Submitted by Minister of Tourism Richard Sealy to the British Telegraph – 29 Dec 2009

When someone says “Barbados”, people traditionally think of palm trees, white sand, turquoise water and perhaps someone relaxing in a deckchair wearing a straw hat. Yes, we do have the gift of some very beautiful beaches here but Barbados is so much more than just a tropical island.

There’s a lot going on in a country that’s just 166 square miles in size. Not only is there the landscape to explore from caves to gardens, the natural beauty of the Welchman Hall Gully and our rugged east coast but you can have an activity- filled holiday here, too.

There are diverse culinary experiences to be had, you can go horse riding, learn to surf, watch a major cricket match, go for a hike… all of which can bring you into contact with what, in my view, is still our strongest asset: our people.

They are what make us unique as a holiday destination. Tourists go to Egypt to see the pyramids; to Kenya to see the Masai Mara; to Orlando for Disneyworld. But in every visitor survey we ever run, the answer to “What do you like best about Barbados?” is always: “The Barbadians so warm and hospitable.”

Related Articles

Since my party came to office in 2008, we’ve been working hard to boost community tourism. With more cultural exchange, our visitors will take home even more memories rich memories that will last them a lifetime.

As part of all this, and after the success of 2009’s Year of the Gourmet, we’re now planning a big food festival for late 2010. The rest of the year, there are regular culinary events such as the weekly Oistins Fish Fry authentic Bajan cuisine in a very relaxed environment, which we’re pleased is hugely popular with tourists and locals alike.

We’re also taking sports tourism to another level, to get people coming here to experience everything from golf to beachand water-based sports (Barbados is also a world-class surfing venue) to large-scale international sporting events.

As part of our Independence Day celebrations late last year, we had Serena Williams over for an exhibition match, as well as the Cricket Legends tournament which was huge and is a precursor to something even bigger this year. Matches from the World Twenty20 Championship in May will also be staged here, as will that tournament’s final.

Then there are the sports that people may know less about. Our number one is, perhaps surprisingly, motorsport, but polo is huge as well we have more polo fields per square mile here than probably any other country in the world. Then there’s cycling and hockey… the list just goes on.

So, you see, there are many reasons why we have the highest rate of repeat visits of any major tourist destination in the world, as high as 47 per cent some years, with many of those people returning 25 or even 50 times.

So, even though we call Barbados a destination, for many of our visitors it has become a home away from home. People just get attached to the place. I can’t blame them.

47 responses to “It’s The Hospitality Of The People That Makes Our Small Island So Special”

1. Denis Johnson is hosting an excellent program on VOB so far. The tone is where we should have been awhile back – how do we reorder the economy and transition to a new paradigm to sustain our success (BU’s paraphrasing).

Our leaders need to change the model which comprise our productive sectors. Our import bill is rising and we have little focus on foreign exchange earning capacity. How much of our tourist dollar finds its way into Barbados coffers.

2. Today the press is reporting the restart of the Four Seasons project managed by Mike Pemberton et of Cinnomon88. Apparently Avinash Prakash (God bless him) has been the dynamic broker to this transaction. We note the call by the opposition for the government to make public the MOU to sell off CLICO. BU is asking for the same call to be made in this case. What guarantees or bonds has the Barbados government had to sign on to for this deal to go green.

3. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

I could not agree more with the Minister of this subject.

With the increased airlift (80,000 seats annually out of the US alone) THIS is the time we have to ensure that EVERY first time visitor becomes a loyal repeat guest.
    Especially as it is still uncertain when the global economic recovery will take place.

Everybody has to play their part.
    Gone are the days when hotel managers can lurk in the comfort of their air conditioned offices. Get out there, speak to your guests. Let them know that they are the most important component of your business.
    Involve your staff, relate that they play a critical role in the objective of ensuring these people come back.

We can go on for another eight years frequently selling the product below cost, but wouldn’t it be better explaining that to deliver the very best holiday experience comes at a cost?

EVERY person whether directly or indirectly involved in their income/salary being generated from tourism should also regularly read the reviewers comments on TripAdvisor Barbados.
    The Good, the Bad and the downright UGLY.

And perhaps finally, the Minister and those he appoints to guide our industry should sit down and evaluate WHY some of our tourism partners are getting it absolutely right, while others are getting it terribly wrong!

4. Big business is now shipping the tourist to the island for a day or two. On reaching the island big buses, and vans are hauling them up, and taking them around the island. Here lies the disadvantage to the tourist, and the tourism product.

No longer does the tourist experience that one on one informative tour he would had gotten from having his own taxi driver, or travelling on his own and gaining knowledge from the people as he move from point A to point B. That tourist is now on a big air-conditioned bus with about fifty other persons, adorned with tinted windows, as though he is on a safari being protected from lions and bears.

This inability of the tourist being able to experience the soul of the nation will prevent them from returning and encouraging others doing so.

Big business advertising dollars can bring them once, but never again.

Source

5. Barbados has always been at the top of the scale when it comes to hospitality.Both governments have done well in the promotion of the country but at the end of the day the people are naturally hospitable.Barbadians go out of their way to ensure visitors to the island have good memories of their trip.The relaxed atmosphere is addictive!I would like to see the tourism authority take tourism into some of the rural homes in the form of’an evening with the bajans’.The theme Tourism is our business let’s play our part works! Barbadians oversees also do their part.Not to be left out are the BDF and RBPF among others.I am proud of Barbados!

6. I know of a taxi driver, who used to give his guess a real bajan tour. He would take them to the village where he lived and let them enjoy a true bajan meal and mix with the average bajans. Some of these people returned for a long stay and some of them even stay at him. However, he is not allowed to do this too often now because most of the tourists he gets just want to get to B’town, the island tours are done by coaches and the stops for lunch is at some up market place. This is NOT how you sell Barbados, let the tourist mix more with the locals.

7. @Adrian Loveridge

Well said .You get my vote as Minister of Tourism.

8. An increasing concern is the willingness of many locals to dupe tourist to earn easy dollars from hotels, apartment houses, taxi drivers to coconut sellers. Given the importance of tourism to the economy of Barbados the government should contemplate applying or enforcing a fine to anyone caught conning or trying to con a tourist.

9. Barbados is on my short list of places to visit in the Caribbean. Can’t wait. Thanks for the great article. Cheers!

10. @Ryan
    You Welcome!

11. @ David…

Will it be enforced is another story like all things Bajan.
    At least the majority of the tourist today are money wise now and are always looking for the cheaper alternatives.

12. @David
    So a tourist takes a cab from the airport to Oistins and he pays the fare.
    Question How would the tourist knows if he is overcharged.
    Also if he was wouldn’t it be alittle too
    late to report.
    I think the real purpose would be to stop such illegal behaviour before it happens by placing smallbrouchers in hotel or places where tourist frequent to exposed
    such practices

13. the rates are advertised at the airport

14. When people get to the airport the last thing on their mind is looking for rates ,they need to be more followup in educating the tourist about overpricing

15. @ac..

When you get to JFK the only time you know about the fare is when you get in a yellow cab but there are brochures and even ads telling you to get a recognized cab.
    I remember when the idea of meters was brought up, the taxi operators made a stink, when I look at the traffic situation now, I laugh because they really missed out.

16. Triv
    Well said
    ah wonda bout john Moore bar, Musta, an all o dem.Good food and service.

17. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Very interesting figures quoted regarding the performance of Almond Resorts Inc., published in the Business Monday section of the Advocate today and perhaps gives the ordinary person some grasp of the finanacial challenges facing our tourism industry.
    For the financial year ending 30 September 2009 the company reported a loss of BDS$2.9 million and revenue down from $85 million in 2008 to $62 million.
    Including the two properties in St. Lucia, according to their own website they have a total of 1,530 rooms.

The reason given for the fall in revenue is ‘due to a significant reduction in tourist arrivals and heavily discounted average rates required to win occupancy’.

In past published accounts Almond used to show their occupancy levels, but now we are left to guess.

If they in fact achieved an average occupancy rate of 75% for f/y/e 2009 across all five properties, then its a simple calculation.

1,530 rooms X 365 nights X 75% divided into BDS$62 million.

That gives an average room rate of BDS$148.02 or US$72 for an all -inclusive product.

I really wonder if in fact continued discounting is the way to go?

18. Adrian Loveridge Avatar
    Adrian Loveridge

Sorry should read US$74.

19. If the planning of a big eat up, as proposed in the post above is the Minister of Tourism’s best response to an almost 18% drop in tourism arrival then God help us all.

Is this the most creative proposal that the Minister can imagine?

20. @Royalrumble

Please go to the “Barrack Millions” blog and give us a BLP position on the matter.

21. DR. POOPERTALLIAN Avatar
    DR. POOPERTALLIAN

Richard is a good boy (to keep far from) and he really aint with it man. Tourism needs the man Barney Lynch. THE COUNTRY NEEDS THE DLP-TO GO, Leave, Vamoose !

22. Ryan
    You’re more than welcome. When are you coming? Keep us posted. Good time in store for you if you’r fun-loving. Judging from your pic you seem so. Nice smile and all.
    A warm welcome awaits you…… and your smile.

23. Yuh want a slap Avatar

Shorten your handle to Dr. Poop if you believe what you post.

Muscle Mary Lynch good for one thing errr maybe two.

He is a boss liar, we still waiting for the hundreds of world cup yachts and to understand his jackass claim that ICC world cup was Bdos finest hour.

24. I remember when German Visitors staying at Silver Sands Hotel would come up to St Christopher School pasture to football with the guys.
    Also playing beach cricket at Silver Sands beach Guest would come to play.You don’t see that anymore.:(

25. @ac

The taxi rates are posted at the airport. You cant miss them. From the airport to every tourist destination on the island. They also list the $ to tip the porters. Two Bajan or one US $ per bag. I usually give more, if I get through without a search.

26. @Pat

That is a small start.However more needs to be done by the tourisim board in preventing the tourist from being scammed by persons of illicit intent.
    That is why i mentioned previously brochures as a way of tackling the problem along with phone numbers to call to report the problem.
    I would also suggest a “hotline’ as a form of contact.

27. Hi

Great information about the year of 2009 and the success of 2009’s Year of the Gourmet, we’re now planning a big food festival for late 2010.

http://www.bid66.com

28. WestJet return flights from Toronto to Barbados for CAD$250.46 including all taxes.

29. Is it possible that the efforts to cocoon visitors and minimize their contact with locals, are deliberate business ploys?

How can a proprietor overcharge a visitor if that visitor has local knowledge gained from befriending locals?

30. alot of people who generally visit south fla for the winter was in for a surprise because of the cold weather.Most notably I am told that they are no radio or Tv promotions for Barbados.

31. The cold weather in the US and Canada continuing and more people are booking vacations.

February should be a good month for Tourism in Barbados.

32. @Hants

Very optimistic. Like that. However They need to be more promotion in Southern Fla.I have very reliable sources who fill me in on those things.

33. Hello
    Grenade was featured on one of americas
    well watched morning shows nationwide.
    Their minister of tourisim gave very good publicity for the island pictures and all of the beaches and hotspot
    Question: Why can’t Barbados do the same?

34. For those interested, former Tourism Minister is moving on up! He has been appointed Deputy Director General at the Caribbean Hotel Tourism Association (CHTA).

35. @ ac

What are the demographics for Southern Florida that makes it a target for BTA advertising?

36. @Hants
    The demographics vary. However since Fla is a leading gateway to the carribean and in fact attracts people of all ethinicity I don’t see why they wouldn’t be more effort in promoting Barbados there.

37. AC

People who live in Southern Florida will not visit Barbados on holiday unless they have some underlying reason e.g its their birth place or there is a business opportunity. The weather is almost identical (heck they get more hurricanes than Barbados) plus they have access to cheap cruises at a moments notice. They can take off for a three day cruise to the Bahamas or a five day trip through the Western Caribbean at the drop of a hat. Some of them decide on last minute cruises since they don’t have to fly anywhere and can drive to the Departure port, park their cars in long term parking for a week and take off. If Cuba opens up they will go in droves for the novelty, plus its only 90 miles away.

The BTA has to focus its efforts on those who live in Northern climes, where the temperature hovers around or below the freezing mark for a few months of the year and where snow is not as romantic as it appears in the movies.

38. @sargeant
    my dear so.fla. attracts people worlwide
    that is why a greater emphasis and focus should be given there.People would only frequent a place if they know of it.Don’t take it for granted that tourist are only limited to the places they know of.

39. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Former Tourism Minister “Instant Millionaire” Noel Lynch hired by Caribbean Hotel & Tourism Association

Good luck to the Caribbean Hotel & Tourism Association (CHTA) – they will need it. The organisation hired defeated Barbados Tourism Minister Noel Lynch as its new Deputy Director General and Director of Membership.

Hey, we hope the CHTA has much more luck than Barbados citizens did in getting accountability and answers from Noel Lynch about where the money went when he was in charge.

Mr. Lynch was part of the cover-up that denied Barbados citizens any accountability for the hundreds of millions of dollars of their tax money thrown into the black hole known as the GEMS Scandal – Hotels and Resorts. And what a scam it was!

Then there was the disaster of the Cricket World Cup and the outright lies Lynch told us about the event even when it was plainly apparent to all that he was lying. Lynch settles upon a fiction in his mind and that becomes reality. Cricket World Cup was his baby and it was a frankenstein that will take us a generation or more to pay off. (Tourism to Barbados actually FELL as a result of Cricket World Cup. The last game played at night without lights was the crowning touch!)

Under the last year of Tourism Minister Lynch’s reign 67,000 airline seats to Barbados were lost and hotel staff had reduced hours and workdays because the whole thing went over a cliff. That’s not even talking about the 27 hotels that closed under his government.

And then there is the moment that truly defines the legacy of Noel Lynch:

We couldn’t figure out if Lynch was angry because he got caught with his hand in the cookie jar, or because he believed himself to be unaccountable.

No matter, because for Bajans the defining moment of Noel Lynch as Minister of Tourism happened on the popular radio show Brass Tacks. Noel forgot that he was speaking not only to a radio journalist, but to over two hundred thousand citizens who’d had just about enough, thank you, of Minister Lynch and his corrupt government…

Barbados Tourism Minister Noel Lynch ran away from a live radio show when a listener asked him to explain how he became a millionaire in a few short years on a government salary. Lynch subsequently sued the radio station, whose cowardly managers paid him off rather than fight for their journalistic freedom.

Such is the character of Noel Lynch that he does not believe he should be accountable to the voters to explain his “instant millionaire” status.

Wahloss!

So good luck to the Caribbean Hotel & Tourism Association. Just remember to watch your expense accounts – and make sure your auditors know how to spot unreported commissions and kickbacks. One thing is fur shur… any person in a public position who acted as Noel Lynch did when asked a reasonable question about the origins of his unexplained recently acquired wealth, believes they are above accountability.

At least Mr. Lynch is the CHTA’s problem now.

40. WIV
    In case you just woke up, this is now the year of our Lord 2010. The DLP has won the general elections for 2 years now, so PLEASE stop canvassing. It is getting boring, what we want to see is the DLP coming out of that mode and stop the long talk and get down to ACTION. Snap out soon or else the next general elections would find the party dealing with the same issues and the BLP dealing with your inability to function.

41. @The Scout
    What’s wrong with calling a spade a spade.Politics is for all seasons.You need to chill

42. Wishing In Vain Avatar

AC funny this is really funny the above is a comment from BFP it is their outlook not mine!!!!

43. ac
    Many voters and I who assisted in electing the DLP is beginning to get frustrated by the constant electioneering that you yardfowls are doing. You are doing more harm than good to the party. Concentrate on projects and trying to pull this country out of the mess the BLP leave it in, let your action speak for you not wasted words and stupid comments. Clean up the immigration matter, bring people to account for wrong doings and this would beef up your chances of re-elections, don’t allow the BLP to win the next general elections by default like they won it in 1994.

44. @Scout
    My thoughts are mine and are independent of any one poltical party.I preference my comment on what was said about Mr. Noel Lynch.
    If you have a problem with that that is your problem . If you have a problem with the present goverment go to the town hall meetings and discuss them .
    I am free to say whatever I please I don’t care who agree with me or not That is my opinion .

45. ac
    I agree; that’s what democracy is all about. I respect your position.

46. @Scout
    Thank you! wasn’t that easy.