Submitted by Bush Tea

The report from the National Advisory Committee on Education (NACE) committee that has worked over the past two years to compile recommendations for the ministry of education on the future direction of education in Barbados is as predictable and useless as could have been expected – given the way that things are done in Barbados.

According to the Nation newspaper of Tuesday June 22, the report from the ‘NACE’ and presented by Dr Pearson Broomes – focused on five primary areas:

~ The provision of adequate and affordable educational opportunities

~ Enhancing the quality of education

~ Improving student performance and certification

~ Making school a rewarding experience

~ Ensuring that each child benefit from the educational experience

…each area being a predictable cliché of meaningless, general, terms that sound intelligent while essentially saying absolutely nothing.

The committee then goes on to recommend a number of ‘policy initiatives’ like;

…sending scholarship winners to UWI;

…allowing UWI to monopolize tertiary education in Barbados;

…zoning students for secondary schools

…taking 2 schools out to become trade schools

…establishing sixth forms in every school;

… etc etc etc

No doubt the newspaper report is but a brief summary of the committee’s extensive document, and it probably does not do justice to the value of the work done. However even if that is the case, anyone with a modicum of common sense must see that this is nothing but a wish list compiled by a particular segment of the education cartel of Barbados that serves only to pander to their particular interests and pet peeves.

In the first place, how can such an august group of intellectuals spend two years in researching this issue and yet fail to take the time to establish a clear strategic framework for national education in Barbados?

You know! like…

1 – What is it that we are striving to achieve in education in Barbados?

2 – How are we going to measure this achievement?

3 – How well / badly are we doing right now based on this measure?

4 – What are the main factors that impede / encourage success?

5 – Where does the best opportunities lie to improve results being obtained?

Now are these not the kinds of answers that you would expect from a fancy sounding advisory committee on education? Stupseeeee

Now I like Mr. Jeff Broomes the Principal of Alexandria! Any leader who is regularly at odds with his union is likely to be someone that is innovative, creative and actually doing things.

But when he seeks to justify the recommendation for zoning secondary school students (more so than is currently the case) on the excuse that it will improve extracurricular participation, he immediately set himself up for a downgrading by the bushman.

The sad truth is that most of the recommendations articulated by the committee are nothing but doltish ramblings without any basis in logic or common sense.

What UWI What??!!

Everyone except apparently those on this committee knows that one of the only factors that can drive some level of efficiency in Barbados is competition. The main benefit of the proposed University College of Barbados was to provide a practical alternative to the mediocrity currently endemic at Cave Hill, for large numbers of students.

A quick look at St Augustine Campus will show that numerous improvements and innovations only suddenly became ‘viable’ AFTER the establishment of UTT.

In a similar vein, why should UWI be guaranteed the intake of the scholarship winners every year? Why should they not have to compete for these students by offering the best options to stimulate their enrollment? The committee is saying that Barbados should place all their academic eggs in UWI’s broken basket – when far better developmental options may be out there to take our best brains to their maximum potential.

…Hilary must be on that committee….

What zoning what??!!

Notwithstanding the ridiculous ‘benefit’ proposed by Principal Jeff Broomes about improved extra curricular participation, the committee would need to explain the basis upon which it recommends tighter zoning. Why should a parent not have the right to send their child to WHICHEVER school they feel comfortable with – provided that the child meets the 11+ requirements for that school?

What makes Mr. Broomes or any education official more qualified than a parent to make this determination?

~Suppose the parent or a close relative works at the “far-away” school?

~Suppose a grand mother lives next door to the distant school – while parents work in town?

Stupseeee

What sixth form in every school what??!!

Towards what end are they recommending a sixth form in each school?

Unless there is a well thought out strategic goal in mind that drives this proposal with solid facts and data, this sounds just like another arbitrary brainwave that is driven more by the number of senior teaching posts that will be created than by any logical benefits to Barbadian youth.

What is wrong with Community College?

What take TWO secondary schools out to become what trade schools what??!!

Based on what??? Why not take 12 out? Is this just another expensive experiment too? After two years of research you would think that such a recommendation would be based on some clear strategic goals with coherent metrics to support the proposal.

With this poor level of planning being perpetrated on the people of Barbados at the so called ‘National policy level’ it is no wonder that we are at a loss to make sensible national decisions –particularly in crisis times. Does this not sound familiarly like the kind of ‘planning’ that went into Greenland, ABC flyover expansion, Dodds etc?

The real joke is that it is presentations such as these that garner PhD degrees at UWI. No wonder we need to bring experts from over and away to get anything done bout here…

180 responses to “Another Meaningless Education Report From NACE”

1. Bush Tea // June 24, 2010 at 2:13 PM

For as long as I have been coming on BU have you ever once hear me cry down a fellow for being what he is or wants to be.

My son is very much like me. He doesn’t give a shit about who is bright or who isn’t he sees people as I do for what they are worth.

EVERY one has a right to get as much as they can get in BARBADOS. so don’t get all suggestive with me. Furthermore, I still think that GP and YOU have a lot to offer Barbados and BARBADIANS …… So don’t jump my skin. I was barely stating that GP and others are right when they say that sometimes persons who have a lot to offer thier country be it academically or through athletics or chess or what ever their KNACK is should be given an EQUAL OPPORTUNITY to do so.

THEREFORE, don’t make it seem that I trying to say that MY SON deserves something more than the other fellow far from.

We are from a poor humble background and we don’t look or ACT real bright so don’t use that ‘tone’ with me.

Can I say that he is damn good at Football tooooooo LOL!

2. OK BT I didn’t read all of your comment and jumped the gun. We are on the same wave length. Point taken!!!!

I apologise for my hastiness!!

Still think ya too smart for your own good!

3. @Georgie Porgie: “Children and students have multiple levels of ability. They just are NOT equal as some would wish to believe. Streaming ought not to be done the expense of slow learners, but for their benefit.

If I may please share…

I have only recently realized how lucky (blessed?) I was to have been educated as I was.

And, further, I will forever be grateful to my sixth year teacher, who was a very progressive man. (I wish I could remember his name; I’m bad at names.)

He set up a system where each student did work independently. We each had a “file” (a box, really) where our assignments were available. We each could choose which assignments we wanted to do next.

We as a class met for one hour every morning where Teacher would tell us some things, get feedback, and to encourage each of us to help others on particular problems.

At least once a week, each student would meet with Teacher privately to review the progress. Some met with Teacher more than others — some for catch up assistance, others for advanced assignments.

That was a wonderful year in my memories.

For what that is worth….

4. Georgie Porgie Avatar

CH
    Interesting and innovative
    Could you report on the sucess of this scheme
    Obviously it meant that the teacher had to put in a greater effort as he dealt with each student.

When I was sudying for my M RE I read an anecdote about a Sunday school teacher who was not taught to be very smart, but had and retained a large SS class.

When asked the secret of his sucess. He pulled from his top pocket a little black note book which had a note of every student with their likes and dislikes. Who was weak in Maths Who wanted to try out for the class foot ball team.

He not only taught them on Sunday mornings in SS. He related to them during the week. He helped the student who was weak in Maths, and turned up to the football games of the other student etc.

5. Georgie Porgie Avatar

JC

He not only too smart for he own good, he not as smart as he tinmk he is neither Wuhloss!

JC if your son is good at football I hope he will emulate D DaC Boxhill who not only did well in schoo; but played football and cricket for BFS as well as being a great athlete. He also kept wicket for Barbados. He has also devised the most comprehensive system for scoring in cricket ever seen.

6. @GP: “Could you report on the sucess of this scheme

My recollection is everyone passed. But, importantly, everyone *should* have, because they actually learnt and did what they needed to. And not everyone got an A… (But I might be wrong — that was over 30 years ago.)

@GP: “Interesting and innovative

Indeed. And what I only realize in my older years is the wisdom Teacher had in having the “quicker” students assist the “slower” ones.

After all, as I trust you know, a teacher doesn’t really know their “stuff” until they can face “uneducated” questions…

@GP: “Obviously it meant that the teacher had to put in a greater effort as he dealt with each student.

Without question, he put in a great deal of effort for each student. But, because he was only “in front of the class” for one out of every six hours, meant he had time for those students who would benefit most from “one-and-one”.

As an aside, I forgot to mention that the seating arrangement was cubical style (first there, first seated) — very much like a modern office.

(I also didn’t say above, but I should for the sake of honesty — I often received remedial assistance from Teacher and other students.)

7. @ “the Bushman”

Quoting the astonishingly tedious bore who, very sadly for the future of education in Barbados, thinks it’s funny to refer to himself as a beverage in the third person (“what person, what?” What beverage, what”?):

“I am quite sure that you know by now that the bushman has scant respect for the intricacies of grammatical exactitude.”

First: no, I don’t know that, Mr. Beverage. I’m really not that interested in you. Nobody is. My interest in “the bushman’s” grasp of grammar is precisely zero.

I understand that’s probably disheartening for you to learn. Can I call you Mr. Tea?

Second, all individuals who habitually refer to themselves in the third person are, at best, boring beyond belief. And the written views of people who refer to themselves as beverages in the third person, obviously, are to be disregarded out of hand.

Keep up the good work, Mr. Beverage. The saddest, saddest possible news is that you, Mr. Tea, seem to be one of the brightest people on this blog.

Perhaps Bonny Peppa will talk to you later. Now, is that a mind, or what? A beautiful mind for the Family.

8. @Jack (the Ripper?): “A beautiful mind for the Family.

Have you seen the film “A Beautiful Mind”, directed by Mr. Howard?

Absolutely amazing.

I highly recommend it to anyone who’s not seen it.

9. @Those against zoning

Zoning is desperately needed in Barbados for a number of reasons, and should be the starting point to reforming the school system. Here are the reasons:

1. The elitist mindset: We need to get rid of the elitist mindset that is responsible for creating what I call the “good-school bad-school syndrome”. It seems obvious to me that if you send all the youngsters who score high in the 11+ exam to particular schools, and send those score low to other schools, the schools with the high scorers will obviously produce a disproportionate number of high achievers. This elitist system is the source of the problem, since it also has a damaging psychological effect some of these young children who may not do well on the exam.

2. Traffic congestion: Any fool who lives and works in Barbados would understand that zoning children to the closest or most easily accessible school from their home would greatly ease the traffic conditions on the roads on mornings and afternoons. Some children will not have to get up extra early to get two buses to school as is the case now. This means that attendance and punctuality is likely to improve.

3. Less liming in town: The numbers of children liming in town and other locations before and after school would greatly decrease. As we know there are certain hot spots where school children like to congregate and getting into mischief with children from other schools.

For these reasons I think that zoning is a viable solution and should be welcomed by all. The elitists are heart will find it a hard pill to swallow, but so what? I’m speaking as an individual who attended what is considered to be one of the better schools. Some folks talk about the distribution of “good” teachers, but they all work for the same ministry, and transfers can be made from one school to another without any great difficulty. The only valid reason one can have against zoning is to admit to an elitist mindset.

10. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Re
    I often received remedial assistance from Teacher and other students

Well this is one of the roles of the teacher.
    If the teacher can get the brighter class members to help the weaker he is doing an even better job.

Teaching your class mates is a great thing to do; it is great revision! But I find that many students are selfish and competitive, and that they do not discern the benefits of teaching others. Beside a great revision tool it helps you ascertain the weak areas that you have in the subject matter.

11. @Atman

A bit of information you may not have factored is the fact over 50% of Barbadians work in Bridgetown and its environs.

If you zone the issue after hours care for children come into play.

12. OK OK GP

You get the drift… So I will sum up by saying that ALL of the “Bright” academics, and I mean ALL (well alright, barring two who are actually quite vocal), have left de rock to take up positions elsewhere. I really don’ know why you had to spoil it by saying that starting the BCC was a bright idea (an obvious idea for those in the know, but bright…?), but when it comes to bright in the political arena Bree St John would have been a far better choice to either Barrow or Adams, but he went to Foundation so I suppose he don’ count. But mastery of academic disciplines does not a bright (or brilliant) fellow make…!

13. @Georgie Porgie: “But I find that many students are selfish and competitive, and that they do not discern the benefits of teaching others.

Then perhaps there’s still some learning to do?

[Switching into a Canadian accent] Eh?

14. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Perhaps more Barbadians work in Bridgetown and its environs than in the 50’s and 60’s, but then zooming was a given or a natural thing. Prior to the common entrance folk tended to take the exam for the school closest to them plus a few other schools. Most folk wanted to go to school close to home

The nonsense of the dummies in the Ministry has destroyed Education in Barbados to a large extent.

BAFBFP
    I don’t know if ALL of the “Bright” academics have left de rock to take up positions elsewhere and I don’t know who are those who have not left.

I don’t understand why you consider starting the BCC as not a bright idea. but we do know that it has worked and that the idea has been expanded . What is clear is that if they would pay the part time adjunct staff properly that they could expand the idea even further.

BAFBFP Sir. I also have a very high opinion of Mr St John because of the stand he took in 1986 And I think that we generally agree that “ mastery of academic disciplines does not a bright (or brilliant) fellow make…!”

15. @ GP (on BT)
    He not only too smart for he own good, he not as smart as he think he is neither Wuhloss!
    *******************************************************************************************
    Man GP, when did Bush Tea suggest that he think that he smart…? A old man think he smart would refer to heself in the third person and call heself ‘Mr Tea’..??/ ROTFL

GP, the fact that there would be a number of students who were so talented that they could excel in multiple areas like academics, sports, music etc is not a problem at all. Such children could choose their one (or many) areas of specialization as long as they meet the required talent criteria.
    The only problem will be those few at the other end of the bell curve, whose talent may not be immediately obvious… to put it nicely. (fortunately, some of these could eventually become grammar critics like our friend Jack Bowman – LOL Ha Ha Ha )

@ JC
    We cool JC! You can feel free to cuss the bushman whenever you want.. you does apologize too sweet doh..
    ..just focus on raising your little king.

@ Jack Bowman
    Good thing that you are bored with the bushman’s weak grammar and penchant to refer to himself in the third person…..If you found the grammar to be strong and I spoke in the first person you could well be in great danger of becoming my number one fan…. LOL

16. Correction of fact re Jack Bowman note ‘First: no, I don’t know that, Mr. Beverage. I’m really not that interested in you. Nobody is. My interest in “the bushman’s” grasp of grammar is precisely zero.’

That statement cannot be correct, if it were your posting of Jack Bowman // June 24, 2010 at 11:04 AM @Bush Tea, makes no sense.

Unless you are struggling with some sort of multiple personality disorder?

If one wishes to bring others to the line on a point of order, one should come with clean hands.

Either that, or stick to the discussion issue and keep one’s opinions of others’ abilities to oneself.

17. @CH Christopher Halsall // June 24, 2010 at 4:38 PM

My goodness, that sounds like……teaching!!! Better than some moron coming into the classroom and asking a fourth form Chemistry class to ‘read chapter … aloud’ (that actually happened).

The teachers I remember best made things interesting, innovative in their own way.

The least impressive were those who encouraged rote learning and reciting.

I, in career training, have had the pleasure of being the recipient of some absolutely brilliant lecturing.

Great lecturers teach ways of thinking and make learning principles challenging and yet enjoyable.

18. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Crusoe

Whereas some of what you say about methodology is true, there must be some rote learning in any subject. There are things that you must memorize, and things that you must understand. If you get my drift.

For example if we are going to teach the Minor Prophets as the men in our church are doing this summer it helps to know that the prophets are divided into the PRE EXILIC THE EXILIC AND THE POST EXILIC. It helps to know that Nehemiah Ezra and Esther ought to be read with the post exilic prophets Haggai Malachi & Zechaiah You must KNOW this basic info to understand what is taught after the exile.

If you want to teach Organic Chemistry students ought to be made to know that there are 5 reactions in Organic Chemistry. Then they can be taught to understand how these five reactions work then we can expand from there.

There are things that one must learn whether you use mnemonics, alliteration or whatver technique.

Hence your punchline below……………….
    Great lecturers teach ways of thinking and make learning principles challenging and yet enjoyable.

19. Georgie Porgie Avatar

To ask a boy to read aloud is not necessarly moronic since by reading the boy is involved in the learning actively. What the teacher needs to do during the process of the reading is to teach the class to CLASSIFY ANALYZE LIST SUMMARIZE what is being read as well as to decide what to pick out for memorizing.

The teracher might explain the paragraphs read and teach the class how to appropriate the material or give practical examples or ask the reader or others to express opinions on what was read on the basis of what they have allready know etc.

To learn any material it has to be read at some time.
    What I have found is that students highlight stuff and HIGHLIGHT THE IRRELEVANT STUFF LOL!

20. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BT
    You may cuss me as you like but when you got JC cussing you whether she is right or wrong in doing so that is a serious matter. Dont let it happen again OK? Good!
    Also leave out this pally pally chat with JC.Ok? Good!

I will not warn you again OK? Good!

21. @Georgie Porgie: “To ask a boy to read aloud is not necessarly moronic since by reading the boy is involved in the learning actively.

What about the girls?

You are coming across as a little extremest here, GP.

How about that game of Go, GP? I’ll play black. What is your first play as white (on a 19 by 19 board)?

22. @ GP
    Here is a perspective that I want you to consider – You can feel free to insult the bushman after – but think about it for a moment….

I want to suggest to you that Barbados does NOT have an education system at all.

What we have is a fairly well developed academic development system
    There is a very dramatic difference.

What is an Education System (ES)?
    IMHO, this is a formal, national mechanism that is designed to channel and refine the various talents of all citizens to the best of their unique potential, and in particular to match these human resources to the national needs.

It is NOT a training scheme, although training schemes will be an important component of an Education System.

When there is an effective education system in place, the country will be adequately served with the requisite numbers and quality of human resources. Citizens will have had the opportunity to develop their natural talents and so move into areas of work that they actually enjoy.

While there will still be some failures in a well developed education system, these should be attributable largely to the lack of effort, commitment or application of the individuals; and these percentages should be quite small since success will mean succeeding in one’s natural area of strength.

What we presently spend exorbitant sums of money on in Barbados is an academic development scheme which offers opportunity for all students to maximize their academic talents. However in any random group of people it is only reasonable to expect 15 -20 % to be blessed with anything near to GP/MME levels of academic talent.

In the first place, a purely academic focus often does not adequately prepare these 20% of students properly for the reality of life.
    Secondly, judging the other 80% of our citizens by using academic measures – unfairly, unjustly and shortsightedly defines them as failures – ignoring their boundless potential for contribution to society.

Trying to ‘fix’ our academic scheme by ‘forcing’ academics into the 80% – or by diluting the 20% through zoning and picking on the ‘good’ schools are exercises in idiocy.

We need an Education System….. and the first step should be the disbandment of the misnamed ‘ministry of education’.

23. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BT
    We are on the same page with respect to your last post above

24. Georgie Porgie Avatar

But bear in mind that such incisive analysis will be considered heresy by morons that are leap years behind the level at which you are cerebrating Sir!

25. Man GP …. you got me in shock now! You on the same page as the bushman??!!
    ….wuh I better go back and reread that post an’ see if I really say dat!!

……I wonder if the sweet words from JC have shaken you up a bit… i hope that you check that she liking the bushman chat LOL …you heard what she said to the bushman…?
    “we are on the same wavelength……”
    …you looking shaky GP!!
    ROTFL

26. GP

By the way;

As an Atheist I wish that you would stop agreeing with me, you mekkin’ me a li’l uncomfortable now

27. GP

Added to the above is that the Bushman don’ live ’bout here so he ain’ one of the bright ones that I talkin’ ’bout.

28. GP

Suppose I tell you that Chris “bright”…?

29. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BT
    I dont deal with men as adversries man. I deal with men on the principles they espouse.

Basically we both see that if we can get more folk to advance the whole society will advance

I have said all I have said to you on the matter of JC OK?

This is not the norm in the thinking of our people.

Your proposition reminds me of my grand mother’s edict that every piece of cloth in the store has an owner. If we do not see that every child can have a destiny greater than what is currently probided or projected and if we dont work towards that , we are advocating a future of CRIME HATE VIOLENCE ENVY ETC GREATER THAN WE HAVE EVER SEEN.

30. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BAFBFP
    Behave yourself man. You know better. What you drinking man? LOL

31. Chris

Don’ min’ dah Chirstian, I know you bright hear..?

32. Bush tek it from me

GP Practising li’le psychology now along with the usual Bible studies and Biochem

33. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BT

Let me tell you de trute bout me and JC.
    I believe dat I aint able wid no young filly as I said already. Plus I feel she too sweet and might give me diabetes

Plus dat wise owl Yardbroom advise me not to hook up wid she when I come to Bim. I feel in his wisdom dat sage figure GP like he biting off more dan he can chew. Dat young gal going kill dat old man with de diabetes.

I was trying before dat to easae out by giving she up to Techie. Ifigure if she dat sweet and can mash up a fella wid de diabetes then we could stop de Techie vs Zie and Dictionary feuds. But she shed tears pun BU and forgive me. So I decide to eshew the advice of the wise old owl Yard broom whom i respect because he speaks seldom dat maybe I should follow his advice.
    But like Rehoboam of old I decide to take the avice of the younger men and I decide to listen to Crusoe.

So if i get diabetes I get diabetes. If I too old for this filly I going ahead still So BT stand aside.

Women who forgive unconditionally must be treasured man.

34. JC

I am a practising Gynaecologist. Unlike cardiologist we actually have many clients. Talk to me, let’s see..!

35. CRAP. I hope these recommendations do not see the light of day!

36. @David who wrote

“A bit of information you may not have factored is the fact over 50% of Barbadians work in Bridgetown and its environs.

If you zone the issue after hours care for children come into play”.
    =============================================================

So David, let’s suppose that you live Pickerings, St. Lucy, and your child is not one of the bright ones, and he or she ends up at St. Lucy or St. James Secondary based on 11+ exam scores, would you have a problem with that?? And if so, what would you do about it??

37. @David

We’re talking about secondary school students, not primary school.

38. Let’s introduce complete zoning. So a child goes to a school nearest to his place of residence. Nothing else changes … ok give each school a sixth form (let’s ignore the fact that St.Michael and Foundation can’t get their sixth forms established after a year of trying!) … do we keep the same teachers, with the same methods and the same books and the same CXC exams, in the same school buildings etc… and we should expect that Lil’ TimmyB who could not perform well at say Ellerslie (great school by the way) will do wonders at the Garrison (because its closer to his home)? We are also to believe that Bajans are so characterised by low self esteem that a child will feel better about himself because not “only bright children” go to QC or Combermere. Since there will be nothing “special” about any school in the future, a greater proportion of children will now perform “better”? What are we waiting for?

39. Isn’t it notable that these debates on education go on with the conspicuous absence of publically available data on the present performance of students and schools?

40. @ Anonymous

If the available data on the cost and performance of students and schools were made public, even Bajans would create a huge outcry.
    …so in the interest of public safety, such information cannot be released.

You always hear of the numbers who ‘passed’. Have you ever heard reference to the total number who should have sat?
    I would guess less that 20% efficiency – makes the waterworks leakage problem seem like a commendable performance.

41. It was pleasing for us ( PDC) to have read on page 4 of the Barbados Advocate of Thursday, June 17, 2010, how the Minister of Youth, Family and Sports, Mr. Stephen Lashley, had encouraged students attending the Small Business Association’s Enterprise in Action Youth Programme symposium at the Hilton Hotel on Wednesday of that said week, “to embrace entrepreneurial opportunities set before them via a number of youth projects and programs such as the SBA’s Enterprise in Action Youth Program.”

In this said Barbados Advocate news story, it was also reported how the Minister said that “there was an urgent need for us (?) to cultivate a sense of enterprise and to develop a cadre of young Barbadian entrepreneurs who can spot opportunities and capitalize on them.”

He was also seen to have made the very interesting point – acccording to the said Barbados Advocate story – that “schools must make a greater effort in aiding pupils to embrace the notion of becoming wealth owners from an early age, and noted that his ministry will be working in tandem with the Ministry of Education to ensure this occurs.”

But, having been reported in one issue of the Barbados Advocate, and thus been given fair marks by the PDC for speaking fairly impressively at that symposium, it was unsatisfactory, at least, and disgusting, at most, for us to realize on page 18 of the Barbados Advocate of Sunday June 20, 2010, that the Minister was reported as having remarked – at the same event – this: “By embracing entrepreneurship and new venture creation, Government believes that Barbadians can realize tremendous social and economic benefits. Having greater number of entrepreneurs can build strong communities, AS ENTRPRENEURS ARE A VITAL SOURCE OF JOBS (our capitals for negative emphasis), products, and services.”

Who would believe that having spoken fairly well in regard of the above, first reported extractions from the Barbados Advocate, that this said youthful Minister of Government in the last reported comments – also talked such naif baloney at the same talkshop – about how ENTREPRENEURS ARE A VITAL SOURCE OF JOBS?

What confusing bewildering nonsense and ignorance of the highest order!!

For, one cannot reasonably view entrepreneurs, or entrepreneurship, for that matter, either in the same breath as one can view workers/workman/womanship the work culture in Barbados – which, though, was something that the Minister was apparently insinuating in regard of the relevant statement above, or in the same breath somehow as they being there to provide jobs for others any longer indefinitely in this country.

This is certainly backwater backwardist thinking by the Minister still!!

To assist in over turning these outdated oppressive beliefs and practices in Barbados, the PDC has long been saying to the people of Barbados that at anytime a future PDC Government comes into existence in this country that PARTNERSHIPS shall be the only multi-member corporate business entities possible in this country, wherefore those who are now called workers will become PARTNERS/PARTOWNERS along with those who are now called managers/owners etc. in those PARTNERSHIP enterprises that would have to be in existence in the country then; will be remunerated in profits/dividends; will have access to all crucial information affecting their respective enterprises, and will have great and unparalleled say in the PARTNERSHIP ENTERPRISES in which they will altogether own.

Finally, for now, too what the Minister should truly have said at the symposium – but which is apparently something he did not even come close to saying, and which too is something that realistically speaking the PDC would never have expected him to say though – is that the Government is the single biggest threat, obstacle to, enemy of entrepreneurial development in this country via evil TAXATION, wicked Interest Rates, excessive governmental red tape and stifling bureacracy, etc.

Indeed, Mr. Lashley can be found guilty of not telling those students at that symposium about or referring them to some other damning truths about many serious matters involving government and entrepreneurial development (or the lack thereof) in this country.

Anyhow, what a way for the Minister to inspire confidence in the Youth!!

42. Christopher Halsall // June 24, 2010 at 4:38 PM

I love that suggestion I think if a lot of these folks who are in charge of our educational system can take look at this idea, it would be very essential!

Very good suggestion CH! Very good!

Luv it!

43. BAFBFP

I can’t answer you soul you ain’t ez!!!!!!!!

BT

You always make sense!

My NO. 1 GUY! When you come to Barbados, I am going to cook for you! LOL!

44. What is the mandate of the various School boards? How is membership selected? what do they do? Do they meet?

I am against zoning. I am currently witnessing its drawbacks in my neck of the woods. My son is assigned to a currently poor performing public school. My neighbor, who is a Brown University graduate and was born and raised in this town, attended that school and spoke highly of it then, and for many years after. She now sends her kids to a catholic private school. Private schools here are the closest things to the kind of schools I attended in Barbados back in the 70’s and 80’s.

The Elitist mindset: I agree that this needs to be tackled, I also believe it is very easy to destroy or whittle away. Zoning could accomplish this, but also bring to the fore, unintended consequences, such as locking citizens into poor performing schools.

The Elitist mindset is best dealt with via information. Make public the best practices and achievements emanating from the newer secondary schools, be it best results at a CXC O’level subject area, or that existing faculty of the elite schools is staffed by grandaunts of the newer ones etc.

Most of all I think that the various boards of the newer secondary schools should be made up of past graduates and be mandated in the Board by-laws to institute a marketing campaign to refocus the image of the school in the minds of is students, their parents, past graduates and the country at large.

They are many simple ways to go about building this sense of belonging and proud association with your school. We need to get out of the socialist mindset, this willingness to TELL people what they should do and attempting to force them through shame and anger to so do. The school boards need to SELL Barbadians valid reasons to relook at the newer secondary schools and they will.

45. Here is an advertisement for a public university system that had gotten a bad rap over the years.

http://www.massachusetts.edu/video/?video=umass_final_website

Barbadians need to be reminded of the great achievements newer secondary school graduates have accomplish. We have a lot to be proud of.

46. @ Georgie Porgie

You have not lost your charm, you know how to court a “coy princess.”

As an aside, on learning of BAFBFP’s profession – a Gynaecologist – reminded me of a friend of mine from the same specialism; who once told me “he worked where other men play” my immediate response was, good “work” if you can get it.

47. @JC: “I love that suggestion I think if a lot of these folks who are in charge of our educational system can take look at this idea, it would be very essential! Very good suggestion CH! Very good!

I agree it could be very essential. I didn’t invent the idea — I was simply the beneficiary of the methodology. And I assume this technique has a formal name in the Educator’s space, which I encourage be tried here in Bim — I found it very empowering.

If I may share a bit more of my experience during this year…

I have always been good at the Maths and Sciences — and crap at everything else (English, particularly). That year helped me catch up where I was weak, and excel where I was good.

A further example of Teacher’s excellence — I had completed the required Maths curriculum half way through the year.

He then *gave* me a textbook on Algebra (the next year’s curriculum), and helped me teach myself the basics.

He also arranged with a friend of his who owned a Radio Shake (an electronics retailer) for me to have access to a TRS-80 Model One (a computer; computers were not available to students in the school in those days) in the store.

When it wasn’t being demonstrated to potential customers, I could use it to teach myself BASIC (Beginners All-purpose Symbolic Instruction Code) programming — my first of *many* programming languages.

It was only because I had learnt how to learn by myself that I was able to do so. And it ended up benefiting the owner of the store too — I was able to demonstrate the computer better than the salesmen.

Just in case my above comes across as showing off, that’s not my intent. I was (and continue to be) weak in many areas (particularly human languages).

What I *am* trying communicate is that innovate education can bring the best out of people who might otherwise fall far behind. And the importance of excellent teachers….

48. I never for once thought you were showing off my friend!!!!

I just think that we need teachers who can think out of the box like your teaher did! Very good !

49. @JC: “I just think that we need teachers who can think out of the box like your teaher did! Very good !

Thank you for that.

One thing that bothers me is how so few students know how to program a computer to count (and read out) from 1 to ten; even though computers are so ubiquitous throughout the world today.

How many, for example, understand this language: “for ($a=1; $a<=10; $a++) { print "$an"; };"?

(That's Perl — but with only a few modifications it could be C, or C++, or Java, or Javascript, et al…)

Hmmm….

50. @ JC

I think we need teachers who aren’t so tedious as to use wearying and attention-distracting business-speak slogans, such as “think out of the box”.