Submitted by Nathaniel Christopher
I’m a gay man from Burnaby, British Columbia Canada who occasionally reads your informative and well-written blog about Barbados. Yesterday I learned that your Prime Minister was scheduled to visit my city today. Unfortunately, he had to cancel due to illness and some other Barbadian officials will be speaking in his place.
I did a short YouTube video expressing my thoughts on this official visit. I consider myself an LGBT activist, so I speak to the visit from this perspective.
These are just my personal thoughts on the issue and I would be interested in sharing this link with your readers if you feel there’s a place for it.

145 responses to “Gay Canadian’s Thoughts on Barbadian Officials’ Visit To Bunaby In Canada”
@ paul “So Hants, if you are so against Canadians who speak the truth, why do you choose to live there?”
I am against people who seek to influence the governance of Barbados.
I have interest, Financial and Business in both countries and as a Barbadian born dual citizen I can live in either country.
Speaking about truth, the truth is that no one in Barbados has been jailed for sex between consenting adults in the privacy of their home or hotel room.
nuff said.
We all should know that this is a political issue, hence sooner or later we will have to
honestly confort this out in the open in Barbados.
Amused
This class idiot will tell you that stinking bulla and anybody else, if any of you think you are going to stink up barbados with your bulling ways, there are still a lot of us here who will deal with you and the others in a true bajan way , SOME HOT BAJAN LICKS. Maybe I suggest you and your crowd take a holiday to Jamaica.
Yardbroom you are a wise person.
I done wid dis.
Report: State of Emergency declared in parts Of Jamaica…some unrest.
Thanks Yardbroom, The Scout you would do BU a favour to listen to the wise among us.
MS.ANNE THROPE
dogs don’t need contracts you can write the laws for them people like you want to go against nature and then talk about written contracts,you all created your own law it is not the law of nature you are nasty sinking people, go to any trauma center in the northern hemisphere and check the records and you will see the type of implements you all use for self gratification and then doctors have to repair your self inflected injuries and you come here talking about contract wona stink
Wunnah all too nasty. Remember – he who does protest loudest …all yuh is closet cases hiding behind macho bravado. Cuh dear.
Ready Done
#8. Frotteurism. I have no problem wid dat as long as I feel a ‘good’ impression and as long as ya doan bore a hole in my clothes. 🙂 I kinda like dah ‘eurism’.
Michael
Ya got ma cryingggg.
‘……..is busy parting their buttocks in anticipation of your arrival’.
murdahhhhhhhhh
Br.Scout
Ya like acid rain man. wuhlosss,wuhloss.
This is a setup ……. i can tell! I don’t like it!!!!!!!!!
Th comments were interesting……… however …….. something aint smell right !!!!!!
@J
I kinda agree. Another one dem undercover sting.” Barbados blog watch,”
Watch de michael i do remember him from another blog on BU playing the racist card.
Any way you look at this…. it is people like “The Scout” who are giving other Barbados citizens a bad reputation. I imagine that, generally speaking, most don’t in Barbados care either way about homosexuality… “as long as its in the privacy of your own home” as someone aptly put it above. The truth is no one wants to see ANYONE having sex in public (gay or straight).
In regards to “The Scout”, I second what Dupply Lizard says 🙂
Michael B wrote “a country that has on its law books, laws that COULD potentially be enacted to put someone to death for having a particular type of sex. ”
Dear MIchael B: Barbados has NOT put anyone to death for any type of sex in my lifetime and I’ve lived a very, very long time. We do not even put people to death for committing murder, although many argue that we should.
Nathaniel Christopher wrote “err.. let me rewrite that! Some of the comments posted on this thread make me think that Canada should let in LGBT refuguees from Barbados.”
Really Nathaniel you need to visit Barbados. The LGBT people of Barbados know very well that they can claim refugee status in Canada but they haven’t and you know why? they are happy in Barbados. Why should a LGBT Barbadian leave a lovely warm place like Barbados to live in that fozen Canadian hell?
Stop wishing.
Canada won’t be getting any LGBT refugees from Barabdos any time soon.
Hants // May 23, 2010 at 3:40 PM. Absolutely correct.
@JC and J. Yes, it is a sting. It is a provocative position taken by an activist in British Columbia (where the GHNS owner comes from who also happens to be gay) to have a go at Barbados over gay rights, having failed in other areas. Every society finds its own way to reconcliling matters. Barbados will too. In its own time. It will not be dictated to by anyone from British Columbia or anywhere else.
Also, the prohibition in Barbados is against a certain type of sex, it does not specify gay or homosexual, but relates solely to the sexual act itself. Mr Christopher, who clearly has not read the Act on which he has chosen to cross-question Bajan officials, has defined it without any basis whatsoever as being a prohibition against gay sex. Well, many years ago before the pill when I was down a cart road in the back seat of my father’s car, let me assure you that it was not with another male. But, I was contravening the buggery laws.
Barbados’ political parties are dependent to a very large degree on the approval of church leaders of all denominations. Nuff people go to church in Barbados. Canada’s politicians to not have that problem – they have others and let me assure you that the Canadian parties practice political expediency like crazy. Barbadian politicians, in sincere imitation of the political expediency practiced in Canada, have determined to keep the church lobby happy by keeping the buggery laws, and the international community happy by never enforcing them. A very wise solution – except for those who wish to find fault for their own agendas.
@Scout aka the Class Idiot. I have warned you about those Muscle Mary’s before. You try to put your Bajans licks in their asses, they will carve you a new a** h***.
If you are suggesting the “the wise among you are just like the Canadian nasty man, well so be.Thank God I’m unwise but there are some things that I’m very passionate about and that is same-sex relationships. If I had a child that was involved in such, i would disown that child IMMEDIATELY, and there is no discussion about that. Therefore I think it best to do BU a favor and make no more comments on this matter. Futhermore, if BU is reaching the point like BFS where if ones opinion, is contrary varies from yours, the sugestion is that your stupid, or unwise as you are suggesting, then I would have to decide whether, I will continue to blog on this site. In the mean time which ever of you wants to shack up with this Canadian homo, I’m willing to pay the full package for both of you to Jamaica for a week. It scares me what this country is willing to support, I hope I’m not around when Barbados reaches that stage. I’ve always said if God don’t do something with Barbados soon, he is going to have to apologise to Sodom.
THIS IS PROBLABLY THE LAST BLOG YOU GET FROM A VERY UNWISE BUT MORAL MAN
Dear “The Scout”:
I’d bet money that you’re a closet ‘homo’ yourself.
I apologize to the rest of the blog for making the above statement… I do not want to resort to name-calling.. but if it walks like a chicken, talks like a chicken…. it most likely is a chicken..so call it as it is 🙂
@Brother Scout
Others in the family have discerned a sinister plot at play here, most have heeded. Why would you persist on a line by using emotive language against the knowledge that others have been trying to pull us down and will use such language for malicious gain? The other comments you have made in light of the subject being discussed and the passion with which you feel BU will turn the other cheek. This comment goes to Michael as well. Let us look at the big picture at what we are trying to achieve here and be smart how we do it.
As above people have said, Barbados is conservative, then there is Pinfold Street, the West Coast, down low………..
As Amused said, …..who cares……irrelevant to me or anyone else who or what you are…just dont mess with children or animals, then we’ll lock you up for good.
As Yardbroom said, we are a very tolerant society. Probably one of the most tolerant, even though we have plenty hypocrites who love to gossip and play holier than thou, but in reality ……left right and centre.
Hi Marie, My sentiments exactly regarding de Scout. LOL
I draw to readers’ attention that UWI, Cave Hill, Dept. of Language, Linguistics and Literature will have a public discussion on Monday, 31 May on sexuality and homosexuality. The discussion is titled “Breaking sexual silences”. One of the presenters will be Thomas Glave who will launch his book “Our Caribbean: A Gathering of lesbian and gay writing from the Antilles.” The announcement in the Sunday Sun (page 23A) for this public discussion has the provocative subtitle “Rasta man nah apologize to no batty-boy! Do dance hall lyrics like this speak for the majority of us?” Almost as if to answer the question, a picture of the dread lock wearing writer Thomas Glave is shown in the announcement.
bullah and lesbians and what other perverts are welcome in Barbados. just do your crap behind close doors. After visiting Barbados, why not visit Iraq and tell them that you are against them stoning innocent women who are rape. Tell them you are against ‘honor killings’ see how far you get with that one. When in Rome do as Romans do. because you are a bullah does not give you the right to try to force your beliefs in our face. you should go all out to love the delicate softness of a female’s touch – the smell of her natural perfume. her enchanting smile! nothing is more captivating and intense that the love of the opposite sex. hope one day you see are bless with real, true love.
Marie
you don’t know one khunt ’bout Scout so doan talk na shoite. Scout from de ol school and would find it hard embracing this sorta behaviour.Just like a lot of older folk find it hard to embrace rasta. They see it as something negative, so get offa he fa ma.
Wunna could tell me anyting cause ‘bonny back broad’. Leff he fa ma. Scout is an upright fella wid a strong christian upbringing so cahhhh ya khunt Marie. Lemma hear ya now. Because a fella against bullin dat mean he is a bulla? Wah I against wikkin from de perspective dat I feel man was made for woman, but if wikkin or bullin is wah’ rocks you boat’ go right ahead n enjoy fa two. chawwwwwwwwww
Bro.Scout
Talk ya talk old boy. We can’t all agree on the same things at the same time all the time. That would make this a perfect world and then there won’t be room for dis ‘hot-tot’. 🙂
Amused
You are crazzyyyyyyyy and I am convinced.
“But I was contravening the buggery laws”. Lord mek peace.
All I gun tell ya and this is my take on it, ‘all’s fair in love n war’.
Ya sweet thang.
Bonny, I love you.
Ms Anon
Wah is de name a de ‘natural perfume’? Vagina by Liz Claiborne or one a dem?LOLLLLLLLLLL
Me 2!!!!! Bonny I love you. You mek me laugh!!!!
Amused
So which car we using, you father whun or minez? I got a ‘convertible’. An de trunk real accommodating too. You could call me ‘Bonny de contortionist’ fa de nite. Is aaighttttttttt.
JC
My Easter Bunny, you meks me laff when you reddy too.
Happy Whitsun Monday to you n yours. But rememba, tomorrr is wukkk.
@Bonny. You car sounds just right.
Amused
Name de spot. No,no, I mean de udda spot. Ya perv.
voommmm, voommmmmmmmm.
Nathaniel Christopher as you can see from the responses that Barbados practices freedom of speech, in the true meaning, on this island you can get up and shout you are gay, you hate the prime minister the opposition leader and the cricket team without fear of violence you can also say you don’t like gay without fare of gay people bashing you.
Some would say that if you don’t like gay you are gay inside, i don’t like rapers and murders also, i can assure you i am neither of the three.
Where exactly is the law that you speak about? the one the targets gays, from asking around i was told that the law is against buggery or anal sex, and that can happen between any combination of people. If two people do that when alone then how would the law find out? that law can only be acted upon if one of the persons involved was to make a complaint to the law. i don’t think that has ever happened on the island.
Paraphilia or sexual orientations formerly called sexual perversions are names used by the American psychological association the list i provided earlier also came from them.
I am just providing some history behind the gay movement so we can know what we are dealing with. Untill1986 Gay was considered a mental illness by the said American psychological association.
Nathaniel, You make me laugh with your comment of Canada should give refugee status to all Barbadian gays, because if you make such a comment in Barbados’ sister country on mainland Sotuh America you can expect the enntire country to declare itselfl gay so that it could move to Canada. Oh my. Why the pcitures of Badwins of the Belgians, you know how bad their ancestors were to the brothers and sister in the Congo, formerly Zaire. You have your won gay agenda and that is it, you don’t care about racism, and hunger, global degradation, all you all care about is the legalisation of buggery, oh my.
Anonymous
I love how ya scrutinizing de brethren from down South (America). But dat is no lie.Anything to get from down in day man. Ya clever.
Oh my. Luv um.
Readydone // May 24, 2010 at 5:06 PM. “If two people do that when alone then how would the law find out? that law can only be acted upon if one of the persons involved was to make a complaint to the law.”
You forget the body that might be under de bed or the ones that peeping. I understand there is one Canadian living in Barbados that does like to peep BAD.
Poor Nathaniel – somebody got to buy he a teleprompter or tell he to learn he script. But you can see he does be a royalist – nuff queen pun he wall. But you know, Nathaniel, dem that can do, does do – the others does talk bout it. Poor soul. The bullers and wickers of Barbados happy where dey is. If you want to tempt them to move to Canada, you just gonna have to do better.
@Bonny. You too bad. But I like it. Seriously, I liked your response to Scout and I sorry now I called him a class idiot. He got he views like everybody else. But I wish he would concentrate on the fact that some of us love our children as the men and women they are – for their qualities as human beings and the way they treat the old folk and everybody else. We want them to be happy as long as their happiness does not harm anyone else. That is our right and the prejudice of people who look at them and call them names and talk about harming them is very hurtful to most. By all means hold your views and, if you must, state them. But remember that when you state them rudely, you hurt and insult those close to them as well. It is like me calling you a class idiot. So get over it. I sorry. Let us move on as the understanding and caring people we are.
Nathaniel, man, get a life and a man and wunna come visit we. But remember, be circumspect and play in private – like all couples should. Meanwhile Bonny and me will arrange we assignation. But no peeping.
I don’t think that Nathaniel was arguing that you should abandon you beliefs… if you do not like homosexuals then that’s fine because it is YOUR belief. However, a government, who has the purpose of representing it’s people, should not have an opinion. They and the laws they run their country by should be objective and non-discriminatory.
I think that those who attack Nathaniel’s lifestyle are little people, who are afraid..and by asserting their violent, volatile and abusive language, they can feel powerful and safe.
Rights for homosexuals in every nation eventually is a guarantee.. it is only a matter of time. So take this time to educate yourself and have some compassion and understanding, or you will be left behind, cold and alone.
Wow Marie! Very well said and your statements are very well supported by modern psychology and most religious philosophies (but it requires one to be able to see past the surface and beyond the spoon fed propaganda and dogmas that are digested by most people who are either to lazy to think for themselves or to spiritually disconnected to touch the truth within them). People do either hate and project onto others, what they possess and try to disown within themselves or they feel so poorly about themselves that they need to look down and/or perpetrate abuse upon those they chose to see as less than themselves in order to feel some sense of self importance. But it is never achieved that way. No matter what another is, it does not change what you are. If you are a person who hates, a person who needs to belittle, or oppress another person(s) then you suffer a spiritual bankruptcy which is probably quite obvious in their outer world. Spiritual poverty manifests itself outside oneself, life is but a hologram.
So to all of you who hate, I feel very sorry for you because it must be quite awful to live in your skin. Love and acceptance brings a peace and joy that passes all understanding. May you all someday find that within yourself. Until you do life will probably be and unnecessary burden and struggle for you, both within and without.
Also, to the poor, hate filled, impoverished soul who believes that because they hate rappers and thus are not one, nice try. That is a very poor and ignorant analogy, rapping is something one does, being gay is something one is, no matter if they act it out or not. Because you do not “do” something does not mean that you are not that which you do not “do”. You probably hate rappers because they reflect something within yourself that you hate, just as it is obvious that you have homosexual tendencies because of your hatred and obsession with the subject. Please, it would do you well to keep your mouth closed because you have entered into a realm where the simpletons you are used to fooling do not exist. You are not bright enough to take a lie and turn it into truth, nor hide what you are here because their are those who can see through the masks and smokescreens you try to create in order to stay hidden.
Amused, you are anything but amused, you are a very angry and hate filled person who needs loads of help, I see a very sad life ahead of you and believe you me, I am quite gifted in seeing such things. You are are bringing great sorrow and pain upon yourself, heed what I have to say before it is to late.
Marie, Michael B
Why do you two think that it is cool to predict doom n gloom on anyone’s life simply because they don’t embrace the gay lifestyle? Who makes you two judge n jury? Look, doan mek ma cry do. If you are gay or support the lifestyle that is just fine but don’t kill another who doesn’t. If same-sex fooping ‘wiggles your jiggles’, carry on smartly, by all means necessary. Don’t let me stop you from having ‘fun’ but ease offa my man Amused for ma please. Muchas gracias. stupseeeeeeeeeee.
Amused
You’re truly amazing. No one can steal your thunder baby. keep sweet and meet me in de car park tonite. Convertible contortionist stylee.
mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhh.
Bonny Peppa- I do not judge you, I only know spiritual law and I see the heart. I am a psychic/spiritual healer and the future is what you have and are creating for yourself. You reap what you sow and the hate that you have for others has to come back to you because the hate is actually toward yourself, not who you have tried to disown and put it upon. Nobody can take your hatred from you, nobody.
It is you who judge, but not the “gay lifestyle” you see outside yourself but what it reflects to you that is within you. It is not I who judge, it is you who are the judge and the condemner, you are just to asleep, and the sleep serves as a way to protect yourself, but it only can work so long before you manifest upon yourself, what you despise in others. Change the way you think, the way you see, toward yourself, until you do you will remain in the hell of your own making.
I not only have the right to warn you of the peril that awaits you, love tells me it is my duty. Only the devil himself would wish to see manifest what you are calling to you. I am doing you a favor. Though your heart is dark, it is loved.
Remember, there are no accidents in God’s universe and even if you cannot embrace and learn to love what is within yourself you can reduce your karma by not placing that judgment upon others, by not condemning others. Because when you do so, you are condemning God and that is a very sad thing.
Michael
First and foremost, I do not believe in psychics/spiritual healers. I think that it is a whole lot of hogwash. Anyone who claims to be, I usually discard as mentally unstable.
I’ve know of persons who’ve done all the good they can and still seem to reap a bad harvest. How does Karma apply in such cases?
When we accuse others of ‘Judging others’ usually it is just a person stating his/her opinion about a subject matter. Nothing at all to do with judging. If you say that one’s heart is dark because of personal opinions stated, then I would say that you are judging my heart which you have no right to do.
And pleaseeeeeeeee, don’t give me that hogwash about you have the right to warn me of the peril that awaits me. No MAN can predict what will happen the next minute.
Please, spare me.
But I won’t mind hearing the winning numbers fa de next Mega6. I would still try a ting or two.
Bless up.
Ultimately, what gives me the right is that I live in a free country, unlike yours, where nobody lives in fear of death for what they are, what they believe, or what they say. Your country has the right to put you to death because you are gay. It is wise for you to stay in the closet and keep the focus on others instead of yourself.
Remember, just because you are spiritual blind and cannot see or do not have the capacity to understand something does not make it so. A blind man can not see the sky but does that mean it is not there? So it is and so it will be.
The bad karma people live through without obvious knowledge of why is because they are living a lesson that they began in a life before this one. Don’t be stupid, don’t be a fool, you are a spec in the universe, a spec of dust in the greater truth. You know nothing. You are already living a karma that is hell and you know it. Everything you are at this moment could have been so much more.
You are already at the bottom of the human food chain and you know that. Wouldn’t you like to raise yourself up? You are an impoverished soul.
Michael
Like I said, ‘mentally unstable’.
Go take your pills.
Michael wrote “Ultimately, what gives me the right is that I live in a free country, unlike yours, where nobody lives in fear of death for what they are, what they believe, or what they say. Your country has the right to put you to death because you are gay.
Now Mikey you only making yourself look stupid. Barbados is as free as Canada, and neither in Barbados nor Canada is anybody put to death (or can be put to death by the State) for being homosexual. So either you are telling lies or you are deluded, or just plain ignorant.
Why don’t you sign up at the nearest community collrge for some lessons in georgaphy, sociology etc.
And in any event do as Bonny Peppa says “Go take your pills”
Oh, excuse me, you are right, it’s life imprisonment, not death. Nobody really even mentions Barbados in ANY COLLEGE OR UNIVERSITY BECAUSE YOU ARE ALL AT THE BOTTOM OF THE HUMAN FOOD CHAIN! Nobody cares that you even exist. You could all be wiped off the planet and nobody would even care!
So do you think that when people boycott you, when people begin to demand from their governments that the parasitical inhabitants of your lousy, insignificant country no longer give you hand outs that you will not suffer? I already know one family of 5 who is canceling their vacation to Barbados because of this. You will be the ones to suffer. Why are all of you such fools?
Ahhh!!!!! Michael. Go hug up your boyfriend and go to sleep.
And Mikey boy, for a persn that don’t care whether we exist or not you are spending an awful lot of time attempting to engage us in conversation.
Wha’ happen man!!
You don’t have any friends where you live?
And the truth is you don’t have the plane fare to come to Barbados so I’ll come look you up then when I come to Canada this summer.
When the tempertaure goes below zero for weeks at a time, when the temperatures hit -40 celsius we know that we will see the Canadians and wiull happily share our warmth with them too.
It is easy to talk about cancelling in the summer isn’t it?
Lemme hear from you on January 2nd.
Yes Bonny ah cleaver in truth, but picture the scene at Timehri
Michael B // May 25, 2010 at 10:26 PM
Oh, excuse me, you are right, it’s life imprisonment, not death. Nobody really even mentions Barbados in ANY COLLEGE OR UNIVERSITY BECAUSE YOU ARE ALL AT THE BOTTOM OF THE HUMAN FOOD CHAIN!
………………………………………………..
No one in North American mentions Barbados because most North Americans think that the world ends in the next state.
Most in North America, do not know where we are true, but then they also do not know where brazil, Nigeria, Sweden or India are on the map either.