Submitted by Bush Tea

The report from the National Advisory Committee on Education (NACE) committee that has worked over the past two years to compile recommendations for the ministry of education on the future direction of education in Barbados is as predictable and useless as could have been expected – given the way that things are done in Barbados.

According to the Nation newspaper of Tuesday June 22, the report from the ‘NACE’ and presented by Dr Pearson Broomes – focused on five primary areas:

~ The provision of adequate and affordable educational opportunities

~ Enhancing the quality of education

~ Improving student performance and certification

~ Making school a rewarding experience

~ Ensuring that each child benefit from the educational experience

…each area being a predictable cliché of meaningless, general, terms that sound intelligent while essentially saying absolutely nothing.

The committee then goes on to recommend a number of ‘policy initiatives’ like;

…sending scholarship winners to UWI;

…allowing UWI to monopolize tertiary education in Barbados;

…zoning students for secondary schools

…taking 2 schools out to become trade schools

…establishing sixth forms in every school;

… etc etc etc

No doubt the newspaper report is but a brief summary of the committee’s extensive document, and it probably does not do justice to the value of the work done. However even if that is the case, anyone with a modicum of common sense must see that this is nothing but a wish list compiled by a particular segment of the education cartel of Barbados that serves only to pander to their particular interests and pet peeves.

In the first place, how can such an august group of intellectuals spend two years in researching this issue and yet fail to take the time to establish a clear strategic framework for national education in Barbados?

You know! like…

1 – What is it that we are striving to achieve in education in Barbados?

2 – How are we going to measure this achievement?

3 – How well / badly are we doing right now based on this measure?

4 – What are the main factors that impede / encourage success?

5 – Where does the best opportunities lie to improve results being obtained?

Now are these not the kinds of answers that you would expect from a fancy sounding advisory committee on education? Stupseeeee

Now I like Mr. Jeff Broomes the Principal of Alexandria! Any leader who is regularly at odds with his union is likely to be someone that is innovative, creative and actually doing things.

But when he seeks to justify the recommendation for zoning secondary school students (more so than is currently the case) on the excuse that it will improve extracurricular participation, he immediately set himself up for a downgrading by the bushman.

The sad truth is that most of the recommendations articulated by the committee are nothing but doltish ramblings without any basis in logic or common sense.

What UWI What??!!

Everyone except apparently those on this committee knows that one of the only factors that can drive some level of efficiency in Barbados is competition. The main benefit of the proposed University College of Barbados was to provide a practical alternative to the mediocrity currently endemic at Cave Hill, for large numbers of students.

A quick look at St Augustine Campus will show that numerous improvements and innovations only suddenly became ‘viable’ AFTER the establishment of UTT.

In a similar vein, why should UWI be guaranteed the intake of the scholarship winners every year? Why should they not have to compete for these students by offering the best options to stimulate their enrollment? The committee is saying that Barbados should place all their academic eggs in UWI’s broken basket – when far better developmental options may be out there to take our best brains to their maximum potential.

…Hilary must be on that committee….

What zoning what??!!

Notwithstanding the ridiculous ‘benefit’ proposed by Principal Jeff Broomes about improved extra curricular participation, the committee would need to explain the basis upon which it recommends tighter zoning. Why should a parent not have the right to send their child to WHICHEVER school they feel comfortable with – provided that the child meets the 11+ requirements for that school?

What makes Mr. Broomes or any education official more qualified than a parent to make this determination?

~Suppose the parent or a close relative works at the “far-away” school?

~Suppose a grand mother lives next door to the distant school – while parents work in town?

Stupseeee

What sixth form in every school what??!!

Towards what end are they recommending a sixth form in each school?

Unless there is a well thought out strategic goal in mind that drives this proposal with solid facts and data, this sounds just like another arbitrary brainwave that is driven more by the number of senior teaching posts that will be created than by any logical benefits to Barbadian youth.

What is wrong with Community College?

What take TWO secondary schools out to become what trade schools what??!!

Based on what??? Why not take 12 out? Is this just another expensive experiment too? After two years of research you would think that such a recommendation would be based on some clear strategic goals with coherent metrics to support the proposal.

With this poor level of planning being perpetrated on the people of Barbados at the so called ‘National policy level’ it is no wonder that we are at a loss to make sensible national decisions –particularly in crisis times. Does this not sound familiarly like the kind of ‘planning’ that went into Greenland, ABC flyover expansion, Dodds etc?

The real joke is that it is presentations such as these that garner PhD degrees at UWI. No wonder we need to bring experts from over and away to get anything done bout here…

180 responses to “Another Meaningless Education Report From NACE”

1. JB

Wah wrong wid you!!!!!!!!????????

Stupse!!!!!!

2. @Jack “Sprat” Bowman,

Or so tiresome that they use hyphenated adjectives twice in the same sentence?

Have you discovered the meaning of “betzpaenic” yet? Can you share?

3. @All…

Here’s a test you can present to potential employees, if you’re not prepared to provide them with a Perl interpreter or a C compiler…

You: “Here’s an empty spreadsheet. Please make Column A, Rows 1 through 10 show 1 through 10.

The “quick” interviewee: Places a number in A1, places a formula into A2, cuts and pastes into A3 through A10 the same formula from cell A2.

The “slow” interviewee: Manually places a number into each of A1 though A10.

For what that’s worth…

And please understand that a spreadsheet is not a “desktop publishing program”. It is meant to be useful for serious analysis….

4. Hi Chris

I have thought myself so many things. C, C++, Microcontollers and Assembly language etc right now I am doing some intense mathematical/algorithms in the field of Machine Learning. I can see for myself right now how I can start and run a viable, profitable business based on machine learning. And I mean profitable from a global perspective.

My point is learning how to learn IS the key. Once you teach yourself one thing you can go anywhere from there. Like you I excelled in Maths and Sciences from an early age. My English grades were either failing for barely passing. Yet somehow I knew I would be great at writing. I just did not like writing about the things they made you write about in school.i

Low and behold after I left school until present day people have complemented me on my writing style and its uniqueness. I must admit I have never encountered anyone or anything that emulates my style.

So don’t give up on the English yet man (LOL).

5. @Adrian Hinds

I’m still firmly of the opinion that in order to remedy a number of the problems we have here in Barbados, we have much more to gain than lose from zoning.

What makes your son’s school a “poor performing” school? Is it poor teaching, or is it poor learning? I’m of the opinion that if you have decent teachers, and you have an inclination to learn, and you have a good home environment, then what is there to stop you from learning and doing well?

The fact that some great achievements have come from graduates of some of the newer secondary schools here in Barbados tells me that the teaching at those schools can’t be all that bad. The reason some schools here are labelled as “poor performing” is because that’s by design…didn’t happen by accident. And as I indicated earlier, all teachers and pricipals work for the same ministry and can be shuffled around to bring balance where balance is needed. Barbados is a small island, and managing the school system properly should not be a herculean task.

6. I also need to say this. The faster learners should be separated from the slower learners at the form level, and this is where I think the 11+ exam would be relevant in determing which form (1A, 1B,1C…etc.) a student should begin his secondary school life in.

7. We must keep Harrison College and Queens College for the very brightest children- I was not bright enough to make it to either one. We must also let our children who win scholarships attend the best universities in the world. The average-to – good students like me can go to UWI.

We must allow our best brains to excel. The UWI is not a highly rated university and therefore by forcing students to go there we are robbing them of the opportunity to participate in scholarship at the highest levels.

Most of the lecturers, senior lecturers and professors at UWI could not find a job at the better universities.That is how low UWI is compared to the other universities. I want the future leaders of Barbados to have truly world-class education. We must spot them from early and let them develop at the best schools

8. @Adrian Hinds

You can’t send all the high scorers to school A, and all the low scorers to school B, and then try to convince the students at school B that they should be proud of their school. That doesn’t fly.

9. @ Bagehot

Quoting Bagehot: ‘@Jack “Sprat” Bowman’.

That’s so priceless in its humour that I’ll frame it. Really, really funny. Well done. Another first for the “BU Family”.

Doubtless Walter, whose surname you appropriated to display your mind-boggling wit, would find you more than a bit sad.

Is your mother still writing your material, Mr. Bagehot?

10. Yes, she is not,Jack “Anape” Bowman. Who is writing yours? Your brighter dumb brother?

You are strangely quiet, GP!

11. It is suspected that only 20 to 30 per cent of students are performing adequately. Why should anyone think that by zoning, the composition in terms of ability of most schools would be changed? Ironically, given the population distribution of Barbados, it is possible that the academic profile of three of the “top” schools will be changed and possibly one of the “lowest ranked” schools with the other seventeen schools probably remaining unchanged. Queens College might remain a top school along with Princess Margaret, Lester Vaughn and Deighton Griffith schools while Harrison College, St. Michael and Combermere become low performing schools. In other words the overall situation remains unchanged. Would that be progress?

12. What surprises me about the claim that zoning would result in a more equitable distribution of ‘able’ students is that no one has empirically tested it. A simple experiment can be done where students for the previous 5 years and whose common entrance results are known can be hypothetically allocated to secondary schools based on some model of residential proximity to schools. This should then give a good picture of what schools would “look” like under zoning. Such results might actually quell our fears and provide evidence for achieving equity in schools through zoning or show that other than rearranging the deck chairs on the Titanic little real progress is achieved.

13. @Anonymous

You’re an idiot…a narrow-minded idiot. That’s all.

14. How can the newer secondary schools be classified as poor performing schools and the older secondary schools classified as high performing without researched data to compare?
    Lets carry out an experiment for five years giving Harrison College 120 students who score between 0-30 and then give Parkinson all the students who scored between 90-100.At the end of five years look at their CXC results.
    This is what is done by the Ministry of Education in the rating of schools. Harrison College gets all the top students maybe three first forms while the newer secondary schools gets eight first forms with mixed scores from 60 down. For example Parkinson will get 180 students with a mixed range of marks below 50 and then everyone expects miracles in five years.
    The teachers at the newer secondary schools really have to teach, producing some brilliant students in those five years.
    These students meet their older secondary school peers at BCC and UWI and dominate them. They are also better rounded students.

15. One thing that the NACE report shows is the dearth of mathematical modeling skills in Barbadian researchers and policy makers. The claim that zoning will reduce traffic congestion can be tested using Geographic Information systems along with well established traffic models that transport engineers use when planning transportation system development. It is distressing that in 2010 much speculation and debate about education and many other fields go on without any testing by any models and other numerical approaches. Properly constructed models often help to reveal strengths and weaknesses in proposals and reduce risk of failure.

16. We need to be more concerned with how* our children are being educated more than where they are being educated.

Bush Tea makes a compelling case about our system of education is more geared towards generating academic achievers rather than educating them.

17. @ Atman (to anonymous)
    “You’re an idiot…a narrow-minded idiot. That’s all”
    Why? because Anonymous happens to have a different view to yours?
    …interesting logic!

People are different. We all have different talents, so while GP may be able to routinely speak latin and actually understand what he is talking about, there are some things about which he knows very little… LOL (like why God made the devil / rotfl)

Similarly, in any population of school aged children, there will be a random distribution of talents.

One of these talents is the ability to perform well academically.It is estimated that such talents tend to be distributed in 15 -25 % of any population.

In an ‘academic development system’ (which is what we have in Barbados) this means that it is highly unlikely that we CAN EVER ACHIEVE anything higher than this percentage of ACADEMIC successes. Anything over that would be like fitting square pegs into round holes.

You can zone, move teachers, spend more money, or just complain on BU – but you can’t make scholars without academic talent.

Which part of that do you not get Atman?

To solve the problem we either have to:
    1 – find a way to ensure that all our children are born with academic talents
    2 – kill all the non academics before school age
    3 – Don’t teach anyone – so that they all reach the same level at age 18 (dumb!)
    4 – Kill all the academics -so that the non academics will not feel inferior
    5 -….or we can put similar systems in place to recognize and develop the OTHER talents that our children have, and bring these to the SAME excellent standards that we have achieved in academics.

Anonymous is right!
    What zoning what??!!

18. Atman

prove your assertion. What is narrow minded about challenging the claim that zoning will result in a more equitable distribution of students among schools and a reduction in traffic congestion? I am not challenging the ideas of a more equitable distribution per se or that reduction in traffic congestion and travel times are undesirable. I am expressing scepticism that zoning based on residential proximity ALONE will achieve these objectives. Further I am asserting that with proper modeling we can get a good picture of the situation after zoning which can help to guide our decision making.

By the way I am not the same “anonymous” posting at 7:28 P.M.

19. @Bush Tea

Don’t know if you read the BLP column which was read on VOB today as a BLP sponsored announcement but you seem to have them behind you given their reference to the blogs…lol

20. @ David
    I feel that you have some clothes hung out to dry and you looking for rain….LOL

You already tricked the bushman into writing this blog because you well know how strongly I feel about the issue……
    I feel that you also know how the bushman feels about the BLP’s role in derailing education in Barbados.

GP already touched on the infamous role of a Billie with respect to Lodge (and other ) schools in a ridiculous cat fight that served only to derail what had been a world class example of academic progress.

That Billie -along with a Tull, then perpetrated the single worst blow that has ever been dealt to the process of education in Barbados – CO-EDUCATION. We will NEVER recover from the World Bank driven stupidity. (If Bajans were aware of the levels of sexual activity in our schools now, there would be a rebellion by parents.)

Mama Mia then championed ‘Edutec’ – a scheme designed to provide contracts to friends, and distractions from the real business of academic achievement……

One can only laugh at the BLP’s attempt to jump on the BU bandwagon – they probably think that bloggers were all born recently…… or that we ‘just come town’.

21. @Bush Tea

From your very early submissions to BU it was clear to a blind man on a trotting horse you have a passion for how our young are being educated. The blogosphere is enriched by your willingness to share your perspective. Let us hope that good sense will prevail.

22. Man David, What passion what??!!
    I jus’ vex….. Foolishness just makes bush tea boil…. lol

23. We have a number of issues in Barbados that can be addressed by simply zoning school children, but some of you can only place importance on maintaining certain schools for the 11+ high scorers.

If a student is academically talented, then heshe will succeed at any school, so why must heshe attend only certain schools? Shouldn’t the aim be for all schools to have a good image, and for all our youngsters to develop self-confidence and high self-esteem? The secondary school a person attends or attended should not be seen as a credential, but rather the person’s performance at school. A person’s graduation rank, and certificates achieved should be the measuring stick, not the school attended.

Obviously the National Advisory Committee on Education sees the wisdom and multiple benefits in zoning the children, but the elitist minds in Barbados will never agree with NACE.

24. @Bush Tea

I’m always weary of persons who refer to themselves in the third person…it’s sign of pompous arrogance.

25. @Bush Tea

However, I do agree with you that co-education was not a good idea, but some would argue that all-boys and all-girls schools tend to bring about more homosexuality.

26. @ Atman
    I’m always weary of persons who refer to themselves in the third person…it’s sign of pompous arrogance.
    ****************************************************************************************
    Mr Atman, If your beliefs generally had any basis in logic; any root in common sense; or indications of wisdom, the bushman would be moved to cease and desist from references to himself in the third person.
    However, since most of your positions taken on BU are clearly rooted in personal feelings and rank emotionalism, please forgive Bush Tea for continuing on his merry third person rant….
    …but for once, you are right, BT is pompously arrogant….. and elitist.

To avoid any possibility of further damaging your record for bringing logic to the forum, I will not respond fully to the comment about homosexuality being fostered by single sex schools…..except to say that – even if true, this would be a problem for a minority of deviants (who still have that problem in co-ed schools) -rather than distracting the vast majority of normal youth, at the most vulnerable time of their sexual development – from their career foundation-building priorities.

27. @ MathLab

How are u going about teaching urself ML? I too am keen on , signal processing, etc.

@CH
    Any good C++ texts/ resources u can recommend? (Assume that I am a neophyte)
    Is there anywhere in Bim that offers courses?

28. “One thing that bothers me is how so few students know how to program a computer to count (and read out) from 1 to ten; even though computers are so ubiquitous throughout the world today.”

Maybe you were/are good at programming but your English sucks pal.
    Just read that one sentence and see what’s wrong with it.
    1. Rule – numbers one to ten are spelled out.
    2. If computer usage is as ubiquitous as you suggest, then to say “throughout the world TODAY,” is tautology. Duh!
    3. Your use of the word is ubiquitous is also in poor language taste.

So while you are good at computer language (whatever the f**k that is), you suck at rhetoric and logic 101.

29. @Bush Tea

Well you’re entitled to your opinion however flawed it may be. I’m quite satisfied that I support my positions with objective reasoning.

Recently I was speaking with a person who holds a high position in government on the same zoning issue, and he said to me that even though he agrees that zoning is best for the country, he can’t see it happening. He said that too many people in high positions want to hold on the prestige of attending certain schools and continue that tradition for their children and grandchildren. I said to him that 2 years ago I asked another person high in government what he thought of Obama’s chances of winning the US election, and he told me then that America still wasn’t ready for a black president.

I believe that some day not too long from now, our gov’t will wise up and realize and accept that zoning children isn’t just about education and getting to school on time, but that it’s an opportunity to kill many birds with one stone since it will address other important issues at the same time. The situation is getting critical and it will become obvious that there is no better alternative…right now they’re only delaying the inevitable.

30. There you have it – ” zoning children isn’t just about education and getting to school on time, but that it’s an opportunity to kill many birds with one stone since it will address other important issues at the same time.” So what are these “other” important issues? I want my children to get an education not be a pawn in someone’s guilt or inferiority complex driven agenda.

31. @Atman

Understand your position which is that of many Barbadians but with respect it is an emotional argument. Nothing wrong with researching this matter using available data to understand the current state using the best quantitative methods. Isn’t that why we went to school in the first place to use education to enrich our lives? Why make decisions from the seat of the pants when we can do it better?

32. @David

Oh please, we waste alot of time saying we are going to research this and research that, and all the while things continue to get worst. NACE has completed a two year study and recommended zoning…how much more research do you need? And who is going to do the additional research, you?

33. @Anonymous

See why I have to insist that you are an IDIOT. I said it is not JUST about education and getting to school on time, but that it’s an opportunity to kill many birds with one stone since it will address other important issues at the same time. Now tell me where in that statement does it suggest that your children will not get an education?

See why I insist that you are a NARROW-MINDED IDIOT? Aren’t you aware of the other issues in Barbados that urgently need addressing, and that can ALSO be addressed via zoning? Maybe you missed my very first post in this thread.

34. Atman

Your first post on this thread made three claims. These are, that zoning will (a) eliminate the elitist mind set (b) reduce traffic congestion and (c) reduce liming in town. You have brought no evidence to support any of these claims. You keep making reference to other important issues but never state what these are. Further while you believe zoning to be the panacea for the problems of the Barbados educational system, you cannot grasp the concept that pedagogical methods, curriculum offerings, assessment methods, school management and the school environment are much more significant in facilitating success of students in schools.

That you resort to invective and insult is indicative that your position is as sound as a Ecuadorian dollar.

35. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Anonymous
    Your comments on Atmans post is well done. Accurate and a lovely peice of prose.

I must agree with you that zoning IS NOT the panacea for the problems of the Barbados educational system, and that pedagogical methods, curriculum offerings, assessment methods, school management and the school environment are much more significant in facilitating success of students in schools.

Zooning is nothing new. We did it in the past quite normally and with out fuss. Children went to nearby schools. The better children went to the top schools.
    Any betzpaenic moron can see that there is more to education than zoning

The need to reduce folk to the same level is also junk. Billie and the BLP introduded that crap in the 70’s and it has failed!

Students who are weak compared to their peers are demoralized. It is better to have the sharp students to sharpen each other by competition and co operation, and for the weaker students to run with those of similar ability.

BT’s idea to have special schools in the hope of promoting excellence in vocations or areas that are most suitable to paticular schools is the way to go.

If a student from Pie Corner has a penchant for art he should be ferried to anywhere in Barbados where the Art Centre is, and where he can interact with the bests artists and art teachers the country can provide, Such a student should not be wasting time on conjugating Latin verbs, and playing with the various ways of translating into Latin “When Caeasar arrived.” Or in translating into Latin and being to read They say to the judges!

36. @Atman

It is funny we here discussing how we can improve our system of education and you refer to a fellow commenter an idiot only because he has a different point of view.

Our best research* indicates NACE used qualitative methods to inform its recommendations e.g. focus groups, town hall meetings etc

Relax man!

37. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Yardbroom
    JC on // June 25, 2010 at 10:22 AM said

My NO. 1 GUY! When you come to Barbados, I am going to cook for you! LOL!

Now she got me like Macbeth! So all I can say is “I/m now in to JC stepped in so deep that to go back would be as tedious as go o”re.”

Its death to the ole man from the filly. or from diabetes plus the “stay here” and come to me in the flying fish

38. @All… Just in case I’ve caused offence (or confusion) to anyone, let me please elaborate on why it bothers me that so few people know how to program a computer to count from one to ten (or 1 to 10 to those of us who program computers)…

While I am *not* arguing that everyone should (or even could) be an excellent computer programmer, in our modern age where computers are just about everywhere, it concerns me just how few know who to actually use them beyond web surfing and word processing (and playing games and watching videos).

(And yet so many job advertisements require proficiency in “[M$] Excel” (a spreadsheet program) amongst other skills).

The perl code I presented above is often the second program a new student of Computer Science is taught — right after “Hello World”. (“main () { printf(“Hello Worldn”); }” (That’s in C (it’s also valid C++), rather than Perl.))

It introduces six important concepts: variables, decelerations, loops, conditionals, code blocks and modifiers.

After each student has successfully programmed a computer to count from one to ten, the teacher will then often ask the student to, for example, program the computer to count from 100 to 1000 in steps of 100.

Most students will simply change the code to this: “for ($a=100; $a<=1000; $a+=100) { print "$an"; }".

Then, after some more learning, they will produce something like this code: "$b=100; $e=1000; $s=100; for ($a=$b; $a<=$e; $a+=$s) { print "$an"; }". This is because they are about to be introduced to subroutines (functions), where instead of hand-editing the code for the desired results, the function (possibly an independent program) will be passed parameters (values for the variables).

While the "code" (read: programming language) might look a little intimidating at first, it is perfectly logical, explicit and deterministic. I have found that students quickly become familiar and comfortable with it.

The reason I raised the matter of spreadsheet programs, and how it's valuable to know how to have the computer count from one to ten using them, is that when using a spreadsheet (properly), you are actually programming a computer.

Too many people view a spreadsheet as a desktop publishing tool. As an example, I once had an office manager who was responsible for producing several reports using M$ Excel. One day my boss discovered an error in one of the reports.

Drilling down, it turned out that the office manager was using a hand calculator to manually calculate the value for each cell, rather than using the intended abilities of the computer (program) to do the required calculations. Because she was printing out the reports rather than submitting them electronicly, we didn't notice immediately.

@All: At the hopes of not now offending again… As a simple example of the power of knowledge of computer programming, here's an assignment for anyone interested…

Using any spreadsheet program you like (Excel, Open Office Cal, Lotus 1-2-3, et al) create the classic "multiplication table" from early grade school (1 through 12 in cells A1 to L12 and A1 to A12; cell L12 should show 144 (12 multiplied by 12).

You should be able to achieve this with only a single "declared (read: explicit) value" in cell A1; that being the number "1".

As a hint, cell B2's relation is a little tricky: "=B$1*$A2", which can then be cut-and-pasted into cells B1 through L12 to complete the problem.

39. @David

I referred to him as an idiot because the cap fits. When Anonymous can respond by suggesting that his child would not be getting an education, and that his child would be a “pawn in someone’s guilt or inferiority complex driven agenda”, tells me that he is an idiot. Let’s face it, some people say things that indicate they are idiots.

40. @ Georgie Porgie

It would appear JC has the ability to do well, whatever she engages in. May I tentatively suggest her culinary skills might even be on par with Pat’s. You are indeed a lucky man to savour such cooking and to be invited!! your cup should be overflowing.

Fear not my friend, diabetes or not there is no Macbeth tragedy to befall you but:

“If with love thy heart has burned;
    If thy love is unreturned;
    Hide thy grief within thy breast,
    Though it tear thee unexpressed”.

Emerson

41. @Anonymous who wrote:

Your first post on this thread made three claims. These are, that zoning will (a) eliminate the elitist mind set (b) reduce traffic congestion and (c) reduce liming in town. You have brought no evidence to support any of these claims. You keep making reference to other important issues but never state what these are. Further while you believe zoning to be the panacea for the problems of the Barbados educational system, you cannot grasp the concept that pedagogical methods, curriculum offerings, assessment methods, school management and the school environment are much more significant in facilitating success of students in schools.

==============================================================
    You should notice that I said in my first post that zoning “SHOULD BE THE STARTING POINT TO REFORMING THE SCHOOL SYSTEM”. I never said it would be the be-all and end-all solution to education reform. I am quite aware that there are other elements within the educational system (at the nitty gritty level) that needs to be addressed. Do you understand this sir??

However, zoning by itself will address to a great degree SOME issues that we have been battling with, and zoning will cost little no taxpayers dollars to implement.

42. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Yarbroom

I was not implying that there was a tragedy, but rather like Macbeth I will have to see this thing through to the bitter or SWEET END! LOL

Fuelled by your poem I MARCH ON! LOL

43. Zoning will not solve any problems.

Once zoning is established – if it is ever established – parents with money will simply buy houses in the “good school” zones, and why shouldn’t they? And over a period of time those parents without money to buy a house in a “good school” zone will be entirely shut out, and thier children will be shut out of the good schools.

In 25 years time poor children – especially poor black children, even poor black, very bright children – will be relegated to the bad schools, which is the only place where their parents can afford to buy or rent a house.

IS THIS WHAT WE WANT?

The 11+ for all its faults permits bright, poor black children to receive an excellent education and to use that education to rise educationally, economically and socially.

44. A computer is a tool. Programmers are in the business of making the tool easier to use, as designers are in the business of making the machine more affordable. I do not have to know how to assemble a monkey wrench in order to change a washer.. The paces that I put my machine through, simply as a result of the complexity of the programs that I use will make a nonsense of my trying to decipher how these programs work, or in the language in which they are written.

I say this to say that children should be drilled in the proper use of language, as a tool to be used and mastered, before they are they are taught about the science of the language (verbs, pronouns, Latin derivatives…). They should be drilled in the application of arithmetic and mathematics before they are taught the boring definitions and theories. In short give developing minds the need to use the tools of communication and logic through practical application so as to create the desire to appreciate the science behind the skills that they are developing.

I say having more pantomimes/theater in primary schools will build confidence in the use of standard language. I say make standard English the only language of instruction and communication among all people, from the janitor to the principal and make it a serious offense to be caught doing otherwise.

And so on…

45. @J

If zoning is implemented would there still be a “good school” zone, and a “bad school” zone? What would set them apart that would make a parent want to relocate so their children can attend a particular school? Are there certain areas in Barbados where a much higher concentration of bright youngsters reside than others? What makes a school “good”, the number bright children that goes there, or the teaching and guidance capabilities of the faculty?

46. For those really concerned with making our educational system one that works to the benefit of all Barbadians:

http://www.intlalliance.org/Singapore.pdf

The current paradigm of Singaporean education is termed Ability Driven Education. An extract from the report is as follows:

“A responsive education structure was developed. The overall objective
    was to motivate Singaporeans to continually acquire new knowledge, learn new
    skills, gain higher levels of technological literacy, develop a spirit of innovation,
    enterprise and risk-taking, without losing their moral bearings or their
    commitment to the community and nation. To achieve a “quantum
    improvement” in Singapore’s whole process of education, several major
    initiatives were launched, including, revamping career paths for teachers,
    teaching creative thinking, introducing collaborative learning strategies, stressing
    national (or citizenship) education, making more use of new technologies in
    teaching and learning, and giving schools more resources and greater autonomy.
    In essence, the ability-driven education has two key features:

• Maximal development of talents and abilities. Ability-driven education is
    premised on the belief that every child has some talent or ability. The
    scope and scale of talent within each student differs, but everyone should
    excel according to the combination of talents and abilities he possesses.

• Maximal harnessing of talents and abilities. Education must inculcate the
    development and infusion of appropriate national values and social
    instincts so that young Singaporeans can be committed to Singapore and
    actively contribute to the growth of the nation. Ability-driven education also
    harnesses the talents and abilities of all teachers and leaders, both in
    schools and at the Ministry of Education.

Schools were strongly encouraged to take ownership of their curriculum and co-curricular activities to identify talents and abilities and to develop customized
    programmes to meet individual student’s aptitudes and skills. These specialised
    programmes include the Music and Art Elective Programmes, Gifted Education
    Programme and specially-designed physical education and learning of Chinese
    classes. As mentioned earlier, vocational training under the ITE was also given a
    strong boost. Government recurrent expenditure on technical and vocational
    education per student increased from S$4,883 in 1991 to S$8,018 in 2004.
    Infrastructure, facilities and technical equipment are consistently upgraded to
    ensure they matched industrial needs.”

It is to be noted that in Singapore, the Primary School Leaving Examination is used to allocate not only places in secondary schools but the different academic tracks that students will take. Recently Principal Karen Best complained that parts of the BSSE (“11 + exam) were deemed too difficult for many of our students and should be removed from the exam. It is interesting to compare our 11+ with the Singapore exam.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Primary_School_Leaving_Examination

Note that in addition to Mathematics and English, the exam consists of a science paper. This paper covers topic in Physics, Chemistry, Biology and Statistics.

Singapore is neither perfect, nor does it have the last word in educational matters. It is however a successful country and has been held up as a model by no less a person than Mr E.W.Barrow. It is obviously necessary to fashion a system consonant with our resources, culture, world view and the direction in we wish to go but there is still a great deal of commonality among the people of this world and in the age of globalization we should examine all models as we seek to build our own “brand”.

47. @J

Why are you under the impression that bright, poor black children would not receive the same standard of education? Don’t you think it is time that all secondary schools be considered equal and well respected, with the same standard of teaching that now exist at Harrison’s College or Queen’s College? Don’t all of our children deserve that?

Why should my neighbour’s 11-year-old daughter have to get up extra early come September to get two buses to get to school (from St. John to Christ Church)?

Aren’t you affected or concerned about the heavy traffic on the roads at peak hours which is directly linked to school children travelling to school. I see a great big difference during school vacations, therefore I have good reason to believe that zoning children will greatly reduce traffic to and from Bridgetown as it relates to children who live in the country areas…and that’s plenty of children.

There are some other issues that zoning will also address relating to reducing the number of children liming in town, and getting into deviant behaviour.

48. @alpha
    ——————————————————————————————————————–
    @mathlab

How are u going about teaching urself ML? I too am keen on , signal processing, etc.

@CH
    Any good C++ texts/ resources u can recommend? (Assume that I am a neophyte)
    Is there anywhere in Bim that offers courses?
    ——————————————————————————————————————-

Well part of my background is in some ML. Neural Networks, Genetic Algorithms. But there are a lot more techniques involved – Bayesian networks, HMM, Time Series, CART etc.

Therefore I am getting two books from amazon.com. One book deals strictly with the mathematics, statistics, theory and algorithms. The other deals with practical applications in the real world using case studies and actual projects.

When you combine the two you cannot go wrong. Theory will give deep understanding of the subject. Practical real world projects will let you see how to apply the knowledge in a business context by solving and this is where the profits will come.

If I had the money I will study one of those online certificates offered by one of the US universities but alas it is too expensive and I cannot afford it, $20,000 BDS is too steep. So the books are my alternatively as I cannot let lack of money stop me in pursuit of my goals.

With regard to C++ I know you asked CH but I will also give 15 cents. I used the Deitel book, even though I know a lot of students do not like it. Another great book I have is “The C++ Programming Language” by Stroustrup (the creator of C++).

Also you can go on campus (UWI) and do one of the courses. Mainly COMP1115 – Computer Programming II (2nd year course). If you go through oficail channels you will have to register etc and pay the money. However with unofficial channels just speak to the Lecturer tell him/her what you are trying to acomplish and most of the time they will let you sit in on the class (free of charge), ask questions, participate etc. You can also try BCC using the same method as they too teach C++ in the associate degree programme.

I have done the same for a Java course at Cavehill by approaching the lecturer directly.

Cheers

49. Altman
    What do you mean by this “with the same standard of teaching that now exist at Harrison’s College or Queen’s College?”Do you Barbadians understand that the best teaching is not available at HC or QC. Explain to me why most Chemistry, Biology and Spanish students of QC and HC students find themselves at St.Leonard’s every Saturday morning for lessons.
    It is not about the best teaching it is about receiving the best students who still do a tremendous amount of lessons outside of HC and QC.

50. It is recommended if you don’t want to read the full report take some time to read p.19-20. The problems which Singapore had to overcome are embarrassingly similar to Barbados. Atman may want to read those pages to confirm BU’s position i.e. Goh Report which precipitated the overhaul of the Singaporean education system was statistics driven in part.