance of the BLP,  at least we saw government movement on a number of fronts, some good and some bad. Movement we are not seeing today from the DLP at all.

I’m not a political strategist but if the BLP can tame or replace it’s Opposition Leader, take on a visible people first oriented campaign versus big business, demonstrate compassion for the average Bajan family, and insert new blood in it’s ranks that are not simply lawyers but folks who have a range of talents… They stand a chance in the next election.

Now the question of BLP leadership will be a problem that will be difficult for them to overcome. The current opposition leader is simply not it, and former Prime Minister Owen Arthur has too much baggage, which leaves that question of who could lead unanswered.

Question: BU if the general election was tomorrow as a blogosphere poll, what party would you vote for and why? At the end of the day the answer to this question is all our politicos really care about. For tracking purposes please state the party and why.

62 responses to “BU If The Next General Election Was Held Tomorrow, Who Would You Vote For; DLP or BLP?”

1. DAVID

“All the BLP has to do is run a campaign on the fact the DLP lied to win the government, the evidence will be a Dodds prison which has not one single BLP person in it.”

I agree with you here. Mount such a campaign and the Barbados Labour Party are home free.

2. Flavour of the Month Avatar
    Flavour of the Month

——DLP ———
    NO GOOD

3. Politicians Love To Talk About Renewable Energy, apparently.

In similar vein, seemingly, leaders of Bajan NGOs like to threaten people.

How else to explain this:

“I sure you are a Jew … Every time you post a message you are traceable down to the street and building you in. I WILL GET YOU. And I DON’T WASTE MY TIME MAKING IDLE THREATS.”

Direct quotations from Mr. Roosevelt O. King, Secretary General of the Barbados Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (BANGO), on Barbados Underground (August 7, 2009 at 8:36 and 12:09 AM).

4. Bajan Truth wrote:

We have to put in place measures that allow us to earn from Caricom, and Caricom from us, keep the money and opportunities in the family. How hard is that to understand. Put every available penny in tourism, small businesses with regional trade possibilities and culture.
    ==============================================================

I agree with you BT…and in essence this means that we should make the most out of CSME as it was intended to be. Our small businesses need to make use of the regional market in order to grow.

5. @ David

Now can you please tell me why would it have taken so long (two& a half years) for people to come to their senses and realize what a serious blunder that was made in Jan 2008! I would like to say “I told you so” but this does not give me much solace since we are is such desperate straits at the moment. The only hope that we have is that somehow or other some thing could crop up that would give the opposition a solid reason to seek another successful “No-Confidence” vote against this lot of incompetents. And, the sooner the better, because I hate to think what the position would be like if this country has to suffer another 2.5 years under this pressure! A lot more will lose, jobs, cars, houses and be committed to mental institutions compared to what occurred back in the 1990s era!! Q.E.D!

6. @ Atman

There is one and only one BT here on BU. And that is the original, the one and only Bush Tea! 🙂

7. The DLP deserved the chance that they were given. The BLP was a bunch of corrupt persons who had reached the point of total arrogance. The people had to take them down for the good of the country.

Owen was simply tired and his friends were allowed to loot and Mia was merely interested in accumulating more than all of Owen friends.

Imagine 5 more years of that BLP government?

8. @Conrad
    It doesn’t really add up does it? All the claims of corruption during the election campaign and threats of imprisonment, etc, etc, and then nothing. There are basically two possible explanations……
    ========================================
    My point exactly, if they had had evidence to lock up somebody instead of talk and slander, they would have brought it. If I was the DLP I would do it because you would not want bajans to vote for them again.

@Carson

Let me tell you whenever these Barbados Labour Party people are returned to office it will be cat piss and pepper in Barbados.

Now that the Democratic Labour Party has assured them that they can do their worst with absolultely no consequences to themselves

======================================

The picture I have in my mind is you and your wife smoking reefers and cursing because if the BLP wins you are going to lose your fatted calf. Unless you have evidence unknown to the DLP party that proves that the BLp were corrupt and tiefing, what is your basis for making the charge. Or slandering people and calling it facts the software running your computer. I am tired of it, we have a serious situation in our country calling for competence and leadership, which the DLP to date have proven they cannot provide on their brightest day. Cat piss and peppers lolll. This country was fortunate to have had Owen Arthur, Mia Mottley and ‘their crew’. What words do you use to describes the experience of DLP two year rule. Mine are FRUSTRATING (making wrong moves that makes things worse), ANXIOUS (wondering when they will stop dithering AND CAMPAIGNING, AND START TO GOVERN) and PAINFUL ( wondering how the DLP could have become so bereft of talent, ability and integrity, substituting posturing for leadership; talk for substance; comsetics and gymnastics for strategies).

@ Anonymous

Imagine 5 more years of BLP rule?
    ============================================
    Please outline for our benefit how we are better off with the DLP? I can imagine, at least 10 more years of the Bees.What a relief!

9. @Bajan Truth

To balance your ‘never can do wrong BLP’ argument. It has been stated that many files have been misplaced or removed from government offices hence the compromising of efforts to engage in discovery. Why would any government in the year 2000+ not have a project to digitize important government records? The benefits as far as efficiency and transparency would be enormous. Care to comment?

10. It is indeed heartwarming to see, bright young minds in Parliament representing the current administration, the likes of Minister Sinckler, Inniss, Lashleys, Jones, ALL young men with ability.

On the contrary, the current candidate slate for the BLP runs a list of has-beens.

The likes of George (never said more than ten words in ten years in Parliament) Payne, Ronald (backbench-warmer) Toppin and Dale (US Dollar or Barbados Dollar?) Marshall.

I am not name-calling, but merely applying suitable descriptions to aptly fit those representing the Opposition in Parliament.

Then we have, willing and eager to return, Noel (our finest hour is without lights) Lynch.

You cannot be serious in any manner to think that they have much to offer Barbados, at this time or any time in the future.

Unless of course you have been ably supporting the Barbados economy yourself, by some of Foursquare’s finest.

11. @ David & Crusoe

Did I say they can’t and did not do wrong. My point is the current performance of this current gov’t is disastrous in this economic crisis which is causing major loss to our country. Just like the Argentina and Brazil matches. Brazil – Built high expectations, get the crowd behind you, when you are given the chance, fail to deliver; more to the point Argentina, riding on Maradonna’s past glory, everybody sure they would come through. Zero. Zero does not count. And they were wearing blue. Maradonna is a good footballer, it does not make him a good coach. Thompson is a good political debater, Stuart a good philosopher but does it make them the persons competent to lead and shape the future of barbados and craft a safe path for our country in these turbulent times? DLp has brought nothing new in competence and vision. They have been living and trading on barrow’s legacy,ad nauseam, becuas ethey nhav enothing to offer and now need ot prove themselves. Barrow’s ability does not automatically translate to this current lot. It is not a jersey. As a country do we have the space or luxury to give them the opportunity practice, make their mistakes as they will and have; when in these difficult times. WE HAVE NO ROOM FOR ERROR.

On missing files, is this Antigua or is this same tyep of situation as the missing houses reported by Sinckler? Quickly the DLp should have applied for search warrant and check the premises and offices of every BLP person or minister guilty of removing files. Seeing this is the age of computers though I expect secretaries should have soft copies on their system. I believe we had computers in Barbados in 1994. Unless you mean copies of the letters sent to the ministry and therefore not on computer files. Would those have in the bribe offer; the quid pro quo arrangement; the corruption plan; or the offshore bank account numbers?

See why we need legislation to lock up people that destroy documents. I am not sure how far the computerisation and ECM has gone in gov’t. last BLp gov’t repor tin parliament was only in infancy stages, and nothing at all form this administration. But this gov’t needs to have it up and running so that a new BLP gov’t could be properly hung out to dry if they try those shennanigans again.

Don’t worry I have some licks for the BLP, because I do not believe they have properly responded to some issues under their tenure, I mean real, real issues not the mek up ones by HH. Are they likely to regain the gov’t yes, if the change in voices is to be believed, but you cannot be absolutely sure of people. tha tis why , for the protection of our democracy and the integrity of our government ( the office), we need to send them clear messages and hold them to it, if they are to assume the leadership agian.

As for whether this person or that will be a part of the team, only the Bajan people can decide that. May they choose wisely.

May God comfort the Argentinians, Brazilians and barbadians, who weep.

12. Bajan Truth

Boo, hoo-hoo, boo hoo-hooooooooooooooooo, GERMANY gone homeeeeeeeeeee.
    boo hoo-hoooooooooooooooooo, my GERMANY gone homeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.